Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Rochester, New York

Best Inn Ever! at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.0 reviewed on December 22, 2014

I want to give this Inn 5 stars, but the site wouldn't let me. My husband, I & my mother in law stayed over Thanksgiving. John, the innkeeper, went overboard for us. Being the only guests for the 3 days we were there, we took over the place. I felt like I was the owner of this mansion and that John was my personal butler. The grounds were beautiful with the fresh snowfall, and the common areas all have wood burning stoves or fireplaces.The murals, furnishings & decorations were welcoming. We invited our relatives to dinner at the inn the day after Thanksgiving, and John gave us a beautiful, candlelit, 3+ hour multi-course meal. Our relatives called the evening magical and I'd have to agree. The Inn itself has its quirks, being renovated from its 1810 original status. For instance, the shower in our bathroom was up about 5 steps. Considered as a whole, though, I could not have asked for anything better. We are experienced B&B'rs, and this stay was at the top of our list. We will definitely be back next year!

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Stay! at Abner Adams House B & B (Bloomfield, New York)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2014

Very pleasant 2 day stay. Eventhough had one night free we were treated loyally. Breakfast was fantastic each morning. Coffee was available 24 hours as was soda and bottled water. Host and hostess very congenial.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Get-A-Way! at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.4 reviewed on December 13, 2014

We were so thankful to be able to sneak away from our busy life, enjoying quiet time ---just the two of us. Julie and John made it a memorable experience. The dinner was amazing, leaving us full to the brim, having had every one of our taste buds tantalized. Christmas time was the perfect time to visit...the lights and decorations everywhere were spectacular. Thanks again for your hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


A Restful Haven at The Barnhouse Bed and Breakfast At Grace Acres (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Grace Acres. Our hosts were so friendly and inviting, the rooms were quaintly decorated and perfectly clean and the full course breakfast made me beg Libby for her recipes. Will definitely stay there again if we're in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


I couldn't find a nicer B&B to stay in. at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2014

The accommodations were superb, with so much to see and so beautifully arranged-- even with a 14 foot beautifully decorated Christmas tree. The breakfast included a delicious fresh pineapple cut in half and arranged as an artist would have planned. The entire breakfast was graciously served and delicious. I will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Retreat at Springdale Farm Bed & Breakfast (Victor, New York)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2014

Great getaway from the hustle and bustle, but still close to shopping, dining and wineries!

View more reviews for this inn


We Will Be Back at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.0 reviewed on November 22, 2014

My husband and I chose the Morgan Samuels Inn for a two night stay to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before so we did not know what to expect. We were very pleased with how things turned out. When we arrived, it was late afternoon on a Saturday in November. We had heard that the innkeeper had a dog so we were prepared. We were greeted in the driveway by Goldwyn, a Vizsla. Oh, boy was he adorable. We followed him inside, and the innkeepers’ son checked us in. We stayed in the Garden Room, described as a French cottage room with a four-poster bed. We liked the idea that it had a private entrance. We were looking for something romantic and secluded. It was all that. The room itself is charming and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and was covered in pillows. It was just what we were looking for. The inn itself is charming and pretty. There was a fire burning in most of the common rooms. The breakfasts were phenomenal. There was a large fruit platter, baked apple, Greek yogurt, and more. The second morning there was various homemade pastries (I had a cinnamon roll, and my husband had a sticky bun). Both were to die for. This was all before the main dish arrived! The first morning I had pecan buckwheat pancakes and bacon on the side. The second morning I had French toast made from sunflower bread and bacon on the side. I have never had such service and such yummy treats to wake up with. The food was plentiful and so worth it. The owners aim to please, and it shows. Since this was our first bed and breakfast, we didn’t know what to expect. We were very happy with our experience. We were well-taken care of. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. NOTE: We rate the Service and Dining as "Outstanding" but for some reason we can't select those buttons above.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2014

My wife and I had to travel from Syracuse to Rochester for car service. We decided to extend our stay for some much needed alone time and since we enjoy the city so much. At the last minute, I remembered that I had wanted to visit the Ellwanger Estate last spring during the Lilac Festival. However, since "last minute" is a recurring theme in my planning, it was all booked (on this visit, I saw why: it is phenomenally located within walking distance to the festival). The house is lovely and the rooms comfortable, arranged with a very refreshing eye toward blending convenience and comfort. However, the best part of the visit has to be the innkeeper, Rosemary. I've read other reviews of the establishment, and many raved about her, so I was not surprised. But truthfully, she is a very interesting person, whom we found great to talk with. We'd go back just visit her! The Ellwanger will not disappoint.

