Ceiba Country Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
48 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect!

5 on July 02, 2014

We loved Ceiba Country Inn! Family with 2 kids ages 6 & 10 - perfect weekend stay for us. We will definitely be back!


Loved our stay at Ceiba Country Inn

4.6 on June 25, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Ceiba Country Inn. We loved the fact that it was up in the hills and gave us a break from the more touristy areas. A cool breeze always awaited us and the view was beautiful. Michael and Chris were gracious hosts and we loved the dogs! Listening to the coquis and rain at night was soothing and our stay at the inn was definitely a highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico.


May 2014

4.0 on June 15, 2014

Stayed one night between flights into San Juan and out to Vieques the next day...very nice people, very good breakfast...we would stay there again without hesitation


Wonderful stay at Ceiba Country Inn

4.2 on May 31, 2014

Michael & Chris were very helpful! The room was nice. The grounds were lovely. We would definitely recommend this place to others. Great value!


Thank You Ceiba Country Inn

3.6 on May 29, 2014

Thank you Michael for your hospitality! We travel all over and always end up meeting someone from home. Glad it was you and we'll spread the word re: your abode stateside. Great spot - we are both mad we didn't record the "night sounds" so cool - sorry we didn't stay longer. Great recommendation on the restaurant Estation (did I spell that right?)- and looking forward to see if we can get back there once your pool is in. How cool is that view going to be from a floaty?! Take care. thanks again.


Peaceful stay near the Rainforest - Beautiful!

5 on May 01, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Cebia Country Inn. The setting is very peaceful and relaxing. We were able to leave our windows open at night so we were sung to sleep by the Coqui frogs and birds...very tranquil and wonderful. The rooms were nice and clean, well kept and stocked with magazines, beach towels and local travel information. The breakfast was enjoyable with many tropical fruits and sweet breads. The hosts were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The only draw back to the location is the winding roads on the way there -- locals like to drive down the middle of the road, lots of blind curves, no lines painted on the road -- slightly unnerving.


An Amazing Rainforest Getaway!

4.8 on February 27, 2014

There are many places to choose from when visiting Puerto Rico, and frankly, most of them lack the character, charm, and scenic natural beauty of The Ceiba Country Inn. This quaint B&B is but a few miles off the main highway on the east end of Puerto Rico, but it's high up in the foothills of the El Yunque rainforest - one of only a handful of such accommodations in the rainforest. Our room had a Caribbean view with the island of Culebra visible in the distance. At night, the Inn is immersed in a tropical symphony of night sounds, starring the Coqui tree frog. It was a unforgettable experience to feel the cool night breezes and listen to the wonderful sounds of nature! The friendly dogs there greeted us with excitement and made us miss our dog at home just a little bit less. We celebrated the evening of our anniversary there, and the owner, Michael, was kind enough to indulge us with a home-cooked meal and a bottle of wine that I set up with him in advance. The cooking was local Puerto Rican cuisine - the best we had the entire trip - and many of the ingredients came from right there on the property! Likewise, the breakfasts were fantastic with a selection of exotic juices, excellent local Puerto Rican coffee, fresh baked breads, and a wide variety of fresh fruits and eggs from on site. I actually stumbled upon this place because our beach resort wasn't available the entire duration of our trip, but if I had to do it over again, I would have stayed here the entire time! If you're looking for a unique experience on Puerto Rico and love nature (even the brief, heavy rain showers were charming), look no further!"


Peaceful refuge

4.0 on February 18, 2014

Really warm welcoming hosts, beautiful setting, a lovely relaxing stay. Loved petting the friendly doggies and listening to all the frogs and birds that live in the lush vegetation surrounding the property.


Awesome place to stay in PR

4.4 on January 28, 2014

Ceiba County Inn was a GREAT place to stay. We were greeted right away by the dogs, and Michael and others were just wonderful!


Excellent Service

5 on January 11, 2014

Awesome stay and very helpful management. Thanks for a wonderful stay and wonderful food!


Quaint B & B located near El Yunque

3.8 on August 26, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Ceiba Country Inn. Michael was a wonderful host and was very pleasant during our visit. He was a wealth of knowledge of things to do in the area. The B & B was very private and you felt like you were secluded in the rainforest. The onsite pets also made us feel welcome and made me miss my cats at home. We would definitely go back again and plan to :) Very reasonably priced - don't hesitate to book your stay!


