Give the gift of a getaway!

Recent Reviews in Santa Barbara, California

Very nice at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on September 01, 2015

We had a lovely room with a TV and a porch! The breakfast was plentiful and very good. Walking distance to the downtown. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Good location, great breakfast at A White Jasmine Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.2 reviewed on September 01, 2015

Great B&B for walking into SB but far enough away from any noise. Good parking and a nice garden for breakfast if you so wish. Garden room perfectly good for a short stay but would prefer one of the larger room for 3 nights or more.. Great service

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant experience! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 30, 2015

i would highly recommend Casa Del Mar. We had a bright corner second story room with lots of windows and cross ventilation. Great location to the beach and shopping.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on August 27, 2015

We were only in town for one night and really wished we could have stayed longer! The accommodations were perfect for our needs and the location could not have been better ~ short walk to the beautiful beach and to Stearn's Wharf.

View more reviews for this inn


THE place to stay in Santa Barbara! at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on August 26, 2015

I have stayed at the Cheshire Cat Inn four times over the last few years. I have stayed in individual rooms and also in one of the cottages. Every stay has been special and a little bit of heaven. The buildings are beautifully maintained and the staff is warm and welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 24, 2015

Nice spot half a block from the marina. The room was nicer than we expected. I found the bed very firm. The breakfast was adequate continental style. Afternoon wine and cheese was very pleasant. I wouldn't consider this a bed and breakfast but yes you can toast yourself a bagel in the morning. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet relaxing getaway at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 23, 2015

Love this place. Owners are so kind. We missed wine and appetizers but she opened a bottle of wine for us. They set up breakfast for us on our private patio. They really try to make your stay special. Yummy breakfasts.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Value for a Great Location! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on August 20, 2015

Here for a wedding weekend. Stayed in the 2 bdrm suite with a kitchen. Basic amenities but clean! Perfect for a family. Great location right across the street from the beach and an easy walk to the Pier and State St. Would recommend that they put the individual keys on a key chain so it's easier to find. We almost lost ours several times over the weekend because it was by itself. Couldn't put it on our key chain as we had a rental car. Otherwise, we would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Weekend Stay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.2 reviewed on August 20, 2015

I spent the weekend in Santa Barbara with my husband and our dog. I chose Casa Del Mar because of its price, location and dog-friendliness. Their pet fee was only $15 a night compared to an inn next door that charged $50. We had a king suite facing the courtyard, which was beautiful; however, with no air conditioning you need to keep the windows open and everyone can see into your room unless you put the big shades down. It wasn't a major inconvenience; just be prepared. We brought our own box fan, which helped during the day. They offer free breakfast, but I wouldn't count on it as a full meal. There were some small bagels and cereal- not a full breakfast like you would think. They do have a wine and cheese set up from 5-7pm which nice. We just went for about 10 minutes and enjoyed the free goodies. The location is great, just about a five minute walk to Stearns Wharf, and 10 minute walk to the harbor area with cafe's and maybe a 15 minute walk to the restaurants on State street. Overall it was a nice experience, very pretty Spanish-style inn, rooms were a good size (especially the suite with a kitchen). My husband and I would stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasantly surprised at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 19, 2015

Loved the room with the private patio. A little hiccup checking in. Other than that, a very nice experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Best b&b in Santa Barbara at A White Jasmine Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2015

Love this place. My husband proposed here and 6yrs later we returned. It's a perfect location at an excellent value. This place will always be special to us

View more reviews for this inn


Nice stay at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.2 reviewed on August 17, 2015

Very comfortable accommodation and friendly staff. A 20 min walk to restaurants. Nice beach in Santa Barbara 10 min drive away.

View more reviews for this inn


Cas del mar at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on August 17, 2015

Service was great

View more reviews for this inn


Average B & B at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

2.6 reviewed on August 17, 2015

Pros: Stay was in a private cottage with A/C. Proximity to State Street - dining/shopping/etc. Cons: Old bed, bedding, daybed. A little TLC would go a long way to upgrading the appearance and feel of the place. Old doesn't always mean poor condition, but in this case much of the place looked tired and worn. Many window screens appeared broken. Ants in bathroom. Ended up in my toothbrush, on the washcloths, etc. Had to go into main house to get bug spray. I wouldn't stay here again unless it was remodeled.

