Fair Street Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
50 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Get a way. Well worth it

4.4 on August 30, 2013

We showed up early with another couple that was not even checking in and they allowed us to park both cars and said go visit the area and come back when we want to check in. This B&B is close to everything, so you can walk all over easily and I have a bad ankle. No bar or dinner but not needed since everything is a house or two away. They do serve you a super breakfast. Don't miss out, check it out! Dave and Priscilla Y


Best location ever!

4.4 on August 18, 2013

Great little place, location was awesome and parking was even better.


Friendly and Accommodating

4.8 on August 11, 2013

After making my reservation I discovered that I would need to ship my suitcase and Denise was so willing to receive my package and care for it until my arrival. Then my daughter and I wanted some photos of the two of us and she graciously took those. On our second morning, my daughter needed to leave by 7 am - an hour before breakfast was supposed to be served. Connie and Denise got up early and made sure she had the chance to eat a nourishing breakfast before reporting for Naval duty. Everyone was super friendly and the other guests were delightful - which I also believe is partially a reflection of the atmosphere created by the owner. Thanks for a terrific experience. Marsha


Great location and nice inn.

4.6 on September 17, 2012

This is a great inn in a perfect location, walk to everything and thethe breakfasts were excellent. The innkeepers are very helpful and pleasant. Would definitely return.


There is nothing that isn't wonderful about this place!

5 on August 19, 2012

We LOVED the beautiful gardens and charming atmosphere in this B&B. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the food was amazing, the location is absolutely ideal, and the rooms were fabulous. If you're staying anywhere, stay here.


A Great Deal and a Central Location

4.4 on April 17, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in Newport. They were extremely helpful with things to do and places to go and the breakfasts were great. Easy to find and walkable to the harbor and restaurants, as well as trolley stops. We also got a great deal in the off-season, so that made it even better. Great all around.


enjoyed our stay

4.2 on August 30, 2011

Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The inkeepers were knowledgeable about the area and provided several very good recommendations with regard to dining choices. Breakfast was fairly ordinary and maybe a bit below what my wife and I expected from a B&B, but it was suitable nonetheless.


B&B Stay

5 on August 27, 2011

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The innkeepers were very helpful and always gave us good advice . It was our first time in the area and our first time staying at a B&B. We will definitely return!!


Very cute and clean B&B

4.0 on June 06, 2011

Our room at the Fair Street Guest House far exceeded my expectations. It was very clean, very cute and spacious. The breakfast was great and the innkeepers were very warm and welcoming. The only draw back was the noise in the morning, but I guess being right smack dab in the middle of town it was to be expected. I would definitely stay at Fair Street again.


WEEKEND AWAY

4.8 on April 22, 2011

The hospitality and customer service at this B&B was wonderful. The room was very nice in a very warm setting and breakfast serviced was excellent as well. Overall a great choice and reasonably priced.


Great Location, great service , great bed and breakfast

4.4 on April 17, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and clean, the hosts were wonderful, great location and a great breakfast. We can't wait to come back.


Excellent

4.4 on April 15, 2011

This b&b is located in the heart of Newport. Very conveinent. The home is beautiful and the rooms are a nice size. Most of all, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Highly recommended! We'll be going back!


Memorial Day Weekend 2010 - Our Wedding!

5 on April 05, 2011

My wife and I chose the Fair Street Guest House for ourselves and our entire wedding party; we were not disappointed. Denise and Wayne are the friendliest of hosts and went out of their way to assist us every way possible. From organizing room assignments to arranging gourmet breakfasts, we were impressed at every turn. May I also mention they have an unbeatable location within walking distance of anything you might want to do in Newport proper. Do not hesitate to stay here for any occasion!


New Year's Day Eve Overnight

3.4 on January 07, 2011

Simple, plain but clean, servicable and relatively inexpensive..and located right in town. Breakfast was nice. Fit the bill.


Home Away From Home!

5 on November 12, 2010

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay.Denise and Wayne were perfect hosts.The breakfast was delicious and our room was very clean and cozy.The location is perfect because it is close to the shopping,harbor,and excellent restaurants.We will definitely stay there again!Joanne & Brianne


review of Fair Street Inn

3.2 on September 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay and the inn keepers were friendly and helpful. The stairs were a bit steep and the reservations did not state that the room would be upstairs. This would be helpful for older guests.


