Up to a free $75 gift card!

Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Cozy comfort in Portland, Maine at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 25, 2014

Affordable with Victorian ambiance. I love staying here. Downside is going across hall to use your bathroom and you do have to schlep your suitcase up the stairs as there is no elevator, but I find this a small tradeoff for the comfort and quiet of staying here. I would recommend they stop providing soap/shampoo etc from their current vendor. It's of poor quality (soap doesn't rinse off easily, lotion makes me sneeze). Regardless, this is my first choice when coming to Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


I will stay again ! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 24, 2014

A delightful stay in Downtown Portland Maine! Will be my stop when I am doing business in Southern Maine!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful night in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on November 24, 2014

Spent one wonderful night in Portland at the Inn at St. John. Excellent staff, and incredible value.

View more reviews for this inn


Great staff and location!! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2014

Hotel is oldest hotel in town, born 1896 Place has character( not a chain )Great attention to detail They now have Wifi. And they use 2ply toilet paper!!.

View more reviews for this inn


An Unexpected Jewel at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 20, 2014

I recently took a weekend trip to Portland Maine and stayed at the St. John Inn. The people at the Inn were very friendly and helpful to point me toward the "local" restaurants. It was a unique experience as it is in a 19th Century building with very narrow staircases and old fashioned decor. It made me wonder how people moved so fluidly around such an establishment back in the day. It is located on the main street that takes you to old Port and it is a pleasant walk to town. I would highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Bargain! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on November 19, 2014

I needed a relatively inexpensive place to stay for a few days while settling my daughter in to her new home in Portland. The Inn exceeded my expectations in many ways (breakfast was good and plentiful, beverages and snacks available 24 hours, room was very nice.). The bathroom was a bit of a mish-mosh--very dated and a very small stall shower, but clean and just fine. The hallways smelled a bit like cigarette smoke, but the room did not. My main recommendation is to be sure to get a room in the middle of the building. Our room overlooked the main street, which was quite loud. Also, be aware that getting to the third floor entails climbing 35 or so rather steep steps. I would definitely revisit the Inn at St John, with the caveat that I would insist upon an interior room for the relative quiet. It was inexpensive and quite comfortable, all in all.

View more reviews for this inn


A great find! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on November 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend (11/15/14) and couldn't have been more pleased! Everyone was incredibly sweet and the room was spacious and comfortable. The only issue is that it's about a 25-30 minute walk to old port, but even that was a beautiful and enjoyable walk. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back! at Captain Lord Mansion (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2014

Beautiful property, fantastic location, great breakfast, very helpful staff, exceptional rooms. We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Inn at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2014

This was the perfect inn for our wedding anniversary

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to get away but be close enough to the Old Port at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.0 reviewed on November 18, 2014

Staff was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were very nice and quaint. The traffic was a little loud where are room was located, but for the trip we were on the room was perfect. All the conveniences were supplied. I think that the only thing they could develop is the parking. We had to use the overflow parking at the next business which was convenient but I think that it would be beneficial to try to expand a little or be able to connect directly to their parking lot. Overall a very good experience and we are planning to have another little overnight getaway soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Cute little inn! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 18, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay here plus its super close to State Theatre!

View more reviews for this inn


I wish every city had an inn like this at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2014

The decor is utterly charming, the cleanliness was exemplary, and the staff gave us a quality of service I've never experienced. I want to reiterate that: this was the best service I've ever had.

View more reviews for this inn


very budget friendly at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 17, 2014

Located in a quiet section of west end area. Complementary wifi & 24/7 coffee! Extremely hospitable and helpful staff. Enjoyed my 5 day stay! Would visit again if I come back to the city of Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful and relaxing stay at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Brewster House on a Veterans Day. Scott and Mary open their home free of charge to veterans. We had a peaceful and relaxing stay. The Brewster House is beautiful and spotless. Mary and Scott are friendly and you can see they love their "second careers" as innkeepers. Mary breakfast was absolutely delicious. We greatly appreciate as a military family what Scott and Mary give to Veterans. We highly recommend staying at The Brewster House if you visit the quaint village of Freeport.

