Artful Lodger Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
165 Reviews

Write A Review

The Breakfast is Key at The Artful Dodger

3.8 on July 02, 2014

We stayed the last weekend in June in Newport for 2 nights (attending a polo match nearby with friends). I did not want to drop $300/night, and got a nice mid-level room on the ground floor for $200/night + taxes at Artful Lodger. Not fancy, but nice enough with a king bed. The highlight of this B&B is the top floor breakfast room with spectacular views (we also hung there for sunset one evening with sweeping views of the port and town below). The breakfast was OUTSTANDING both days, prepared by Randy, one of the Inn Keepers. Lisa, his wife, manages the B&B, and was amazingly helpful with ideas and anything frankly we needed (we needed space in the fridge/freezer as we brought picnic food for the polo match :), and they gave us a late check out (knowing the room was not to be occupied that evening anyway) which allowed us to take our bike ride and shower afterwards, and still enjoy the rest of the day. I would highly recommend this place for people that don't want to go broke in high season with exorbitantly priced hotels/B&Bs, and who love a great breakfast in the morning with fabulous views.


Quaint, cozy, personable...and delicious!

3.8 on June 25, 2014

A pleasure...all around. Thank you, again.


Birthday getaway

4.8 on June 11, 2014

Artful Lodger is a lovely bed and breakfast in a great location. It has easy access to historic mansions and the shops and restaurants on Thames St. Our room was well decorated as was the rest of the house and was very clean. The breakfast room had a gorgeous view and the breakfasts were outstanding.


Beautiful short stay

5 on May 22, 2014

Had a beautiful short trip to Newport, and a lot of it thanks to the great housing we had at the Artful Lodger. The room was clean and exactly as pictured, and breakfast was beyond our expectations. Thanks to the friendly hosts!


Outstanding stay.

5 on May 20, 2014

Had a great 2 night stay. Room was beautiful with plenty of space to relax and enjoy. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. Could not have asked for more. Thank you for a great vacation.


Charming B+B

4.6 on May 18, 2014

Lovely Bed + Breakfast in a great location in Newport. Mansions, shopping, and dinning all within walking distance. Delicious food and outstanding hosts. Will definitely stay again.


WOW!!! Just WOW!!!!

5 on May 14, 2014

Love this place! We were celebrating our 20th wedding Anniversary and chose this B&B after days of research on the internet. Randy met us right at the back door when we arrived and took us straight to our room. The room was beautiful with king size bed, whirlpool tub, make up table, a good size bathroom with shower, TV and gass fire place. Our breakfasts were OUTSTANDING! Lisa his wife was so helpful for places to have dinner. Things to do and see and have great directions on getting to those places. I'm pretty sure we did about 90% on what she suggested. Some people would think it was weird to have your breakfast on the third floor but the view from up there was so beautiful. So coming back here with our best friends to enjoy another great weekend probably in September after Labor Day or maybe next May before Memorial Day since that's the best times to visit Newport without the crowds.


Loved it!

5 on May 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I, and two other couples spent a weekend here recently. Loved it. We stayed in Grace's Room. It was clean and the king bed was comfortable. The inn is quirky in an 1850s way, and has a great view of the harbor. The breakfasts here are awesome, made to order and super tasty. Innkeepers Randy and Lisa were very friendly and down to earth, offered tips for dinners and sightseeing, and even hung out and took part in a spirited game night on night #2. Lisa even offered to pick us up when we were out and it looked like rain. The inn is one block from lower Thames St, and ten minute walk to the mansions. Great location. We've found our place to stay in Newport.


Artful Lodger

4.6 on January 15, 2014

Our stay at the Artful Lodger was outstanding. The breakfasts were unique and exceptional in taste, and the innkeepers were wonderful people. We took full use of the hot tub and gas fireplace in our room.


Accommodating and Friendly

4.8 on December 17, 2013

Great stay. Very comfortable room and bed. Nice decor throughout the inn. Inn Keepers are very personable. Will definitely return to the Artful Lodger.


Delightful Stay

3.8 on December 06, 2013

Room was unique and charming. Breakfasts were delicious and service was exceptional. We were provided some very interesting recommendations on dining and sightseeing. We will be back for the Wine and Food Festival.


Great Getaway

5 on December 04, 2013

Excellent b&b. Innkeepers Lisa and Randy are fantastic. They bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your stay. Breakfasts were incredible. Can't wait to go back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, and we look forward to your return! Its really been a pleasure to meet so many nice people.


Amazing!!!

5 on November 27, 2013

First of all, the location was perfect-walking distance to Bellevue Ave and downtown. The innkeepers were also very friendly and welcoming. They offered us a free room upgrade, and suggested many activities we could do on our stay. The food was incredible-we were offered many choices, and they were all great. I would highly recommend this Inn!! Whenever I visit Newport in the future, I will definitely be staying at the Artful Lodger. It was a wonderful experience!


A Great Place to Stay

4.6 on November 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I came here for a little mini getaway and we were delightfully surprised! Neither of us have ever been to a bed and breakfast and we wanted to give it a shot so there really is nothing for us to compare this against. We were welcomed cordially and immediately settled into our room that was very nice and comfortable and an extremely short distance to the both the mansions and the main street shops! We had a great time and will definitely be recommending this place to other people!


Great place for a great price

5 on November 13, 2013

Being my first time at a bed and breakfast, I was thoroughly impressed with my experience. The inn keepers were so nice, and were phenomenal at what they did. It was their first week their and I was in complete shock because they seemed so comfortable with what they were doing. The breakfasts were amazing, especially the pancakes, I ate everything on the plate. The hospitality was top notch, and I will be staying here again the next time I am in Newport. Great location, a block off of Thames St, where all the restaurants and shops are. Also within walking distance to some of the magnificent mansions in Newport. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area for a nice get away.


Warm and hospitable

4.4 on October 13, 2013

The innkeepers could not be more delightful and happy to share their local knowledge. They made us feel like guests in their home. The breakfasts were outstanding, and were accompanied by great conversations. The location is terrific, near to everything and with off street parking, very convenient. We really enjoyed our stay.


Fabulous Hosts - Delicious Breakfast - Lovely Location

4.8 on October 07, 2013

The Artful Lodger has the most entertaining and talented hosts in Mike and Leiza we have ever encountered through all our B&B stays. The bed is fabulous - the rooms nicely appointed and the breakfast are outstanding. The view from the dining are is exceptional. Great location in Newport as well. It was a fabulous, romantic weekend!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so happy when we reach our goal of creating a memorable experience for our guests!


Sept 2013 Boat Show Weekend

3.8 on September 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly, very accomidating and knew the area well. We are looking forward to the next trip!!!


Our 1st time in Newport was perfect!

5 on September 19, 2013

We has a great stay and really enjoyed ourselves! It's location is perfect and we were able to walk everywhere. Lieza made a delicious breakfast every morning and made us feel like family. We will definitely be back! Ann & Michael Mott


A very pleasant holiday in Cape Cod

4.0 on September 02, 2013

It was a very nice place to stay, with very good food and every confort we needed.


