Recent Reviews in Santa Barbara, California

Surprises Can Be a Good Thing at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

We decided to head to Santa Barbara at the last minute for the weekend and didn't want to spend $500 a night. We had no idea what to expect ... The Villa Rosa is a boutique hotel and is an absolute Gem. From the time we made the reservation with Haley until we checked-out (also with Haley), the experience was nothing short of spectacular. We stayed in lucky room #13 on the second floor ... the corner room with an amazing view of the beach and pier. We flew in to SB airport, rented a car and then departed on the Surfliner train (3 blocks from the hotel). The location was perfect, inclusive breakfast was perfect, as was the hosted evening wine and cheese. It was my boyfriend's retirement as a commercial pilot so we've stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and this experience simply could not have been any better! Thank you to all of the staff at Villa Rosa Inn and a special shout out of gratitude to Haley! Denise and Dan

View more reviews for this inn


Overnight visit at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on August 23, 2016

Dominique and Warren were outstanding hosts

View more reviews for this inn


Good place, strategic position at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.0 reviewed on August 21, 2016

Giorgio

View more reviews for this inn


Casa Del Mar Inn at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on August 19, 2016

Loved the location and the room was a perfect quiet getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Secret Garden Inn at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.0 reviewed on August 18, 2016

Our stay at the Secret Garden Inn met all our expectations. We enjoyed our morning breakfasts and the afternoon wine and cheese.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice location and cosy athmosphere at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.0 reviewed on August 16, 2016

The hotel is nicely located, just a few steps from the beach. The free parking is a nice feature. The rooms could be refreshed though given the price tag. The afternoon wine and cheese is a nice attention but California wine should be offered. All in, a good experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable Experience at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Warren was exceedingly hospitable and the Dominique was gracious and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint Little Inn at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Great location, walking distance to the beach, pier, restaurants, wharf and wine tasting. Quaint little older inn. Very clean large room. Tasty continental breakfast and wine & cheese happy hour.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on August 09, 2016

A lovely relaxed B&B - stone's throw from the beach. Spacious 2 bedroom suite, great staff and a wonderful view.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on August 08, 2016

Very charming and awesome location! Even though the balcony were condemned it was a lovely room (we knew in advance about the balcony). We walked to the pier to have dinner. We slept with the windows open and it was surprisingly very quiet during the night. Wine and cheese was a nice touch too!

View more reviews for this inn


Our 1st time to Santa Barbara at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2016

Great location. Walking distance to restaurants. Dog friendly. Very friendly and informative staff. 5pm complimentary wine and cheese, yes please!

View more reviews for this inn


My favorite place to stay at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 01, 2016

Villa Rosa Inn located in Santa Barbara is my most favorite place to stay. It is unique, with environment with exquisite character. Every place you look, is filled with a little something special, it might be coy swimming in a small pool, or a cabinet of old dolls with a stroller atop. The personnel are very friendly and more than helpful for details of the inn or best place to go for pizza. I was in room 7 which had an atrium from the bath, which was very peaceful. There was a personal entrance from the room to the pool via a patio, this was extremely convenient. I will definitely return to Villa Rosa on my next Santa Barbara trip.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice hotel at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 31, 2016

Loved the wine and cheese in the afternoon, beautiful pool and balconies in a great location. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Longtime favorite at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 28, 2016

I have been coming here since the 1990's. They keep the property updated and it is a very comfortable place to stay in Santa Barbara with a great location. I appreciate the breakfast and happy hour offerings.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Adorable! at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on July 28, 2016

Villa Rosa Inn was perfect! It was beautiful, quaint and comfortable, and the location is ideal!

View more reviews for this inn


Love Secret Garden at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on July 27, 2016

WE love this oasis from the crowds with one of the best breakfasts anywhere

View more reviews for this inn


Casa Del Mar stay at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on July 21, 2016

Very comfortable rooms. Everything you would need. Breakfast was as others reviewed it, very basic with inexpensive store bought pastries. We would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on July 18, 2016

Awesome stay came to town with my fiancé and pup! We had a blast and awesome service

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet, cozy, comfortable and convenient at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 15, 2016

From moment we stepped into Casa Del Mar, we felt so welcome. Our host told us about the amenities, happy hour wine and cheese, breakfast in the morning, and about special events going on (Argentine festival) the next block over. Our room was quiet, comfortable, cozy, and convenient - the beach and restaurants are just steps away. We were in town for just one night, for the big annual orchid event at Cal-Orchid and Santa Barbara Orchid Estate; we'll be back at Casa Del Mar same time next year!

View more reviews for this inn


beautiful at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on July 14, 2016

It was a beautiful location and grounds. the front desk person helped me with me bag. I loved hear the ocean and the feeling of the amazing breeze. I also enjoyed sitting on my balcony in the morning. The included breakfast is more like a snack but I did enjoy my stay. Go for the grounds and location.

