Cooney Cottage Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Great vacation at Cooney Cottage!

5 on August 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Cooney Cottage for four days in August and, from the moment we parked into its driveway, we felt at home. The Bermuda room was beach style decorated and it felt very cozy and welcoming. It was comfortable, clean, with plenty of sunlight from three windows and also very spacious to accommodate our Boxer’s crate. Breakfast was served every morning from 8 to 9 and muffins, bagels and brioches on the living room table were always fresh. The location is great: it is just a short walking distance from Easton’s beach (First Beach), the Cliff Walk and Downtown Newport. We and our dog had a great time and we will definitely go back there!


BEST B&B EVER!

5 on August 22, 2014

Cooney Cottage was so relaxing, I felt like I was at home I The rooms was beachy, bright, and spotless. The continental breakfast was far more than I expected & the muffins were obviously made from scratch.The Innkeeper was friendly and helpful & I love that the Inn is pet friendly.


Best vacation ever in Newport, RI !!

5 on August 15, 2014

Innkeeper was very accommodating and personable. She was also very knowledgeable about area beaches, shopping and local sites. I'll definitely return to Cooney Cottage!


Quaint and close to everything

4.2 on August 11, 2014

Our family occupied both rooms in this clean, pleasant cape cod style B&B. The bathroom was between the two bedrooms. The decor was updated and a light, airy beachy theme. Rachel was accessible and a gracious host. She always appeared on cue to check if we needed anything during breakfast. Breakfast itself was lots of carbs, muffins from a boxed mix,bagels, English muffins, cereal, instant oatmeal.Egg dish was a small quiche ( very small). Fresh fruit was cantaloupe. We would stay here again. 2 blocks from the cliff walk and close to the wharf.


Love Cooney Cottage

5 on August 06, 2014

We recently stayed at Cooney Cottage for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The rooms were nice and clean and airy. We slept so well. Breakfast was lovely and beautifully set for us every morning. The innkeeper was gracious and helpful, but sensitive to give us plenty of space. We felt like it was our home away from home. We especially liked how quiet the area is though it's only a 15 minute walk to the docks. My wife and I certainly look forward to coming back next year.


Love Cooney Cottage!

5 on July 31, 2014

My fiancé and I rented a room at Cooney Cottage and LOVED it. Our room was so charming. It was much more spacious than other Bed & Breakfast's that I've used in Newport. The whole space was clean and lovely, service was immaculate, and the continental breakfast felt like a treat (Were those muffins home made? Delicious!). Thank you Cooney Cottage!!


Great location! Cozy and inviting!

4.6 on July 24, 2014

I always stay here because you can't beat the price and location! It's all anyone needs in a B&B.


A great weekend getaway

4.8 on July 16, 2014

The cottage was perfect for me and three friends. We Had the place to ourselves and all the privacy we wanted. Breakfast was always good. Our hostess Rachel was super helpful with advice, suggestions and directions. It's a great place to stay if you like the beach, which is only two blocks away. It is also only a short walk to the town center shops and restaurants. We all had a blast and would happily go back if we had the chance.


Great Location

4.2 on May 22, 2014

The location couldn't be more perfect. It was a great place for me and my daughter.


Cooney

3.0 on October 28, 2013

Rooms were fine,the sofa needs to be replaced


Great spot, glad we found it

3.6 on October 23, 2013

Great spot - Found it by looking for inns that we take dogs. Hostess was great, place is very clean, close to downtown and beach and cliff walk. Will stay again for sure.


Dog Friendly B&B

3.8 on September 03, 2013

This is a great locataion, and Rachel (the owner) was delightful. We will use this again. (You have to share a bathroom with other guests which may not work for everyone.) I would recommend this place to anyone wishing to see Newport, has a dog and wants to be walking distance from many attractions.