Great B & B Choice in Newport

3.2 on August 22, 2013

Rooms were great, hostess was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was delicious. Would have liked cold cereal, yogurt etc,.. before the "main course."

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. Interestingly we have, not only, cereal, granola & yogurt, but also fresh fruit, pastries, bagels & cream cheese along with coffee, tea & OJ always available before our "main course." We apologize if this was not brought to your attention.


So relaxing!

5 on August 21, 2013

This was our first time away without our children and it couldn't have been nicer! We were welcomed by Lieza, who showed us around and reminded us several times that we should let her know if we needed anything. Breakfast each morning was delicious and what made that even nicer was how Lieza and Michael talked with us and helped us get the most out of our stay. We had such a great time and would not hesitate to stay at the Artful Lodger Inn again!


Very enjoyable

3.8 on August 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Enough to stay a second night Leeza was very accommodating and made a special meal for us to address my partners dietary needs. Great time great inn


Nice B&B; helpful and congenial hosts.

4.2 on August 19, 2013

Nice B&B; helpful and congenial hosts.


Lovely

4.8 on August 19, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. The place is great, the rooms perfect and cosy. The inn is walking distance to downdown, which is great because the traffic in Newport is pretty maddening. Mike and Liza are wonderful hosts, and breakfast was a highlight of each day. They were also able to provide us with recommendations of things to do, places to eat, and so forth. We were very lucky to have their guidance. Highly recommended, would lodge again!


Best weekend ever!

4.0 on August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Artful Lodger for one night. WE HAD AN AMAZING WEEKWND....room was quaint nd bed was really comfortabke. The breakfast the following day was delish. ...Lieza and Mike were such nice people. We really enjoyed chatting with them and the othet couples we met there. The location of the inn was perfect as we were anle to walk downtown and not worry about parking..we definitely will be back!!


8/11/13

4.6 on August 12, 2013

Just the perfect place. Park the car and everything is within walking distance. Newport is one of the nicest places we have ever been to. Must visits are the Castle Hill for brunch and the cliff walk. Mike and Lieza are awesome hosts who made us feel like family. Can't wait to come back. Jim and Nancy F.


Lovely little gem in historic Newport

4.4 on August 05, 2013

My husband and I recently made a brief, two-night visit to Newport, and when we were looking at where to stay, The Artful Lodger popped up on a list of B&Bs in the area. For the same price as a standard hotel room 40 minutes outside of town, we had a cozy room with a private bath, off street parking, a delicious breakfast each morning, and within walking distance to all the things we wanted to see - the harbor and Gilded Age mansions. The innkeepers, Michael and Lieza, gave us great suggestions for things to do and places to eat, and were very warm and welcoming. The room we originally chose was the smallest in the house, but because we were one of only two couples staying at the inn, they upgraded us to a slightly larger room with a private bath (the one we originally booked had its own bathroom, but was located outside the bedroom). We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay here again next time we travel to Newport!


A Perfect Stay

5 on August 05, 2013

First, the location is PERFECT! We were literally next to The Elms mansion! And just a block from all the fun and shopping on Thames Street. The room was adorable. Comfy king bed, tons of room, a little sitting area AND a balcony. Who could ask for more. Breakfast upstairs in the Observatory was a real treat both because of the view and the scrumptious food. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely!! Thank you, Lisa!


Artfully wonderful

4.4 on August 01, 2013

Awesome location, staff, food, experience.


Liza's breakfast is outstanding!

5 on July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Artful Lodger on Monday night, 7/22/2013. We had plenty of privacy and everything we could ever want in a room. The location is perfect - close to Thames and close enough to the Cliff Walk (which is virtually destroyed due to Sandy, FYI). Tuesday morning we had the best breakfast ever, cooked & served by Liza (our super down to earth host). We will definitely be back.


Short stay but very nice!

4.4 on July 16, 2013

We checked into the Artful Lodger this past Friday night. Leeza was very nice and helpful, the B&B was very well maintained. We had a good visit and would definitely stay there again. We wish we had more time to enjoy it and Newport.


Perfect weekend getaway.

4.8 on July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary trip. Our first trip to Newport and we will ABSOLUTELY be going back to stay at the Artful Lodger. It's a perfect walking distance from the sometimes rowdy downtown area. Quiet Victorian house. Lieza and Mike could not have been more hospitable. A lovely and hilarious couple. Great cooks, as well! :) HIGHLY recommend.


30th anniversary retreat

5 on July 13, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Artful Lodger. The room was clean and comfortable. The Inn is centrally located and easy to get to the beaches, Mansions, and the wharves. Lieza was very accommodating .with breakfast for my wife's gluten allergy. We would stay there again!


review of artful dodger b & b

3.8 on July 11, 2013

The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. Very convenient location within walking distance of the harbor, shops, restaurants and some major sites. The service was very friendly and welcoming.


Enjoyable weekend

4.0 on July 11, 2013

Mike & Lieza were very accommodating during a busy weekend in Newport and helped create a very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere.


delightful stay

4.4 on July 09, 2013

hosts were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, the breakfast was excellent. there were several long dark hairs in the room in the sink and on the floor - that would be my only complaint.


NEWPORT - STAY AT THE ARTFUL LODGER

4.8 on July 05, 2013

If you are interested in a very hip, clean, and authentic B & B....you owe it to yourself to stay at the ARTFUL LODGER! My wife and I stayed there for 3 nigths in June 2013. Mike and Lieza are the two folks that run the place and they are perfect hosts! They are there when you need them for anything and yet you never know they are there! You feel like you are visiting a good friend or relative's house in Newport. The dining room has a view that is amazing along with the breakfasts! And the laid back but totally professional attitude of the place really lets you enjoy your stay with out some of the typical "uptightness" of some B & B's. It is centrally located and can walk everywhere! We couldn't have been happier and we commend Lieza and Mike for really making us feel at home. We would go back in a heartbeat. SO check it out and you will have a new home away from home! R.N. New Jersey


Bargain; Walking Distance to Mansions; Delicious Breakfast

4.0 on July 03, 2013

The inn keepers are very nice, give great advice and were very helpful. They were accommodating to dietary/health restrictions and went the extra mile to help us.


Cozy rooms with great service

3.6 on June 27, 2013

The rooms are comfortable with soft mattresses that immediately put you to sleep. The B&B is in a great location and the service is fantastic! Mike is a great cook, especially his omelettes! And Mike and Lieza are very nice, very friendly and available to answer any questions or provide anything you need!


Great Anniversary Stay!

5 on June 24, 2013

We booked this place at the last minute and were lucky to get it for one night. It's been a long time since we've stayed at a bed and breakfast and staying here reminded us of why we like it so much. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and treated everyone like they were family. We loved the informality of Lieza and Michael. Breakfast was delicious and the view from the dinning room was fabulous. Our room was spectacular and the place was conveniently located. Everything was within walking distance. We are definitely planning a return trip! Cathy and Rick (Newt's Ice Cream).


