Recent Reviews in Simsbury, Connecticut

Outstanding in all regards at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

I stay at many high end B and B's and this one is at the top! Worth a trip in itself.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional!!!!! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2016

Jim + Cathy do an incredible job. Beautifully restored New England home and delicious breakfast. You will not be disappointed!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Another great stay! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2016

We had another grand stay at Green Acres. Cathy and Jim are gracious hosts at their lovely home.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2016

Everything was perfect, I only wish we came during a much warmer weather! Otherwise even during the fall the beauty of the area is breath taking. I highly recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B & B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2016

My wife and I visited our family in the area and our stay at Green Acres was outstanding. Our hosts were very accommodating, the breakfast superb, and the room very comfortable. We have stayed at many B & B's and this was the best one ever. Would recommend Green Acres to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on November 27, 2015

We had a lovely stay at Green Acres BnB. The house is a charming historic house with modern amenities. Our hosts were gracious and gave us an excellent breakfast, to boot!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B & B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2015

Stunning accommodation, where we were made to feel very welcome. Jim and Cathy have thought of everything to make your stay relaxing and restful. They are excellent hosts, the food is freshly cooked and beautifully served and provide full use of house and grounds. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone travelling in the CT area.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2015

Green Acres was the perfect choice for entertaining guests and providing overnight accommodations for the lucky few. We entertained out-of-town guests at the pool one evening and again the following afternoon. Good company and the idyllic New England setting brought compliments from everyone involved. Jim and Cathy were perfect hosts. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Short but oh so sweet! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed in The Trade Room. Towels were 100% egyptian cotton ++++ Robes and extremely comfy slippers were provided. Shower was equipped with wonderfully scented shampoo and conditioner. Sherry and an abundance of chocolate greeted us in our room as well as a loaded mini fridge, keurig machine with K-cups and chocolate chip cookies. Unfortunately, we didn't have as much time as we would have liked since we got in pretty late at night and check out was at 11am the following day but the house was very cozy, bed was extremely comfortable with lots and lots of pillows (part of the reason we slept in later than we wanted to) and the breakfast was fresh and delicious! Portions were very generous. While in CT, I had a hard time finding good coffee (I'm a NY coffee snob) but the coffee at the inn was PERFECT. We ate out in the patio - sound of the pond waterfall was so relaxing. I was afraid of what the temperature would be like in the house since it was so hot outside (in the 90's) but the it was perfectly cool - YES! there is AC. The pool and hammock looked so inviting! We wanted to stay an extra night but they were booked. Would love to see this place in fall/winter with the fireplaces lit. Both Jim and Cathy were very nice and gave us some great recommendations on places to visit nearby. We'll deinitely be going back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perennial Favorite at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2015

Green Acres has become my perennial favorite place to stay when I'm travelling for work in CT. Jim and Cathy are so welcoming, the breakfasts are practically gourmet (and so delicious!), and the beds are quite comfortable. I highly recommend staying here!

View more reviews for this inn


Honey I love you, but give me Green Acres! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 17, 2015

Who says you can't choose your relatives. We were visiting close by in Simsbury. We found this mavilous little B&B tucked away just down the street, so indiscreet, so comfortable. No detail was left unattended. We even had a live, full size, beautifully decorated and lightened Christmas tree in our room. We were made to feel at home. We entertained guest by the fireplace in the living room after a night out and diner. The bedding is top shelf, they even thought if a sound machine, we slept to the sound of the rain forest. breakfast was great, nicely prepaired. We invited a guest to join us, it was truly a wonderful visit! Our hosts treated us like favorite relatives. They will definitely see us again.... and our family.

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming and beautiful. at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on November 09, 2014

My husband and I were overjoyed to find a b&b that allowed dogs, and was close to Hartford. Cathy and Jim exceeded all of our expectations. Not only were they friendly and very nice, but also, super accommodating. They allowed us to use space in their fridge, they made delicious vegetarian breakfast for us, at 4 am, they let us hang out after check-out, and they made our dog feel very welcome. On top of this, the room and the whole b&b, were absolutely immaculate. I am notoriously hard to please, but Green Acres was absolutely perfect; clean, cozy, and very welcoming. We hope we can visit this lovely home, and wonderful innkeepers again, soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Green Acres at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

Jim and Cathy are amazing hosts, and their 1700's B&B home is absolutely magnificent. Every amenity is of top quality, the furnishings are gorgeous, the bed was exquisitely comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, and the chickens are the perfect added touch. Jim and Cathy really care about their guests and are such kind people to have opened their home to three elderly shelter dogs as well as the free-roaming chickens which provide eggs for the most delicious omelets one will ever taste. We LOVED our time at Green Acres and recommend it with the highest accolades! Jane & Art, NY

