Morning Glory Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Very pleasant visit

3.8 on September 14, 2014

Wonderful accommodations and friendly staff. In a interesting and eclectic neighborhood.


beautiful location with charm

4.8 on June 15, 2014

Such a beautiful location, in the summer the greenery on the patio is amazing. Twinkling lights and such a private location , you wouldn't even know you are in the middle of a city. The owners are very thoughtful and the food was amazing. A wonderful alternative to an impersonal hotel room.


charming place

4.6 on September 29, 2013

My husband couldn't stop saying he wanted to live in a place like this all weekend. Very charming rooms and back patio with garden feel.


Anniversary visit

4.8 on September 03, 2013

We wanted to come to Pitt to celebrate our anniversary! We were able to get reservations, and much to our surprise and delight, The Morning Glory not only gave us a bottle of champagne, but also they upgraded our room without charging us more $$$$. The breakfasts were wonderful!


WONDERFUL STAY

5 on August 13, 2013

This was a great stay. The place was so comfortable and beautiful. You need to stay with people


Nice place!

3.4 on August 05, 2013

The B&B was beautiful and waffles for breakfast was really good. The room wasn't really worth $200+ for just a sitting area and stairs up to attic loft. The gentleman that oversaw our stay recommended a wonderful place for dinner as well!


Lovely Inn in an Eclectic Location

5 on May 06, 2013

Right in the heart of South Flats, this Inn is a perfect jumping off point for exploration. Dave is a wealth of local knowledge and his suggestions for places to eat and activities in the area were spot on. I would definitely return to this lovely inn. Sherry on the balcony overlooking the courtyard was a plus!


Great stay!

4.4 on April 25, 2013

Great stay for such a wonderful location! So many wonderful stores and restuarants to explore!


Cozy

5 on January 02, 2013

This was a perfect, cozy, welcoming place to stay. I'd definitely stay here again when in the area!


Beautiful Retreat

5 on December 06, 2012

My wife and I escaped to this wonderful bed & breakfast for a weekend wedding anniversary retreat. It was a quiet and delightful time. Thanks MGI!


Charming!

4.0 on September 24, 2012

My fiance and I had a lovely time at the Morning Glory Inn. It was so charming and such a romantic atmosphere. The breakfast we had consisted of homemade waffles that were quite possibly the best waffles I have ever had. Everyone was so nice and welcoming, but not too intrusive. Perfect!


Weekend

5 on September 19, 2012

This is a wonderful B&B--an oasis in the city. Courtyard architecture and design is interesting and aesthetically pleasing--vegetation quite a surprise. The main house restoration is both elegant and warm. Great breakfast, nice port.


My stay in Pittsburgh

2.6 on September 19, 2012

The house is gorgeous, but I was a little nervous about being in the house by myself. The owner evidently lives offsite and I had to call for the code to get in the door. He then talked me through everything by phone. I never met him until I came down for breakfast in the morning, and then dealt mostly with his assistant, who was quite friendly. The place is beautiful, though!


Beautifu B&B

4.6 on July 22, 2012

When we we first pulled down the street the area was not what we expected. We were plesently surprised when we arrived . The courtyard was amazing and the house interior was absoluutely beautiful. The breakfast had fresh fruit and was just enough to start the day.


Wedding/Night's Stay

4.4 on April 18, 2012

Wedding was a blast. Venue was perfect and the food was delicious.


Great Pittsburgh Get Away Spot

4.6 on March 29, 2012

A nice and relaxing bed and breakfast nestled one block off a bustling commercial district with plenty to see.


Exceptional, Gracious Service

4.2 on March 23, 2012

We booked the Garden Room for one night while we were in Pittsburgh over St. Patrick's Day weekend (not an ideal time to visit the South Side, but the Morning Glory was a welcome respite from the chaos on Carson Street). The inn is showing its age a bit, and our room could have used a spruce - not a fan of faux flowers. But, it was clean and comfortable and the library has an assortment of Keurig coffees and a mini fridge for guest use around the clock. What merits our 5-star rating, however, is the exceptionally gracious and generous service we received from the innkeepers, who accommodated three additional family members so they could join us for breakfast the next day. We offered to pay for their meals, and they were completely comped. In these times, that level of complimentary service is extremely rare. Breakfast was a delight - the weather was warm, and we were served in the private courtyard outside. The food was delicious and the meal service very attentive. We would definitely stay here again, although we would probably select a different room.


Elegant B&B

5 on November 17, 2011

We stayed in Morning Glory in November 2011 when visiting our sons in Pittsburgh. We liked the location very much and hospitality of the host very much. The host recommended to us the best restaurants nearby (Thanks!) and told us a lot about the history of the area. The room was clean and conveniently furnished . There were also other rooms downstairs available for guests for reading and talking with friends. We noticed that other people who came as a numerous group of wedding guests enjoyed the stay very much. And even the B&B was full of guests, because of the arrangement of rooms, everybody was feeling comfortable. Breakfast were home-made, elegantly served and very tasty. Strongly recommended. Romans from Philadelphia


A really comfortable place to stay

3.6 on November 09, 2011

Very comfy for our short stay in a funky neighbourhood that's lots of fun. Little touches like biscotti and port in the library were appreciated.


