Recent Reviews in Siena, Italy

"Best stay in Italy" at Tenuta la Santissima (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tenuta la Santissima for two nights. We initially booked only one night, but loved it so much that we carved out some time in our itinerary and came back 5 days later for a second night. The room is incredibly clean and furnished with gorgeous antiques. It's simple, but in a wonderfully rustic way. The rooms are private and tucked away in the end of the house, but there is no feeling lonely, you feel very taken care of and made to feel at home. The views are amazing, you can see right to Siena from the windows. Marie (oh how we adore you, Marie!) made us the most spectacular food we've ever had in our entire lives. Her cooking was the main reason we returned for a second night. She is a culinary genius and the spread she provided was knock your sock off. I believe there was something like 7 or 8 appetizers. We couldn’t stop eating and went to bed stuffed and overly satisfied. We really can't speak highly enough about this place. Especially the meals! Breakfast was just as wonderful. All fresh, organic and I believe from her garden. Marie doesn't speak any English but her children are on hand to help translate. This B&B is a shining example of perfect countryside quiet, peace, and lovely hospitality. Marie and her children will take care of anything and everything you could possibly need. We will most certainly return. This B&B is maybe 10 minutes outside of Siena center, driving into Siena is a breeze and there is ample parking available. If you have a car and can make the little trek out into the countryside I strongly recommend that you give the peaceful, quaint countryside a go.

View more reviews for this inn


speciale at Az. Ag. Capannacce (Rapolano Terme, Italy)

4.4 reviewed on January 22, 2014

Immerso in una natura incontaminata. Ci sono stato a novembre. Luogo accogliente, persone accoglienti disponibili. Ottimo servizio e cortesia. Ci tornerei e ci tornero' volentieri.

View more reviews for this inn


veramente un vero agriturismo at Az. Ag. Capannacce (Rapolano Terme, Italy)

5 reviewed on January 21, 2014

Un podere bellissimo e lasciato intatto nel suo fascino, una campagna vera, un azienda vera. Accuddire ai cavalli, veder nascere i pulcini, cani e gatti, passeggiate interminabili senza udire rumore alcuno se non quello della natura. E poi colazione da Dio, pasta fatta in casa anche con lezione per imparare. In poche parole siamo tornati a casa diversi e felici

View more reviews for this inn


Week end in paradiso at Az. Ag. Capannacce (Rapolano Terme, Italy)

5 reviewed on January 12, 2014

I spent an amazing weekend here , Az . Agr. Capannacce in the province of Siena. I was with my girlfriend , Scarlett , and when we woke up on Saturday morning , from our window we saw this incredible landscape, surrounded by nature and surrounded by the rolling hills of Siena. When we went down for breakfast we found ourselves in the classic spoiled for choice in the face of delicacies , all made ¿¿in house, that the staff of Capannacce offers to its guests. Then the amazing thing was that one of the horses owned by the company he ate a clump of grass from my hand ! Perhaps it is normal for them , but for one of the "city " is a really unique experience . I started by telling you that I was there with my girlfriend , well Sunday morning I asked her to marry me and ... Capannacce happen to them in the spring! So thank you to the family Folco for the wonderful weekend . Now I'm home and I'm relishing the salad with oil bought from you , and thanks again ... soon ! Michael & Scarlett

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic four days in the Piemonte wine country! at Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn (Radda in Chianti, Tuscany)

4.2 reviewed on October 15, 2013

We spent four days at La Dolce Vita and loved the location and the service and room. We highly recommend renting the spa for at least one night. To be sure, we could have used it for all of them! The room we stayed in has a wonderful history, having housed the soldiers that guarded the nearby castle. Alberto and his wife were absolutely lovely. We so enjoyed having a glass of wine around the table with another guest as we returned from sight seeing the second night! Frinco is such a lovely town and very steeped in history. We recommend this location as a starting point for visiting several wineries in the Piemonte region. The breakfast was lovingly prepared with fresh bread and cheese, meat and yogurt, preserves and honey and fresh squeezed juice everyday. There were also frequently homemade cakes! Highly recommend staying here if wanting to tour throughout the Piemonte region. After all those roundabouts and twists and turns, the spa room is a welcome destination!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfekter Aufenthalt at Tenuta la Santissima (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2013