Cooney Cottage--a great value

4.2 on August 30, 2013

Cooney Cottage is VERY affordable and conveniently located within walking distance to shopping, dining, and beaches, making it a perfect value for people who aren't looking to spend more than $200 a night for a place to sleep. The accomodations were cozy, the breakfast was prompt and filling enough to hold us over to lunch, and the owner, Rachel, very gracious. It's like staying at your aunt's house, without the obligatory chats about what you're now doing with your life. Very lovely; highly recommended to those on a budget who are still wanting a clean, comfortable, and accomodating place to stay. Bonus: she provides a microwave/mini fridge/wine opener and glasses, as well as a binder full of menus for great local restaurants!


D&D

4.0 on August 26, 2013

The Cooney Cottage was a great for the cost. We were within walking distance to the Cliff Walk and the mansions. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious.


AWESOME

5 on August 09, 2013

I was looking everywhere for a room for 5 nights for 3 ladies coming from overseas in July, and couldn't find anything under $400/night, but then I happen to find Cooney Cottage. It was such a blessing to find this place. Very reasonable, homey & clean. The ladies told me it was like coming "home" to go back there every night. Rachael was very very nice and took care of them well despite their language gap. They were 100% satisfied with their stay. Definitely make reservations again with the Cooney Cottage! Thank you!


Great place!

5 on August 06, 2013

Our host was wonderful and her little home is so charming. Best of all, the location is so great...you can easily walk to everything: the Cliff walk, town, and the beach. Loved it and will definitely stay again!


Wedding weekend

5 on July 31, 2013

My husband, aunt, mother-in-law, and I all drove up to Newport for a family wedding. The recommended hotels were completely out of our price range, so I went scouring the internet for a better deal. Cooney Cottage was it! The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, breakfast was delicious, and we were only a short walk to the beach and Cliff Walk. If we venture up this way again, I would definitely book Cooney Cottage.


Wounderful value!

5 on July 29, 2013

Cooney Cottage is THE place to stay! Comfortable, clean and near all that Newport has to offer. Super breakfast with a touch of class. GREAT value.


Great value near the Cliff Walk

3.6 on July 25, 2013

The rooms are modest but comfortable. Who goes to Newport to stay in their hotel room ? A perfect location to go to the beach or enjoy the Cliffwalk. You can easily walk anywhere in town. The shared bath was only a minor inconvenience and for a nightly rate of less than $150 you can't beat it. We hope to be back in the near future.


Lovely Gem

5 on June 22, 2013

Cooney Cottage is clean, bright, and comfortable. Smells nice, well kept, and lovely hostess. I would recommend this B&B to anyone, as long as its still free for my return. I have stayed here three times and could not be more happy. In addition to how wonderful the accommodations and the hostess is this B&B has prime LOCATION! Wow its located right next to the famous cliff walk along all the historic mansions. I enjoyed this walk every morning. My husband and I also walked to the little downtown for dinner and drinks each night. Being from California I am amazed by the beauty of this town and know I could never afford this prime location of a B&B where I am from. I am telling you, for the price, accommodations, hostess, and location there is NOTHING better. I look forward to my next east cost trip. Thank you Rachel


Wonderful location and innkeeper

5 on June 18, 2013

Staying at the Cooney Cottage is very relaxing and steps away from Cliff Walk. Good pricing too! Will be back!


I'm going back here!

5 on June 16, 2013

When my husband and I go on vacation, location and price are what we initially look for. Cooney cottage is perfect for these two factors alone! During our stay, we could conveniently walk a few steps to Cliff Walk & First beach, we walked to downtown for great meals, shopping and beautiful sunsets on the water. Not to mention, being able to walk home after visiting the local pubs is a huge plus! :) Cooney Cottage was extremely adorable and we felt like we received more than our money's worth. The owner Rachel is attentive, but gives you your space. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and we felt very taken care of. We will return!


Perfect option!

5 on June 13, 2013

This was my second time staying at Cooney Cottage and both times I've been nothing but satisfied. I got a late invite to a wedding in downtown Newport and the only hotel options I had were incredibly expensive. So I called Rachel to see if a room was available and she was incredibly accommodating. Got a great rate, everything worked out perfectly and I was less than a mile from the wedding! Don't know where else I would've found such a convenient and affordable option.