Best Choice you can make in Newport

4.2 on August 10, 2010

I stayed here July 24 - 26. Denise and Wayne are awesome. We had family and friends come by to visit and it was like having our own house in the heart of Newport. The grounds are beautiful, the houses ( especially the main house) are elegant and well maintained. The location is key. My husband and I will be back for our anniversary!


Wonderful 25th Wedding Anniversary!!

4.4 on August 04, 2010

My husband & I loved the location - 2 buildings away from all the shops and restaurants Newport, RI has to offer while still having a breathtakingly beautiful backyard to sit in that feels like you are secluded from all the hustle and bustle. The Innkeepers were attentive to any needs we may have, they were very helpful in recommending places to dine...and breakfast was amazing both mornings we were there!! A very charming place to stay, we plan on returning some day with our children.


I always stay here!

5 on July 04, 2010

Whether in town for a regatta or with my wife, this is the best place to stay in Downtown Newport. Denise and Wayne are always great hosts that keep the rooms and grounds in great shape. The other guests that we have met have always been a joy to spend time with. I have stayed at other B&B’s in downtown and Fair Street seems to be the best value for the money.


Fair Street Guest House

4.0 on July 02, 2010

We stayed at the Fair Street Guest House on June 26. The room we stayed in was very clean and roomy and the owners were very accommodative. The breakfast was very good too. The best part about this place is the price and location. It's hard to beat. We will definitely be back again provided they are not booked up for the rest of the summer.


A Wonderful Stay

5 on October 08, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Fair Street Guest Houses. The room was roomy and nicely done. The main house is done in Victorian style with many knick knacks and antiques. The breakfast was excellent. The location can't be beat. We walked to everything. We will be back.


Fair Street Guest House: DON'T STAY THERE

4.0 on October 02, 2009

For $70 plus per night, you can stay in a dank basement. The staff is unfriendly and unprofessional in their correspondence. Dishes are not washed, fresh towels are not provided, beds are not made, and the atmosphere is truly depressing. It is simply not worth the negligible savings to stay at the Fair Street Guest House. Do yourself a favor, and make arrangements elsewhere.

Innkeeper Response
Midway in the season of 09, during this difficult economicn time, we put together the, "hostel/shared room", ideal for the person traveling alone or on a tight budget. The hostel has been popular in Europe for decades. The rate is $65 per twin bed. This person wanted the B&B experience at the hostel price. In a hostel you pick up after yourself. Most travelers have been thrilled with the value, for a clean, comfortable, & safe space in downtown NPT, for a mere $65, the best deal in town.


Highly recommend this place!

4.4 on September 11, 2009

I had never stayed at a B&B and was a little skeptical. This place was great. Location was spectacular, rooms were comfortable and clean. Service was amazing as was the breakfast!!! This will be the only place I stay in Newport from now on.


Fair Street Guest House

3.0 on August 19, 2009

Very nice inn, very centrally located to town of Newport and what it had to offer.


Perfect Place to Stay

4.0 on August 18, 2009

This was my first time staying at a B&B. The innkeepers were friendly, but definitely not overbearing (which I was afraid of). Our room had everything we needed, and breakfast was good, too. In addition to the inside of Fair Street B&B, it has great gardens outside and is in a great location for exploring Newport without having to get in the car- Everything was within walking distance. My fiance and I would definitely return!


Great Newport Accommodations

4.0 on August 15, 2009

This B&B is a gem. Innkeepers are friendly & very hospitable. Rooms are charming & inn is immaculate. Excellent location, great value. Gardens lovely. Breakfast very good.


Nice place

4.0 on August 11, 2009

Very warm and friendly stay at fairstreetguest house. The location was awesome!!!! close to everything right near all the action downtown.


Pretty good

2.8 on July 20, 2009

Great location. Nice room. Clean. Breakfast left much to be desired.


The Best B&B

4.0 on July 11, 2009

WHat a great place! we stayed in mid june . The rooms where great! the food was great! and the service was even better! like coming home. Can't recommend it enough. and what a great location to downtown newport Dave & Anna


Great value & good location

4.2 on July 05, 2009

The place is very cute & great location. The owners were very friendly and service was great. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was very good.


Great Location!

3.4 on June 26, 2009

Wayne and Denise are fun inn-keepers! The breakfast they prepare is fabulous! The inn is in a perfect location to walk anywhere you want to in downtown Newport.


