Casa do Valle Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

On August 25,28 2014

4.2 on August 29, 2014

I spent three days with a friend at Casa do Valle, Sintra. The view over the surrounding countryside is simply amazing. We could even see the moorish castle and some palaces on the top of the hill. Our room was very cozy and equipped with everything we needed to prepare our breakfast or even some tea before going to sleep.It is situated not far from the centre of the town but far enough for you to feel that you are away from all noise, in a pleasnt, romantic place. Yet, you can get easily to all the interesting places in the surrounding area. I would recommend this B&B hotel to anyone who would like to spend a pleasant vacation in Sintra.


Wonderful Visit!

5 on April 20, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of spending two weeks at Casa do Valle. In the many places I have stayed throughout the world, Casa do Valle is No. 1 on my list in service, hospitality and overall accommodations. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by the owner with great warmth and friendliness; and throughout my stay, she was always extremely helpful in proving information about the local sights and activities. The location was superb, offering beautiful views of the mountains, valley and castles, and within easy walking distance to many sights in the town and surrounding area. The room was impeccably clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable. The staff was well-trained, cheerful, efficient, and seemed to take great pride in being a part of Casa do Valle. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast, which was so lovely to eat on the terrace. My visit here was a very special time in every way and I would highly recommend Casa do Valle.


A treasure B&B

5 on July 07, 2013

Spent a couple of days in Sintra, at Casa do Valle. The hostess is super nice, it is easy to see that she loves entertaining guests. The care and thought that the management put into little details makes this stay absolutely wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, we had a room that overlooked the castle and the town and we could see the sunset from the balcony. Very good experience, I can recommend to anyone who visits Sintra and wants a comfortable, place where to feel at home during a few days and enjoy a romantic vacation.


Portugalin huhtikuu

5 on June 10, 2013

Vietin sisarusteni kanssa pitkän viikonlopun Sintrassa Casa do Vallessa. Paikka oli mainio: kaunis, rauhallinen ja siisti.Henkiläkunta oli eritäin ystävällistä ja avuliasta, ja iso apu oli tietysti sillä, että majatalon emäntä Virpi on suomalainen. Lyhyen loman aikana jäi Sintrasta vielä paljon näkemättä ja palaan varmasti uudelleen Casa do Vallen viihtyisiin huoneisiin ja upeaan puutarhaan!


Paradise in the hills of Sintra

4.8 on September 02, 2012

Once we arrived at Casa doValle and welcomed by Virpi, a charming lady from Finland, we felt right at home and relaxed. The view from the pool area is amazing from dawn to sunset and even at night it's wonderful to look at the lights of the castle on top of the hill. Casa do Valle is a great starting point for many things that you can do in the area. A hike to the castles, a walk into town, a visit to one of the beaches in the area, a visit to a great local restaurant. Virpi knows all the places where you see, taste and feel this unique part of Portugal at it's best. We look forward to come back and hope that many other guests will recognize the warmth and value of this place. A true paradise in the hills of Sintra. Norman - The Netherlands


Perfect retreat

4.0 on August 27, 2012

I spent 6 nights at Casa do Valle in August with my teenage daughter and it simply wasn't long enough! The setting is idyllic, with particularly glorious views from the pool. Whilst it would be the obvious place for a romantic stay, Virpi and her family had thought of everything to make it equally as welcoming to families. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There is plenty to do within walking distance or by taking the very efficient public transport or reasonably priced taxis, so hiring a car is really not necessary. The accommodation was spotless and the position, though down a steep lane, in my opinion, impossible to beat. We would both absolutely love to return!


A great holiday at Casa do Valle

4.4 on June 17, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Casa do Valle, Sintra. Virpi and her team were very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our balcony had a brilliant view of the stunning Pena Palace and Moorish Castle...and if that's not enough, also the countryside towards the Atlantic Ocean. Our room was really well-equipped with everything we needed to make our own breakfast, but Virpi's breakfasts and dinner platters were too tempting! Casa do Valle is in a great location - out of the busy-ness of Sintra, but close enough to be able to experience all the area has to offer. We loved it.


Fantastic b&b

4.4 on May 15, 2012

The rooms are so comfortable and clean. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. Viripi made us feel cared about when our friend was pick pocketed. Can't recommend this b&b more highly.


