Recent Reviews in Sintra, Portugal

We Lucked In at Quinta do Scoto (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2014

Peter and I stayed at the Quinta do Scoto for two weeks using it as a base to visit the sites around Lisbon, Sintra, Mafra, Tomar and Obidos as well as the beaches at Cascias and Sesimbra. There is so much to see in just half and hour or so from this centrally located Quinta, that you need not pack up and move around the countryside. The bedrooms are large, roomy and well decorated. The breakfasts have so much choice that they appeal to adults and children alike. The pool is big enough to do laps. And there is a large property for children to run in whilst the parents get organized. Penny and Tony were beyond measure charming and helpful addressing a range of questions from local customs to restaurants. Don't miss the bread soup at the fish restaurant at Azenhas do Mer. We had no idea about where to book in Portugal to get the most out of a two week stay. We lucked in!

View more reviews for this inn


On August 25,28 2014 at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.2 reviewed on August 29, 2014

I spent three days with a friend at Casa do Valle, Sintra. The view over the surrounding countryside is simply amazing. We could even see the moorish castle and some palaces on the top of the hill. Our room was very cozy and equipped with everything we needed to prepare our breakfast or even some tea before going to sleep.It is situated not far from the centre of the town but far enough for you to feel that you are away from all noise, in a pleasnt, romantic place. Yet, you can get easily to all the interesting places in the surrounding area. I would recommend this B&B hotel to anyone who would like to spend a pleasant vacation in Sintra.

View more reviews for this inn


Splendid One at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2014

With no doubt one of the best bedandbreakfast I have never enjoyed. starting with our Host Vítor, his extreme kindness only overcome by the high quality of the accommodation. All the parts of the apartment were very neat and clean and exquisite decorated with many ornamental original objects; plenty of details. Finally, enjoy Special Brekfasts prepare, cooked and very kindly served by Vítor. Congrats !!!. Carlos

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Visit! at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of spending two weeks at Casa do Valle. In the many places I have stayed throughout the world, Casa do Valle is No. 1 on my list in service, hospitality and overall accommodations. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by the owner with great warmth and friendliness; and throughout my stay, she was always extremely helpful in proving information about the local sights and activities. The location was superb, offering beautiful views of the mountains, valley and castles, and within easy walking distance to many sights in the town and surrounding area. The room was impeccably clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable. The staff was well-trained, cheerful, efficient, and seemed to take great pride in being a part of Casa do Valle. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast, which was so lovely to eat on the terrace. My visit here was a very special time in every way and I would highly recommend Casa do Valle.

View more reviews for this inn


Our trip to Lisbon at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2013

We arrived at the bed and breakfast and were graciously greeted by Vitor. He made us feel at home right away. The rooms were excellent. The breakfast and a long chat happened each morning, and Vitor gave us lots of information on where to visit each day. He also gave us tickets for the metro and tram cars. his advice as to what to see was very much appreciated. He was very helpful. If and when we go back to Lisbon we will stay in the same place. We reccommend his establishment as a five out of five. Strongly suggest to sate at sonho de lisboa bed and breakfast. Vitor also arranged some tours for us and made arrangements for the taxi ride to the airport when we left. A must place to stay. Thank you Vitor for all your help. Mal and Donna

View more reviews for this inn


A treasure B&B at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2013

Spent a couple of days in Sintra, at Casa do Valle. The hostess is super nice, it is easy to see that she loves entertaining guests. The care and thought that the management put into little details makes this stay absolutely wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, we had a room that overlooked the castle and the town and we could see the sunset from the balcony. Very good experience, I can recommend to anyone who visits Sintra and wants a comfortable, place where to feel at home during a few days and enjoy a romantic vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place and super nice host at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

3.6 reviewed on July 07, 2013

I spent a few days in Lisbon in this B&B, the attention and service of the host were impeccable. Great disposition. The location is very convenient, if you like walking its walking distance from everything and the neighborhood is very pretty, close to the park. The place is clean and orderly. I would only recommend to bring your own pillowcase. The place has no restaurant so for Dining consider my rating for food.

