Bristol House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining5.0

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

The Perfect Place

5 on March 04, 2014

My wife and I spent the first weekend of March 2014 in Bristol, RI and stayed at Bristol House. We had a lot of plans going here and there but the best was just coming back and relaxing at the house. The Harbor Room was spacious, clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfortable! Almost did not want to get up! Kathleen cooks up a really nice breakfast. Different each day! And she is such a cheerful person you just want to talk to about the town! Indeed we will be back!


We'll be back

5 on September 25, 2013

Attended a wedding at the Linden Place just a couple of miles away. The Bristol House was a convenient short drive away. Beautiful home on a quiet street. Comfortable bedroom. Kathleen was an fantastic hostess. She served a gourmet breakfast that was excellent. My wife and I will definitely be back. Thanks you Kathleen. Greg and Gail


Feels like home, only better

5 on August 13, 2013

We just returned home from our second stay at Bristol House B&B and we could not have been more pleased! This time we brought our 17 year old daughter who was equally thrilled with Kathleen's home away from home. Not to mention she loved Kathleen! All three bedrooms have high quality linens, modern, up to date decor, and plenty of privacy. The main part of the home is quiet and incredibly comfortable with new furnishings. And the breakfast is outstanding!!!


Bristol House exceeded our expectations!

5 on August 09, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bristol House B&B while in town for a wedding. Kathleen thought of every little detail - she had little stuffed animal surprises on our daughters' beds at night and coloring books and crayons waiting for them at breakfast. She arranged for a babysitter for us and even had "helpers" (9 and 10 year old neighbors) come over during the morning to play with our kids while we got ready for the day. The inn, itself, is comfortable and clean and the breakfast was amazing! Kathleen was so accomodating and friendly. Some of the earlier reviews below noted that there are not private bathrooms...she's done some renovations because at least two of the rooms do have private, en suite bathrooms. The Bristol House Bed and Breakfast exceeded our expectations!


Home away from home

4.8 on April 29, 2013

Bristol Bed & Breakfast was our home away home on our most recent vacation. We were impressed by the quiet location, the beautiful home, attention to detail, and an amazing Inn keeper. A bed and breakfast is nothing without a great Inn keeper and Kathleen does an amazing job making you feel like your at home. From the fresh baked cookies, to the delicious breakfast, to the personal recommendation she would make, we really felt welcome. The room was wonderful and extremely clean and neat. Although the Inn is outside Newport, the drive is quite nice, and Bristol is a great city. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone.


Best B & B in New England

5 on March 26, 2013

The Bristol house is by far and a way one of the best kept secrets in the area. Kathleen, the innkeeper, has a keen eye for detail ranging from warm breakfast plates to goodies inside the bathrobe pockets. Add to this newly renovated bathroom suites and you have a wonderful experience at a remarkable value. Visit this gem and you will not be disappointed.


A Lovely Respite . . .

4.4 on August 31, 2012

Kathleen was a gracious hostess and an excellent cook of a delicious brekfast. Bristol House is a warm, welcoming home in a lovely neighborhood of a charming town. Our room was large, comfortable, with many amenities, including turn-down service and mints on the pillows! The only drawback for us was that the "private bath" was not connected to the room, but instead a few steps down the hall, something not made clear on the website or in our phone conversation, and my husband and I feel it should have been. Winter plans for construction to remedy that are on the calendar, so at that point, we'd stay there again. We felt very at-home at the Bristol House!


SImply Fabulous Experience!

5 on July 10, 2012

Amazing attention to detail, absolutely perfect accommodation, scrumptious breakfasts, great location, extremely convenient to nearby historical sites and to Newport. Innkeeper very kind and a truly special person.


Very nice place to stay.

5 on May 15, 2012

I liked everything about Bristol House. The location was great, the breakfast fare was outstanding, the home was well appointed and quiet. I was especially impressed with Kathleen's flexibility with breakfast time and with rescheduling my stay. Many B&B's will not allow you to reschedule without taking a fee. Inkeeper Kathleen's easygoing attitude and ability to work with me were the most important reasons why I would stay here again.


