Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Great place to rest your head at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2016

We choose the Inn at St John when staying in Portland. The staff are friendly, the rooms clean and quiet and it is a great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


The inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 26, 2016

Great stay, excellent service. Very caring staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 25, 2016

We had a wonderful stay in room 103. Perfectly charming décor, very friendly staff, excellent location.

View more reviews for this inn


Very charming and comfortable b&b at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 24, 2016

I stayed in this charming B&B for one night. I stayed in a small room with a twin sized bed. It was perfect for one person, and very quaint. The service at the inn is great and the staff is helpful and friendly. A kind staff member helped me with my luggage on the stairs. The building itself is beautiful, with interesting furnishings and historic architecture. The Inn at St. John set a wonderful tone for my stay in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Overall a great experience at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 23, 2016

The Inn was very charming and we enjoyed our stay. All of the employees were very helpful and accommodating and the location was pretty good - about a 20 minute walk from downtown Portland. However, I would suggest a few changes. The pillows were extremely uncomfortable - as soon as you put your head on it the stuffing would flatten. Also, as many of the rooms have a private hall bathroom, it would have been really nice to dim the hall lights so I wasn't blinded each time I used the restroom at night. Relatedly, putting nightlights in the bathroom would've been helpful. Other than that, it was a great experience, and those are just minor suggestions!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing B&B at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

This place is incredible. It is very apparent how much thought and care the innkeepers Matt & Amy put into their inn and their guests. The room was very comfortable, very clean, and beautifully decorated, as was the rest of the inn. You really feel like you're at home, while also having your privacy. Everything about breakfast was delicious. If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay, that's also somewhat close to Portland, you'll be very satisfied here.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

Unfortunately we had to leave early and missed our breakfast on day two however what they did do fix us up a "go yogurts" with all the trimmings. Again we thank you for that kind jester. We will see you again!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

If you have a sense of adventure and enjoy new experiences, you will love the Inn at St John.

View more reviews for this inn


Maine Vacation at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

Highly recommend this inn! Innkeepers were wonderful, inn was well maintained, beautiful room, and breakfast was great!

View more reviews for this inn


Hope to return for another visit at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 22, 2016

I had a great stay at the Inn at St. John. The inn was clean and pleasant (everything worked!), staff members were friendly and helpful, and the price was right, especially for such a convenient location. The website does a good job of alerting customers about the size of the rooms and the lack of an elevator, so these were not surprises (and certainly not a problem). I didn't sample the included breakfast because I had a breakfast meeting, but the coffee sure smelled great!

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint little Inn with exceptional service at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

We stayed at the Inn at St. John for 3 nights during our stay in Portland, and we loved it! Our room was adorable, with a very comfortable queen size bed and attached bathroom. We can't say enough about the service - every single person was incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and the continental breakfast was delicious. The price was reasonable and there are no hidden fees. And they have cookies, bottled water, coffee, and ice tea available for guests all day at no charge!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for our Needs at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 17, 2016

The staff was extremely helpful and the room was exactly what we were looking for to spend a weekend in Portland. My wife and I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect stay! at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2016

Beautiful house, comfortable beds in pretty rooms, and delicious breakfast! Couldn't ask for anything more!

View more reviews for this inn


Bryant Stay at Atlantic Birches at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on August 16, 2016

Very comfortable and charming Bed and Breakfast! Heidi and Ray were very friendly and accommodating. It is a place we would have no problem recommending to others!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely loved this place! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 15, 2016

Our three night stay here was really wonderful. The staff at the Inn at St John could very well be the most friendly that I have encountered. Every single one of them was both genuinely friendly and helpful. I would recommend going for one of the luxury rooms, plenty of space and the jetted tubs are a nice feature. I was very impressed with how well our room was sound proofed. We were very close to the front desk and never heard a thing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and Comfortable at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 15, 2016

We arrived pretty late in the evening, the check-in staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room was just what we were looking for, a clean bed, sink, plenty of towels and a window AC unit... Oh that was the best, we are people that enjoy sleeping in cold cold temperature so we were able to get comfortable. Breakfast was good, just simple pastries, fruit, coffee, juice, the usual. Only complaint would be the shared bathroom, the toilet and sink were clean however, the shower was cloggggged, it was gross to shower and stand in inches of water.

