University Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.1
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Awesome B&B cheers

4.2 on October 06, 2014

Had a great time at University B&B staff was very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was very clean and pretty. Will recommend to friends and family if traveling to Montreal


Wonderful but don't arrive late!

3.8 on April 23, 2013

Hello, We loved University Bed and Breakfast in Montreal. Wonderful location. A room full of character and with all the amenities we could possibly want. Very quiet too. The only issue? We arrived after 6 PM to locked doors, no one to greet us, and no way to get in! We had not had any advanced warning of this, not even an e-mail. Imagine being in this situation after an international flight and a heavy suitcase to carry. There was a message in the tiny entrance preceding the locked door, telling us that our keys were in the lock box. There was a lock box with a combination lock. Problem is, no one had told us of this and we did not know the combination. So, we were there and had to try and call the owner on our cell phone (international call for us). We only got a voice answering machine. I left a message, but not one called back. In desperation, we rang the bell of the next door neighbors and a friendly lady emerged who was able to tell us what the combination was, so we were able to get our keys. All was well in the end, and we loved the place, but we had a tremendous scare on arrival. I would suggest that guests be informed of all of this prior to their traveling. We sure were not. Otherwise, once again, a lovely place.


Comfortable, convenient and welcoming

4.8 on October 19, 2012

Very pleasant, but not fancy B&B. Best location for visiting McGill as it is practically on campus. Comfy beds and pillows. Quiet location, though sound travels up from the dining area. Lovely breakfasts with fresh Montreal croissants and bagels. French press coffee. Only complaint regards low water pressure in the shower.


Great place, no "kitsch", great coffee :-)

4.6 on October 06, 2012

The house is centrally located in quiet area next to McGill. The rooms are traditional with modern touch and furniture, facilities and kitchen/breakfast area are completely decorated without any Victorian or similar touch. Great breakfast: best coffee in town (Bodum, very strong). Thumbs up ! It's a recommendation.


A great Place to stay near McGill University

5 on November 06, 2011

No doubt that next time I'll be staying in Montréal. I'll be looking into the University Bed and Breakfast. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and welcoming.


university bed and breakfast

2.6 on October 14, 2011

The room was comfortable, the location was great and the breakfast was adequate. The worst part was sharing a bathroom. I definitely suggest getting a room with a private bathroom!


Good place

3.6 on October 02, 2011

A good option in cool neighbourhood. If we stayed downtown, we would have missed this great part of the city. All necessary facilities and transport connections nearby. Rooms are comfortable. We stayed in the Brickroom at the front, which was quite noisy with all the drunk university students on the weekend. Kitchen was tiny but had what we needed. Good breakfast.


Great accommodations with a friendly staff

4.6 on July 25, 2011

Great place to stay with lots of dining options within a short walking distance... Would definitely stay here again


Excellent accomodation

5 on June 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay with such friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was great and the whole place was spotless. The location was very convenient and we would thoroughly recommend the university B&B to any friends who travel to Montreal.


Very convenient

4.2 on June 10, 2011

Walking distance to all of McGill -- recommended for any stay involving the university. Also walking distance to restaurants.


Best place to stay for a whole lot of reasons

5 on June 02, 2011

As a long-time Montreal resident, I make this my choice when returning for brief stays. Why? Affordable, friendly, great staff, and really pleasant. If you're visiting Montreal you couldn't find a more centrally located B&B. It's mid-way between the Plateau and the Old-Port, walking distance (15-20 min or so) for each, and easy access to bike paths. Did I mention McGill? If you're coming to visit as a prospective student or parent thereof, you couldn't choose a better location. Steps from the campus, and in the heart of the student neighborhood that many undergraduates live in. It will give you a good sense of the place. Really, stay here. And if you're tired of going out, get dinner there if it's being offered-much better than a lot of other options you have around town.


Interesting

3.4 on May 12, 2011

Good service and interesting accommodation. Good continental type breakfast breakfast. Well placed for walking downtown on on Mount Royal.Would stay there again


Fabulous

4.4 on January 12, 2011

It is a wonderful establishment with wonderful staff and beautiful rooms. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Montréal!


