Recent Reviews in Saint John, Virgin Islands

Mini Vaca!! at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.8 reviewed on May 17, 2016

This B&B was everything the ad stated, and in a good location. It even came with food and booze. Very comfortable accommodation's. I would and will stay here again. Thank you Miss Phyllis

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.6 reviewed on May 05, 2016

Excellent room with view. Everything clean and all essentials provided. We enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Guest House, St John at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.2 reviewed on February 24, 2015

We spent a week at Hillcrest and had a very relaxed time. Phyllis, the proprietress, was very friendly and gave great guidance when we needed to find a laundromat, the closest grocery store, etc. We rented the Orchid Suite and our toddler slept very well on the futon that was available. The air conditioners cooled the suite quickly each time we returned from an outing. Although there was some general "wear & tear" to some of the structure probably due to age and the local climate, the rooms were very clean and the linens were like new. While there was a good selection of beverages available in the suite (soda, coffee, tea), we were underwhelmed by the 12 eggs, 8 bacon strips, and 3 muffins available for a full week's worth of breakfast. Perhaps we were supposed to ask for replenished supplies when we ran out, but that seemed an awkward thing to do. Not a huge deal though, because the Dolphin Grocery was just down the hill and the suite had a great selection of cookware for the meals that we prepared. I should also mention that there was a selection of liquor available in the suite if we had been interested. The stove, microwave, etc were very clean as were the shower, toilet, and sinks. Also, we genuinely appreciated the availability of DVDs to watch while our toddler napped and the beach toys and snorkel gear that we were free to use for our beach outings. Potential guests should know that the availability of Wi-fi was hit or miss. Hillcrest is conveniently located within a few blocks of the shopping, restaurants, taxis, and ferry dock of Cruz Bay, but please note that it is aptly named; walking to and from town involves a short (perhaps 50 yards) but very steep hill. For the price, we think that Hillcrest is a great value if you want a comfortable, clean place to sleep and cook while visiting St John. We would stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


First Time Visit to Saint John at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.8 reviewed on February 14, 2015

Although the guest house was not the most updated, I did not have any of the problems of cleanliness mentioned in other reviews. The fridge was well-stocked and we enjoyed sitting in the common screened in area. The hill up to the guest house was definitely steeper than I expected. It was fine to walk up when we didn't have bags with us, but I would probably take a taxi up with my suitcase next time. Phyllis was helpful and accommodating with holding our bags after we checked out.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.6 reviewed on February 10, 2015

Very short walk to town. Great place to prep breakfast in the morning, clean up before dinner, and rest your head at night after a day of island adventure.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and Cozy Hillcrest House at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

2.8 reviewed on August 14, 2014

rooms and facilities are "island clean". Host is very helpful with info guests may need. bed is comfy. 360 degree views. host provides equipment you may need to enjoy beach (towels, ice chest, chairs, etc), movies for the evening, and a hook-up for your mp3 in-room. keyed safe in bedroom is helpful but hackable. generally quiet neighborhood. walkable distance to town and amenities but really steep hill. "mahogany-bird" traps on main counters. Mosquitoes n no-see-ums can easily get inside from cracks and holes in screens etc, but thankfully its a dry year. Not all items on grocery list were included in room as advertised but owner will tell you where to go buy them. Not sure if water was potable, gallon of water in fridge was open/unsealed. It felt a little dicey walking back from town at night as some of the route is in pitch black, seems straight up-hill (will wind you in temp/humidity) and there are rude-boys running the street up to the house that have no respect for adults and especially tourists and are aggressive even if you are polite or alternatively, ignore them. we found it Best to take the $4 taxi from town than risk the possible danger, but judge for yourself. It's all typical USVI, so you just have to be aware. Overall, we would likely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2014

I stayed at hillcrest With My 11 year old son and we had a great time. The lady helped us when we Got in a little trouble and the room was great.

View more reviews for this inn


a value stay at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

2.8 reviewed on January 03, 2014

Great location!

