Dreamcatcher Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Moroccan Room at the Dreamcatcher House

5 on December 01, 2013

Our stay at The Dreamcatcher house couldn't have been better... The Moroccan Room was amazing (I'm a big fan of the hammock!) and the communal areas in the house were equally as welcoming and beautifully decorated. The outdoor shower is fantastic. We are instructed to rinse off after the beach to avoid getting sand in the house, but I used the outdoor shower for my daily bathing as well. (I highly recommend evening showers under the stars!) The bi-weekly yoga classes in the garden are truly magical. Great teachers, great energy. Sylvia was the perfect host. Very helpful with planning our vacation! Upon arrival you will receive a map with her recommended restaurants, cafes, shops; places I wouldn't have been able to find on my own! Outstanding first time Airbnb experience! I will definitely be back!! xoxo Sarah


The kind of place you see in travel magazines.

4.0 on November 25, 2013

We actually were upgraded to the Geisha room for our stay at the Dreamcatcher, so we got a bigger room with a shared/private bathroom. Sylvia's friend Sahid picked us up at the airport for a small fee and he got us settled in our room. The Dreamcatcher is like something you would see in a travel magazine. We found ourselves wandering around the house examining all the antiques and items Sylvia has collected over the years. Every time I was in a room I would notice something new I hadn't noticed before. We loved the exposure to the outside, besides the bedrooms every other room was open to the outdoors. The complimentary coffee was a great benefit so we could lounge around the house in the morning, taken in the scenery. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Having an a/c unit was a welcomed pleasure on days it was hot and sticky. The Dreamcatcher rooms each have a neighborhood map with recommendations that was very helpful and small booklet with guidelines. All of the food recommendations we tried were great. During our stay Meeshel was our hostess and she was so friendly and made us feel right at home. We also got massages from her and we both highly recommend taking advantage of the onsite massage therapist. My favorite part about the house was the outdoor shower. It was so nice to shower and look up and see the sky and an avocado tree. We had a good time meeting the guest as well and got to enjoy a community dinner with everyone. We both had such a wonderful time at the Dreamcatcher and hope to return again very soon.


Dream of a stay!

4.8 on November 25, 2013

amazing place! enjoyed the room, the house, the gardens, the outdoor shower, the hosts, Sylvia's home-made veggie burgers and freshly made sweet potatoe chips, and sharing them with a full house of beautiful folks out in the garden. hope to return next time in SJ!


Inspirational getaway

5 on November 24, 2013

Truly an amazing experience! I really cannot say enough good and honestly have nothing bad to say. The experience of staying at the Dreamcatcher house has left me refreshed, relaxed, and wholly inspired. My travelling companion and I could not stop discussing how much where we stayed had set the tone for our entire vacation. Staying with Sylvia, Meeshel, their pups, and the other guests was like staying with friends. I am already dreaming about the next time I will get to go back to the Dreamcatcher house!


A Tranquil escape of the mind, body, and spirit.

5 on November 24, 2013

My boyfriend & I loved the wonderful tranquility and aesthetic earthy tone of Slyvia's, "DreamCatcher home". Sylvia, Meeshel, Pippa, & Malda were all very friendly and warm. This amazing oasis has it all. We got to meet other curious and adventurous guests. Within the nestling Ocean Park neighborhood of San Juan; DreamCatcher is two blocks away from the beach and close to many delicious restaurants, cosy shops, and other nifty sights.


Saved my trip!

5 on November 23, 2013

Syliva is an amazing host. I had an emergency and she kindly accommodated my family of three compromising her personal comfort. Our stay at her house made our trip to Puerto Rico personal and memorable. I will be coming back just to see her!


Dreamcatcher is where you need to be

5 on November 22, 2013

This was such an unexpected adventure that I'm truly grateful for! When I arrived in San Juan, I got lost and a little stressed, but Sylvia calmed me down and helped me navigate back. She was an angel when I made it - a hug and a mug of tea ready. She is an amazing host and knows how to make you feel at home. Honestly, I felt more at home there than I do at my own home...I became friends with other guests and decided to extend my stay, which Sylvia was more than accommodating to. This is definitely the place you need to stay because it offers a peaceful sanctuary that is nice to start and end each day, and also offers yoga certain nights if guests wish to partake. The beach is right around the corner, and there are also nice shops and restaurants within several blocks. It's also a must because you need to meet Sylvia! I'm taking a note from her amazing interior decorating skills and hope I can bring some of that back into my place. This was my first visit to Puerto Rico, and having stayed here ensured it won't be the last!!