Comfortable & convenient

3.0 on June 09, 2013

Nice B&N....centrally located, pleasant hostess. I would certainly book again while visiting Newport


Great Innkeeper, Hospitality and Location

4.4 on May 21, 2013

My husband and I got married at Easton's Beach last summer and were looking for a place to stay close by. I found Cooney Cottage and booked our room for five nights. We had a wonderful experience, Rachel was great!! The bedroom was spacious, clean and homey (just what I was looking for). The breakfast was great (self serve and perfect to get our day going). The back deck and yard are gorgeous, I even had some of my wedding pictures taken there!! It's just a short walk to the cliff walk as well as Easton's Beach (which saved us money on parking!). If you are looking for a small and quaint Bed and Breakfast with spectacular service, this is the place!!


Great time in Newport

4.0 on October 11, 2012

Great location. Literally steps away from the cliff walk entrance. Owner was very nice.


A wonderful home away from home in an excellent location

4.6 on September 23, 2012

A beautiful house and great bed. Rachel was so accomodating to our schedule and because of a separate entrance, the illusion that you are in your own place. You are steps away from the Cliff Walk.


Great place and a great deal

5 on September 03, 2012

Took a weekend away to celebrate the end of summer. The cottage was within walking distance of both the Cliff Walk and the beach (a beach that we intend to visit again in the future with our children) and only a short drive or bike ride from downtown Newport. Breakfast both mornings were fabulous, the host was very friendly and helpful, and we would love to stay here again. Thank you so much!


newport getaway

4.6 on July 22, 2012

wonderful host, great location- walk to everything,large comfortable rooms, would highly recommend


Wonderful stay!

5 on July 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Newport this weekend! The cottage is in the perfect location, short walking distance to the beach and to Thame street where all the shops and restaurants are located. The room is clean and comfortable. The owner Rachel is very pleasant and helpful. Definitely will stay at the Cooney Cottage for our future visits to Newport!


Outstanding Property, fantastic location

4.2 on June 28, 2012

Lovely spot, extremely clean. I booked because of our dog and didn't have very high expectations. Boy were we surprised. Meticulously clean, choice location, easy off road parking,private backyard and deck. Just lovely. We go to Newport often and this will be our new spot with our puppy.


Would return!

3.6 on June 22, 2012

Great location. Steps from Cliff walk and beach. Parked car and walked everywhere. Lovely garden and backyard. Relaxing atmosphere. Well pleased.


Great Place to Stay!

4.8 on October 19, 2011

This B n B is small, clean, and cozy..and pet friendly! It's a great location--right up the hill from Easton Beach and a 15-20 min walk into downtown Newport. Rachel Cooney, the Inn Keeper, was incredibly accommodating, allowing us to check out late after our road race and providing a "doggie bag" with supplies for our pup. She also gave us our space and the inn quarters provided a lot of privacy. There are 2 large bedrooms with a shared bathroom upstairs, so this is great for a family, 2 couples, or a group of 3-4 friends looking for a weekend getaway.


Cute and affordable newport getaway

3.2 on August 24, 2011

Quaint cottage in walking distance to everything! We were able to walk downtown one day and then the beach the next day! The breakfast was continental but only offered between 8-9, which is far too early to wake up on a weekend getaway. Nice large and clean rooms.


Value and location

4.6 on August 19, 2011

For those that enjoy a quaint and simple B&B, Cooney Cottage is an excellent choice. Rachel does a wonderful job and at a fair price. The house is only a minute's walk from the entrance to the Cliff Walk. The walk to downtown is about 15 minutes, which means the cottage is relatively quiet. We plan to visit again.


Rhode Island

3.4 on August 08, 2011

Cottage is within walking distance to Easton Beach where there are musical groups performing on Tuesday evening and to the Cliff Walk. Cottage is quiet and peaceful. Innkeeper very pleasant and accommodating.