View more reviews for this inn


unique experience at A White Jasmine Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2015

It was first time staying at a bed and breakfast and I must say it was wonderful. Hopefully we will have an opportunity to stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


outstanding place to stay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on August 16, 2015

Plenty of space, very quiet and clean suite : we recommand this place.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 14, 2015

This is a little gem in Santa Barbara close to State St and the Funk Zone. The owners/keepers were pleasant and even called when we left some personal items in the room. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to people looking for a charming, charismatic and romantic to stay in the Santa Barbara area.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect romatic getaway at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 14, 2015

This was the best choice that I could have possibly made; it is hard to imagine a better place to have stayed. The food was excellent, and the wine and cheese in the last afternoon was a great touch. The room was terrific (and, frankly, I think we got the best one, as it's hard to imagine the others being any nicer). It's a very short fifteen-minute walk to downtown too. Parking was no problem at all. The garden was pleasant too. Everything posted on the website is 100% accurate!

View more reviews for this inn


Nicely Located and Pleasant Old Southern Charm at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.2 reviewed on August 12, 2015

Nicely Located and Pleasant Old Southern Charm

View more reviews for this inn


A favorite spot to visit when you need an escape from everyday life! at A White Jasmine Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 10, 2015

This was my 2nd time at this B&B and I love it! Very quaint, yet close to downtown. Nice owners, good food and the perfect little getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice and Cozy at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 06, 2015

Nice place to stay being close to shore. Accommodations were good. Breakfast was ok.

View more reviews for this inn


Cute hotel by the water at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 04, 2015

I have no complain with the hotel. people were nice and wine & cheese in the evening was wonderful service. Our room was a little small but not any problems . I wish there was a bathtub.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic quiet getaway at Bath Street Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2015

Most excellent B&B with delicious breakfasts (fresh fruit, homemade granola and original changing entrees daily). They will tailor the food to your preferences/(in-)tolerances. Stayed in the Abigail room with my wife, an all-too-short getaway from the heat in Phoenix. Easily walkable to anything on State Street, otherwise a very short drive to places farther away (Stearns Wharf, whale-watching [we did the Condor Express - highly recommend that], Solvang [? but it was warm that day]). All three ladies were accommodating hostesses AND good cooks. Great place for a quiet, romantic sojourn (we stayed 5 days).

View more reviews for this inn


Would stay again at Bath Street Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 06, 2015

Terrific hostesses, extremely friendly and knowledgeable and helpful about the are. Terrific food - as a B&b should be, snacks, wine and cheese, breakfast all A+. Convenient location. Large whirlpool bath that was very comfortable after long day on the road. Off street parking.

View more reviews for this inn


Going back the next time we travel to Santa Barbara! at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2015

Quiet and off the beaten track of downtown S.B. You can walk around the neighborhood or walk to downtown. The breakfasts were delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Always love Villa Rosa! at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2015

I discovered this property years ago online and decided to try it sight unseen. Have never stayed anywhere else. If you're looking for a brand new, pristine property, this isn't for you. It's got a very romantic old Spanish/Italian country charm and it's a quick refreshing walk to the wharf and restaurants. Villa Rosa doesn't have a restaurant, but they serve a breakfast and wine/cheese in the evening...very nice touch. People are very nice. I had one unfortunate incidence one time with a young front desk clerk. I made a comment online and they responded immediately with a resolution. I highly recommend Villa Rosa!!

View more reviews for this inn


remembrance at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on June 27, 2015

The substitute hosts, Ron and Linda, exceeded my expectations! The location of the Inn, and finding it were challenging for a visitor to Santa Barbara. But once found meet Mt expectations, and in some areas exceeded them. The hosts were gracious, and very attentive. The breakfast camaraderie with the other guests was appreciated, and special!

