Inns on Bellevue Reviews

Overall
3.7

View details

  • Guest room3.5
  • Service3.8
  • Value3.7
  • Cleanliness3.9
  • Dining3.7

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

We Enjoyed our Stay in the Manor

4.4 on July 28, 2014

Our room in the manor was lovely. The inn is in a perfect location for exploring downtown Newport.


A Lovely Mid-Week Stay

4.0 on July 23, 2014

On a whim, we decided to spend a few days mid-week in Newport, and were pleasantly surprised by the availability, hospitality and location of the Inns. We were graciously allowed to check in early (and thus could leave our car in the facility's lot, allowing for a downtown stroll without dealing with additional temporary parking), the room was comfortable and spotless, and breakfast was a fair variety of hot/cold fare. It might be advantageous to get into some sort of "working partnership" with the wine shop adjacent, so that guests might be informed about this like the Tuesday tasting classes, etc., but all in all, we felt welcomed, well attended, and cared for. We'll certainly stay again!


Weekend Getaway

3.6 on July 04, 2014

Beautiful room - walking distance to the main area in Newport. Get to ride bikes to beach! Breakfast not so good! Very disappointed with that - expected better!


Best B&B EVER !!!!!!

4.8 on July 02, 2014

Lest start with Location Location Location!!!!! 3 blocks from all the action in the Port , shops restaurants beautiful marina walks, really close to the mansions like 6 blocks away, and super close to the beach. What a surprise our room was like a studio very privet only one other room next to us , with a beautiful patio right out of our door, the best part DOG FRIENDLY !!! Our little Lulu she felt welcome from min 1. We park our SUV right next to our little studio and almost not use it at all that's how close from everything we was. Breakfast was really good , every body was super nice and friendly , Gino, Katherine , really nice people ! We can't wait to come back The Mazzonis


.

3.4 on June 23, 2014

Tiny, but comfortable and clean.


Great location

3.8 on September 08, 2013

Great location, rooms not so much and breakfast very good. Probably wont stay here again.


19 August 2013 et seq

3.8 on August 25, 2013

Very peaceful ; welcoming desk : helpful ; exceptionally good breakfast : very good value overall for Newport in highest season


Nice weekend

3.2 on May 24, 2013

We stayed in the main building on the 2nd floor. Nice, clean room, jaccuzzi tub was nice. Great location, short walk to just about anywhere you'd want to go in Newport, save the mansions/cliff walk. Wasn't blown away, but wasn't disappointed either.


Charming room in a great location.

3.8 on October 19, 2012

The one negative about the Bellevue house is that it is loud and conversations of others guests, in their rooms become public conversations. The breakfast was wonderful.


Nice Stay!

3.6 on August 29, 2012

Had a nice stay at Inns on Bellevue! Room was nice size and had everything you need! The a/c was great after a long hot day. Breakfast was simple and good nothing too fancy. Location was excellent as well! All in all it was an enjoyable stay.


Brinley Victorian

3.8 on August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Brinley Victorian, one of the three "Inns on Bellevue." It is actually about 3 blocks away and not on Bellevue. This was an advantage in that it was quieter. The room was well-equipped, but undistinguished. The Jacuzzi was a nice plus. The inn has a lovely garden courtyard which was cool even on a very warm day. The breakfast was excellent and varied, but was served at the Inn on Bellevue, which required a walk. The hosts were not particularly helpful about restaurant or sightseeing recommendations. No menu file and the brochures were all for commercial tours, etc. Parking was tight, but this is understandable given the urban location


Cozy B&B in beautiful Newport

3.6 on July 05, 2012

Room was good size and quiet. Window air conditioner just barely adequate for room size. Otherwise the room met my expectations. The front sitting room was very pleasant. The breakfast was beyond the normal continental and very good. Location is excellent as it is a few blocks off of the main drag (Thames street) and very convenient.


New Year's Getaway

5 on June 26, 2012

Stayed here for New Year's this year and had a wonderful time. The Inns on Bellevue were fantastic; free parking, clean room, comfortable furnishings, amazingly delicious breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location to major Newport attractions. Will definitely stay here again!


