Recent Reviews in Santa Barbara, California

Longtime favorite at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 28, 2016

I have been coming here since the 1990's. They keep the property updated and it is a very comfortable place to stay in Santa Barbara with a great location. I appreciate the breakfast and happy hour offerings.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Adorable! at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on July 28, 2016

Villa Rosa Inn was perfect! It was beautiful, quaint and comfortable, and the location is ideal!

View more reviews for this inn


Love Secret Garden at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on July 27, 2016

WE love this oasis from the crowds with one of the best breakfasts anywhere

View more reviews for this inn


Casa Del Mar stay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on July 21, 2016

Very comfortable rooms. Everything you would need. Breakfast was as others reviewed it, very basic with inexpensive store bought pastries. We would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on July 18, 2016

Awesome stay came to town with my fiancé and pup! We had a blast and awesome service

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet, cozy, comfortable and convenient at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 15, 2016

From moment we stepped into Casa Del Mar, we felt so welcome. Our host told us about the amenities, happy hour wine and cheese, breakfast in the morning, and about special events going on (Argentine festival) the next block over. Our room was quiet, comfortable, cozy, and convenient - the beach and restaurants are just steps away. We were in town for just one night, for the big annual orchid event at Cal-Orchid and Santa Barbara Orchid Estate; we'll be back at Casa Del Mar same time next year!

View more reviews for this inn


beautiful at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on July 14, 2016

It was a beautiful location and grounds. the front desk person helped me with me bag. I loved hear the ocean and the feeling of the amazing breeze. I also enjoyed sitting on my balcony in the morning. The included breakfast is more like a snack but I did enjoy my stay. Go for the grounds and location.

View more reviews for this inn


A Breath of Fresh Air at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on July 11, 2016

If you like simple, casual, lovely cotton bedding,fresh air (vs closed hotel ventilation systems) through windows that open, then this is a great place for you. After three previous nights in stuffy hotels, this was truly a breath of fresh air. Breakfast was just a couple choices of cold cereal and a couple of juices. It, however, included hot coffee which is all I need. Really enjoyed this place. We'll be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


An easy comfortable stay. at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on July 08, 2016

My daughter and I stayed at The Casa Del Mar Inn for two nights in June 2016. We needed to shorten our stay from 3 to 2 nights and that was not a problem. This place was just as represented. The staff were very welcoming and informative. You cant get much closer to the wharf and beach than this location. The design is a nice courtyard arrangement with comfortable inner areas to relax with fountains. Parking was not a problem.

View more reviews for this inn


Santa Barbara June 2016 at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on July 04, 2016

This is an excellent pet friendly hotel/b&b. Our queen bedded room was on the small side, but very adequate to our needs and it was nicely appointed. A big plus was the proximity to the the beach-front boulevard - the hotel is a half block off the beach, and yet our room was very quiet. And, we had easily walkable access to the beach, Stearn's Wharf, the Harbor area, and numerous restaurants, most of which had pet-friendly patio dining. The front desk staff was very helpful and every one we encountered from gardeners to room attendants were friendly. The only suggestion I can make for improvements is to have coffee available earlier for early risers. The office didn't open until 7:30. We were generally up and about between 6 and 6:30. There is a breakfast and lunch venue just around the corner that opens at 6:30. The room rate seemed a bit pricey, but, hey, it's Santa Barbara.

View more reviews for this inn


Love SB! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 02, 2016

We stayed in room 25. 2nd floor corner, ocean view. The room was AMAZING! We had our morning coffee out on the porch and people-watched every day. Absolutely loved it. Wish the breakfast had fruits though.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location. at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 30, 2016

Awesome place to stay, close to everything and very reasonable as far as pricing goes.

View more reviews for this inn


50th Anniversary trip at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on June 28, 2016

Great breakfast and hospitality. Room was fine but Santa Barbara expensive

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 23, 2016

If you're looking for swanky food and service, or a lot of hustle and bustle, stay elsewhere. If you're looking for a LOVELY, cozy, friendly, calm little spot in a perfect location, this is your place. The facility is charming and the hosts are warm and friendly. I go back year and after year after year, to relax and enjoy the soul-nourishing environment.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B with a great location at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 20, 2016

So close to the harbor, an easy walk to shops and dining. Good value for Santa Barbara. As seniors, we found the room and bathroom to be very dark , so reading, shaving , putting on makeup were challenging.

View more reviews for this inn


Satisfactorily Met Acceptable Accomodations at a Competitive Price at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

2.8 reviewed on June 20, 2016

This accomodation, when measured against several other competing accomodations had the advantage of giving a kitchen and two bedrooms at the same price as a traditional two bedroom at another inn. For this reason the value was good for the price. We were very comfortable there, although their continental breakfast was probably the least evolved out of any we have seen, and not worth attending.