Schon bei der Ankunft wurden wir fürstlich bedient. Eine kleine Platte mit Köstlichkeiten aus dem eigenen Garten und ein kaltes Glas Wein. An unserem "Zimmer", bestehend aus Badezimmer, Eingangsbereich und Schlafzimmer, kann nichts ausgesetzt werden. Siena ist gut mit dem Auto erreichbar (ca. 20 Minuten) und wir empfanden es angenehm, am Abend fernab von der Stadt in einem grossen Landhaus zu übernachten. Bei unserem Aufenthalt schien sich die ganze Familie um unser Wohl zu kümmern, so dass wir uns mehr als Freunde als als Gäste fühlten. Leider waren wir nur zwei Tage in der Tenuta la Santissima, weshalb wir bestimmt ein weiteres Mal in die Toscana reisen werden. Tipp: Von S. Rocco a Pilli weiterfahren nach "Pilli". Das Haus befindet sich genau neben dem Ortsschild "Pilli"

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful and lovely place to stay at Podere Poggioalsole (Montepulciano, Italy)

3.4 reviewed on September 17, 2013

Very pleasant stay at Manola's place, with a view on the beautiful tuscany hills. Perfect place for experiencing a bit of laziness and day dreaming in the garden, on the swimming pool edge. And ideal location as well to visit well known touristic places. Hope to come back soon !

View more reviews for this inn


The best place to be in tuscany at Podere Poggioalsole (Montepulciano, Italy)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2013

lovely-helpful owner People. very clean home and pool. Near Tuscanytowns. Big silence. The best place to be for our honeymoon! Heaven on earth!! We will come back to you Family C!! Thank you for two weeks-of-dreams! B&W

View more reviews for this inn


INCREDIBLE! at Agriturismo Marciano (Siena, Italy)

4.8 reviewed on September 16, 2013

Our experience was magical! The location is gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful and clean and the hosts are among the best we encountered on our trip. This was the most expensive place we stayed on our trip, but it was certainly worth the splurge - it was truly unforgettable. It is obvious Nadia and Christian love what they do and their way of life. The breakfasts were incredible. Do not miss the farm dinner at least one night during your stay, but be prepared to eat and drink lots - definitely our best meal of our trip with food prepared fresh from their garden. Really enjoyed eating with the other guests from around the globe, staying up late into the night chatting. Also loved our cooking class with Maggie and the wine tour with the extremely knowledgeable Christian -- truly fascinating. The town of Siena is a short cab ride away and the owners can recommend some great restaurants. We spent many hours painting the beautiful scenery on site. Highly recommend this agriturismo!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place to stay !! at Podere Poggioalsole (Montepulciano, Italy)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2013

Podere Poggio al Sole is an amazing place to stay. The garden & the whole estate is so well mentained - it's a little paradise. You enjoy fabulous views over the vineyards around Montepulciano. A beautiful pool is also available in the middle of olive trees. The apartments offered all the luxury we needed. Best part of it is the incredible hospitality of Manola, Elena & Aldo. We highly recommend staying here & we are definitely coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


"Home" at Agriturismo Le Caggiole (Montepulciano, Italy)

4.8 reviewed on August 14, 2013

Our experience at Le Caggiole (September 22-25) was one of the fondest memories of a wonderful month long visit to Italy. My husband and I were greeted with a warm welcome from the moment we arrived and provided with a wonderful stay during our time with Giacomo and "Mama Ornella" We thoroughly enjoyed the lovely, clean and comfortable accommodations and most especially the warm hearts extended to us! Many thanks to Giacomo, for taking time out of his busy schedule to take us into his vineyard and explain the growing, pruning and harvesting process. It was special for us to be able listen to the history of the Martinelle land, be a witness to the love & respect Giacomo has for it, and of course, to see it for ourselves. A special "mille grazie" to Ornella. We grew so very fond of her during our stay and were sad to leave! Her welcoming and generous spirit is apparent in all she does for their guests. We will always remember Giacamo and Ornella, as well as the special touches and hospitality they extended to us to make our stay so memorable. We hope that our lives cross paths again.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding and fun at Agriturismo Marciano (Siena, Italy)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2013

Without a doubt this was one of the most enjoyable vacations my wife and I have had. From the get go the welcome at home atmosphere , plus the location on top of a little mountainside within the vineyards made for some beautiful views . What can i say about the cooking was as if you were eating at home in a country cusine with fresh food from the garden , delicious pastas and breads and last but not least the WINE. Christian and his group know what its about to produce outstanding wine and olive oil. Stay a week --its worth it !!!