Great scenery, great location!

5 on April 11, 2013

We only spent one night at the Ceiba Country Inn, but everything went smoothly. It's surrounded by rainforest, and the coqui frogs are calling all around. Two very friendly dogs are on the property, as well as a few cats. The included continental breakfast was delicious, including eggs, sausage, cereals, fresh fruits, juices, coffee, and tea. We would definitely stay here again.


Great place to stay!

4.2 on March 20, 2013

Had a great time staying at the Ceiba Country Inn during our recent trip to Puerto Rico. Easy to find from directions on website. Very basic but clean accommodations. Michael was incredibly helpful in telling us how to get to various places and making recommendations for the area. Easy to get to Fajardo to take the ferry to the smaller islands, and close to El Yunque as well. Breakfast is simple and delicious: fruits, juices, homemade baked goods. We would definitely consider staying again on our next trip!


A slice of paradise

4.8 on November 21, 2012

Perfect location for a peaceful vacation. Our hosts were very gracious and made us feel right at home. Everything was clean and well decorated. The cold breakfast buffet includes local fruit and delicious homemade breads. The double beds could use mattress toppers, but they were still comfortable. We can't wait to come back and relax again in paradise.


A Little Bit of Heaven

5 on August 19, 2012

The view was beautiful, the place was clean, the rates reasonable. Now the food was to die for! Loved it. I can't wait to go back again.


Wonderful get away

4.0 on July 16, 2012

This amazing country home sounds as is. It is away from the hustle and noise of the city but close enough if you have a need to go party in old San Juan. I stayed in the family room, it was large with a refrigerator, double sink and lovely bathroom, it was great. The air conditioner worker perfectly but at night with the fans going and the Coqui's singing no need and it was turned off. The next morning we where greeted by several frogs hooping around the property since it rained the night before, it was exciting. The mountain views are tranquil the palm tress and ocean view are unforgettable. The smell of the country island is indescribable during the mornings, taking a nice walk through the land you find your self visiting the chickens and baby rabbits. On your way you can discover Mango, plantain, coconut and paracha trees. The only time I encountered other guests was during breakfast and they were all delighted about the Inn. At night it can get dark if you want to walk around and search for Coqui's so I would suggest a flash light but the property and walk to the rooms are well lite. On your return be prepared to be greeted and chauffeured to your room by the dogs Shakira and Casper, they where loving and playful. I would definitely recommend this Country Inn, my over all experience was outstanding. Cant wait to return.


Our fourth visit!

5 on June 25, 2012

Michael and Pedro have again exceeded our expectations! This was our fourth visit to the Ceiba Country Inn and every time gets better! The views are spectactular and Michael is full of local information. We will be coming down to Puerto Rico in November to put our boat in the water and will be looking forward to staying again at Ceiba Country Inn.


Best part of our PR trip!

4.4 on June 25, 2012

This place is heavenly. The room was very comfortable and the breezes and views were wonderful. The coqui calls weren't too loud and the breezes fresh enough that we didn't need to use the A/C any of the three nights we stayed. The hosts were very nice and the breakfast fruit, breads, and coffee hit the spot each morning. The friendly dogs were as cute as can be as well. Nights on the patio were the best part, especially if there is a breeze and a clear sky to see the stars. We look forward to returning!


Who wouldn't love paradise?

4.0 on January 10, 2012

Our family stayed during the week from Christmas through New Years, And had a very enjoyable time. We were surrounded by paradise ! The grounds, gardens and views were awesome. The rooms were Decorated in fresh tropical paints and prints. Very clean and every Comfort made easily available. They thought of everything! We had cute beach bags and towels ready to go. And they let Borrow a cooler and beach chairs for day outings to the local Beaches. Michael's recommendation were great and he even had Maps to help us get around to all our favorite places! Breakfast Was fresh, home baked and delicious. The breakfast room was A nice place for our family to gather and plan our day. The service was impeccable.


Vacation in Ceiba

4.0 on January 01, 2012

Relaxing place, good breakfast, nice view of the Mountain & beach


Fantastic Quiet Location--Great Price!

