Recent Reviews in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

A truly amazing experience at Santa Teresa Guest House (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying with Ann for a few weeks during the World Cup in Rio this June. Although the festivities and culture were wonderful, the most special experience of this trip was meeting Ann. From the first day arriving in Rio to the last morning's breakfast, Ann treated us with such hospitality and generosity that we always felt completely welcome and comfortable staying in her home. Not only did Ann provide us with a beautiful view and suggestions for sightseeing, but she also extended herself to show us around the city, cared for us when we both fell ill during the trip, and gave us many nights of lively conversation. We feel extremely grateful to have met Ann and feel that we have made a lifelong friend. She is a wonderfully special person that we hope to one day visit again. This trip has been an unforgettable experience in large part to Ann's kindness and warmth. Thank you, Ann for helping us make this an incredible trip that we will always remember! Love from Josue and Alyssa, California.

View more reviews for this inn


alojamiento en rio at Rio House Inn (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.2 reviewed on June 21, 2014

el apartamento esta ubicado en una de las playas mas chic de rio, a pesar de estar cerca de la rocinha su ubicacion sigue siendo optima, cerca de cualquier colectivo y a 15 minutos de copacaba. se puede ir caminando a la playa. Eli nos srive unos desayunos espectaculares junto a osvaldo que hacen nuestra estadía como si estuviésemos en casa. La habitación tenia aire ac y teniamos baño de uso propio enfrente del pasillo. tiene otra habitación en suite , que en ese momento había otros huespedes. Volvería alojarme alli sin dudas. (COCHERA sin CARGO cuando el rio eso se paga y muy caro.)

View more reviews for this inn


EXCELENTE LUGAR Y ATENCION!! TAL CUAL LAS FOTOS at Rio House Inn (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2014

estuvimos del 4 al 16 de junio! excelente la atención de los dueños, tanto elizabeth como osvaldo! estábamos realmente como en casa!! nos dieron una habitación, muy linda, con aire acondicionado, placard, una mesa, muy limpio. El departamento tiene otras dos habitaciones, una con baño en suite. La nuestra no contaba con baño dentro, pero apenas saliamos estaba el baño, moderlo y grande, con agua caliente y toallas. Nos dieron Desayuno, super completo. El edificio cuenta con seguridad, podiamos estacionar ya que tiene garage. a la vuelta un supermercado, a pocas cuadras de la playa. cerca del shoping mas exlusivo de rio! a mitad de camino de copacabana y barra de Tiyuca. buses para un lado y para el otro. la Playa espectacular. Los super recomiendo. era la primera vez que fuimos a un sistema de Bed an Break! sin duda que volveremos! gracias por todo!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place, strongly recommend it! at Happy House Rio (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our lovely trip to Rio. Staying at this B&B, and especially its owner, Thatiana, had made our experience ten times better! I have to start off by saying that we felt safe staying at this area, at all times. Before our trip, we had read so many negative things/warnings criminal-wise, to the point where we became paranoid! Nonsense! Locals are super friendly, helpful and kind. Our host gave us helpful tips, maps, locations in the city. She wanted us to feel as closest to the locals as we could. The B&B has a family vibe, which we loved. It's very artistic, cozy, oozing with positive energy. There's a wall intended for visitors' signatures/quotes which we loved! It's very clean, equipped with absolutely everything you might need. Our room had a great king size bed which we appreciated thoroughly. The living room area is very nice, has a huge flat screen TV where we watched World Cup matches with the rest of the visitors. Our reservation said breakfast included, but Thatiana served food 24/7! She made us traditional Brazillian food, sweets even fresh juice. The dining room is designed as a Cafe, which was great! Fresh fruit, snacks and everything else was always within our reach. This B&B is on a hill, for people who don't mind a very steep road and long sets of stairs. Taxi drivers are hesitant to take you exactly to the location, so you might want to use your GPS or print the exact instructions how to get there. Airport is withing 18-20 minutes away for the price of 40-50 reals. Subway is also within walking distance, and buses are literally everywhere. If we ever come back to Rio, we will definitely stay at the Happy House again. We strongly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Merci ! Thank you ! at BLUE HOUSE (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2014

Je voulais remercier Marcos pour son accueil et sa gentillesse ! Si j'ai bien compris, je suis son premier client - la maison, de type coloniale, est absolument magnifique et sentait par endroit la peinture fraîche ... Les chambres sont spacieuses et les salles de bain d'une propreté irréprochable. Les petits déjeuners avec fruits tropicaux, pain frais, charcuterie, et fromage sont royaux. Le quartier de Urca nous permet de sortir de la folie de Rio. Les nuits sont calmes et bien agréables et les conseils de Marcos pour les bonnes adresses se sont toujours révélés bien utiles! Bref, une excellente adresse que je recommande sans hésiter ! Un parisien qui adore Rio...