A must for a visit to Sintra

4.4 on April 19, 2012

We went to Sintra to get a break from the atmosphere in London, and Casa do Valle was one of the best decisions we made. The room was spacious and came with a balcony that afforded a wonderful view of the Pena Palace and the surrounding countryside. Every day, the room was stocked with bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits to start your day. There is also an option for a more substantial breakfast for a very reasonable price. Virpi is extremely friendly and accommodating. She takes excellent care of you and genuinely tries to make your stay more enjoyable. When we wanted to rent bikes to explore the area, Virpi was extremely helpful in finding a terrific place to do so. There are probably slightly cheaper places around Sintra, but, if you are looking for a relaxing getaway in a beautiful B&B with a fantastic owner, Casa do Valle is the best place to go. We have recommended Casa do Valle to many of my family and friends, and if we go back to Sintra, we will definitely stay with Virpi again!


Magical Sintra and Casa do Valle

5 on April 18, 2012

Very friendly, informative, all restaurants, beaches, hiking paths, local history, recommended by our hostesses were wonderful. I even had a broken tooth and Virpi graciously made a dental appointment with a superb clinic. My husband had his birthday while there and we came back from dinner to a lovely chocolate fondue provided by Casa do Valle with a Portuguese happy birthday sung to him by Virpi & Martta. The choices for breakfast had a nice variety to choose from, plus lovely fresh fruit and coffee. You can see 3, plus castles from the yard. Quiet, peaceful. Good beds. Short walk to restaurants. Lovely neighborhood.


great place with great views

4.8 on March 10, 2012

Great spot for R&R, trekking and visiting a terrific UNESCO World Heritage site. History and art by the ton. Views of the valley, at dawn, sunset or any time, from our top floor room are just a pathway into your soul. As far as the establishment is concerned, do they rate B&Bs with six stars? They should for this one. Mike and Joan Napanee, Ontario Canada


Inn with a Magnificent View

4.0 on September 16, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at Casa do Valle and it was a truly wonderful experience. Our hostess made us fee at home immediately. Everyone was very helpful. Our room had a great balcony with a fabulous view. It was very relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle of Sintra, but close enough to walk to dinner. I would highly recommend it.


A Special Gem

4.4 on July 06, 2011

Casa do Valle is that special gem where you immediately feel comfortable and welcome. Quiet and clean without any fussiness but plenty of attention to detail Virpi and her family are delightful hosts eager to accommodate their guests. They know what their guests want through years of experience. The little room with high-speed internet and books and brochures is convenient and helpful. The proximity to the center of old town makes it an ideal location and the views from the property are stunning. Breakfast on the patio, the hammock on a relaxing morning, poolside with a chilled bottle of Green wine in the late afternoon, reflexology for my tired feet uner he canopy....are all fond memories of our stay at Casa do Valle. I wholeheartedly recommend this charming B&B to others.


Casa do Valle....Sintra's Gem

4.0 on May 05, 2011

My husband and I were travelling together with my daughter and her husband and their 1 year old child. We arrived at Casa do Valle and were pleasantly surprised with our two lovely rooms with adjoining balconies that offered a breathtaking view. In preparation for our grandchild, a new crib had been put together with comfy bedding. The weather was mostly favourable, but one cool evening after a day of sightseeing, we were delighted to find the stove in our room crackling with a warm fire. On another day, our daughter's birthday was acknowledged with flowers and a box of chocolates! Our host Virpi was not only gracious, but obviously intelligent speaking six languages fluently! During our stay she suggested restaurants, and ordered dinner for us when we wanted to relax in our rooms. Always available to help, Virpi thoughtfully provided me with a camera when she determined that I had left my battery charger at home. After spending six days at Casa do Valle, I left with the feeling that we could be friends. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely B & B to anyone.


Kodikas ja viihtyisä paikka, upeat näköalat, hyvä palvelu

4.8 on March 16, 2011

Vietimme maaliskuisen viikon Sintrassa Casa do Vallessa. Paikka on upea - vain kivenheiton päässä vanhasta historiallisesta keskustasta, rauhallisessa ympäristössä, missä oli sitruunapuita, kielopuut tuoksuivat huumaavasti ja linnut lauloivat. Parasta oli kuitenkin näköala huoneesta ja parvekkeelta - kukkulat, joiden päällä satumaiset linnat ja linnoitukset - pimeällä ne oli valaistu ja tunnelma oli vielä enemmän sadunhohtoinen. Palvelu oli leppoisaa ja mutkatonta - kuin olisi kylässä vanhan tutun luona - paikan emäntä Virpi on suomalainen. Viimeiseksi päiväksi tilasimme Virpin avulla ayervedisia hoitoja - kasvo-, pää- ja jalkahierontaa - suosittelemme lämpimästi kokeilemaan. Oli tosi rentouttava loppusilaus ihanalle lomaviikollemme.


