Recent Reviews in Porto, Portugal

Simply excelent!!! at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2014

Canto de Luz is the perfect house to stay. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The room we stayed was huge and with a a lot of natural ligth. Bathroom was perfect. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great!! And the main point: Brigitte and André are wonderful. They make you feel at home. They suggested us different options to see, to eat..., and all their sugestions were perfect. I highly recommend Canto de Luz to everybody who are planning to go to Porto. And, of course, if I go to Porto again, I will stay in Canto de Luz.

View more reviews for this inn


Stunning property. Easy walk from all major sights. at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

Such a warm welcome from Andre and Brigitte. We didn't need any lunch after our substantial and delicious breakfasts. Our hosts gave us good advice on restaurants and museums, and we were completely charmed by them and their beautiful home. Caroline, Adrian and Louis Cooper

View more reviews for this inn


Oase midden in het drukke Porto at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2014

We zijn 8 dagen compleet in de watten gelegd door André en Brigitte! Heerlijke ontbijtjes zorgden voor een goede start van de dag. Prachtig gedecoreerd en zeer hygiënisch. Een oase in het centrum van Porto. Een aanrader!! Dank jullie wel, André en Brigitte! Groet, Renske en Ines uit Nederland

View more reviews for this inn


Très belle maison d'hôte at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2014

Très belle maison d'hôte décorée avec goût. La chambre est spacieuse, la literie est bonne. Le ménage est fait tous les jours. Brigitte et André sont très sympathiques, ils ne sont pas envahissants mais sont toujours là pour vos donner des renseignements et bons plans sur la ville et les restaurants autres que les lieux "à touristes". Le petit déjeuner tout fait maison est très bon et très copieux (pâtisserie, pain, confiture, salade de fruit, fromage, jus d'orange, thé, café,lait...) Il est chaque jour différent. La maison est bien située dans une rue calme à 6min à pied de la ribeira et à 2min du métro. Vous pouvez y aller les yeux fermés.

View more reviews for this inn


Très bel espace et des hôtes charmants at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2014

Séjour très, très agréable, accueil attentionné d'André et Brigitte dans ce bel espace raffiné et lumineux au design contemporain. Vaste chambre soignée et très bien équipée. Petit déjeuner superbe et délicieux, pris sur la terrasse, préparation et confitures inventives de Brigitte, petit expresso d'André pour le plaisir. Seul bémol, préférez les chambres donnant sur l'arrière, l'été les fenêtres ouvertes, l'écho de la vie nocturne de cette rue vivante est assez présent Les indications et conseils donnés sur les lieux de Porto nous ont été précieux. Une adresse à retenir pour y revenir à la première occasion.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful experience! at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2014

We had the house to ourselves so we were able to spend lots of time with Brigitte and her assistant, Esther. Sadly, we were not able to meet Brigitte’s husband, Andre, as he was traveling during our visit. If you appreciate modern architecture and building restoration, you will be fascinated with what the owners have created out of an old ruin of a building. It is ultra modern and comfortable with every convenience, including an elevator, which is extremely useful if you have lots of luggage, as the house has many floors. There is a beautiful patio off the kitchen on which to enjoy the sun. Brigitte and Esther served fabulous breakfasts consisting of homemade jams, cakes and breads, Portuguese pastries and fresh squeezed juice and fruit. Brigitte speaks French and Portuguese and a little bit of English. Andre speaks French, English and Portuguese. Be warned that because it is such an old building, there is no air conditioning; however, even if it is hot during the day (it was in the mid-90s when we visited), it cools down significantly at night, so it was not a problem. Try to get a room facing west over the garden so you can open the sliding doors and feel the breeze while hearing nothing but birds singing. As we were the only guests, we were able to see all of the rooms. They are each unique in design, but they are all beautifully new, spacious and immaculately clean. We highly recommend it—especially if you speak French or Portuguese. We used the GPS to locate the house from the Porto airport and had no trouble finding it. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were lucky to find a parking space right outside and were able to leave the car there (free!) for the weekend while we explored Porto. Muito obrigado, Brigitte e Esther!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfull at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2014