View more reviews for this inn


Excelent choice at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on June 18, 2016

This probabily one of The best choices in Santa Bárbara only a few blocks from The shore. Dont miss The wine an cheese sesion!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay. Pet friendly. at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on June 16, 2016

Loved this property and staff is lovely

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on June 08, 2016

This has become my favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara. It is reasonable, has a friendly staff, no resort fee, and even a Happy Hour and breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Great location, charming Inn at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on June 07, 2016

Excellent location, charming and quiet - free breakfast and happy hour were a nice addition.

View more reviews for this inn


Dont miss the wine and cheese sessions! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Excelent choice in Santa Barbara. The crew is friendly and the hotel is very near the beach. Dont miss the white wine!

View more reviews for this inn


greg's stay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.0 reviewed on June 06, 2016

We enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend it. happy hour wine was very low-rent, but we didn't expect anything more. plenty of wine places in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Villa Rosa Inn at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on June 03, 2016

The Villa Rosa Inn is terrifically located in Santa Barbra. It's quite and peaceful. The continental breakfast is very good. We were well taken care of during at stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing B&B at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2016

This is an amazing place to stay. We are going to make this place out new tradition every year. The place was serene and a great get-away. French cuisine was prepared every morning which we ate in the courtyard behind the main house. Wine and cheese is served on Friday and Saturday nights. It was a great way to get to know our neighbors. Dominique is very sweet and does an amazing job making sure her guests have everything they need. We stayed in the hummingbird and it had a private hot tub. Love everything about this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on May 29, 2016

We had a great experience in our private cottage and garden.

View more reviews for this inn


Exquisite at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 29, 2016

We enjoyed Casa Del Mar's uniqueness, setting, accommodations, and amenities. The employees were efficient and friendly. We’ll definitely return for another stay. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for pets at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on May 25, 2016

Enjoyex the plce very much. Will be going back again with my dog. The wine and cheese happy hour and breakfast was a great bonus

View more reviews for this inn


Don't miss the wonderful baked bread at the Secret Garden Inn at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2016

We are very familiar with Santa Barbara and having the Secret Garden as a quiet retreat was perfect while we visited our son for a few days. Dominique was hospitable in every way and has created a little oasis off the busy street where all is tranquil and one can sit on the porch or out at a little table and read and talk under the dappled sunlight under the trees. In the morning she greeted us with a smile and coffee and tea in her welcoming kitchen and made us the best omelet and quiche breakfasts and oh my, the breads baked by her daughter were out of this world! We stayed two nights and would have happily spent more nights in the comfy cottages with the bright colors, a good bed and nice linens. Other details we appreciated: the shower worked very well, and our internet too. We will definitely come back the next time we are in Santa Barbara.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value by the beach at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on May 23, 2016

We were walking distance to State Street restaurants and wine tasting in the "funk zone". The room was clean, and the breakfast was good.

View more reviews for this inn


One of a kind at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on May 23, 2016

I travel weekly and stay at hotels that are modern or simply just without character. After a while I've gotten used to it and have accepted that's just how hotels are. The Villa Rosa Inn is the exception, This place you would not know is a hotel from the outside is a hidden gem in Santa Barbara! The decor/ esthetic is timeless and fun. My room didn't feel like a room but like an studio in a Spanish villa! The pool and hot tub are great additions and the staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel has its little imperfections but that's what makes it such a unique and fun place. I look forward to staying again.

View more reviews for this inn


About Santa Barbara

Find Santa Barbara sandwiched between the Atlantic and the Santa Ynez Mountains, less than a two-hour drive northwest of L.A. You’ll see beauty at every turn in this relaxed California coastal city.

What to See
Make one of your first stops the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden, located at the base of the Santa Ynez Mountains. Yes, it’s a desert climate, but you’ll also see shady redwoods and babbling brooks - the perfect place for a stroll, as is Ganna Walska Lotusland - a 37-acre estate boasting gardens filled with rarities: bromeliads, succulents, cycads. You can find several species of lotus in the ponds and kids will love the topiary garden, with trees trimmed into giraffes and other fun shapes. See fascinating local history at the Mission Santa Barbara and Casa del Herrero.

What to Do
Hike at the Nojoqui Falls County Park, about a 30-minute drive northwest of downtown Santa Barbara and into the foothills. If it has recently rained, you can take a swim under the pretty waterfall here. Head to Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park to see intricate and well-preserved cave paintings, dating to the 1600s or earlier, from the local Chumash Native Americans.
See more history at the fascinating Santa Barbara Maritime Museum or the small but mighty Museum of Natural History. To cool off, take a swim at breathtaking Shoreline Park and enjoy a sunset picnic at the Arroyo Burro County Beach Park, a relaxed beach about 20 minutes west of downtown Santa Barbara. Catch a live show at the historic Granada Theatre - dating to 1924 - in downtown Santa Barbara or at the historic open-air Arlington Theatre.

Dining and Shopping
You can find the best shopping - major retailer and boutique - on State Street in downtown Santa Barbara, running about ten blocks between Micheltorena and Gutierrez Streets. Head to the waterfront for the best seafood: Brophy Brothers near the yacht club and The Harbor Restaurant on Stearns Wharf. Bouchon, Wine Cask and Los Agaves are other must-tries and all located near downtown Santa Barbara.

Top
}