Recent Reviews in San Juan, Puerto Rico

PR at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.4 reviewed on July 09, 2014

Wonderful location, right across from the beach, great value, we loved it and our stay in Puerto Rico

View more reviews for this inn


Tres Palmas Inn - 1 night stay at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

2.8 reviewed on June 19, 2014

This was a good stop over point with great access to the beach. Quite expensive for the room quality (no coffee, no cups or anything in the room), but the airconditioning was good, and it is hard to find anything cheaper on the beach. The room was a bit outdated and there were some little insects getting about...to be expected in the tropics but may have bothered some more than I. Staff were very friendly and helpful..and they give out beach towels and chairs complimentary.

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Vacation at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 days, it was perfect. We took complete advantage of the free bikes, beach chairs, and towels. We looked at other properties but this one was perfect. The view, price and tranquility was amazing. I also liked the private beach area in front of the Inn. As we looked at other hotels and Inns that were a little less expensive, we kept coming back to Tres Palmas. It took the guess work out of vacationing. Waking up to the ocean and eating the very filling breakfast was great. I didn't want to leave. My boyfriend though it was a great place to stay as well. We plan on going back soon. The perfect vacation. LUIS the front desk staff member is AWESOME! If you do stay there, take the bikes and ride to CASA DANTE...best skirt steak and mofongo I've ever had. YGD & GP and I'm from Puerto Rico!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent! at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2014

A very ice hotel with excellent staff and service!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.2 reviewed on April 21, 2014

I was traveling with 3 friends and we had a great time. We had plenty of space in our 2 double bed room although we would have preferred a room with a view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The roof space was great to have a drink and relax and enjoy the sun set. The pool was small but clean and refreshing. The hammocks were great and breakfast area looks out on the beautiful ocean. Just a $12-$14 cab ride to the Condado area. Beach across the street was narrow but a short walk down had plenty of room and better swimming. Towels and beach chair were provided. Had a great time!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable; stress free. at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.4 reviewed on April 08, 2014

I had to leave early the morning I left so really can't rate the "Dining" experience. I would mention that it would make guests feel safer if the deadbolt were only operable from inside the room. Alternatively, install a "chain" lock on the inside. Otherwise, I loved the place and will plan to stay there again on future visits to the island. Thanks!

View more reviews for this inn


Moroccan Room at the Dreamcatcher House at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on December 01, 2013

Our stay at The Dreamcatcher house couldn't have been better... The Moroccan Room was amazing (I'm a big fan of the hammock!) and the communal areas in the house were equally as welcoming and beautifully decorated. The outdoor shower is fantastic. We are instructed to rinse off after the beach to avoid getting sand in the house, but I used the outdoor shower for my daily bathing as well. (I highly recommend evening showers under the stars!) The bi-weekly yoga classes in the garden are truly magical. Great teachers, great energy. Sylvia was the perfect host. Very helpful with planning our vacation! Upon arrival you will receive a map with her recommended restaurants, cafes, shops; places I wouldn't have been able to find on my own! Outstanding first time Airbnb experience! I will definitely be back!! xoxo Sarah

View more reviews for this inn


The kind of place you see in travel magazines. at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.0 reviewed on November 25, 2013

We actually were upgraded to the Geisha room for our stay at the Dreamcatcher, so we got a bigger room with a shared/private bathroom. Sylvia's friend Sahid picked us up at the airport for a small fee and he got us settled in our room. The Dreamcatcher is like something you would see in a travel magazine. We found ourselves wandering around the house examining all the antiques and items Sylvia has collected over the years. Every time I was in a room I would notice something new I hadn't noticed before. We loved the exposure to the outside, besides the bedrooms every other room was open to the outdoors. The complimentary coffee was a great benefit so we could lounge around the house in the morning, taken in the scenery. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Having an a/c unit was a welcomed pleasure on days it was hot and sticky. The Dreamcatcher rooms each have a neighborhood map with recommendations that was very helpful and small booklet with guidelines. All of the food recommendations we tried were great. During our stay Meeshel was our hostess and she was so friendly and made us feel right at home. We also got massages from her and we both highly recommend taking advantage of the onsite massage therapist. My favorite part about the house was the outdoor shower. It was so nice to shower and look up and see the sky and an avocado tree. We had a good time meeting the guest as well and got to enjoy a community dinner with everyone. We both had such a wonderful time at the Dreamcatcher and hope to return again very soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Dream of a stay! at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.8 reviewed on November 25, 2013

amazing place! enjoyed the room, the house, the gardens, the outdoor shower, the hosts, Sylvia's home-made veggie burgers and freshly made sweet potatoe chips, and sharing them with a full house of beautiful folks out in the garden. hope to return next time in SJ!

