Recent Reviews in Santa Barbara, California

Nice place! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on February 06, 2016

This is a nice inn by the beach. The price is very reasonable. My only problem is it's not what I expected for a bed and breakfast. What they offered was more like a continental breakfast you see at most hotels. Still a nice place to stay for the price!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on January 28, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday. We wanted to stay by the beach which was basically across the street. We stayed in the Courtyard Suite. I would definitely recommend the suite rooms. They are much more spacious and offer better amenities. After our wine tastings my wife and I came back to the room and opened a bottle and relaxed in front of the fire place. After dinner we came back and sat in the courtyard where there is also a fire pit. The next morning we took a walk along the beach before brunch and leaving town. Our whole stay was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on January 21, 2016

Stayed 3 week day nights in Tweedledum suite. Roomy, microwave, refig, king bed. Only complaint is sofa and chairs in living area are not very comfortable. Bed was great, didn't use the spa tub. Breakfasts were great and so was wine/snacks at 5.

View more reviews for this inn


Cute Inn by the Beach at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on January 20, 2016

My husband and I took the train from San Diego to Santa Barbara. We chose Casa Del Mar Inn because it was close to the train, the beach, and the main street in Santa Barbara. We arrived at the train station at almost 10 pm, and it was about a 10 minute walk to the Inn. Being January, it was very quiet and I felt very safe walking in the residential neighborhood. The lobby closed at 10 pm, but when I called the office before arriving and told them of our late arrival, the person told me exactly where to look for our keys. It worked out well. The next morning I registered, and everything was great! The rooms are a good size, larger than I was expecting. There is a small refrigerator and microwave there, which was helpful. The floor is tile, which makes sense because it is so close to the beach. This way, it is easy to clean up if people drag in sand from the beach. There is no AC but a ceiling fan with big windows. I can imagine that in the summer time, with the windows open, the fan on, and people near the beach, it could get a little loud. In January, it was lovely! The bathroom was standard. The water was very hot. (I like it hot and it was very hot!) There was good water pressure. Breakfast was very casual: cereals, muffins, bagels, juice and drinks. The coffee was very tasty! The Inn offers a wine tasting in the evening, but my husband and I were off enjoying Santa Barbara, so we did not partake. When we left the room on the first morning, I was amazed at how close we were from the beach! The hotel is about a half of a block from the sand! My husband and I walked on the beach to the Santa Barbara pier, which is maybe two blocks away! After spending the morning walking on the pier, we walked up the main street, State Street, and spent the day enjoying Santa Barbara. My husband and I would definitely come back to Casa Del Mar Inn, but probably in the Fall or Winter when Santa Barbara is a little more quiet! Enjoy your stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming rooms at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on January 20, 2016

Charming little place to stay- especially the rooms with fireplace and separate seating area. Breakfast is basic- coffe, tea, juice, breakfast rolls, fruit- but wine and cheese reception in the evening is great! Wish they had coffee makers in the rooms! Reception people are great! This was my second year staying here, and would stay again for a romantic getaway :)

View more reviews for this inn


Overnight STay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on January 19, 2016

We stayed in one of the one-room suites. The layout was great and being able to watch the fireplace and TV while lying in bed was a great amenity. The service was top-notch. My favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara. BC

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, charming stay at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on January 11, 2016

Villa Rosa Inn was delightful, clean, charming, and pleasant. The front desk staff was very warm and helpful with local recommendations. Only had one meal there - breakfast-which was OK. Nothing too out of the ordinary. We would stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Long New Years Weekend visit at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on January 07, 2016

Lovely, quiet and cozy cottage. Enjoyed our room, hot tub on the patio, breakfast, and late afternoon wine. Restful stay and great coffee joint around the corner. Would stay here again if we get back to Santa Barbara.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on January 04, 2016

Dog friendly, great location. We have stayed here multiple times.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect stay at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on December 30, 2015

