Get a free $60 with a gift card purchase of $300

Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Old-style hospitality and charm at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 13, 2014

Victorian, antique furniture, the best of old-school. And convenient to the airport if you have an early morning flight. Breakfast is humdrum, but there are cookies and drinks available at all hours, and the hosts couldn't be nicer. Next door is a good bistro, Dogfish Cafe, and there's a decent pizza-pub across the street. Short (20 minute) walk to the Old Port. Great place. I've stayed here many times.

View more reviews for this inn


Close to the action but far from the noise at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on August 13, 2014

The exterior view of the inn hides a treasure inside. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The private bath, while compact, had everything needed for a comfortable stay. Ample supply of bath products. Mini fridge and nice sized TV, two seating areas. Continental breakfast items and hours are sure to fit any travelers schedule. If you're a baseball fan, the Portland Sea Dogs stadium is only a short, one block walk from the inn. My favorite thing about the inn was its location. After the hustle and bustle of the Portland waterfront, it was nice to stay away from the chaos and noise. Very calming. I would recommend this inn and would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

2.8 reviewed on August 13, 2014

Accommodations were well suited for the guests of a young wedding celebration. Only wish the manager hadn't threatened to call the police on us for continuing our celebrations in the Bride and Groom's suite. ...just saying.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home, friendly hosts, great location at Kendall Tavern Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 13, 2014

We were driving through Freeport for a one-night stay. The Kendall Tavern B&B is in a beautiful home. The hosts are super-friendly, interesting, fun to talk to, and attentive. The location is ideal -- far enough away from downtown to be quiet, close enough to get there quickly on foot.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Away at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Inn at St John and we were completely happy with the stay. The bed was incredibly comfortably, the room itself was quite cute, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The Inn is a bit of a walk down Congress street from the main strip, but it's in no way secluded. The only minor annoyance was that the breakfast was lacking any sort of meat. Where's the bacon?

View more reviews for this inn


Last minute getaway at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on August 12, 2014

So glad we had a chance to stay at this lovely inn. It was just out of the main tourist area of Portland, and we were glad of that. Folks were very pleasant and extremely helpful! There were many offers to help with luggage and assist in any way possible as we made plans for our short visit. Recommendations, when asked for, were forthcoming, and we were helped to orient to Portland and the many things to do. Thank you to all at the Inn at St. John for making it such an enjoyable stay. Would definitely return when in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


We loved our 3 night stay here. at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Mary and Scott know how to do it right. From the amazing breakfasts to the wonderful rooms our stay was truly relaxing and we will for sure be back. Luxurious towels and linens (very important to us) our room (the West Quoddy #3) was comfortable and roomy with 2 windows on the corner. We had wonderful restaurant suggestions. Great shopping in the area and the Brewster House is close enough to walk to the restaurants. Fabulous porch to drink coffee and wine on .... We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Good value, decent location.

View more reviews for this inn


Step back in time to luxury at affordable prices at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Lovely 3-night stay. Comfortable. Clean. Charming host. Fabulous breakfasts. Easy in and out.

View more reviews for this inn


A valuable and recommendable B&B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.2 reviewed on August 10, 2014

A bit far away from downtown, by walking it took us almost 30' to arrive the old port. However, it's a good value in terms of quality vs price and the parking is very useful. I recommend this place.

View more reviews for this inn


exeptionnel ! at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

des hôtes fantastiques et fiers de leur commerce.

View more reviews for this inn


We always stay at the Inn at St. John! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

The Inn at St. John is such a great place to stay when my wife and I are in Portland. We never book our overnights anywhere but here. Such clean and comfortable rooms, extremely nice and helpful staff, and a wonderful continental breakfast all at a very reasonable price. Already looking forward to our next visit! -Roger Roberts, Traverse City Michigan

View more reviews for this inn


Look forward to staying here every year at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 10, 2014

We stay here every year for a few days in August. The house and rooms are charming and well kept. This year we stayed in the Velvet, which is our new favorite. The beach is only a 10 min walk. Breakfast is nice and Ray and his wife are very helpful if you're looking for ideas on things to do. We were not looking for someone to chitchat with us all morning so occasionally we ate breakfast on their beautiful wrap around porch. Fabulous!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B & B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 10, 2014

I do not usually stay in a B&B but my experience at The Inn at St. John may change that. Very comfortable accommodations and enjoyed the historic building. Although it is a bit out of the town center , it was easy access to drive there.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Place!! at Kendall Tavern Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights. What a treat!! Nancy and Mark are wonderful, attentive hosts. The room was clean and well arranged. Each room also has it's own full bathroom. Every morning we were awakened by the aroma of the spectacular breakfasts. They were really spectacular. Every evening , Nancy would bake some type of cookie or pastry and put it out in the common room for all. one night while I was sitting on the front porch a hummingbird came to feed on the hanging flower basket. The Inn is close enough to the shops in freeport for easy access but far enough away that you didn't realize they were soo close. I highly recommend this place. we plan to stay here again on our next trip to Maine.

