The Priory Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

Better to stay in a dorm room

1.0 on August 11, 2013

Seriously, my daughter's dorm room is nicer than our room at the Priory. The carpet was stained and dirty, the bathroom tile has mold in the grout, the toilet didn't work, the sink took 5 minutes to drain after brushing my teeth, it is across the street from a public housing project and the staff was very rude. For $190 per night, please don't waste your money. There are great places to stay in Pittsburgh. This is NOT one of them.


Value for your dollar

4.8 on April 25, 2013

Quality room, extremely friendly service, free parking, complimentary shuttle within Pittsburgh, complimentary breakfast, a cozy tavern where we encountered several very friendly guests of the hotel with nothing but praise about their experience at staying here. My wife and I were impressed with the decor outside and in. She immediately sent photos of the place to several of our friends. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and we plan to do just that. J.J.


Best Kept Secret is Out

4.8 on January 05, 2013

We are already looking forward to our next visit to Pittsburgh to stay at the Priory. Quiet and friendly. Don't forget to eat at Nicky's Thai Kitchen which was recommended by the staff--best Thai food hands down.


I would return

4.4 on November 17, 2012

I chose this B and B through the BedandBreakfast.com website as I wanted an out-of-the-way place to stay for my nursing conference. It more than met my expectations. I was in walking distance from a church my father had co-pastored over fifty years previously so it was fun to find it so close by. I was also able to walk across the Rachel Carson Bridge to my conference at the David Lawrence Conference Center but I mostly chose to use the very convenient Shuttle. Herman and Henry were friendly and informative shuttle-drivers! All the staff were helpful and accommodating. I loved the historica ambience.


just one night but it made the trip perfect!

4.2 on September 10, 2012

I have been wanting to see the Falling Waters house for around 10 years now and decided it was time to go see it. Having never been to Pittsburgh before I decided that would be a nice add on since it was only an hour away from Falling Waters. Originally I was just looking for a cheap spot for me and the wife to lay our heads down but then The Priory came up in some search results. I knew my wife would love it so I decided to spend a few more bucks and stay there. The place had a lot of history to it, it was clean, and the staff were great. Especially the bartender, she (forgot her name) told us where we should go and what was actually worth seeing. I have recommended this place to several people already and I would definitely return.


Character and value

4.4 on May 01, 2012

The priory is a very nice B&B! I would recommend it to anyone


Hidden Gem

5 on April 24, 2012

This is one of the nicest small boutique Hotels I have stayed in a very long time. We had a king suite. The room was spotless. Great european continental breakfast. The staff helped out with maps and answered all our questions. It is in the deutchtown section of the city and away from all the city crowds and noise but within walking distance of many attractions. The next trip to Pittsburgh we will be staying here. Also did I mention it was a great value...


Loved the hotel :)

4.6 on March 18, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and in a good location for exploring the North Side. The breakfast was more of a continental breakfast (cereal, muffins, etc). We had a very pleasant stay.


Great Stay!

4.2 on March 14, 2012

Special thanks to Henry, the check-in clerk offering us a drink while waiting to get checked in and getting me some coffee for the room


On a wing and a prayer

4.8 on February 25, 2012

My husband and I recently flew to Pittsburgh for a long weekend in order to indulge our favorite pastimes. For him, the chance to fly his Piper across the state, while I got to explore an historic home and its surroundings. We had hoped to find a unique and reasonably priced alternative to city hotels, and so it came to pass! The Priory was a real find...centrally located, staffed by enthusiastic and knowledgable people, clean, and a piece of history in itself. The breakfast buffet, included in the price, was satisfying and a great start to each day. We were so thrilled that the weather, the sites, the food and the ambience all came together that weekend, and our stay at The Priory was the unexpected pleasure that tied it all together. Hallelujah! Amy E. Shelby


A great night!

4.4 on February 24, 2012

The room was great, though the breakfast provided was a little cold and hard and the pastries were not replenished for guests who did not make it down first thing in the morning. Overall our stay was great!!


Very Quiet Room --- A different experience

4.0 on February 04, 2012

We stayed for two nights --- This is the quietest hotel room that I have ever stayed in. Usually the first night in any hotel I wake up repeatedly all night long. This did not happen at the Priory. We stayed on the third floor. Mattress was awesome. No street noise, no people noise. Also, they provided a satisfactory breakfast in the dining room. Two things. Not much in the area if you want a quick bite somewhere, such as a fast food. You need to drive for basically anything. Second thing --- Room temperature was hard to control. A bit too warm for January. But all in all, WHO CARES !!! Summary --- we really enjoyed our stay and if our son does go to CMU for college we will use this facility repeatedly.


Very Friendly

4.4 on August 30, 2011

Loved the King Suite in the new addition. The staff was extremely helpful - felt they went above and beyond! Monk's bar was great to enjoy a cocktail before bed. My boyfriend was pleasantly surprised by the Turkey sandwich ordered for a 'mid-night' snack. Only wish they were open for lunch.