View more reviews for this inn


Ok but issues at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.0 reviewed on July 09, 2013

The view from our suite was stupendous. The value of this room is very good compared to anything else you can get in St. Johns. Phyllis was a wonderful innkeeper. The issues are lack of real cleanliness in room and loud music from town during some nights when there is entertainment in Cruz Bay. The breakfast was packaged muffins and other packaged goods from the grocery store. On the plus side, frig equipped with complimentary rum and wine.

View more reviews for this inn


First St John Visit at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on April 11, 2013

Room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The frig was very well stocked. Great location. Owner is very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hillcrest Guest House! at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on October 28, 2011

We spent four days with Phyillis at her Guest house. She was terrific and our room was stocked with wine, rum, bacon, eggs, sodas, drinks, bagels, muffins, coffee, popcorn, ice cream, etc. She had snorkel gear available for us to use, along with beach chairs. There was also a large selection of DVDs and books for us to use, all free of charge. There was also wi-fi, although we didn't use it since we were busy hiking and snorkeling the amazing St. John trails and beaches. We had a wonderful view from the balcony and ate most of our meals sitting outside on the covered patio. Our suite was not the most modern or luxurious, but it was clean and quiet and located close to Cruz Bay up a steep hill. We had a rental car and spent most of our time exploring the island. A great stay for sure and we would definitely stay there again and recommend to any of our friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Great St John Vacation at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on October 07, 2011

We spent our 28th wedding anniversary at Hillcrest Guest House in late September. Phyllis Hall is a lovely lady and always available for your every need. The location is perfect. We enjoyed all food and beverage that stocked our suite. This is a very economical B & B that is a true St John experience. We loved the Orchid Suite. We'll be back. Marie and Joe Westfield,MA

View more reviews for this inn


Hillcrest Guest House in St. John, US Virgin islands at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.8 reviewed on July 18, 2011

We were in St. John for our son's wedding in June for 5 nights/6 days. It was truely a very special occassion and Hillcrest Guest House definitely ADDED to it!!! We absolutely LOVED our stay here!!! Everything was so special and we were treated like VIPs the entire time. Phyllis personally greeted us and gave us a tour of the complex as well as our suite. She stocked it with lots of goodies for us in the cupboards, the frig, and even a basket full of delicious treats. She also left us a personal welcome note! Phyllis made herself available to us 24/7 and gave us her personal cell number if we needed it to get a ho;d of her quickly. She really is a very special lady and I feel we also made a friend too!! She made us feel so special too! One day, our ride fell through and we were going to have to get a cab to take us to the marina to join our group for a day sail on a catamaran that was leaving promtly at 9am. We tried all the listed cabs and no one would answer their phones. We made a frantic call to Phyllis to see if she knew of any cabs we could call as time was running down very quickly. Without any hestitation, Phyllis just said to meet her at the gate ASAP and she would drive us to the marina! She just dropped everything to personally take us and we made it on time. She really goes beyond being the owner of a bed and breakfast!!! We are already looking ahead to our next vacation in St. John and getting to spend our time at Hillcrest and seeing Phyllis again! Thank you Phyllis for making our stay so memorable!!! Don & Andi Q

View more reviews for this inn


A nice place to stay, but in need of an upgrade at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

3.4 reviewed on June 17, 2011

The owner is quite friendly, and even gave us a ride to the ferry at the end of our stay. Although no formal breakfast was provided, we did receive a sizeable amount of breakfast food in a basket and in the refrigerator in our room that included breakfast meat to cook in our room. We were also provided with a sizeable amount of alcohol for free. The location is just outside of the downtown up a fairly steep hill. The rooms are in need of an upgrade however, and had a dated feel. They were clean, although daily housecleaning was not provided.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hillcrest at Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands (Cruz Bay, St. John, Virgin Islands)

4.0 reviewed on May 17, 2011

We stayed here for our babymoon. We spent the the first few days on St. John at a resort and we much preferred Hillcrest. You are located right in town, just up a steep hill, but it is a a fun walk and helps you get in shape. The owner is a lovely lady and is very accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}