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful place at Tenuta la Santissima (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2013

La Santissima is a fantastic place. It's just 10/15 minutes away from Siena and it's not far from other interesting cities in Tuscany, as San Gimigniano, Montalcino, Volterra and Montepulciano. The house is amazing, the rooms are big and very clean and the whole family is so kind, they all make you feel at home. The mother is a really great cook and she uses fresh products. I hugely recomend this place, you will have a wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


What a find at Tenuta la Santissima (Siena, Italy)

4.6 reviewed on July 27, 2013

We stayed two nights and could not have been better looked after. The breakfast would put many hotels to shame. It is not a smart boutique establishment rather we were given the hospitality of guests in their home. Fresh water is provided in the bedroom and at meals.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb location at Agriturismo Le Caggiole (Montepulciano, Italy)

3.8 reviewed on July 24, 2013

Superb location! The pastoral settings, solace, tranquility all are adding to the majestic environment of the place. It is so close to nature. A break from the industrial settings! You rightly said, what’s more romantic than this. What would be more beautiful than sitting in such environment and having dinner on a terrace. Really want to visit! DbaiG Bolee.com

View more reviews for this inn


Super stay near Siena at Tenuta la Santissima (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2013

We did get a bit lost trying to find the location, but the family was so helpful taking our phone call and coming down to meet us and lead us the their location (our Garmin GPS couldn't find it for some reason.). The room and home is superior and the meals were incredible (breakfast and dinner). I recommend dining with the family. Lovely people.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at Agriturismo La Lucciolaia (San Gimignano, Italy)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2013

A 3 night stay was perfect. We had dinner at la lucciiolaia 2 nights and it was a true Tuscan fantasy. Lucious Chianti from the estate with local produce. The staff was so helpful for us English-only travelers. Centrally located with quick access to Siena, San Gimignano, and Monteriiggioni. A vehicle with GPS was a blessing.

View more reviews for this inn


Book it now! at Tenuta la Santissima (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2013

Special is the best way to describe our experience with this great family. Special rooms. We stayed in the Lilly room and was blown away with the space in both the room and the bathroom. It was extremely clean and well appointed. Special meals. To say the meals were fantastic just does not seem to do them justice. Momma is an awesome cook! Special family. We felt like family instantly. They went out of their way to make us feel that way and every bit of their hospitality was genuine. Special place. Being so close to not only Siena but also Chianti and Montalcino is fantastic but then to come HOME is even better. If you don't book with this fine family now you will make a huge mistake. They are the best. We missed them the moment we started backing the car out of the driveway. We felt better knowing we will absolutely return to stay there again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Experience at Tenuta la Santissima (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2013

I almost don't want to give Tenuta a glowing review since I feel this is one of the last truly "hidden" gems in the Siena area. Too many great reviews and we'll have problems booking for next year! It may be slightly off the beaten trail but that's exactly what many Tuscany trekkers are looking for. The house lies within a serene stretch of countryside, perfectly located for jaunts to Siena, Montalcino, the rolling fields of the Val D'Orcia and the vineyards of Chianti. If you want to experience what a BnB should be like, don't hesitate to book here. Maria and her sons (plus daughter of course) are friendly, jovial and genuinely great hosts. Even their docile dogs Margo, Stella and Tina add to the atmosphere of laid back living and effervescence of the entire setting. The room size is impressive as well. Even the smaller of the two (which we stayed in) is the size of most single bedroom apartments and is well isolated from the other room. The breakfast spread puts the stale offerings given by all other BnBs to absolute shame. Everything is fresh from the local market or Maria's own overflowing garden, ensuring every breakfast is as unique as it is scrumptious. Don't plan a large lunch....you'll be full until supper. Truth be told, we had tears in our eyes when leaving earlier today. If you're looking for a genuine Tuscan experience, ignore the over-priced chateaus and castles. This place is what you need. Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect place to stay!! at Agriturismo Marciano (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2013