A Delightful Stay in Newport

3.8 on June 23, 2013

We spent one night at the Artful Lodger - our first visit to Newport. Lieza and Mike are such cordial, friendly hosts. They welcomed us as family. Together they cooked us a large, scrumptious breakfast, which we enjoyed with another fine couple from Long Island in the house's airy breakfast room on the top floor. A beautiful view over the Newport Harbour. The house is lovely and perfectly situated for visiting the mansions - one, the Elms, which is definitely a must-see, being right across the street. Thank you, Mike and Lieza, for a very enjoyable stay.


Great location - great B&B!

4.8 on June 17, 2013

We stayed in the room with the balcony - great room, loved the fireplace, loved the screened in porch, and would have loved the private outdoor balcony if it hadn't been raining. Brought some wine, stored it in the mini-fridge, and had a nice glass of wine on the screened porch while playing a game of backgammon (provided by B&B)- very relaxing. B&B is in a great location, walking distance to the mansions and to the wharf area. Hosts were friendly, helpful, and sat down with us after breakfast and shared stories. Great, relaxing weekend! Highly recommend.


Great place for a quick getaway!

4.6 on June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Artful Lodger for the night before Memorial Day. The innkeepers were especially helpful and friendly. The room was clean and larger than expected with a king size bed and a private bathroom. The inn is located right behind the gardens at the Elms and only a short walk to other mansions or the harbor for shops and dining. The food was excellent, and the views of the harbor from the dining room were exquisite. I would highly recommend the Artful Lodger to anyone looking for an outstanding Newport getaway!


A really nice stay with a personal touch from the inn-keepers

4.0 on June 05, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay at the Artful, the Inn is in good shape and well kept. The inn-keepers are friendly acomodating and want to help make your stay the best it can be with there incredible knowledge of the area and things to do. Highly recommend and will stay there again.


Awesome!! The Best Inn Keepers!!

5 on May 21, 2013

Michael and Lieza are the best hosts. Breakfast was great and so was their advice on things to do. It's located in a convenient area that is very close to the center of town. Our room was very clean and well kept. They were very attentive to all our needs. We would highly recommend staying here when visiting Newport. We felt at home, and look forward to our next visit. Bill & Marie


Thank You, From Dan and Eileen

4.8 on May 15, 2013

Great Value, Great Location,Easy to walk to anywhere. Charming and Helpful Host. Wonderful Breakfast with a nice View!


A lovely birthday weekend

4.6 on May 09, 2013

Lovely B&B. the innkeepers were so warm and welcoming. Mike and Leiza are a fabulous breakfast team. Every morning was a delicious delight in the sunny dining room. Will definitely return.


A diamond in the ruff

4.8 on May 05, 2013

What a great stay! We were looking for nice place close to everything that doesn't break the bank. This was it. The innkeepers Lieza and Mike were so hospitable and the breakfast was fantastic! We were close enough to walk to everything, yet still in a residential neighborhood off the main road. The room we stayed in was quiet, but small. They do have larger rooms, but we weren't looking for much, just a clean place to stay and close to downtown. Would most definitely go back!!


Newport B & B

4.0 on April 16, 2013

We stayed overnight to celebrate our anniversary and we were pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to a larger room. The breakfast was fantastic - both the food and the view of Newport Harbor. Great location in walking distance of mansions and harbor.


Excellent Stay!

5 on March 31, 2013

I came with a group of friends and we had such a lovely time. The B&B is walking distance from the water where there is excellent food and a beautiful views. The best sunset view was actually from the kitchen at the B&B which overlooks the water not too far away. Lieza and Mike were also excellent hosts- great to talk to and full of good stories. Also the omelet breakfast was amazing! I would definitely come back!


great B&B: wonderful service, breakfast, good location

4.4 on March 25, 2013

loved this place. the staff were extremely nice and prepared a wonderful breakfast of your choice. the location was great, within walking distance of cliffwalk and the harbor. highly recommend


Excellent B$B

4.6 on March 24, 2013

Michael & Liza were great host. Cooked excellent breakfast and kept a very clean lodge.


St. Paddy's in Newport!!

4.2 on March 20, 2013

The Artful Lodger was a delight to stay in! The room was clean and nicely decorated!! The B&B owners were very personable and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful! We definitely recommend experiencing the Artful Lodger!


A great place to stay!

4.6 on March 20, 2013

We showed up very early and had to wait for a few minutes for Mike and Lieza to answer the door. They were very accommodating and couldn't have been nicer to deal with. We liked the room and the location couldn't be beat. We were walking distance to just about everything and when we didn't walk, we cabbed it for about 5 dollars! We couldn't recommend it enough. The breakfast was awesome both days and the room that you dine in makes the whole experience. It is a breath taking view. Mike and Lieza are not very formal which is what we preferred and they were terrific hosts, when we left it was like leaving a friend's place not a hotel! We absolutely will be back and are already looking to book our next stay!


St Patricks Weekend

5 on March 20, 2013

Very hospitable, Would definitely go back


The best!

5 on February 24, 2013

My wife and I made a quick last minute overnight stay at the Artful Lodger. Best decision ever. Great location! Bedroom was perfect and the bed was very comfy. Best of all Mike and Leiza, the host and hostesses of the inn we're AMAZING! They were so warn and welcoming, we didn't want to leave! We will definitely be returning soon! Jon and Thea


Valentines Day Stay

4.2 on February 22, 2013

Loved Graces Room on the first floor and private bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. Busy weekend so breakfast was a wait but well worth it. Only negative is it is a long cold walk to the restaurants/bars/shops downtown so bring warm clothing if winter time!


Awesome Dining Room View

3.6 on February 20, 2013

Very typical B&B with a very friendly host and modest accommodations. Very good value although it was not peak season. The view from the dining room was spectacular.


New Years Eve in Newport

4.2 on January 07, 2013

Our hosts were warm and friendly. On site parking is a plus as well as the full breakfast we enjoyed with a beautiful view of Newport....


Artful Lodger stay

4.2 on December 22, 2012

Very enjoyable stay. We stayed in the front room of the house which got very, very warm when another lodger set the thermostat for the first floor much higher than it had been when we retired for the night. Very uncomfortable night the first night, but the second night there was no other lodger and the thermostat stayed where we set it. The hosts were superb and the breakfast was awesome. Would stay again in the future, just not in the front room.


Romantic Weekend

3.6 on November 14, 2012

Lieza and Michael were really welcoming ! They were concerned in us having a great stay. The room was super clean, with a lot of towels in the bathroom and even chocolate near the bed ! The dining room offers an outstanding view, which made the breakfast a great start of the day. We would recommand the place for a couple. Moreover, Newport is a lovely destination with fine dining and beautiful landscapes. Floriane & Clint


Great place for a weekend getaway

4.0 on November 05, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary in Newport. We really enjoyed this place which is centrally located between downtown Newport and the mansions. Breakfasts were great and Lieza and Michael made us feel welcome.


A great place to stay!