View more reviews for this inn


Inspirational getaway at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 24, 2013

Truly an amazing experience! I really cannot say enough good and honestly have nothing bad to say. The experience of staying at the Dreamcatcher house has left me refreshed, relaxed, and wholly inspired. My travelling companion and I could not stop discussing how much where we stayed had set the tone for our entire vacation. Staying with Sylvia, Meeshel, their pups, and the other guests was like staying with friends. I am already dreaming about the next time I will get to go back to the Dreamcatcher house!

View more reviews for this inn


A Tranquil escape of the mind, body, and spirit. at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 24, 2013

My boyfriend & I loved the wonderful tranquility and aesthetic earthy tone of Slyvia's, "DreamCatcher home". Sylvia, Meeshel, Pippa, & Malda were all very friendly and warm. This amazing oasis has it all. We got to meet other curious and adventurous guests. Within the nestling Ocean Park neighborhood of San Juan; DreamCatcher is two blocks away from the beach and close to many delicious restaurants, cosy shops, and other nifty sights.

View more reviews for this inn


Saved my trip! at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2013

Syliva is an amazing host. I had an emergency and she kindly accommodated my family of three compromising her personal comfort. Our stay at her house made our trip to Puerto Rico personal and memorable. I will be coming back just to see her!

View more reviews for this inn


Dreamcatcher is where you need to be at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 22, 2013

This was such an unexpected adventure that I'm truly grateful for! When I arrived in San Juan, I got lost and a little stressed, but Sylvia calmed me down and helped me navigate back. She was an angel when I made it - a hug and a mug of tea ready. She is an amazing host and knows how to make you feel at home. Honestly, I felt more at home there than I do at my own home...I became friends with other guests and decided to extend my stay, which Sylvia was more than accommodating to. This is definitely the place you need to stay because it offers a peaceful sanctuary that is nice to start and end each day, and also offers yoga certain nights if guests wish to partake. The beach is right around the corner, and there are also nice shops and restaurants within several blocks. It's also a must because you need to meet Sylvia! I'm taking a note from her amazing interior decorating skills and hope I can bring some of that back into my place. This was my first visit to Puerto Rico, and having stayed here ensured it won't be the last!!

View more reviews for this inn


Serene island getaway at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 21, 2013

The Dreamcatcher Guest House is absolutely splendid - Sylvia has an amazing design sense, and the house is amazingly affordable for the quality of living. (Also, the location in a gated community 2 blocks from a quiet beach cannot be surpassed.) Sylvia is a wonderful host and a beautiful person. She made me feel very welcomed and at home from the moment that I arrived (and even accommodated my 2:30am arrival time). I spent a lot of time around the house, and my time spent with Sylvia was lovely. I appreciated her kindness and look forward to visiting her again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 21, 2013

Sylvia was an amazing hostess. Her home can only be described as magical. The energy of the place is serene and one can't help but feel right at home. I would come back over and over again.

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Place at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 21, 2013

I'm SO glad I stayed at Dreamcatcher House! It was just what I needed. So peaceful, serene, relaxing. A place to be close to nature, clear your mind, revive your spirit, reflect, plan. The property is simply beautiful and located in an upscale, safe beach community. Sylvia is so wonderful and gracious. Every room of the house is enchanting. Do yourself a favor and take a pass on the big hotels this time and stay at Dreamcatcher House. You'll get a more up close and personal experience of San Juan and its people and you'll also be within minutes of the tourist areas. This is a place where you can stay up late on the porch, sipping a glass of wine, laughing and talking before you turn in for the night....then wake up late, walk into the kitchen in your bare feet and make a GOOD cup of coffee, relax in the garden and decide if you really want to take that tour or just chill. This is THAT place! ~Daphne Wilson, Chicago, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Dreaming in the Glass House at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2013

It is rare to feel "at home" in a space other than the one that holds your own bed and pillows, but at Sylvia's Dreamcatcher house I felt so entirely welcome and comfortable. The connection I shared with Sylvia, the other guests, her two pups, and the space was intimate and easy. I actually did not stay in the Library space. Instead I spent a week in my "dollhouse", or the Glass House, and was completely content. I loved the glow of the colorful paneled doors, the embroidered white sheet placed over the couch, and the abacus above my pillows that helped me keep track of all the sheep. When I woke up in the morning I would slide down from the lofted bed and step outside the doors to begin doing yoga in the courtyard. Sylvia became a friend more than a host and that is what I appreciate most about staying at this beautiful home. I look forward to returning with my whole entire heart.