Spacious Rooms with Delicious Breakfast

4.4 on September 23, 2010

We stayed at University Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights and it was really nice experience. The room was spacious with cute decorations and the whole check-in check-out process was smooth. The innkeepers are really nice and friendly. They have good breakfast and the room also comes with full kitchen/refrigerator. Overall it was a really pleasant stay and we definitely enjoyed our time there.


Good value B&B

3.6 on July 27, 2010

This is not your typical, cosy, but maybe fussy B&B. It's more of a cross with a youth hostel. It's not really the proximity to McGill University, but rather the smaller rooms (at least the one I had), and sharing a bathroom on the floor with 4 bedrooms (which is fine if that doesn't bother you and you don't need it urgently--there is an extra toilet in the breakfast room). Breakfast was fine, nothing fancy. Staff was very friendly. Everything was clean. Free wireless Internet. One can use the kitchen except during breakfast. Overall a great value for Montreal, and very well located as you can walk everywhere from here, downtown or the Plateau are ~20 min away (I walk fast). I liked it and recommend it.


Perfect in simplicity, peace and quiet, privacy, relaxing and restful accomodations

3.2 on July 10, 2010

It would be difficult to find a more peaceful and relaxing location for a Bed and Breakfast. I loved the simplicity of it all, especially the easiness of the late arrival check in. The traveller's room was perfect and the bed very comfortable. What really sets University Bed and Breakfast apart is the peace and quiet and the privacy. The breakfast was simple yet lovely and Shelley was adorable, kind, warm and a just a lovely host. From a value standpoint, maybe a little pricey, but it does buy you peace and quiet! Overall - Highly recommended.


B&B near Montreal down-town

3.6 on July 04, 2010

A very pleasant B&B near several busstops and within walking distance from the centre of Montreal. Very friendly staff. Good place to stay for a few days or a week (or 2). Take a 3day pass for buss and metro (just $14) and you ar set to go (it will even take you to the airport!). in short: great place to stay.


5 day stay

3.4 on June 29, 2010

Except for a leaking air conditioner the stay was absolutely fine and walking distance from everywhere we wanted to be.


Great place to stay!

3.8 on June 26, 2010

The staff are welcoming and it is right in the hub of the city so it is great to get around. Even though it is located in the heart of the city, the sleep was GREAT! I left my window open and I didn't hear a sound. I would definitely go back to this bed and breakfast and I would recommend anyone to try it out.


Nice and quiet B&B

3.6 on May 28, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the B&B very much. The room was very nice and had everything I needed. The breakfast was very good. However, all in all I found it a little expensive ($80 for a room with shared bathroom). Plus, it would be very helpful if a computer with internet would be provided for the guests.


winter weekend

3.6 on February 01, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the University Bed and Breakfast. This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and we will surely do so again. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our breakfasts in the morning. We stayed in the Beige Suite and found it to be very cozy. I would definately recommend staying at the University Bed and Breakfast.


Great B&B in a central location.

4.2 on January 04, 2010

Great B&B! Rooms are very clean, warm - I'm referring to the decor AND temperature:), and cozy; guests have a lot of privacy. Staff is welcoming and helpful. Common room is a great place to hang out, read, have an afternoon coffee or tea (provided for the guests). EXCELLENT location: walking distance to the McGill University (and other universities and colleges in town), downtown shopping, St. Laurent&St. Denis St restaurants and shops, Mount Royal park. Good weekly rates. I will definitely return there.


A very pleasant stay

4.2 on January 01, 2010

A very pleasant place to stay in the heart of Montreal.


Yellow Suite

4.8 on December 31, 2009

We really love this B&B and we come back there anytime we're in Montreal. The rooms are very comfortable, you feel at HOME! People are very nice and friendly, and the breakfast time is charming. Moreover, the position downtown is perfect! So... we definitely love it! Maria&Paolo


Loved the place!

4.0 on November 19, 2008

Wonderful people running this place , welcoming, generous, thoughtful which makes all the difference. James Harden, Portland


University Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $CAD 70 - $CAD 145
  • Reviews (25) 4.1
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5148426396
  • Toll free 1-8668426396

Visit Website »

View details

Top