Wonderful experience - highly recommend

5 on April 16, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bristol House and had a wonderful experience. I am not really a B&B type of girl, but we purchased a Living Social deal and after staying at the Bristol House, I am now a fan :-). The bedding was amazing as was the bed, the house was immaculate, the Innkeeper was a delight and her food was sinful. She went out of her way to make our stay perfect (even driving us to town) and all of her little touches and amenities were noticed and greatly appreciated. The town is cute and close to Newport, which was nice. I suggest booking the room with a private bathroom. We dined at DeWolf Tavern and found it to be superb. I wish only the best for Kathleen and the Bristol House.. she has big plans for the future that include many renovations and I look forward to watching it grow. She knows what she is doing!


April 2012

4.8 on April 09, 2012

We fell in love with Bristol, RI. A quiet, idlytic town. Downtown is full of quaint little shops. The Narrangansett Bay is memorizing. We loved our stay at the Bristol House BnB. Kathleen, our host, made sure we did not want for anything. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens beautiful. We had spa robes and slippers waiting for our use. Throughout the house were snacks, and coffee was available all day long. The breakfasts surpassed most BnB fares. We had a choice of juices. We started off with fresh fruit and then has an entree. One day we had yeast Belgain Waffles with sausage and the next an egg and spinach tart with maplewood bacon. Kathleen has aweseome culinary and hosting skills. Highly recommend!


A great experience awaits you at Bristol House...

5 on April 04, 2012

A great experience awaits you when you choose Bristol House. Kathleen has the perfect personality for an innkeeper. Gourmet cook she is so your breakfasts’ will be sumptuous and every morning you are greeted with a new and different feast. The Breakfast Room is surrounded on three sides by glass allowing you to take in the garden and any wildlife that just might serenade you while you sip on fresh squeezed orange juice. One of the specialties is homemade granola, if you happen to be there when she is baking it, you’ll have a hard time waiting until breakfast. But you don’t have to wait because you can purchase it to nibble on or take home. The house itself is beautifully decorated with lovely paintings and antiques. The gourmet kitchen will leave you envious. All rooms are immaculate. Your every need/want has been considered. Beds are very comfy. The living room is spacious and inviting. Music, videos and games for all ages are provided if you can’t find anything on the mired channels of the cable. And to finish off your evening are homemade truffles. Delicious. Need a recommendation for dinner; a massage; where to shop-Kathleen’s home is Bristol so she will direct you to many good places and she has provided some discounts at local merchants. So we highly recommend Bristol House. We enjoyed our stay and know that you will too. Dr. Fred and Mrs. Maidment, Connecticut


Stay here if you can!

4.8 on November 26, 2011

This is a wonderful, luxurious, and comfortable place to spend a weekend or more. Kathleen (the owner) makes sure that everything is impeccably clean and she has tons of small details (scented candles, decorations, cookies for tea, etc) that put this B&B a step above the rest. Most of all, the linens are amazing! The bed was VERY comfortable and the robes and towels were truly a delight to use. It was hard to get out of bed in the morning, but the delicious breakfast made it worth it! If ever I am in Bristol again I will make sure to stay here again!


Perfect Romantic Getaway for Two

5 on November 20, 2011

This beautiful Cape Cod style B&B provided the perfect romantic getaway! Our room and the entire bed and breakfast are decorated stunningly in beautiful blues and greens that accompany the seaside town of Bristol's charm perfectly. The duvet on our bed made us feel like we were sleeping under a cloud, and the comfy robes and slippers included in our room were a cozy way to unwind in the evening. Conveniently located, the B&B is less than 1/2 mile to the Narragansett Bay and East Bay Bike Path, where you can rent bikes and kayaks; only 1 1/2 miles from quaint downtown Bristol; 25 minutes from Newport Vineyards; and 30 minutes from downtown Newport. The best for last: our innkeeper and chef, Kathleen. Kathleen, provided the perfect addition to this beautiful seaside town and our stay. Friendly and welcoming, she immediately made us feel comfortable and at home. Her three course gourmet breakfast was a fabulous way to start the morning. Plan on eating a late lunch or an early dinner because with her breakfast starting you off, you will not need three full meals. During our stay, we had fresh juice, delicious strong coffee, succulent puff pastry with fresh fruit, the most delicious waffles we have ever eaten with crispy maple bacon, fresh fruit, and Vermont maple syrup, homemade granola, and fabulous pumpkin bread pudding with pecans. I cannot wait to return for another weekend getaway! Thanks Kathleen!


