Recent Reviews in Seagrove, North Carolina

Great B&B at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2016

Our downstairs room was larger and comfortable, as was our bed. Breakfast was delicious- from fresh fruit to blueberry pancakes, eggs & bacon. And a nice offer of cheese & crackers as we read on the front porch late afternoon. The sisters are wonderful hosts!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary, and since she loves pottery we wanted to spend a couple of days in Seagrove. I booked the Duck Smith house on line. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by Suzanne Murphy who with her sister Barbara own the B&B. Just a short chat with these sweet ladies and we felt like we were greeted by our relatives. The house is very elegant but so cozy and comfortable and very beautifully decorated. The sisters pampered my wife and I to make our anniversary very special. The gourmet breakfast was wonderful, and elegantly served. We could not have been more pleased with the comfort and service we received , On a scale of 1 to 10 this is a 10...

View more reviews for this inn


Ahhhhh! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 12, 2016

From the Internet,to the street view, through the front door, meeting the sisters and Daisy dog, the bird s singing, the beautifully restored bead board, the sunroom, China , crystal, lace, wicker porches, green grass, historical dwellings , picture perfect landscape, the breakfast ......AHHHHH, SANCTUARY! We booked another stay before we left. Thank you Barbara and Suzy,

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we needed! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2016

We were looking for a place for a much-needed overnight get-away for some down time and rest. We couldn't have asked for a better place. The good reviews caught our attention and we weren't disappointed. The house was charming and immaculately kept. Our room was private, the bed was very comfortable and all the amenities were just as advertised. And the breakfast was fantastic. The best part of the stay was the opportunity to meet Suzanne and Barbara. Couldn't imagine better, more hospitable hosts! Thanks for making this just what we needed!

View more reviews for this inn


Simply Great! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 24, 2016

The place was wonderful. We stayed on a not-so-great-weather weekend (January), so we were actually the only guests. We were warmly welcomed by Suzanne and Daisy (and their sweet dog - which i forgot her name...) and offered cheese and crackers . Our room (Queen size bed) was wonderful. Breakfast was amazing - we had the sweet potato pancakes, and also had the great granola that they prepared. It was delicious. Both Suzanne and Daisy were very friendly and we had some very nice conversations with them about their experiences around the US (we are not from the US but live here for that last year). We highly recommend staying with them - a real nice homey feeling.

View more reviews for this inn


This is the way a B&B should be! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 17, 2015

This was our latest stay at Duck Smith House, but we have enjoyed the place several times over the past years. We usually go down in November with another couple, stay for two nights, and spend the days checking out all the pottery shops and chatting with the potters in Seagrove, NC. Sisters Barbara and Suzanne are wonderful hosts: there when you need something, but not in your way. They make yummy breakfasts, and dining in the sunporch is the perfect spot to watch all the birds out in their backyard. They have four bedrooms, all with their own baths, and everything is always immaculate

View more reviews for this inn


nice get-a-way at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on December 08, 2015

pleasant hostesses excellent breakfast comfortable rooms

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2015

When we arrived at the Duck Smith House, we were greeted by Suzanne and Barbara and felt right at home. The house is immaculate and clean and the grounds are beautiful. The breakfast was homemade and simply delicious. We have stayed at other Bed and Breakfast homes and this experience was by far the best. Any time that we are in North Carolina, we will be staying at the Duck Smith House.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from Home at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2015

This was my second visit to the Duck Smith House. As soon as I arrived I was greeted by Barbara and Suzanne with open arms. First thing they said was "Welcome Home" to me. That is the way these special two ladies made me feel the whole visit. The house and furnishings are beautiful. Special details and personal touches are abundant through out. The beds are comfortable and prove to give a restful nights sleep. Breakfast, you're in for a treat ! Barbara does most of the cooking. She is a wonderful cook. My last breakfast there included fresh peach pancakes, eggs and sausages. Suzanne started breakfast off with a special strawberry parfait with yogurt, granola. It was light and refreshing. Good thing, because the breakfast is very hearty and filling ! Make sure to ask about the history of the house and grounds. It's fascinating ! I can't wait for my next retreat at the Duck Smith House. Thank you Barbara and Suzanne for making my stays so special.

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like coming home at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2015

I stayed for just one night at the The Duck Smith House, located in a scenic and exciting region of North Carolina. Yet, this was sufficient time to recommend this B&B boundlessly. Arriving there, reminded me of coming home in my childhood days: a beautiful, authentic house that offers more than a simple bed: it is a real home. The beds are fantastic and the breakfast is great. The best about The Duck Smith House are naturally Barbara and Suzanne, its owners. They were caring for a comfortable stay from the first to the last minute. Memorable!

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2015

The Duck Smith House was fabulous. The beds were absolutely amazing, the rooms and house were extremely clean and adorably decorated. The breakfast was wonderful, we couldn't wait to see what was being served the next day. Barbara and Suzanne were exceptional host, they were very helpful in knowing what to do and where to eat. All of their suggestions did not disappoint. We felt very comfortable and relaxed, from sitting on the porch to enjoying the beautiful breakfast room. Overall an A+ trip and highly recommended, we will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


What a SURPRISE! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2015

My husband planned an anniversary getaway to Seagrove. He would not tell me anything......when we arrived at the Duck Smith House, Barbara and Suzanne and of course Daisy greeted us outside at the car. The house is beautiful and we were the only guests for the night. Barbara and Suzanne are so great and gracious and fun to talk to. The evening snack and the breakfast were fantastic! We would definitely recommend a stay at their b and b. They made our surprise anniversary stay a special one. THANK YOU

View more reviews for this inn


Magical. Fairytale. Peace. Reset. at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2015

