Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Inn at St John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on July 28, 2016

I am not very tall but my feet were hanging over the bed. Service was outstanding, everyone was great. OK value for staying in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Another Pleasant Stay At Atlantic Birches at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2016

This had to have been at least our 10th time staying here. We had our son and one of his friends for some time at the beach. ABI has a great location, quiet but close to everything, always impeccably clean and comfortable. Ray's recommendation of Sea Salt Lobster was so good, we went there two nights! Great food. We love coming back here!

View more reviews for this inn


A Night at the St John! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on July 25, 2016

This was a great place to stay! I enjoyed it. Parking was kinda tough, but I found a spot! Great price for a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Good place to stay on a budget at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on July 25, 2016

I stayed for the weekend and enjoyed the free cookies and helpful staff. The staff helped me to find my way to the sites I wanted to see and offered suggestions for places to go on the rainy days. It's an easy walking distance to downtown Portland. The rooms are ok. You pay for what you get (I had one of the rooms on the top floor, small, with shared bathroom; but what I expected). The bathrooms were kept very clean which was great especially given the fact that it was shared. There is a great BBQ place 2 blocks away that was fabulous.

View more reviews for this inn


Freeport, ME Visit at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2016

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast. The owners, Dave and Kelleigh provided excellent service and it exceeded all of our expectations. The morning breakfasts were outstanding and were better than you could get at any restaurant. We highly recommend the Brewster House and we plan to stay again when we visit Freeport.

View more reviews for this inn


Happy, helpful staff. at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 21, 2016

The place was packed with Phish fans and the staff grooved right along. A jolly place. Why WHY? pay twice as much at a big-name hotel?

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect stay at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Great stay. We are the kind of people to come and go without much fuss. I can't give a true rating of the dining experience because we didn't eat on site except for some fruit. Which was wonderful. Our room/bathroom was very clean (which is mostly what I care about during a stay anywhere!) parking was no problem, super easy to get to Downtown Portland and lighthouses and such. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this Place! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 19, 2016

Can't wait to stay here again....You really feel special from the moment you walk in!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for short stay, providing the best customer service! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 18, 2016

I would definitely stay there the next time I go to Portland, ME. The staff could not do enough for me. They were outstanding!

View more reviews for this inn


Would stay again! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on July 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the stay- location was great and employees were friendly. Enjoyed the old style feel and look to the place.

View more reviews for this inn


The most lovely stay! at Kennebec Inn (Bath, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2016

Our time at the Kennebec Inn is not something we will forget. Rachel was the perfect host and made us feel right at home. The attention to detail was like nothing I had ever experienced before. The homemade breakfast each morning makes each day unique with the variety of food she prepares; each item more delicious than the last. You won't regret your stay at the Kennebec Inn. Hello from Mississippi, Rachel! Thanks again!

View more reviews for this inn


A cozy, if gloomy weekend at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Seashore Room in the cottage. I had concerns about the slanted ceiling from other reviews, but the slanted side was over the bed and it proved not to be a problem. The room was very well cleaned, the bathroom cleanliness met my boyfriend's high standards, and the linens smelled freshly washed. The cottage itself is adorable from the blueberry themed kitchen area, to the common sitting room loaded with beach knickknacks and the atmosphere was extremely quiet and peaceful. The breakfast muffins were delicious, as was the fruit salad and they had a nice variety of toast. The innkeepers were very welcoming and informative. We let them know in advance that we would be late to arrive and check in and they were very accommodating. We ate at three out of the four restaurants they recommended and were very pleased with all of them. It was also raining a bit the weekend we were there and they were kind enough to lend us an umbrella while we were out. The only problem we had the whole weekend was that there weren't enough hooks to hang all of our wet things on to dry, though we were able to make do with chairs. The location is not on the water, if that is what you are looking for, but it is a short and pleasant walk to the waterfront, and the inn itself is very easy to get to driving from many directions. This was the first time that either of us had stayed at a bed and breakfast and we were both thoroughly pleased with the experience. Thank you, Heidi & Ray for your tremendous hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Place to Stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on July 14, 2016

