American House on the Hill B&B Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

amazing B and B.

5 on June 15, 2014

loved our stay. very quiet place. had a great time relaxing on the porch, seeing the chickens, eating home made breakfast, and chatting with the owners. highly recomend. we will be back.


Greenville Weekend Trip

5 on November 27, 2013

Our stay was very enjoyable. LaVena was an excellent host, the bed was comfortable and breakfast was outstanding. We would definitely stay there again.


welcome in sc

4.4 on June 12, 2013

hosts warm and enthusiastic about their continuing work on a beautiful old home with comfortable front porch. Bathroom is shared, but this allows them to keep rates incredibly low. We felt at home with privacy, calm.


The best Bed and Breakfast in the Carolinas

5 on June 02, 2013

The owners are wonderful and kind. The house is clean, the bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast is so enjoyable. The food is the best I have ever experienced while traveling. I will plan to visit again every year! I highly recommend this fantastic Bed and Breakfast to everyone.


Inexpensive & Clean

3.2 on May 01, 2013

Could have had a better overall "presentation"- but It was an excellent bargain for a clean stay and fresh food.


A Great place for a little R & R

4.8 on November 01, 2012

We were a little hesitant to book a room after reading some of the reviews but the price was right and it was only for one night so we went for it.SO glad we did! LaVena and John are great hosts and they have a great bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Williams-McDavid Room and we were very comfortable in our big sleigh bed:) The beautiful old home has lots of history and many antiques but it doesn't feel like a museum - very homey and comfortable... complete with a few pooches if you are missing your own pets! (they don't have free run of the house and are confined to the owner's quarters but will gladly accept some lovin'). Breakfast was wonderful - a fresh made Belgian waffle with homemade pear topping - YUM-O! We will definitely stay again. The weather had just turned chilly and very windy so sitting on the grand old porch was out of the question this time. Would be a great place to spend a quiet afternoon reading and enjoying some wine and cheese! One thing that is not spelled out on the website is that the restrooms are shared by the guests. It wasn't a problem for us as the closest one was right outside our door. I generally steer away from shared baths but would stay again in spite of it! We had a lovely stay and wish it had been longer. John and LaVena said there are no ghosts that they know of but I had a strange dream while there and was visited by a white standard poodle in my dream, walking around the property with us - he even slept at the foot of the bed with me in the dream. John and LaVena have never had a white standard poodle and neither have we. Would love to hear from others who stay here if they have had similar dreams or any sightings:). A great place to stay, close to Greenville and very quiet and relaxing. We did not encounter any of the negative things mentioned by other reviewers. Thanks John and LaVena!


This Is a Favorite

4.8 on October 24, 2012

The generous, friendly hospitality of the hosts, the delicious breakfasts, the willingness to work with difficult diets, and the warmth of this older home make this a favorite place to stay when we are in the Greenville area.


Enjoyable Stay in South Carolina

4.4 on October 08, 2012

The owners were great and waited up for us to arrive, which was around 9p.m. When we got to the home we decided we liked the american room better and they were happy to move us. They were very cordial and we prompt at breakfast since they knew we were catching a flight out of Greenville. Wish we could have played some games on the front porch but we didn't have time. Thanks for the stay!


Couldn't ask for more

5 on August 23, 2012

LaVena and John were awesome. I booked with them 24 hours in advance - short notice! - and they were happy to accomadate me at 2am when my lady and i finally got there. She had a late flight into charlotte and LaVena was more than happy to stay up for us and let us in. Their dogs are small and well-contained. Our room had AC and I really couldn't have asked for better lodging. The food was terrific and I would recommend this place to anyone staying in or near Greenville SC - and the prices are far better than any hotel you would pay for in Greenville. Much love.


Great way to end our trip!!

4.6 on July 04, 2012

After a action packed week on Hilton Head Island, we stayed at American House during our travel back to Ohio. It was a just as we had hoped! Peaceful and cozy. Lavena and John were so nice, and very helpful with any questions about the surrounding area. The home itself it a treasure for sure. The bed pictured in the Americana room was very comfy! The futon left a little to be desired, but for the value of accomadating our party of five in such a wonderful setting, it was doable. Lavena catered to each of our specific requests from her breakfast menu, and BELIEVE all the reviews saying what a great cook she is! The homemade belgian waffle took up the entire plate, with a delicious pear topping to boot! Would definitely love to stay here again :)


A great beginning

5 on May 29, 2012

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. It was like staying at a friend's home. The Stuffed French Toast was the best. I never slept better while on vacation before. They had wireless internet and even let me print my boarding passes on there printer. They recommeded that we go and see Ceasars Head National Park and visit Pretty Place. We had a great time and can't wait to go back next year.


wonderful bread and breakfast

5 on May 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. There was another couple staying at the same time and we enjoyed talks with them on the wonderful front porch.


Great Greenville Getaway

4.6 on May 10, 2012

Rooms are huge and nicely decorated. Common areas are very comfortable. Really enjoyed the rocking on the front porch. Hosts were talkative and informative. Excellent value for money.