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on November 17, 2014

The staff were very helpful and courteous. The room was very ecclectic and clean. I will definately stay here again....and a great room for a reasonable price.

View more reviews for this inn


Great overnight stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 17, 2014

I stayed at the Inn several years ago, and when I had to be in Portland overnight, decided to check it out again. The experience was even better than I remembered; friendly, helpful staff, charming room, delicious coffee. It felt as though I were staying at a favorite aunt's gracious home.

View more reviews for this inn


Vet's Stay at Captain Jefferds Inn, Kennebunkport, Me. at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on November 14, 2014

Thanks, Erik and Sarah for opening your doors to veterans. Our stay was memorable; we shall return. Outstanding accommodations, services, breakfast--truly a top-drawer B&B. kin

View more reviews for this inn


Beautifully renovated B&B at Wolf Cove Inn Bed & Breakfast (Poland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on November 13, 2014

Roy and Sue have done a beautiful job with renovating the B&B. The wine and cheese hour is a great way of interacting with the guest and hosts. The food was great and the hosts were very accommodating. Lots of little extras such as the availability of water, fruit and toiletries(if you forgot anyting). Went there on closing weekend, and look forward to going back.

View more reviews for this inn


Aways a treat at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at The Captain Jefferds Inn a few times now. It is always a pleasure. Incredibly warm and welcoming with a all the touches of home.From the spiced apple cider to the wonderful breakfasts you will want to to return. Always a special thank you. Nick and Pat from New Haven ,

View more reviews for this inn


November 2014 at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on November 12, 2014

Room was very nice. Staff helpful and kind. Breakfast items available in am (muffins, bagels, coffee, tea, cereal, juices,etc).

View more reviews for this inn


overnight stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 12, 2014

good value

View more reviews for this inn


maine at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.0 reviewed on November 11, 2014

my husband and i always enjoy our stay at the Inn. Clean confortable and good service.

View more reviews for this inn


Portland's best kept secret! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2014

The Inn at St. John is a charming bed and breakfast that exceeds expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on November 11, 2014

Excellent value, very clean and accommodating staff

View more reviews for this inn


We love it here!!! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on November 10, 2014

We love the Inn at St. John. Gorgeous accomodations at a Great Price The staff is wonderful. No dining experience to speak of pleanty of choices elsewhere in Portland. The Wifi was not working for the entire time we were there. We assume it will be fixed because. We are coming back!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on November 09, 2014

First time staying at the Inn last week for a romantic getaway to Portland. Usually stay at the Holiday Inn but won't ever again. St. John exceeded all of our expectations. Loved our stay in Room 108. The off season pricing is fantastic and the staff was so kind. It is a bit of a walk (15-20 min) to the downtown area but we loved that. Introduced us to areas of the city we hadn't spent much time in before and it was fun to escape downtown at night too. We will definitely be staying here for all future visits to Portland!

View more reviews for this inn


Very affordable charm and history at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 09, 2014

We stayed there several years ago because they literally had the only available room in Portland. Laat month we wanted a B & B in Portland and decided to try them again. It was even more charming than I remembered. We had a room on the top floor. The walk up is easily enough, plus you get to see the actual layout of the place. It is such an interesting building. Service and staff is great. Will definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Value & Location at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 06, 2014

While some readers may be urban sophisticates, I am just a simple country chemist. I get nervous in large cities and ritzy accommodations. That is why Portland is my favorite city, and the inn at St John is my favorite place to stay. The inn has old New England (Victorian is it?) charm and a mellow, welcoming feel. You will be greeted warmly and your room will be clean. A 20-minute walk will take you into the Old Port or most anywhere else you might want to go. If you're too lazy to walk, a cheap cab ride will get you there and support the local economy that much more. Speaking of cheap, for the location and amenities, this inn delivers value in spades. It's a great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Boutique hotel with personality and great value at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on November 06, 2014

The room was very clean, well stocked, and well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great value and good location on the peninsula, only a few miles from the Old Port.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique and great value at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 06, 2014

Really cool old building. The staff was super helpful getting us taxis and providing us with an iron. I did not have breakfast the next morning but there were cookies and water available all day, which I appreciated coming in after midnight. It's a great value and I highly recommend staying there.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}