4.0 on October 06, 2011

We stayed at the Ceiba Country Inn in February for the entire week of our stay in Puerto Rico. The room and breakfast were absolutely satisfactory--delicious fresh fruit and exotic juices, tasty baked goods. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and were very friendly, as was Michael the innkeeper. He provided us with lots of information and maps about the area, recommended an excellent restaurant, and helped us with directions to plan our drives all over the island. The lobby is well stocked with books and information on PR to peruse over breakfast on the terrace looking down to the sea. The location was extremely beautiful--lush gardens and a view of the sea--and convenient to El Yunque, San Juan, bioluminescent bay and so on. Even though we also traveled to the western and southern parts of the island, PR is small enough that we were able to easily use this B&B as our home base for the week. The price was definitely right, and Michael was kind enough to give us a discount since we stayed so long. I would certainly recommend it to anyone traveling to Puerto Rico. Last but not least, the delightful dogs and cats that populate the Ceiba Country Inn truly made the experience feel like home.


excellent

5 on August 27, 2011

beautiful and quiet place.


Absolutely fantastic experience!

5 on August 20, 2011

We were amazed by the service and cleanness of the place. We arrived very late at night and found our room ready and welcoming note attached to the door. The owner Michael greeted us in the morning and we had a spectacular breakfast on the terrace. Wow! Definitely will stay there again and will bring friends! Thank you! Maya Sarkisyan, FL, USA


Wonderful place to stay

4.2 on August 15, 2011

Very beautiful location, in the nature, so peaceful. Michael, the owner, is super nice. Simple but delicious breakfast. Very clean.


A Beautiful Site

3.0 on July 14, 2011

The inn's location is just beautiful. I wish the breads were home baked everyday...I believe I noticed breads that were identical to those sold in supermarket. Ok, it's a hot island who wants to bake everyday, right? Sure, just don't highlight on the web as such: "We feature home made baked goods like banana bread and cinnamon nut coffee cake" The host was more or less invisible but the inn-keeper was totally available.

Innkeeper Response
First of all, I just want to thank everyone for your time in writing reviews; they mean a lot to us. We strive very hard to make the Ceiba Country Inn a pleasurable and memorable experience for all. We know there are many choices in accommodations, so it's an honor to be your choice. Of course, it is very important to us that the information on our website is true and accurate; one of my pet peeves is false advertising and misleading information. With that said I would like to take this opportunity to clarify what appears to be a misunderstanding about the breads we serve. The information on our website regarding freshly baked breads IS true and accurate. With over 25 years experience working as a chef, I am very happy and proud that I bake and serve home baked breads each morning for breakfast. I use our own home-grown bananas for my banana bread, and our home grown coconut for my mandarin orange pecan bread. Other favorites among our clientele, all of which I bake on site, include cinnamon swirl bread, pumpkin bread with cranberries and pecans, and my classic crumb cake. The breads are identified as home made and the particular varieties I'm serving are identified with a sign on the breakfast buffet. I would also like to point out that there is no "invisible" host! As both host and Innkeeper, I am pretty much available any time between 6am and 9pm. Thank you.


WOW WOW WOW

5 on May 14, 2011

From the moment I contacted them to the moment we checked out, this place was incredible. Professional, warm, helpful... all are adjectives I could easily use...magical is the best description. Located high atop a mountain in the Puertorican Rain forest, this bed and breakfast was a great find, and we will DEFINITELY return there in the future. At night you can hear the famous Coqui frogs singing, at day you can look across an amazing landscape to see mountains behind you and oceans in front of you. It was 20 minutes drive from Old San Juan, 30 from the Airport. Easily accessible by the major roads and centrally located to all the great things on this part of the island. PERFECT for rain forest explorers. The rooms were clean and well equiped, the breakfast included fruits from the various amazing trees they had ON THE PROPERTY, and each morning you were greeted with home made bread in the lobby (one of the owners is a professional chef.) They Owners were incredibly helpful as well - they made reservations and provided maps to local eateries, and even made reservations for us at a few excursions (if you go, be SURE to go night time kayaking at the bio-luminescent bay - it was incredible!) TWO MAJRO THUMBS UP!


Wonderful retreat!

