Recent Reviews in Rochester, New York

Amazing peaceful place to stay with phenomenal food! at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2016

The food is worth driving hundreds of miles for!

View more reviews for this inn


RIT Mom at The Barnhouse Bed and Breakfast At Grace Acres (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2016

Libby is so friendly and warm. It is a peaceful inviting place. The breakfast would make a farm hand proud. I stay there when I visit my son at RIT two to three times a year for the last 4 years. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Luxurious home away from home! at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

4.6 reviewed on April 14, 2016

The Ellwanger Estate is a veritable oasis where most travelers' expectations will be exceeded. The location is private yet has easy access to downtown and the greater Rochester area. What sets this B&B is not so much the lovely compound of the estate or the well-appointed accommodations or spacious common areas, but rather the innkeeper, Rosemary. She makes visiting this extraordinary venue an exceptional lodging experience. Guests are warmly welcomed, their needs anticipated from reading glasses to yoga mats!! Moreover Rosemary serves a sumptuous breakfast with engaging conversation. Visit once and you will leave wanting to return! I did.

View more reviews for this inn


Picturesque Get Away w/ All the Amenities at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.4 reviewed on March 01, 2016

A Victorian beauty for those wanting to escape, relax and absorb all the comforts of this wonderful Inn. John and Julie are very gracious hosts and their Inn is as advertised..........a trip back in time. The wood burning fireplace in our room was such a treat to enjoy the warmth and decompress for the evening. Breakfast the next morning was five star. Thanks for a great experience and can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like home away from home at Reen's Bed and Breakfast (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2016

Beautiful, impeccably clean, cozy, warm, welcoming, and very homelike place. Reen is a truly amazing host, and takes care of her guests in the best way possible. This was my first time in Rochester, I stayed for only one day/night, and staying with Reen was definitely the highlight of the trip. She pointed the places to go to, places to eat, and the moment I stepped in I felt like home. Loved her homemade breakfast and freshly brewed coffee, too! Highly recommend this place. ps. the site "forces" you to rate the onsite dining and doesn't allow to leave it blank, so I put 5 stars as putting in anything else would (unjustly) bring the whole rating down. just want to make sure you are aware that there is no dining on premises. (although Reen will point you in the right direction where to get a good dinner).

View more reviews for this inn


A superb winter getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on January 25, 2016

My wife and I had the wonderful privilege of winning a two-nights stay at this delightful inn. Typically we choose overnight accommodations that are an economical place to sleep so we can go and do other things, We were unprepared, in the best possible way, for the setting and hospitality. This is a WONDERFUL place to get away in the winter. We thoroughly enjoyed the fact that there were still some tasteful holiday decorations up, lending color and charm to the common rooms. Every room was a new discovery of visual delight. Our favorite room to enjoy during the day was the large glass enclosed porch that overlooked the wide expanse of property and farmland, with the added benefit of freshly fallen show our first morning there -- truly magical. There were choices of three dining areas, and we enjoyed the unique dining experience of each one. The fireplace in the antique bedroom was a wonderful touch of warmth and romantic charm. Our host, John, was easy to talk to and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. He warned us that after eating their breakfast, we would not want lunch. He was not kidding. We didn't even approach hunger until well into the evening hours. In summary, if you want to reconnect with your spouse, or just need a personal retreat in the country, I cannot think of a better setting, especially in winter. Thank you, John and Julie! We hope to return in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Overnight Get Away at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on January 20, 2016

A beautiful old Inn. We loved that the Christmas decorations were still up and the fireplaces lit. John was a gracious host who showed he thoroughly enjoyed his proprietorship, The seven course dinner was superb!! It was well paced. The tastes were varied and delicious. The breakfast was wonderful and given as much attention as the dinner. We highly recommend a stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


winter getaway at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

4.8 reviewed on January 04, 2016

Rosemary was awesome attentive but not intrusive Rooms very comfortable Breakfast amazing Best part Frank Sinatra playing in entry way

View more reviews for this inn


Summer Weekend Getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on December 24, 2015

My wife and I joined my son and his girlfriend on a relaxing weekend getaway in late July 2015. The innkeepers, John and Julie, were warm and welcoming. They provided great hospitality and pleasant conversation during our stay. The rooms and grounds were tastefully decorated, well maintained and provided a comfortable environment for our stay. The food was exceptional. Breakfasts were very good and the seven course dinner was outstanding. We had a truly memorable dining experience (John's food preparation and presentation were special).

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2015

Me and my wife absolutely loved getting spoiled by John and Julie on our relaxing honeymoon getaway. Highlights include the best omelette I've ever tasted, cosy bedside fires, timeless inside & outside scenery, and the friendly company of Goldwyn, the resident dog. Canandaigua is, in itself, a beautifully preserved town with some great food & scenery, making Morgan Samuels the perfect blend of homey, historic, tasty goodness.