Bristol House is an excellent choice

4.0 on October 12, 2011

Located on a quiet residential street just outside of Bristol, this gem is actually a converted and expanded cape with three guest suites. The rooms are immaculate, the decoration is charming, and your host Kathy is the most accommodating hotelier we've ever met. The many extras, such as a three course gourmet breakfast and other amenities too numerous to mention, make Bristol House an excellent value for the money!


A highlight of our trip

5 on August 20, 2011

The innkeeper runs a spectacular place with tremendous hospitality, and really puts the "breakfast" back in Bed & Breakfast. I am recommending Bristol House to all my friends.


Absolute perfection--stay here and you will be on cloud 9

4.8 on June 28, 2011

Staying at this B&B was one of the most relaxing and, really, perfect experiences I have ever had. Came here for a wedding and spent the weekend enjoying all of the luxuries of this B&B. The host, Kathleen, is beyond gracious and has thought of every last detail you could imagine--from games, to DVDs, to snacks, to lots of toiletries, and other amenities. The home is absolutely gorgeous, tastefully decorated, and serene. The backyard is a great place to sit and relax. The living room is very welcoming and Kathleen really makes you feel like you are at home. The breakfasts are absolutely out of this world. I'm really into food, so I appreciated that when I got there Friday evening, she had the breakfast menus for Saturday and Sunday out on the dining table. I was so excited for the breakfasts--Saturday was her amazing homemade granola & yogurt, cantaloupe and mint, chicken sausage, and a bananas foster Belgian waffle with warm local maple syrup. We also got coffee, tea, and a choice of juices. AMAZING!!!! Sunday breakfast was her "sparkling fruit," which was a mimosa of sorts with fruit and mint followed by lobster eggs benedict. It was the freshest, most delicious lobster and my friends and I were absolutely in AWE! In the afternoons, Kathleen puts out a plate of the most delicious cookies I have ever tasted in my life--it's her secret family recipe and I'm so jealous that I can't have it--and water with mint and citrus fruit! At night, she turns down the beds and leaves chocolates on the pillows. The details in the place--from the robes and slippers, to the luxurious beds and towels, to the carefully prepared food--are just amazing. Other friends from the wedding opted to stay in a nearby "inn" and they were all jealous when they saw our place and wished they had gotten a room here! Friends kept commenting that the wedding should have been here (really would be a great place for a wedding! If I weren't married, I would have my wedding here)!


Such a gem!

4.4 on May 17, 2011

We stayed at the Bristol House Bed & Breakfast this past weekend. What a great place! Bristol is so cute with great dining, boutique shops and beautiful ocean views. The Bristol House is about one mile from town in a great spot. So relaxing and just a perfect New England getaway! Very clean, beautiful rooms with luxurious linens. Got it all! The breakfasts were second to none!!! Just can't beat the homemade cookies, too. We will definately be back to enjoy this quiet and relaxing B&B again.


This is a 5 STAR B&B

5 on May 15, 2011

This B&B is wonderful. The Innkeeper is friendly, welcoming and a great pastry chef! I stayed with my husband and 3 year old, who at the end of our stay did not want to leave. The place is beautiful, relaxing decor and super clean. It has a great location and the breakfast is to die for! If you have a large group, get all 3 rooms.


Hidden Jewel in Bristol, R.I.

5 on May 14, 2011

The owner and inkeeper is the best host you will find in the region. She has put her heart and passion into this place! Her breakfasts beat any at the Ritz, with plenty of distinct flavors and textures. Her menu varies by season and includes local ingredients. Her sightseeing tips were very helpful and made our stay memorable. I highly recommend Bristol House for those who want a quiet stay near Bristol.


Bristol House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $249
  • Reviews (20) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4013969066
  • Toll free 1-8882997226

Visit Website »

View details

Top