4.8 on October 27, 2012

My wife an I stayed here for our 5th anniversary and had a great time. The breakfast room has an amazing view, our room was great, and the location is close enough to the downtown area that you can walk. We also walked to the cliff walk and the Breakers Mansion. Breakfast was amazing. Mike tries to feed you well enough that you don't even need lunch.


Artful Lodger Respite

3.6 on October 26, 2012

Wonderful innkeepers who made our stay very comfortable/pleasant. The central location is conveniently within walking distance of the action down on Thames or the mansions. The only negative I would advise is that its on a very busy street so light sleepers such as myself will not get any rest. Always love coming to Newport for a weekend getaway.


Birthday Getaway!!

3.4 on September 27, 2012

We loved staying at the Artful Lodger, service was great and Lieza and Michael were very personable. The rooms were quaint and clean. Could have used more of a coffee/snack area and a sitting area that was a little more comfortable. Overall it was a good experience.


Great hosts, great bed, great breakfast

4.6 on September 24, 2012

Lieza and Mike made us feel right at home. I am a big guy, so I am always a little wary of booking a historic (read "small") bed. No problem here; it was king sized and firm. Mike made us excellent omelets with home fries for breakfast. Location is very central for a walk around the mansion district or into town.


Lovely place to stay in Newport, RI

4.0 on September 12, 2012

Mike and Lieza are wonderful innkeepers. They do their very best to make you feel welcome. The breakfasts were delicious and the breakfast room has a spectacular view of the water. We would definitely go back and stay again.


Lovely and delicious!

4.6 on September 03, 2012

I just returned from a 3-night stay at the Artful Lodger and highly recommend it. Both Lieza and Michael were incredibly friendly hosts. Michael's omelets and eggs benedict were scrumpcious! I enjoyed visiting with Lieza and sharing California stories. My room was lovely. Thanks for the upgrade. Lots to do and see in walking distance. Nice to have a car for day trips out of town (and parking is available). The mansions are a must! But maybe not 4 in a day plus the Cliff Walk all on foot. 5 1/2 hours was a bit of an optimistic undertaking! But I made it!


Great stay and great hosts in Newport! Sorry I couldn't stay longer.

5 on September 02, 2012

Lovely inn, great host and hostess. Right up the hill from the craziness of Thames Street.


Big breakfasts!

4.0 on August 27, 2012

small rooms - old house, so a little cramped and dark. Nice management - great breakfasts - beautiful view from breakfast table. Easy walk to center of town. Parking on-site.


Newport Getaway

4.4 on August 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The B & B was great! The innkeepers went above and beyond.


Great location run by great people!

5 on August 12, 2012

Mike and Lieza were very friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect. You can walk to the mansions and the cliff walks. You can also walk to some great restaurants and pubs.


Wonderful B&B and Fantastic Hosts! Great value!

4.4 on August 09, 2012

Charming, historic building but with up-to-date amenities. Our host was very friendly and a fantastic cook as well. I would highly recommend this B&B for all of the above as well as it's convenient location. Literally a walking distance to the most popular Newport mansion tours, restaurants, and Newport center!


Fantastic breakfast but no ice

4.0 on July 29, 2012

My room and bath were small but comfortable. The breakfast and view from the top floor were fantastic. My main complaint: I was there on a very hot and humid day. The mini-frig in the common area had a small freezer compartment that was filled with accumulated ice and no ice trays. I would have loved an icy drink. The innkeepers were nowhere to be seen so I made do with tepid water.


Fabulous B&B in Newport

4.6 on July 26, 2012

We stay here every time we visit Newport! Great location, walking distance to Cliff Walk, mansions, shops and restaurants. Amazing view from the breakfast room. Best breakfast in Newport!


Fantastic!

4.6 on July 19, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. Comfy bed, good value and terrific breakfast every morning!


Cozy & convenient

3.8 on July 01, 2012

Leza & Michal are kind, generous hosts. Very convenient to the Elms and other mansions as well as the waterfront. Beautiful view of the bay from the 3rd floor breakfast room.


Lovely owners and colorful time!

3.8 on June 28, 2012

Owners were very knowledgeable about the area, particularly restaurants. Breakfast was TERRIFIC! Would recommend to friends.


Great reasonable B&B with an actual breakfast!

5 on June 18, 2012

The Artful Lodger was a great value. The innkeepers were great, and the full breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We can't imagine a better place for the price in Newport!


best B&B, i've stayed there 3 times

3.6 on June 13, 2012

great view, awesome hosts and creative breakfasts


is girl friend and I and my wife stayed at the Artful Lodger for four night while we were in Newport for a memorial service for my Uncle. Michael and Leza were great hosts. The view from the 4th floor window toward the bay is breathtaking

5 on June 11, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The Artful Lodger is in a great location virtually next to the Elms and only a block down from Thames street. Michael and Lieza are great hosts. It is a true B and B because they engage you and the other guests in conversation and both of them are very charming people. The food is very good and the view from the 4th floor of the home offers a spectacular look of the Bay. Mike by the way can talk sports with anyone even someone who has fought Ali in the golden gloves. This is a terrific place to stay and we would come back in an Arkansas second. We stayed here for four night and that included my son and his girlfriend who also made the trip for a memorial service for my Uncle. Art and Dee English


Charming & Romantic B&B

4.6 on June 06, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Newport, RI and decided that rather than staying in a hotel we would try a B&B. I came across the Artful Lodger while researching online and we are so glad to have booked this place. Lieza and Mike were wonderful hosts and from the moment we walked through the door they made us feel welcome. Because we were the only ones who had booked for that particular week we were given a bigger room that overlooked the back garden. The room and bathroom were clean and charming. The house dates back to the 1840's and Lieza and Mike have done a great job of capturing the aesthetic. Every morning we walked up to the third floor (be prepared to climb some old winding stairs) and sat down to breakfast with a view of Newport and the Bay. Lieza and Mike are excellent cooks and also made sure to accommodate to any dietary restrictions we had. We spent our time exploring the mansions, cliff walking and exploring the town. Our hosts gave us great recommendations on places to visit and good dining in the area. All and all we had a very romantic and relaxing vacation and would definitely recommend the Artful Lodger to anyone coming to Newport. We hope to come back again. -Rachel


A niece's wedding

5 on May 20, 2012

We travel all over the country staying in a variety of accommodations and can truly say we have never been treated better than at the Artful Lodger. What gracious hosts Mike and Lieza are! The inn is beautiful. The view from the breakfast room is both unexpected and spectacular. We would definitely recommend the Artful Lodger and would stay here again ourselves. Jim and Sandi Juhler


Awesome!

