The Gables Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
145 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Location

4.2 on April 21, 2014

Easy access to public transportation. Quiet setting in the city. Beautiful lawn and property.


A Great Experience

4.6 on April 20, 2014

The Gables is a wonderful addition to a vacation in Philadelphia.


Beautifully preserved authentic bed and breakfast

4.0 on April 20, 2014

We stayed at The Gables for four nights in the East Room. We had a fantastic stay -really glad we got to stay in this beautiful leafy suburb in Philly, which is literally only 10 mins away from the city. The Gables has a real sense of history - the rooms are gorgeous. The hosts made us feel really welcome and the home cooked breakfast each morning made us feel far more looked after than in any hotel we stayed in. Even though we shared a bathroom this was not a problem as the house is truly massive. Would definitely recommend!


The Gables: A Gem in West Philadelphia

5 on April 17, 2014

This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast inn. As a result of my experience, I have decided to seek B&B accommodations before searching for hotels. Bed and Breakfasts seem to fit my style more than hotels, or this one certainly did. Warren is the consummate host. He is also a terrific cook; the breakfast options during my weekend stay were delicious and more diverse than I imagined. The inn has all the warmth of a Victorian home, including great conversations with the host(s) and fellow guests, beautiful furnishings, and ornate style. I enjoyed returning to my very comfortable room at the end of each day. The grounds offered a nice place to relax before going to bed. The location, with its access to public transportation and many restaurants, is a major asset. I also liked coming down to breakfast and being greeted by Oscar, the innkeepers' quiet and sweet poodle. (I think he is a little boy in a dog suit.) In short, I cannot wait to return to The Gables!


Beautiful Victorian house

4.6 on March 12, 2014

Easy booking, kind and hospitable host (and dog!), decent home-cooked breakfast. Very beautiful and impressive Victorian house - room and bathroom were just what as described and expected. Easy access to Philly center.


Cousins Get Together

4.6 on March 06, 2014

Beautiful home, great stay!


Accomodating hosts! Beautiful B&B.

5 on February 06, 2014

It's my second stay. So comfortable and beautiful. I have stayed at other B&Bs in Philadelphia and this is one of, if not the best.


Outstanding historic B&B

4.2 on February 01, 2014

An exceptional historic house in west Philadelphia with a large groundfloor common area filled with interesting decoration. Perfect hosts who serve a delicious breakfast and are attentive throughout to guest's needs.


best place to stay in Philly

5 on January 14, 2014

Every time we visit the hospital we stay. We love the antiques and the breakfast.


Holiday time in Philly

4.6 on December 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Gables on a number of occasions, trying different rooms from time to time. Each room is a delight in it's attention to details for comfort and victorian style and the rooms are always impeccably clean. The breakfast spread is tasty and generous in it's offerings. The hosts are warm and friendly and helpful with any information we have needed.


The Gables in University City

5 on December 16, 2013

Charming, clean rooms with excellent food.


Yes, yes, yes

4.6 on December 13, 2013

What can I say, this is truly a fantastic place to stay. It has what we all hope for when we book a getaway. The hosts are warm, without a hint of intrusion. The breakfast would suffer a disservice if I tried to use mere words to describe it! We give it the ultimate compliment by saying we will be back.


Wonderful stay at the Gables

4.8 on November 25, 2013

I was attending a conference in Philadelphia and took the opportunity to stay at the Gables. I had lived in West Philly for years while in school and had often passed it while walking around - but never had the chance to stay there. The Gables exceeded all my expectations. The house is wonderful and the staff is great. The Gables is located right on a trolley line so getting around Philly was simple and easy. I'd certainly stay here next time I am in Philly and would highly recommend it.


Visit at Gables

4.6 on November 24, 2013

Wonderful! Excellent breakfast and lovely rooms!


Love this place!

4.6 on November 21, 2013

My second visit to The Gables did not disappoint. Great breakfast and friendly staff.


Sanctuary in the City of Brotherly Love

3.6 on November 08, 2013

We are so impressed by the grandeur of your fabulous sanctuary in the city. Loved the decor indoors & out particularly the hammock. We left too early to enjoy breakfast, therefore cannot comment. The only recommendation is to improve the quality of/access to the TV's but understand that may not be a priority of your clientele. Thank you!


recommended for a quiet stay in Philly

3.4 on October 31, 2013

Very good B&B, great breakfast. The only slight inconvenience is the location (the city is accessible by bus only), with few places for a decent dinner


Short stay in Philly

3.6 on October 25, 2013

Taxi service has a lot of trouble finding the location.


Two Seniors stay at the Gables

4.4 on October 16, 2013

Delightful week end stay. The furnishings and the grounds are fantastic.


Great weekend in Philadelphia staying at The Gables

4.4 on October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at your B&B very much. We enjoyed the "Tower Room" very much. We were very impressed with the breakfasts each morning, much nicer than we expected! Everything was prepared perfectly and displayed beautifully. Delicious! The bed was very comfortable and we slept very soundly. Having the snack “room” with refrigerator, drinks, and microwave was a great feature. The B&B is beautifully furnished and we love your style and personal touches. We will be back. Thank you.


Stay here!

5 on September 01, 2013

The place is beautiful, the service is comprehensive but unobtrusive, and the rooms are charming and comfortable. The AC more than made up for a shared bathroom, (which for $130 might seem a stretch, but was not remotely an inconvenience, as the transporting Victorian atmosphere delivered a commensurate ethos of quiet respect. And the pancakes were superb!


Warren and Don are exceptional hosts!

5 on August 29, 2013

We have never felt more like "family" away from home! We would gladly stay here again should we find ourselves in the Philadelphia area. The neighborhood here in West Philly is just as quaint as the B & B! Loved it! The Edens-Colorado Springs, CO.


Stay in August

4.2 on August 26, 2013

I stayed at Gables for one night in August a was completely astonished. The only thing that was just fine was breakfast. Still, highly recommended to everyone.