View more reviews for this inn


Our experience at Rio House Inn (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2014

We always wanted to visit Brazil. We were lucky that we decided to stay at Elizabeth's apartment! Osvaldo and Elizabeth are very kind and provide excellent service! We felt like we're at home. Rooms are very clean,comfortable and cosy. We had everything we needed. Breakfasts are delicious: Elizabeth cooked really nice Brazilian coffee, cakes, fresh bread, fruits and meat. Even ice-cream! Especially, we appreciate Elizabeth's recommendations regarding places to visit and all the information we needed. Bathrooms are also clean and comfortable. Rooms were cleaned daily. By the way, Sao Conrado beach is just 5 minutes away: probably one of the best beaches in Rio...very clean, neat and not crowded. On the opposite side of the house there's a nice supermarket and a fashion mall. In the evening you can enjoy local pizzeria as well as Starbucks and McDonalds are a few minutes away! To conclude, if you are going to Rio, you should choose Donini's apartment, without a doubt! Best regards, Alex.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! Best! Magnificent! at Bianco BB COPACABANA (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on April 05, 2014

I want to write my gratitude for a pleasant staying we had in Rio de Janeiro with a nice family - Italo and Rosana. They are very friendly and very honest people, who helped us to solve all problems we had. We are a family from Russia who stayed in this apartments "Bianco B&B Copacabana" in March, 2014. It’s a great place! It is located in an excellent location in Copacabana, it is only 5 minutes walk from the beach, the metro, the supermarket, the bus station, the bank, some restaurants and cafe. In the apartments there is a living room with TV, air conditioning, WiFi-internet, the suite has a individual toilet and shower cabin in it. The all apartment is very clean, comfortable and cozy. The kitchen has all facilities (stove, microwave, refrigerator, etc). The host, Italo, is professional tour guide, who speaks in English, Italian and Portuguese, he organized very interesting and exiting tours across Rio for us. And the most important, there they live two magnificent cats Bianco and Fino (my daughter was delighted)! We loved this place and this family during our staying and we had great time! -- Best regards, Konstantin!

View more reviews for this inn


back to rio at Santa Teresa Guest House (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2014

i returned to appartment of Ann after one year and a half. me and my friend found there all we could imagine - peace, calm, comfort and constant care. Ann is a wonderful host, unique in Rio and in all Brasil. She made her house into ours. We found location is perfect for carnaval time - not so crowded as other turistic parts of rio, very close to sambodromo and lapa with its wonderful bars and night life. Shops, street markets and Gloria metro station is just a few minutes away. That february and march we spend there with Ann will always be in our hearts. For sure we shall come back as soon as we can. I recommend this place to all my friends and family. See u soon Ann!

View more reviews for this inn


Excelente, lo recomiendo ampliamente at Bianco BB COPACABANA (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.6 reviewed on January 26, 2014

Muy buena ubicación, a tres cuadras de la playa, a 1 cuadra de la Avenida Principal, variedad de restaurantes alrededor, estuve hospedada con mi familia, y la pasamos estupendo, la atención fue fenomenal, es como sentirse en familia, a mi hijo de 1 año le encanto blanco y fino, sus adorables gatos. Recomiendo hacer el tour, nosotros lo disfrutamos. Gracias por todo!

View more reviews for this inn


Great location in Copacabana. WONDERFUL host at Bianco BB COPACABANA (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.2 reviewed on January 08, 2014

The place is clean and comfortable. The accommodations are very clean and secure, as well as reasonably priced even during the most expensive time to stay in Rio (New Year's eve). The BEST part of staying here besides it being 2 blocks from Copacabana beach, and walking distance to most things you may want to do, is that the host, Italo, is trilingual (speaks English, Italian and Portuguese) and was SO attentive to us. When I told him I needed more light in the bathroom to shave, he promptly changed it. He picked me up at the airport for free! To top it all off, he's certified as an international tour guide, and for a reasonable fee he showed us around the city...way better than hiring a taxi (which can be unsafe in Rio) because he told us about the city and the sights in our language (English). We felt like we had a personal concierge during our stay. If you read this review and on contacting the owner you find that the place is booked, you can still ask the owner/host (Italo) if he will be your tour guide during your stay in Rio since you don't have to stay with him to have him as a tour guide. We didn't have breakfast here since we wouldn't wake up before 11am but I rated it highly because I'm sure it would have been great had we been up for it.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B for vacation time or business trip at Room in Apartment (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on December 01, 2013