5 on May 16, 2012

We cannot say enough about our stay at the Artful Lodger. We absolutely loved our accomodations; Mike and Lieza were great. Right from the first interaction with Mike, we felt at ease. THis was our 1st ever visit to Newport, RI. They gave us great ideas on where to eat, what to do, etc. They were definately the hostesses with the mostest. I have to say, Mike makes the best breakfast burrito you will ever eat. Since we have been home, I have not stopped talkign about our stay. The room was clean and very spacious. We felt like we were in our own home (minus the hot tub!) I have recommend the Artful Lodger to all my friends. We will definately be back. Thank you Mike and Lieza for making us feel welcome! Chris and Ron McCular


Neat place/conveniently located

4.4 on May 10, 2012

We had a nice quiet room (Ivy Room) and a wonderful breakfast with a beautiful view. Great innkeepers to boot! We did not have to move the car and were able to walk to everywhere we wanted to go.


Great location, great host!!

4.2 on May 05, 2012

Mike and Lieza were great hosts and B&B is located in a convenient location with off street parking. Overall a great stay over the weekend in Neport! :)


Review of the Artful Lodger

4.2 on May 03, 2012

The folks that run the place are incredibly nice. They seemed genuinely disappointed that we couldn't stay for breakfast with them. They even offered to have food out and ready in the morning before we left. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, and the location was perfect. I highly recommend staying at the Artful Lodger.


Small room, GREAT B&B experience

4.6 on April 17, 2012

I booked a room here (room D) for friends while my husband and I stayed at another one in town. The room was small, but we expected that - the online description calls it "cozy". My friends thoroughly enjoyed their time there - the breakfast was delicious and made-to-order, the innkeepers were friendly and helpful, and it was located just blocks from the heart of downtown Newport. If my husband and I travel to Newport again we will seriously consider staying here rather than the B&B that we booked for ourselves!


Cool place

4.8 on April 16, 2012

It's a laid-back place where you will feel good. Feels like the 80s but hangs like the best of the 21st century. Close to all the good things. Ample parking. Clean like whistles. You will feel happy here.


New Years Weekend Amy and Jason

4.8 on January 18, 2012

We went to Newport for New Years and were so pleased with the Artful Lodger, the room, the innkeepers and the amazing breakfast, we are going to make this our yearly tradition! Amy and Jason


David and Elie

4.2 on January 05, 2012

Great place in a great location. Reasonable prices and fun people run the place.


Wonderful B&B

4.4 on January 05, 2012

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. The room was delightful, the hosts friendly and helpful and the food was superb. Great location. If you find narrow staircases difficult, you will have a hard time getting to the breakfast room. The innkeepers are very accommodating.


Lieza & Michael are great hosts

4.2 on December 01, 2011

We stay at B&Bs because we like the personal touch offered by committed inn keepers when compared to hotels. Leiza and Michael are exemplary in this regard. We were the only guests in the off-season and Lieza offered us a free room upgrade. Even so the upgrade room was on the small side and the king bed pretty much filled the space. There was no closet so our cold weather ware took up all the hooks. The TV was a K-Mart special, only 14" screen, about 10 years old. There was free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was the real treat in the third floor dinning room, overlooking the Newport rooftops and Narragansett Bay. Lieza served fruit, pastries, juice, great coffee, and made-to-order omelets with the best home fries. The extra-special was a sample of Micheal's homemade applesauce he prepared for Thanksgiving diner. We would definitely stay here again. Jim & Helen


Peace and Quite with charm and perfect location!

4.0 on November 30, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast was outstanding. The innkeeper's made us feel right at home. Both were friendly and helped figure out where to eat for dinner. The Deck. The next morning we had a wonderful and very filling breakfast. What also pleased us was we were across the Elm's Mansion and a short walk to town. I would give this Bed and Breakfast 5 stars!


Had a Great Stay

3.6 on November 21, 2011

We are not regular B&B travelers, but our wonderful experience at the Artful Lodger has us eager to try others and we wouldn't hesitate to book again at the Artful Lodger if our travel's bring us back to Newport.


Artful Lodger

4.0 on October 24, 2011

Our stay was super pleasant. Our innkeepers were not only hospitable but very informative about the surrounding area. Our room was completely what we hoped for except it was a hot weekend and the window AC unit was way undersized and could not cool the room. Easy to get to and located within walking distance of everything. Pleasantly quiet, and wonderfully romantic.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. If you have time, could you send us an email with which room you stayed, so we can tend to the A/C unit? We would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again!


We had a great time

4.8 on October 24, 2011

We stayed there for a long weekend, and not only is the location ideal, but the service was way above expectation. If I go back to Newport, I will definitely stay there again.


Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!

5 on October 18, 2011

We loved our stay at the Artful Lodger. The room was wonderful and you couldn't ask for better hosts than Lieza and Michael. We can't wait to visit again.


Relaxing getaway

4.0 on October 17, 2011

A very convenient and pleasant place to stay. The breakfast and views from the dining area were outstanding. Lieaza and Michael are very nice.


Artful Lodger

4.0 on October 06, 2011

The room was clean, Lieza and Michael were great, the view from the dining room and deck was beautiful and the breakfast was AWESOME!!


Artful Lodger -- Newport, RI

5 on October 01, 2011

Mike and Lieza were extremely friendly and extremely helpful with advice about Newport. The rooms were quaint but comfortable.


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on September 28, 2011

Wonderful B&B - owners were delightful and the breakfast was delicious. The breakfast room was on the 3rd floor, light and airy, and looked over the water. Wonderful weekend!


Little jewel in Newport

3.4 on September 25, 2011

Lieza and Michael made our visit a memorable one. They are particularly adept at creating social interaction among their guests. And Michael is an amazing cook. Do not miss this experience in Newport!


Stay at Artful Lodger!

4.4 on September 13, 2011

The inn keepers at Artful Lodger were very warm and welcoming -- none of that awkward atmosphere that you sometimes find at B&Bs. Breakfasts were OUTSTANDING -- the best I've had at a B&B -- and the view from the top floor breakfast room were gorgeous. My room was cozy and charming and very well cooled by a window A/C unit, which was much appreciated. Overall, great value for money.


The "little diamond" in Newport

4.4 on August 25, 2011

Our stay was like being invited into a family member's home, we enjoyed every second of our stay. Lieza and Michael are outstanding hosts and upon leaving it was like leaving family with that twinge of sadness not knowing when youwill be back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the lovely review. It is bittersweet when guests become like family & you have to say goodbye. We hope our paths will cross again, one day!!


Wonderful time in Newport RI

4.6 on August 19, 2011

My wife and I had a very enjoyable time at the Artful Lodger with Lieza and Michael. The room was large and decorated in the early 1940's era, of course, with up to date bathroom facilities. Breakfast is probably the highlight of the Lodger and I highly recommend "Mike's Mess" which is an omlet with everything but the kitchen sink! Lieza creates a bowl of fresh fruit for the guests with up to 10 different fruits and has lovely pasteries and bagels along with yogurt and great coffee. Treat yourself to a few nights at The Lodger and you'll be very happy.


