Recent Reviews in Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania

Just what we wanted. at Jackson Run (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2016

We couldn't ask for more! Place was perfect. Donna was gracious. Our 3 year old loved the donkeys, horses and chicken. We will stay again. Greg and Amanda.

View more reviews for this inn


Home "back home" at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on March 08, 2016

My mom,my husband, my teen children and myself have stayed at the Barclay bed and breakfast a few times. My whole family is native to the area.Lisa is a terrific host and a wonderful cook.she really knows how to make you feel at home. The Barclay is in the center of Punxsutawney and the town square park is right out your window. Everything within walking distance. I love staying here for that reason. My family and I will return to the Barclay again! ¿¿ Sherri

View more reviews for this inn


Lisa was GREAT! at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on October 04, 2015

We spent a night here while visiting the GroundHog, and had a great stay. Lisa went out of her way to take care of us, and was a fabulous hostess and breakfast cook. The B&B is right downtown, and walkable to everywhere. (Note - for those not experienced in GroundHog festivities, the actual GroundHog ceremony is held about 2 miles out of town at Gobblers Knob, and shuttle buses are used to get everyone from town to the festivities.) But staying at Barclays is like staying with family.

View more reviews for this inn


COZY, PERFECT STAY. GROUNDHOG DAY OR NOT. at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 12, 2015

We made a quick, one-night stop in Punxsy during our Northeast road trip without knowing what to expect. Lisa made us feel right at home and, for the first time during our trip, we managed to get a great night's sleep. The next day, she made us an amazing breakfast consisting of her famous French toast (sooo good!) topped off with homemade syrup. It was a great experience that I'd recommend for anyone that happens to visit this lovely little town.

View more reviews for this inn


AWESOME!!! at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2015

This was a great place to stay. It was a relaxing environment and felt like we were back home. Lisa is a fantastic host and made us feel very welcome. Her breakfast is divine. Well worth staying at when visiting Punxsatawney. If we are ever in the USA again we will definitely be staying there. Thanks Lisa appreciate your time and cooking!

View more reviews for this inn


Home from home at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2015

What a wonderful stay we had in Punxsutawney! Lisa is a fabulous hostess, providing a delicious breakfast and making sure we were very well looked after. We had a very relaxing day and it was lovely to be in such a home from home. If we are ever nearby again we will certainly stay here. All our love, Alex, Sarah, Sally and Fiona

View more reviews for this inn


Sooooooo romantic! at Jackson Run (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2014

What an amazing place! It was quaint and quiet and so romantic... Donna (the owner) was accommodating and sooooo informative! She made us the most delicious vegetable omelets and home made banana bread. We spent the day shopping for antiques and enjoyed several restaurants in the area. The nearby Shadow Vineyard and Winery was a cherry on top of our visit. Just what we needed to recharge our batteries after the demands of Christmas. So glad we went when Groundhog Day was not the focus because we discovered so many other hidden treasures in Punxatawney! I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to everyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Going back!! at Plantation Bed and Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2014

Stayed before going back again. Love it, very comfortable and wonderful food.

View more reviews for this inn


We just left yesterday and I'm making plans to go back!! at Plantation Bed and Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2014

Being motorcycle enthusiasts, my husband and I will take spur of the moment, weekend road trips whenever we see a forecast for good weather - and this past weekend was GORGEOUS. We decided late Thursday to ride into Bellefonte, PA to visit a restaurant we were wanting to try, so early Friday I started looking for a hotel near there. FORTUNATELY all of the surrounding hotels were booked for a Penn State game. My searching for a room eventually led me to The Plantation House and I'm so thrilled it did. I believe things happen for a reason and this was one of those times. The house itself is so full of charm and you can just feel the history. I spent moments on the veranda drifting off imagining what it had been like and the people that had passed through. Julie keeps the place immaculate and adds such thoughtful touches throughout the house and the grounds (I noticed the reading glasses on a shelf in the library, a sun hat with a bag that I bet had a book in it left on a chair in the yard). Julie herself is very gracious and very friendly without being intrusive. And oh yessss - the blueberry pancakes are just perfect! My husband and I had never been to a B&B thinking it would just be awkward staying in a house with complete strangers....Julie and The Plantation House changed our thought on that!! Making plans for our 24th wedding anniversary - can't wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh - and for any fellow bikers reading this, 410E and 550N were a couple back roads we really enjoyed!!!!! Came home butt sore and sunburned and completely blissful ;) Ride safe! Kellie & Rod - Cleveland, Ohio

View more reviews for this inn


'Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend' at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and Lisa made us feel so welcome. Everything was perfect - our room was very clean with very comfy beds and we had plenty of room for a family of 4. Lisa's breakfasts were outstanding (and very plentiful - her french toast is to die for!) and it was so nice sharing the breakfast table with other guests and exchanging stories of our travels. Thank you so much Lisa for your most generous hospitality xxxxx

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place, warmhearted hostess at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

The house is beautiful and as central as anything could be in Punxsutawney. The room was extremely comfortable, and there is a selection of common areas to hang out in. The hostess is friendly but not intrusive and cooked two full breakfasts to order. Information and restaurant recommendations were also great.