A wonderful night.

4.4 on November 09, 2011

My wife & I were celebrating 19 years of marriage. We spent a beautiful evening on the Southside. The house and courtyard were the highlight of our weekend. I have recommended the Morning Glory Inn to many friends & will continue to do so.


South Side Peace

4.8 on August 04, 2011

Morning Glory is a beautiful respite in the center of the South Side of Pittsburgh, quiet, peaceful & very clean.


Pittsburgh B&B

3.8 on July 22, 2011

A quiet garden getaway just blocks from Pittsburgh's bustling south side shops, restaurants, & bars. Morning Glory is a historic mansard home conveniently located. Not to mention the breakfasts are delicious! I'd highly recommend staying here.


Lovely B & B

4.2 on June 24, 2011

My friend and I enjoyed our stay here. The house was beautifully decorated and felt very comfortable. We particularly liked the library room. The breakfast was exceptionally good. It was also conveniently located to the many visitor sites and the interesting Victorian area. I would recommend this B & B.


Romantic Evening Away!

5 on June 04, 2011

My fiance and I needed a night away from all the wedding planning and we decided to stay at the Morning Glory Inn for an evening. Even though we are from Pittsburgh, just being catered to and having a wonderful stay and delicious meal was well worth it!


Pittsburgh

5 on April 20, 2011

Had great time, clean facility, very quiet ... would definitely go back


Nice Weekend Stay

4.6 on April 05, 2011

Dave provided us instructions by phone for our arrival in case he wasn't there, but he was there when we arrived. He showed us the public areas and our room, and gave us advice on where to eat. The restaurant he suggested was superb, and we spent the rest of the evening walking and visiting the various venues. The neighborhood where the inn is located is quiet. The room was very nice, and we enjoyed the premium mattress. Breakfast was delicious, but we wished we had larger coffee cups or that Joy could have left the carafe on the table, because the coffee was so good that we quickly emptied our cups and the creamer.


Absolutely charming

5 on March 01, 2011

The rooms were cozy and lovely, the service was impeccable, you are treated to a glass of port upon arrival and they serve you a wonderful breakfast in the morning in a delightful little breakfast room.


Great room!

3.6 on February 23, 2011

Great room, really loved it and the location.


Pittsburgh gem

4.0 on February 23, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Morning Glory is ideally situated in neighborhood with many restaurants within walking distance.


Superb! Very cosy and confortable

4.2 on October 21, 2010

Morning Glory Inn is a very pleasant place to stay. Do not hesitate to reserve there. The place is big, confortable and the innkeepers are very helpful. It really deserves a stay.


How to have a wonderful mini vacation a few miles from home

5 on October 11, 2010

This was a holiday in June for my out of town friends -- saw the play Miss Saigon -- went to dinner. As we sat in the courtyard -- I said -- if by chance it rains I can run home and take my laundry off the line.


Returning Customer

3.4 on October 04, 2010

This was my fourth visit and again it was a very nice experience. I find the price high but the location is idea as I am able to walk to work. The innkeepers are great people.


Lovely B & B

4.4 on September 14, 2010

We had a very relaxing stay at the Morning Glory Inn. The accommodations were beyond sufficient and the atmosphere warm and inviting. Nancy, the innkeeper, was very friendly and offered to provide suggestions for local dining, events, etc. Breakfast was phenomenal and featured both in-season and homemade food. Our room and the common areas were very clean and well decorated. We had a lovely stay and hope to come back!


Brilliant!

4.0 on September 10, 2010

My wife and I spent our first night married in the attic room of the Morning Glory Inn. It was a surprise for my bride and she was really happy with my choice of accomodation. Very tastfully appointed rooms, so romantic if you like old-style stuff. Very quiet too, staff were friendly but not intrusive. We really enjoyed our time and would have loved to have stayed longer but we had flights to the Carribean to catch the next day!


The Perfect Wedding

5 on September 04, 2010

Our original plan was to get married in December 2010 in a small chapel in Pittsburgh and spend our wedding night at Morning Glory Inn. However, as our wedding plans began and family pressure began to mount in late July, we decided to move up our wedding date to August 2010. We literally had to plan our wedding in three weeks. Our first call was to Morning Glory Inn. Dave and Nancy took care of everything, and our wedding was perfect! They offered a wonderful turn key solution including flowers, decorations, connections to caterers, a sound system and a wonder place for our family and friends to stay. The package even included a bridal suite. I (the bride) live in Washington DC, and I didn't even see the inn until the day before. The evening turned out great, and it was exactly what we wanted-intimate and romantic. We would recommend Morning Glory Inn to anyone who is planning a wedding in Pittsburgh. We will definitely be back to celebrate our 1 year anniversary.


A charming venue for in intimate wedding!