View more reviews for this inn


First Inn trip at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on November 08, 2014

This was the first time my husband and I had stayed at an Inn. We will never go back to a standard hotel. John made us feel welcome as soon as we were in the door, breakfast was wonderful. Sorry we had to go home.

View more reviews for this inn


Look forwarding to another stay. at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

4.4 reviewed on November 05, 2014

Had a great 3 night stay - wish we could've stayed longer. Rosemary is a gracious, helpful host, and a great cook. Rooms was comfortable, clean and very quiet even being on a busy street. Location worked well for our needs. Would recommend Ellwanger for anyone who enjoys a quality B&B experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend Getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on November 03, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here and were able to indulge in the dinner on our first evening in the inn. We had dinner in the private dining room for two and thoroughly enjoyed it. The two breakfasts we had were also absolutely delicious. John and Julie are wonderful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


October Get a Way at Abner Adams House B & B (Bloomfield, New York)

3.8 reviewed on October 23, 2014

Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Food...however at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

3.6 reviewed on October 22, 2014

Great accommodations and the dinner was superb. Service however was very slow-dinner was at 7pm and we were not served anything until 7:30 and did not finish until nearly 10 pm. We were not informed there would be an automatic 25% tip placed on the bill which we also paid tax on. Not a cool thing to do!

View more reviews for this inn


We had a great time! at Abner Adams House B & B (Bloomfield, New York)

4.4 reviewed on October 22, 2014

The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. Bob and Lynda enhanced our experience by offering suggestions that were in line with what we were planning to do each day. The breakfasts were fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect in Every Way. at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 21, 2014

I'm not generally one given to hyperbole, but the Ellwanger exceeded expectations. From the gracious hosts to the granduer of the common areas, this Bed and Breakfast can not be beat if you've an occasion to treat yourself in Rochester, New York. -The Nascones, Pittsburgh, PA

View more reviews for this inn


Springdale at Springdale Farm Bed & Breakfast (Victor, New York)

4.0 reviewed on October 20, 2014

Nice central location. Friendly owner. Bed a tad on the soft side.

View more reviews for this inn


Attentive hosts! at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.2 reviewed on October 19, 2014

We stayed here for several days and had a wonderful experience the entire time. The gourmet breakfast with fresh fruit was delicious and it was very comfortable to stay here. There was plenty of privacy and outdoor seating and the estate looks beautiful during the fall.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely hideaway getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.2 reviewed on October 19, 2014

A cozy, warm place to relax on a fall weekend. The innkeepers are the perfect combination of warm and obliging while giving plenty of space to enjoy the the beautiful home. Everything that I could have wanted in a one-night stay. The grounds and home were exceedingly picturesque and quiet. Would recommend and look forward to visiting again soon in another season.

View more reviews for this inn


Delisious Dining at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2014

Outstanding in every way.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 17, 2014

My wife and I were ending a New England trip and traveling home when we stopped at this inn. We stayed in the Evies room and, outside of a somewhat quirky bathroom, it was lovely. It had a wood-burning fireplace which John started for us one evening. We also had the privilege of enjoying one of his gourmet meals. Very highly recommended!! John and Julie were most helpful and informative.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place in Rochester at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

4.2 reviewed on October 17, 2014

We spent one night here in the Traveler's Rest suite. All the rooms were occupied that night but we didn't hear a thing from other rooms because the house is very spacious. It's very clean throughout and Rosemary has thought of all kinds of things to make your stay there perfect. The room had robes for us, nice amenities in the bathroom, an iPod docking station and was very tastefully appointed. The ground floor of the Inn is huge with a number of seating areas. There was a table laid out with home made sweet and savoury snacks when we arrived as well as the makings for coffee/tea as well as a wine chiller and glasses so we sat out on one of the covered porches with a glass of wine and watched deer wander through the grounds. The beautiful historic Ellwanger Gardens, are adjacent to the main property and they were just beautiful to walk through. Breakfast was a beautiful meal, not your usual bacon and eggs and Rosemary was a wonderful hostess. We found the location good as downtown Rochester was a short drive away but the immediate neighbourhood was lovely with other large estates nearby, lots of trees and gardens and it was about a 3 minute drive to the historic Corn Hill area so a very accessible place to be. It was a pleasure (and good value) to spend time in this lovely place and we'd definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