Na minha estadia no rio fiquei neste B&B pela segunda vez. O meu quarto para além de ar condicionado uma optima csa de banho, wifi livre, TV em frente a minha cam, sofá cama no quarto , para além de todo o conforto, era irrepreensivelmente limpo diariamente por Rose , a empregada da casa que também nos servia o tropical e não continental pequeno almoço, cheio de frutas e queijos de minas!! Para o dia , a três quadras , temos a praia! O Rio de Janeiro , está um inferno para quem quer circular na cidade! Ali temos tudo à mão. O calçadão para passeios diários antes de dar um mergulho ou em alternativa, virarmos à esquerda e a uma quadra temos a Lagoa, com um percurso para bicicletas e andar a pé, aparelhos de ginastica e muita água de coôcô! Depois o comércio todo de Ipanema e ao fundo da rua o melhor Shopping da Zona Sul, o Shopping do Leblon e o Rio Design. isto tudo a walking distance. ao almoço dois ou três locais imperdiveis para comer saladas e refeições leves. à noite a um conjunto de 5 restaurantes , um melhor do que outro, com preços desde caro a menos caro! mas com uma vida própria, muitos cariocas e poucos estrangeiros. voltar para a casa sem ter de pegar no carro ou apanhar taxi!! A rua cheia de arvores, passarinhos a virem comer na janela, silêncio absoluto no quarto ! Durante a nossa estadia tivemos várias reuniões no centro da cidade! A Rose tratou de termos roupa organizada e passada a ferro ! melhor serviço que qualquer dry cleaner de hotel e all to ourselves!!! Obrigada Beatriz ! keep up the good work

View more reviews for this inn


Rio experience with everything taken care of at Cesar`s Home (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of experiencing Rio with my wife and two adult daughters in July 2013. We stayed at Cesar's B&B while also making use of his guide and planning services that made our visit both fulfilling and enjoyable. The B&B accommodations are spacious, comfortable and clean, that included separate private bedrooms and bath facilities for the girls and my wife and I. The setting in a local residential neighborhood is quiet and safe, yet convenient to the airport and greater Rio. We enjoyed the daily breakfasts provided with fresh fruits, breads and meats from the local market. We also 'dined in' one evening sharing the refreshments and homemade barbeque offered by our host along with some family and friends. During our stay we took advantage of Cesar's personal guide service that resulted efficient and easy access to the sites of Rio that we wanted to see, but also some gems (beach area, restaurants, clubs) based on his recommendations. Cesar is a long-time Rio resident with expertise and local insight to offer his guests. Cesar also has an extended team he works with that can connect guests to specific activities or access to venues (sporting events) while in Rio. Whether you just need a safe place to rest your head for the night, or a full access service to what Rio has to offer, you will not be disappointed. We weren’t and will be back. Thank you Cesar!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Days in Brazil at Santa Teresa Guest House (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2013

I stayed at Ann's place for about two weeks in August. The flat is in a quiet area of Santa Teresa and is easily accessible. There's a taxi park on her street, a bus stop at the beginning of the street and the Gloria metro as well. For the more adventurous tourist, you can pay for a motorbike ride at the beginning of the street. It is safe and cheap!...but if you'ld rather not, a taxi is readily available or you can walk up the street. Its about 10 or 15 minutes walk. The view from the room is stunning. Yes! You can see Sugarloaf Mt right from your room window. You can easily take a bus or taxi to Teatro Municipal, the Cathedral, Rio Branco (a popular street) and other places of interest. If you choose to walk, it is such an interesting walk - and should be able 30 or 40 minutes walk. From the upper end of her street, I could actually see the beach, although I never went there. The upper end of the street boasts of a relaxed Santa Teresa lifestyle - restaurants and quaint gift shops to buy lovely souveneirs. I particularly liked the 'Sunday afternoon vibe' there. There are much more shops and restaurants at the bottom end of the street. I found Santa Teresa to be relatively safe. I never felt threatened nor was attacked during my stay. The best part of Ann's house is Ann! I had written a longer review outlining all the wonderful things she did but had to delete them when the system would not accept my review. My summary is that I was treated like a queen! Ann is such a decent, wonderful person and a thoughtful hostess - and her English is perfect. My stay in Rio was nothing short of AMAZING. If you need a place in Rio, do yourself a favour and stay at Ann's. I guarantee you'll never forget the experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Cesar was a supreme host at Cesar`s Home (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.8 reviewed on September 09, 2013

I stayed in Cesar's home June 2012... had my own room and bathroom, nice, clean, quiet area that was secluded from the house. But any time I needed anything I quickly went to the main rooms and kitchen... everything was wonderful-- Cesar, his helpers, the location was safe and within walking distance to the supermarket. Thank you Cesar!!