3.6 on March 28, 2011

Very easy to find, clean, quiet and comfortable. I would stay there again. The owners make you feel very welcome. The view from the deck is breathtaking!


Best deal in town

4.2 on March 04, 2011

Stayed one night with a friend and was more than satisfied with the experience. It was the cheapest room in "town" and even included breakfast! (The food was basic, but still good.) The view from the main area is fantastic. I was pleasantly surprised by the large, nice bathroom in our room. The innkeeper was particularly helpful and pleasant. Also, the directions were quite good considering how many times I got lost driving in Puerto Rico!


Outstanding

4.8 on February 22, 2011

This was our second stay at Ceiba Country Inn. It was everything we had remembered it was from our first visit. Great place to fall in love and to celebrate that love. Thank you Mike and Pedro for a wonderful anniversary


Good value in a great location

3.4 on February 20, 2011

We wont forget the symphony of coqui's--the rooms are small and the one we stayed in needed a bit of refurb but the location is great with easy access to the ferry to the islands. Mike was very helpful and the stay very pleasant. Definitely good value for money in a generally expensive part of the world


Great Place to Stay

3.0 on February 08, 2011

The views are great. The only reason I did not rate it outstanding is because I read so much about it before arriving that I answered it was what I expected. J.


Ciebe Country Inn was wonderful!!!

4.4 on August 20, 2010

We traveled with our two adult children and the accomodations at Ceibe Inn were perfect. The room we stayed in had one queen bed and two twin beds. The sounds of the rainforest birds, frogs and owls was so peaceful. I would highly recommend this Inn for anyone traveling to Puerto Rico.


great respite from hustle of Old San Juan

4.2 on March 29, 2010

We had a great two day stay at Ceiba Inn. We had an apt. in Old San Juan for a week but opted to go to Ceiba Inn for two of those days. It's a great place and the owner was helpful about dining, El Junque etc. We would definately recommend this B&B to others. Wish we could have stayed longer! Georgiana Ely Erie, Pa.


Fun At Ceiba Country Inn

4.4 on March 21, 2010

Great location, super breakfast, very helpful inn keepers


Truely a Country Inn

4.2 on March 20, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ceiba Country Inn and Puerto Rico in general. Michael and Pedro were very hospitable and recommended great places to eat. We met other travelers we enjoyed visiting with on the deck that has a great view to the east. The other visitors were quiet but the coqui were quite loud throughout the night. We enjoyed the sound but if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs!


Best of rainforest and ocean locations

4.4 on March 02, 2010

We just got back from two nights at the Ceiba Country Inn and wish we could have stayed longer. The new owners are friendly and helpful, offering a breakfast with good variety of fresh breads and fruits, creating walking paths in their large rain forest property, and giving great recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area (along with detailed hand-drawn maps to make sure you get there). The location is ideal, nestled in a well-forested plot so you are surrounded by the sounds of the frogs and birds, but you also have a beautiful view of the ocean from the large second-floor balcony where breakfast can be eaten or you can just lounge around. We are definitely looking forward for the chance to go back!


Puerto Rico's Hidden Treasure

5 on January 27, 2010

You need not be a pirate to go looking for "Booty" in the Carribbean. The treasure is hidden in the owners of Ceiba Country Inn. Michael and Pedro give tourists sterling service. What can you pay for a view of both the Rain Forest and The Ocean from the dining deck? Our room was clean and neat. The drive up the mountain was part of the adventure of being in a country where only Spanish was written on the signs. The homemade banana bread and fresh fruit exploded the natural flavor of Puerto Rico along with a hot cup of Java. Our only regret was that we did not choose to be at Ceiba Country Inn the whole time we were in Puerto Rico. I highly recommend this experience to anyone wanting more than just a room and a shower.


recommended

3.8 on January 12, 2010

a very nice place to stay for one or a few nights - very clean rooms - great nature rain forest around the area - very friendly staff


Roomy, comfortable place to stay.

4.0 on January 10, 2010

Owner very friendly, nice view, good bird sounds gives the place a forest feel


Location rocks!