Outstanding

5 on August 20, 2013

What a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast was gourmet! The decor was lovely and elegant. Player piano at breakfast. Felt like Royalty. And I adored Oscar! Thank you. Monique


gorgeous home full of antiques

5 on August 19, 2013

A lovely stay in a charming home full of truly beautiful antiques. The breakfasts are delicious, the hosts are very warm but not overly intrusive, and sitting on the porch is a delight. Oscar the dog is great too -- little, clean, friendly, ready for some interaction if you are but quick to keep his distance if you'd rather not. One of my best b-n-b stays ever.


Would stay again.

4.2 on August 17, 2013

The Gables is a pleasant and relaxing stay. The garden was impressive. The neighborhood is nice and easy to walk around to nearby dining or catch bus to go further. The house was staffed by young people ( I imagine college students) who were very courteous and seemed to want to please. They were easy to talk to and get what was needed. Other guests were repeat visitors.


Bella Vista in Philadelphia, Pennsyvania

5 on August 15, 2013

This Inn was great. It was close to really good restaurants and bookstores. I felt safe walking by myself in this neighborhood. The rooms were very clean. The Inn is close to Public Transit. Everyone I met was helpful and friendly. This was my first visit to Philadelphia and I loved it. Thanks to the Visitor's Center for helping to look for apt.s and Anthony's for their espresso and pastries, all within walking distance!


Murphy visit

5 on July 31, 2013

Your B&B is one of the top I have ever stayed in..my one request would be to be open during the Christmas holiday! You were on vacation with coverage this time and your staff did a great job. (Francis was so cute, too!) Keep up the good work. I know it is difficult to keep up with all of the commercial venues, but you keep yours warm and welcoming. I always meet the most interesting people there! Thanks for a delightful stay. Kris Murphy


Simply the best

5 on July 26, 2013

Everything about the place is so good. The owners are so nice and helpfull and the hous is something for it self. If you are goning to Philadelphia do not mis this place. Love Dorthe and Mirza


A house stuffed with authentic victoriana, but void of owners' presence.

2.4 on July 17, 2013

Reception and breakfast handled by pleasant enough but casual staff. The breakfast itself was nondescript, more like a cafeteria than the genuine B&B we enjoyed a couple of years ago on the same site: no fresh fruit, tired muffins; one had to ask for jams both mornings. Gentility in decline.


Elegance in Philly

4.6 on July 07, 2013

Beautiful antiques, sumptuous breakfasts, genuine service that has become hard to find in our modern times...all this is what I always find at the Gables. I travel to Philly every year, and would not stay anywhere else. Every part of the grounds, the common rooms and the bedrooms have been cared for with the most meticulous attention to detail. What delightful hosts and as B and B's go, what a treasure!


Great Stay late June 2013

5 on July 07, 2013

Location was great for visiting our daughter and Warren and Don were friendly and hospitable to us and her. Victorian and Christmas rooms had sitting/relaxing areas so daughter/student and two roommates came over to sit in our air conditioned space and view laptop slideshow. Also we offered the girls water or soda from the snack frig and left change in the cup ! Our stay was very comfortable, homey, unlike a hotel. Breakfast was always promptly prepared, items refilled before running out, lovely dining room with overflow spaces iif more privacy was desired. One breakfast included maple syrup tapped from a relative of Don's own tree-delicious!! The grounds were lovely with large shade trees, tables and chairs, different seating areas, a hammock, garden statuary and a fountain. One of the best features was the off street parking. After a day about, it was easy just to roll in and park! Many other B&B's I had researched, before booking, had only two hour parking available on the street. If needed public transportation is a breeze, located right out front and a short ride to city center. We went twice to a Thai restaurant within easy walking distance (5-6 blocks). There were several other restaurants we didn't get to sample. We did purchase some foods from the very near natural foods coop for our car trip to Vermont. Warren and Don were great hosts! Friendly, not intrusive, helpful with suggestions,and directions. They printed off tickets for us to save us time. They provide a well-run, quiet, restful establishment with care to the details of filtered drinking water, chemical and odor-free laundry and linens, snacks, delicious breakfasts and good humor. Our stay was just right!


Wonderful house! Convenient to downtown

3.6 on July 03, 2013

Very pretty property and house. The room was nice and clean and big enough for the 3 of us. The only thing keeping the rooms catagory from being a 5 is thatthe bed was way too hard. This is actually an ongoing problem with most of the hospitality industry. Service was OK. They were kind of hands off sort of people. The older gentleman was friendly, the others I didn't see much of. The breakfast was kind of basic, but good. The prepared their rolls from scratch and those were the highlight. I'd go back!


At gables

5 on June 19, 2013

Nice bed&breakfast, the house is like a museum.


Graduation Weekend

4.4 on June 12, 2013

Warren and Don were gracious and thoughtful hosts during the Penn graduation weekend--even organizing a very early breakfast for those guests who had to leave very early for ceremonies. As always, venue was terrific. It is definitely our favorite place to say in Philadelphia.


A wonderful stay at the Gables

4.4 on June 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and found the staff to be friendly and extremely helpful. The food was yummy and homemade and there was a wide selection of cereals, much to my girlfriend's delight. I was partial to the french toast casserole and tea selection, personally. The location of The Gables is perfectly situated on a trolley line and only a 20-30 minute ride to Old City and, if you're more of the trendy type, South Street isn't much further on your feet. Moral of the story: you can park your car in back and not worry about having to take it anywhere else so long as you are the public transport sort, which I very much am. Our room was cleaned every day, and we had no ugly surprises, which I was incredibly grateful for. The only downside was that the bathroom for the room we had was down the hall and the hall floorboards squeak like mad. So be prepared to to just walk on through. I'll put it down as part of the charm of this beautiful old house. I will also probably sleep in a room with a bathroom attached in the future to avoid that experience. Overall, a lovely place with lovely staff, especially innkeepers Warren and Don (and who could forget Oscar?!). Will stay again.


