Horton House B&B Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

Loved it

4.8 on October 22, 2014

Quiet, safe, and cozy. We love old mini mansions and this place didn't let us down. We're probably going to go back again. Everyone, including everyone in town, really nice!


Great Place to Stay

5 on October 16, 2014

This was a great place to stay in Northwest PA. We were lucky enough to have a beautiful fall weekend during our stay, as well. The room was cozy and comfy. I am a history nerd, so staying in a house and a town with so much history to offer was a bonus for me. Craig and Antonio were very friendly and helpful during our stay, and the breakfast is amazing. I highly recommend staying at the Horton House. You won't be disappointed. Thank you.


Beautiful Home

4.4 on September 18, 2014

The bed was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent. I liked the central location.


Welcoming, Comfortable, Delicious!

4.8 on September 03, 2014

We had a great stay at Horton House, the owners were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfasts were DELICIOUS! (sausage/bacon, cheesy eggs, pancakes, and fruit & yogurt Parfaits on first morning; sausage/bacon, eggs, caramel french toast (AMAZING) and fruit & yogurt parfaits (so good the 2nd day with slightly tart blueberries) on 2nd morning). Stayed in the Scalise room--bed was comfortable and bathroom was spacious.


Trip on PA Rt 6

4.6 on October 23, 2013

We stayed one night at the Horton House and it was outstanding. Craig is a wonderful, knowledgable proprietor and Jena cooks up an awesome breakfast.


Step Back In Time

4.0 on October 17, 2013

Excellent tour of facility on arrival. Friendly, family atmosphere. Wonderful and warm place to come "home" to after a day full of traveling and activity. The stocked and honor system refreshment area was great! I relaxed in the Library room with some great local history books and THE most comfortable reading chairs I have ever sat in. Enjoyed the grounds and location to historic district was in walking distance. A wonderful place to spend a few days and more!


Nice... in a very good way!

4.2 on October 13, 2013

Usually last minute things don't work out... so when I decided to take the ol Road King on a last minute fall foliage ride across route 6 I expected troubles. Of course the hotels were filled with gas workers. So the light bulb lit - why not do a B&B. Found I could get as far as Warren and a Google search brought me here. Wonderful. The owner responded promptly and personally to my reservation. Got there and found all just as I expected it to be. Horton House is a quaint old mansion and as such has all of the niceties of an old mansion. The accommodations were great, the place was clean, and the breakfast was satisfying. The place kept the 20's charm with all of the modern niceties of any current "hotel". And it was just a few blocks walk from the downtown. There were two nice restaurants open so I chose the Liberty Street Cafe for some pub food. Friendly folks, great selection of local microbrews on tap and a tender pork BBQ dinner that was a 9 out of 10. A nice stroll back in a very safe quiet little NWPA town completed the experience. Would DEFINITELY recommend and would stay again.


A great choice!

4.8 on August 07, 2013

The Horton House was a great home base for us as we explored the nearby Allegheny National Forest.


Wonderful hosts!

4.6 on November 09, 2012

Lovely B&B. Beautiful old mansion. All the conveniences were there, the rooms were large and nicely finished. Breakfast was great!! And the hosts couldn't have been better. The B&B was decorated for Haloween. We enjoyed our stay.


roomy, historic charm, friendly hosts

4.0 on September 29, 2012

The B+B is easily reached and fairly central ( 5 mins. walk to downtown Warren). It's a large old building, with decor and ambience very much in keeping with the time it was built, with two friendly hosts, a dog (abbot) and a cat Costello - seldom seen). Breakfast was simple but adequate, the host's local knowledge was prodigious.


Horton House, Warren, PA

5 on September 22, 2012

I stayed at the Horton House one Friday evening and had an excellent stay. The room was clean, the service was friendly, and the breakfast the next day was very good. The owners were very friendly and easy to talk to.


Historic B&B

4.4 on September 06, 2012

Lovely, stately historic home. Breakfast sumptuous. The host is friendly and generous. The bed ws tolerable but could use an upgrade.


Would Stay Again!

4.6 on September 05, 2012

A beautiful and romantic victorian home with very helpful hosts without being overbearing. All the amenities of the 21st Century while capturing the essence of the 19th. Mouthwatering breakfast both Saturay and Sunday; I insisted on having the recipie for the Caramel French Toast which we both couldn't get enough of that day! Amy & Timothy Stouffer


Lovely stay at Horton House

4.0 on August 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our night at the Horton House. Our host directed us to a wonderful restaurant overlooking the water for dinner. The room was very spacious, and it was a real treat to have a TV in the room. Thank you. We look forward to returning again someday.


3 pleasant nights at the Horton House

4.2 on August 22, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Horton House. Because it is an old house, it lacks some modern conveniences, but makes up for that in charm and uniqueness. We especially liked being within walking distance of the downtown, the historical society, and many of the old mansions that surround it. We were close enough to make several forays into the Allegheny National Forest where the scenery was beautiful and the hiking opportunities abundant. Our hosts were very accommodating, and we enjoyed the breakfasts and the camaraderie of the other guests. Altogether, a very good experience!