View more reviews for this inn


Truly a wonderful experience at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2014

My husband and I just got home from Green Acres B&B, and we cannot wait to return. We chose to stay here based on the reviews below, so I had pretty high expectations. Even still, Jim and Cathy managed to go above and beyond what I ever would have expected from hosts. Pros: 1. The bed was very comfortable. The room was cozy, and there was no noise to disturb us. We stayed in the Trade Room which had a private door leading to the backyard patio and pool. 2. There were complimentary snacks, soft drinks, sherry, and AMAZING homemade cookies in the room. 3. You get to choose your own breakfast from a menu. Do yourself a favor and choose the skillet - sausage, onions, peppers, cheese, and a freshly laid egg by one of his chickens. 4. You also get to choose what time you want to eat and where. We ate outside on the patio and enjoyed the company of the chickens and Champion the dog. 5. The grounds are beautiful to walk around. You can relax by the pool, go for a swim, relax on the hammock, and hang out with the chickens who walk around on their own. If you ask, Jim will also take you in the barn to see the baby chicks he is raising. 6. After an absolutely amazing evening and delicious breakfast in the morning, we couldn't ask for anything more, but then Jim and Cathy gave us even more cookies for the drive home. They are super thoughtful and just the best hosts! Cons: NOTHING. The only sad part was leaving so soon. We can't wait to return. Thanks again Jim and Cathy!

View more reviews for this inn


The Greatest! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2014

Jim and Cathy are super hosts who really care about their guests. Elegant luxury in a 270 year old carefully rehabbed historic farmhouse! Food was delicious and attractively presented. Watching their delight upon arrival of new baby chicks was priceless. (Future source of breakfast eggs - doesn't get any fresher than growing your own!).

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on May 23, 2014

Our hosts at the Green Acres B&B, Jim and Cathy, both made us feel very welcome throughout our recent stay at the Green Acres B&B. We really enjoyed our stay, and have already booked our return visit! Green Acres is a beautifully restored 18th century farmhouse, and is very conveniently located for anyone visiting the Hartford area (20 minutes from the city center). We stayed in the Trade Room, which is charmingly decorated (I really loved the huge wardrobe). Most importantly the Queen sized bed was very comfortable, and we both got a good night's sleep. I particularly enjoyed exploring the gardens the next day, which were full of spring flowers, and then relaxing by the pool. Looking forward to our return.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on May 04, 2014

I was hoping for a nice stay and received so much more. My room was lovely and comfortable and appointed with fresh flowers, complimentary refreshments, and chocolates! Jim and Cathy the hosts were friendly and welcoming. And the breakfasts delicious - farm fresh eggs are the best! I'm happy that I had a moment to walk the grounds with their chickens for company. I would not only stay here again, but want to find time to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2014

Charming doesn't begin to describe this place. I’ve stayed at a lot of B&Bs, and don't usually feel compelled to review them, but Green Acres deserves the effort. We stayed for two very comfortable nights while we explored the Hartford area. I would like to return during high season, as the pool and grounds looked like they would be gorgeous in the summer. Still, we got to enjoy the house’s fireplaces and cozy interior. The house retains all the best parts of 18th century architecture/embellishments while adding luxury bathrooms, memory foam mattresses, well-stocked mini-fridges, and sherry. The grounds host a brood of free-range hens, which the proprietor will let you visit (when the weather’s good, the chickens can also accompany you on the patio for breakfast if you want). The house is also home to several adorable derpy dogs, so prepare your best “aww”s. The proprietor is very warm and a great cook. I often find that breakfasts at B&Bs can be a little awkward if the host hovers etc., but the atmosphere at Green Acres was very relaxed and laissez-faire. The house is right on a main road (a charming, smallish main road, but a main road nonetheless). We didn’t have any trouble with the noise, but the rooms come with white noise machines, so it’s clearly something that the proprietor has thought of. The other minor issue was that the upstairs bedrooms were both pretty warm at night (but better too hot than too cold in March?). We ended up using fans (conveniently located in the closets) for the second night. To be fair, it didn’t occur to us to ask the proprietor about the temperature—there was probably a way to adjust it. In short: I would highly recommend Green Acres; in fact we’re looking for excuses to return to Hartford just to stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great historical BnB at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on January 21, 2014

Very kind, attentive innkeepers. Loved the home. Very charming. The wide plank pine floors are my favorite. Excellent breakfasts both mornings.