Assessment of 'American House on the Hill B & B

4.2 on April 25, 2012

Great value for you money. Location was perfect for us. It rests approximately 6 miles South of Greenville proper. Hwy. 25, Augusta Road has perfect access to I-185, so one can get anywhere in Greenville in 20 minutes, or less. The location is quiet with minimal road noise, or, any irritating inner city business noises. Quiet, listen to the birds sing, place, minutes away from the city. Excellent !


We will return!

4.2 on December 19, 2011

The owners are very gracious and excellent hosts! :)


American Rm.

4.6 on October 29, 2011

The Crivea's are very friendly and personable. My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay albeit too brief.


American House

4.4 on October 25, 2011

This b&b is nestled on three acres off the beaten path, wonderfully quiet and refreshingly dark at night yet just a quick fifteen minutes from Greenville. The innkeepers were fun to get to know and told funny stories which kept us laughing all evening. Breakfast was delicious - everything is cooked from scratch - and the little pastry treats were so yummy. We will visit again!


Comfortable, great service, wonderful food!

4.6 on October 07, 2011

Wonderful couple, very accommodating. Food was delicious, bed extremely comfortable. Great value!


Very nice bnb

5 on October 04, 2011

The owners are genuinely concerned with well-being on the guest, and are very kind. Bed was comfortable, food excellent. Easy enough access to Greenville SC. The only drawbacks were that the bathrooms are in the hall, and there are dogs. The dogs are blocked by a barricade. Excellent value.


The Ultimate Southern B&B

4.6 on October 02, 2011

This is the best B&B I have ever visited and epitomizes what a B&B is all about. The house is lovely and comfortable. The owners are very focused on making their guests feel at home. The setting is perfect; I truly felt like I was in the countryside although not too far from the city. The guest room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and well appointed. I will definitely stay at this B&B many times again in the future.


Fantastic weekend.

4.6 on September 28, 2011

This is one of those times when I find myself really glad to have the internet. The American House on the Hill is not the type of place my wife and I would usually stay at. If not for the internet, I would have never found it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were FANTASTIC!


Authentic Southern Hospitality

4.2 on September 11, 2011

It is a treat to stay in this old Southern home. The hosts are warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts are delicious.


Taste of Southern Living

4.2 on August 31, 2011

Here's a chance to stay in an old Southern home that has not lost its character. Add this to delicious breakfasts with plenty of variety and to gracious hosts, and you have a memorable and enjoyable experience.


American House: A Delightful, Pleasant, and Afordable Experience

4.6 on July 02, 2011

After a busy evening in Greenville, it was pleasant to be out in the country, rocking on the front porch, watching the lightening bugs, and listening to the cicadas. This was my first experience at a B&B in the USA and I was very pleased. Breakfast was delicious with homemade pear sauce on my waffle, eggs, coffee, etc. I hope I can visit again. John even helped me with a flat tire on my truck!


First timers

2.6 on June 05, 2011

A/C not satisfactory in public areas. "Private" bath shared with residing parents. Suggest reducing household clutter. Appreciated breakfast options...very tasty!


Great place

5 on June 01, 2011

We had a great time, the bed was the best nights sleep we had in any Inn/Hotel. The host/hostess were very helpful. they treeted us like family. At breakfast ALWAYS go for the daily spiecal. Thank you LaVena & John.


Wonderful Old Southern Home in Greenville SC Area

5 on May 02, 2011

My wife and I had the privilege to stay at American House on the Hill while on vacation in South Carolina. John & La Vena were wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. They showed us the house and told us its history and about the Greenville area. This old Southern home is comfortable and very nicely appointed. Our room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed the conversation with our hosts. We would defiantly recommend American House on the Hill as a place to stay while in the Greenville SC area.


Wonderful B&B stay!

4.2 on April 01, 2011

This was our second stay. We had a wonderful experience both times. Breakfast was homemade & delicious!


Enjoyable Stay

4.6 on January 10, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at American House on the Hill. John & La Vena were very helpful, gave us great directions. Sorry John, we could not get on the YMCA road, totally snowed in, will get there sometime. Tasty breakfast, big bedroom, we will stay here again if we are in the vicinity. The snowfall was the cherry on the cake. thanks Gray, Linda & Chelsea. (South Afrca)


Great place to stay

5 on December 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights over Christmas 2010. John and LaVena Crivea (Innkeepers) were awesome. The speciality breakfasts very divine. We really like the Americana Room. We've stayed there before and were greeted like family.


Wonderful Stay!

5 on November 22, 2010

My wife and I thuroughly enjoyed our stay! It was a very peaceful and the personel were ver hospitable! The room we were given was very appropriate and I was honored to be able to stay there as I am medically retired military and ex-police officer. We will defiantely be staying there again in the future! Thank you very much for the opportunity. Lane Price


American House on the Hill B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $69 - $89
  • Reviews (31) 4.6
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Toll free 1-8663381180

Visit Website »

View details

Top