Very cute, lovelly place to spend a week-end

3.6 on May 31, 2012

Everything was very good, the staff very kind. The breakfast was AWESOME ! Just one thing : the bathroom was small and the sink in the room was a little bit blocked. But we really had a great time in this B&B (especially at the breakfast) and the location is good too.


Great room, but lacking in the classic B&B experience

4.0 on April 17, 2012

We got a queen jacuzzi room in Bellevue Manor. It was wonderful!! The jacuzzi very comfortably fit my husband and me and it was right in the bedroom. The room was clean and spacious enough, although the lighting was poor (especially in the bathroom). The room itself was definitely the BEST part of the stay! Breakfast was somewhat lacking - there was very little variety and the quality was only so-so. I found myself wanting to go over to Newport Creamery for breakfast, but we ate at the inn since it was already paid for. As a part of the package deal that we bought we got a packed lunch one of the days we were there so we could do a walking tour of Newport and have a little picnic. Expecting a sandwich and maybe some chips or something, we were sorely disappointed when we looked in the bag only to find some cheese crackers, cookies, and a bottle of water. I was truly shocked!! It was not what I would call a lunch. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Inn, but I'm not sure we'd return - with so many B&B's in Newport I'm confident that we could find one with better service and hospitality.


My stay at the Inns at Bellevue

4.0 on November 04, 2011

We unfortunately picked the weekend of the October blizzard to stay in Newport. However Paul was very helpful when we arrived and even let us check in early.


Great Location, Great Value

3.6 on August 22, 2011

This place was in a great location. About a 5-10 minute walk from the harbor, and the same from the tennis hall of fame. Also very walkable to the closer mansions. If you're looking for more of a hike, can walk most of Bellevue Ave. Breakfast was fine, the location was really nice (on a porch). Room was a bit small with the only window full of an air conditioner, but definitely comfortable. Overall a great value for the price!


Great hotel

3.2 on August 01, 2011

this is a great place to explore newport. the breakfast was great, don't miss it. The bathroom wasn't what I expected and there were some hair in the bath tub. But over all I liked this old place a lot.


We love The Inn on Bellevue

3.8 on July 31, 2011

We have stayed here numerous times and it is a great deal. The Inn is in a wonderful location, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff is very welcoming. My only complaint would be that the breakfast needs to have a little more variety.


Great accommodations

4.0 on July 30, 2011

The location was very convenient for both downtown and the beach. We were very happy with this place and would definitely stay there again!


Misrepresentation

1.4 on June 29, 2011

DO NOT RECOMMEND. We stayed in the Bellvue House on the third floor. Someone keyed into our room at 11:30pm. Once he realized there was someone inside, he apologized and left. The front desk said someone probably had checked in late and had been given the wrong key, but all we got was "I'm sorry about that." The room looked NOTHING like the rooms on the website. I wish I had taken pictures. At best this was a $65 hotel room. The floor in the room was extremely uneven and sloping (as in the floor was separated from the baseboard by 1in in one corner). There was no phone in the room. The shower was tiny and the grout was not exactly clean. The bathroom mirror was cracked. No vanity area. The pictures were screwed to the wall, as was the headboard. The sheets were very basic hotel room sheets. Only two pillows. The bedspread was a cheap quilt that had seen better days. The desk was beat up looking. Bleach spots on the rug. It was at least clean, but was so shabby, it didn't feel that way. Please note, no elevator and very steep Victorian steps. Not a problem for us, but probably for some. The breakfast was fine. Overripe fruit, overcooked frittata but not inedible.


Cute B&B in a cute town

4.0 on April 04, 2011

We stayed at the Inns on Bellevue in late March, which is very much the 'off season' in Newport, so many things were shut and there weren't many people around. Thus we were the only people staying in the B&B at that time. We stayed in the older building (there are two) and found it met all our needs - clean, warm, cosy, with comfy beds (although a little too soft for my liking). I imagine when the building is full it would be a little noisy, as an old building it creaks and groans with footsteps and if the streets were full of tourist traffic the street noise would be greater, but at this time of year it was really peaceful and lovely. Newport is a nice place too!