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas Shopping in Rochester at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2015

My wife and I could not have been more impressed. This place is magnificent!!

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous house, peaceful stay, delicious breakfast. at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2015

We stayed at the Ellwanger Estate for two nights (October 30th and 31st) while visiting friends in the area. The Woodland Suite was clean, comfortable and the Arts and Crafts style decor in the private sitting room is lovely. They have preserved a lot of the original features and gorgeous woodwork, but thankfully a modern bed and bathroom. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud and the WiFi signal is strong. There was no television in the room, but there is one downstairs in a small sitting room you can use if you want to relax. We were able to wander in and out when we pleased (provided a key), and the owner (Rosemary) always had tea, coffee and some sweets available. We ate breakfast with the other guests on the first morning, and they were very incredibly friendly and interesting people. Breakfast was delicious on both days. Fresh fruit and something delicious with eggs, as well as home made baked goods, on both mornings. We are still talking about the warm croissants! The day we woke up very late, and notified Rosemary we would not be down for breakfast, she kept it warm for us. Unfortunately, because we were on a two-day whirlwind tour of Rochester, we couldn't spend much time exploring the house. We were in awe at the level of restoration detail the owner has captured, right down to playing early jazz music in the grand sitting room, to make you feel like you have stepped back into time. It's really amazing. Rosemary will go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. There was never an issue with parking our rental car in the driveway, there were plenty of spots available. It is also very walkable (or short drive) to the South Wedge area of Rochester, which has fancy coffee shops, pubs and places to have a nice lunch or dinner.

View more reviews for this inn


Old World Elegance with Home Town Hospitality. at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2015

Bed, breakfast ... and beyond. This charming B&B in the New York Finger Lakes area truly deserves all its awards. The inn is gorgeous both inside and out. We enjoyed the companionship in the common rooms, walks around the grounds, and, in the privacy of our own suite – the comfort of a wood-burning fireplace and the two person hot tub. The food is absolutely the best we've had anywhere. My husband and I had the most romantic seven-course dinner, each course better than the last. And the breakfasts every morning were enormously satisfying. One of my favorite memories during our stay was simply getting to unwind and enjoy the amenities of the inn. After breakfast we strolled the grounds, got massages at the spa, and then camped out in front of a fire in our room while we sampled some wine from a local winery. This is a perfect place to stay if you want to hit up one of the famous Finger Lake wine tours in the region. And that’s another wonderful aspect of the Morgan Samuels Inn. While it’s idyllically located in the countryside, it is literally only minutes away from all the shopping, sightseeing, sports or anything else you could possible want. So there is plenty to see and do in the area. And owners John and Julie Sullivan go above and beyond to make their B&B an oasis of comfort for their guests. So bottom line: if you like great food, amazing pampering, and a relaxing place to recoup, the Morgan Samuels Inn is a traveler’s paradise.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2015

Rosemary and Lisa are gracious hosts. The house is spacious, the rooms have every comfort, and the breakfasts are creative and delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Just a Great place for a getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 05, 2015

My wife and I celebrated our first year anniversary here and will definitely come back for a refresher in a couple of years. I planned to make my wife a surprise and in the end I was as surprised as her. John and Julie were amazing hosts, and the propriety is astonishing. Lot of grounds to cover in a walk and very close to the city if you want to go out. When you join them for a stay, dinner is a must!!! It's a five senses experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous Location & Sublime Dining at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2015

The Morgan Samuels Inn is a gorgeous and welcoming establishment set in an idyllic location. The rooms are immaculate and extremely comfortable. The grounds and gardens are stunning. The owners John and Julie are warm and kind and welcome you into their home with open arms. The dining experience is sublime. A multi-course dinner is offered on site in a private dining area and is exceptionally sophisticated and delicious. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is searching for an unforgettably wonderful meal and destination.

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury Bed and Breakfast at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on September 27, 2015

Beautiful property both inside and out, located near Canandaigua Lake. Wonderful breakfasts. We had the optional three course dinner (BYOB). We ordered the lamb chops, which my wife and I agreed were the best we ever had. The hosts were gracious and the service was excellent. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2015

My family and I came to Rochester for the first time and were greeted by Rosemary who made us feel right at home. The estate is breathtaking; the garden is gorgeous and one that made us feel like we had stumbled upon the secret garden with our little one; the food was beyond our expectations - they even saw that our young daughter had foods that she would enjoy. The staff and ownership know how to offer hospitality and to welcome. We had a spectacular stay and will definitely be back at the Ellwanger next time.

