Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Perfect stay at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Great stay. We are the kind of people to come and go without much fuss. I can't give a true rating of the dining experience because we didn't eat on site except for some fruit. Which was wonderful. Our room/bathroom was very clean (which is mostly what I care about during a stay anywhere!) parking was no problem, super easy to get to Downtown Portland and lighthouses and such. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this Place! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 19, 2016

Can't wait to stay here again....You really feel special from the moment you walk in!

View more reviews for this inn


Would stay again! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on July 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the stay- location was great and employees were friendly. Enjoyed the old style feel and look to the place.

View more reviews for this inn


The most lovely stay! at Kennebec Inn (Bath, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2016

Our time at the Kennebec Inn is not something we will forget. Rachel was the perfect host and made us feel right at home. The attention to detail was like nothing I had ever experienced before. The homemade breakfast each morning makes each day unique with the variety of food she prepares; each item more delicious than the last. You won't regret your stay at the Kennebec Inn. Hello from Mississippi, Rachel! Thanks again!

View more reviews for this inn


A cozy, if gloomy weekend at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Seashore Room in the cottage. I had concerns about the slanted ceiling from other reviews, but the slanted side was over the bed and it proved not to be a problem. The room was very well cleaned, the bathroom cleanliness met my boyfriend's high standards, and the linens smelled freshly washed. The cottage itself is adorable from the blueberry themed kitchen area, to the common sitting room loaded with beach knickknacks and the atmosphere was extremely quiet and peaceful. The breakfast muffins were delicious, as was the fruit salad and they had a nice variety of toast. The innkeepers were very welcoming and informative. We let them know in advance that we would be late to arrive and check in and they were very accommodating. We ate at three out of the four restaurants they recommended and were very pleased with all of them. It was also raining a bit the weekend we were there and they were kind enough to lend us an umbrella while we were out. The only problem we had the whole weekend was that there weren't enough hooks to hang all of our wet things on to dry, though we were able to make do with chairs. The location is not on the water, if that is what you are looking for, but it is a short and pleasant walk to the waterfront, and the inn itself is very easy to get to driving from many directions. This was the first time that either of us had stayed at a bed and breakfast and we were both thoroughly pleased with the experience. Thank you, Heidi & Ray for your tremendous hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Place to Stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on July 14, 2016

I have stayed at the Inn at St. John a number of times. It's great. Lovely rooms, old charm, comfortable, great service, all the people who work here are helpful and generous and it's easy walking distance to delicious food, coffee and downtown Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury amenities for a reasonable price! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on July 13, 2016

I found the Inn at St. John so charming. We stayed in #108 (one of the "luxury" rooms with a jetted tub). This most definitely would have cost more at other places in Portland and we had a wonderful, hassle free stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Puppy's Paradise at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely and relaxing July getaway in the wonderfully pup-friendly New Hampshire room. Our curious and discriminating shepherd loved the enclosed porch, private entrance, personalized dog treat and convenient skid-proof bowls. Space was ample but our quarters felt cozy and both bedrooms and the bathroom were immaculate. The main house was also meticulously tended, with a beautiful sitting room and a breakfast table fit for Norman Rockwell. Staff and owners were warm, competent and attentive. Our every need was anticipated with aplomb. If only we could have stayed longer!

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 13, 2016

Continues to maintain high standards. Very helpful staff, very very clean and a real pleasure to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on July 11, 2016

The Inn is superb. Very comfortable, large rooms. Good location, especially for the baseball. Only slight hiccup is there's not a lot of room for breakfast - the food is fine (the muffins in particular!), but you just have to time it right to get a seat.