Fabulous stay in Sintra

4.4 on February 15, 2011

This was just a gem of a find. Virpi was extremely helpful -gave us a lot of information about the castles and palaces to see and also about restaurants. The location of the property is very convenient - one can walk to most sights. Sintra is gorgeous and we had a great experience. We had a breakfast brought to our rooms every morning - fresh seasonal fruit was especially nice. We took a train in to Lisboa which was very convenient.


a most pleasent holiday

5 on February 01, 2011

If you are looking for a wonderful get-a-way either alone or with someone special I can highly recommend Casa do Valle in Sintra - I've been there with my husband, with my friends and finally alone and every time I've seen a different Sintra. Casa do VAlle's location is perfect and the rooms are comfortable and especially in the summer the garden is beautiful! The staff is very friendly - if you need aplace to relax, this is it! (or for an active, sporty holiday - perfect!)


A charming night.

4.4 on January 10, 2011

We stayed at Casa do Valle for a single night in late December 2010. Despite a last-minute alteration to our booking our hosts were extremely kind and made us feel at home. The room itself was a pleasant surprise, as were the set of tea, coffee and nibbles layed out on the table. Unfortunately we did not have the chance to look at the garden properly, but we do hope to return and have that taken care of! In all, a great stay and extremely kind hosts. Highly recommended.


Fantastic stay at Casa do Valle

5 on December 13, 2010

I stayed at Casa do Valle during the first weekend of December, for three nights. And I must say it was a fantastic weekend. My room was quite wide and very comfotable, with litlle grateful details like candles ... and with a lovely and warmth wood stove. Breakfast was very good, with coffee, orange juice, different kinds of bread, jam, cheese, fruits .... But what makes the difference to other places is the quiet place, the views, the hospitallity ... it is like your second home. And nothing of this could happen without the friendship and crativity ot he owners: Virty and Manuel. Sintra is a lovely and magical place that worths a place like Quinta do Valle.


Great spot

4.8 on October 31, 2010

Stayed for five nights October 2010. We aren't really B&B people but loved this place. You have your own separate unit with bathroom. Very clean, hot water abundant, charming hostess with VERY freindly Great Dane pup. Breakfast is served in your room at a time you request and great effort is expended to accommodate food tastes. Spectacular views of the hilltop castles and the surrounding countryside. Great value, too!


Lovely and charming B&B

5 on October 27, 2010

Stayed 6 days at this lovely inn. The room was charming, the breakfast very good, and the owner and staff very pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!


Casa do Valle on helmi

5 on October 22, 2010

Casa do Vallessa voit irtaantua arjesta ja nauttia maisemista, hyvistä aamiaisista, isäntäväen ystävällisyydestä ja kauniista ympäristöstä, olimme siellä jo toista kertaa lokakuussa syyslomalla ja suosittelemme lämpimästi!


Fab B&B in Sintra

5 on September 24, 2010

Spent 2 nights here at the end of a fortnight in Portugal. Had adjoining rooms with our 14-year-old twins with balconies overlooking the trees. Very peaceful and relaxing. Just a few minutes' walk from Sintra centre. Kids loved the pool, adults loved the sunsets. Already planning our return!


A fabulous place!

3.6 on August 28, 2010

You will not get a nicer location for a trip to Sintra. Virpi provides a very personal and helpful service, she printed off our online check-in forms and left our breakfast in the fridge in our room because we had an early departure. I love that you get your breakfast served to your room to eat out on your balcony. A lovely change from the mass dining experience in most hotels we stayed at. Can't say enough about the pool area and the view. Really spectacular. The rooms are very homely (the view from our bed was looking up at the castles!). Well located in proximity to the old town (a nice uphill walk to get the appetite going!). Very impressed with the little cabin with free internet, information and a book with recommendations from previous visitors on places to eat/drink/visit etc. I would definitely come back to casa do valle and recommend it to friends and family.


really great place to stay!

4.6 on August 23, 2010

For everyone who's looking for a place to stay in Portugal and wants to avoid the mastodont hotels, I can not but recommend this place: nice rooms, great garden, fantastic view, and just a walk from the historic center of Sintra. Lissabon just a 40' and frequent train trip away, prajas some kms by car or by pitoresque tram ride. Rest and peace, relax nearby the swimming pool, splendid breakfast on our terrace every morning and a lot to see and visit. We stayed for 10 days and dit not regret 1 of them. LT&TN of Belgium


A little peace of paradise...