We (couple with baby) had a wonderfull stay. The homemade breakfast is delicious, the location is near the centre and just 5min away from some great restaurants.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden paradise! at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2014

Beautiful location, very central and still an oasis of peace and calm with a lovely terrace surrounded by huge gardens. Attractive interiors combining modern architecture with vintage furniture, delicious breakfasts and charming hosts who are Always there to give you suggestions and good local addresses. Thanks André and Brigitte, next time in Porto I'll definitely be back! BDW Belgium

View more reviews for this inn


un petit coin de paradis at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2014

Nous avons eu le plaisir de séjourner 3 nuits à Canto de Luz. Un endroit très joli, plein de douceur et très bien situé. L'accueil de Brigitte et André est souriant, discret et leurs conseils précieux. Les petits déjeuners sont comme on les rêve. Un endroit qui donne envie de retourner à Porto. Allez-y les yeux fermés !

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place, nice people at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2014

We spent a week at Canto de Luz, enjoying the house, our room, the garden, without forgetting the breakfast ! Brigitte and André made us felt comfortable there, giving us also very good ideas to explore the smart city of Porto. Definitely, the good spot.

View more reviews for this inn


Nous recommandons at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

4.2 reviewed on June 19, 2014

Tout fût parfaitement réussi lors de notre séjour ; l' accueil, la qualité de l'hébergement, les surprises du petit déjeuner, la situation géographique. Nous recommandons sans aucune restriction.

View more reviews for this inn


Super séjour at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on June 10, 2014

Séjour parfait. Du petit déjeuner aux chambres, en passant par le design de la maison. Les hôtes sont de véritables guides pour découvrir Porto. Sympas et accueillants. Une adresse à essayer absolument. Privilégier une chambre donnant sur le jardin, histoire d'être véritablement au calme. Emilie et Tristan

View more reviews for this inn


Une très belle adresse ! at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2014

Une très belle adresse en plein de coeur de Porto ! Une très jolie déco et une atmosphère chaleureuse Des petits déjeuners incroyables Des hôtes très accueillants Une localisation idéale Tout était parfait ! Un grand merci à Brigitte et André

View more reviews for this inn


Somptueux at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2014

Un lieu reposant, contemporain et chaleureux à proximité des quartiers animés de la ville pour un week-end à Porto des plus réussis. En plus d'être très copieux, le petit déjeuner est une surprise chaque jour renouvelée par les recettes rafinées de la maîtresse de maison : confitures maison variées, cakes moelleux, salade de fruits frais avec juste ce qu'il faut d'épices pour éveiller les palais les plus endormis au saut du lit, le tout servi dans une atmosphère des plus conviviales. Merci à Brigitte et André pour le plaisir rare et vrai qu'ils ont à recevoir leurs hôtes.

View more reviews for this inn


absolument charmant et romantique at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2014

un endroit que nous recommendons vivement,tout est parfait et la ville de porto nous a séduit,les propriètaires sont aux petits soins et nous garderons un très bon souvenir,nous y retournerons surement un de ces jour.

View more reviews for this inn


Porto du bon côté at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

3.6 reviewed on May 12, 2014

Un accueil chaleureux, une réhabilitation d'une maison de ville typique par des aménagements parfaits dans un style contemporain sans être froid, un confort à toute épreuve. Merci à Brigitte et André pour leur accueil, leur culture locale, leurs conseils et surtout leur gentillesse.