View more reviews for this inn


A Breath of Fresh Air at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on July 11, 2016

If you like simple, casual, lovely cotton bedding,fresh air (vs closed hotel ventilation systems) through windows that open, then this is a great place for you. After three previous nights in stuffy hotels, this was truly a breath of fresh air. Breakfast was just a couple choices of cold cereal and a couple of juices. It, however, included hot coffee which is all I need. Really enjoyed this place. We'll be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


An easy comfortable stay. at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on July 08, 2016

My daughter and I stayed at The Casa Del Mar Inn for two nights in June 2016. We needed to shorten our stay from 3 to 2 nights and that was not a problem. This place was just as represented. The staff were very welcoming and informative. You cant get much closer to the wharf and beach than this location. The design is a nice courtyard arrangement with comfortable inner areas to relax with fountains. Parking was not a problem.

View more reviews for this inn


Santa Barbara June 2016 at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on July 04, 2016

This is an excellent pet friendly hotel/b&b. Our queen bedded room was on the small side, but very adequate to our needs and it was nicely appointed. A big plus was the proximity to the the beach-front boulevard - the hotel is a half block off the beach, and yet our room was very quiet. And, we had easily walkable access to the beach, Stearn's Wharf, the Harbor area, and numerous restaurants, most of which had pet-friendly patio dining. The front desk staff was very helpful and every one we encountered from gardeners to room attendants were friendly. The only suggestion I can make for improvements is to have coffee available earlier for early risers. The office didn't open until 7:30. We were generally up and about between 6 and 6:30. There is a breakfast and lunch venue just around the corner that opens at 6:30. The room rate seemed a bit pricey, but, hey, it's Santa Barbara.

View more reviews for this inn


Love SB! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 02, 2016

We stayed in room 25. 2nd floor corner, ocean view. The room was AMAZING! We had our morning coffee out on the porch and people-watched every day. Absolutely loved it. Wish the breakfast had fruits though.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location. at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 30, 2016

Awesome place to stay, close to everything and very reasonable as far as pricing goes.

View more reviews for this inn


50th Anniversary trip at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on June 28, 2016

Great breakfast and hospitality. Room was fine but Santa Barbara expensive

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 23, 2016

If you're looking for swanky food and service, or a lot of hustle and bustle, stay elsewhere. If you're looking for a LOVELY, cozy, friendly, calm little spot in a perfect location, this is your place. The facility is charming and the hosts are warm and friendly. I go back year and after year after year, to relax and enjoy the soul-nourishing environment.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B with a great location at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 20, 2016

So close to the harbor, an easy walk to shops and dining. Good value for Santa Barbara. As seniors, we found the room and bathroom to be very dark , so reading, shaving , putting on makeup were challenging.

View more reviews for this inn


Satisfactorily Met Acceptable Accomodations at a Competitive Price at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

2.8 reviewed on June 20, 2016

This accomodation, when measured against several other competing accomodations had the advantage of giving a kitchen and two bedrooms at the same price as a traditional two bedroom at another inn. For this reason the value was good for the price. We were very comfortable there, although their continental breakfast was probably the least evolved out of any we have seen, and not worth attending.

View more reviews for this inn


Excelent choice at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on June 18, 2016

This probabily one of The best choices in Santa Bárbara only a few blocks from The shore. Dont miss The wine an cheese sesion!!

View more reviews for this inn


About Santa Barbara

Find Santa Barbara sandwiched between the Atlantic and the Santa Ynez Mountains, less than a two-hour drive northwest of L.A. You’ll see beauty at every turn in this relaxed California coastal city.

What to See
Make one of your first stops the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden, located at the base of the Santa Ynez Mountains. Yes, it’s a desert climate, but you’ll also see shady redwoods and babbling brooks - the perfect place for a stroll, as is Ganna Walska Lotusland - a 37-acre estate boasting gardens filled with rarities: bromeliads, succulents, cycads. You can find several species of lotus in the ponds and kids will love the topiary garden, with trees trimmed into giraffes and other fun shapes. See fascinating local history at the Mission Santa Barbara and Casa del Herrero.

What to Do
Hike at the Nojoqui Falls County Park, about a 30-minute drive northwest of downtown Santa Barbara and into the foothills. If it has recently rained, you can take a swim under the pretty waterfall here. Head to Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park to see intricate and well-preserved cave paintings, dating to the 1600s or earlier, from the local Chumash Native Americans.
See more history at the fascinating Santa Barbara Maritime Museum or the small but mighty Museum of Natural History. To cool off, take a swim at breathtaking Shoreline Park and enjoy a sunset picnic at the Arroyo Burro County Beach Park, a relaxed beach about 20 minutes west of downtown Santa Barbara. Catch a live show at the historic Granada Theatre - dating to 1924 - in downtown Santa Barbara or at the historic open-air Arlington Theatre.

Dining and Shopping
You can find the best shopping - major retailer and boutique - on State Street in downtown Santa Barbara, running about ten blocks between Micheltorena and Gutierrez Streets. Head to the waterfront for the best seafood: Brophy Brothers near the yacht club and The Harbor Restaurant on Stearns Wharf. Bouchon, Wine Cask and Los Agaves are other must-tries and all located near downtown Santa Barbara.

Top
}