What can we say? Dominique is amazing: the perfect host! She is kind, funny, welcoming and effortlessly sets the energy of her space! In addition, we were greeted by a cozy room, delicious breakfast (and wine/hors d'oeuvres), and a quiet, relaxing ambiance. We came to Secret Garden Inn and Cottages for a couple days over the Christmas holiday, and could not have asked for a better experience. The best vacations feel like you are getting away, yet, at one in the same time, feel at home. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas Travels at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on December 30, 2015

Stopped at the Casa Del Mar Inn for a night travelling north on our way home. Just the one night but will definitely be back again - lovely hotel, excellent location, very high quality rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


recent stay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

2.8 reviewed on December 29, 2015

all was good except for the breakfast. i am diabetic and everything was high sugar based except for the cheerios.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to get away! at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2015

Secret Garden was delightful! I came to get away from L.A. for a couple of days. The rooms are quaint and cozy. The service is lovely. Dominique was a wonderful hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Bpmrak at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on December 13, 2015

My only negative would be the breakfast. Many B&B's take pride in their breakfast offering. During the week a deluxe continental breakfast was offered and on Saturday they served a deep dish french toast casserole. The cook makes the casserole the night before and the morning staff cooks it. On the Saturday we were there the bottom of the casserole had overcooked and the casserole was too soft. The flavor was good but the preparation not great. At the rates this Inn charges the breakfast should have been more memorable. The rooms were comfortable, the afternoon social with wine and snacks created an opportunity to meet the other guests. They only served Santa Barbara Sauvignon Blanc both days we were there . No red wine was offered. The Sauvignon Blanc served did not recommend the winery.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect location at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on December 13, 2015

Stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend. The location is great--within walking distance of the ocean, great restaurants and the State Street trolley. The room was comfortable with a welcome gas fireplace. The staff was friendly. Looking forward to a return visit in May.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice two night stay in Santa Barbara at The Eagle Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on December 08, 2015

Used BedandBreakfast.com for the first time to book a short stay in Santa Barbara. As we are from the east coast, we picked Eagle Inn from a list on the website. We were very happy with our choice. The Inn is very conveniently located two blocks from the beach so it is quite private, which we appreciate. The room was very nice with a wooded street view. Front desk people were very helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. Breakfast was nicely presented in a very pleasant room with two choices each morning. I would definitely return to Eagle Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


best kept SECRET.. at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on November 26, 2015

love this place.. right in the center of town... you have to search to find it that's why its a secret... but when you do find it... you will never go anywhere else...and the French lady rocks... Colen

View more reviews for this inn


November wedding at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on November 25, 2015

B&B was in a great location. Room was comfortable and better than the photo on the website. Staff was accommodating and curteous

View more reviews for this inn


Santa Barbara Retreat at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on November 17, 2015

Room odor was too much a chemical scent. Was corrected. Service was exceptional.

View more reviews for this inn


Dennis at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

2.4 reviewed on November 11, 2015

Great location. You can walk pretty much everywhere. The hotel lost power between midnight and 1am on the last night of my stay. The room became very uncomfortable because the ceiling fan and the A/C would not run. This made it difficult to sleep. No lights in the morning so you could not shave or take a shower. The power was not going to be restored until the late afternoon.

View more reviews for this inn


I love Villa Rosa. at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 10, 2015

This was my second stay at Villa Rosa and I've loved it both times. The European ambience, the wonderfully friendly and helpful service, the full breakfast, the wine and cheese in the late afternoon, AND the close proximity to the pier, beach and State st. shuttle are the many reasons I'll go back again and again. The price is well worth it all!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience! at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on November 06, 2015

Although the air conditioning wasn't working during our stay, the management deducted 15% from our bill which we thought was very reasonable. We would certainly stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on November 01, 2015

Nice place and location , both close to the beach and down town. Nice room, small bathroom otherwise ok.

View more reviews for this inn


3 Day Birthday Weekend Getaway at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on October 27, 2015

Had the most WONDERFUL 3 Days here...everything was perfect, I had the best 50th birthday weekend. The owner went beyond the call of duty when my fiancé had over a 100 red roses delivered to our room ahead of time and she put them in vases all over our little cottage. She was very sweet and thoughtful for doing that. We stayed in the Woodthrush Cottage, it was very quaint and private and we absolutely loved the hot tub. There was a fridge, but with there was a microwave too. The AC worked great and the King Size bed was super comfortable...we would totally stay here again!! Kudos...