View more reviews for this inn


Dreamcatcher is A++ at Dreamcatcher Guest House (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.8 reviewed on November 20, 2013

We had a wonderful trip. I was pleasantly surprised when Sylvia offered to pick up up at the Airport. Sylvia is a gracious host, very friendly & helpful. I had seen the pictures on the internet and knew what to expect (very good marketing). The house is lovely, airy and light; a piece of art in itself. The "enthusiastic dogs" Sylvia mentioned are VERY well behaved. No worries if your not a dog lover, but if you are, it's a definite plus. Wifi & AC both worked great. I had good cell (TMobile & ATT) reception too (better than mine at home). No TV - which was great. I like to cook and Syliva mademe feel right at home, so we had lazy breakfasts at home, no need to go foraging in the AM. Plenty of time to read and watch the birds & lizards (both beautiful in their own way). The location is very good. Not too Far from the airport, not too far from the old city. The house is 2 blocks from the beach & 2 blocks from the most amazing bakery/cafeteria I've been to outside of Europe. We took the bus to San Juan Viejo a couple of times. It's not secret that the transit system is bad. However, if you're adventurous (& patient), it's not the worst; we met several nice people. It was my vacation and I definitely did not want to worry about traffic. The house is about 15 minutes walking distance to Candado if you want trendy or US franchised restaurants. There are a few local places nearby, as well as a mini market. The 24 hour grocery store is not too far, either. Great if you have a car. Overall it was very good - A++

View more reviews for this inn


Mi Casa es tu Casa at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.4 reviewed on November 15, 2013

After having lived in PR for ten years (1996-2006), I wanted my visit on this trip to feel like I was staying in a home and not in a resort. I got just that. Upon arriving to the inn located in a residential area we got a warm welcome. The inn is cozy, clean, and we felt safe. My husband, who had never been to PR and wanted the resort experience adjusted quickly to the accommodations. I insisted he see this as an opportunity to experience the culture. Our room faced the ocean. I had no trouble sleeping through the sound of waves crashing all night long. Our room also faced the street in front of the inn making the sounds of the street traffic somewhat annoying. Again, I expected this and it did not bother me, but light sleepers may want to consider staying in a room towards the back of the inn or using ear plugs. The location is convenient as it's minutes from the airport, Isla Verde and Condado. I was pleased with the "home like" accommodations.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect location for the beaches at Oceana Hostal Playero (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.0 reviewed on October 26, 2013

Competitive pricing for convenient location. Rooms were adequate for sleep. Bathroom a little small with suboptimal water pressure. Very close to beach and super friendly staff. Would consider returning for location and price.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Inn at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.4 reviewed on October 07, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was "ocean front "so we were facing the street so in the middle of the night you could hear the cars drive by with loud music so i wouldnt choose that room again but other than that it was a great cozy place to spend our weekend at, lots of trees and a great view of the water while you sit and drink a cup of coffee.

View more reviews for this inn


Across the street from a beautiful stretch of beach at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.4 reviewed on August 20, 2013

Tres Palmas is in a great quiet location that is on a beautiful stretch of beach. It feels like there are a lot of locals around because the neighborhood is more residential. There are some cafes, restaurants, and other establishments just a short walking distance away. The staff was incredibly friendly and they have bikes and boogie boards available for use, free of charge! My family and I had a great time taking the bikes out for a ride to Condado. There is also a park just down the street where you can exercise. The room itself was very clean, but a little dark since there was only one window. You can easily pick other rooms on their website though. There was a continental buffet breakfast in the morning where you can sit and just enjoy the ocean view. Overall, Tres Palmas is a really great and affordable beachfront B&B in San Juan! I will definitely stay there again if I have another opportunity to go to Puerto Rico.