View more reviews for this inn


Enchanted at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2015

The Ellwanger Estate is simply magical and enchanting...our room was beautiful and very comfortable..we were able to relax and enjoy the entire downstairs of the house which included a formal dining room for our breakfasts, which I must say were a culinary delight served in the most elegant setting. Our stay at the estate was truly a memorable and unique experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Weekend Getaway! at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2015

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Morgan Samuels Inn and we cannot say enough positive things about the experience. This was our first bed and breakfast and because of this inn we may be hooked! The property was so serene, the bed was so comfy, the hosts were amazing and breakfast was fresh and savory! Thank you for great memories and we look forward to making more in the future!!

View more reviews for this inn


A secret too well kept at Adams Basin Inn Bed & Breakfast (Adams Basin, New York)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2015

I hesitate to write this review because this place is so nice I’d like to keep it to myself. But a place this wonderful needs to be shared. The setting is beautiful. You can tell they invest a lot of care in maintaining the inn and the grounds. Pictures just can’t do it justice. The breakfasts are delicious. The afternoon cookies are a treat. The rooms are beautifully decorated and nicely kept. But I think the best aspect of the inn is the innkeepers themselves. They have a love for the place and the history of it and a real gift to making their guests feel like family (and not the part of the family that you’re happy when they say “Goodbye” – the part that you wish would stay another day). So there, I’ve done it. The news is out there for the world to know. But we had such a nice visit that I’m not sorry. It’s a story that should get out.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Inn and Fabulous owners at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2015

We loved our two nights at the Morgan Samuel Inn. The Morgan Suite is stunning and so spacious. Beautifully decorated. We utilized the new massage parlor and it was wonderful. John and Julie are incredible hosts and go out of their way to "touch all your senses" while you are in their care. We loved them both and John's breakfast and dinner meals are fabulous. You can tell he loves treating you like royalty. The private glassed in dining room overlooking the courtyard made us feel like a king and queen dining together. The grounds are stunning and so peaceful and quiet in that area. We will go back. Highest recommendations that I can give!! Book it!! You will love it.

View more reviews for this inn


A Relaxing Stay at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful time at this warm, cozy inn. John and Julie are engaging hosts. Their inn is beautiful and welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious and the service was outstanding. You will love the experience. Robert and Amy Graf, York, PA

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.4 reviewed on May 25, 2015

John and Julie were excellent hosts. We were guests in April and a walk around the grounds was a wonderful way to welcome Spring. Their dog Goldwyn was a fun addition to our weekend stay. We were able to enjoy private dining at dinner, which was a wonderful surprise. The food (both breakfast and dinner) was truly extraordinary.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at Morgan Samuels Inn at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.6 reviewed on May 25, 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Morgan Samuels Inn. John and Julie were warm and gracious hosts working so hard to make our time at their lovely Inn relaxing, refreshing and memorable. I would highly recommend this Inn to my friends and family. P.S.The food was delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Anniversary at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2015

My husband and I wanted to spend our 26th anniversary in a special place, with excellent food, that was not too far from home.A friend from Canandaigua recommended the Morgan Samuels Inn. Everything about the Inn was perfect, with so much attention to detail. John was very welcoming and took great care of us. The dinner he prepared was beyond compare to anything we've had at any other bed and breakfast. The breakfast was as impressive as the food at dinner. What a wonderful way to spend our anniversary!

View more reviews for this inn


Cool.Classy. Comfortable. at Edward Harris House B&B (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2015

This was our second stay at the Edward Harris House and we loved it just as much as the first time. Emily's Suite is spacious and charming. A/C was installed to address unseasonably warm temps (which we greatly appreciated) We were in town to visit family but had plenty of down time and this is very nice area to stay in. Park Avenue with many shops and restaurants is a block away. We visited the George Eastman House also a short walk away and it was fascinating.

View more reviews for this inn


Special Treat at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.0 reviewed on May 16, 2015

We received a gift certificate to stay at the Inn. Our room was cozy, loved the fireplace and the whirlpool bath. The host, John, was very attentive and informative. Breakfast was outstanding with fruits served first then you could order from their verbal menu. So filling we didn't need dinner. I took advantage of a massage which was very good. Overall it was a terrific getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Impressive Bed & Breakfast at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.2 reviewed on May 10, 2015

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The cost of the dinner was quite expensive ($85 to $95 per person).

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful in every way... at Reen's Bed and Breakfast (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2015

My daughter and I just stayed at Reen's Bed and Breakfast. It was absolutely wonderful in every way! The room was cozy, the meals outstanding, and location convenient to the greater Rochester area. We definitely plan to stay Reen's again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}