View more reviews for this inn


Portugalin huhtikuu at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2013

Vietin sisarusteni kanssa pitkän viikonlopun Sintrassa Casa do Vallessa. Paikka oli mainio: kaunis, rauhallinen ja siisti.Henkiläkunta oli eritäin ystävällistä ja avuliasta, ja iso apu oli tietysti sillä, että majatalon emäntä Virpi on suomalainen. Lyhyen loman aikana jäi Sintrasta vielä paljon näkemättä ja palaan varmasti uudelleen Casa do Vallen viihtyisiin huoneisiin ja upeaan puutarhaan!

View more reviews for this inn


Lisbonne raffiné at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

4.2 reviewed on May 18, 2013

par lNotre hôte Vitor a été remarquable de disponibilité. Il met à disposition les meilleures adresses d'un Lisboète avisé (restaurants, fado, sites à découvrir, terrasse d'hôtel à essayer sur vos parcours...). La chambre est superbe, très propre, le lit d'un confort exceptionnel permet de prendre soin de notre corps épuisé par les promenades dans Lisbonne. L'aspect un peu excentré est atténué par la proximité d'une station de métro, et la course en taxi depuis le centre est vraiment bon marché. Le petit déjeunerest servi dans de la porcelaine, peu varié il est vrai, mais délicieux. Nos cinq nuits à Lisbonne restent un souvenir enchanteur.

View more reviews for this inn


04/05/2013- 07/05/2013 at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2013

I,m from Spain, my english is not very good,. but i want to wirte this because when I went to Lisbon a few days a go I was very confortable in this place. The room is very nice and chic. The bed was big and confortable. Vitor was a nice people, all the days ask us if we are ok and speak whith us in the breakfast time. For me the place was perfect and I am very grateful.

View more reviews for this inn


BandB de très grande qualité at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2013

Excellente adresse : Le BandB est situé à 15 minutes du centre de Lisbonne, à proximité de la Place Marques de Pombal où se trouvent le métro et plusieurs lignes de bus. La rue est très calme et on dort parfaitement ! La chambre est très spacieuse, meublée avec beaucoup de goût ; chambre et salle d'eau très propres. Le petit déjeuner dans la très belle salle à manger est copieux, délicieux, servi dans une jolie vaisselle et accompagné du son du Fado.... L'accueil par Vitor a été parfait. : il nous a donné (dans un excellent français !) quantité de conseils pour profiter au mieux de nos trois jours à Lisbonne, réservé pour nous une soirée Fado. Les adresses de restaurants qu'il nous a indiquées se sont révélées excellentes. Bref, une adresse que nous recommandons chaudement ! Isabelle et Xavier (France)

View more reviews for this inn


Corinne et Isabelle (les parisiennes) at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

5 reviewed on April 09, 2013

Que dire de plus à cette superbe chambre d'hôte ? Ce fût parfait et exquis à tout point de vue. C'est grâce à Vitor que notre séjour à Lisbonne fût idyllique et enchanteur. Et toujours grâce à lui, nous avons emprunté des chemins, hors des sentiers battus. Bref, nous sommes revenues avec des rêves et des souvenirs colorés et inoubliables. Merci à vous, Vitor et Miguel.

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise in the hills of Sintra at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on September 02, 2012

Once we arrived at Casa doValle and welcomed by Virpi, a charming lady from Finland, we felt right at home and relaxed. The view from the pool area is amazing from dawn to sunset and even at night it's wonderful to look at the lights of the castle on top of the hill. Casa do Valle is a great starting point for many things that you can do in the area. A hike to the castles, a walk into town, a visit to one of the beaches in the area, a visit to a great local restaurant. Virpi knows all the places where you see, taste and feel this unique part of Portugal at it's best. We look forward to come back and hope that many other guests will recognize the warmth and value of this place. A true paradise in the hills of Sintra. Norman - The Netherlands

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

4.2 reviewed on August 27, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay and Victor was fantastic at recommending and booking for us all the right venues, taxi drivers, etc. Location is very convenient and the rooms are very nice, really recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect retreat at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.0 reviewed on August 27, 2012