a lovely weekend at Springdale Farm Bed & Breakfast (Victor, New York)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with a 2-night stay at Springdale Farm Bed & Breakfast. Our hostess was very nice, and overall we had a lovely stay. The room was beautiful: bright colors, tastefully decorated, fluffy rug, nice soap/shampoo that left my skin and hair very soft, comfy beds with luxuriously soft sheets, and a remote-control fire place. Each morning at 9:00am, we were treated to a delicious two-course breakfast comprised of fruit and baked goods, followed by well-prepared breakfast standards. My favorite was the homemade scone with baked apple and Greek yogurt, followed by gourmet French toast and bacon, garnished with fresh berries... mmmm! Our stay was reasonably quiet with the exception of a bit of conversation in the hallway for a few minutes after breakfast, and when in the bathroom, you could hear voices from the neighboring room (easily masked by the bathroom fan though). The Hideaway room is in a separate building, completely on its own. Downstairs in the main house are the Tow Path (our room) and Black & Tan rooms, next to each other. The other two room are upstairs in the main house.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary weekend! 10-12-2014 at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2014

Pure Autumn Bliss!! That is all I can say about this Inn. My husband and I spent the weekend for our Anniversary. I felt like I was back in time of an early American story book with a twist of English flare! The most delicious breakfast and please if you visit, it is a MOST! to have John cook you the dinner of a lifetime don't leave with out this culinary experience, its a labor of LOVE! John cooked each dish,( we had an eight course dinner!) and presented each one himself. From the hot bread drizzled in Olive oil & herbs, to the hot & cold appetizer! to One of the BEST cuts of beef we've ever had! Thank you, John and Julie!! it truly changes your stay, when wonderful people like you make it so unforgettable! Love, Mabel & Ray

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience!!! at Edward Harris House B&B (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the inn for one night (10/11/2014) when we came to visit Rochester for our first time. Our experience was consistent with the 5 star reviews listed . The "mansion", which it is (interesting history one should read), was beautifully decorated and very clean. All amenities were available and helpful recommendations were offered by Heather (the Innkeeper), who personally showed us our room and where everything was in it. She even took the time to look up where we should park when we went to the theater, as we were new to Rochester. Breakfast was excellent. There is a daily cook's hot entrée along with continental breakfast options. Our room , Rosemary's suite, was a large room with a king size bed and a separate room with a single bed. The house in general was quiet, and its location was wonderful. A short walk to Park Ave which has many restaurant choices as well as coffee shops, bakeries, and Stever's Candy Store (A Rochester institution). We would definitely stay here again when visiting the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Morgan Samuels Inn at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.0 reviewed on October 10, 2014

Superior to other B+B Inns we've stayed at. Service at both breakfast and dinner was exceptional. A perfect location for a special occasion. Also atmosphere, grounds, situation in countryside led to a feeling of tranquility and peace.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing & Comfortable at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2014

A Perfect Place for a Fall getaway weekend. The staff,home and grounds are outstanding

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay!! at Abner Adams House B & B (Bloomfield, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 08, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Abner Adams House!! Gorgeous, charming, old school country feel with updated, modern amenities...what more could you ask for?! We stayed in Nana's Nook, and it was lovely. And a GREAT deal I might add! Bob and Lynda were wonderful. Friendly, warm, and welcoming, with a plethora of knowledge and suggestions for the area. OH and breakfast was delicious!! Practically gourmet and kept us full till dinner!

View more reviews for this inn


Morgan Samuels Inn at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 07, 2014

This was our second stay at Morgan Samuels Inn. We felt like we were coming home again. Our hosts Julie and John were extremely welcoming and friendly. Our dinner was a culinary delight. Atmosphere complimented the dinner. We look forward to our next visit. We highly recommend Morgan Samuels Inn for couples looking for a 'special" time away.

View more reviews for this inn


Spectacular B & B at Abner Adams House B & B (Bloomfield, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 07, 2014

This was our first stay at a B & B and it far exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed a beautiful room and outstanding breakfast. The Inn Keepers went above and beyond my expectations. They had much knowledge of the area and recommendations for dinning and local activities. Hope to go back again some day.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2014

My husband and I found this gem of a place online and we really lucked out! The innkeepers (John and Julie Sullivan) were gracious and extremely accomodating. Our room was romantic and cozy and perfectly decorated. We ordered dinner created by John and were amazed at the high, gourmet level of the entire eight-course meal. Although we only stayed one night, we were treated as old friends and felt entirely at home. What an amazing experience! We have stayed in may B and Bs, but this one is truly deserving of the highest rating we can give. Robert and Lisa Gurga, CA

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}