Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Consistently Lovely at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on June 28, 2016

I have stayed at the Inn at St Johns several times over the past 20 years or so and have found it to be consistently pleasant and welcoming. Very convenient to downtown and arts district - a long walk or short uber ride away.

View more reviews for this inn


Our weekend stay in June! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 27, 2016

My husband and I recently stayed at St. John's Inn. It was perfect! We took the greyhound in, and the location was practically across the street. The staff are friendly. Our room was extremely clean, and cozy. We were extremely comfortable. The walk to the downtown area wasn't far (at least for us!) we are New Yorkers and walking is our trade. It's about a 15 min walk to the arts district, and about 20 min to the waterfront. Be sure to eat at Local Sprouts, Portland Lobster Co when you are there, and if you've willingly the cash to burn, The Fore restaurant! It was magical. Amazing food and coffee shops so close to the Inn. We'll be back. Continental breakfast is simple and exactly what you'd expect, but it's a nice gesture. We'll be back for sure!!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Bed and Breakfast at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 24, 2016

We were delighted to stay at The PineCrest Bed and Breakfast. The owners are wonderful, the entire place is well maintained, and the rooms are beautifully decorated. Matt and Amy certainly pay attention to detail - they are awesome hosts!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very clean with plenty of fresh towels, plus they provide bath robes and slippers for your comfort

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay, within easy walking distance to beach and activities. at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on June 20, 2016

Owners were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and of good size, just wished there was a door between the bedroom and common area. The breakfast was small, but sufficient. It was a nice distance from the beach and Boardwalk- easy walking distance, but far enough that noise wasn't an issue. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Convenient and Pleasant Old Fashion at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on June 20, 2016

A superior B&B on a tree lined street at the center of Old Orchard Beach, and near to the village and beach. Our room was very clean and neat. Had to watch our heads in room with low sloped ceilings. Wonderful breakfast, although limited number of featured muffins and guests ahead of us, resulted in shortage. Ray and Heidi could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Warm bright sitting room for breakfast. Met a fun couple from Canada to chat with. In summary, you can't go wrong with Atlantic Birches Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

4th time staying here, 2nd time in the same room (108, first floor suite). Such a great value, friendly staff, convenient stopping point on my annual trip to Machias. Always clean, really good coffee, great price for what you receive. I will be back year after year.

View more reviews for this inn


OMG at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 17, 2016

Found this inn advertised in Yankee magazine last year. It sounded very interesting as it allowed dogs. It's very difficult to find good places to stay with your pet never mind find a B and B that would allow one. We wanted to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary with a get away and I remembered this inn. Booked online it was easy and got confirmation right away and an email asking if there were any special notes/allergies. We arrived and were greeted very warmly almost like long lost friends. The owners Roy and Sue were amazing as were the staff. Breakfasts were great and the accommodations were outstanding. Couldn't have asked for better

View more reviews for this inn


Best choice B&B in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2016

I chose the Inn at St. John for it's price and location. I was looking for a nice private room reasonably close to downtown. What I was not expecting was the outstanding service of the staff or the amenities. I wish I could remember the name of the gentleman who checked us in because he set the high water mark for hotel service. The fact that there was a plate of cookies 24 hours and the quality of the breakfast didn't hurt either.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for a Maine beach trip! at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on June 15, 2016

Great place to stay - very cute decorations in the rooms and common rooms - short walk to the beach, and friendly/knowledgable hosts! Definitely would recommend the Atlantic Birches Inn for couples who want a relaxing Maine getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


Great low cost place to stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 15, 2016

I found this place online and it had good reviews so I booked it for a night. Well turns out they were right, it was really nice there. The room was clean and the place had an old fashion charm. The continental breakfast seating area was small and tight, however all the food was good and they even give out complimentary water and have coffee and tea on hand the whole day. I would stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


maine getaway at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 13, 2016

both heidi and ray were fun to talk too and very knowledgable about the area and what was available to see...to eat and to shop....we'd go back there in a n.y. minute

View more reviews for this inn


Fun weekend in Portland, Maine at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 12, 2016

The Inn at St John is a hotel I return to often when visiting Portland. the rooms are quirky and fun, the staff is the best in the city, and the location cannot be beat! Free parking and free wifi just add to the pleasure of staying here. All of downtown Portland is a very short walk from the hotel.