Very nice place, and convenient to Univ. of Penn

4.0 on June 08, 2013

I travel extensively and get to Philadelphia often. Gables is my preferred place to stay when I need to be in University City area. Very close to Univ. of Penn, and close to Marigold Kitchen, one of my favorite restaurants.


brief visit to phili

3.4 on June 01, 2013

we loved the quiet neighborhood and beautiful gardens at the Gables. so peaceful!


Family graduation

4.0 on June 01, 2013

The Gables provided three generations of my family with a delightful and convenient base from which to take part in our grandaughter's graduation. The warmth of their hospitality and the comfort of their rooms greatly added to the quality of important family memories. Many thanks!


Outstanding hospitality

5 on May 19, 2013

Such a nice and peaceful atmosphere and you feel you are at home. You always get help when you need it. The location is nice and it is easy to go downtown and to the University. When I go to Philadelphia next time The Gables will be my first choice. I wish you all the best With love Per-Olov Widén Borlänge Sweden


Breakfast is good.

3.4 on May 09, 2013

The bathroom is clean. Garden is beautiful.


Wonderful.

5 on May 03, 2013

This B & B is right on a trolley line in a safe, diverse area. The hosts/owners are a wonderful couple. I would certainly stay there again if my plans took me to Philly.


Gables, April 2013

4.6 on April 24, 2013

Wonderful stay, Warren and Don are great hosts. Super place to stay while visiting Philadelphia


Philly Pho Phun

4.8 on April 16, 2013

Simply awesome. No wonder the trolly cars take their photos in front of the Gables. The garden and porch are an oasis after a long day in Center City. Forget the auto because the #13 trolley stop is literally right out the front door. Anyone visiting Philly should stay here.


Nice place

5 on April 01, 2013

Quite and clean room to stay. Free DVDs and WiFi won't let you be bored. And Oscar, middle-aged puddle, is so cute!


Fantastic West Phillie B&B

4.6 on April 01, 2013

This is truly a gem of an experience. We stayed 3 days and had a different gourmet breakfast each day. Our hosts were so warm and friendly, we felt like we had known them for years. The trolley stop (free for seniors) is literally right out side the front door, so easy access to the main attractions. Oh, and the free parking was a BIG plus. The pictures you see of the house are actually the way it is - gorgeous.


Lovely warm place to stay

4.8 on March 28, 2013

Victorian Bed & Breakfast that is inviting and warm, if a bit cluttered. Owners are nice and accommodating.


Very nice B&B in Philadelphia

4.6 on March 25, 2013

Convenient location, quiet, clean, old world charm, delicious and healthy breakfast, gracious hosts. Highly recommended. Will stay there again. BF Montreal, Canada


Always the best

5 on March 07, 2013

Wonderful Victorian elegance,impeccably clean,friendly hosts and guests,ideal location. Warren and Don are always the perfect hosts.


Home away from home

5 on February 25, 2013

My home away from home in Philly! Warren and Don are gracious and the food is delicious. The trolley stop is so convenient, too. Their home is exceptionally kept and worthy of their pride.


heavy victorian style - nice, friendly place

3.4 on February 10, 2013

heavy and very victorian era style with big and grand rooms. Very nicely done - and a friendly place to meet fellow guests.


Victorian lovers

5 on January 30, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, even for those who don't feel any special draw towards Victorian styles. We arrived on a rainy night after a long drive and the host could not have been nicer. He immediately took us up to our room and turned on the fire so we could warm up. The room and attached bath were very clean, and the bed was comfortable. Dinner is not served, but there are reasonable restaurants nearby. Some are BYOB so go prepared. Next morning the host served us a wonderful breakfast and, because we asked, told us all about the house and its furnishings. I highly recommend a stay in this charming B and B.


Tranquil Stay

5 on January 02, 2013

I love The Gables!!! While standing at the curb I realized that I would be experiencing something very special. I took the Liberty Shuttle, which The Gables recommended; the drivers were nice, safe and informative. Upon walking into the house I was greeted by Warren, he was very welcoming. He showed me the amenities and then to my room and he requested I settle in, once settled I could come see him about payment. The East Room was clean and inviting, the little electric fire place warmed up the room and the bed was very comfortable. It was nice to sit in the formal living room which had been neatly decorated for the holidays. I enjoyed taking in the decorations and the history of the house while music played softly. I felt as if I was home. I had to leave the house early the next morning and was not able to partake in breakfast. Warren and Don made sure that coffee and breakfast fixings were available for me to help myself. The fresh bread, coffee, cereal, fresh fruit and juice was a great surprise, and very delicious. Warren and Don rolled out the red carpet for me. I can not wait to come back to Philadelphia, next time I will stay a couple more days. Thank you Warren and Don!!!


Romantic touch in old Philly

4.2 on December 13, 2012

We have stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast two times. This time the old house was totally decorated for Christmas. It was just beautiful. We stayed in the Tower Room and had a cozy fireplace - romantic, and just right for the cold Philadelphia nights. Be sure to come with a good appetite because the food is as wonderful as it is varied. Sharing the dining table with the other guests has always been a pleasurable experience. We have met people from all over the world. Warren and Don are friendly, and it feels like a home away from home.


Our stay at the Gables

1.6 on December 11, 2012

I'm not going to get into a huge description. Suffice to say, the many ashtrays on the wrap-around porch all looked like they had weeks old cigarette butts in them, leaving the porch uninviting if we were actually staying longer than one night. The house itself, while being of some historical status, seemed like it could use some repair/upkeep. Our room was nice, generally nice overall, but had some water damage to the ceiling, worn paint, etc. The bathroom was nice, until I took a shower, as the shower had some mold/mildew, etc. The TV, hidden in a large piece of furniture was propped up by some loose bricks. Perhaps we should have stayed at a hotel out by the airport, since that was where we were headed anyway... Also, we had to leave for the airport prior to breakfast, so we can't really comment on the food. Local cheesesteak for dinner was good though.


