McLean House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
38 Reviews

Write A Review

Great get away Weekend

5 on December 20, 2013

Was such a delight staying in the McLean Home. Jan Rose was a wonderful hostess & made our visit very pleasant- coffee & breakfast were wonderful-


Historical Charm

5 on September 06, 2012

Lovely getaway within driving distance from Carlisle. An experienced hostess and the comfort of home away from home made our trip one we look forward to making again soon!


A wonderful place

5 on September 04, 2012

Beautiful historic old house. gracious hospitality -- Thank you Jan! We would definitely return.


McLean House stay

4.6 on June 23, 2012

We were looking for a quiet setting where we could visit Gettysburg & do some hiking. This was a great choice! Gettysburg was close enough, Boiling Springs was a gem & the Appalachian Trail was nearby. Jan made us feel welcome & the food was wonderful. She also gave us numerous tips on places to visit & we would certainly go back. Danny & Martha - fulltimeRV'ers Sioux Falls, South Dakota (currently in Elmira, NY)


My new favorite to place to stay when visting Gettysburg!

5 on April 11, 2012

I travel to the Gettysburg area on a yearly basis and I always stay at a bed & breakfast. McLean House is the least expensive bed & breakfast that I have ever stayed at and is by far one of the best I have ever experienced! In August 2011, I stayed at the McLean House for 2 nights with my teenage daughter and I have to say that our stay exceeded my expectations. The house and gardens are lovely! The relaxing vibe gave my daughter and I the chance to reconnect while spending quality time together. It was an easy drive into Gettysburg, which is a big bonus for us. An outstanding value and a very memorable experience. McLean House will now be my first choice for lodging when I travel to PA!


Simply the Best

5 on January 03, 2012

I stayed here over New Years 2011/2012 during a visit to Gettysburg. The McLean House is beautiful, and Jan Rose was very friendly and hospitable. Her breakfasts were excellent, and she was eager to share the history of her lovely home and the town of Shippensburg - lots of incredible stories. The view of the creek from the breakfast table is worth the visit alone. Highly recommended, and I look forward to visiting again in the future. 5 stars all the way around. -Mark H. Georgia

Innkeeper Response
Thanks fpr your great review- hope to see you again. Jan


Gorgeous Home

5 on November 13, 2011

This is a gorgeous, impecably neat and clean house with wonderful charm and character. I was greeted with warmth and made to feel very welcome. Accommodations are beyond comfortable with numerous amenities. Breakfast was delicious and attention to detail most evident.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind review. Look forward to seeing you again. Jan


Wonderful as always

4.6 on October 24, 2011

We have been staying here at least 10 years. We used to go to have a little alone time without our kids; it was always very relaxing and rejuvenating. Jan is so hospitable -- we always feel so welcome and she knows so much about the area -- very helpful. Rooms comfortable, beautiful old home, picturesque. This year we took 2 of our married kids with us -- it was great!


Most Beautiful B&B ever visited

5 on October 16, 2011

This place is a step back in time! Every room is impeccably furnished in tradition! The room was so comfy and inviting, the breakfast scrumptious, and the host Jan was wonderful! The price was unbelievably priced! If you contemplate staying in the area, I highly recommend this place!


What a lovely B & B

5 on October 14, 2011

Lovely B & B right in the heart of town and very reasonably priced. Great breakfasts and very nicely appointed rooms in a beautiful old house. A perfect place to stay to explore the area and close to Gettysburg.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the nice review. Our goal is always to make our guests welcome and comfortable.


Felt like being home

5 on August 30, 2011

Loved the B&B atmosphere. Rooms were large and comfortable with all the amenities you could want. Breakfast were different each day and delicious. So filling we didn't need to eat lunch. Jan made us feel so at home - not a feeling that you get when you stay at a big hotel.


Great experience -- great value.

4.8 on July 18, 2011

McLean House predates the Civil War, but among the antiques it is a comfortable and well-appointed B&B. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the hostess was friendly and obliging, the breakfast was tasty and worthy of a photograph, the house was beautiful inside and out and there was good parking.


Home away from home

4.6 on June 07, 2011

I've been staying here for several years while attending car shows or on the way to/from family visits. This wonderful couple take care great care of their beautiful historic home and of me, too! Don't ever want to stay anywhere else!


Historic Shippensburg

4.4 on February 27, 2011

Quaint, historic inn located conveniently to the area's attractions. Very hospitable, friendly innkeepers.


Wonderful Home

5 on September 22, 2010

This B&B is a wonderful home away from home. Jan and Bob make you feel welcome from the moment you check in until the day you leave. The breakfast meals are always superb!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks. Our goal is always to make your stay comfortable.


Period Charm in the Heart of Historic Shippensburg

4.4 on April 15, 2010

Lovingly maintained and period-decorated home on King Street with comfortable amenities and delicious breakfast.


Pleasant

4.6 on November 09, 2009

Wonderful stay -- very relaxing and a gracious innkeeper. Would recommend to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind words. Your comfort is always our first priority.


Back in time

5 on September 29, 2009

Entering the mclean house was like stepping back in the 1880's. The decor and appointments were all true to that period, and created an atmosphere of unhurried comfort. We can't think of anything that your B&B needs to be approved on.


The Victorian Dream

4.8 on September 23, 2009

Beautiful victorian like setting that takes you back to the beautiful good old days (well at least that's how I felt)! Delicious well prepared breakfast!