View more reviews for this inn


Best in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2016

Courteous staff. Fine rooms. Not the best neighborhood, but that's ok given all else.

View more reviews for this inn


Solid hotel at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 07, 2016

No on site dining so please ignore the 5 star rating. Stayed in room 4C "the penthouse." Very nice and quiet. Bathroom down the hall. Maid forgot to service room one night. I would definitely stay there again. Quaint and price is right.

View more reviews for this inn


A hospitable and inviting Bedandbreakfast at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2016

An inviting hostess Sue at the front door explaining the aspects of the inn, meeting the variety of individual expectations, the relaxed atmosphere of the surroundings and the lake, coupled with the intent of the hostess to make every person's stay a memorable event.

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on June 07, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this inn. It is a little outside the main downtown area but still very accessible for all the sights, restaurants etc. The rooms are lovely and the beds are very comfortable. Tea, coffee and homemade biscuits are provided all day, a nice touch. Portland is a beautiful place and I would stay here again if returning.

View more reviews for this inn


May in at ast John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on June 07, 2016

Great spot very friendly personnel

View more reviews for this inn


What a GREAT place! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on June 06, 2016

I loved the Inn. The King Suite was exactly what I'd hoped for. Everything was clean and the provisions of slippers and a robe were a nice touch. Furthermore, the staff were kind and helpful. I did need to Febreeze my room because pets are welcome but it was fine afterwards. The breakfast was solid and the night treats were an added bonus.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay over memorial day weekend at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on June 03, 2016

Heidi and Ray were both wonderful hosts to 2 tired souls from New York city. They were very helpful about things to do and places to see, friendly, but also gave us our privacy at the same time. The house is a short walk to the beach, and is conveniently located next to all of Old Orchard Beach's attractions. The rooms were clean and even though it was a full house, it was still quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. Thank you Heidi and Ray for a wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 02, 2016

Second stay at the Inn was as pleasant as the first. The staff is friendly, polite, and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Portland Vaca at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on June 02, 2016

The staff was amazingly nice!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent as always at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on June 02, 2016

The only issue I have is that the wifi, while greatly appreciated, was slow and spotty at best. Other than that, I can't say enough good things about The Inn at St. John.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Secret in Portland! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on June 02, 2016

Great place to stay if you are in Portland Maine! Dogs Welcomed!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay, cozy space, and perfect location! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on May 31, 2016

The room was small, but quaint and cozy and exactly what you would want and hope for in a historic inn. The staff was all very friendly and helpful, and the room and inn was clean. The inn is close to the Sea Dog's stadium and a short ride to downtown-- Definitely will stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Brewster House--a great place to stay. at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on May 30, 2016

What a delightful stay here. I wish we could have stayed longer. Kelleigh and Dave are great hosts. The menu was adapted to my daughter's gluten free diet and tasted wonderful. The muffins were an extra special treat--so light and flavorful even though they too were gluten free. Brewster House is located in an area that has other restaurants near by and you can easily walk to town from here. This B&B is definitely the most charming place we stayed on our tour of the northeast. I hope we can come back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


the best of Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on May 28, 2016

I've found the Inn at St John to be the best combination of value and location in Portland. It's intown but not downtown so the rooms aren't $300 a night. It was built in the 1890s so it doesn't have the sterile atmosphere of the cheaper chain motels. I've been staying exclusively at the Inn at St John for several years. The rooms are always super clean and the staff is very cordial and accommodating. I'm looking forward to my next stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value (as usual)! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on May 26, 2016

A really good deal in Portland. Not far from the main adresses of this great little city!

View more reviews for this inn


Cute and Affordable at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on May 24, 2016

I stayed here for a one night trip to Portland. The rooms and the whole hotel are very cute! The room I was in had a shared hallway bathroom which wasn't a problem at all and the bathroom was kept very clean and I never had a wait to use it. The breakfast area is a little small, but I appreciated the options available. This hotel is about a 30 minute walk to the Old Port area of town, but the price is unbeatable in Portland. I would definitely recommend the inn at St. John to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place for a family weekend at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on May 22, 2016

Very pleasant B&B for a weekend getaway. Our rooms were very clean, attractive and comfortable. We liked the low-key atmosphere and friendliness of the staff and guests. The breakfast area is very small, but we were able to take our breakfast foods back to our rooms on the first floor. We had plenty of room to dine at the table in our room. We would stay there again if we get back to Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
}