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Inn at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2016

Always pleasure to stay at the Captain Jeffers Inn. Innkeepers are professionals and have everything in order for your stay! Glad to find this inn through Bed & Breakfast .com

View more reviews for this inn


Charming & Sweet at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on July 08, 2016

There's something about a place that still uses real keys to unlock the door. Definitely a hotel size with the feel of a bed and breakfast. Perfect for our stay, met or exceeded expectations. I would recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


1st B&B experience at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on July 08, 2016

This was my first B&B experience and gave me great confidence in checking one out again. The owners were helpful but respectful of privacy. Rooms were clean and perfect for our needs. And the place was a great location to town and activities.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.2 reviewed on July 07, 2016

The website indicated that the inn was in walking distance to downtown. It was not. If I had known that I would have to drive after a night out I would have chosen a cheaper hotel elsewhere.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 06, 2016

We recently stayed at the Inn at St. John while in town for a wedding and couldn't have been happier. It is located very close to the Portland Transportation Center (Amtrak and Conchord Coach Lines) and is only a few miles from downtown and Old Port. We utilized walking or Uber for most of our transportation in town with no issue. I can't review the food too well as I have dietary restrictions and was unable to eat most of it. They do have a sign indicating they occasionally can offer a small gluten free menu if requested, but I often didn't have time in the mornings to bother. Either way, it wasn't a big deal to me. We will stay again the next time we are able to come visit!

View more reviews for this inn


charming b&b at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2016

this b&b is has old history with many historical collections. The rooms are very clean and very old time stylish. I love it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B and B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on July 05, 2016

My room was on the top floor of the building. The stairs were very narrow and steep- just fine for me and really what you might expect in an old B and B. The service was very good. I would stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice place. at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 04, 2016

Out of town taxi was $9 better than trying to park going back in July. Breakfast was all there to help yourself . Pastries, cereal, yoghurts tea coffee, English muffins , bagels , muffins just so good.

View more reviews for this inn


quick overnight at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on July 04, 2016

The room was great and love the character of the place. Everything was very clean and neat and even the breakfast was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on July 04, 2016

Nicely decorated room! Very clean and quiet!

View more reviews for this inn


The Fiske Room at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on July 04, 2016

Very kind people willing to help and guide you.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 03, 2016

A little out of the center but a wonderful place to stay. Great staff, nice room and a nice ambiance.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place to stay at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

Amazing place!!! Great location. Host were very nice and made it feel like home

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B and nice folks that run it! at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on June 30, 2016

Really enjoyed out stay, will will visit again!

View more reviews for this inn


Good times at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on June 28, 2016

The Inn was cute and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There isn't much around in that area but it's a short taxi ride to downtown.

View more reviews for this inn


Portland, ME and St. John Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.2 reviewed on June 28, 2016

The St. John Inn is a clean and affordable way to get the most of Portland. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the water and almost every restaurant/bar/shop in Portland. The staff was respectful and I was always greeted with a smile even when returning very late at night. I will be returning to this Inn again next time I am in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Consistently Lovely at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on June 28, 2016

I have stayed at the Inn at St Johns several times over the past 20 years or so and have found it to be consistently pleasant and welcoming. Very convenient to downtown and arts district - a long walk or short uber ride away.

View more reviews for this inn


Our weekend stay in June! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 27, 2016

My husband and I recently stayed at St. John's Inn. It was perfect! We took the greyhound in, and the location was practically across the street. The staff are friendly. Our room was extremely clean, and cozy. We were extremely comfortable. The walk to the downtown area wasn't far (at least for us!) we are New Yorkers and walking is our trade. It's about a 15 min walk to the arts district, and about 20 min to the waterfront. Be sure to eat at Local Sprouts, Portland Lobster Co when you are there, and if you've willingly the cash to burn, The Fore restaurant! It was magical. Amazing food and coffee shops so close to the Inn. We'll be back. Continental breakfast is simple and exactly what you'd expect, but it's a nice gesture. We'll be back for sure!!

View more reviews for this inn


"Bed & Breakfast" a misnomer at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on June 25, 2016

This inn is quite nice and very convenient, but the breakfast was similar to what you would find at your average motel - just a limited selection of cold cereal, muffins, and croissants. The cookies in the evenings, however, are excellent!

View more reviews for this inn


My experience at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on June 25, 2016

This Inn is very lovely. The decor has been maintained in this charming building but modernized to accommodate expectations. The in room refrigerator was a plus & the staff were so helpful & professional. We were on the second floor & the stairs are rather steep but they offer to have staff bring luggage up & down, right to the car for comfort. Location good for local activities. A do over for me.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
}