Recent Reviews in Biron, France

Favourite place in the world for a mini break at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2014

The food (breakfast and dinner) is outstanding and would not look out of place in a top London restaurant or Hotel. The hosts truly make the Chambre d'hote what it is, always there to help you have a memorable stay. My wife and I have been several times and each experience has been unique and got better and better each time. I love the fact I can relax when I stay and enjoy great company, food, wine and champagne. If you haven't been you must go to this beautiful little paradise in rural France.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2013

There should be an ‘Extra Special’ Category, because this is just that. Penny and Adrian provide exceptional accommodation and food, but they then enhance that with themselves, as they provide an exceptional level of hospitality and warmth. Vey highly recommended, if you want a high standard of accommodation, food and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Flyers stop by at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2013

We were flying into to Jonzac to meet friends. No accommodation available there and Penny's and Adrian's B&B was the result, found by chance. What a find. Absolutely outstanding quality in their home but very relaxed.Hardly fair to refer to this as a "B&B". So much more than that. Food was prepared specifically and to a quality using local produce. We joined a happy gathering in the garden .Nothing was too much trouble. All so much of what makes a good short break. Pons Airfield nearby so no excuse not to be back

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the Best and More! at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2013

Maison Maurice was the second leg of our holiday in the South West of France. Penny and Adrian made us most welcome from the minute we arrived. The location is perfect whether one wants to spend a day at the beach or a quiet walk in the vineyards or indeed a “degustation” at the nearby Cognac Distillery. Penny and Adrian were the perfect hosts, pampered us and armed us with lots of information for things to do in the region. The house was delightful, the food exquisite and the company most charming. When we next visit the region Maison Maurice will be on top of our list, we only hope that they will put up with our demanding ways.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2013

This is my first review on bedandbreakfast.com - I felt compelled to write after having had such a good stay with Penny and Adrian. The rooms were immaculate, the food excellent and, despite the great reviews, our expectations were still exceeded. Our visit was extremely relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for Penny and Adrian. They told us that their aim was to create a house/dinner party kind of atmosphere where guests felt more like friends than paying visitors and I certainly think they have achieved that. From the welcome with a cold drink in the garden to pre dinner drinks, a delicious four course meal and coffee, lots of help with how to best spend our one day in the region, a lift back from the local cognac distillery, hand written directions for the best route for the next leg of our journey south and refreshed water bottles for the drive, they were great hosts and deserve every success.

View more reviews for this inn


A haven of hospitality at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

4.8 reviewed on June 27, 2013

A sign inside the door welcoming us by Cristian name was the first indication that we had arrived at somewhere special and so our stay proved. Maison Maurice is the definitive luxury B & B in France. Penny and Adrian are superb hosts with extremely high standards. We arrive as welcome guests and leave as committed friends

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place to stay while exploring the Bordeaux wine region at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2013

Excellent place to stay when travelling from ferries to Southern France or Spain. Just a short distance from the motorway from St Malo to Bordeaux, with easy to follow instructions from the motorway. Adrian and Penny are warm and welcoming hosts. The food we sampled was excellent, both tea, supper and breakfast were superb with local and home-made produce. The accommodation is warm and comfortable with 'special welcoming touches'. The decor is stylish, very well thought out and decorated to a very high standard. We felt as though we were treated as old friends who had dropped by to stay for a few days and despite the single night booking were given greatly appreciated advice on routes and things to do and see in the surrounding area. This high quality B&B is an excellent choice whether for a single night stopover or a longer stay while exploring this most interesting area of France. Thoroughly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


A very special place at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2013

Even a brief stay at Maison Maurice will reveal why it has been rated as one of the top ten B&Bs in the international category. The attention to detail in every aspect of the accommodation reflects the high standard that Penny and Adrian set themselves whilst still providing a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Just the garden itself is worth a visit and the dinners equally delightful! If you are anywhere in the area seek out this hidden gem - you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


A little bit of heaven at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2012