The Gables Stay

4.0 on November 10, 2012

Fantastic house that is meticulously restored. Above average breakfast. Would have preferred more interaction with the innkeepers, but also realize that in a busy city like Philadelphia, they have other obligations. Our next trip to Philadelphia will definitely have The Gables at the top of the list of where to stay.


Charming stay!

5 on October 22, 2012

This is a lovely home in a wonderful West Philly neighborhood, close to everything. Plus there is parking! Hosts are charming, buffet breakfast delicious, interesting guests, and a big porch and nice garden in which to sit and do work, or just enjoy. Chock full of antiques, good beds, overall perfect place to stay. Highly recommended.


Philadelphia Story

4.6 on October 19, 2012

The Gables is a delightful place, full of antiques, and a very comfortable place to stay. The hosts are very accommodating and gracious--also very helpful. The room seemed more like a museum with all the antiques everywhere, but the collection of stuff is very interesting. Took us back to our childhood(s) in many ways! Great setting and easy access to downtown. Breakfast was great!


West Philly gem

4.6 on October 09, 2012

Service and comfort at The Gables is consistently excellent. Highly recommended!


Victorian elegance, eccentric decor

4.0 on October 08, 2012

A beautiful, quiet, comfortable setting within easy reach of University City. Each room is uniquely decorated with antiques and theme ornaments, beds are very comfortable, lovely views, good bathrooms. However, the decor is wildly excessive and almost claustrophobic, breakfast is quite ordinary, and the stairs are quite steep with no elevator. Thus, with fewer decorations, better food, and a lift, this place would be perfect.


Fabulous Place, Perfect Location

5 on September 20, 2012

I spent four nights in the Egan Room and enjoyed every moment of my time at The Gables. There is a sink in this room, but the bathroom is down the hall—exactly seven steps, door-to-door. It is not, however, a shared bath so it was like being at home with the bathroom just steps away. The room itself (and all of the others I peeked into when they were empty after the weekend) look exactly like the website photos—beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, with quality linens and many thoughtful touches. The hosts are welcoming and accommodating, the breakfasts were perfect, served buffet style with fresh homemade muffins, fresh fruit, a variety of cereals, milk, juice, and two or three hot cooked items. Coffee and a selection of hot teas as well. There is a "kitchen closet" with a fridge and microwave for guests to use. The Gables is ideally located in a lovely neighborhood, and the trolley to Center City (a 12-minute ride) stops virtually at the doorstep. There are several good restaurants in the area, including Indian, Mediterranean & Ethiopian, three of my favorite cuisines. All are within two blocks of the B&B. The public areas of the B&B are stunning, decorated with antiques appropriate to the period of the house—a visual feast. Classical music wafts through the air and guests are welcome to enjoy the parlors. For me, the icing on the cake was Oscar, a sweet, calm miniature poodle who gently welcomes guests and accepts pets from travelers needing a "dog fix." Many of the guests I met had obviously stayed at The Gables before, and I can see why. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in Philadelphia!


A welcome place to stay, again and again

4.8 on September 10, 2012

Getting to know the innkeepers and staying at Gables often, I feel at home there. Whenever I have reason to stay in Philadelphia, that's my choice.


Great 2nd Stay at the Gables

5 on September 07, 2012

We stayed there briefly last fall and this year for 5 days...it was wonderful. The house is historic and very well maintained and kept. Warren and Don are terrific hosts and strive to make a unique and tasty dish daily for breakfast. Its right on SEPTA. We will stay again.


another wonderful visit

5 on September 06, 2012

My daughter just started her 2nd year at Univ of the Sciences so we spent a few days staying at the Gables before we moved her into the dorms. Another wonderful stay and great breakfasts in a beautiful house. Warren told us that one of the nights we stayed they had a full house and yet it was just as quiet as when we had it to ourselves.


Outstanding and I will stay at Gables anytime I'm in Philadelphia. I will also recommend the place to all my friends.

5 on September 02, 2012

The place it's marvelous, the hostess the best and of course Oscar the cuties. Paula Marsman and Angela Issotta


a delightful B&B

4.2 on August 20, 2012

It was our 1st visit to Philly & The Gables. We spent 4 days & it wasn't enough time to see all that we wanted to. The Gables will always be where we stay in Philly.....it's a no brainer.. The photos don't do justice to the "real thing". Its beautiful on the inside & the gardens surrounding the house are spectacular! It could be a museum all on it's own considering the antiques & furniture through out the house. I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Philadelphia hands down. It's worth more than the asking price.


Victorian Delight

5 on August 08, 2012

From viewing all the rooms online, I chose to stay in the Blue Willow room and I as not disappointed. The room was peaceful, light and spacious. I just loved my 2 night stay and will not hesitate to return. It was fun to check out the other rooms as well; the unoccupied rooms were open to view. At first I was disappointed that the delicious waffles were not served my second morning, but in their stead was a marvelous souffle dish that also was unique. The breakfasts were serve yourself and the atmosphere was 'enjoy your leisurely breakfast with the other guests'. The victorian decor throughout was amazing and the luscious outside garden area kept the theme as well. The location made walking around West Philly easy. DOn't miss the opportunity to stay here.


Good experience

3.6 on August 06, 2012

Good neighborhood. Safe, very easy to get trolley downtown. Grounds were beautiful. Flowers and seating options were abundant. Indoors was decorated with numerous antiques , accented with many artificial floral arrangements. Dining set up and food were fine. Guess we were a little spoiled by our stay in Vermont where the food was prepared for you and served to you individually.This was of course much nicer than food set out on a central table at a specific time. When we came down it was a little cool and not as much quantity wise was offered. The food itself was tasty enough. Would recommend this bed & breakfast.


The Gables is a 5 star place

5 on July 22, 2012

Everything was great. Very comforatble, welcoming and just like home!