Found Agriturismo Marciano while searching the web on where to stay near Siena...was without a doubt my lucky day. We booked for dinner and it was amazing, great food, great wine, great company! Our room was extremely comfortable-and breakfast the next morning was fabulous with wonderful homemade pastries and breads and fruits and cheeses and meats! Christian, Nadia, and Renato are the most incredible hosts and we of course bought a bottle of their wine to take home. They suggested restaurants for us in Siena and could not have been more accomodating!

View more reviews for this inn


Words don't even begin to describe ... at Agriturismo Le Caggiole (Montepulciano, Italy)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2012

Where to begin ... the freshly baked breakfasts were delicious (and that says a lot coming from Portland, OR where great bakeries are on every corner), the view of the farm out our window was absolutely beautiful, the host family could not have been more kind (they even set up a crib and a high chair for our little one!), the nearby town was one of our favorites in all of Tuscany, the running trails, the dinner, perfect, perfect, perfect. My only complaint is that it's so far from where we live!

View more reviews for this inn


Can't Say Enough at Agriturismo Marciano (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2012

Found this place on this website and needed a place to please my family who wanted the typical Italian winery experience at some point during our trip. We stayed two nights, but those two nights outweighed the 10 day trip around Italy. The owners are great, they want to help you see things around Siena that are worth seeing. They make daily trips for everyone who wants to go out and about in the countryside. Would suggest getting a car while you stay at this place because you don't see how amazing this place is until you drive around. The dinner was amazing with typical dishes from Siena and the owners are all too willing to share their recipes, sampling various types of wine during the meal with nice conversation throughout the meal with the other guests. This place is magnificant both in the day and at night. Couldn't hear a thing at night and the rooms were perfect for two people to stay in. If we ever go back to Siena again, we are staying there without a doubt.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing B&B! at Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn (Radda in Chianti, Tuscany)

4.8 reviewed on July 07, 2012

One of the most beautiful setting for a hotel I have ever stayed at. Down a dirt road and have 360 degree views of Tuscany. It was VERY quiet and peaceful and exactly what we needed after staying in downtown Florence. The staff was very nice and helpful. One of the best breakfasts in Tuscany. Lots of options and you sit out on the balcony with a beautiful morning view. I will definitely return and stay for a week instead of just one night.

View more reviews for this inn


Troppo bello !!!!! at Agriturismo La Lucciolaia (San Gimignano, Italy)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2012

Siamo appena rientrati da un fine settimana da favola!!! I giudizi sono solo positivi a partire dalla posizione dell'agriturismo a dir poco unico, immerso nel silenzio e nel verde delle colline toscane e di fronte il magico skyline di S.Gimignano. Ma la vera anima dell'agriturismo è lo staff , Cristina , Francesca e Gilberto che gestiscono la struttura in modo professionale ma nello stesso tempo ti fanno sentire come a casa . All' arrivo l'accoglienza di Cristina ti mette subito a tuo agio , Francesca oltre ad un servizio eccellente, con il sorriso e la sua simpatia rendono la colazione e la cena ancora piu'gradevoli . E che dire della cucina di Gilberto, tipicamente toscana , ottima , a partire dagli antipasti al dolce , tutto fatto in casa con le sue mani . Il tutto accompagnato da vini eccellenti tipicamente toscani doc ! Non ci dimentichiamo poi delle camere , carine e di cui non c'è nulla da eccepire per la pulizia ed ordine . Anche il resto della struttura , dai giardini alla piscina tutto curato ,addirittura meglio che dalle foto del sito . Un consiglio , dopo cena nel giardino di fronte a S.Gimignano, rilassatevi ascoltando " il concerto " della natura immersi nel prato illuminato di lucciole. Possiamo solo dire che Cristina , Francesca e Gilberto , ci hanno fatto passare un indimenticabile anniversario di matrimonio ! Grazie ragazzi , siete unici ! Giudizio finale : lo consigliamo a tutti !!! Laura e Alberto. Bergamo