Wonderful and relaxing as always

5 on September 09, 2009

We have stayed at the Mclean House at least 5 or 6 times; we love the innkeeper, the home, and the town. The breakfasts are great and we always leave refreshed and relaxed. Jan is very friendly and very knowledgeable, and we plan to go there again.


A Shippensburg Delight!

4.4 on August 04, 2009

A beautiful and carefully preserved vintage home. The interior of the house contains many period antiques & decor. Beautiful gardens and stream accent the surroundings. Jan Rose is a very gracious hostess and cook. Breakfast is served in a bay window overlooking the stream.


classic B&B

5 on June 11, 2009

Beautiful old historic house. homemade breakfast is delicious! Love the decor. Grounds are breathtaking!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind wordsa. Your comfort is always our goal. Hope to see you again.


A wonderful experience

5 on June 03, 2009

Great place to get away to- Jan, the owner, could not have been nicer- went out of her way to help us find places we wanted to visit, but together delicious breakfast and beautiful gardens- already planning our next trip!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kiud words. We try to make each guest special and happy.


wonderful stay

4.0 on June 03, 2009

Absolutely beautiful home. Loved it. Lots of history in town.


Best value

5 on June 03, 2009

It doesn't get any better than this...fabulous ambiance, interesting and knowledgeable host, great food, comfy bed, lots of history, and recreational opportunities. Peaceful retreat in downtown area.


Pennsylvania's Best Kept Secret

5 on May 16, 2009

It was one of the best memories that I have of being in Pennsylvania. Looking forward to staying there again. The service was excellent, breakfast was amazing, and the hosts incredibly hospitable. Gorgeous place. Thanks so much!!


Wonderful Stay

5 on May 11, 2009

This B&B is lovely. The Rose's attention to details throughout the B&B has been outstanding. Our breakfasts were of the highest quality and served is a beautiful dining room. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who would be in this area. We will certainly be returning to here again.


B&B beauty

5 on May 11, 2009

This is a 1700's house that has been made into a stunning B&B. the decor is exquisite with lovely antiques- I would recommend it highly!!


Times of the past

4.2 on May 11, 2009

A charming yellow brick home with history galore!You can almost hear the foot patter of times past!


Great place

4.6 on March 02, 2009

This is a delightful home with great rooms. Jan Rose is a wonderful host and the grounds are very nice. Highly recommended!


Hidden Gem in Central Pennsylvania

5 on January 18, 2009

McLean House combines the allure of Central Pennsylvania's historic heritage with up-to-date amenities and superb service. Spacious rooms, a convenient location that is easy to reach from I-81 and that is walking distance from Shippensburg University, a dining room that overlooks a babbling brook alongside the property, and hi-speed wireless internet in every room -- what a combination! History buffs will enjoy learning how locals whitewashed and renamed the town's "Union Hotel" on the day before Confederate troops -- and saved their town in the process. Our family loved our visit and we hope to return.


Charming!

5 on October 28, 2008

If you like the charm of old homes, this is the place to stay! The McLean House built in 1798 is filled with antiques and the breakfasts are delicious served but the delightful owners.


Delightful Stay

4.8 on July 01, 2008

My room was very comfortable, lovely, and well appointed. The only problem was a too soft mattress causing causing an aching back next morning. Breakfast in the beautiful, bright dining room was delicious, Jan was warm and welcoming. Altogether a delightful stay-I would go back.


Mclean House.

4.2 on June 06, 2008

A beautiful old house lovingly restored. Wonderful breakfast and cordial hosts. A very pleasant stay.


Charming, Warm Ambiance

5 on January 30, 2008

Fabulous food! Restful. My first B&B and it exceeded my expectations.

Innkeeper Response
Hope to see you again. Thanks, Jan


Hospitality

5 on January 23, 2008

Jan't hospitality was exceptional. Warm & comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your review- hope to see you again. Jan


McLean House.

5 on December 13, 2007

This bed and breakfast is outstanding.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your review- hope to see you again. Merry Christmas


A real gem!

5 on October 28, 2007

This bed and breakfast is an outstanding place to stay! The hosts, Jan and Bob Rose, are pleasant, helpful, and just really nice people. Our room was very large and cozy, with a private bath, terry-cloth/velour robes in the closet, down duvets, extra pillows, an antique brass bed, toiletries in the bathroom, and several comfy chairs/rocking chairs for relaxing. The house itself is gorgeous. Antiques, crystal, brass and paintings are everywhere. The whole house is very beautifully decorated ...intricate crown moldings, original window and door trim, Persian carpets, original hardwood floors, crystal chandeliers, and a phenomenal choice of books to read. A huge staircase to the upstairs is the main feature of the entranceway. You can transport yourself back in time, and feel as if you were a wealthy member of Shippensburg society back in 1798! Breakfast was always wonderful. Quiche, bacon, home-made Belgian waffles, orange juice, fruit compote, endless coffee...Jan out-did herself every morning! Being served breakfast, on china and crystal, in the bay window of the elaborate dining room was a memory never to be forgotten. If you are looking for a place to be pampered, at an amazingly affordable price, then this is the B&B for you. We stayed here when we visited Gettysburg, and celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary while guests there. This B&B has a fantastic atmosphere at a fraction of the price for a B&B in Gettysburg. HIGHLY recommended!! Thanks again Jan & Bob!!! Gerry & Gary Bucsis Ontario

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your very kind review-- we really enjoyed having you as guests- good luck with the next marathon. How about those Red Sox!! Jan


McLean House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $45 - $70
  • Reviews (38) 4.8
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7175301390
  • Fax 1-7175301390
  • Toll free 1-8006100330

Visit Website »

View details

Top