View more reviews for this inn


Punxy Perfection at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 19, 2014

Our stay at the Barclay B &B last evening was absolutely perfect. The rooms were spotless, the service outstanding, and this mornings breakfast delightful. Our thanks to Lisa for her hard work, sense of humor, attention to detail, and a breakfast that we are still talking about! Lisa, you made this such a memorable experience and we cannot wait to return! Tom and Colleen

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on February 23, 2014

On February 9th while in Punxsy, my wife and I stayed at the Barclay B & B. We were very pleased with the overall accommodations. Lisa does a very good job of running this B&B. We recommend this place and will stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Met our expectations and more - excellent value at Plantation Bed and Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on October 18, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and have been very satisfied on each visit. I happened to browse through the reviews and thought I would add my comments. If you are looking for a place that is as good as any we have stayed in in Napa California, this is it. Lady was very personable. Very forthcoming. If your standard of excellence in building and amenities is the Adlon in Berlin Germany, then this is not for you. But the lady who owns and operates this place has a family history in the international hotel industry and she is excellent at it. Stay here for excellent facilities, top service, excellent value and genial conversation. Senior Citizen St.Catharines Ontario Canada

View more reviews for this inn


A home away from home! at Victorian Tudor Suite B&B (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2013

I had to come to Punxy to lay my mother's ashes to rest, so Nancy and Duane were so caring, especially I did not give them much notice for the reservation. My little son wants to come back in the summer to visit his cousins and to stay at this cool place. I am so grateful for this beautiful place, and thanks again to Nancy and Duane for their great work!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfy and charming! at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 23, 2013

We have stayed here repeatedly when we visit family. Lisa makes us feel so welcome and is always ready to accommodate us in any way. Kids feel comfy and truly feel like it's a home away from home. Perfect location in the smack dab middle of town, you will not find a better place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


True home away from home at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on September 06, 2013

I visited this home as a teenager -- that long ago. Still feels as comfortable and beautiful, and Lisa, the innkeeper, made it so welcoming -- I can't wait to go back. Actually, I'd prefer people NOT know about the Barclay, so there's always a room for me. p.s. I met a number of my parents' good friends over Lisa's great breakfasts. Introduce yourself!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on August 05, 2013

Very clean, cozy and quiet. Beautiful home near the heart of the city. Wonderful Innkeeper and delicious breakfast! Would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


cozy and quiet at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

3.0 reviewed on July 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Barclay last weekend. The room was comfortable and cozy and surprisingly quiet, especially being on a busy street. Lisa is an excellent Innkeeper! I would suggest a few minor amenities be considered such as a box of Kleenex in the bathroom, a garbage can and full length mirror in the bedroom. I rated "dining" unsatisfactory since we didn't eat there but there was no "does not apply" choice.

View more reviews for this inn


Barclay B&B at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2013

Stayed at the Barclay for two nights and it was, very simply, great. Lisa, the host, was wonderful and very helpful and the food was outstanding. We will stay here again on our next visit to Punxsutawney. Dan A

View more reviews for this inn


How could it get any better than this? at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2013

What a great night I spent at Barclay Bed & Breakfast! I felt so at home there, with the gracious welcome by Lisa London, and the beautiful and luxurious surroundings. The bed was super comfortable, and the room cozy, well appointed and clean. I am so grateful that a good friend recommended it to me, and I will certainly look forward to staying there again, when traveling to this part of Pennsylvania.

View more reviews for this inn


Great time for all at The Jackson Run at Jackson Run (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on June 15, 2013

For our family reunion, we rented the cottage at The Jacson Run for our kids and grand kids and their cousins. It was, I am sure, a rowdy bunch by the time the cousins arrived, but everyone of them has fond feelings for the place. Donna was very welcoming, despite the fact that she had broken her arm and was restricted from her usual routine. Personally, I don't know if I could have been as welcoming! The cottage was perfect for the grand kids as the adults could be more vocal in the little house. Beds were very comfortable and the fact that the entire place was taken up by our family was a real treasure trove! George took everyone off to practice archery which was a real hit. The lasts night they were there, everyone was running out in the yard and having a great time chasing. We couldn't believe how accommodating and welcoming both Donna and George were. Thanks so much for a great stay. Larry, Ruth and family

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B with Lovely Innkeeper at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on February 12, 2013

We visited for Groundhog Day weekend 2013. The house is very pretty and the common areas such as the dining room, living area, and kitchen are "homey", welcoming, clean, and nicely decorated. I felt right at home. Our Innkeeper, Lisa, was friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. You will not go hungry! The only downfall with staying during GHD is that during this time the rates will obviously be higher than usual with a minimum 2 night stay. One night is really enough for this little town. Nonetheless, this B&B is centrally located and within walking distance of the park, library, bars, restaurants, shopping, and all the action for GHD. I did not have the pleasure of viewing any of the rooms other than the Myers in which we stayed. The room was clean and spacious enough for 2 people. However, the only drawback is that since this house is so old, the room is not equipped with any heat. If you are staying during the winter months in this room, request space heaters and extra blankets. Lisa was kind enough to provide us with both as the temperature on this weekend was 1 degree and the room was significantly colder than the rest of the house. My only wish would have been for maybe a reduction in the rate for a room with no heat. Regardless, I highly recommend Barclay if you are visiting Punxy. You can't go wrong with the location, staff, and quality of breakfast. Thanks Lisa! Kim & Tom

