Recent Reviews in Saranac Lake, New York

A great weekend getaway at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2016

We were looking for a place to relax and unwind and found it! Our room was very comfortable, rustic and homey! The food was delicious and the hosts were quite friendly, and very helpful with tips on where to visit. Would love to return someday!

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant stay and great view right on the lake! at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on December 31, 2015

Very nice rooms with great view of the lake. Hospitable staff and great food selection. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


A Little Piece Of Heaven at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on December 02, 2015

Clean mountain air, beautiful scenery, friendly accommodating hosts, clean comfortable rooms and good food - what more could you want?? Maybe a walk in the woods or a canoe ride on the lake, a little fishing? I loved it all!

View more reviews for this inn


Great fall retreat at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2015

If you are looking for a great fall retreat, you can do no better than Kiwassa. Comfortable rooms is an understatement as we stayed in the Bear room. Loved the fireplace, beds were great. Hospitality was excellent and the food was wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Camp Victor at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.0 reviewed on August 31, 2015

We spent three awesome days at Camp Victor on Kiwassa Lake. The cabin was rustic and comfortable - perfect for our family of four - and the lake is incredibly peaceful. From this location you can also easily paddle into Oseetah Lake, which is a nice bonus. I'd highly recommend Cochran's Cabins for these and many other reasons, not the least of which was the warm and friendly welcome we received from Marjorie.

View more reviews for this inn


Well worth the price. at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2015

I confess I am the world's biggest cheapskate. Dropping several hundreds of dollars on a bed and breakfast stay is a big deal. I would be unkind if I perceived that our pockets had been picked by substandard service or setting. I'm happy to report that Marge and he staff were as good as advertised. The location is quiet, secluded and beautiful. The room was large and beautifully decorated and the Adirondack breakfasts were large and delicious. We enjoyed ourselves for the three days we stayed and hope to return in the future. Jim and Nancy Perfield, Cato, NY.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Place to Stay in the 'Daks. at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.2 reviewed on February 23, 2015

Myself and my girlfriend found this to be a very pleasant and comfortable B&B, in a scenic lakeside location, with very large, cozy rooms. We only stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed longer. This will definitely be on our list of places to visit next time we are in Saranac.

View more reviews for this inn


A beautiful destination with so much to offer. at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.8 reviewed on February 10, 2015

Our trip to the area was chosen to coincide with the Saranac Lake Winter Carnival. We had a wonderful time. Marjorie prepared wonderful breakfasts, including homecooked gluten free food for one of us. Our room (Bear) was huge, nicely decorated, cozy, and clean. We were also pleased to have access to kitchen facilities just outside of our room. We made side trips to Potsdam and Lake Placid as well. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us helpful advice regarding our travel plans. The proximity of the lake was amazing, and the views were amazing. We wished we could have stayed longer. We hope to come back in the summer to enjoy water activities. -D&C 02/05/15

View more reviews for this inn


Serene at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

3.6 reviewed on September 19, 2014

We were disappointed at first that there was no TV in our little cabin, but after a few moments we decided that Flower Lake was infinitely better to look at. Right outside the door!!

View more reviews for this inn


A slice of Heaven. at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2014

My wife and i had a very relaxing time. A beautiful breakfast to start our day. Relax lakeside Listen to natural. Hike go into town it was what was needed, we said YES! And took in all the Cochran Family gave us.

View more reviews for this inn


Where the heart is at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

We stayed for a week in Kiwassa Lake Bed and Breakfast. We fell in love with the house; the lake; surrounding hemlocks, birch trees, pines; beautiful birds; and most of all warm hospitality of the Chochran family. This place envelopes you in serenity. What a priceless experience we will remember for a long time: sitting on a dock of the lake and listening to the sounds of loons, looking at beautiful fog rising above mysterious stillness of the lake surface, water lilies, view of surrounding mountains wrapped in fog, green of forests, sunsets and sunrises. This is where you reconnect with yourself and find inner peace. Grown up in Lithuania, country of lakes, forests, and rivers, it was even more special to be able to see beautiful pines, spruces, lakes, be able to swim/boat on the lake early/late in a day…childhood found. We loved the house/rooms we stayed in (Moose and Pike), the terrace with Adirondack chairs, humming birds, beautiful flowers around the house and hanging on the porch. I will remember for a long time sitting on a dock with the hosts’ lab Lainey by my side and watching together the pink/golden sunrise. The hosts are very familiar with the area and their recommendations were priceless and on target. We loved ALL restaurants that were recommended. Breakfasts were served in a cozy living room overlooking the lake, and decorated with with cuckoo and grandfather’s clock, books and bookshelves, piano. Food was amazing, creative, and made with inspiration: hard act to follow. Will be definitely missing this place and coming back with more of our family members as this place needs to be seen and experienced.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay was entirely too short at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2014

Our room was well designed, clean, comfortable and it had an excellent view. Marjorie and her family were wonderful hosts. They are knowledgable about the area and reccomended an excellent place for dinner. I feel that for what I can spend on a hotel room in the middle of nowhere that is dirty and has no view...this room was reasonably priced and a great value. Breakfast was perfect. We plan to return for a longer stay as soon as we can.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B!! at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed there for a long weekend and it was great. The couple running it was so sweet and friendly. Clean living area, beautiful lake view. No complaints at all!!

View more reviews for this inn


Our own little house at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2014

We stayed in #5, a tiny house all by itself, looking out over Lake Flower. It had a living room, kitchen and bathroom downstairs and a small reading room and bedroom upstairs. It was very private and quiet. Our hosts, Cal and Chris, were knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and the breakfasts were delicious. Our stay couldn't have been better.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2014

Highly recommend staying here! Will definitely return! Hospitable and accommodating!