Great B&B!

4.6 on November 01, 2010

My boyfriend and I just spent a night at the Inn on Bellevue and truly enjoyed our stay. The Inn is situated in a great location on Bellevue Ave. and has a cozy, rustic charm to it. Our room was spacious and clean and, except for a blind in the bathroom which didn't shut completely, was the perfect place to stay. (We had so many pillows, it was like sleeping on a cloud!) Breakfast in the morning was full of choices, including choices made on-the-spot by the in-house cook. The B&B isn't cheap, but it's very reasonably priced for Newport--particularly in the off season.


B & B

1.8 on October 29, 2010

Room lacked heat one night and was extremely overheated the next. Basic amenities lacking (bottled water, drinking glasses).


Photos are very misleading.

3.0 on October 12, 2010

The room we got was not at all like the posted photos, but other than that everything was great.


would stay again

3.4 on September 27, 2010

These ratings are would be "excellent" if that were an option. I tend to have high expectations. Very nice hot breakfast made to order. The price was reasonable for the location/time of year (not great) Service was great. It is a bit of a hike from down town (walking "home" up hill can take a while)


Another Great Weekend in Newport

5 on September 25, 2010

We've stayed at the Inns on Bellevue several times and each time, the room has been clean, the staff extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast delicious. Within walking distance of everything Newport has to offer, this is a must stay.


Perfect!!

4.0 on September 19, 2010

Great location - super comfortable - tasty breakfast, too!


Overall good value and good option

3.4 on September 13, 2010

Breakfast was pretty goof for a b&b. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and well kept. If I could recommend one upgrade, I would beg them to change out the bed we slept in as it was too small, too firm, and creeked when moving.


Lovely stay

4.8 on September 04, 2010

I had a lovely stay. The location is perfect! And they upgraded me for free because they had the space. Breakfast was delicious.


It's just okay...

2.6 on August 30, 2010

Overall it was fine for the weekend, but the beds were very old and a little too firm. The bed frame was also very loud. It was an old wood one that made a lot of noise just re-adjusting in bed. Also, when we booked, we were not told that the bathroom was not connected to the room and was in fact across the hall. It was private, but I still had to go through a public hallway to get there...No good seating in the room or in our building either. The common room was a little creepy and the chairs in our room were old and small. On a brighter note, some good things were the location, the area, and the breakfast dining. The breakfast itself was nothing special, but the seating was nice, and you could eat either in the restaurant/hotel, or on the porch of the Inn, which was nice. It was a short walk down the hill to the ocean, and the shops. The area you are in was also nice and quiet, so noise was not a problem.


Loud and crowded

2.8 on August 23, 2010

Excellent location and decent room but we were in one of the rooms facing the street and being next to the porch and elevator was extremely noisey. Morning breakfast was good, but entirely too crowded and slow. The women making breakfast did a fine job, but they had to walk back and forth to the other location to get coffee, etc. which slowed everything down. There were not enough tables at which to eat and one table should have been place else where because it blocked traffic flow through the buffet line. Guest should be asked not to linger to improve this a bit. One couple who were eating the same time as us were still at the same table drinking coffee and chatting when after we had eaten breakfast and gone walking for almost an hour.


Newport Get Away

3.6 on August 15, 2010

Great location. Walking distance to most everything. The staff was friendly. The breakfasts were average. Whirlpool tub was in the middle of the room which was a little awkward. I would stay there again.


Coming back next year

4.0 on August 08, 2010

We stayed at the Inn last weekend and had a very good experience. We booked our room online, but on check-in we were offered to upgrade from back House to the Manor building. So for 20 more bucks we got to stay right on Bellevue Ave and enjoy a beautiful front porch. And the room was very nice, clean and updated. I think we found what we need for a summer weekend getaway.


Enjoyed the Inn

4.8 on July 28, 2010

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Inn. This was a last minute trip and most of the inns within my price range were booked. I was so happy with the inn. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly and informative(a good place for a casual seafood lunch is Flo's Crab Shack across from Easton's beach). We expected a continental breakfast and was very surprised with homemade quiche, waffles,pancakes, french toast, fresh fruit cup and the regular breakfast foods. The location was great just 2 long blocks from the stores and wharf(the parking is very limited in this area) we walked it at least twice a day. Looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.