I spent 6 nights at Casa do Valle in August with my teenage daughter and it simply wasn't long enough! The setting is idyllic, with particularly glorious views from the pool. Whilst it would be the obvious place for a romantic stay, Virpi and her family had thought of everything to make it equally as welcoming to families. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There is plenty to do within walking distance or by taking the very efficient public transport or reasonably priced taxis, so hiring a car is really not necessary. The accommodation was spotless and the position, though down a steep lane, in my opinion, impossible to beat. We would both absolutely love to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks for a great holiday at Quinta Beira-Mar (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on August 21, 2012

I have just stayed in quintabeiramar for a week and had a really relaxing time, the house is amazing, our room was clean and spacious and had lovely views of the sea, I would recommend to anyone.....a short walk to the beach and Sintra within easy driving distance, its an ideal holiday

View more reviews for this inn


amazing B&B at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2012

Best B&B I've ever tried. The place is extremely nice, the rooms are big and spotlessly clean, and most of all the host, Vitor, is absolutely fantastic -- always kind, fun, enthusiastic and willing to provide information and pieces of advice that will make you truly enjoy Lisbon. I wish I could have stayed there for months!

View more reviews for this inn


Parfait! at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2012

S'il y a un bed &breakfast oú il faut aller à Lisbonne c'est à "sonho de Lisboa". La chambre est ravissante, la salle de bains impecable. les hotes sont tres servialbes, disponibles, aux petits soins, toujours près à vous renseigner et vous indiquer les meilleurs endroits à visiter. Tous les matins, un delicieux petit dejeuner est servi dans une vaiselle delicate, avec en plus du fado en fond sonore! J'ai passé un sejour merveilleux. J'y retournerai certainement!

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely stay in a stunning location at Quinta Beira-Mar (Sintra, Portugal)

4.6 reviewed on July 29, 2012

I recently visited Quinta Beira-Mar with two friends and we had the most wonderful stay. The house is gorgeous and situated in the most stunning location. A two minute walk takes you down to the beach and a 20 minute walk across the beach takes you to the local town of Praia das Macas. There is loads to do in the local area and lots of fantastic restaurants, bars and interesting places to visit. The house is absolutely gorgeous with a beautiful garden and swimming pool. Our hostess, Susanna, was completely charming and couldn't have been any more helpful and warmly hospitable. The animals are great and added a lovely, homey dimension to our stay. I would highly recommend visiting this beautiful home in a splendid location!

View more reviews for this inn


A great holiday at Casa do Valle at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on June 17, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Casa do Valle, Sintra. Virpi and her team were very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our balcony had a brilliant view of the stunning Pena Palace and Moorish Castle...and if that's not enough, also the countryside towards the Atlantic Ocean. Our room was really well-equipped with everything we needed to make our own breakfast, but Virpi's breakfasts and dinner platters were too tempting! Casa do Valle is in a great location - out of the busy-ness of Sintra, but close enough to be able to experience all the area has to offer. We loved it.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic b&b at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on May 15, 2012

The rooms are so comfortable and clean. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. Viripi made us feel cared about when our friend was pick pocketed. Can't recommend this b&b more highly.

View more reviews for this inn


A must for a visit to Sintra at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on April 19, 2012

We went to Sintra to get a break from the atmosphere in London, and Casa do Valle was one of the best decisions we made. The room was spacious and came with a balcony that afforded a wonderful view of the Pena Palace and the surrounding countryside. Every day, the room was stocked with bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits to start your day. There is also an option for a more substantial breakfast for a very reasonable price. Virpi is extremely friendly and accommodating. She takes excellent care of you and genuinely tries to make your stay more enjoyable. When we wanted to rent bikes to explore the area, Virpi was extremely helpful in finding a terrific place to do so. There are probably slightly cheaper places around Sintra, but, if you are looking for a relaxing getaway in a beautiful B&B with a fantastic owner, Casa do Valle is the best place to go. We have recommended Casa do Valle to many of my family and friends, and if we go back to Sintra, we will definitely stay with Virpi again!