View more reviews for this inn


incantevole..... at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2014

Posizione perfetta, cortesia, pulizia, comfort, colazioni meravigliose...grazie Brigitte e André Nicoletta e Massimo

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful space in the heart of Porto at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2014

My partner and I stayed in Canto de Luz for 2 nights in March. It was my birthday present for him, and I was very successful. I could have never chosen a better place to stay in Porto. The place is beautiful, the breakfast delicious and the hosts are just wonderful. They gave us the best tips ever to have a perfect weekend in Porto. We loved a 'petiscos' little place right round the corner of the house. With very few rooms in the house, the place can't be more quiet and the atmosphere so relaxed. I can't say enough thanks to Canto de Luz for being part of this unforgettable weekend in Porto! Bea and Pablo

View more reviews for this inn


FORMIDABLE at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2014

Quelle belle découverte ! Le B & B Canto De Luz est situé non loin de la station de Métro Trindade (ligne directe de l'Aéroport) donc facile pour la découverte à pied de Porto. Derrière une façade rénovée dans le style des habitations traditionnelles de Porto, nous avons découvert un bâtiment entièrement rénové: tous les espaces sont grands, ouverts et lumineux. La chambre qui nous a été attribuée est ouverte, via une large baie, sur un balcon et un espace "nature". Nous ne voulons pas surtout pas oublier l'accueil chaleureux de Brigitte et André ; ils sont très disponibles et nous ont donné de très judicieux renseignements pour nos visites et nos repas. Chaque matin, les Petits Déjeuners sont faits de délices réalisés par Brigitte, mais aussi agrémentés discrètement de surprises de la part d'André. Quel beau séjour !

View more reviews for this inn


outstanding at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2014

First time in Porto and it was a great luck, that we found Andre and Brigittes Guest House. It was love by first sight! The house is absolutely outstanding and Andre and Brigitte is the must wonderful hosts - they do all they can and more to make you feel comfortable. The breakfast is a story of its own - you can not imagine!! Just go for it you will not regret!

View more reviews for this inn


Parfait en tout point ! at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on March 11, 2014

Si on souhaite partir à la découverte de cette merveilleuse ville, inutile d'aller chercher plus loin un B&B ! Situé idéalement (quartier, métro, sorties), cette magnifique maison a été une divine surprise pour notre semaine passée à Porto. Notre chambre, à la décoration raffinée, était spacieuse et confortable, d'une propreté irréprochable D'une gentillesse et d'un goût sans faille, Brigitte et André ne sont jamais avares d'un conseil ou d'une adresse précieuse pour votre séjour. Et que dire des petits déjeuners - et des pâtisseries maison de Brigitte ? Ben, juste qu'on a hâte de revenir très vite ! On vous embrasse, tiens !!… Christine & Pierre Marc

View more reviews for this inn


Une adresse de choix at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

4.6 reviewed on March 09, 2014

Si vous recherchez un cocon, idéalement situé pour partir à la découverte de cette merveilleuse ville, inutile d'aller plus loin ! Brigitte et André, toujours de bons conseils pour votre séjour, sont des hôtes attentionnés, au goût et à la gentillesse sans limite. La chambre est très confortable et les prestations de haut niveau. Et que dire des petits dèj - et des pâtisseries maison de Brigitte… Ben, rien d'autre que "à très bientôt et le plus vite sera le mieux !"

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you so much! at Alma do Porto (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2014

We stayed with our children in Alma do Porto for 3 nights. It was really great to follow Sofia's suggestions. The house is perfect and bedrooms are really beautiful and comfortable. We had time to know a lot more of Portuguese culture during breakfast talks with the hosts, visiting their places… IT's outstanding, no doubts!

View more reviews for this inn


Maravillosa Sorpresa at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on December 11, 2013