Serene island getaway

5 on November 21, 2013

The Dreamcatcher Guest House is absolutely splendid - Sylvia has an amazing design sense, and the house is amazingly affordable for the quality of living. (Also, the location in a gated community 2 blocks from a quiet beach cannot be surpassed.) Sylvia is a wonderful host and a beautiful person. She made me feel very welcomed and at home from the moment that I arrived (and even accommodated my 2:30am arrival time). I spent a lot of time around the house, and my time spent with Sylvia was lovely. I appreciated her kindness and look forward to visiting her again in the future.


Perfect Getaway

5 on November 21, 2013

Sylvia was an amazing hostess. Her home can only be described as magical. The energy of the place is serene and one can't help but feel right at home. I would come back over and over again.


The Perfect Place

5 on November 21, 2013

I'm SO glad I stayed at Dreamcatcher House! It was just what I needed. So peaceful, serene, relaxing. A place to be close to nature, clear your mind, revive your spirit, reflect, plan. The property is simply beautiful and located in an upscale, safe beach community. Sylvia is so wonderful and gracious. Every room of the house is enchanting. Do yourself a favor and take a pass on the big hotels this time and stay at Dreamcatcher House. You'll get a more up close and personal experience of San Juan and its people and you'll also be within minutes of the tourist areas. This is a place where you can stay up late on the porch, sipping a glass of wine, laughing and talking before you turn in for the night....then wake up late, walk into the kitchen in your bare feet and make a GOOD cup of coffee, relax in the garden and decide if you really want to take that tour or just chill. This is THAT place! ~Daphne Wilson, Chicago, IL


Dreaming in the Glass House

5 on November 20, 2013

It is rare to feel "at home" in a space other than the one that holds your own bed and pillows, but at Sylvia's Dreamcatcher house I felt so entirely welcome and comfortable. The connection I shared with Sylvia, the other guests, her two pups, and the space was intimate and easy. I actually did not stay in the Library space. Instead I spent a week in my "dollhouse", or the Glass House, and was completely content. I loved the glow of the colorful paneled doors, the embroidered white sheet placed over the couch, and the abacus above my pillows that helped me keep track of all the sheep. When I woke up in the morning I would slide down from the lofted bed and step outside the doors to begin doing yoga in the courtyard. Sylvia became a friend more than a host and that is what I appreciate most about staying at this beautiful home. I look forward to returning with my whole entire heart.


Dreamcatcher is A++

4.8 on November 20, 2013

We had a wonderful trip. I was pleasantly surprised when Sylvia offered to pick up up at the Airport. Sylvia is a gracious host, very friendly & helpful. I had seen the pictures on the internet and knew what to expect (very good marketing). The house is lovely, airy and light; a piece of art in itself. The "enthusiastic dogs" Sylvia mentioned are VERY well behaved. No worries if your not a dog lover, but if you are, it's a definite plus. Wifi & AC both worked great. I had good cell (TMobile & ATT) reception too (better than mine at home). No TV - which was great. I like to cook and Syliva mademe feel right at home, so we had lazy breakfasts at home, no need to go foraging in the AM. Plenty of time to read and watch the birds & lizards (both beautiful in their own way). The location is very good. Not too Far from the airport, not too far from the old city. The house is 2 blocks from the beach & 2 blocks from the most amazing bakery/cafeteria I've been to outside of Europe. We took the bus to San Juan Viejo a couple of times. It's not secret that the transit system is bad. However, if you're adventurous (& patient), it's not the worst; we met several nice people. It was my vacation and I definitely did not want to worry about traffic. The house is about 15 minutes walking distance to Candado if you want trendy or US franchised restaurants. There are a few local places nearby, as well as a mini market. The 24 hour grocery store is not too far, either. Great if you have a car. Overall it was very good - A++


Dreamcatcher Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $189
  • Reviews (12) 4.9
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7874558259
  • Fax 1-8887906868

Visit Website »

View details

Top