View more reviews for this inn


Magical Sintra and Casa do Valle at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2012

Very friendly, informative, all restaurants, beaches, hiking paths, local history, recommended by our hostesses were wonderful. I even had a broken tooth and Virpi graciously made a dental appointment with a superb clinic. My husband had his birthday while there and we came back from dinner to a lovely chocolate fondue provided by Casa do Valle with a Portuguese happy birthday sung to him by Virpi & Martta. The choices for breakfast had a nice variety to choose from, plus lovely fresh fruit and coffee. You can see 3, plus castles from the yard. Quiet, peaceful. Good beds. Short walk to restaurants. Lovely neighborhood.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it!!! at Quinta Verde Sintra (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on March 14, 2012

We've been to Quinta Verde before and we will return again. The location is great, very quiet and relaxing, yet close to everything – restaurants, beaches, monuments… The rooms are very comfortable and the grounds are very well kept. Delicious breakfast; Tina is a wonderful and charming host and provides the best recommendations to help guests get the most of their trip. If you are visiting Sintra, stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


great place with great views at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on March 10, 2012

Great spot for R&R, trekking and visiting a terrific UNESCO World Heritage site. History and art by the ton. Views of the valley, at dawn, sunset or any time, from our top floor room are just a pathway into your soul. As far as the establishment is concerned, do they rate B&Bs with six stars? They should for this one. Mike and Joan Napanee, Ontario Canada

View more reviews for this inn


Stay last Feb at Quinta do Scoto (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2011

Stayed last Feb with my wife and confirm looking forward to return with the rest of the family. Tony and Penny should dedicate in showing other Hotels on how a good job is done. best rgds Juan Pablo & Rosi Algeciras Spain

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at sonho de lisboa (lisboa, Portugal)

4.0 reviewed on October 08, 2011

This bed and breakfast was far and away the best. EVER!! The rooms are resplendent, clean and beautifully furnished. The B&B is located in one of the best parts of Lisbon, safe at any time during the day or night. But the ultimate best feature to this B&B is the wondrous amount of care and concern given to the guests. Breakfast is served with beautiful dishes, the orange juice and coffee are scrumptious and bread and jams divine. The owners know the city of Lisbon inside and out and are willing to answer any question and even give advice on how best to execute your stay. Staying at this B&B actually made my trip to Portugal the best experience ever. I would shout it if I could...but just know - this place is fabulous.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn with a Magnificent View at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.0 reviewed on September 16, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at Casa do Valle and it was a truly wonderful experience. Our hostess made us fee at home immediately. Everyone was very helpful. Our room had a great balcony with a fabulous view. It was very relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle of Sintra, but close enough to walk to dinner. I would highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


A Special Gem at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on July 06, 2011

Casa do Valle is that special gem where you immediately feel comfortable and welcome. Quiet and clean without any fussiness but plenty of attention to detail Virpi and her family are delightful hosts eager to accommodate their guests. They know what their guests want through years of experience. The little room with high-speed internet and books and brochures is convenient and helpful. The proximity to the center of old town makes it an ideal location and the views from the property are stunning. Breakfast on the patio, the hammock on a relaxing morning, poolside with a chilled bottle of Green wine in the late afternoon, reflexology for my tired feet uner he canopy....are all fond memories of our stay at Casa do Valle. I wholeheartedly recommend this charming B&B to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Casa do Valle....Sintra's Gem at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.0 reviewed on May 05, 2011

My husband and I were travelling together with my daughter and her husband and their 1 year old child. We arrived at Casa do Valle and were pleasantly surprised with our two lovely rooms with adjoining balconies that offered a breathtaking view. In preparation for our grandchild, a new crib had been put together with comfy bedding. The weather was mostly favourable, but one cool evening after a day of sightseeing, we were delighted to find the stove in our room crackling with a warm fire. On another day, our daughter's birthday was acknowledged with flowers and a box of chocolates! Our host Virpi was not only gracious, but obviously intelligent speaking six languages fluently! During our stay she suggested restaurants, and ordered dinner for us when we wanted to relax in our rooms. Always available to help, Virpi thoughtfully provided me with a camera when she determined that I had left my battery charger at home. After spending six days at Casa do Valle, I left with the feeling that we could be friends. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely B & B to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Quinta do Scoto (4.90)
  2. Quinta Verde Sintra (4.80)
  3. Quinta Beira-Mar (4.75)
  4. sonho de lisboa (4.64)
  5. Casa do Valle (4.59)
Top
}