Amateur travellers in France myself and my partner pre-booked 3 B&B's to break up the journey down to Languedoc. We had no recommendation to go on bar what we read in various internet sites. Maison Maurice was the second of those selected B&B's and it turned out to be a total winner. The house is a peaceful haven with superbly renovated bedrooms - each of which has a different theme. The rooms are of a good size with individual modern en suite bathrooms. They share some features like beautiful oak beams and are peaceful, cool places for resting up after a long day. The house is set in its own gardens which during sunny periods offer the guest the chance to sit out and have breakfast or take some sun whilst reading a book. The best part of Maison Maurice however is not the building or its interior (excellent and all as those are) - it is the hosts Penny and Adrian who make the thing complete. They are a bubbly energetic couple with many years experience in stressful careers left behind to take on this challenge of running a B&B in France. And boy do they do it well. Prepare to be spoilt - the food - breakfast and dinner - were superb and presented with excellent wines - Rose, white and red. We recommend you try the local Pineau - a pre dinner drink which Adrian introduced us to and we took away 6 bottles back to Ireland!! The walks around the house - through the vines and the fields of sunflowers are beautiful. Our initial visit was so pleasant I called into Penny/Adrian on my way back from Languedoc and enjoyed that stay as much as the first trip. We are already planning our return in 2013. If you are anywhere near Biron then do yourself a favour - divert to Maison Mauirce - you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Visit at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2012

We really enjoyed our few days stay with Penny and Adrian from the warm welcome, lovely room and excellent breakfasts and dinners, they made us feel at ease in their beautiful home. Nothing was too much trouble and their knowledgeable advice of areas to visit made for an excellent stay. Thoroughly recommended and having left as friends hope to return in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Saved The Best For Last at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2012

We cannot fault anything about our stay at Maison Maurice other than to say we wished it was for longer. By far the best B&B of our French holiday. The accommodation was characterful & classy. The attention to detail was lovely from the sprig of fresh lavender on our pillow to the colourful little flowers on the fruit at breakfast. We had the most memorable fine dining experience in the garden on a beautiful evening. The wine flowed (many thanks to Adrian) & Penny's food was exquisite. Breakfast was also one to remember including delicious homemade preserves & banana cake & I must not forget the fresh figs from the tree in the garden (we were also given a generous supply to bring home) Adrian & Penny are fantastic hosts & we can't wait to return

View more reviews for this inn


Another lovely stay! at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2012

Thank you Penny and Adrian (and Molly the dog!) for another lovely break. We visit Maison Maurice at least once a year on our way down from the UK to the south or back. Our two young children invariably cheer when we get to the village because they know they are going to be spoilt rotten by these lovely people, who go out of their way to make sure everyone in the family is well looked after. For that reason, the children tend to behave very well meaning we can really relax. All the rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated and the garden a gorgeous oasis of calm where, if you visit in summer, you can enjoy an alfresco breakfast or dinner. We go for walks and visit the local beaches but always try to get back for dinner at Maison Maurice because Penny really is a fab cook. I always come away with a few new recipes written down and sometimes cuttings from the garden. An excellent B&B. Highly recommended. Whoever you are and whatever your circumstances I can guarantee Penny and Adrian will make you feel welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Place to Stay at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2012

A group of 8 of us arrived at Maison Maurice on 08/09/12 while touring around France. Adrian and Penny turned out to be the most amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble, Our rooms were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Dinner was delicious, Penny is a fantastic cook. Our stay with them was easily the best of our holiday. Excellent value for money. We will certainly return there again, A Fantastic stay, Thank you to Adrian and Penny , look forward to staying with you again, Maeve and Dennis

View more reviews for this inn


A Charming Long Weekend! at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent 3 nights at Maison Maurice - From the first minute Adrian and Penny were welcoming and very attentive to our every need. The beautiful farmhouse boasts a wonderful traditional feel with comfortable, large rooms with modern en-suite. Penny does a superb breakfast with homemade preserves, yogurts, fresh fruits and breads. Adrian and Penny provided us with lots of helpful local info, they were kind enough to spend time giving us directions to local restaurants and beaches. We also loved the company of their lovely little dog Molly - a great 'doggy fix' for us as we were missing our own dog at home! A thoroughly enjoyable stay - we couldn't recommend Maison Maurice more! Looking forward to our next visit. Chris & Chloe

View more reviews for this inn


Overnight stay in Pons after nightmare in Nantes at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2012

We stayed with Penny and Adrian in Maison Maurice at the end of June for one night while en route from Dublin to the Sud. We were welcomed and given (pre booked) a fantastic evening meal by Penny even though we were very late arriving there due to a long delay outside Nantes. The rooms were spotless and the beds so comfortable we sleep like babies. Breakfast was served in their wonderful English style garden and Penny was on hand to lay on a wonderful spread once again.Fresh croissants and crusty bread with a great selection of homemade preserves . Definitely recommend this B&B it really is outstanding in every category.