4.4 on July 27, 2010

Or so it felt while laying next to the pool in the warm afternoon sun with the breathtaking views ahead of us. We spent a week in mid May in Casa do Valle with our 2 year old and enjoyed every minute of it. There was plenty to do and see, we visited the old town center, Quinta da Regaleira (which our 2 year old loved thanks to the various waterfalls), took a tour around Sao Pedro in a horse carriage and made some great sandcastles in Praia Grande. All and all a lovely break, thanks Virpi and Manuel and we will be sure to come back.


casa do valle

4.0 on May 25, 2010

My wife and I spent the last two days of our Portugal trip at Casa do Valle. The room was clean and well appointed. The views of the castles exceptional. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. The location was perfect;just downhill from the quaint little town of Sintra, yet you felt the peacefullness of being out in the country. Very good value.


Très agréable séjour

4.8 on April 23, 2010

Accueil parfait, chambre confortable, petit déjeuner impeccable. Sintra est un petit coin de verdure aux portes de Lisbonne àne pas manquer. Casa do Valle offre un lieu de repos idéal. Merci encore pour ce bel accueil.


Une super adresse à Sintra

5 on April 20, 2010

La chambre : très claire, lumineuse, propre : impécable !! un balcon avec une vue superbe sur la forêt, les palaces et le chateau. vous y trouverez à volonté, thé, café (bouilloire dans la chambre). la salle de bain : nickel - spacieuse et très propre également le petit déjeuner est très copieux - pour seulement 4 euros vous pourrez déguster 4 sortes de petits pains que l'on peut faire griller soi même (grille pain dans la chamre), jus d'orange, café, chocolat, confiture ... et tout cela apporté dans votre chambre à l'heure que vous aurez choisie (entre 8h et 10h, tout de même !!)...(vous avez le choix entre 3 petits déjeuners) piscine, internet à disposition gratuite, un jardin sur plusieurs niveaux qui embaume les fleurs. Virpi est une hôtesse qui fera tout pour vous aider et vous rendre le séjour agréable. à quelques minutes à pied du centre historique nul bruit ne viendra perturber votre sommeil - emplacement à l'écart de la rue de circulation pour notre séjour au Portugal, pour sûr, la meilleure adresse Nicole et Gilles FEUILLERAT - Toulouse (France) - avril 2010


Pequeno paraíso aqui tão perto!!

4.2 on April 12, 2010

Andávamos nós à procura de um sítio calmo para relaxar e bonito para conhecer, quando numa procura acidental no Google e aproveitando a vontade da Katy em conhecer Sintra... Voilá!!! eis que aparece o site da Casa do Valle. Se ao princípio as fotos cativaram, quando chegámos lá, ficámos deslumbrados e maravilhados com o sítio, serviço e paisagem de Sintra. É maravilhoso adormecer com os sons da Natureza e acordar com os mesmo sons. O serviço de pequeno almoço é bom e o preço ainda que um pouco elevado está em conta com a qualidade oferecida. Simplesmente fabuloso e a repetir em breve


A wonderful place to stay!

5 on March 06, 2010

Starting on 17th February, we spent three days in this marvellous place enjoying a very nice hospitality and sympathy of our host. The place is extremely beautiful: wonderful landscapes though the mountains even during the winter time. Walking around, we found very romantic places to visit and to enjoy: you simply forget about the time and only enjoy what the nature has to offer to you. Casa do Valle is centrally located and in a walking distance to wonderful places such as Quinta da Regaleira. Your, if you want, just use the bus transportation, which is very well organized and can take you to other places such as Palácio da Pena. This is definitively a place to visit, even in winter time…


Sintra's hidden secret

4.4 on February 28, 2010

On having to attend a meeting near Sintra I decided to stay for a few days and see this magnificent part of Portugal. I chose to stay at Casa do Valle as the place had all of my needs covered and had an internet room so no need to haul lots of kit with me. Then on arival it became apparent what a good choice had been made, a choice of rooms and there associated views were offered by our friendly host, this was not obviously such a great place from the street but revealed itself as a true gem when through the gate and down the steps into its charming gardens. We chose to stay in the garden room, which in late January was nice and quiet, nicely furnished with direct access onto the pool terace and upper garden with magnificent views aceoss the valley to Quinta Regaleira. Towering above the pool at the end of the garden stood the mountain of the moon topped with the Castelo dos Mouros and Palacio Nacional da Pena just peeking over the crest to the right. This place was just right to entice the tourist within me. If you want to be in Sintra, this is the place to stay at while in Sintra.