3.6 on August 25, 2010

My husband and I loved the feel the Morning Glory had at our very first visit! It was the prefect wedding venue for us! It was perfect for the small intimate, yet very fun, cocktail style wedding we had envisioned! We enjoyed so much spending the day of the wedding with our parents and siblings at the Inn! The morning after we loved the classy buy comfy breakfast served on the patio; it was my favorite part actually! The Inn itself is very well maintained and every room is comfy and inviting!


Morning Glory Inn

3.6 on August 09, 2010

Could've used better information on parking location - innkeeper encouraged street parking even though driveway was available. Innkeeper enthusiastic and knowledgeable regarding Pittsburgh. Breakfast was delicious.


A Joyful Stay

2.4 on July 20, 2010

Great location, but iffy welcome, with hosts missing on arrival and a very cold room we were not allowed to change. Fortunately, their alter ego Joy stepped up and did everything possible to recover.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the review. We offer the opportunity for our guests to check in at anytime...not within a designated time frame. We provide all initial necessary guest information in our foyer and if we are not present on arrival we are immediately available via phone. Joy is not an "alter ego". She is a capable, dedicated staff member and she did her job. The Inn is 150 years old. Air conditioning is controlled by floor and a call from a guest will garner an appropriate response to the temperature. Nancy, Dave, and Joy


Wonderful

5 on June 21, 2010

Wanted a nice day out. Had some problems on the way there. Nancy and her staff were so understanding. Made the problems seem so small. Thanks to them for making the weekend I wanted.


Wedding and Reception

4.6 on April 23, 2010

We had our wedding at the Morning Glory Inn, our guests are still raving about it! The Inn is beautiful and the service was fantastic! I couldn't have asked for anything more, the entire experience was wonderful. We stayed there on our wedding and our families were able to stay also, the rooms are fabulous.


Gem on the Southside

5 on January 20, 2010

We went to Pittsburgh for New Year's Day and stayed at the Morning Glory Inn. It is a very charming Victorian B&B. It is beautifully decorated and the innkeepers, Nancy and Dave, were warm and welcoming. The rooms were comfortable as were the beds. Breakfast was delicious. Nancy was very helpful with directions to local attractions.


Not up to par

2.2 on August 30, 2009

Having stayed in a number of B&B's we found this one disappointing. While Nancy was very freindly we felt it was an imposition to Dave whenever we asked for anything such as ice. The breakasts were good but skimpy and the same thing each day. There was not a choice. There was no option to get anything such as water. When the room was cleaned the same dirty glasses were left and the ice bucket was not emptied but had melted ice in the bottom.


Morning Glory the Glorious

4.6 on August 25, 2009

It was really great. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The owners were great. They cared about us having a good time and were insightful about the region. Decor was unique. Our bathroom had no door. Garden pretty.


Quaint & charming

5 on August 20, 2009

Very charming bed & breakfast. Memory foam bed extremely comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Perfect location!


Morning Glory Inn

5 on August 03, 2009

We got married there in 2008, and returned for our anniversary. It is beautiful. We love it!


Delightful B&B!

4.8 on June 11, 2009

Beautiful, comfortable B&B with gracious, helpful hosts, quality amenities, and gourmet breakfasts. We'll be back!


Pittsburg home away from home

5 on May 11, 2009

Nancy and Dave run an absolutely fantastic B&B- beautifully restored. They are friendly and welcoming and willing to do anything to make your stay enjoyable. We will definitely come back again!


Wonderful...

5 on March 11, 2009

As we think back to our wedding day, we immediately remember the atmosphere of the Morning Glory Inn and the care you took in every detail. We are so fortunate that you have chosen to share your home with couples like us. We were searching for a place to wed that would reflect our personalities and relationship and we found exactly that at the Morning Glory. A comfortable, relaxed environment that provided a party atmosphere surrounded by nature. The inn has made such an impression on our guests that they still talk about our wedding celebration several months removed. We also cannot thank you enough for the ease in which you made us feel about the entire weekend. You both eagerly assisted us with the endless details and coordination. Your help allowed for us to concentrate on the meaning of the event; which in the end is the celebration. We are quite happily married and could not think of a better place to have pledged our commitment to one another than on the Garden Porch. Thank you for sharing your home with us, for all the helpful hints, and most of all for your thoughtfulness and care that made our wedding celebration special and unique. Thank you- Sincerely.


Best Wedding Reception

4.0 on March 06, 2009

Dear Dave and Nancy We would like to thank you for making our wedding reception a very special and memorable evening that was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone who attended. We appreciate the professionalism, friendliness, and helpfulness that were demonstrated by each of you. It was wonderful! To truly enjoy our reception and not be stressed exceeded our expectations. You were very accommodating from letting us bring items early in the week, to having a photo shoot Sunday morning. We enjoyed our reception as much as we did because of your role as event coordinators. We knew the Morning Glory was the place for us as soon as we saw it and it did not disappoint! Many, many thanks. Jamilee and Phil White


Morning Glory Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $450
  • Reviews (49) 4.4
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4124311707
  • Fax 1-4124316106

Visit Website »

View details

Top