Recent Reviews in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua

A must-stay destination in Nicaragua. at Orquidea del Sur (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

4.8 reviewed on September 04, 2013

When deciding on a place to stay in the SJDS area, I came across Orquidea del Sur on tripadvisor. The pictures on the website looked stunning but you never know for sure until you see a property in person if the pictures are accurate. I now can say that the pictures not only are accurate but may even fall short of conveying the beauty of this property. During our 5 night stay, we were the only guests for the first 3 nights. We felt as if this was our own private villa with staff waiting to assist us at any moment. I don't think that we've ever met nicer people than those who work here. They were unobtrusive but always available to provide a drink, a meal, a towel, a chat, a hello, and a smile. Each morning we ate a delicious breakfast which was included in the price. We would then let one of the staff know which other meals we would be eating that day. We found the food to be some of the best that we'd eaten in Nicaragua. In five days every meal was fabulous with the exception of one steak dinner which was good but not fabulous. Our room was spacious, quiet, and beautiful, and walking out the patio door to the view of the ocean each morning was wonderful. We were impressed with the fact that hot coffee, with warm milk and sugar magically appeared on our patio at 7 a.m. each morning so no need to walk in your PJs in search of coffee (great idea Joanne!). Although the property is a good 25-30 minutes drive from SJDS, we loved the location and seclusion. Honestly, we only went in SJDS once and felt no need to go again. Robert and Joanne are warm, friendly, interesting and helpful hosts who really want you to luxuriate in your stay. They will do everything humanly possible to make it an unforgetable experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Consistently Good at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

4.8 reviewed on September 22, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Villa Isabella several times and have just booked a stay for Christmas week this year. The rooms are clean and comfortable, airconditioned, and with hot water showers. The breakfast choices are all excellent and coffee/tea are always available. Its safe and secure and the entire staff are very helpful and welcoming. The front porch is the perfect place for a morning cup of coffee or the "after surf" cold beer.

View more reviews for this inn


Many trips to San Juan del Sur at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

4.6 reviewed on July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Isabella for two weeks in May, Mike and his staff make you feel like one of the family. The rooms are very nice, coffee is always on and the breakfast included is delicious. The front porch has hammocks and rocking chairs to enjoy! We love it there. Lou and Cindy Strom

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2012

My sixteen year old son and I just returned from San Juan Del Sur and Hotel Villa Isabella. Are expectations were well surpassed. We loved every minute of our stay and we both were reluctant to go home. The food and staff were tremendous. I thought I might loose so weight while in Nicaragua, but I was completely wrong due to Roxanne's amazing cooking. The staff was so friendly and courteous and Jane truly has a heart of gold. Joel W

View more reviews for this inn


Great location! at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

4.0 reviewed on March 02, 2012

Very nice B&B. Excellent breakfast choices. 24/7 coffee. Clean, good-sized rooms, comfy beds, hot water, AC, small refrigerator, quiet location. Close to the beach and restaurant/bar row. Mike, the owner, is energetic and goes out of his way to be sure his guests are well taken care of. Jane was very helpful in booking our next hotel and guide (Willmore Rueda) on Ometepe Island -- thank you, Jane! Would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

4.0 reviewed on January 18, 2012

The owners, Mike and Jane, are wonderful people. My stay was very comforting and enjoyable. And the breakfast, totally appetizing. And the staff are the most helpful you will find. If you are planning to go thier dirrection, this is a great place to stay. I am headed that way again soon and looking forward to it... God bless..

View more reviews for this inn


WOW! at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2010

My husband and I are hard sells. We've been to Nicaragua several times and always went to the same secluded spot and same hotel because of the exceptional service and quality we found there. This trip we decided to head to San Juan del Sur and visited Hotel Villa Isabella. Mike and the staff way exceeded our expectations and we were blown away at the comfortable, relaxing atmosphere at the Isabella. We have three children and they did not want to leave! The selection of videos in both DVD's and VHS was amazing- like a video store right there and each room has a DVD/VHS player. The pool was wonderful and private, as well as well-shaded. The front porch area was perfect for morning coffee and quiet time and the hammocks are super comfy! The breakfast was one of the best we've ever been treated to! STUNNING! The hotel is about 4 blocks from the beach- just down from the central market and off of the center of town. Perfect location. Mike does a fabulous job of making guests feel at home. The hotel is secure and cozy for couples but yet great for families as well! We would highly recommend that you spend time with Mike and the staff very soon!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Hotel in Nicaragua at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and had an awesome time. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. The rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. I hope to return to San Juan Del Sur and stay at Hotel Villa Isabella!

View more reviews for this inn


Gracious and welcoming at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

4.4 reviewed on March 08, 2009

Jane and Mike, the owners of Villa Isabella, could not have been warmer and kinder to us during our stay for a few short days in February. Such a warm welcome for weary travelers. A few blocks from the ain drag by the beach of SJDS, this little place is a gem, away from the noise, with rockers and hammocks on a porch kept cool by the shading trees and plants. The staff is wonderful here, ready and willing to help out in anyway they felt they are needed. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


idylic at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2008

I stayed at Villa Isabella in May 2008 for a week, the hotel was outstanding, great breakfast, staff very helpful, and expect to return again in January 2009 joseph nowak, philadelphia

View more reviews for this inn


will consider returning at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

3.0 reviewed on July 12, 2008

the staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed ,comfortable, and generally quiet. i found the room a bit crowded with the rocking chair and desk, but it was clean and cool. i did have a problem with the spiral staircase, which is treacherous with limited footspace in the turns, due to its' design. think of an oriental fan that is partially closed, and apply this idea, three dimensionally, to the turns. there are rooms on the groung floor however, so inquire ahead. i will certainly consider staying again.

View more reviews for this inn


this B & B has everything and is WC accessible! at Hotel Villa Isabella (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2007

There are few places that have true WC accessible rooms - but I can confirm from experience that the Hotel Villa Isabella has one! It is imposssible to get in the Hotel without assistance, but once in the first floor of the establishment is fully wheelchir accessible. The room my huband and I had was behind the front desk, with a huge bathroom and a drive in hot water shower. Not only was the airconditioned room great but the hot made to order breakfast was yummy!!! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Orquidea del Sur (4.80)
  2. Hotel Villa Isabella (4.53)
Top
}