July 2010

3.8 on July 10, 2010

We stayed in the Manor building. Room was big and comfortable for two people. Building was very clean, I would reccommend and stay here again.


Loved the Inn on Bellevue

5 on June 16, 2010

My husband and I decided to try this place for a quick weekend getaway. We immediately fell in love with everything about this Inn. We were greated by the friendly owners Gino and Tanya, who showed us to our fabulous room at Bellevue manor. I fell in love with the Victorian decor throughout the Inns. The rooms are spotless with all the amenities, blow dryers and irons. The porch at the Inn became our favorite spot to have coffee and people watch. Parking was included which is huge in newport. We walked everywhere including the beach. The free breakfast in the morning made by Tanya herself was fabulous. This Inn exceeded my expectations due to the cleanliness of the rooms, the friendly family owned staff and the fabulous LOCATION!! We will be back..Thanks!!!


Great Place! Great People!

5 on May 19, 2009

My boyfriend and our friends stayed here on our first visit to Newport. We had such a wonderful stay that we extended our trip. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a charming and relaxed stay in Newport. We walked everywhere we wanted to go from the Inn and we were always greeted with smiles upon our return. The hostesses were so lovely! We will definitely be back! Kelly and Gez- NYC


exellent accomodations and service

5 on April 05, 2009

After searching for A nice Inn for Valentines weekend, i found the Inn on Bellevue and from the first time i spoke with the Innkeeper to my arrival and stay everything was perfect. The room was really nice, had a marble bathroom;we had champagne chocolate strawberry's and fresh flowers on the day of the 14...and the breakfast in the morning was great . The rate..the quality..the location and the service were outstanding..more than i ever could imagine!!!....Its the best place, overall, in Newport!!!


Great Weekend Getaway

3.6 on December 04, 2008

Staff was very helpful and fun to talk to. Parking right behind the B&B was a big plus as Newport has limited parking. Only point of concern was that there was no dresser to store clothes, so we ended up living out of our suitcase.


What a hidden gem!

3.4 on November 07, 2008

The service we received was more than welcoming. The location of the Inn was the perfect distance to all Newport has to offer.


Boat Show getaway

4.2 on September 14, 2008

09-13-08 My husband and I went to Newport for a boat show getaway. We did noy havs a reservation anywhere, we planned on winging it. We were advised to check out your Inn, and we are glad we did.From the time we saw several rooms to pick from and the curteous and ever so friendly front desk staff, the breakfast and the beautiful suite we had a dream weekend. We thank you all so much.Not a complaint from us. Plymouth,Mass...


an unexpected pleasure

4.0 on July 03, 2008

Rooms were comfortable, staff was terrific and breakfast was amazing! We felt like we were staying with family. Location was great too. We would certainly go back again!


not recommended.

1.6 on April 25, 2008

When we had reserved our room on Bedandbreakfast.com, we were told we would have a king size bed with a jacuzzi. However, when we arrived, we were put into a tiny room, that must have been 100 degrees with a queen size bed and tiny shower. We were not happy, but when our door did not lock, we had to switch rooms. We were put into a room that was not even finished being renovated. We had no shower curtain in the bathroom, no towel racks, and the bed was not made. We opted for that room though simply because the door locked.


A Great Time!

5 on March 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn on Bellevue and we had a nice time. The staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious. We stayed in one of the Victorian rooms which was very nice. The innkeeper was nice enough to give us a telephone number to call if we had problems overnight. He even asked us if he could make a dinner reservation for us! They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We will make it a point to visit again. We were close to everything and it was nice walking everywhere.


great Inn..

4.4 on August 31, 2007

Nice Inn,walking distance to downtown,rooms were clean,and the inn has an italian/european style..all in a victoriam charme setting.... The owner was really helpfull has the other people that worked there..the breakfast was more than expected..and was a really relaxing and pleasent experience...perfect location..really clean..