By far the BEST B&B I've ever stayed at. Why? 1.) quaint, cosy, cute -not in an old-kind-of-way-that-I-use-quaint-because-it's-not-really-that-great-kind-of-way. Quaint, cosy & cute in the MOST perfect-fairytale-dream-kind of way. It's like walking into the pages of a fairytale ending. You'll want to come back again&again 'cause it's absolute MAGIC. 2.) CLEAN. I'm a neat-freak/clean-freak/germaphobe. 11 out of 10 stars for cleanliness. Seriously. I'm usually afraid to take my shoes off in most hotels/B&B's, never drink out of the glasses, etc. But this place -not only did I take my shoes off, I walked around in my BARE feet, drank out of their glasses (crystal to be exact), &felt perfectly comfortable:safe knowing it was CLEAN. Love that! 3.) Service is beyond anything I would ever expect. I plugged in my phone charger next to my bed -the electrical outlet was behind bed. Next day, they tied a little blue ribbon into the cord/hung it on the bed post, to keep it in plain sight, make it easy to find&remind me it was there so I wouldn't forget it when I left. SERIOUSLY? Who does that? 4.) Breakfast.is.to.die.for.yummy. OMGOMGOMG. Things you'd never find at even 5star hotels. I've stayed at many 5star hotels across the U.S. -those places have nothing over the culinary skills&service provided by these 2sisters. Baked grapefruit meringue, stuffed crepes, pumpkin waffles. Thought we died&went to heaven. 5.) PEACE. I found myself drawn to watching the birds, appreciating the trees&setting. One evening, sat out on the front porch to write some thoughts, was delighted to see fireflies light up the garden -as if in a visual symphony JUST for me. So magical! Fairytale-like! I thought I was in a dream the entire time I was here. The best thing about Duck Smith B&B is that Suzanne&Barbara love what they do. It shows in the attention to detail, love & care with which they do everything. We felt like pampered princesses when we stayed here. (My daughter & I) BEST.B&B.EVER.

View more reviews for this inn


Seagrove home at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on April 20, 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our two nights with the Long Island ladies at the Duck Smith House. Peaceful, clean, great food. We will return on our next trip through pottery country.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2014

Once again, we stayed at the Duck Smith House after a trip to the NC Zoo. We do this annually, and it really is a tradition for our family. The hospitality the sisters offer is wonderful, and they have a gorgeous house. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and breakfasts are always incredible. Super peaceful sitting on the porch, or walking around and watching the birds soar in the backyard. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2014

The sisters are charming and the house is lovely--especially the porch. Breakfast is always delicious... and the share the recipes!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!!! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2014

This was my first time at a bed and breakfast and the sisters made it wonderful. I would stay at a bed and breakfast again because of them. They give you just the right amount of attention to make you feel so very special and you come to feel as if they are your long lost friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2014

My sister and I recently spent a wonderful time at the Duck Smith House - what a lovely place and the sisters are terrific. They pay attention to every detail in order to make the customers stay the best it can be. Fantastic breakfast every day and snacks in the evening. Highly recommend this B&B!!

View more reviews for this inn


If You Aren't There by Now, You Should Be!!! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2014

One of our best B&B experiences. Joe and Kathy Huddleston, Manteo, NC

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B stay in the last 5 years. at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2014

My wife, Caroline, and I stayed overnight at The Duck Smith House this June. We were on our way to a week's stay in Asheville and had wanted to see the pottery in Seagrove. Our hostesses, Barbara and Suzanne, were so charming and funny and knowledgeable. They made our stay a delight and they made a super breakfast. We felt genuinely welcome in their home. Thanks again, Caroline and Steve

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2014

This past spring, a spur of the moment plan had our family of three (based in Raleigh) heading to the NC Zoo and then on to Boone. We decided to stay at The Duck Smith House for one evening. Can't say enough good things about this B&B ... though it's Barbara and Suzanne who were the jewels of our stay. Their hospitality was wonderful and obvious love for their business were very apparent. They made our stay so very comfortable. (We stayed in the The Waverly Room, with two double beds. Lots of room for the three of us!)

View more reviews for this inn


southern comfort and charm at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 23, 2014

this is The Place to stay! Excellent service, delicious breakfast, beautiful presentation, wonderful rooms,very comfortable. The house itself is amazing. very convenient location,close to many potteries restaurants and the zoo. A wonderful place for a weekend getaway. Barbara and Suzanne run a beautiful B&B. already booked for our next visit !!! LOVED THIS PLACE!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on April 18, 2014

Lovely, quiet, can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2014

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast! The owners do a great job!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent & Delightful at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2013

Southern hospitality at it's best. These open hearted sisters extend a warm welcome to guests. Delicious breakfasts, fresh flowers in your room, many small thoughtful, friendly touches.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2013

Room were large. Breakfast great. Close to all the potteries in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Marvelous Weekend at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2013

Duck Smith House is a wonderful operation. Extremely comfortable, well appointed, with outstanding fare for breakfast. Owners really make you feel at home. Kudos to them.

View more reviews for this inn


The Duck Smith House at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on December 19, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B, the house is so clean and the owner's Barbara and Suzanne were so sweet and welcoming. We stayed in the summit room which is the smallest of all four rooms but plenty of room for two. The breakfast was outstanding!

View more reviews for this inn


The Duck Smith House at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2013

Delightful Bed & Breakfast with an outstanding breakfast. We loved our stay and would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


The Duck Smith House at The Duck Smith House (Seagrove, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 17, 2013

A delightful surprise with 2 very nice owners and a funny dog! Yummy breakfast! Charming and comfortable!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Duck Smith House (4.91)
Top
}