Fern Tree Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
7 Reviews

Write A Review

Authentic and unique

3.2 on June 08, 2014

Stayed one night at Fern Tree while transiting through Basseterre. Hazel provides true Caribbean hospitality in an authentic and unique setting. I had the chance to share a few beers with the locals after I arrived. Very relaxing to sit in the gazebo and read while listening to the surf from the beach. Hazel made me feel like one of the family and encouraged me to make myself at home. She took care of my taxi arrangements across town and to the airport. She is a real character and she's a lot of fun to chat with on the porch while the breeze keeps you cool!


St. Kitts May 2013

5 on May 27, 2013

When we arrived at the airport we took a taxi and asked them to carry us to the bed and breakfast. Before we could warm up the seats we arrived at the house. The flowers are outstanding as you drive along the street and there we met the owner Ms. Hazel. The apartment is quite spacious and very clean. We were treated like family and for the eight days we stayed there we were fed the most delicious breakfast and were also treated to a real Caribbean spread for a Sunday lunch. Ms. Hazel and Mr. George are the epitome of Caribbean hospitality and made our stay go from exciting to remarkable. We have no regrets and can't wait to return.


Best Kept Secret

4.8 on April 24, 2013

Having lived on Nevis island (sister island to St. Kitts) for almost two years, my mother and I decided to finally take a trip to St. Kitts before going home to the states for good. Choosing to stay at Fern Tree for four days was probably the best decision we could have made. Mornings were my favorite part of the trip, as Ms. Hazel makes a mean breakfast! Cooked plantains, tomato slices, blueberry bagels with fresh jam, eggs, turkey sausage, turkey bacon, baked beans (Caribbean style), all topped off with fresh orange juice - a hearty meal that easily held us over until dinnertime. Evenings were wonderful - full of great conversation and wine with Ms. Hazel, Ivin, and some of Ms. Hazel's good friends. Sitting out on the screened in porch while the ocean breeze swept in is EXACTLY how I'd love to spend every evening. The room we stayed in was quite cozy, and luckily having lived in the Caribbean for almost two years, we were more-than used to the heat: We left open the windows (which have screens in them) and opted for two fans instead of using the air conditioner. I'd suggest keeping the doors closed as there are no screen doors and the flies and mosquitoes are forever waiting to come in and visit with you. Luckily, my mother and I were the only guests so we only had to share a bathroom and the dining room with each other. Internet was also provided, though we had to connect with an ethernet cord directly to the computer, as the wifi signal couldn't reach our room on the first floor: the modem is located in the main house on the second floor. The property is immaculate and gorgeous. The pictures listed on this page don't even do the wrap-around garden justice. The whole property boasts beautiful views of the island and ocean. It truly is serene. I don't think words can describe how much my mother and I enjoyed staying at Fern Tree and how amazing Ms. Hazel (and her friends) are. She made us feel at home.


A little treasure

4.8 on January 16, 2013

My husband and I went to St Kitts in January to enjoy a little “honeymoon” time and we stayed at the Fern Tree B&B for 10 days. A wonderful experience. The location is 10 min by driving from the southeast beaches, at walking distance from Conaree beach and 10 min from Basseterre. The rooms are very nice, clean and provided with WiFi. There was not A/C but we did not miss it as the place is very breezy and keeping windows open allows the nice cool wind in. A fan was perfectly adequate in the few days we needed. The garden around the premises is lush and blooming with tropical flowers. We were looking forward to having breakfast in the gazebo in the morning surrounded by the astonishing view of the green hills and the coastline. And what a breakfast! Rich, tasteful Caribbean dishes to kick your day off! But the best part was the people at Fern Tree: Ms Hazel, the owner, is a perfect guest and a wonderful person. She makes you feel very welcome and is a great chef. She invited us to her birthday party: the best Caribbean dinner we had on the island (and that is really a compliment as the food in St Kitts is pretty good). George took care of us at the arrival and helped us to find a car for rent (During high season make your reservation ahead of time!). He is very knowledgeable and reliable. Consider to hire him if you want to tour the island w/o renting a car. Harvey the gardener even opened fresh coconuts for us to taste the refreshing water. Definitely Fern Tree is a treasure. Forget the resort and experience the authenticity of the island!


A Wonderful place to stay.

4.4 on December 18, 2012

It was such a wonderful time at Fern Tree B&B in St. Kitts. When I arrived for the weekend trip in St. Kitts, and decided to stay here, I have no regrets. I was warmly welcomed by Glenn and Hazel and some of their friends, while we sat outside in the Gazebo, and enjoyed the beautiful garden and the beautiful surrounding scenery of the Horizon with the beach on one side and the mountain on the other side. The room was very neat and clean. The service was very good. I got a chance to enjoy, and relax myself from my daily work duties in one of the neighbouring islands. They took care for a Taxi cab for me, who showed me around and I enjoyed it very much. Fern Tree is a Wonderful place to stay.


Quaint & Lovely St. Kitts Sweet Spot

5 on November 23, 2012

Fern Tree House is a lovely quaint B & B in St. Kitts, perfect for an overnight on my Caribbean journey. south! Hazel coordinated the details for George, the taxi driver to pick me up at the airport after a long, long day of flying. Glenn greeted me with a warm smiling welcome and a bottle of water to quench my thirst. My room was fabulous, though I did not need the mosquito net, thankfully. Lulled to sleep by the sound of waves slapping the beach! Awoke to a beautiful sunny day and a walk through the lush and beautiful gardens of Fern Tree House. Flowers in full bloom and color and coconut trees full of the nuts. WiFi was available. My stay included a yummy breakfast, that was a combination of delicious English Caribbean flavors of fresh orange juice, eggs, toast, plantain and sliced tomatoes! A wonderful and thought provoking chat with Glenn, as Hazel was in the UK due to a death in the family. George picked me up and took me to the ferry dock, again arranged by Hazel. So if you're lucky for a clean, fresh Caribbean experience with value and exceptional service, Fern Tree House is your place.


A Holiday to remember,

4.4 on August 14, 2012

We had a fantastic time, Hazel looked after us like family, great food and plenty of it. She even cooked us evening meals ,local fare It was very good.Their is plenty to do and see. The local Taxi that took us where ever we wanted to go was Great he took us out on trips, recommended where to buy at best price, took us to the beach in fact could not do enough for us and all very inexpensive. In short had a GREAT Holiday and would like to go back. So safe my wife would happily go out on her own.


Fern Tree

Details

  • Nightly Rate $50 - $75
  • Reviews (7) 4.5
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1869-4669843
  • Phone 44-1604456969

Visit Website »

View details

Top