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding weekend delight at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on October 25, 2015

We had a great weekend here for my nephew's wedding in Santa Barbara

View more reviews for this inn


Looking forward to a return visit. at A White Jasmine Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on October 23, 2015

We stayed in the very cozy, and comfortable garden room on the second floor of the main house. Although the room is small it is well laid out and appointed with a generously sized bathroom including a spa tub. A delicious breakfast was delivered to our room in the morning. Loved the on site private parking.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2015

i was coming into town and needed a place that would remind me of being at home. I had a 2 bedroom with a full kitchen which made it very nice. The room was amazing, clean, and smelled fresh. The service was excellent. When ever i needed anything they were always right there to help. Anytime i am in town i will be stayin at the Caa Del Mar Inn!!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A breeze of Fresh Air at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on October 22, 2015

wonderful, charming and beautiful. Great breakfasts. Connie the inn keeper was a treat. Friendly , helpful and a pleasure to talk to. Convenient to walk everywhere. Great breakfast and wine hour

View more reviews for this inn


Cute and charming at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on October 20, 2015

We stayed here for one night. Super cute room with comfortable bed, though the queen size was a bit small for us. REALLY good appetizers and wine in the afternoon, but the breakfast was just okay. The waffles were under-cooked and cold. The fresh fruit was probably the only good thing I ate. They had some bagels and scones, hard boiled eggs and cereal and yogurt (Yoplait....which had HFCS :P ) I would recommend to serve healthier Greek yogurts, like Chobani. I slept well, but my husband (who is a light sleeper anyway) said he was up most of the night due to traffic. Our windows faced the street. Very friendly staff. Very nice grounds, beautiful plants, spacious patio where breakfast was served. I would definitely go back. Also, if you are in town for a concert at the SB Bowl, it is only a 1-mile walk from Cheshire Cat to the Bowl.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on October 20, 2015

Large rooms, kitchen and second bedroom, perfect for families. Close to beach and marina. Breakfast adequate to get you going would have loved more fruits!

View more reviews for this inn


About Santa Barbara

Find Santa Barbara sandwiched between the Atlantic and the Santa Ynez Mountains, less than a two-hour drive northwest of L.A. You’ll see beauty at every turn in this relaxed California coastal city.

What to See
Make one of your first stops the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden, located at the base of the Santa Ynez Mountains. Yes, it’s a desert climate, but you’ll also see shady redwoods and babbling brooks - the perfect place for a stroll, as is Ganna Walska Lotusland - a 37-acre estate boasting gardens filled with rarities: bromeliads, succulents, cycads. You can find several species of lotus in the ponds and kids will love the topiary garden, with trees trimmed into giraffes and other fun shapes. See fascinating local history at the Mission Santa Barbara and Casa del Herrero.

What to Do
Hike at the Nojoqui Falls County Park, about a 30-minute drive northwest of downtown Santa Barbara and into the foothills. If it has recently rained, you can take a swim under the pretty waterfall here. Head to Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park to see intricate and well-preserved cave paintings, dating to the 1600s or earlier, from the local Chumash Native Americans.
See more history at the fascinating Santa Barbara Maritime Museum or the small but mighty Museum of Natural History. To cool off, take a swim at breathtaking Shoreline Park and enjoy a sunset picnic at the Arroyo Burro County Beach Park, a relaxed beach about 20 minutes west of downtown Santa Barbara. Catch a live show at the historic Granada Theatre - dating to 1924 - in downtown Santa Barbara or at the historic open-air Arlington Theatre.

Dining and Shopping
You can find the best shopping - major retailer and boutique - on State Street in downtown Santa Barbara, running about ten blocks between Micheltorena and Gutierrez Streets. Head to the waterfront for the best seafood: Brophy Brothers near the yacht club and The Harbor Restaurant on Stearns Wharf. Bouchon, Wine Cask and Los Agaves are other must-tries and all located near downtown Santa Barbara.

Top
}