View more reviews for this inn


Two wonderful weeks in Summer 2012 in Poitou-Charentes at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2012

We spend our holidays every year in Chambres d'Hotes in France. This year, we have been in a jewel: Quality, Kindness, Value for Money, Reliability and Extraordinarity like care during our sick days. The kitchen of Maison Maurice let us forget the restaurants. Dining was completed by the English humour of Penny and Adriand, and the singing dog (Molly). We met very friendly other guests from Italy and Lithuania and had also very friendly contacts on the markets and the concerts with the people from Poitou-Charentes. We had always time to retire and we could relax very well. The coast gave us great possibilities for sports like walking. We'll come back surely. Thank you very much Penny and Adrian - and Molly.

View more reviews for this inn


Family from Lithuania at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2012

Everything was just perfect, Penny and Adrian know how to make your stay wonderful, I think a dinner is a must, if you stay at Maison Maurice. With the best wishes from Lithuania, Jurate

View more reviews for this inn


soggiorno tranquillo at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2012

Abbiamo trascorso 2 giorni indimenticabili. I titolari sono molto cordiali e disponibili per qualsiasi consiglio durante il soggiorno nella loro casa. Lo raccomandiamo a tutti coloro che hanno intenzione di visitare la regione del Cognac.

View more reviews for this inn


Why we love Penny and Adrian... and Molly! at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2012

Felt like winning a lottery! THE place to stay!!! We crashed in on a very short notice 3 years ago with a giant dog (which Molly the tiny dog didn't mind at all) and everything at Maison Maurice was simply PERFECT! They really make you feel right at home: the house and the rooms are a treat, so comfortable and tastefully furnished, the garden just calls for relax and the food exceeds a 5-star hotel, especially when served outside... what more could you ask for? Definitely coming back, sooner or later. Penny and Adrian, you guys are the best!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful house, everything so welcoming at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2012

We spent two nights at Maison Maurice with Penny and Adrian and cannot find fault with anything! All was so clean and characterful, beautiful bedrooms with very good bathroom and the food we had (one evening meal and two breakfasts) was excellent, particularly the dinner. They are both excellent cooks. Easy to find if you follow the website instructions but might be a little more difficult at night. Thank you, we shall return if possible. Love to Molly the dog!

View more reviews for this inn


A delightful and peaceful haven! at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2012

We were looking forward to a few days of peace and tranquillity, with friendly hosts, and Maison Maurice did not disappoint, comfortable exceeding our expectations. Penny and Adrian are the perfect couple to run this charming Chambre d'hote, which is set in a beautiful rural location. Attentive yet discreet, friendly and professional, they really know what they are doing. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was outstanding, while the wine positively flowed. We returned very refreshed, sadly over too quickly. We will definitely be returning. Thank you very much .

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place, a hidden gem! at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2012

Great home which Penny and Adrian share with their guests. Attention to detail and great furnishings. Fantastic food and wine. Lovely garden and warm weather. What more can one ask for?!! Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Maison Maurice for 4 days in April 2011. We were warmly welcomed by Penny & Adrian. The bedrooms were immaculate with beautiful decor, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed 2 gourmet evening meals in the company of our hosts and other guests - delicious food and very enjoyable repartee. The selection of homemade breakfast jams still lingers on the taste buds. Penny & Adrian could not have been more helpful and attentive to our needs. They gave expert guidance about where to visit and what to see in the area and also supplied bicycles for local excursions in this lovely wine growing region. We look forward to a return stay in 2012.