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Jackson Run (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2012

Punxsutawney was a wonderfully delightful destination and this particular B&B was first on our trip. Donna, the innkeeper, was so generous and hospitable. I am a vegetarian and she made us an extra special breakfast soufflé which was to die for. Donna gave us interesting background information on the history of the property and the town. It was such a pleasure and so interesting. She also let us spend time with her pets (I've forgotten their names that this point but I know there was Dan (a horse) and Cadbury (one of the donkeys). For me, it was such great fun to be able to interact with the animals. My husband and I would recommend this destination to anyone and will definitely visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Fifty Year Anniversary Gathering at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2012

We returned to Punxsutawney to attend mass at the church that we were married in 50 years ago. We have multiplied to 21, 19 were able to join us. My cousin suggested the bed and breakfast and we began planning with Lisa, there was a room for each of my children and spouses and the grandchildren ages 9 to 20 were comfortably housed on the third floor with their own bath and sitting room. The house became a home away from home with the easy personality of the innkeeper, Lisa. She made a beautiful breakfast, we have stayed at many B & Bs and sometimes they are a bit stuffy, here there is beauty and comfort. Also in the tech age the first questions from the kids, was there wi fi and tv and there is. You can also use the gazebo on the property and walk to the park and downtown area. Will give this a five star rating all the way around and look forward to our next trip "home".

View more reviews for this inn


A Trip To Remember at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2012

My husband and I attended a family wedding in town for the weekend. Lisa, the innkeeper was so understanding when we arrived later than scheduled. She made us feel so welcome. The breakfast she served both days were exceptional! She even took time from her busy schedule to give me a tour of the town. The house has so much history, it took me back in time with all the decor selected for the period of the house. For my next visit to Punxsutawney The Barclay House will be my first choice.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem! at Jackson Run (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on August 27, 2012

What an unexpected surprise! My family had to book a room quickly for a funeral and after finding that there were no hotel chains in Punxsutawney (all are in DuBoise, about 17 miles away) we started looking at B&B's, of which there were not even that many. After reading through them several times, we settled on Jackson Run and could not have been happier. It was the perfect place to rest and unwind. My husband and I had stayed in one B&B previously and had decided that we were not interested in doing it again but this experience changed our minds. While there was lovely antique furniture everywhere, the bedroom and living areas were very homey and comfortable, not stuffy. And the modern amenities of wifi and cable tv were great. When booking the reservation, I had assumed the inn was on the main road in Punxsutawney, surrounded by other houses. Instead, we were able to leave the door and see cornfields and horses grazing. The newly arrived donkeys, the horses and the barn cat were a great plus for us. But if these things hold no interest for you, they do not stand in the way of a great stay. Breakfast was good, homemade food and it was only a 5-8 minute drive from downtown Punxsy. Donna, the innkeeper, is readily available to answer questions. I only wish this was closer to our home for weekend visits. We will definitely stay there the next time we visit.

View more reviews for this inn


College Moving In Roadtrip! at Jackson Run (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2012

We came to Jackson Run the weekend we moved our daughter in college at IUP. We had a long drive and even longer day getting her settled in! Donna greeted us as up pulled up and immediately made us feel at home! Our room was quaint and comfortable! We had an amazing night sleep. In the morning, we had enjoyed a simple homemade satisfying breakfast. We sat around the breakfast table and shared stories just as if we were at home talking among family and friends! Donna made us feel like we were her extended family who came home! My husband, children and I will be staying here whenever we have to travel far from home! Thank you Donna for making an emotional weekend an enjoyable one! Joe and Christine Leonardi and children

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience! at Barclay Bed & Breakfast (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2012

We were very warmly welcomed by Lisa, who helped us make the most of our short time in the town. The homemade cookies by her Mom tasted every bit as amazing as they looked! The whole house was spotless and our room was fantastic! Breakfast was amazing and cooked fresh for us in the morning too - and we all had a great chat around the table. We could not recommend the Barclay enough. A friendly and charming place to stay in a charming and fun town. Thank you Lisa :o)

View more reviews for this inn


A relaxing week in this warm and lovely farmhouse at Jackson Run (Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2012

We had the most wonderful time at Jackson Run and Donna is so warm and friendly. The house and property were quaint and perfectly kept. Our room was so quiet and comfortable. A wonderful big bathroom and great space to keep your clothes. Everything is so well thought out to make your stay one of the most relaxing experiences we have ever had. Delicous breakfasts as well.We will look forward to returning next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}