Recent Reviews in Saint Thomas, Virgin Islands, Virgin Islands

Mini Vaca!! at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.8 reviewed on May 17, 2016

This B&B was everything the ad stated, and in a good location. It even came with food and booze. Very comfortable accommodation's. I would and will stay here again. Thank you Miss Phyllis

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.6 reviewed on May 05, 2016

Excellent room with view. Everything clean and all essentials provided. We enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A Unique Experience at St.Thomas All Inclusive B&B (St Thomas Virgin Islands, Virgin Islands)

4.8 reviewed on April 05, 2016

What a wonderful gift this was from our children to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. This is a bed & breakfast on the water, that was spent relaxing, snorkeling, spear fishing and just laying on beautiful Honeymoon beach in St Thomas and was exactly what the doctor ordered. While on the yacht we enjoyed great food and had a pleasant time with Loren and Jo who will always remain good friends. They made our stay memorable and enjoyable. Thank You Loren and Jo for going the extra mile!! If anyone is considering the Ragamuffin we can truly recommend it...you will not be disappointed!

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite part of our trip! at St.Thomas All Inclusive B&B (St Thomas Virgin Islands, Virgin Islands)

4.8 reviewed on March 26, 2015

Can say enough great things about our stay! Jo and Loren were beyond kind and accommodating, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. Jo's food is incredible, and they offered us snorkeling gear, use of a kayak, snacks, and a private trip snorkeling. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Guest House, St John at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.2 reviewed on February 24, 2015

We spent a week at Hillcrest and had a very relaxed time. Phyllis, the proprietress, was very friendly and gave great guidance when we needed to find a laundromat, the closest grocery store, etc. We rented the Orchid Suite and our toddler slept very well on the futon that was available. The air conditioners cooled the suite quickly each time we returned from an outing. Although there was some general "wear & tear" to some of the structure probably due to age and the local climate, the rooms were very clean and the linens were like new. While there was a good selection of beverages available in the suite (soda, coffee, tea), we were underwhelmed by the 12 eggs, 8 bacon strips, and 3 muffins available for a full week's worth of breakfast. Perhaps we were supposed to ask for replenished supplies when we ran out, but that seemed an awkward thing to do. Not a huge deal though, because the Dolphin Grocery was just down the hill and the suite had a great selection of cookware for the meals that we prepared. I should also mention that there was a selection of liquor available in the suite if we had been interested. The stove, microwave, etc were very clean as were the shower, toilet, and sinks. Also, we genuinely appreciated the availability of DVDs to watch while our toddler napped and the beach toys and snorkel gear that we were free to use for our beach outings. Potential guests should know that the availability of Wi-fi was hit or miss. Hillcrest is conveniently located within a few blocks of the shopping, restaurants, taxis, and ferry dock of Cruz Bay, but please note that it is aptly named; walking to and from town involves a short (perhaps 50 yards) but very steep hill. For the price, we think that Hillcrest is a great value if you want a comfortable, clean place to sleep and cook while visiting St John. We would stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


First Time Visit to Saint John at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.8 reviewed on February 14, 2015

Although the guest house was not the most updated, I did not have any of the problems of cleanliness mentioned in other reviews. The fridge was well-stocked and we enjoyed sitting in the common screened in area. The hill up to the guest house was definitely steeper than I expected. It was fine to walk up when we didn't have bags with us, but I would probably take a taxi up with my suitcase next time. Phyllis was helpful and accommodating with holding our bags after we checked out.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.6 reviewed on February 10, 2015

Very short walk to town. Great place to prep breakfast in the morning, clean up before dinner, and rest your head at night after a day of island adventure.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and Cozy Hillcrest House at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

2.8 reviewed on August 14, 2014

rooms and facilities are "island clean". Host is very helpful with info guests may need. bed is comfy. 360 degree views. host provides equipment you may need to enjoy beach (towels, ice chest, chairs, etc), movies for the evening, and a hook-up for your mp3 in-room. keyed safe in bedroom is helpful but hackable. generally quiet neighborhood. walkable distance to town and amenities but really steep hill. "mahogany-bird" traps on main counters. Mosquitoes n no-see-ums can easily get inside from cracks and holes in screens etc, but thankfully its a dry year. Not all items on grocery list were included in room as advertised but owner will tell you where to go buy them. Not sure if water was potable, gallon of water in fridge was open/unsealed. It felt a little dicey walking back from town at night as some of the route is in pitch black, seems straight up-hill (will wind you in temp/humidity) and there are rude-boys running the street up to the house that have no respect for adults and especially tourists and are aggressive even if you are polite or alternatively, ignore them. we found it Best to take the $4 taxi from town than risk the possible danger, but judge for yourself. It's all typical USVI, so you just have to be aware. Overall, we would likely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2014

I stayed at hillcrest With My 11 year old son and we had a great time. The lady helped us when we Got in a little trouble and the room was great.

View more reviews for this inn


a value stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

2.8 reviewed on January 03, 2014

Great location!