Guests of several years

4.2 on May 26, 2012

We have enjoyed our many stays at The Gables.


Charming

4.0 on May 15, 2012

Convenient-lovely-well maintained-friendly-recommend you discuss any dietary issues while confirming your reservation


Our stay at the Gables B&B

3.0 on April 30, 2012

A beautiful, large old Victorian, decorated in period. Very nice!


hannah's review of the gables

4.6 on April 18, 2012

Very hospitable, friendly inn-keepers. Delicious breakfast- homemade maple syrup, waffles, bananas, plus the essentials like cereal, hot coffee, and tea. A sweet dog named Oscar to greet you when you come in. I could easily walk (less than a mile) to UPenn. Very conveniently located, yet it feels like it's nestled in a suburb somewhere yet it's so close to the city. Would definitely stay there again. It was significantly cheaper than the few big hotels in the city like the Sheraton.


Our "go to" B & B in Philadelphia

4.4 on April 16, 2012

We have stayed at two other B & Bs in Philadelphia. However, this is where we will always spednd our nights there. The Gables is conveniently located for all of our needs. The house is filled with character & charm. Warren & Don are as friendly & personable as any innkeepers you will ever meet. The rooms are fairly well-appointed. Breakfast is magnificant! It is always a treat to stay here - and we will continue to do so as long as our son lives in Philadelphia.


Lovely

4.8 on March 04, 2012

A beautiful Victorian House with very nice, clean rooms. The innkeepers Warren and Don, are very friendly. Every morning we enjoyed the fantastic extensive breakfast. Thank you for making us feel at home!!!!


Lovely home, outstanding breakfast, comfy rooms great value

4.8 on February 29, 2012

Spent two lovely nights here, easy access to all parts of Philadelphia. lovely neighborhood, hosts were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was generous and delicious. amazing value for the cost.


Great B&B

4.2 on February 08, 2012

As a frequent traveler I found the Gables to be much more comfortable than any hotel. Friendly and home like atmosphere that hotels can not offer. This will be my first chioce for any future travels to Philadelphia.


GREAT PLACE

5 on January 25, 2012

I stay last year in November, this place is amazing, quiet and confortable, and there is very kind plp who manage it


Nice but amenities could be improved

3.0 on January 10, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was reasonable but some of the ammenities were not as expected. For example, the T.V. in the room was quite small and and outdated. Some of the other amenities were also a little outdated for my taste. Also, for the price of the room, I was surprised to see that some of the rooms had a shared bathroom. Overall, the rooms were nice and decorated in antiques, but could have used some more modern accomodations. The service was very personable and the breakfast in the morning was great.


Fabulous!

5 on January 07, 2012

Dumb me, waited to last minute to find a spot to celebrate New Year's! My criteria was, close/convenient to downtown Philadelphia, full breakfast (not continental), victorian style/historic, reasonably priced...each of these were met. Extra bonus was my interaction with the Inn's hosts, quiet loveable dog, fireplaces, gorgious holiday decorations, food that requires you get the recipe. My expectation were exceeded. Will I go back? You bet!


Awesome Visit

5 on December 31, 2011

My Mom and I visited Philadelphia for my daughter's graduation. The Gables was absolutely beautiful. The innkeepers, Warren and Don were exceptional hosts. Their dog, Oscar, greeted us every morning with a smile and a wag of his tail. We highly recommend The Gables.


Beautiful B&B in Philadelphia

3.0 on November 29, 2011

The Gables is a beautiful B&B in Philadelphia. It's a little way out from the centre in a leafy part of the city, but it's right on a tram route into the city. The hosts were friendly and the B&B itself is amazing. I gave it three stars for everything because I had very high expectations of the Gables and it easily met them. I can definitely recommend the Gables to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in a beautiful B&B. Next time I might go in the summer so I can wile away a day lounging on the wrap-around porch.


great rooms, convenient location, disappointing breakfast

3.0 on November 23, 2011

the gables is lovely and charming, very clean with a trolley stop right on the corner. my only complaint is that the poor breakfast makes the cost a little on the pricey side. an assortment of cereals, some not great muffins, and a few "hot" items that were neither hot nor appetizing. if you're not concerned about the breakfast this is an excellent place to stay. despite the breakfast, we have visited twice and will do so in the future.


Would love to visit again

4.0 on October 31, 2011

Veryenjoyable.. The Gables is wonderful and the hosts are great . .as is their darling little dog. We will stay there again next time we are in the Philadelphia area.


This Victorian beauty is so inviting!

4.2 on October 20, 2011

We recently spent three nights at The Gables. The location is lovely; close to Clark Park, the universities, and restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. The home is stunning, the decor a feast for the eyes. It is impeccably clean and very well maintained. The innkeepers, Warren and Don, seem to understand the delicate balance between being helpful and cordial and allowing their guests a feeling of privacy. We enjoyed the mild fall weather on the beautiful wrap-around porch.


Jack & Crissie's review of the Gables

4.8 on October 09, 2011

We have visited the Gables multiple times and we are always pleased. This visit was the same.


Great place for the Navy-Army game

4.2 on October 02, 2011

My wife and I and a number of friends have stayed at The Gables several times for the Navy-Army game. Although The Gables is some distance from the stadium, transportation on the trolley and connecting subway is quick and efficient (and free if you are on social security - bring your ID card). Too bad the game is in Washington this year. The Gables itself is a wonderful place to stay, and the hosts are extremely helpful. GO NAVY!


Una casa maravillosamente hermosa, excelente servicio y cálida hospitalidad hicieron de nuestra estancia algo inolvidable.

