Recent Reviews in Poquetanuck, Connecticut

One of the best I have stayed in! at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2016

This place was awesome! The furnishings made you feel you were in a different era! The grounds itself, with the cemeteries right between was very reminiscent of the colonial days! The room we stayed in was so cozy, it was named Adalaide, which by the way is deemed to be the room where a spirit may visit while you are there! We did not see her. but we felt her! Almost everytime we left the room, we came back to a fragrance, not of this time period! We also heard sounds in the room throughout the night! Never felt scared, but felt that she was watching over us, nothing more! Also felt, that since this was a Garrison in the period time, we could feel the presence of those men within the living room! There is also a nice game room with a pool table to enjoy! The night we stayed there, we had no other guests there, so we pretty much got to enjoy the whole place! The breakfast was A+, the Owners and staff was terrific! Do not hesitate to visit and stay here, I only stayed 1 night, but wish I could have stayed longer! Also, walking upstairs to room, the walls were hand painted of a scene which depicted the town of Preston, as it was after it was founded, with beautiful homes, barns and fields, along with beautiful skies!!! Absolutely gorgeous!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hosts and Ghosts at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2016

We are enjoying our third visit to Captain Grant's, and hope to return many times in the years to come. This historic 18th century inn is convenienly placed halfway between two major casinos: Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods. The property is on a lovely plot of land. The hosts, Ted and Carol, are gracious and charming. Each room is unique and tastefully decorated. We have stayed in the Collette room twice and in the Amy room once. We found both to be very comfortable and would gladly experience some of the other rooms in the future. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and enjoyed outside when the weather allows. The coffee is delicious and bottomless, and every breakfast includes fresh fruit, savory meats such as ham or bacon, annegg dish, and/or toast, French toast, waffles, or pancakes. The owners make their own jams, jellies, and compotes, which are also available for sale. We are especially fond of the rhubarb compote and the Concord grape jam. The inn has various charming common spaces, including a game room and benches outside on the beautiful lawn. Wine, beer, soft drinks, and water are available on a self-serve basis, and there is always cake or cookies available for snacking. The inn has a long-standing reputation for being haunted by various benign ghosts. We have not experience this directly...yet. But you never know. Meanwhile, the complImentary sherry provided in each of the guestrooms is a most congenial spirit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts and home at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on August 11, 2016

Nice property and very warm hosts and staff. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Historical B&B at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

3.2 reviewed on July 29, 2016

Gracious hosts, awesome breakfasts. Loved the way the history of the Inn was presented with a local artist's mural depicting life as it was in the 1800's and scrapbooks showing newspaper clippings with information about the Inn and its current owners passionate effort to transform it back to its roots.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place, Good People at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on June 17, 2016

A very pretty location. The host was extremely nice and accommodating. Breakfast was delish! Definitely close enough to casino, mystic, winery, and brewery, location wise.

View more reviews for this inn


Will be returning at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on May 06, 2016

We stayed in the Elizabeth Room which was very nice with its own bathroom. Room was very clean and the hosts Carol and Ted were very friendly and informative about the house's history and the local area. The breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent and they even made special gluten free pancakes for my wife.

View more reviews for this inn


A Fantastic GEM at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on November 06, 2015

We had a great time. Ted and Carol were attentive. When we had a minor problem Ted was there in about 5 minutes and was able to fix the problem right away. The breakfast was a beyond delicious. I have never had such awesome french toast. We plan to go back as soon as we can. Thanks for the chance to have such a good experience.

View more reviews for this inn


First Bed and Breakfast Experience at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on September 12, 2015

We stayed at Captain Grant's for our first Bed and Breakfast experience. We had no idea what to expect - Ted and Carol made it so easy and it felt like we were staying with family. We met some wonderful people whom we hope to stay in touch with for a very long time. Would highly recommend Captain Grants!

View more reviews for this inn


A Romantic Getaway at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on August 18, 2015

The quaint accommodations and location was perfect for a weekend getaway. We were welcomed into the homestead and was provided with a variety of information to places to eat, maps, and suggestions as to what to see.

View more reviews for this inn


old school charm at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on July 09, 2015

Was greeted very warmly by Ted (owner). Ted spent time with us making sure we knew all the amenities. Wine, beer, cake, antique pool table, fire pit, maps, dining. My wife & I needed to leave early the next day & Ted made sure coffee was ready 1st thing. Will recommend to friends & family.