Hotel is great

3.4 on August 26, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and I enjoyed my stay there. It was an easy walk to PNC park. I was disappointed that it does not have any night life options immediately around the hotel. All of the places by the ball park were packed and had wait times of multiple hours. The area directly around the hotel did not seem like the best part of town. The staff were very accommodating and went out of their way to provide the best service possible. The breakfast was wonderful and the bar was great too!


Great Place in Great Neighborhood

4.8 on May 20, 2011

Staying at The Priory Hotel was such a treat. It has all of the larger hotel amenities, like a fitness center, but the warmth and charm of a small B&B. The staff was very informative and helpful in providing info about Pittsburgh. The bartender gave us lots of information about the old neighborhood (he grew up there). The continental breakfast was great...we sat in the courtyard. Walking around the neighborhood was a lot of fun; there is a lot of beautiful architecture and the people are so friendly. We wished we could have stayed another day.


Clean and charming

3.8 on May 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at The Priory with family who recommended it. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is a charming place; the building is cool and filled with antiques yet it is very clean and comfortable with modern amenities. Though a bit removed from downtown, we did walk to a couple of good neighborhood restaurants. Not a bargain but worth the price.


Amazing Architecture Average Accomodations

3.8 on May 03, 2011

I saw the description of this B & B and was fascinated by the history. I was also looking for a place within walking distance to PNC Park. The staff was truly outstanding. The front desk folks were friendly and helpful. We arrived late and were exhausted, so they gave us our key and let us take care of the paperwork the following morning. Very considerate. My disappointment came in the breakfast and the afternoon happy hour. It was described as a German Continental Breakfast. To me, this conjures up visions of heavy German breads, cold cuts, cheeses and hearty things to fill you up. The offering included cold boiled eggs, bacon, bagels (cream cheese only if you were there before 8:00am), Kelloggs cereals (mostly kid cereals like Fruit Loops & Frosted Flakes) , muffins and pound cake like breads. It wasn't bad, just not what I was expecting. As for the afternoon Happy Hour.....it doesn't exist. No snacks, no beverages, nada. Maybe they just need to update their in-room info and their web-site. The rooms were spacious and decorated in the period of the Priory. The bedding and linens were nice. The little courtyard off the dining room was delightful. Overall the place met my expectations. I would definitely stay there again.


Anniversary & Steelers game Stay

4.8 on January 13, 2011

We love the Priory. The rooms are quaint but functional. The staff was so helpful. The Innkeeper even recognized our anniversary! We were close to Heinz Field. Great value, great rooms, good food. Will stay there every time we go to Pittsburgh.


Excellent place to stay

4.0 on November 15, 2010

The Priory Hotel is a neat cross between a hotel and a bed and breakfast. Located in a historic section of the city - converted monastery with evidence everywhere of what it used to be, but with modern conveniences. Good breakfasts - very convenient.


A Must Stay

4.2 on July 28, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was so quaint and adorable but the room was a great size. We loved the patio in the back where we had a glass of wine before going out on the town. We would recommend this place to anyone staying in Pittsburgh!


Wonderful city/ great hotel

4.4 on July 02, 2010

What pleased us was how close the hotel was to what we wanted to see and how easy it was to walk around Pittsburgh. Our room was impeccably clean. We enjoyed the breakfast offerings. I don't have any negatives at all.


Good Value

3.4 on April 27, 2010

I stayed here while I was in town for a conference. I did not feel like paying $200 - $300 for a room. The price was around $129 + tax. This is an old ( late 1800s) Benedictine monastery that was converted into an inn 25 years ago. This is a great value for the money. The staff is very friendly and informative. The rooms are older but clean and the bed was comfortable. My room was a corner room and somewhat small. There is no elevator. There is a decent continent breakfast included. The character of the inn is impressive. It feels like you stepped back in time. Good value but the neighborhood is sketchy and appears to be in the midst of a transformation. We walked to a nearby restaurant where the food was excellent. We noticed several buildings being renovated inside. The hotel is expanding and adding an addition. Parking is across the street but smaller lot.


Honeymoon at the Priory

4.0 on December 21, 2008

The Priory was beautiful, interesting, tasteful. The staff was extremely helpful. Lots of personal touches in the rooms. Only disappointment was the breakfast, which was nothing more than a continental breakfast which would be complimentary in any chain motel. We expected more. Despite this, overall, it is a unique place to stay, would recommend it, but do not expect a great breakfast.


Perfect for PNC Park visitors

3.8 on September 23, 2008

The Priory is a gorgeous hotel that is a great place to stay if you're going to see a Pirates game. The rooms are unique and comfortable, the staff was friendly, the atmosphere was great. The only reason I didn't do a 4-star rating for the dining (since I assume it was great) is because we didn't eat there.


The Priory Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $134 - $250
  • Reviews (24) 4.1
  • Rooms 42
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4122313338
  • Fax 1-4122314838
  • Toll free 1-8663774679

Visit Website »

View details

Top