5 on September 20, 2011

Esta hermosa casa construída en 1889 es una belleza por dentro y por fuera, decorada totalmente al estilo victoriano, tiene detalles entrañables que te invitan a la evocación, como fotos familiares antiguas, los techos hermosamente pintados con stencil, colchas de quilt en cada cama limpísima y con frescas sábanas de algodón., el Jardín es amplio y sombreado, y en él juegan las ardillas que saltan de un árbol a otro... el servicio es muy amigable y el desayuno delicioso. Muy bien comunicada, pues justo enfrente pasa el Trolley que te lleva hasta el centro de Filadelfia ( City Hall)


wonderful stay

5 on September 17, 2011

we stayed for a few days while preparing to leave our child at a nearby college. there were a few other guests but the house was so quiet we thought we had it all to ourselves. The breakfast was wonderful, a wide variety of hot items and fresh fruits.


Outstanding! If you love B & Bs, you will love the Gables

5 on September 04, 2011

I visit a lot of Bed and Breakfasts and the Gables is amazing! My room was lovely; the house itself comfortable and a true turn-of-the 20th century gem. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. If you want outstanding hospitality, an immaculately clean room and a chance to slow down in pleasant and beautiful surroundings, stay at the Gables. Also, I should add, it's not far from downtown, so if you are in Philadelphia on business and can't deal with another run-of-the-mill room at the Marriott, head west to the Gables. You will love every minute you are there! Maybe I'll see you there because I will be back! Thanks, Warren!


I'd do it again, no doubt!

4.0 on September 01, 2011

The proximity to trolley (right outside front door!) plus all the standard expectations of a well-run B&B puts this place in a special category. Helped wife and I to share in all the greatness of Philly. I'd do it again.


Nice place to stay

4.4 on August 02, 2011

Recently stayed here while attending a conference at the Convention Center. When I tried to book a hotel, all surrounding hotels were booked solid, except for places at 300 a night. Good value, good location (shot walk to trolly stop which takes you right into the heart of the city), friendly owners (and dog!) - would definitely stay here again if I found myself in Philly again.


The Gables

5 on July 17, 2011

Stayed four nights. The innkeepers' hospitality was superb. The room and bathroom were clean and fresh every day. The breakfast was varied and excellent every morning.


The Gables

4.0 on July 07, 2011

Very nice --- much nicer than being cooped up in a hotel room! Friendly and helpful staff -- good food!


The review

3.6 on July 07, 2011

It was a very nice place in a great location. Easy to get to and from. Would definately stay there again.


Garden Room

3.4 on July 02, 2011

Breakfast appeared to have been prepared several hours ahead and was lukewarm, although fresh fruit served daily was good. Grounds were beautiful. Large porch was a nice place to sit and relax. Antiques throughout the house were very interesting. Owners were very friendly. Bed length was short for tall people (like me).


The Gables is a Solid Choice for a B&B in Phillie

3.0 on July 01, 2011

The house is lovely and very well decorated and supplied. The Porch is a treasure. The furniture both downstairs and upstairs was classic yet quite comfortable. The amenities exceeded our expectations. The hosts were mostly invisible, but it was a quiet time.


Very cozy, very hospitable

3.6 on June 27, 2011

We loved staying at the Gables! The location in west Philly is quiet and attractive, and allows for a nice (half hour) walk right into center city. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful, and make excellent, varied breakfasts. Oscar the dog is very sweet as well:) Our room was comfortable, and the bathroom had everything we needed. I'd highly recommend this B&B!


Best kept secret in Philadelphia!

5 on June 13, 2011

Very friendly, comfortable, and clean. We enjoyed our stay.


Just Like Home!

5 on June 10, 2011

Our family was in Philadelphia for my brother's funeral. Staying at The Gables provided us with a gathering place for visiting with relatives and friends. One guest stopped by one of our gatherings and commented how pleasant it was to see the living room being used joyfully. Warren and Don are wonderful innkeepers. We all felt blessed to be their guests!


Nicely quiet envrionment for exam night

3.6 on May 15, 2011

We have stayed for two nights here. We found the quite tranquile place we wanted for exam night. We were amazed by the antiques and the history of the place. Nice breakfast. Short distance from exam center. To and fro exam center taxi fare is under 15 bucks.


Would highly recommend staying here - very nice!

3.0 on May 14, 2011

Would highly recommend staying here - very nice !


My daughters wedding

4.0 on May 13, 2011

A marvelous property. Great service. A bit pricey, but then that's Philadelphia for you. Only complaint was the shower leaked and was a hassle to operate. Would definitely stay here again.


An outstanding Bed & Breakfast

5 on May 06, 2011

The Innkeepers have created an atmosphere in the The Gables so exceptional that we call it our home in Philadelphia. The excellent food and carefully furnished rooms have attracted well-informed guests from everywhere. Conversations at breakfast have led to many valuable travel tips and ideas that have greatly enhanced our visits. We look forward to our next chance to return. Larry & Dora-Thea Porter


Great stay, no complains

4.0 on May 02, 2011

For those taking the USMLE STEP 2 CS test in Philly, this is an excellent option for you. Really quite and peaceful place to get that relaxing state of mind you need before the test. Very good breakfast. Only 10 minutes from both test centers if you take the light rail which goes through the same street.


Everything was wonderful!

4.2 on April 29, 2011

I've been to the Gables B&B twice and am planning on going again in a couple of weeks. It's location is great....a trolley right in front of the house that takes you into center Philadelphia in a short time was really handy for us. Fabulous breakfast!


I love this B and B

4.8 on April 25, 2011

The Gables is a wonderful B and B! My daughter and I discovered it three years ago and enjoyed it so much that my husband and I stayed there upon a visit to Philadelphia recently. Warren is friendly and helpful. The room in which we stayed was large and elegant. The breakfast was fabulous with eggs, ham, fresh fruit and a peach cobbler in addition to the more mundane (but perhaps healthier) cereals. We'll be back!


The Gables in springtime

4.6 on April 19, 2011

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Gables. The room was clean,very comfortable and decorated in loving detail. The breakfast was spectacular each morning and Warren, one of the innkeepers was most attentive and helpful. We love the Gables!