View more reviews for this inn


cozy place at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on January 06, 2015

this is my first time staying here i did like it very much it was close to the casinos nice location had a great breakfast and a friendly staff the room we stayed in was nice

View more reviews for this inn


interesting place at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on October 20, 2014

We drove up and were nicely met by Ted. He offered us tea and cake, and showed us where the wine was. Our room was called "ADELAIDE" . We slept well and only found out the next morning that our room was rumored to be haunted! We really liked that our hosts sat and had breakfast with us. A very nice place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Captain Grant's New London at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on October 18, 2014

Food and hospitality was very good. The rooms was a little stuffy

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic stay at Captain Grant's at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on December 31, 2013

My husband and I found a great deal on Groupon for a one night stay Sun - Thurs with a free ghost communications lesson and decided to use it for my birthday on Dec 27th. As soon as we arrived Ted greeted us with a big smile and showed us to our room, we stayed in the Collette room. The room was well equipped with warm bedding, lots of pillows (which I love) fresh towels, soap, shampoo, tv with cable, and a lovely crystal container with some sort of sweet liquor and two shot glasses which was really delicious and helped me fall fast asleep that night. My husband and I were a bit restless and hungry so we decided to go downstairs to have some of the most delicious complimentary lemon cake, coffee, and cookies in the dining room. We then made our way to the upstairs game room and played a round of pool. I loved that we had access to the entire house during our stay and the place really did feel like a home away from home. I can't emphasize enough how warm, and cozy the house felt and how comfortable we felt here. The next morning we shared the table with our neighbors and a few other guests for a large family style breakfast. Since we were the last to join the group, Ted was a magnificant host and reintroduced everyone to break the ice for good conversation at breakfast. The food was absolutely scruptious, waffles, new york style scrammbled eggs, ham, raspberry jam, coffee, freshly squeezed O.J., and apple cider. After breakfast Carol joined us and shared some very intersting history and a few stories, followed by the ghost communications lesson which was amazing and totally out of this world. Ted and Carol are two of the sweetest  most generous and phenomenal human beings we've met. They deserve the sky, the stars, and a mountain of blessings. We were so happy with everything and would recommend Captain Grants in a heart  beat to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean, warm, homely place to get away. Needless to stay we will be back VERY SOON!!! -! Jess and Dio

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at Captain Grants at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on September 29, 2013

We booked a 2 nite stay at Captain Grants. Our stay was Sept 17 & 18th. We felt so comfortable on the 2nd morning; that we decided to see if our room was available for an additional night. It was & we stayed a 3rd night. The room was beautiful & comfortable. There was a beautiful game room, and the food was sumptous & ever-flowing. Ted & Carol were perfect hosts. The home felt "like home". Plan to return next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Breathtakingly Incredible at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on July 16, 2013

I stayed at Captain Grant's Inn for one night with my fiance, on July 3, 2013. We simply needed a "place to rest our heads" before visiting Mohegan Sun the next day, then driving the 1.5-hours home to MA for another 4th of July party. We arrived pretty late on July 3rd and actually found ourselves in the wrong room! The next morning, when I apologized and explained how we ended up in the wrong room, Ted was very kind and understanding. We had breakfast with the Innkeepers Ted and Carol, who are both very sweet and they've got some hilarious stories. They're great at getting the guests to speak amongst themselves. Luckily, there was a good mix of families there who came from afar (but still within the continental US), juxtaposed with CT residents looking to relax in this "hidden gem." And let me tell you, I think I'd like to come back with my future hubby for our one-year anniversary! The wedding is still a year away (and in MA), but Captain Grant's is splendid! It's a deal and a half... The staff is incredible and sweet, the rooms are clean and moderately spacious, and the grounds are gorgeously manicured. For all the ghost chasers, I hear it's haunted, too. ;)

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Bed & Breakfast at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2013

This is such a beautiful Bed And Breakfast. The hosts, Ted and Carol were very accommodating and made the place feel like home. We stayed in the Colette Room, which is beautifully decorated and cozy! And of course.... the breakfasts were all delicious (we were there for 3 of them)! We're definitely going back the next time we head to the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on May 09, 2012

Captain Grant's is a truly outstanding bed and breakfast. The house itself is gorgeous and extremely well taken care of. The rooms are beautifully decorated and they are very cozy! Bathrooms gorgeous as well. Breakfast every morning is delicious and there's always more than enough food. Most importantly, the hosts are wonderful people. They are more than willing to help you with anything, and they're also just lovely people to be around with really interesting stories. Breakfast is a joy to eat with them and to get to know the other guests. The place is not only comfortable, it's actually homey. We recommend it very highly.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on November 24, 2011

My husband and I recently spent two evenings at Captain Grant's. We had such a great time. Ted and Carol are so accommodating. Breakfast was fabulous...lovely table setting, great food and a great group of people. We spent the entire breakfast hour chatting and laughing. Although we didn't experience any spirits, others of our group did and it was exciting to hear about it. The rooms are very cozy and nicely decorated. A place we will definintely return to. Exceeded all of our expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