Great place to stay

5 on August 15, 2012

Craig and Tony were great hosts. The room was wonderful, breakfast was great and I would definitely stay there again.


Fabulous

5 on August 10, 2012

We were here in Warren for a wedding - Craig and his brother were very hospitable!, rooms were comfortable and the stocked refrigerator was a great asset!, Would recommend to anyone!


Good place to stay.

4.2 on August 02, 2012

We stayed three nights. It is a clean and elegant house and the service was excellent, as well as the breakfast. I've never had such good food anywhere I've stayed. The room was rated three stars because, although it was spacious, comfortable and clean, apparently the walls are thin, and there is no way to lock your room door once you leave the room (you can lock it from the inside only). Also, there is a window unit rather than central air but the temperature was very manageable and not a problem at all. Overall, a very good experience and I would definitely recommend the Horton House.


Charming Place

4.6 on July 18, 2012

I love old things and this house was wonderful and a great look at the past. Our hosts were very nice and breakfast perfect. Our room was huge and charming. Loved the grounds. Only disappointed that hot tub not working, but it was to hot anyway. Will hopefully be able to return for another stay.


Good experience

4.2 on July 17, 2012

Excellent service and accommodations. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was fine; however, nothing that could not be found at a local diner or cafe. Location is perfect for walking in and around downtown Warren.


Awesome weekend!

4.6 on May 31, 2012

Beautiful home, friendly people and the area and attractions made for a memorable weekend!


Comforts of Home

4.6 on May 07, 2012

The Horton House is filled with charm and comfort! So much, that you may rather call it "home"!


Horton House B&B

4.8 on March 18, 2012

This is home away from home...wait, it's better than home!! I look forward to my business trip because I get to stay at the Horton House. The best breakfast that I've ever had! I love the hosts!


Horton House

4.2 on November 30, 2011

We had a wonderful night. The house is beautiful, the hot tub was relaxing and breakfast was delicious!


fall getaway

3.4 on October 24, 2011

This inn is a charming older home. The wood work is truly gorgeous. Craig and his staff were helpful with tips for dining. As this home is on a busy and noisy highway, I would definitely ask for rooms on the back side of the house.


Cannot recommend Horton House

1.2 on October 15, 2011

1920's era accommodations were interesting but the place was not clean or comfortable. Breakfast was advertised as "incredible" but was simple scrambled eggs and pancakes. We had received a confirmation for a room with fireplace but when we arrived they put us in a room with no fireplace, but had not notified us.


Professor Plum would love this house!

3.2 on August 17, 2011

This is a house with character, history, and plenty of nooks and crannies. The proprietor is a great host, and the cooking staff is outstanding. The house could use some refurbishment. The plumbing is old and touchy; the floors creek; the lights get turned out on the main floor by 10pm and you have to figure out how to ascend the staircase in the semi-darkness; least of all, please have some kleenex available in the room! Breakfasts are terrific, and the ping pong room is fun. Some new, cheerful curtains and clean upper windows would go a long way to dress up this otherwise interesting, historic house. Thanks for asking!


Horton House, Warren. Pa.

4.4 on August 08, 2011

Friendly and helpful hosts and staff. Delicious breakfasts. The house itelf is very charming. We would definately stay there again.


Winery Vacation

4.8 on July 06, 2011

We started our winery vacation by staying at the Horton House B&B Inn for just one night. We love historic homes and appreciate the work required for the upkeep of a place like this one. Our room was spectacular. Craig offered suggestions for dining and Docksiders was terrific. He also helped us out with directions for great trails at the Kinzua Dam. This was a great beginning to a wonderful 5 day adventure.


horton house

4.2 on July 06, 2011

Craig and Antonio were great hosts. We would stay there again. Very generous food portions and excellent recipes.


Great place!

4.8 on June 09, 2011

Stayed for three nights. Accomodations were lovely. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. Would highly recommend.


Awesome B&B, Innkeepers are great

4.2 on June 01, 2011

This house is amazing - check out the guitar room- too cool. Also, they have "hotel" like amenities offering beer, wine, soda, and snacks for a nominal fee.


Horton House B&B, Warren, PA, April 2011

3.4 on May 13, 2011

Huge Victorian mansion about a 10 minute walk from the Allegheny River and the shops and eateries of Warren, PA. Great cheesy-eggs for breakfast and a stocked fridge with sodas, beer and small wine bottles on the honor system to enjoy in your room, the two salons, two game rooms, lovely back yard or out on the deck in the jacuzzi.


great bed and breakfast, highly recommended

4.6 on March 03, 2011

We loved staying in the beautiful, quaint Horton House. The house and room exceeded our expectations. We had a wonderful, romatic weekend. The innkeepers, Craig and Antonio, were great. Breakfast was good, home-style, but don't expect anything too fancy.


Nice huse on its way down

2.8 on February 27, 2011

People were very nice. House is very beautiful. Rooms are dated and do not match the photos. Fireplaces in rooms are not functional, and hot tub was not hot-warm but not hot and tub area was not well-maintained. Walls are very thin and because of its age, the house is not really quiet. Food was very good and well presented. Would not have stayed if we knew staff smoked.