Great weekend escape

5 on March 24, 2011

We spent three nights at the Gables in Philadelphia, choosing it on a recommendation and after doing some comparison shopping on the internet. Terrific place in all respects, especially nice for those of us who like the feel of being transported back into the era of our grandparents' homes. Rooms are charming, quiet, good location if one wants to use public transport into the city; can walk to the university. Breakfast generous, wi-fi signal strong, hosts very helpful. Compared to big hotels downtown, rates a real bargain, prices being what they are nowadays.


nice stay

4.2 on March 23, 2011

excellent ambiance; informal meetings with fellow travelers; owner more like a host


My kind of place

4.2 on March 21, 2011

The owners have made this a wonderful trip back in time, with furnishing and service appropriate for a Victorian retreat. I am always comfortable and look forward to returning again and again. The breakfasts are tasty and creative, too!


Always a great place to stay

5 on March 11, 2011

Warren and Don are wonderful hosts,the B&B is always spotless with great food and interesting and fun guests.The location is convenient with free parking and great area restaurants.


Great Place to stay

4.4 on March 10, 2011

The Gables is authentically decorated to the Victorian era. The owners are very friendly. Great location to the university and HUP/CHOP


VALENTINE WEEKEND 2011

4.8 on February 27, 2011

Although too short, my wife and I totally enjoyed our stay. We will certainly return. The room we stayed in was beautiful. It was very warm and welcoming there. It was as if we had stepped back into time. Thanks again to the owners and oscar (the dog).


Colleen & Kim

5 on February 16, 2011

Everything was Fab-tabouls... Didn't have one complaint!!!


Night at the Gables

4.2 on February 15, 2011

The Gables was very conveniently located, both to the event I was attending in West Philadelphia and to center city via the trolly/subway. They have a magnificant, well maintained Victorian building.


Snow in Philadelphia

4.0 on January 26, 2011

Very accomidating and a relaxing escape from the corporate drab hotel experience


A pleasant stay!

3.2 on January 10, 2011

We enjoyed staying at the Gables and found the owners and staff to be friendly but somewhat reserved. The room was very comfortable and clean, but we did feel that for the price the, breakfasts could have been better.


Great Place To Stay Near UPenn

4.8 on January 07, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Gables over the New Year Holiday while visiting our daughter who lives nearby. It was the first time we stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, and the experience was great. The property is beautiful and well preserved, and our room was very comfortable and clean. The owners were very friendly and accomodating without getting in the way. The best part about our stay was the excellent breakfast (I will go back just for this) served each morning and the interesting and lively conversation at the breakfast table. We look forward to staying there again the next time we stay in Philly. Highly recommended!


Wonderfull place to stay

4.0 on January 07, 2011

The pictures show a wonderfull home,but to see it you realize the true wonder cant be captured in film!


Great Place to Staoy

5 on December 22, 2010

If you want to stay at a B&B that feels like home, this is the place. Everything about it, from the Innkeepers to the dining, from the accommodations to the service, is outstanding!


Gables Early December

3.8 on December 17, 2010

This is a great B&B in University City area. The Innkeepers are great people and the staff are all friendly and helpful. It sure beats staying at an expensive hotel if you are visiting that area, or one of the schools in the area. Ratings of "Met my expectations," should not be viewed as negative or average, as we had high expectations. The Christmas lights on the house and Christmas decorations were wonderful.


Delicious food, lovely and comfortable atmosphere, friendly guests, convenient transportation

4.0 on November 24, 2010

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and it was excellent. I am already looking forward to staying in another bed and breakfast the next time I travel, and at the Gables the next time I am in Philly. I would stay for the breakfast alone!


Fall visit to Penn

4.0 on November 22, 2010

This was my third stay at the Gables. When I first had the need of lodging while I was doing some work at Penn, I searched online and found them. I decided try them and have never been disappointed. A brisk walk from campus helps get the day started and I feel very safe walking back after dark. The campus police have patrolmen on the streets on bicycles. Public transportation drives right buy the Gables and a campus shuttle can be accessed if you have a pass. One of the most interesting componets of the stay is the interesting people you meet at the breakfast tables. This stay I was mixed in with a group of archeologists attending a conference on Thai history. Very lively. I often meet parents visiting their child on campus.


Great!

4.4 on November 14, 2010

I stayed here for one night and was really happy with it. The owner/innkeeper is very nice and accomodating. It's a historic home and you can't help but have a sense of what life was like living in this house a 100 years ago. I thought it was an overall grest value and would certainly recommend it to anyone and stay there again.


I love this place

4.6 on November 10, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here several times and thoroughly enjoy each visit. The decor is victorian, and there is so much to appreciate about it. Each room has its own wonders, and we have sampled several. Beds are very comfortable, everything you need is here, and it is very convenient for those visiting university city. Parking in the back is also a big plus. Warren and Don are terrific inn-keepers.


Another Great Stay

4.4 on November 04, 2010

This is a lovely guest house and I really enjoyed staying here a second time. I stayed in the South Room - a lovely twin. The house is charming and the decor is very homely and welcoming. The owners are really nice people and they do the best that they can to make your stay a good one. The trolley goes right by outside on Chester Street, but when you are coming back be sure to get no. 13 trolley as they don't all go the same way. The guest house is a bit of a way out of Philadelphia, but it is a real oasis of calm. I was also pleased to note that it is only a $10 taxi ride from 30th Street Station, so it could be a good option if you are coming into Phily on the megabus or by train.


Fabulous B&B

5 on November 03, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a last minute trip last weekend (October 29, 2010-October 31, 2010). The inn is beautiful inside and out. Don and Warren are the wonderful innkeepers that make you feel right at home. The breakfast was absolutely delicious (my favorite was the home made blueberry pancakes.) Special bonus we got to meet Oscar the poodle who is an absolute sweet pea. :-) It was a very lovely stay.


a pleasant stay

3.2 on October 31, 2010

very nice place to stay, the trolley nr.13 stops just in front of the B&B, quite area, some shops cafes and a pizzeria 5 minutes walk away


met all expectations

4.8 on October 03, 2010

a unique b&b; museum-quality decor, extremely clean, beautiful & quiet garden, very friendly owners, and delicious breakfasts. it's not inexpensive but we couldn't ask for anything more


Planning to return!