I have stayed at the Inn at St. John a number of times. It's great. Lovely rooms, old charm, comfortable, great service, all the people who work here are helpful and generous and it's easy walking distance to delicious food, coffee and downtown Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury amenities for a reasonable price! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on July 13, 2016

I found the Inn at St. John so charming. We stayed in #108 (one of the "luxury" rooms with a jetted tub). This most definitely would have cost more at other places in Portland and we had a wonderful, hassle free stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Puppy's Paradise at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely and relaxing July getaway in the wonderfully pup-friendly New Hampshire room. Our curious and discriminating shepherd loved the enclosed porch, private entrance, personalized dog treat and convenient skid-proof bowls. Space was ample but our quarters felt cozy and both bedrooms and the bathroom were immaculate. The main house was also meticulously tended, with a beautiful sitting room and a breakfast table fit for Norman Rockwell. Staff and owners were warm, competent and attentive. Our every need was anticipated with aplomb. If only we could have stayed longer!

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 13, 2016

Continues to maintain high standards. Very helpful staff, very very clean and a real pleasure to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on July 11, 2016

The Inn is superb. Very comfortable, large rooms. Good location, especially for the baseball. Only slight hiccup is there's not a lot of room for breakfast - the food is fine (the muffins in particular!), but you just have to time it right to get a seat.

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Inn at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2016

Always pleasure to stay at the Captain Jeffers Inn. Innkeepers are professionals and have everything in order for your stay! Glad to find this inn through Bed & Breakfast .com

View more reviews for this inn


Charming & Sweet at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on July 08, 2016

There's something about a place that still uses real keys to unlock the door. Definitely a hotel size with the feel of a bed and breakfast. Perfect for our stay, met or exceeded expectations. I would recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


1st B&B experience at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on July 08, 2016

This was my first B&B experience and gave me great confidence in checking one out again. The owners were helpful but respectful of privacy. Rooms were clean and perfect for our needs. And the place was a great location to town and activities.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.2 reviewed on July 07, 2016

The website indicated that the inn was in walking distance to downtown. It was not. If I had known that I would have to drive after a night out I would have chosen a cheaper hotel elsewhere.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 06, 2016

We recently stayed at the Inn at St. John while in town for a wedding and couldn't have been happier. It is located very close to the Portland Transportation Center (Amtrak and Conchord Coach Lines) and is only a few miles from downtown and Old Port. We utilized walking or Uber for most of our transportation in town with no issue. I can't review the food too well as I have dietary restrictions and was unable to eat most of it. They do have a sign indicating they occasionally can offer a small gluten free menu if requested, but I often didn't have time in the mornings to bother. Either way, it wasn't a big deal to me. We will stay again the next time we are able to come visit!

View more reviews for this inn


charming b&b at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2016

this b&b is has old history with many historical collections. The rooms are very clean and very old time stylish. I love it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B and B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on July 05, 2016

My room was on the top floor of the building. The stairs were very narrow and steep- just fine for me and really what you might expect in an old B and B. The service was very good. I would stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice place. at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 04, 2016

Out of town taxi was $9 better than trying to park going back in July. Breakfast was all there to help yourself . Pastries, cereal, yoghurts tea coffee, English muffins , bagels , muffins just so good.

View more reviews for this inn


quick overnight at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on July 04, 2016

The room was great and love the character of the place. Everything was very clean and neat and even the breakfast was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on July 04, 2016

Nicely decorated room! Very clean and quiet!

View more reviews for this inn


The Fiske Room at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on July 04, 2016

Very kind people willing to help and guide you.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 03, 2016

A little out of the center but a wonderful place to stay. Great staff, nice room and a nice ambiance.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place to stay at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

Amazing place!!! Great location. Host were very nice and made it feel like home

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
}