View more reviews for this inn


Funky but very clean at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on August 09, 2014

The room was exceedingly clean, comfortable, and larger than expected. The AC unfortunately put out a mildewy smell, hence the funky. The folks at the desk seemed suitably burnt out, attempts at friendliness but tempered with statements of apparent boredom answering questions. They were not offensive just hated their jobs I think.

View more reviews for this inn


Strange place, a little spooky at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

2.4 reviewed on August 08, 2014

Charming but rundown house in shabby suburb, opposite a paper mill and farther from central Portland than one was led to believe from website. Still, the strangest aspect of the place is that it's basically D-I-Y. Not only do the owners not live on the premises, they're largely absentee. You arrive, open the door with a combination you've been sent, and pick up the key to your room from the table near the entrance. Owners don't materialize until (an admittedly excellent) breakfast the next morning. It's not "The Shining," exactly, but it's not like any B&B I've ever stayed at.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 08, 2014

The Inn at St. John is great--very clean and friendly. I love that it isn't "cookie-cutter" and each room is unique. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpfu.

View more reviews for this inn


the best!! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 08, 2014

This was the best choice I've made, the rooms are clean, comfortable and have all the services, the bathroom is also great and you have a good continental breakfast. The service is the best they are helpful and nice people. I would allways come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Pet Friendly! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on August 08, 2014

Very pet friendly; we were traveling with an elderly diaper wearing dog. We were offered old blankets for bedding if needed and were told to just let them know if the carpet would need special attention when we left. The staff could not have been more understanding!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming place to stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on August 07, 2014

Portland is an expensive place to stay overnight. Given that, the Inn at St. John is a good choice - not as expensive as some, and certainly more personal and individual than most. When we arrived with only a few minutes to spare before we were due at a Sea Dogs baseball game, we got quick directions to the Inn's parking lot (and Hadlock Field is a mere block away). Later the friendly staff helped us secure our bikes in their basement. The room, though compact, was very comfortable, and the outside traffic noise soon died down. In the morning, the Inn provided only a continental breakfast - perfectly adequate though not to usual B&B standards - but it did have complimentary coffee, lemonade and cookies available in the lobby most of the day.

View more reviews for this inn


OK stay for the price at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.0 reviewed on August 07, 2014

Breakfast was fair at best, store bought factory muffins, bagels and etc. At a B&B paying $175 a night you would think they would have fresh bakery breakfast breads delivered daily. Also the space at the breakfast bar is to tight, poor layout.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at Kendall at Kendall Tavern Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on August 07, 2014

We enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


There's a reason this Inn is so highly rated at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2014

We stayed here on July 28th and 29th, 2014. Property is a five minute walk from L.L. Bean and the many outlet stores of Freeport. Very clean, perfectly maintained. The owners live on-site and are very helpful. Delicious breakfasts. We've stayed in dozens if B&B's and this Inn ranks in the top three.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 06, 2014

We stayed in room 7B at the Inn at St John and were very much happy with our selection of stay during our trip to Portland. We walked everywhere to visit and eat great food. It's at the end of Congress street, one of the foodie streets in Portland, and is only a short 10 minute walk to the busy part of Congress, and only another 10 minutes to downtown waterfront!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on August 05, 2014

We had a room on the 2nd floor with a king bed. Room was very big and clean. The shower is small but it wouldn't prevent me from revisiting the inn. Staff are kind and very helpful. Loved the continental breakfast which I ate in my room with my husband. Free bottles of water during our stay was a nice touch. I'm very glad we stayed here and look forward to going back.

View more reviews for this inn


great place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2014

I love older Inns compared to hotels. This is a Gem! Stephen Puddicombe

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on August 05, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The rooms we clean and cute. They had a nice variety for the continental breakfast and their own parking lot. It was really close to the highway and not to far from downtown. The only thing, if any, I would like to see a shuttle to and from downtown. It is walk-able to downtown but it would be nice to get picked up and dropped off if there is weather.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful people, gorgeous scenary, delicious food, amazing stay at Wolf Cove Inn Bed & Breakfast (Poland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Wolf Cove Inn last week along with our 4 month old puppy. We spent the afternoon playing in the lake (Sue & Roy had a number of water toys including canoes, a row boat and inner tubes) and wandering through the garden. We had a lovely night with some of the other guests a we watched the sunset over the lake. The room itself (we stayed at the Moosehead) was very spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a nice TV & bathroom and we all slept soundly, enjoying the quiet of the countryside. Breakfast the next morning was divine - I had the blueberry pancakes and my husband enjoyed poached eggs over sweet potato pancakes... a real treat! The dining room was beautiful decorated (they had recently remodeled) with big windows giving us a view of the lake. All in all, it was a wonderful, unexpected, part of our trip and we would highly recommend it - especially to those of you traveling with four legged friends!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B yet!!! at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and it was the best B&B we've stayed in! The hosts here nice and very informative! The breakfasts were awesome!! The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean! You gotta stay here! Linda. Fishers, IN

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}