A pleasant stay

4.0 on August 12, 2011

The hosts of this bed and breakfast, Lieza and Michael, really made a difference for us. We only stayed for one night, but we felt very welcomed by their hospitality. The room was comfortable and the breakfast absolutely delicious with a beautiful view of the harbor. A very cozy ambiance.


two nights in Newport

4.2 on August 09, 2011

Enjoyed the location despite being on a busy street. Easy walk to "cottages" and restaurants. Michael makes a mean omelet, and he and Leiza were congenial hosts! Have recommended it to a friend already.


out-freakin-standing

5 on August 05, 2011

stayed the 7/31 thru 8/2--outstanding!! hosts are like family..close to everything..breakfast better than any restaurant we've been to, and great bay view from 3rd floor eating area...will definitely go back....


Fabulous experience at the Artful Lodger

4.8 on August 04, 2011

I was in town for the Newport Folk Festival and was thrilled to have found such an amazing place to start and end my day. Lieza and Mike were the perfect hosts, from providing a clean, comfortable room, to offering advice on local attractions and dining options, to the incredibly delicious breakfasts they stuffed us all with each morning. The inn is the perfect location - within walking distance of pretty much any area of the island, but away from the noise of downtown. The off-street parking was also an amazing perk. I can't wait to come back next year!


A piece of paradise.

5 on August 02, 2011

Owners very kind and friendly, free upgrade to a wonderful room, delicious breakfast , free parking, mansions and wharf at walkable distance, what could we need more? A place to come back!!


Great Innkeepers and house

5 on July 31, 2011

Our stay here was EXCELLENT!!!! Lieza and Michael were fantastic hosts. It was very clean, and the location was very good, away from noise. I would recommend The Artful Lodger to any one. I higly recommend trying one of Michael's omelettes.


Great Innkeepers

3.6 on July 28, 2011

I would go back b/c of Lieza and Michael - very very hospitable couple.


Good time and quiet location!

3.8 on July 20, 2011

Out inn keepers were awesome and the breakfast was wonderful!


Warm, gracious hospitality

5 on July 17, 2011

We recently stayed at the Artful Lodger to see some tennis at the Tennis Hall of Fame and experienced the perfect combination of an incredible, gourmet, individually prepared breakfast, a lovely, interesting Victorian home in an ideal location, and most memorably, the warm and gracious hospitality of Lieza and Michael. The Artful Lodger is an outstanding bed and breakfast; in fact, we're trying to find a reason to return to Newport just so that we can stay there!


Lovely experience

4.6 on July 14, 2011

The Artful Lodger provided my husband and me the perfect location for vacationing in Newport - we walked to the manisons, the Cliffwalk, downtown (shopping and restaurants), and the colonial areas. The innkeepers were very warm and friendly and made us feel at home. The morning breakfast was outstanding, included a fantastic view of the harbor, and inspired great conversations with the other guests. And we appreciated the off-street parking!


good times at the Artful Lodger in Newport

4.2 on July 11, 2011

The Artful Lodger is located within walking distance to many attractions in Newport. We went down on the 4th of July and were in a hurry to check in so we could catch a ferry ride to Jamestown for a family party. Leeza was very accommodating to us and gave us excellent directions to the ferry. The following day we enjoyed a great breakfast. (awesome omelets by Mike) We hope to visit again soon.


Nice place, great location, outstanding innkeepers

4.0 on June 30, 2011

The innkeepers went above and beyond to accommodate my baby and I. The food was excellent and the view from the breakfast room was perfect. The location is great. Very close to mansions, Salve Regina, Cliff Walk, shops, etc.


Enjoyed it!

3.0 on June 15, 2011

Great location. The room and bathroom need updating. The view from the dining room was spectacular. The breakfast was wonderful. Lieza and Michael were super friendly and welcoming.


Great Little Bed and Breatfast

4.4 on June 07, 2011

A cute place if you are staying in Newport. Very friendly staff and great breakfast.


Great Stay.

3.6 on June 05, 2011

Very enjoyable weekend. Surprise for my husband's 65th birthday and our stay was wonderful. Love Newport and will consider staying at the Artful Lodger again.


A Short Walk to Newports Mansions

4.0 on May 08, 2011

Great breakfast. Omelets day one and French toast day two. Large servings. We skipped lunch. We walked to the Elms in less than five minutes, downtown in 10. They have their own parking so you don't need to park o the street. Don't go there to watch TV. Small portable set. Not a problem for me, but some may be disappointed.


Excellent B&B

4.8 on May 04, 2011

Our room was fantastic! We loved the two person whirlpool tub, fireplace and the very comfortable king size bed. The view from the dining room was awesome!


Wonderful Stay at the Artful Lodger

5 on April 29, 2011

My husband and I had a really special weekend here, celebrating our anniversary, and can't say enough about our hosts, the room and the terrific breakfasts Lieza and Michael prepared. The inn is charming and comfortable, situated a short walk (or drive) from restaurants, shopping and historic sites. We especially enjoyed the view from the conservatory, and the beautiful magnolia that gives that room a very natural warmth. We just returned and have already recommended The Artful Lodger to friends.


Our Babymoon

4.8 on April 20, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful "final getaway" before the birth of our first child. The Innkeepers at the Artful Lodger were attentive to cleanliness and service within the house, as well as helpful in suggesting sites to see in the Newport area. Breakfast was DELICIOUS. We hope to visit again in the future!


I would have given a 10 star rating if I could!!!

5 on April 09, 2011

I can't wait to return to the Artful Lodger. The B&B itself is darling with lots of character. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the 1st floor and the bed was soooo comfortable. Great location. Helpful hint: if you have trouble climbing stairs be sure to ask for a room on the ground floor. There is a lovely dining room on the 3rd floor where breakfast is served but there's also a small kitchen area on the first floor too. The view from the third floor is gorgeous. You can see the bay/harbor. The innkeeper, Lieza, goes out of her way to make things comfortable; she goes above and beyond the call of duty. And, wow, can she cook! Breakfast was phenomenal...not just a continental breakfast but an omelette, bacon, fresh fruit, muffins, juice...the works. If there is such a thing as a perfect bed and breakfast this is it. Just remember to mention when making reservations if you have a problem with stairs. Oh, and there's a lovely garden, front porch and picket fence. Just like out of a story book. And, no, I don't work for this B&B or any other travel company. Nor do I know the owners of this B&B or any of their relatives. I do, however, travel for a living and when I come across a place like this, I want to make sure everyone else knows about it...especially folks like me who spend so much time in hotels. Kudos to Lieza and Michael. You surely know how to make folks feel welcome. I shall return!


A great place to stay

4.4 on March 27, 2011

Lieza & Mike are warm and friendly people who go out of their way to make sure your stay is wonderful. The inn is lovely and the breakfast was amazing, much more than we expected, cooked to order and perfect in every way. We would definitely stay again.


cute place in Newport

4.2 on March 21, 2011

The innkeepers are very warm and friendly people. They accommodated us well with the breakfast options, and gave helpful tourist tips for Newport. The B&B is conveniently located with easy walks to the mansions and Cliff Walk, and the breakfast room has beautiful view over the harbor. The downtown area at Washington Square would be a long walk, but is an easy drive. The house itself is charming. The small winding staircase to the breakfast room could be a hindrance to some folks with disabilities. To those without any, though, it's a great place. Also, unlike other places, the innkeepers here never tidied up our bedroom during our stay, but did ask us often if we had everything we needed. This may be a positive or negative depending on your expectations. Highly recommended.


great weekend away

4.2 on March 20, 2011

Great location, Innkeepers were very nice. View from breakfast room is beautiful. Would definately stay there again.