View more reviews for this inn


Ok but issues at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.0 reviewed on July 09, 2013

The view from our suite was stupendous. The value of this room is very good compared to anything else you can get in St. Johns. Phyllis was a wonderful innkeeper. The issues are lack of real cleanliness in room and loud music from town during some nights when there is entertainment in Cruz Bay. The breakfast was packaged muffins and other packaged goods from the grocery store. On the plus side, frig equipped with complimentary rum and wine.

View more reviews for this inn


First St John Visit at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on April 11, 2013

Room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The frig was very well stocked. Great location. Owner is very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hillcrest Guest House! at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on October 28, 2011

We spent four days with Phyillis at her Guest house. She was terrific and our room was stocked with wine, rum, bacon, eggs, sodas, drinks, bagels, muffins, coffee, popcorn, ice cream, etc. She had snorkel gear available for us to use, along with beach chairs. There was also a large selection of DVDs and books for us to use, all free of charge. There was also wi-fi, although we didn't use it since we were busy hiking and snorkeling the amazing St. John trails and beaches. We had a wonderful view from the balcony and ate most of our meals sitting outside on the covered patio. Our suite was not the most modern or luxurious, but it was clean and quiet and located close to Cruz Bay up a steep hill. We had a rental car and spent most of our time exploring the island. A great stay for sure and we would definitely stay there again and recommend to any of our friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Great St John Vacation at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on October 07, 2011

We spent our 28th wedding anniversary at Hillcrest Guest House in late September. Phyllis Hall is a lovely lady and always available for your every need. The location is perfect. We enjoyed all food and beverage that stocked our suite. This is a very economical B & B that is a true St John experience. We loved the Orchid Suite. We'll be back. Marie and Joe Westfield,MA

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Guest House in St. John, US Virgin islands at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.8 reviewed on July 18, 2011

We were in St. John for our son's wedding in June for 5 nights/6 days. It was truely a very special occassion and Hillcrest Guest House definitely ADDED to it!!! We absolutely LOVED our stay here!!! Everything was so special and we were treated like VIPs the entire time. Phyllis personally greeted us and gave us a tour of the complex as well as our suite. She stocked it with lots of goodies for us in the cupboards, the frig, and even a basket full of delicious treats. She also left us a personal welcome note! Phyllis made herself available to us 24/7 and gave us her personal cell number if we needed it to get a ho;d of her quickly. She really is a very special lady and I feel we also made a friend too!! She made us feel so special too! One day, our ride fell through and we were going to have to get a cab to take us to the marina to join our group for a day sail on a catamaran that was leaving promtly at 9am. We tried all the listed cabs and no one would answer their phones. We made a frantic call to Phyllis to see if she knew of any cabs we could call as time was running down very quickly. Without any hestitation, Phyllis just said to meet her at the gate ASAP and she would drive us to the marina! She just dropped everything to personally take us and we made it on time. She really goes beyond being the owner of a bed and breakfast!!! We are already looking ahead to our next vacation in St. John and getting to spend our time at Hillcrest and seeing Phyllis again! Thank you Phyllis for making our stay so memorable!!! Don & Andi Q

View more reviews for this inn


A nice place to stay, but in need of an upgrade at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.4 reviewed on June 17, 2011

The owner is quite friendly, and even gave us a ride to the ferry at the end of our stay. Although no formal breakfast was provided, we did receive a sizeable amount of breakfast food in a basket and in the refrigerator in our room that included breakfast meat to cook in our room. We were also provided with a sizeable amount of alcohol for free. The location is just outside of the downtown up a fairly steep hill. The rooms are in need of an upgrade however, and had a dated feel. They were clean, although daily housecleaning was not provided.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hillcrest at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on May 17, 2011

We stayed here for our babymoon. We spent the the first few days on St. John at a resort and we much preferred Hillcrest. You are located right in town, just up a steep hill, but it is a a fun walk and helps you get in shape. The owner is a lovely lady and is very accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Guest House met our needs at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.4 reviewed on May 12, 2011

Our family spent a week on St. John, and our stay at Hillcrest Guest House worked out very well for us. We rented two units, and had plenty of room for eating and hanging out. The location is convenient; you can walk to anything in Cruz Bay, as well as connect easily with transportation. The view of the harbor is gorgeous, even though being at an elevation where you can easily see out over the harbor means you've climbed a hill(!) to get there. We like to walk, so we definitely got our exercise! Phyllis had a nice assortment of food to welcome us, and the kitchen facilities were adequate for us as well. This was our third visit to St. John, we've stayed at the same place each time, and can see that Phyllis continues to make improvements to the property. We'll stay there again if we ever find ourselves on St. John. The beds are comfortable, and the price is right!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfort in St. John at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.4 reviewed on May 03, 2011

Our stay at Hillcrest Guest House was great. Phyllis is very friendly, the rooms have everything you need, including food and drink! There are wonderful chairs for the beach along with snorkel stuff if needed. The views are great, a little noisy on Friday evenings, music from downtown if you have the front room. We have absolutely no complaints from our stay at Hillcrest, we would for sure stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


hillcrest stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.4 reviewed on April 26, 2011

i stayed at hillcrest for two weeks. and it was awesome. Phylis picked me up at the ferry dock and was very helpful. She showed me to my room and i was very pleased. Room was stocked with everything you could ask for. I slept with the windows open and did not run my ac the entire time because i always had a nice breeze I think the hillcrest is a good value. I your familiar with stj nothing is cheap. I look forward to returning to stj, esp hillcrest david...