Fim de semana perfeito :)

4.2 on February 07, 2010

Num fim de semana de fuga à rotina, escolhemos Sintra. Nenhum de nós conhecia e tem uma história para reviver em cada curva que se passa. Escolhemos a casa do valle como o nosso acolhimento, o nosso descanso depois de visitar a serra e o que tinha para oferecer; Adoramos o quarto, o sitio tem uma vista espectacular, um ambiente muito acolhedor e as pessoas são muito atenciosas. Conhecemos parques, palácios e sitiozinhos fantásticos de Sintra como a Quinta da Regaleira, Palácio da Pena e o Parque e Palácio de Monserrate. Por sugestão "da casa" encontramos um restaurante muito bom, que se come muito bem, o "tulhas". Foi um fim de semana que amamos e a casa do valle fez parte dele. Mónica e Eduardo


Casa do Valle

5 on February 03, 2010

The room was very good, spectacular views, great location, we're very well received. I recommend to everyone this house. Carlos Ribeiro and Debora Mateus


The best of Portugal!

5 on December 02, 2009

I stayed at Casa do Valle one week and having traveled throughout Portugal and staying in all kinds of places this is by far the best: the best combination of comfort, beauty, relax, nature, service. The rooms are spacious and completely equipped. They have everything, it's like being home and if you need someething, the owners will happily go an extra mile and give you what you need (with a smile) :))))


Delightful Surprise

4.2 on November 30, 2009

We arrived in pouring rain on 25th November and were immediately made to feel cosy and comfortable by generous and welcoming hosts who went beyond the call of duty in a number of ways, including lending us a heavy duty rain jacket to walk the gardens of Palacio del Regaleira. Sintra is a lovely central town and we could think of no better place to stay than Casa do Valle. Jan + Keith Richards Australia


Fantastic scenery!

5 on September 22, 2009

We spent three days here in this marvellous place enjoying the hospitality of our host. The place is extremely beautiful and we would like to come here soon again.


Beautiful site, superb hosts

5 on August 12, 2009

Casa do Valle is in a delightful location, walking distance from the center of Sintra. The spacious grounds offer stunning views, fruit orchards, and a swimming pool. The rooms are ample and attractive, some with dramatic views of the castles. The cosmopolitan hosts are very helpful with all details and will enhance your visit to Portugal with their knowledge, insight, and generosity. Sintra is a wonderful base for exploring the region, with frequent train connections to Lisbon, and buses to the coast at Cascais and elsewhere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa do Valle, and highly recommend it.


A Bed and Breakfast Jewel

5 on August 02, 2009

Casa Do Valle is beautifully situated in a lush green valley. The views from this B & B, including from the beautiful garden and pool area, include palaces, a Moorish castle and gorgeous greenery and flowers. The owners of this fine B & B, Virpi and Manuel, couldn't be nicer and more helpful. We stayed there 6 nights with our grown children and other family members. Our hostess offered to do a load of laundry for us, and even drove us once to the train station in town when we needed it. Virpi and Manuel are also very generous with tips and suggestions as to where to go for meals, and sightseeing. The rooms are very clean, and internet is available 24 hours. The owners are making plans to build a dining area; in the meantime, you normally have your breakfast in your room or can take it to the patio at any time of the morning. This is truly a great place to relax. There is also a beautiful area where you can allow yourself an extra treat – a professional massage outdoors with birds chirping all around. Casa Do Valle, all around, is a marvelous experience.


Very clean, gorgeous views, close to Historic District of Sinta, affordable

4.0 on May 10, 2009

We loved our stay here. The personalized service was top notch. The place was very clean. The internet access was great because we kept in touch with family throughout the trip. The views were phenomenal! Casa do Valle is close to the town center, Sintra Historic District, and the train station. Sintra will forever have a special place in our hearts since we had great time there and it's the place we got engaged in! We hope to go back someday! Obrigado!


Je conseille...

3.8 on June 09, 2008

Le lieu est magnifique, vue superbe.Chambre impecable, service aimable.Bon sejour. Seul le petit dejeuner n'est pas a la hauteur, 6 euros au portugal, on attend beaucoup mieux.


Casa do Valle

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 70 - € 90
  • Reviews (41) 4.6
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 351-919371622

Visit Website »

View details

Top