Fui con mi chico a pasar 3 dias a Oporto.Este B&B,esta cerquisima de una boca de metro que te comunica facilmente con el aeropuerto. Se trata de una casa de fachada tipica de Oporto por fuera, pero que por dentro, la han tirado completamente y convertido en espacios abiertos y con mucha luz. Tiene 4 habitaciones,2 por planta. A la cual puedes subir en un ascensor si te apetece. Lleva abierto menos de un año y esta todo hecho con muchisimo gusto y calidades. Te recibe una pareja francesa, que no habla español pero con la que te entiendes perfectamente. Nuestra habiatacion era muy grande, con una pared entera formada por un ventanal con persiana domotizada que daban al patio trasero, lugar de encuentro. Cada dia el desayuno era una sorpresa, pues tanto Brigitte como Andre cocinaban tartas, magdalenas, yogures, mermeladas, macedonias... en gran cantidad y calidad exquisita. La cama, inmensa y nueva. Y la limpieza perfecta. Como hemos estado la ultima semana de Octubre, no hizo mucho calor, pero en el jardin se estaban tomando otra pareja de holandeses un vino tranquilamente por la noche, que incitaba a una gran charla y relax. Para llegar a la orilla del Duero son apenas 10-15 minutos de un agradable paseo. Por lo que resulta centrico a la vez que no ajetreado. Perfecto todo.

View more reviews for this inn


Très très agréable y at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

4.2 reviewed on December 07, 2013

Très bon accueil situation idéale pour découvrir Porto avec en plus de très bons conseil des hotes

View more reviews for this inn


Merveilleux séjour à Canto de luz at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on December 06, 2013

Superbe maison d'hôte ,restaurée avec beaucoup de goût et située idéalement à Porto.Un très grand merci à Brigitte et André pour leur accueil,leurs conseils et leurs adresses de bonnes tables.Bravo pour les petits déjeuners.

View more reviews for this inn


EXCELLENTE ADRESSE at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

3.6 reviewed on December 05, 2013

sans hesiter une adresse à recommander,l'accueil et les conseils de Brigitte et de André sont très précieux.L'emplacement est idéal pour découvrir Porto à pied,surtout quand on part à l'aventure remplis des exceptionnels petits déjeuners concoctés par ces hotes charmants.Nous y retournerons avec grand plaisir. Pascal et Elisabeth après un séjour de 4 jours en Novembre 2013;

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at Guest House Douro (Oporto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2013

Highest marks to Carmen and Joao. Everything everyone says about the friendliness, the cleanliness, the owners' knowledge of the town, the views, the marvelous breakfasts included in the price, is still true (we visited there in October, 2013). Even more, I knew nothing about touring the Douro or the town of Porto. However, by emailing Carmen in advance, I received her excellent suggestion to reserve with Douro Exclusive, a wonderful husband and wife tour team that showed us the Douro River and its port history, all in a comfortable van drive and river excursion. Carmen also arranged for tables at two fantastic restaurants packed with locals, both just steps away from the Guest House. Our room was small, but Carmen had kindly warned us about its size before we booked. During our stay, we certainly didn't mind the smallness of what turned out daily to be our sparkling, fresh-flower-enhanced room, overlooking the Douro, with a bed more comfortable than ours at home, and a shower with more hot water than we ever enjoyed in Paris. Highly recommended. Edie and Robert De Avila, California

View more reviews for this inn


Séjour exceptionnel at Canto De Luz (Porto, Portugal)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2013

Un B&B bien situé proche du centre, avec un agencement lumineux très réussi, une propreté irréprochable, décoré avec beaucoup de goût... des chambres splendides, confortables et spacieuses... mais avant tout des hôtes chaleureux et très sympathiques ! Brigitte et André sont aux petits soins pleins de bons conseils et proposent des petits déjeuners inoubliables et très copieux, avec de délicieuses confitures et pâtisseries faites maison...Le métro Trindade pour l'aéroport n'est qu'à quelques minutes à pied...Bref à ne pas manquer ! Colette & Alain

View more reviews for this inn


Super sympatique! at Alma do Porto (Porto, Portugal)

4.2 reviewed on October 28, 2013

Très accueillante notre hotesse, elle nous avez donné un plan de ville, des conseilles pour restaurent, des sorties. On était chez elle mais en même elle avait respect pour notre privacy. Location idéale: calme mais proche au centre ville. A retourner! Et oui n'oublier pas de louer une vélo pour visiter le port ou on mange le poisson tout frais et les plages de Porto.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}