View more reviews for this inn


Excelente quarto, ótimo lugar e ótimo atendimento at Room in Apartment (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.8 reviewed on August 13, 2013

Local muito bom para ficar em Ipanema, nos hospedamos no Carnaval de 2013, a suíte é bem confortável, correspondendo às imagens das fotos. Tudo é bem limpo e aconchegante, as toalhas e roupa de cama são trocadas periodicamente, e também os itens de banheiro. A proprietária é muito atenciosa e nos deixa bem à vontade. O café da manhã também é excelente. Há conexão de Internet disponível no apartamento também.

View more reviews for this inn


Jornada Mundial da la Juventud en Rio at Guest room for rent (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2013

Estuve en Rio de Janeiro con mi hija de nueve Años para JMJ Escogimos el apartamento de Luiz y fue para nosotros una excelente elección La localización es central cerca esta el metro todas las estaciones,, de Buses.Queda muy cerca de la playa de Copacabana donde tuvimos que deplazarnos caminando en varias ocasiones por los cierres de vias en esta jornada pero fue cerca y seguro . El apartamento es muy amplio con una linda decoración ,Luiz cuida cada detalle, Es lleno de luz a todas las horas del día Nuestra habitación muy cómoda, con aire acondicionado, aunque esos días no fue necesario ,había un computador con acceso a internet, Teníamos un baño privado mu amplio y todo muy limpio y arreglado. Lo mejor es su dueño una persona muy amable cálida, respetuosa, todas las mañanas teníamos un desayuno excelente, y la verdad nos sentimos como en casa. Recomiendo este lugar a todas las personas que quieran visitar Rio

View more reviews for this inn


Our fantastic two weeks in Rio at Santa Teresa Guest House (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2013

The location is ideal. The Swiss Embassy is on the same Rue aka Street. The view including Sugar Loaf is great. The B&B is spotless, comfortable and inviting but the real gem is Ann. She treated us like friends and was so helpful in guiding us about the area. I am not fluent in Portuguese but that was never a problem with Ann's guidance. The people were friendly & polite. The nearby Metro was easy to use and free if you are over 65! This is how the NYC subway should be folks. Loved my vacation. Thank you again Ann. Barbara & Rye, Pennsylvania, USA

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Rio at Guest room for rent (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2013

We had the great pleasure to stay in the house of Luiz for five days. The apartment is beautifully decorated and only several minutes walk to the Botafogo beach and to the metro station. Botafogo is a nice neighbourhood which is not very touristic. Our room was very nicely decorated and there was a spacious private bathroom. Very nice view from the appartement on a hill with tropical forest. Luiz prepared a vey nutritious breakfast every morning for us and he explained us many things about Rio and the Cariocas. Sometimes Luiz’ girlfriend (Carla) stays at the apartment. She is a very nice person too. They helped us a lot as we lost a suitcase during our travel and also with getting Brazilian sim cards etc. We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly stay the next time in Rio again at Luiz’ apartment.

View more reviews for this inn


Falling in love with Rio at Rio Lodge Inn (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2013

My friend and I spent a week in Rio in June 2012. He is originally from Brazil and was showing me his country. He and Hilda hit it off famously. As they chatted in Portuguese I enjoyed some of the best breakfasts a person could have. Fresh fruit, breads, eggs, juices..it was something to look forward to every morning and it got you going for your day. Hilda was the perfect hostess and a wonderful conversationalist at breakfast going back and forth in English and Portuguese. She made us feel so at home. By the end of the week we felt like we lived in Rio. For the price in Rio you will not find anything better. We love you Hilda! Looking forward to going back to Rio in 2014.