Casita Cooney Cottage.

3.0 on August 04, 2011

Bonita casa de campo, muy cercana a la playa. Recomiendo alquilar un coche o una bicicleta. Buen trato con Rachel. Muy puntual para los desayunos y seriedad total. Todo se ajusta a la descripción.


Recommended

4.0 on July 27, 2011

Can't beat the price in Newport. Good location and comfy accommodations.


Great Location, No frills!

3.4 on July 20, 2011

If you are looking for a B & B experience without the cost of a fancy smancy place and the perfect location to walk to 1st beach, the Cliff Walk, Bellvue and the Wharf then this is the place to be. The rooms are clean and Mrs. Cooney is always willing to help out in any way. Very accomodating! This place is all about location! I spent the $th of July there with my wife and 4 month old and even with all the kids stuff we walked everywhere. I didnt use my car until we left to drive back to the New Londodn ferry.


Great deal for a mid-week summer getaway

4.6 on July 18, 2011

We went Wednesday to Friday and the place was very nice and clean. We were fortunate enough that the 2nd room was not rented out to anyone so we didn't have to share the main bathroom. If we did, it would have been a little inconvenient. A easy walk to the beach, an a nice walk into town. The owner Rachel was very pleasant and accommodating. Didn't even know she was there. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast....


Cute B & B, excellent location.

3.8 on April 18, 2011

4/16/11 Location is excellent, very easy to find. 2 mins to beach, cliff walk, walking distance to mansions, downtown Newport, 5 mins. Rooms spacious and clean. Breakfast very nice. Innkeeper friendly and helpful, welcomed pets. would I stay again: Yes!


Great little place!

4.4 on September 03, 2010

Lovely place a minute from the CLiff Walk. The innkeeper was super accomodating and friendly. Rooms are spacious for Newport and very clean and even smelled good! Thanks for a super stay!


Fabulous Cooney Cottage

5 on August 05, 2010

Located in a perfect spot, Cooney Cottage affords you a quiet setting very near the Cliff Walk and busy downtown Newport. Cooney Cottage's homey atmosphere and large comfortable rooms provide a relaxing repose while you do the many, many activities in Newport. We love the bike riding. The Cottage owner is so sweet and has many suggestions for wonderful dining during your stay.


Steps to the Beach

4.6 on May 31, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Cooney Cottage with my young son. The location was perfect for walks to the beach as well as the Cliff Walk. I found the host to be very helpful and went out of her way to ensure our stay was perfect. I will return on my next trip to Newport.


Cooney Cottage

4.8 on May 31, 2010

Cooney Cottage is the best kept secret in Newport. It is a two minute walk to Cliff Walk and a ten minute walk into town. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The innkeeper is available and gracious. You won't find more bang for your buck anywhere in Newport.


B&B Near Cliff Walk

5 on May 31, 2010

The Cooney Cottage was a perfect location for staying in Newport as it is a short walk to the Cliff Walk and the Beach for a great price. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The innkeeper gave us privacy as we had both upstairs bedrooms and the parlor and backyard to relax. A nice continental breakfast was served every morning. We will be back this fall.


Cute little place

2.6 on November 16, 2009

Stayed off season at Cooney Cottage. Rooms were perfect, clean and homey. If you are the type of person who looks for privacy and limited interaction with your Innkeeper this is the place for you. I prefer to have a little interaction, and a warm atmosphere during my stay. B&B's are usually known for their breakfasts, Cooney Cottage provides a very basic "do it yourself" buffet. Cleanliness and location are a plus.


August stay at Cooney Cottage

4.2 on September 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were big and the backyard and deck were perfect for enjoying the weather. The location was great as well, just steps from the beach and Cliff Walk.


Wow!

5 on August 11, 2007

Perfectly situated in Newport, this inn is a genuine find. We give it a five star recommendation.


Cooney Cottage

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 401-8499114
  • Mobile 401-3384806

Visit Website »

View details

Top