Park your car and enjoy Newport

4.6 on June 25, 2009

The location is perfect for anyone that wants to walk all around the downtown area and enjoy what Newport has to offer. We have stayed there for several years in the fall during the Newport boat show. The inn keepers make you feel right at home and they have the inside scoop on all the best places to dine. Wayne's breakfast are the best way to start the day. We highly recommend staying here whenever you visit Newport.


Warm and cozy Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 25, 2009

If you want a lovely Victorian setting, near all the restaurants, shopping and tour attractions, this is the bed and breakfast to stay in. Our hosts put on a fabulous breakfast and make you feel like you are in your own home. I would give this B&B a 10+


1St B&B Stay-Perfect

5 on April 23, 2009

This was our 1st stay at a B&B and we could not have been more pleased. Denise & Wayne made us feel at home and were also very helpful in guiding us to restaurants and activities. The room was beautiful and clean and the breakfast was perfect. What a great location as well. We will definatley go back!!


outstanding

5 on March 11, 2009

Excellent everything!! Perfect rooms, incredible service, great location!


Great Location

4.0 on March 02, 2009

I stayed at the Inn for my bachelorette party, and it was exactly what I was looking for. The breakfast was great, place was clean, location was prime, and no one bothered us! I would definitely recommend staying here to my friends and family, and I would even go back with my husband!


Great inn, great price, great location

4.2 on February 23, 2009

I have spent a lot of time in Newport and this was the first time staying at an inn. It was comfortable, clean, and the owners were very friendly. You can't the location, close to everything. The home-cooked breakfast was great! I would definitely stay here again. Would recommend to others!


clean, well decorated

4.4 on February 20, 2009

Delicious breakfast and very hospitable innkeepers!


Great Place, outstanding service, and welcoming atmosphere!

5 on November 11, 2008

The Fair Street Guest House is in a great location and has wonderful and clean rooms. It is very welcoming and the breakfast is awesome. Would recommend it to anyone traveling to Newport.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on October 18, 2008

The Fair Street Guest Houses not only offered the most amazing location in Newport, but an incredible experience for a decent price. Parking, in an otherwise crowded city, was ample, the rooms were spacious and very unique, and the innkeepers were more than helpful. I truly would recommend this B&B to everyone.


Great Choice

4.0 on October 01, 2008

First time at a B&B and enjoyed our stay. Room very comfortable. Great location to shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay at this guest house again.


nice b&b

4.6 on August 17, 2008

If you are looking for a B&B with great location and close to every thing this is it. Nice clean rooms and the breakfasts were fantastic. Our only drawback is that it was a little to noiesy at night since you are off the main strip but overall it's a nice B&B


Outstanding B&B

4.2 on July 25, 2008

The Innkeepers were friendly and very informative of the Newport area. The rooms were clean and you can't beat the price for the area. You are in walking distance to most attractions. I would definitely recommend this B&B to my friends, family & co-workers.


Quaint and Quiet

3.4 on June 25, 2008

Pleasant rooms with warm atmosphere and all within walking distance of downtown without the noise.


quaint b&b near the action

4.4 on May 31, 2008

when you want a b&b in newport, you need to decide if you want to be w/in walking distance to the shops & restaurants or not. this place is one block off thames and would definately stay there again. there are alot of "luxury" (i.e. pricey) b&b's in newport. this place had normal size rooms, normal size bathrooms, very clean, and a great breakfast.


Relaxation

5 on April 30, 2008

I find fairstreet guesthouse so relaxing and my stay was wonderful. The location is the best and most of all the breakfast is awesome. Denise and Wayne are the best innkeepers and very helpful with making your stay comfortable.


Best B&B in Newport RI

5 on April 29, 2008

The innkeepers are very friendly. Fun family environment!! Great location to walk everywhere!!


Superb quiet and comfort

4.2 on April 28, 2008

It felt like our new found home away from home...we'll be back before the year ends. There was a definate attention to detail....throughout.


Nice Night in NewPort

4.8 on April 28, 2008

Everything was fabulous great room, compelling conversation and tasty breakfast


Our best experience in Newport to date

4.4 on April 28, 2008

the location, the easiness of parking on-site, and the full breakfast were an advantage we hadn't experienced before in newport....we'll be back !!


Fair Street Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $225
  • Reviews (50) 4.4
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6178038672
  • Phone 1-5088788323

Visit Website »

View details

Top