View more reviews for this inn


nice place, nice price, nice location at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.6 reviewed on May 13, 2013

We stayed in both ocean view rooms 15 and 18. 15 has the larger window to enjoy views. 18 is more cosy. Personally, I don't believe it's worth the extra price if you intend to be out of the rooms exploring San Juan. You are still near the beach and can do walks. But some people want just that so to each their own. The staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions. The breakfast is continental and has a nice view while eating. Note: because the road in front of the place is a busy and popular drive you get some idiots blasting their music. There are speed bumps to slow the drivers down which is a plus.

View more reviews for this inn


Eclectic, fun and modern hotel at Hotel Casablanca (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.8 reviewed on April 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. We stayed on the 5th floor (be warned there is no elevator) and had a balcony outside our room. The room was quite small but we didn't mind since we only stayed one night. There was a dresser to put clothes away in if you're there for a longer stay. The room was stylish and clean. The continental breakfast that is included with the stay is not great. They had toast and jam, some small pastries, and coffee. They have a breakfast menu you can order from, but you have to pay extra. The atmosphere in the dining area is eclectic and they play the movie Casablanca on a projector.

View more reviews for this inn


Going extra mile at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.6 reviewed on April 08, 2013

We arrived at the inn earlier than the check-in time. Our room was ready which made us happy since we had been traveling all night. We were able to freshen up before sightseeing. The owner then told us where to catch the bus to take us into Old San Juan. He did warn us that he buses in that area did not run on a schedule. They came when they came. We had been waiting for about 30 minutes when he drove by with his wife. They picked us up and took us to Old San Juan which I'm sure was out of their way. They gave us a great recommendation for dinner (Raices) before letting us venture out on our own. The next morning we were able to walk right out onto the the beach and spend some time enjoying the beach. Everything about our stay was wonderful. They let us leave our luggage there for most of the day and come back and get it before boarding our cruise ship. I would love to go back and stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent experience!! at Hotel Casablanca (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.2 reviewed on April 01, 2013

The hotel is pretty and different to most hotels in the area. The staff was very helpful and the location is great! Will be considering further reservations at this hotel.

View more reviews for this inn


Great to stay before you cruise or anytime at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.8 reviewed on February 05, 2013

Safe. Great to stay a day before you cruise. You can walk the patios and outdoor hallways safely . Enjoy the hot tub, or pool, or walk across the street to your quite beach. A short walk to restaurants. Would stay again. Helpful staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Start of a great Vacation! at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.4 reviewed on February 04, 2013

Stayed here before our cruise. Was presently surprised at how pretty the B& B was. Felt very safe and secluded. Loved all the little nooks and corners filled with comfy chairs and quaint decor. Bed was super comfortable, or else I was just happy to start my vacation! Hot tub could have been warmer, but it that is my biggest complaint, it was a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and Clean cottage by the ocean at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

3.6 reviewed on January 13, 2013

Tres Palmas Inn is a very special place near Old San Juan in Puerto Rico. It is not luxurious and it does not have a casino, so you can stop right here if that is what you are looking for. It is a quaint beach house right across a one laned road from one of the best beaches in the area - Ocean Park. It is very clean and the customer service is anxious to satisfy your needs. Just ask and they will do all in their power to help. For example, after we arrived on a Saturday afternoon two days before New Year's Eve we learned very quickly that taxis are very expensive here and that we needed a car rental. My wife and I could not find a single car at any of the agencies at the Air Port or anywhere else. We asked the Manager/Concierge on duty, Luis for help. He got right on it and when we returned to the Inn after a nice walk on the beach he told us that he had found the last car in all of the San Juan area. We were set. We spent the rest of our stay here enjoying time in some hammocks, beach combing and sun bathing. The Inn had boogie boards, beach towels, beach chairs and bikes for loan without a fee. This is the kind of service that we received here. We road the bikes just a couple of blocks to one of the nicest resort areas, Carolina, for restaurants and casino play. We really enjoyed the Seven Seas Chinese Restaurant, Das Pastelhaus for pizza and German pastry and the Venezuelan Arepas. The beach is also known for windsurfing and windkiting. Both are available for rent or for lessons. We quickly learned to love the cheerful croaking of the Coqui frog.

View more reviews for this inn


Great beach experience at Tres Palmas (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

4.0 reviewed on December 22, 2012

Great location on the beach, with easy access (walking) to a variety of good restaurants. Relaxing setting, with hammocks, beach chairs, etc.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}