Artful Lodger is GREAT!

5 on March 16, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed here and I'll DEFINITELY stay here again in the future. Everything about it is just great, from the location, the off-street parking, the rooms, the breakfasts, and last but certainly not least, the EXCELLENT hosts.


Very Outstanding

5 on March 08, 2011

I love everything about Artful Lodger. The decoration of the house is beautiful and we're very satisfied during our stay. The breakfast was delicious :) thanks!


Great B&B

5 on March 05, 2011

Friendly innkeeper, good price, perfect room, great experience.


19th Anniversary

4.6 on March 01, 2011

We go away every year for our anniversary, this year we chose Artful Lodger. It was a great choice, the rooms are comfortable and romantic. Lieza and Mike are very friendly and down to earth, they make a great team in the kitchen. Breakfast was amazing I guarantee you won't go away hungry. The view from the breakfast dining area is beautiful! Most attractions and restaurants are within walking distance of the Inn. Off street parking was a plus, I would recommend this B&B to anyone, oh yeah did I mention the double jacuzzi very nice and relaxing. My wife and I will be staying again. Thanks to Lieza and Mike for a great getaway!!! Ron & Monica Lefebvre Belchertown, Ma.


Great B&B in Newport

3.4 on February 25, 2011

Great B&B under new management. They are doing a great job. Just can't figure out how Leiza keeps her glasses on.


a special 30th anniversary

4.0 on February 21, 2011

our hosts were warm and welcoming, they left us a special treat in our room for our anniversary, we had great conversation at breakfast and the best omelets.


Artful Lodger

3.4 on February 16, 2011

Very nice people at the inn. Great breakfast in the morning. Everything was fine except the lighting in the room. It was dark as hell. Could have used some more light bulbs in the bedroom. The dry heat was killing us but the innkeepers Elisa and Mike were kind enough to give us their humidifier for the night. That was very nice of them. Might visit again in the summer.


Best Weekend EVER!

5 on February 07, 2011

My lady and I could not have had a more enjoyable weekend than the one we just spent at the Artful Lodger in Newport! The place was simply delightful, especially for a Dickens fan like myself. Quaint, charming, CLEAN room with the most comfortable bed I've slept on in ages, and some cool little features that really added to the experience, like the private porch overlooking Spring Street. The innkeepers, Lieza & Mike, were one of the best features of the place, as well - a fun, cheerful couple who felt immediately like old friends, and who truly went out of their way to be sure that our stay was special. The Sunday breakfast alone would have made the stay worthwhile - just really outstanding, both in quality and quantity. The view while eating that wonderful breakfast didn't hurt, either - a stunning vista of the local neighborhood, with the harbor beyond, complete with sailboats in formation. We had to force ourselves to leave that incredible locale in order to take in the mansions and other local sights! We can highly recommend the Artful Lodger to anyone visiting Newport who would like a true Bed & Breakfast experience. Lieza & Michael will make sure your stay is a wonderful one!


Artful Lodger

5 on January 31, 2011

Wonderful location with a great view. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Artful Lodger. Would definitely stay here again.


Artful Lodger December 29, 2010

4.4 on January 16, 2011

The breakfast was very good, but the portion could have been a bit more.


Seriously? A title?

5 on January 04, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Artful Lodger. Jackie was wonderful, helpful and the breakfasts are delicious. I would absolutely recommend the Artful Lodger to friends and hope to go back again one day.


Quiet and Friendly

4.4 on December 14, 2010

We stayed here the week before Thanksgiving. Our host gave us a free upgrade. Breakfast was outstanding and we enjoyed talking with our host. Location is excellent. Room was smallish but very comfortable and cozy. We will stay here again! We highly recommend the Brick Alley Pub, and the Salvation Cafe for dinner.


artful lodger worth a stay

4.8 on November 04, 2010

I had a wonderful time, it was a great alternative to a more expensive hotel. Such charm and personality cannot be found at a chain! Jackie made a wonderful breakfast to compliment the bay view from the conservatory. If I ever make it to Newport again, the Artful Lodger will be my only stop!


Wonderful Stay in Newport

4.6 on October 31, 2010

We went there off season but Jackie was there to give us all the information about the city, the best restaurant, the best place to visit. The house is amazing, especially the dining room with an amazing view. The room was great and we were close to the main street.


Great escape, artfully done!

4.4 on October 27, 2010

I surprised my wife by bringing her to Newport for our 1 year anniversary, it was last minute and all of the hotels were booked however I stumbled across the Artful Lodger and I had never stayed at a B&B before. The concerns started to mount - will we have our own bathroom or do we have to use a communal one? Will it be clean? Will it be close to what we want to do and see? Will we hear the other guests? When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find our room to be more than adequate - our own bathroom, superbly clean - and we did do a thorough check, it was quiet, private, we had our own adjoining sun room and a roof deck. We were close to the Mansions, Salvay College (that is if you have any reason to be there), the scenic ocean drive and we could have walked into town but we decided to drive anyway...oh and the neighborhoods were great to get a couple of miles of running in. Overall the breakfast was great, the company was lovely and Jackie was wonderful. She was absolutely pleasant and helpful and made our stay that much greater - she was the cherry on top of a great B&B experience. We would definitely come back again and we do plan on doing so in the warmer months!


Weekend Getaway!

3.8 on October 27, 2010

The Artful Lodger B&B was so quaint and inviting. I was very comfortable and felt as if I were home away from home. What a great location, close to shops and dinning. We didn't get in the car the whole weekend! The breakfast was delicious... and what a great view to look out upon while eating yummy french toast. Thank you and I look forward to coming back!


Nice time

3.0 on October 05, 2010

My wife & I went there for a weekend getaway, and we really enjoyed ourselves. The town is beautiful & the lodge was very relaxing.


Great Weekend in Newport

3.8 on September 08, 2010

Artful Lodger was a great place to stay at a great value. Nice accommodations and and all the necessary amenities. Was close to the downtown, we walked into downtown for shopping, meals and entertainment. Also was close enough to walk to Cliff Walk and the mansions. Would stay at again.


A Wonderful B&B!

4.8 on August 26, 2010

The service was fantastic and the breakfasts were delicious. Get a room with a jacuzzi - you won't regret it.


clean room & friendly service

3.6 on August 15, 2010

The suite was very clean and Jackie was great. It was nice to have a local- guide us on to where to go! Everything was great. Newport is a beautiful town.


We really enjoyed our stay!

4.0 on July 27, 2010

We couldn't have asked for a better location. The Innkeeper Jackie is so informative and friendly. My husband has an allergy to gluten and Jackie went out of her way to accommodate him and prepared him the tastiest gf pancakes during our stay. We will definitely stay here again!!!


