Historic Hill Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

A welcome atmosphere with helpful hosts

5 on November 16, 2014

I enjoyed my stay.


Newport Weekend

4.2 on August 23, 2014

Our rooms were not the nicest but it was important for us to be on the first floor.The host and hostess could not be more friendly or accommodating. The interior of the house is beautiful, everything you would expect of an 1800's house. The location was ideal mid-way between town and Bellevue Avenue all within walking distance. Parking on the house grounds was a plus.


Great value, excellent service

5 on August 30, 2013

It's beautiful, but I value their service even more. Richard and Donna provide attentive, detailed service, helping us with our bags, making sure everything was to our satisfaction, and they had helpful info on where to eat and shop, where the best bargains were, where the best food is. Thanks to them, we had 4 days of bliss in Newport, starting of course with a delicious breakfast. Yes, it's Continental, but that term doesn't do it justice. They serve a variety of juices, pastries, muffins and breads, along with good coffee and tea if you wish, in a lively atmosphere. Morning banter with guests and hosts provided a great start to the day, along with tips on where to visit. At the end of the day, our queen bed was sublimely comfortable and gave us a good night's sleep, preparing us for the next day. Thanks Richard and Donna! We will stay here again.


Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

5 on July 19, 2013

This was just the place we wanted for our 20th anniversary getaway. The innkeepers Richard and Donna were so helpful and kind. The home was beautifully kept, cozy, and very welcoming. We truly felt like we were invited into their treasured home. The breakfast was delicious, and they were such nice people. Before arriving and during our stay they guided us on the best places to dine, sites to see, and things to do. We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to returning.


Review of Historic Hill Inn

5 on December 05, 2011

Our stay at Historic Hill Inn was amazing. The Inn is colorful and very charming. The proprietors Donna & Richard were very nice and knowledgeable about Newport.


Our New England journey in RI

4.2 on September 15, 2011

Nicely restored home within walking distance to downtown Newport and restaurants. Host was very helpful with maps and directions to local attractions.


Location and Kindness

4.6 on May 16, 2011

Great location in Newport, and could not have nicer innkeepers. Helpful in many ways. Clean, cozy, comfortable. You wont be disappointed if you visit this great spot.


Really, really enjoyed our visit!

4.8 on December 02, 2010

A year has passed since we stayed with Richard and Donna and I have been remiss in not posting a review. Richard and Donna went out of there way to make us feel at home. They were super helpful in every way--guiding us to favorite restaurants and sites to see while in Newport. The room was really great--comfortable and spotless. Historic Hill Inn is in a perfect location-- in a quiet, historic, neighborhood but within walking distance of the downtown area. We had only planned to stay one night, but once there decided to stay two because we had such a nice visit. We would love to go back to Newport again and will make every effort to stay with Richard and Donna. Thank you so much for everything that you did to make our stay truly wonderful.


A Wonderful Experience

5 on July 26, 2010

My family and I had the most wonderful stay at the lovely Historic Hill Inn. Donna and Richard were truly exceptional innkeepers, who went above and beyond to make sure our accomodations were outstanding. The apartment suited our needs, with 2 bedrooms, a living room, 2 bathrooms, and a kitchenette. There was more than enough room for our family of 5. Donna and Richard provided us with useful information that entertained everyone in the family. The continental breakfast offered us numerous choices, and the location was in walking distance to many restaurants and shops. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Historic Hill Inn. Hats off to Donna and Richard for their wonderful hospitality.


A Fabulous Place to Stay

5 on July 26, 2010

I can't say enough about this wonderful inn situated in downtown Newport. My husband and I were so impressed with everything from the room to the extreme helpfulness of the inkeepers Donna and Richard. Our room was impecable, tastefully decorated, warm, and comfortable. We were able to walk to many key attractions on Thames Street and Bellvieu Ave. In comparison to other Inns in the area, this one was very reasonablly priced. We can't wait to revisit in the future.


Great stay!

3.8 on July 15, 2010

This inn is centrally located and includes parking; we were able to leave our car and walk almost everywhere. Our room was exceptionally clean and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. However, the very best part of this experience was the friendliness of the hosts, Donna and Richard who went out of their way to make everyone feel at home, even when guests were chatting at the table beyond the posted breakfast hours. We will definitely go back!