First B&B, Great experience at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on July 27, 2011

This was our first time at a B&B and it was a great choice. Carol and Ted are absolutely super hosts. They made us feel very welcome and every breakfast was well planned and prepared. I would recommend this B&B without question. We hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on November 12, 2010

We stayed for 1 night and it was a wonderful stay. Ted & carol are great innkeepers and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was the best. They are puting an addition on the house to make a larger dining area

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts of a very historic building! at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2010

The wife and I stayed here for two nights several days ago and Ted and Carol made us feel sooooo at home. We stayed in the Adelaide room which is supposedly haunted but nothing happened during our stay. The breakfasts were outstanding and we even checked out the old cemetary which is located in the woods behind the stone wall...kinda cool. We would definitely go back again in a heartbeat. We couldn't have been more relaxed. Make sure to visit Mystic and Stonington Point during your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


stay here often at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2009

My husband and I stay here often. The historic house is beautiful. The inn keepers are very nice and friendly. Breakfast was beyond amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


The best B&B ever at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2009

Excellent food! Lovely hostess! Can't wait to come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent hosts! at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on February 27, 2009

Pleasant couple- It was a beautiful home and the breakfast terrific! I'll be back! Give them a 10+!

View more reviews for this inn


A home away from home at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on October 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Captain Grant's this past Columbus day weekend. This was our first b&b experience and a gift from my mother for my birthday. We didn't quite know what to expect, but after this weekend we decided that we enjoy the homey feeling of a b&b. The innkeepers, Ted and Carol, were very kind and hospitable and knew everyone's names. They were able to offer us recommendations for dining and outings along with detailed direction cards. Carol's breakfasts were outstanding. We especially enjoyed her cheddar and chive eggs and her fluffy pancakes. We even purchased a few of their homemade preserves. It was also a different experience from a hotel because the guests sat around the dining room table together for breakfasts at 9 or 10 and enjoyed many friendly conversations. The rooms were very rustic decorated with antique furniture and efficient gas fireplaces. I loved the history of this home and that soldiers were housed there during the American Revolution. I only found out after our stay that the Adelaide room was suppose to be haunted by Captain Grant's wife, but there were no ghostly experiences the entire weekend. It is also in close proximity from the casinos, which is a plus.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved It!!!!!!! at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on October 05, 2008

The owners are wonderful and full of information. The breakfast meal was 5 star. And the kitty is the best and sooooo loving. I have traveled the world and this Inn is a must to enjoy and relax.

View more reviews for this inn


A ghostly Good time at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on September 06, 2008

I had come across Captain Grant's online. It wasn't too far off the beaten path, close to The New London Ferry, close to the casinos of CT, and seemed perfect for a night of Ghost Hunting fun! We had booked the ADELADE room..supposedly the most haunted from online reviews. We met Carol and Ted right away, they came and gave us a tour, and told us all about the historic inn. We had the whole night to ourselves in a "haunted" inn. It was such a great location. The B&B is in the country, yet close enough by car to the casinos...although you would never know it....VERY QUIET. We read some of the articles about the Inn, which were in some books on the coffee table in the living room, and saw that there were two OLD cemeteries nearby. Surprisingly, they were directly across the street, and also in the rear of the inn, through a field. We took lot's of pictures in the Inn, and in the cemetery across the street. The pictures showed what were strange mist like clouds and lights, and lots of orbs. Of course, the moisture in the air played a big part in the "orbs", but the mist appeared upon command, then went away as quickly as it came. When we arrived back to our room, we heard noises down the hall. Could it have been the cat??? It was a great night. In the morning, we awoke to the smell of bacon frying in a pan. Carol was already downstairs preparing a fantastic breakfast. Ted and Carol joined us for breakfast which was great. Overall, what a fun and creepy night we had. Carol and Ted were most accomodating, and pleasant. The Adelade room possibly had a ghost or two that resided there, but didn't scare us away, and let us sleep peacefully. The Inn had a really quaint charm to it, old, with a lot of character. I would definately recommend this B&B to ANYONE..Ghost Hunters, and NON-Ghost hunters alike. It is in a great location to everything in the area, but far enough away, to get some peace and quiet if you want.

View more reviews for this inn


Great people, great stay at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on September 04, 2008

This was our first experience at a b&b an we're pleased to say that it went well beyond what we expected. The room was darling and the service was incredible. We even bought some of the jam because it was great. We'll be back in the area again and again because we have family here and we plan on making Captain Grant's a tradition.

View more reviews for this inn


A must come back at Captain Grant's, 1754 (Poquetanuck, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2008

Wonderful, delightful, warm, friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Captain Grant's, 1754 (4.62)
Top
}