Great experience

4.4 on January 29, 2011

We stayed at the Horton House Bed and Breakfast in the Wilder Room for one night. The Wilder Room included a private bathroom and a fireplace. Plenty of firewood was available to build a fire, which we did. In the morning, we were served a large breakfast - scrambled eggs, bacon, French toast, coffee, and orange juice. Overall, we enjoyed our experience.


Horton House

3.6 on December 15, 2010

A very pleasant stay. Horton House is well kept and charming. If you have occaision to stay in the Warren area there is are not any better accomodations available. I highly recommend it.


a hidden treasure!

4.8 on December 14, 2010

charming, romantic getaway. The town offers some unique dining: The Liberty Cafe and Crossings. The Inn is wonderful as are its hosts. All very affordable. Put Warren PA at the top of your R and R getaway list and plan to stay for at least 2 nights!


A stately manor

3.8 on June 06, 2010

The exterior of the Horton House was breathtaking as were all the rooms and treasures inside. Antonio and staff were very friendly. It was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and was concerned with bothering other guests as we were visiting family and were out later than most of the other guests. The floors, being an old house, creaked if you stepped on them. There is little you can do to avoid that. To fix this would take the charm out of this beautiful home. It is a very large home and due to it's age is prone to dust. Other than that the rooms were very clean, the bathrooms were pristine and the food was amazing. would stay again and recommend others to as well.


Spring 2010

4.0 on April 17, 2010

In one word... "charming". I had to make emergency reservations in Warren to attend a family funeral... and after doing my homework reading reviews, I put it to my fiance like this: "We can stay in a 2 or 3 star hotel/motel with nasty reviews or a local B&B with the equivalent of 4 star reviews." He said, "That's a no brainer, book us." The Inn itself is kept by 2 brothers who couldn't possibly be more friendly and accommodating. The pride they take in their investment in this B&B shows in every pristine clean nook and cranny, and there are many, many nooks and cranny's. It's an old, old house and so carries all of the creaks and groans one would expect from a vintage house. It's just modernized enough to be up to date without harming the charm and decor of the original house. It's just freaking gorgeous. The "honor roll" policy was a little disconcerting to we dis-trusting New Yorkers, especially given there was no secured lock to our room! That was a bit scary, but this is truly home-town USA and good people. The bathrooms are clean, hot water is REALLY HOT, and there's so much to tell about this place, there's not room here. The bed was perfect, the pillows nice and the only issue we had was something beyond the control of any Inn... there was a lot of high noise from traffic, and the gorgeous wood floors echoed every move and step within the house. But you know what? It was so worth those minor annoyances to have the privelege to stay in this awesome mini mansion in historical Warren. We enjoyed our breakfast with a couple who were visiting from Holland, and it was a real home cooked breakfast ... the grounds are so nicely maintained, and the general public rooms (two sitting/reading rooms, a music room and the whole upper floor which was the old ballroom) are amazing... antiques are everywhere, knacks and bric-a-brack abound, books galore, and I swear... not a speck of dust to be found. We'll be back, that's fer sure. Lynne D Perry, Rochester, New York


Great time in Warren

5 on March 08, 2010

This inn was perfect in every way. The innkeepers could not have been any more helpful or friendly. The house is very relaxing and is a great place to stay. You can come and go as you please and the upstairs game room is cool also. The rooms all are very nice and comfortable. Warren was a great town to hang out in also and all the people we meet were all very friendly. The breakfast in the morning was also outstanding. This inn should actually charge twice what it does now and it would still be worth it. 5 stars all the way!!! Thanks again...Bryan & Anna


A Good Night's Rest

5 on December 10, 2009

I was a little wary about my stay after reading the previous review; however, I had a wonderful stay! My room and the rest of the house was nice and toasty and the water in the shower was nice and hot. The house was very, very quiet which was a big plus for someone who has trouble sleeping (like me). The owners and staff were very pleasant and unobtrusive plus the breakfast was fabulous! I recommend this place to everyone!


Cold Room and No Hot Water

4.0 on October 25, 2008

We had great expectations when we saw the B & B. It was beautiful. When we entered the hallways and 1st floor rooms seemed a little chilly. When we entered our room on the second floor it had a space heater turned on high. The evening forcast was for 30 degrees so I thought the owner would turn on the heat. When we returned to the room after later that evening we were dismayed to find the inn still chilly and our radiator ice cold. Thankfully our bed had plenty of covers but I was still cold all night. In the morning I thought I would warm up in with a hot shower. We had no hot warm only luke warm. Neither my husband or myself took a shower. As we went down to breakfast I mentioned the cold water to the owner. He said he had someone look at it the day before but he didn't think it was working on our side of the hall. We ate our breakfast which was excellent and quickly left to go to our car and turn on the heat.


Horton House B&B Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $139
  • Reviews (43) 4.3
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8147237472
  • Fax 1-8147237482
  • Toll free 1-8887237472

Visit Website »

View details

Top