View more reviews for this inn


Quick Vacation in Hartford-Area at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Green Acres for one night before Thanksgiving. Cathy and Jim were so kind and welcoming and we had a very restful stay. Their home is clean and very comfortable and we had everything we could ever want, including homemade cookies (YUM!) and coffee anytime. Breakfast was fantastic and generous! I wish we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely be back to stay the next time we visit Hartford. Thank you so much!

View more reviews for this inn


A B&B Dream! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2013

Perfect mix of modern and vintage. Jim and Cathy were wonderful, gracious hosts and didn't leave a detail to be missed. Greeted with a warm welcome, cream sherry and homemade cookies and fresh roses in the room. The bed was more comfortable than many hotels. Breakfast was delicious and the spread was beautiful. Definitely looking forward to returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Green Acres - a FABULOUS HIDDEN GEM at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2013

The Green Acres B&B is terrific. We arrived late at night to the kind and helpful Jim. The room, the bedding, the amenities could not be better. We will definitely return

View more reviews for this inn


Best Stay Ever!!! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2013

Jim & Cathy, Your home is just so perfect in every way, It is warm, charming, brings you to a state of rest that is so welcoming when you are on a trip, the rooms are so perfect you have thought of every thing, our bed was so perfect, the linens are top , our bath room prefect having full size soaps and shampoo in our shower was a treat, We loved the snacks and hot coffee in our room, a stocked mini-fridge was so nice the sherry...u did not miss a thing the only down fall was WE had to go home.. Love the family chickens and the duck and the dogs and step dog too.. this was an outstanding stay I can't say any more just love,love LOVE ...Green Acres...It is the place to be!!!!!!! Mike & Roseanne

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful accomodations! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 15, 2013

Fresh flowers, complimentary snacks and drinks, outdoor pool, huge breakfast with choices of time and dishes, friendly and attentive to detail innkeepers. Enjoyed ourselves immensely!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2013

We didn't want to leave. It was more that we expected although we read all the reviews before. Can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Heavenly! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this charming inn for just one night. We were traveling to Boston for our daughters wedding and needed a place to stay on the way. We chose this wonderful inn because of the great reviews. We made the right choice. Cathy and Jim have thought of every luxury, from the wonderful linens, in room keurig machine, decanter of sherry, delicious brownies, blueberry pie, mini fridge full of snacks and drinks to the gourmet breakfast with fresh laid eggs! There is an inviting swimming pool too! We had a great night sleep. We have stayed at over a dozen B&B's and we have a few favorites, this inn is now one of them! We were truly spoiled and can't wait to come back for a longer stay! Thank you so much for everything! Geoff and Kim

View more reviews for this inn


Just a short way from JFK at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on July 03, 2013

Arriving from Frankfurt in JFK this was a wonderful start for our tour via Hartford (Mark Twain House) to Boston and then New York. With comfortable rooms, outdoor-pool, chickens in the yard, breakfast on the patio with eggs from the farm, attentive hosts this B&B can be recommended for short or also longer relaxing stays. Thank you Jim and Cathy! Gerhard, Dorothee, Feli and Ise, Germany.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful grounds, wonderful hosts! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 23, 2013

Great impression from the start -- the living room smelled flowery and pleasant when we first walked in and it only got better from there! Big, comfortable rooms, so many small details too, such as drinks, snacks, coffee in the rooms, loved the pool area and of course the dogs and chickens! The breakfasts were so fresh and tasty and we enjoyed talking with the hosts. Overall a fantastic place to stay! Hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Saturday Night Stay !! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 21, 2013

Green Acres is a very nice B & B, situated a half an hours drive from our ultimate destination, Southwick, MA. We were fortunate to find a room so close and so reasonable on short notice. We arrived after the afternoon amenities, and were shown to the Trade room. The room has a private bath, and very pleasant decor. The queen bed was very comfortable. There were slipper, robes, and PLENTY of towels, and toiletries. Breakfast the next morning was excellent! Perfect bacon, scrambled eggs and hash browns. Jim & Cathy were excellent hosts. I wish we had the time to stay another night. The chickens and the dogs just added to the experience. Marty & Marie

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place to stay! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2013

Everything was wonderfully done-from afternoon tea to amazing breakfasts with eggs fresh from their hens to superior comfort and attention to detail-this is definitely worth the stay! Would return in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Green Acres B&B (4.89)
Top
}