View more reviews for this inn


The Adams Family' house at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on August 15, 2016

A very ancient house with a particular furniture. Unfortunately the stands right in front of an industrial site which affects negatively the view. The breakfast was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John - unique and fun place to stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on August 15, 2016

Wonderful and unique B&B in Portland - not quite downtown, but close enough. Staff was excellent, rooms very clean and comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to relax at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 15, 2016

This lovely B&B fully exceeded our expectations! The location of the inn was just perfect, along the quietest part of Main Street, yet only 3 blocks from dining and entertainment. During our 3-night stay, Kelleigh and Dave were the perfect hosts, serving up delicious 3-course breakfasts every morning. What I really liked is that I never walked away from breakfast feeling stuffed, as all the courses came in just the perfect size. Kelleigh and Dave even made our belated mini honeymoon special with a some gifts. The room we had chosen was very nicely decorated and felt really comfortable. While there was a TV, with all the activity opportunities outdoors and dining options, we never turned it on. But nothing could beat sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch at the end of the day, wine in hand, letting our minds unwind. Thank you, Kelleigh and Dave, for a wonderful weekend at your B&B! We hope our travels bring us back to your area for another stay at The Brewster House.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Stayed here for a night with my girlfriend while passing through Portland. We arrived in the morning before our room was ready, but the staff stored our bags while we walked into town and delivered them to our room while we were gone. The room was clean. It had the charm of an older place but the functionality of a new hotel. Great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Like being home- even better! at Kennebec Inn (Bath, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2016

Loved, loved Kennebec Inn! We were there for a long weekend and wish it could have been longer. Rachel was absolutely wonderful from the time we arrived through and until we sad our goodbyes. I felt like I was leaving a friend. She was warm, friendly and so very helpful. She asked us what we wanted to do or eat and make suggestions. She nailed it! The inn was comfy, clean and generous in space. Rachel is an outstanding cook as the breakfasts were definitely gourmet. All the little touches really meant a difference. We hope to go back sometime...miss her already....Julianne

View more reviews for this inn


Un endroit agréable à proximité de tout at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on August 11, 2016

Nous avons apprécié notre séjour dans ce B&B. Un déjeuner continental que l'on peut prendre à l'extérieur. Un endroit tranquille mais à 5 minutes à pied de la rue principale animée. Des hôtes disponibles et soucieux que notre séjour soit agréable.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B & B at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on August 10, 2016

I was lucky enough to stay here for a few days. Atlantic birches exceeded my expectations. I had a quaint little room under the eaves which was spotless along with the bathroom. Continental breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, muffins, toast, cereal and of course coffe, tea and juice. Atlantic birches is conveniently located to the pier in old orchard beach. I would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on August 10, 2016

Great stay and worth the price - rooms were clean and well-kept. Added value with complimentary cookies and water bottles

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 10, 2016

This was exactly what I needed at the end of a busy weekend. The inn was very quiet and charming, the staff was knowledgeable and very nice. Thank you so much for making my stay perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Inn at St. John was quiet and quaint. Close to down town and to Thompson Point. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in OOB at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Stayed for 5 days and enjoyed every one. Each day started with a great breakfast and good conversation. Even though OOB is very busy in the summer we did not hear any outside noise and enjoyed a very restful sleep. All the major attractions, including the beach are an easy walk from the inn. Planning on going back for our next vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Maine B&B weekend at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on August 07, 2016

Well appointed room and suitable bathroom. Good breakfast with wonderful muffins.

View more reviews for this inn


St Johns at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 06, 2016

We had a great stay and the staff was very helpful. Unfortunately I left some sunglasses in the room and they were never found.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place to stay! at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2016

The Chadwick was highly recommended by one of my husband's coworkers. We are so glad we took his advice. We were so determined to stay there that we booked two rooms for two different nights since they were almost completely booked. Both rooms were so comfortable, clean, and cozy. Erin and Scott were so welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious! They also keep a variety of really good snacks. We felt so spoiled! We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
}