View more reviews for this inn


Rio retreat at Utrópico Guesthouse (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2012

Stayed there in October. Trip to Rio was amazing and the highlight was staying in the Utropico Guesthouse. Would recommend it without hesitation. A peaceful and safe retreat to return to each day after touring around Rio. It may seem a bit far out but was well worth the effort. Silvia + Francisco were wonderful hosts who couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Would willingly fly to Rio again just to stay there.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely apartment in a good location at Room in Apartment (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2012

I had stayed 3 nights at this apartment and I really enjoyed my time there. Apartment was 5 minutes away from the beach with nice restaurants and supermarkets nearby. Our room was big and clean and the bed was super comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast especially the papayas! And the owner, Beatriz, was really warm and helpful who made us feel at home in her apartment. I had an awesome time in Rio!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent room located in Ipanema at Room in Apartment (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2012

The apartment is located on a quiet and safe street in Ipanema and only minutes away from the beach. There are restaurants and shops within walking distance as well. The room was spacious and clean with a very large bathroom and the room standard definitely exceeded our expectations. The breakfast spread was good and nicely laid out on the dining table every morning. Both owners were also very friendly and spoke excellent English.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location at Room in Apartment (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.6 reviewed on November 29, 2012

The room is large, the bed very comfortable. Breakfast very complete The landlady, Beatriz, is kind and attentive The location is good, very safe

View more reviews for this inn


Great place in Rio at Utrópico Guesthouse (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2012

Fun, sun , great atmosphere and a sense of true Rio. This is a great spot for relaxation, while close to the beaches etc of Rio.  Silvia and her family made us very welcome in a very comfortable part of their home which is laid out in  3 sections. Each has it's own sitting and outside patio area as well as bedroom. The decor is tasteful. The property sits on the waters edge of an island with a beautiful tropical backdrop. Rainforests lie in the background while the hum of passing boats is interrupted by the songs of many varied and interesting birds and others (including a monkey). One is truly made to feel at home here. No trouble is spared in being very helpful with ideas and information about transport and tourist attractions. Breakfast is leisurely and varied with great fruits and Brazilian coffee.  Although Utropico is a little away from downtown Rio, part of its charm is getting there by boat and a feeling of warmth and safety while staying there. We had a great time and look forward to our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


El lugar divino, la atencion excelente, simplemente maravilloso at Utrópico Guesthouse (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

4.8 reviewed on September 11, 2012

El lugar esta muy bonito,incluso mas de lo que te muestra las fotos, la atencion perfecta, el desayuno delicioso. Ubicado en un lugar donde puedes disfrutar de la tranquilidad de la naturaleza pero muy cerca y accesible a las playas y al centro. Altamente recomendable

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Location! at Rio Gaia Inn (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

3.6 reviewed on August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights, we choose this bed and breakfast because of the location we rather Ipanema better that the otter beaches at Rio de Janeiro, The location it's just great, 3 block from the beach a block away from the subway and bus stop's and the General Osorio's PLaza werw ever Sunday happened the local hippie fair and ond thursdays the local products markets wich is a great way to know a lot of fruits. The only tiny issue is that we couldnt meet our host (Theresa) but she was very attend on our emails. I don't recommend this place if you don't like dogs cause Ginja is quit friendly but it take a while to get along.

View more reviews for this inn


Hilda will make you feel Rio as your home at Rio Lodge Inn (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2012

Dear traveller, Me and my fiancée stayed one week in Hilda's B&B in the end of July 2012. What can we say? Except that Hilda welcomed us so generously and so nicely. She is always carefull and attentive to your comfort. His place is spacefull, well-situated (transports are very accessible), nice and vey clean. Her breakfast is probably the best in town if you are found of exotic fruits, maracuja juice, cheese, delictessen meat and good humor. In one sentence, what ever you are loking for, you will find it at Hilda's place. Bom viajem por Rio, a cidade maravilhosa! Ciao!

View more reviews for this inn


Unforgettable experience at Santa Teresa Guest House (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2012

From the first moment i saw the area where the house is i understood how lucky i was. The view from the window is extraordinary, very close to Gloria metro maximum 10 min walking, very beautiful and safe location. I was warmly hosted by Ann for all my long stay in Rio during 1 month. I never felt like a stranger in her house. She was my guide in every moment i needed help. If u don't speak portuguese that's the host u need! Her native English is not commonly found in Rio. I highly recommend this great place for those who are looking for comfort, security and real feel of Rio. By all means I am going to come back here next vacation. Alexander from Russia.

View more reviews for this inn


Great hospitality at sonia's (rio de janeiro, Brazil)

4.8 reviewed on July 07, 2012

The location is great, the place is clean, but best of all Sonia is a great hostess!!! She is very friendly and communicative and always willing to help. I recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Being happy in Rio :) at Guest room for rent (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2012

Luis is a very helpful, friendly and hospitable guy. He welcomed us and made ¿¿us feel at home! The apartment is very nice and tastefully furnished. It is located in a convenient location to visit Rio. The bedroom is pretty, with air conditioning and a PC connected to internet; the bathroom is sideway to the room and is very comfortable and spacious. Luis' breakfast is excellent and we also could use the kitchen. So, what to say more? We recommend!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}