B&B Le Cartier Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

Not your typical B&B. The best one we have enjoyed!

4.6 on April 16, 2014

Basic overview: My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Le Cartier. I read all the positive reviews (from a few sites) and even followed a suggestion to get an even better deal. Basically, it was the best price we could find, it was the most accommodating, and not your typical B&B. If you are interested you can read the rest of the review for more details (read the last part of the details to potentially get a better deal). Details: First, this place is very nice and extremely clean (it exceeded my wife's expectations, and she's the boss). Scott cleans the first floor everyday, bathroom, and cleans up your room if you want. Scott is really nice and does his job well, so make sure you tip him well). We stayed on the first floor, back room (Back Room 1C (Ground Fl), and it does look exactly like the picture (the Internet speed is also pretty good). The room is not that big, and there is a shared bathroom, but we didn't mind (there wasn't another guest staying in the other room, so we lucky and had the whole floor to ourselves). The kitchen is also small (again, not a problem for us), but all that you need is there. Everything is self-service, which we prefer, because we can go at our own pace in the morning or eat out. For breakfast there are three good cereals to choose from, croissants, jams and peanut butter, coffee (that you must make yourself) bagels, muffins, milk, OJ (the last four you find in the fridge). We also used the fridge to store our drinks, bagels (we liked Fairmount Bagel the best), and leftovers. Read the miss part on Tripadvisor Conclusion: If we every get a chance to come back to Montreal we are staying at Le Cartier. They treated us so well and helped to make our stay very enjoyable. I highly recommend, which is the reason I wrote this review (which I rarely do).


Encyclopedaic host, beautifully appointed, great location

5 on January 15, 2012

Our host probably doubled our useful time spent in Montreal by giving explicit directions to get to the sorts of things we wanted to do, even though our intentions were rather vague. One example: "Where do you want to eat?" "I don't know, maybe like a bistro?" "A traditional French bistro? Here is the address, here it is on the map - go straight to the bar, don't stand in the doorway looking like tourists. Get the house wine if you want - it's the only place in town where the house wine is excellent." Numerous options for the sorts of things we wanted to do were noted on a large map, and we were able to go straight to the door, as quickly as if we were natives. The place was either painstakingly restored or had never seen any wear and tear since it was built, God knows when, and it was exceptionally well decorated and filled with objets d'art. To top it off, it's like 50 to 100 meters from the metro and right down by the old town. Merci beaucoup, J & M


Wondeful first stay in Montreal B&B

4.2 on September 24, 2011

Other reviewers have sung the praises of this establishment and you know why? It is truly a delightful place to stay while visiting Montreal. Great location, being very close to the userfriendly metro station of Papineau. Entertainment, supermarkets, restaurants and shopping are simply around the corner on Rue St Catherine. Richard, the host, has created a tasteful selection of comfortable rooms. He was most helpful when we had problems with mislaid luggage on our arrival and made us feel welcome even when we arrived very late at night on a delayed flight. Beautiful attention to detail in both internal and external areas of this lovely B&B.


Great place to stay in Montreal

3.6 on January 23, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by how spacious and clean the rooms were. Also, the attention to detail in accommodations (breakfast, decor, convenience in maps and suggestions for places to eat and go) just made this place so worth the stay. I strongly recommend this place!


Lovely Place to spend a romantic vacation

4.4 on December 26, 2010

This B&B is phenomenal. The host has lived in Montreal for 40+ years and is very knowledgeable about the town. The B&B is walking distance from the Metro and supplies the guests with excellent choices for food and entertainment. A hidden gem in Montreal.


clean and quiet with friendly host

3.8 on November 30, 2009

Our host was super friendly and very familiar with the city. He provided a detailed outline for places to see and visit with a large complimentary map. The room was cozy, clean and quiet with just a few amenities. The B&B’s proximity to the nearest metro station is just 2 blocks away and only a few stops from downtown. A continental breakfast is offered in a shared but much updated kitchen with all necessities (tea/coffee, muffins/croissants, yogurt/cereal). Although, the bed was near the kitchen so we were awake when the neighbors prepared their breakfast. The only major drawback was that you must clean up and wash all dishes used. All in all, it was suitable and affordable for a quick weekend in the city.


excellent B & B

5 on March 24, 2009

Every one at Le Cartier was very helpful and friendly. Richard was exceptionally knowledgeable. My friends and I had a pleasant and relaxing stay and I highly recommend the establishment.


The Kindness of Strangers

3.4 on January 14, 2009

As others have said, Richard was knowledgeable and helpful and the nearby underground station really was just a couple of minutes walk. I was taken ill during early hours of the morning and had to wake Richard, he was extremely supportive & took me to the nearest hospital, staying with me and helping with administration, etc. He could not have been kinder & my sincere thanks to him.


Lovely place, great host

4.0 on September 23, 2008

Situated just a few minutes from the liveliest part of Montreal, Le Cartier is a great find. As other reviewers have said, Richard is a very welcoming and knowledgeable host. If you want a laugh, tell him you've just come from Toronto! Room was great. Breakfast is self-service in the shared kitchen area, which was great if you wanted a lie-in, but perhaps a little bit more choice of items would have been better.


Le Cartier-Montreal

5 on June 22, 2008

This was an excellent choice for places to stay in Montreal. The owner, Richard, was gracious, charming and very helpful in orienting us to the neighborhood, and attractions and amenities of the city. The facility is very clean and tastefully decorated. On the corner is the Papineau Metro station which will get you to to major attractions of Montreal in minutes.


Le Cartier is ideal for quiet tourists!

4.4 on August 19, 2007

The owner is delightful and helped us know exactly where to visit in Montreal according to our interests. Public transportation is quite nearby so we could travel quite easily!


B&B Le Cartier

Details

  • Nightly Rate $CAD 60 - $CAD 125
  • Reviews (11) 4.3
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Fax 1-5145245120
  • Mobile 1-5149171829
  • Toll free 1-8775240495

Visit Website »

View details

Top