View more reviews for this inn


Does not live up to potential at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

1.0 reviewed on April 12, 2011

This guest house did not come close to expectations. The best I can say is that the floors, the kitchen sink and counter and the bathroom were all clean. The list of problems is way too long to cover in this brief space so I'll just list the most obvious. First, the exterior area: weeds and trash were everywhere--empty plastic bottles and paint cans thrown under the steps, mop hanging over a balcony (the whole week we were there), a broken table in the outdoor lounge area was proped up by paperback books. In addition, the "private" balcony, was not private at all, it was open to anyone who wanted to check out the view. The inside was another story. At first I just thought it was well worn and a little tacky. After looking around I found it was uncared for and dirty. The windows and screens were dirty; the drapes had a thick layer of dust along the top that was clearly evident, and they were hung upside down and three of the four panels were pulled back by rope. There were bugs in the light fixture and on the kitchen counter, the refrigerator was dusty, and had mold around the doors. Had no idea how old the food in the fridge was. The spices in the cupboard were rock solid--all of them. Hospitality was essentially a supply of rum in the fridge and cupboard. We saw the owner/manager only twice all week--once to ask for snorkel equipment that wasn't broken. All in all a disappointment. We may visit St. John V.I again, but certainly not the Hillcrest Guest House.

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Guest House is a great place to stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.4 reviewed on April 03, 2011

The owner picked us up at the dock, showed us around town, and took us to the guest house. Lots of amenities were there, including all the makings for Pina Coladas, wine, snacks and breakfast, along with modern TVs and beach towels. We only stayed one night, as we had a house reserved for the week, but would have been content to stay a few days.

View more reviews for this inn


A great getaway at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.4 reviewed on March 02, 2011

We were so happy to find an opening at practically the last minute, and greatly enjoyed our first trip to St. John; discovered lots we'd like to explore next time. The accommodations were comfortable, the suite tastefully furnished, and the people friendly. Phyllis omitted nothing! It was a treat to escape the snow and ice even if for a short time. As other reviewers noted, this house sits atop a very steep hill--but the walk helps to cancel out some of the calories taken in during the trip!

View more reviews for this inn


Good housekeeper and amenities at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.8 reviewed on February 24, 2011

Innkeeper met us and returned us to ferry dock.frig was well stocked,snacks and drinks well stocked. Snorkel, beach equipment furnished, She gve us nice tour of village upon arrival. Porch,breezeway NIce for hot afternoon relaxation. Short walk to village aNd view from window looks out to bay.

View more reviews for this inn


well stocked fridge at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.2 reviewed on January 20, 2011

ST John USVI is extremely expensive, making the Hillcrest Guest House reasonable in this context. The proprietor welcomes guest with a well stocked fridge and coolers available for use, as well as beach chairs, sunscreen, nice shampoos and soaps and even snorkle gear.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.4 reviewed on January 15, 2011

Nice play to stay....economical....very accommodating owner. Would definitely go there again. Great location to town.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful service!! at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on January 05, 2011

My husband and I stayed only one night before moving on to Tortola. I wished we could have stayed longer. Phylis was wonderful and so helpful and generous. We had food in the fridge and cocktails! The room was clean and well appointed. We were close to Cruz Bay which was important for us. We walked to dinner and the hill up later in the evening was really not bad. Phylis met us at the ferry with our bags as we were leaving. Very accommodating. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Nov. 2010 at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.2 reviewed on November 18, 2010

The rooms were large, clean, neat, comfortable and spacious. I was expecting one room, but it was really a 1 bedroom apartment - with bedroom, living room (couch made into a queen fouton bed)with eating area, kitchen and bathroom. There was window a/c and ceiling fans. The kitchen was well stocked with breakfast food, and beach & snorkel gear were in the closet. It was a convenient location to town, with a short walk down the hill to Cruz Bay. The roosters were active in the morning, but you soon tune them out. We especially appreciated Phyllis picking us up at the Ferry Dock and giving us a tour of town, pointing out shops & markets, even though we got in at 7 P.M.

View more reviews for this inn


Clean and comfortable outstanding innkeeper at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.2 reviewed on November 16, 2010

Hillcrest House is really worth considering- the rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. This is not fancy living, but having Phyllis Hall as an innkeeper makes up for anything you could wish for. She stocks the kitchen with wine and fruit, goes out of her way to be accommodating, and addresses any concerns immediately. Our kitchen was fully stocked with cookware, dishes, and utensils. Phyllis Hall is a very special lady.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.8 reviewed on September 23, 2010

The room where I stayed was charming, and Phyllis was wonderful. I should point out that when the ferry drops you in St. John, there is not a lot of help to be had so be sure you have called ahead to arrange for Phyllis to meet you at the dock. The view of Cruz Bay was phenomenal from my room. Shopping and restaurants are an easy walk from Hillcrest - the uphill walk back is challenging but not impossible.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}