View more reviews for this inn


Good spot at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

2.8 reviewed on June 25, 2015

Is a conveniently located near shopping, great restaurants, tasting rooms and the Funkzone. There is covered parking, beautiful grounds and very helpful staff. My room was well appointed with a modern décor and clean lines. The bedding and mattress was heaven. I have been tempted to call and ask so I can duplicate it at home it was that comfortable. My rooms windows were on the walkway which meant that if I wanted light the whole world could see in. I wish there were some kind of privacy shade so I could get light while I was in my room. The breakfast was minimal with low quality products and very little selection. I have done better at chain hotels on the road than what was offered here. The staff was helpful, the location was great and the room was very comfortable. Overall I would stay again and make plans for breakfast anywhere else!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay, Charming B&B!! at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2015

We stayed one night May 26th in the main guest house. Our room was clean, comfortable and cozy. The Innkeeper Dominique was very helpful and hospitable, the breakfast she served was a generous portion and was phenomenally good. We were fortunate to have been the only ones there because it was just after the Memorial Day holiday and everyone had checked out. Parking situation can be a little tricky but we were able to find a spot in the back of the property so we moved our car from street parking to the back the next morning. The property is situated in a great location, close to everything that there is to see and do in downtown Santa Barbara. We would definitely stay again, even Peanut the house cat was sweet and a nice addition reminding us of our cats we left behind at home. Our only regret is that we wish we could have stayed longer. Can't wait to go back and if we do we will definitely stay here again!! Book your reservation with no hesitation. Dominique will take good care of you and make you feel right at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Pretty, quaint property at Cheshire Cat Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.0 reviewed on June 10, 2015

We stayed in the Tweedledum suite..nice & roomy, but receives a lot of light in the bedroom in the morning & noise from the street traffic.The maids did not do a very good job. Also, we were not made aware until check out that we could have had breakfast in our room, which would have been wonderful, as we had a late night & weren't dressed & ready to attend breakfast in the main house.A lovely property & would definitely return, but next time will opt for a room away from the street traffic.

View more reviews for this inn


About Santa Barbara

Find Santa Barbara sandwiched between the Atlantic and the Santa Ynez Mountains, less than a two-hour drive northwest of L.A. You’ll see beauty at every turn in this relaxed California coastal city.

What to See
Make one of your first stops the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden, located at the base of the Santa Ynez Mountains. Yes, it’s a desert climate, but you’ll also see shady redwoods and babbling brooks - the perfect place for a stroll, as is Ganna Walska Lotusland - a 37-acre estate boasting gardens filled with rarities: bromeliads, succulents, cycads. You can find several species of lotus in the ponds and kids will love the topiary garden, with trees trimmed into giraffes and other fun shapes. See fascinating local history at the Mission Santa Barbara and Casa del Herrero.

What to Do
Hike at the Nojoqui Falls County Park, about a 30-minute drive northwest of downtown Santa Barbara and into the foothills. If it has recently rained, you can take a swim under the pretty waterfall here. Head to Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park to see intricate and well-preserved cave paintings, dating to the 1600s or earlier, from the local Chumash Native Americans.
See more history at the fascinating Santa Barbara Maritime Museum or the small but mighty Museum of Natural History. To cool off, take a swim at breathtaking Shoreline Park and enjoy a sunset picnic at the Arroyo Burro County Beach Park, a relaxed beach about 20 minutes west of downtown Santa Barbara. Catch a live show at the historic Granada Theatre - dating to 1924 - in downtown Santa Barbara or at the historic open-air Arlington Theatre.

Dining and Shopping
You can find the best shopping - major retailer and boutique - on State Street in downtown Santa Barbara, running about ten blocks between Micheltorena and Gutierrez Streets. Head to the waterfront for the best seafood: Brophy Brothers near the yacht club and The Harbor Restaurant on Stearns Wharf. Bouchon, Wine Cask and Los Agaves are other must-tries and all located near downtown Santa Barbara.

Top
}