View more reviews for this inn


Very comfortable stay and welcoming hosts at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on December 15, 2011

We recently enjoyed a lovely weekend in the Cognac region with our base at Maison Maurice with warm and welcoming hosts Penny and Adrian. The B&B is tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and we had a very comfortable bed for a perfect nights sleep. Our bathroom was a delight, again beautifully styled, lovely shower, my only slightly negative comment is that an extractor fan would make it perfect. Breakfast was delicious, love the yoghurts and fruit compotes and the very generous servings and variety of breads and home made conserves and teas to suit our tastes. Both Penny and Adrian are excellent hosts. We did however find that the location was not ideal for finding by google maps so it took us a long time to find Maison Maurice on the first night, so use their instructions provided on the Maison Maurice website. Local recommendations for places to visit were helpful. Highly recommended offering good value for money.

View more reviews for this inn


A real treat (without breaking the bank)! at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2011

A perfect haven of peace and calm awaits you at this exceptional Chambre d'hote. Attentive but unobtrusive hosts, Penny and Adrian go out of their way to ensure your stay - however long or short - will be memorable; you will not want to leave and you will certainly want to return. Rooms are of a very high standard, the food is exceptional, the garden delightful. Seek it out - you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Two days near Cognac at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

4.4 reviewed on November 09, 2011

Perfect location for a driving tour around the Cognac region. Hosts were very helpful in recommendations of what to visit, and called to arrange Cognac distillery visit. We had dinner at the B&B and the meal was superb and the hospitality wonderful. Friendly dog helped make you feel right at home. Highly recommended - we would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wish you were here? at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

4.8 reviewed on September 29, 2011

Nothing quite tends to live up to expectations when one is recommended a good restaurant or hotel by a friend or acquaintance. Or so it seemed to us, until we visited this delightful bed and breakfast in the Charente-Maritime. We both needed a rest from an exhausting work schedule and the children were straight away taken off our hands to see the rabbit farm across the road and to play with Molly, the little dog who lives with Adrian and Penny, the ever-so-friendly hosts in Maison Maurice. Every detail is taken care of for your stay and home-made just about everything is on offer at breakfast time - cakes, jams, pastries - all delicious and particularly so when served in the beautiful gardens. The rooms are straight out of a fairy tale - high oak beams and tasteful furnishings chosen with great care by Penny who used to be a home designer. The beds are so delightfully comfortable that I could not help asking where they had been bought! Adrian will talk you through all aspects of your visit to the region with suggestions for restaurants, cafes and where and when to find the best village or town markets. We arrived back very late one night but instead of being met with a ticking-off we were made to feel completely at home, with a cup of hot chocolate and biscuits! The next time that we thought we may be arriving late Penny simply gave us a key. We will be returning very soon to Maison Maurice and, although I am sure everyone who visits feels this way, we look forward to seeing the couple who started out as our hosts but ended up as our friends. Wish you were here? Well so do we - right now!

View more reviews for this inn


“Fabulous home away from home” at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

4.6 reviewed on September 25, 2011

We found Maison Maurice by accident online, while looking for B&B's in the area. We planned on just staying one night but enjoyed it so much we stayed for two. Penny and Adrian were wonderful hosts and very welcoming. They were able to make recommendations regarding local sights, restaurants and tours which were all very good. The local Pineau is highly recommended! We were sorry we couldn't stay longer and will definitely recommend it and plan to return if travelling in this area again!

View more reviews for this inn


A French oasis at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

4.8 reviewed on September 19, 2011

What a find! Within 5 minutes of arriving we were sitting in the lovely garden with cold beers relaxing. Penny and Adrian pay attention to every detail; the rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the homemade preserves and Penny kindly sent us off with a bag full of figs from her own tree when we left. The Girardots deserve to do well.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Hosts at Maison Maurice (Biron, France)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2011

Penny and Adrian were amazing hosts. They were full of great ideas of things to see and do in the area. Every tip they provided was a gem. They helped us plan and organize our sight seeing. The Maison Maurice dinner was the best meal we had in the 6 week trip. It was outstanding. The quality was excellent, and the setting was ideal. We would definitely return here and will recommend it to our friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Maison Maurice (4.89)
Top
}