View more reviews for this inn


Adirondack Paradise at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2014

A true treasure nestled among the trees and lakes in the Adirondack. Our stay was nothing short of amazing. The owners were gracious and hospitable and we are still talking about the breakfast. We stumbled upon a true treasure and look forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and inviting. Like home away from home. at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2014

My family of four stayed in the spacious Bear room. The food was delicious. The owners were gracious and made us feel at home. We spent four days at the B&B and enjoyed every minute of it.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely atmosphere but could be spiffed up a bit at Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat (Lake Clear, New York)

4.2 reviewed on January 16, 2014

We were here a few years ago for dinner a few years age and always wanted to come back and stay for a weekend. So this new year's we planned a two night stay. The rooms were very quaint and and atmosphere was lovely as we expected. We were disappointed that the horse drawn carriagess were not running but that is a service outside the hotel and they do not control that. Our original trip was even better with that amenity. We just had breakfast and there were nice warm muffins out of the oven and warm coffee to wake us up. (It was cold for our stay) We also ordered waffles which seemed to be pre-made and warmed up. Not the best but OK with some nice crisp bacon and warm syrup. Service was great and the owners are delightful people. I think if they renewed the curtains and cleaned up a bit it would add to the ambiance making it less old but more cumfy cozy for a winter stay. Would and have recommended to friends!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2013

As always, a beautiful stay. We are always made to feel warm & welcome. The Inn keepers have become a part of our family. And ours, their family.

View more reviews for this inn


Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.8 reviewed on December 10, 2013

My stay was wonderful. Good food, great local hosts & very tranquil setting!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to stay! at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 17, 2013

Branch Farm B&B provides a peaceful, relaxing home away from home. Friendly and helpful proprietors made our stay very enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightfully Surprised at Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat (Lake Clear, New York)

3.8 reviewed on October 09, 2013

The hosts, Cathy & Ernest, were great hosts and provided a unique and pleasant environment for a lodge / bed and breakfast style retreat. You get what you pay for as pricing is not budget but the value is warranted. I would return.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place with great hosts! at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.4 reviewed on September 30, 2013

Very quiet, relaxing and loved watching the deer come out in the evening.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful surprise at Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat at Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat (Lake Clear, New York)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to take a much needed brief vacation, but did our planning in a hurry. We didn't know what to expect from the Bed & Breakfast we selected. When we pulled into the drive leading to the lodge, we were very surprised by the unspoiled setting. There were wildflowers in all directions, decorating the property. Several mini-lodges are scattered about the main house, which dates way back (you'll have to look up the date yourself). We ended up in one of the mini-lodges (the Eagle room) which looks out over the lake. For the record, the lake is truly clear. There was more than enough to do--trails to walk where we found a trove of wild blueberries, kayaks and canoes to use, bikes. The food was unbelievable. Ernest provided a bit of context prior to our dinner when he gathered all the diners in the Rathskeller. We learned some interesting history about the lodge and the values and philosophy that guide how things are done today. Chef Cathy accommodated our vegetarian diets with a delicious vegetable strudel, accompanied by an array of side dishes that easily could've been entrees themselves. My boyfriend and I are both over 50 (just slightly in my case), and while we are extremely active and engaged, we were seeking a vacation that took us away from day-to-day concerns. We wanted to unplug. The Lake Clear Lodge and Retreat provided exactly what we wanted, but it's still so close to Saranac and Lake Placid, etc, that we could bop over to check out favorite spots and then return to the peacefulness of the lodge. The owners and their lovely daughter (we didn't get a chance to meet the other kids) were the perfect hosts. I hope they take as much pleasure from sharing their home as my boyfriend and I did in staying with them. We are already planning our return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Kiwassa. The setting is serene and relaxing and the owners are helpful and very pleasant. We stayed in the Moose room with excellent views of the lake. The breakfasts were beyond expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Tranquil Place to stay at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.8 reviewed on July 13, 2013

We wanted a quiet place to relax and this place was perfect Marjory and her son made us feel welcome. We stayed in the bed and breakfast and enjoyed wonderful breakfast each morning A short drive to towns of Saranac Lake and Lake Placid if you want to shop or find a place for dinner. Sitting by the lake just reading was so peaceful. Many nice hikes close by which we did a couple days Wish we stayed longer. Thank you for the hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing & Special Location at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend stay at Kiwassa Lake B & B, and we couldn't have had a nicer time. Beautiful location, tranquil, private---the views were gorgeous and the owners were delightful. Low-key and completely relaxing spot. We could've taken advantage of all the activities offered (boating, fishing, flying, etc.), but we were so content with the room and location that we just hung out on the dock and in our room for most of the trip! Highly recommend booking a stay with these lovely folks.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional Service at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast and Cabins (Saranac Lake, New York)

4.4 reviewed on February 16, 2013

Warm , loving couple. Tranquil, peaceful site to reflect and truly pause. LOVED it. Thanks Marjorie and Cliff. J&B 7-18-12

View more reviews for this inn


B&B at its best at Branch Farm Bed and Breakfast (Saranac Lake, New York)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2013

Great hosts we will definitely be back ERIC & MICHELE

View more reviews for this inn


Our most amazing stay in the Adirondacks at Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat (Lake Clear, New York)

5 reviewed on January 13, 2013

Our stay was amazing, Kathy and Ernest pleasantly helped us to enjoy every minute of our stay. The food and wine tasting was more then we would have thought to experience and then some. After we walked the wintery snow cover trails and gazed at the mountains over the lake. Arriving back to the cabin to sit by a beautiful wood burning fire place was the top of our peaceful and refreshing getaway. We will defiantly be returning again and this time for a much longer stay.

View more reviews for this inn


About Saranac Lake

Most Unique Winter Festivals in the US

Top
}