Good in town location

3.4 on July 19, 2010

The room was small but adequate with a full bath and air conditioning. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast included omelette, etc. in a room with a great view.


Simply Superb!

5 on June 13, 2010

My wife and I recently booked a "last minute" weekend at the Artful Lodger in Newport, RI. From the minute Jackie the Innkeeper answered the door, her hospitality was awesome! Jackie took the time to go over the towns "hot spots" best restaurants and attractions. As the Inn is walking distance from Bellevue Ave., and all the famous mansions. Leave your car in the Artful Lodger's parking area, everything in town and the mansions are all within walking distance. The breakfasts were superb! The view into the harbor in the morning was spectacular! The room in which we stayed was clean, and very comfortable. If you are seeking a B&B, within walking to distance to everywhere Newport. This is it! Jackie's kind and gracious hospitality made you feel like you just discovered a long lost cousin! Thanks for an awesome weekend! Give the Artful Lodger a try! You will be impressed and you will not be disappointed!


Best Mini-vacation

4.0 on August 29, 2009

This was the first time my husband & I and another couple stayed at a B&B, It was GREAT! IT was warm,cozy,comfortable, & the location of the Artful Lodger was just perfect, close to everything(walking distance)Jackie was so helpful & kind, we felt like we were visiting a friend. Thank you very much for everything!


Perfect quick getaway

4.8 on August 10, 2009

We had a short New England getaway and used the Artful Lodger as our home base. From there we were able to easily get to Mystic, CT, Martha's Vineyard as well as enjoy the Mansions and Port of Newport, RI. This B & B is perfectly located for walking to the Mansions or downtown and it is in a nice quiet spot with off street parking!!!! Jackie and Mark were great hosts and we loved the cookies and lemonade we found one afternoon after returning from our sightseeing. It was quiet and peaceful and we definitely hope to return.


Anniversary Stay

4.6 on August 02, 2009

Lovely and quaint - enjoyed the feeling of going back in time!! Enjoyed the front porch and the sweet garden. Breakfast was great, including conversation with other guests and Jackie. Thanks for a wonderful stay - Lorraine and Ed


Felt Like Home

4.8 on June 28, 2009

My girlfriend and I were in town for a wedding and decided to stay at the Artful Lodger. The location was perfect and the price was very reasonable. The weather didn't cooperate all that much, but Mark and Jackie still made our stay extremely enjoyable. Being Newport first timers, Mark clued us in to some good neighborhood eats and helped map out our day. Jackie's breakfasts were quite tasty and we enjoyed the company during breakfast. Our room was upgraded to a suite for no extra charge which was a HUGE plus! We couldn't have asked for any more and will definitely stay here again next time we're in Newport.


Glorious Stay

5 on June 20, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at the Artful Londger so much that I am coming back next year. The design of the 1850 structure was as eloquent as the breakfasts. If you are lucky you will get to try the signature blueberry french toast.


Above and Beyond!

4.0 on June 01, 2009

We were looking for an easy weekend getaway and got spoiled like King & Queen. Mark & Jackie did everything to make our weekend a vacation to tell friends about. From helping us with our bags, to spotless, over comfortable rooms and the best french toast I ever had (sorry dad). The Artful Lodger is literally a one minute walk from Thames, and our hosts showed us all the local favorites, beyond the usual "tourist" palces. Treated us like friends & family the whole time.


This one exceeded my Greatest Expectations!

5 on June 01, 2009

The Artful Lodger is the perfect place to have a stressfree summer getaway. You arrive and park the car until you leave. It is centrally located to all that Newport has to offer...The mansions[just across the street is the 'Elms'],historic Newport is walking distance every direction from the house, the waterfront shopping district is just 2 blocks away. and the beaches are a pedi-cab ride along the historic Newport streeets, a great way to see the sights. Our room was very clean and spacious and comfortable including our private bath. The full breakfeast that is served on the top floor which is actually an observatoy with views of the harbor was delightful and a great way to meet the other guests. The hospitality is 5 star! Mark and Jackie made themselves availble for dinner suggestions including making our reservations for us, setting us up with the 3 mansion pass[saving us money], made the reservation for our pedi-cab, and during our down time invited us to relax on the front porch. They made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable! The next time we come to Newport we will definitely be staying at The Artful Lodger and so will our friends.


FABULOUS GETAWAY!!!

5 on May 31, 2009

WHAT A DELIGHTFUL INN! PROPERTY IS BEAUTIFUL, ROOMS ARE COZY, FOOD IS WONDERFUL AND THE INNKEEPERS (MARK & JACKIE) ARE OUTSTANDING - CORTIAL, PLEASANT, INVITING - YOU CAN TELL THEY LOVE WHAT THE DO AND TAKE PRIDE IN IT!!!


Newport's Finest B&B

5 on May 31, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Innkeepers, Mark and Jackie, are terrific hosts, serving equisite breakfasts, and engaging in conversation. Our room was delightful, the garden was beautiful and quaint, and the lemonade and homebaked cookies were outstanding. We couldn't have picked a better spot to enjoy our weekend. You exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to come back.


Best in Newport!

5 on May 26, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Artful Lodger for Memorial Day weekend and could not have been more pleased with our stay. Mark and Jackie are wonderful innkeepers and great cooks as well! The conservatory has a gorgeous overview of the bay and our room, The Victorian, was lovely, and had its own bathroom as well! We certainly plan on coming back and couldnt have been more happy with our time in Newport!


Best B&B in Newport

4.6 on August 10, 2008

If you are looking for a great B&B experience, the Artful Lodger is the place to start. It is cozy, clean (Karin is very picky about that) and within walking distance to Thames and Bellevue Aves. Ric and Rose provide a warm, hospitable feeling. Their breakfasts, in a beautiful room on the 3rd floor with a view of the bay, is a great start to the day. Ric also is entertaining and very helpful with suggestions and ideas for things to do and places to eat in Newport. We have stayed 3 times at the Artful Lodger and will always return there. We tried other places but were always disappointed. We usually park the car at the B&B and walk to many places in Newport. It is across the street from the back entrance to the Elms mansion. We go to the Elms to relax and enjoy the beauty of the grounds and gardens. We believe that the Artful Lodger is a hidden gem and we would not consider staying anywhere else. Karin and George


Home to Home

4.6 on July 03, 2008

We loved the fresh breakfast and the friendlyness. There was a party of 4 plus a baby, and just by chance came upon the Artful Lodger, and felt very lucky to have done so. We initially stayed for 2 days, then myself and my husband travelled again for several hours, then called the Inn and asked them could we come back for another 2 nights. Again a lovely welcome and charged us the weekday rates rather than the weekend dates. They were so good to us. Difference home made breakfast each morning. As we had travelled a bit, and stayed in various very good hotels, it was refreshing to come to this wonderful Inn with lovely rooms. We loved the area and will certainly return. Pat & Brian, England.


Artful Lodger Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $299
  • Reviews (165) 4.4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4018473132
  • Phone 1-8005031850
  • Mobile 1-4014800191

Visit Website »

View details

Top