4.0 on January 01, 2010

This inn is one of the best ways to experience El Yunque's environs. The views from the rooftop deck of Fajardo and the islands beyond are amazing. Make sure to get here before sunset. Also, having the complimentary breakfast on the rooftop deck while watching the sun rise in the morning is a wonderful experience. Owner Michael Marra was extremely helpful in providing information on dining options and getting around the area (not to mention pointing us to a couple of hiding places frequented by the elusive, tiny, but deceptively loud coquis -- we finally saw one). The room was clean and catered to the basic needs. Tip: Turn on the fan of the AC if the call of the coquis comes in the way of falling asleep .


Wonderful stay!

4.6 on December 14, 2009

We (a professional couple on our 30'es) thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Ceiba Country Inn. The place looks just like in the pictures, nesting in this incredible surroundings of rain forest. I couldn't get enough of that beautiful view while having my breakfast on the big terrace every morning. The breakfast itself was good - amond the usual toast and cerials also fresh fruits from the nextdoor forest were offered every morning. We stayed there for 4 days, but noticed many came to stay only one night. We would recommend staying a bit longer to fully enjoy the experience. After a day's hike in El Yunque and a dinner in a nice restaurant, it was lovely to return to this peaceful place and either read and relax or play one of the many board games available by the house while frogs, birds, grasshoppers, and roosters started their every night concert. Michael, the owner, was the most helpful host you could imagine of helping us with our numerous questions and sharing his wide knowledge of the area, nature, and the culture. I would highly recommend this place!


A great find!

3.4 on March 10, 2009

If you like it remote with the sounds of the rain forest then this is the place for you.


Feb. in Puerto Rico

2.8 on February 18, 2009

The country inn was what I expected. Not fancy but clean, I would stay there again.


Amazing PLace!!!

4.8 on January 28, 2009

They now have 5 dogs that will give you a warm greeting when approaching the top of the steep driveway! Beautiful bed and breakfast located right outside the rain forest! The owners are exepticoinally nice! We were pleasntkly surprised at the size of the room and the cleanliness. The breakfast they offer is AWESOME, homemade cake or something was soooo delicious!! Highly recommended!!


Safe haven

4.4 on January 15, 2009

The low key but very warm reception kicked off a great couple of nights. Sue accomodated our request to leave luggage there while we spent a night on Vieques. The beds were comfortable, the shower hot (unlike Vieques), and the breakfast more than adequate. We'd stay there again! GK from Atlanta


Great place

4.0 on November 18, 2008

I hate to let the cat out of the bag. This is a very nice place to stay. My family and I are coming back this year. The accomodations were very clean, hot shower, great breakfast, and the kids liked the giant toads in the garden. Perfect place to go ifyou plan on renting a car and seeing the whole island.


good value

3.6 on September 28, 2008

nice place, relaxing and quiet


Excellent alternative to expensive San Juan

3.4 on August 24, 2008

CCI is a bit difficult to find, but the owners provide excellent, detailed directions prior to your arrival. It's about 30-45 minutes from the airport if traffic is light...allow plenty of time. This is a great place to base yourself for a few days while you explore El Yunque rain forest and the Bio bay or lagoon. You'll need to rent a car...cab fare from the airport would be pretty steep. This is not a fancy place, and the atmosphere is very laid back. That fits my travel expectations...we're not looking for overpriced meals and casinos when we travel, but lots of other people want those things. The owners are friendly and will make specific recommendations if asked to do so. They tend to be rather quiet, and some people might take that for indifference or unfriendliness. But the small effort you make to engage them will pay big dividends. For example, they recommended a restaurant in nearby Fajardo the first night of our stay that was excellent. It's called Metropole. You can get authentic Puerto Rican cooking there without spending a fortune (we paid $47 for three people--it bought a multi-course meal with excellent local specialties). If we had not booked CCI, we most likely would have stayed in San Juan and taken expensive tours to the rain forest and the bio lagoon. This place sits at the top of a hill with views of the ocean and the rain forest. At night, small tree frogs serenade you to sleep. The breakfast features fresh baking and excellent fruit. For my mind, renting a car and staying here beats piling on a tour bus and booking a $200/night room in SJ.


Ceiba Country Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $95
  • Reviews (48) 4.2
  • Rooms 9

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7878850471
  • Fax 1-7878850475
  • Toll free 1-8885602816

Visit Website »

View details

Top