Convinient,location,great service, clean, friendly

5 on August 31, 2007

Location,location,location...when you add friendly staff clean rooms great breakfast...youy cant ask more for the convinient pricce..when we arrived the owner offered as a nice italian coffe..the Inn has an european decor..and with 3 guest house next to each other they showed us different room and offered us an upgrade to a nice jacuzzy room.. i must say me and my fiancee will return to the inn when ever we go to Newport....a must stay Inn!!!


Disaster Area

1.0 on July 18, 2007

I am afraid that the Inn on Bellevue was something more that just a disappointment. Unfortunately there was no water running to the bath and the hot water tap for the shower was quite simply not attached to the water pipes. As such we were not able to shower in our room. We mentioned this to the owners who said they would have it fixed. On returning it looking as if it had been. Whilst showering the water turned so hot that the left hand side of my body was scolded and when I went to turn the tap it quickly became evident that it was still not attached - made manifest by simply falling off. Burnt and somewhat upset that neither me or my girlfriend had been able to shower in our own room during a hot wedding weekend I went to speak to the owners about whether it would be possible to get it fixed, switch rooms, any other ideas they might have to make our stay any easier. I was quite simply told by the owner that I was ruinng his evening and that I should go away. I am afraid that not having running water in a room in this day and age is not acceptable. To then be told to go away because I was ruining the managers evening by letting him know what was wrong is beyond the pail. He was rude and agressive and the whole stay with these guys tainted what would otherwise have been a magical time - not least after having travelled across the Atlantic for it. On the return leg from the wedding there were 6 other guests of the inn in the minibus all of whom also complained about not having water, the mess and the poor service from Gino. Just so that there is no confusion the hotel is owned by 2 brothers and it was the elder of the two who was the nightmare. The younger was very charming and helpful but I am afraid they have no idea how to run a hotel / Inn.


Would not stay again..

1.2 on February 22, 2007

The Inn on Bellevue was horrible. Had we known before we would have went to the Marriot. The room was ok, Jacuzzi was nice and hot. The bathroom was not clean when we got there. The trash was full and a straw stayed on the floor the whole time we were there. the lobby is locked after 8:30 so you are pretty much confined to your room unless you go out. other people were rude when we tried to sit out in the sitting room they wanted us to leave. There was actually no dining in the Inn. No breakfast to speak of either. When we went to check out around 10am on a Monday, the lobby was locked again so we just left the keys in the room. I would say there was pretty much no service.

Innkeeper Response
These 2 couples were here for the Newport Winter Festival. They checked in Fri. & weren’t seen again until Sat. after dinner. The maid did the stay-overs & still no complaints about cleaning. I asked how everything was when I saw them & they said fine except guests in the next room complained to them that they were making too much noise late in the hallway sitting area & asked them to stop. I agreed that 11 PM was late & stayed a little later that night to accommodate. So the “rude” “other people” in the review were other guests who were complaining about these guests disturbing them! And, yes, what the review says about the lobby hours is true. It’s advertised we’re not open late in winter & tell guests to leave their keys in their rooms if they’re checking out on a weekday. We haven’t had any problem with others. Most folks come here off-season for quiet & don’t want much interaction with us anyway! Whoever has overnight phone duty is only half a block away & if we are needed we are glad to come back to the inn. From May through October one of us is here often from 7 to 2 am so the winter is the time for us to rest. As for dining, if these guests had booked thru Bed&breakfast.com, they would have seen our profile under “Meals” which doesn’t claim that we have dining other than Breakfast. These guests were clearly expecting a Marriott & not an inn & probably would have been more comfortable at a full service hotel. What they say about our breakfast is simply not true! They say “a picture is worth a thousand words,” so I want to thank these guests because their review inspired me to make a collage of pictures of our Continental Breakfasts! We certainly cannot satisfy needs that are not expressed as well as needs that infringe on the rights of our other guests or are just not practical for our business. It is regrettable that these guests didn’t say how they truly felt to have given us the opportunity to better serve them.


Inns on Bellevue

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $239
  • Reviews (49) 3.7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4018486242
  • Fax 1-4018482460

Visit Website »

View details

Top