Great Stay

4.0 on December 02, 2009

Two of the nicest people I have met in a while. We were met at the door and the good service continued until we left. Donna was especially helpful with points of interest and dinner locations. We plan to revisit soon.


Look elsewhere

1.6 on August 25, 2009

This place was definitely NOT what you would expect from a B&B. Though the room was called a Queen room, the bed was only a full size, not queen and was ready to collapse any minute. The room was so tiny that the small TV had to be on a shelve that was 1 foot from the headboard of the bed...The shower faucet produced only either too cold or too hot water temperatures so it was impossible to take a comfortable shower. As for breakfast, don't expect any cooked eggs or anything cooked, for that matter. It was strictly continental style. The tiny room came out to about $160 including tax on the "discounted" rate. You should save your money and use it elsewhere if you are looking for a good B&B experience!!

Innkeeper Response
As proud Inkeepers,any justifiable negative review is regretful.Thanks for the opportunity to address the falsehoods presented by this reviewer. Let's start with the facts,not hyperbole.The average size bedroom is 10x10ft.The room in question is 9x12ft.Hardly "tiny".The bed is a Queen,not a" Double".It's 60x80in with an upscale Sealy mattress.The bath is 8x 8 ft with an oversized 34in tub/shower combo.The heat/hot water system is newly installed,state of the art equipment & works flawlessly.It's a lovely,standard sized guestroom,average to above average for a Newport B & B,most of which have smaller Colonial rooms.Deluxe Continental breakfast is served buffet style with options & choices too numerous to mention.The guest in question spent over an hour enjoying it & chatting with the other guests. The problem never was with the room,but with the guests themselves.With all due respect & not meaning to sound insensitive,they were physically oversized for the room.The gentleman was at least the size of a Major League linebacker & his companion was equally large.The option (for a small additional fee) to upgade to a very large Deluxe King was always available.The King rooms are 15ft x18ft,much more appropriate for larger people,or those who prefer more space.Instead of incurring the additional expense,they tried instead to get a "free" upgrade by making a false claim about a hot/cold water issue.This occurred late evening after having spent most of the day in the room.Immedately upon hearing the complaint,it was checked out in front of them & proven that nothing was wrong.There was plenty of hot & cold water.Had there been a valid uncorrectible issue,we would have moved them poste haste. What this whole issue boils down to is "sour grapes" over their failure to scam a "free" upgrade.Whereas we are in the business of pleasing our customers and keeping them happy,we will not allow ourselves to be taken advantage of.It's simply not right,nor fair.We hope you agree.


Most Memorable and Satisfying Stay

4.2 on July 27, 2009

I wanted to take the time to comment on my recent stay at Historic Hill Inn. I don't usually do this, but I truly think it is well deserving. My husband and I recently stayed at this inn and we wanted to truly spread the word to anyone looking to stay at an inn in Newport, RI. This inn is run by two very outstanding inn keepers, Donna and Richard, who go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. They were the most hospitable two people I have ever come across. They made sure we were well informed about the town, how to save money, where to get the best food at a very affordable price. You can tell they take great pride in satisfying their guests, which is something every traveler wants to encounter while on vacation. This inn is in a great location and even has it's own parking, which not too many inns have in Newport. We could walk everywhere and not worry about taking the car and where to park. Their prices are very competitive with the rest, we did our homework before booking and glad we did. The cleanliness of this inn was truly amazing, you could eat off the floor and I mean it! I didn't hear about or see not one unhappy guest staying here. This is an inn I would truly recommend without reservation to anyone wanting to visit Newport, RI and be treated like you were one of their own. Most memorable vacation for us in a very long time.


birthday fun in Newport

4.4 on April 18, 2007

Every fall my husband and I travel with another couple to celebrate birthdays. We decided to stay in Newport and were looking for an inn that would accomodate two couples in a suite or apartment. The Historic Hill Inn had just the perfect setup. An attached addition to the main house had a two bedroom apartment with a small kitchenette and living room. It suited us just fine. The inn is also only about 4 blocks from the busy business area of the harbor so we walked to many of the shops, restaurants and waterfront sites. We had a great time visiting the Breakers and the Tennis Hall of Fame, which is just a short drive away. The Cliff Walk is not to be missed. The innkeepers were very friendly and provided us with great information about finding everything in Newport.We would definitely stay there again while in Newport.


Historic Hill Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $399
  • Reviews (15) 4.4
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4018493416

Visit Website »

View details

Top