View more reviews for this inn


Il verde intorno at Agriturismo La Lucciolaia (San Gimignano, Italy)

3.4 reviewed on May 23, 2012

Le bellezze paesaggistiche che circondano L'agriturismo la Lucciolaia ritemprano la mente, il cuore e l'appetito. Sito davvero stupendo, personale cordiale e competente. L'unico neo, la strada sterrata per arrivare un po troppo polverosa (un po di ghiaia risolverebbe in parte il problema) Giuliano

View more reviews for this inn


toscana in spring time at Agriturismo La Lucciolaia (San Gimignano, Italy)

4.0 reviewed on May 13, 2012

It was a wonderfull stay in the toscana and also in that small hotel. It has an amzing view on a lot of vine yards and towards San Giminano.

View more reviews for this inn


My Favorite B&B in Tuscany at Agriturismo Marciano (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2011

My Husband and I own a B&B and winery in New York and wanted to stay at a similar property. Being a skeptic and not sure what to expect abroad we were blown away by this winery & Inn. It was exactly what we were looking for, unpretentious, laid back and beautiful. Not too forget the Wines were our favorite (I still dream about that Canaiolo Wine) and the Dinner is not to be missed After 5 days of travel in Tuscany staying at similar properties this was our Favorite We will definitely be back! Nadia and her husband were accommodating and a pleasure to meet Lisa & Anthony Sannino

View more reviews for this inn


Dad & Mom and adult daughters at Agriturismo Le Caggiole (Montepulciano, Italy)

4.8 reviewed on November 13, 2011

My sister and I took our parents to Italy for thier 55 anniversary + Mom's 75 birthday. Thank God everyone is healthy enough to make this trip. Thank goodness for this wonderful bed & breakfast. Coming into our rooms after touring the surrounding area each night was like coming home. It was a perfect place to let dad and mom unwind after lots of walking. Quite and peaceful... much like our rural homes back in the USA. Wonderful host and hostess too. You'll love it!

View more reviews for this inn


Bella Le Caggiole! at Agriturismo Le Caggiole (Montepulciano, Italy)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2011

This is a gem on the Tuscany countryside and ideally situated to visit the many stunning hilltop towns in the area. What makes it so special among many places that you could stay in Tuscany, is the 5th generation family, The Martinelli's, who care for the property and their guests. The website photo truly reflect the atmosphere here and the dinner they served was special! We were so pleased to have made this our base for a full week and the stay was excellent value all round. Marina H Toronto, Canada

View more reviews for this inn


WONDERFUL! Words cannot begin to capture the experience! at Agriturismo Marciano (Siena, Italy)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2011

An absolutely extraordinary experience! Beginning with the beautiful setting amongst vineyards and olive groves, to the hundreds of years old farmhouse, the lovely, comfortable, and quiet rooms, ending with the most extraordinary food you will eat in Tuscany! Nadia buys the food for the evening's meal that day and vegetables come directly from the farm's organic garden mere hours before you eat them. All six courses are paired with a different wine from the farm's vineyard and all are extraordinary. I am picky about wine and was so impressed! Nadia and her husband Renalto worked tirelessly for all of their guests. The price of the stay belies the time and the attention, the quality of the meals, the heartiness and freshness of breakfast, and the magic of the experience. Amidst many extraordinary Italian experiences, San Marciano rates as one of the greatest places to stay, eat, and relax. We had friends stay at a B&B who were lured there by a pool and some cosmetic frills--they were disappointed by the food and the wine. San Marciano has the view, the lovely, lovely home (no pool--but who cares when you can eat some of the greatest food and drink some of the must luscious vino???), and Nadia--culinary extraordinaire who learned to cook from her grandmother who emphasized the value of the most fresh, organic ingredients and to focus on a few flavors rather than drowning a meal in a cacophany of tastes. Loved it! Beyond words!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}