5 on September 28, 2010

Charming, friendly, and great location for our needs, too!


Magnificent in Philly

4.4 on September 26, 2010

2 nights . Know the city well. Was a student there 50 years ago. Quite exceptional stay


Great Stay

4.8 on June 02, 2010

I have been staying at The Gables B&B in Philadelphia twice a year while visiting my son at UPENN. Each stay has been wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and the food really good. A great respite. The hosts are very knowledgeable.


Way beyond what we expected

5 on June 01, 2010

We had a most wonderful week-long stay. We loved everything about our room, our breakfasts, our hosts, ... Jean & Leslie


Beautiful and Romantic

5 on May 18, 2010

We spent an unexpected 3 days in Philadelphia and had an amazing stay at The Gables. What a beautiful house with wonderful hosts. Each bedroom has its own amazing theme – we actually stayed in 2 of them – and we couldn’t fault them. They were spacious with comfortable bed(s) and immaculate bed linen. One of our rooms had an en-suite, which had everything in it that one required – even down to a spare toothbrush and shower cap! The breakfasts were scrumptious, with everything home-cooked – even the muffins. And it’s only a 10 minute trolley-bus ride to the centre of town. If we ever find ourselves in Philadelphia again (and I’ll make sure we do), then we will certainly stay at The Gables. And their four-legged friend Oscar makes our return even more sure!


Christmas Time at the Gables

4.4 on January 03, 2010

I stayed twice at the Gables between Thanksgiving and Christmas. Work brought me to Philadelphia from Australia but I wanted more personal attention during the holiday season. Having wireless connection for my computer made work easier but most pleasant was the attitude and service. The house was beautifully and decorated for Christmas with a great deal of love and enthusiasm. Breakfast was always good but Warren took extra care and made a special southern breakfast on my last day. I highly recommend the gables for someone who wants a different experience than the usual hotel.


You made us feel like family

5 on March 10, 2009

Very enjoyable as Warren and Don share their home and hospitality. They made us feel like family. We appreciated their advice and information on Philadelphia and their neighbourhood which is near the University of Pennsylvania. Breakfasts are over the top but what is really outstanding is the quality of the other guests that gather for breakfast each morning. What an electic group of interesting people and families. All very knowledgeable about something whether it be travel, museums, history, economics etc. We found the hosts to be very personable and friendly. Their home is an outstanding Victorian home filled with antiques. The large rooms on the main floor are very inviting. The wrap around porch with very comfortable furniture is protected from the elements and has a grand view of the neighbourhood. Their are many choices of rooms. We found the trolly/subway system (SEPTA) easy to use once we became orientated. We visited the Philadelphia Art Museum and ran the Rocky steps (did "Rocky" at the top) and spent enjoyable hours in that museum as well as the Rodin Museum. Went to a Flyers game on the Septa System which was easy. Visited the New Jersey Aquarium (Patco Line) and what a display. Visited the National Constitution Center (Theater in the Round was outstanding) and Independence Hall ( living history for the 1776 Declaration and Constitution.) Philadelphia is a tourist friendly wonderful city and The Gables made our trip an outstanding experience. When we go to Philadelphia again, The Gables is at the top of our list. We visited March 4 to March 8, 2009


Charming B&B

4.6 on November 15, 2008

We stayed two nights in Oct/08 and enjoyed a most pleasant stay. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent with many tasty choices. Our host, Warren was welcoming and most helpful. We also enjoyed being greeted by Oscar, the poodle!


A great experience

4.6 on November 10, 2008

We had a very good experience. Our hosts were very helpful about directions and suggestions for sightseeing.


very relaxing and enjoyable - off the beaten track

4.2 on November 06, 2008

I had to attend a conference during late october early november 2008. In my early 50's, I did not want a typical conference hotel experience, with huge impersonal lobby and anonymous rooms. I'd enjoyed bed and breakfast experiences previously. I searched this website for philadelphia area b&bs. I reviewed several before settling on the gables. The reviews were great. Prices were comparable to hotel rates. After emailing my interest, I received a friendly call the next day indicating the room (the garden room) was available. I arrived saturday afternoon and was warmly greeted by the staff. The house was well appointed. After providing credit cards for payment, I received a key and information about breakfast and snacks available anytime. Computers and internet access were available (as is free wi-fi). There’s also a nice selection of dvds, videotapes, books and magazines. I was escorted to the second floor. The garden room was warmly appointed, high ceilings, and peaceful. The #13 trolley can be caught at the corner. It provides good affordable access to downtown philadelphia. Breakfast included a nice variety of cold cereals, freshly baked pumpkin bread, a fresh quiche, fruit salad, tasty sausages, and fruit juices, teas, and coffee. The next time i stay at the gables, i'll ask for a room with a king size bed. The mattress was a double and I had to lay diagonally across the mattress for a comfortable rest. The room descriptions might include information on size of beds (e.g. doubles, king, queen size). I'll also ask for a room with a bathtub. The shower was nice, but i was a bit concerned that there was no safety rail or safety strips on the shower floor. I discovered the first nippy night that the radiators were more decorative than functional. However, all rooms had electric space heaters, and my second night was toasty and just right. My room had a small 17" TV that was okay, but barely. I would definitely recommend the Gables.


The Gables

4.6 on October 23, 2008

they were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the surroundings


feels like home

5 on September 14, 2008

This was our first trip to Philly and staying at the Gables made us feel right at home. A beautiful victorian house kept spotless. Don and Warren are warm and friendly. Breakfast was good and plentiful sitting with all the other guests was very pleasant experiance, everyone from different areas and countries,. We will return . Dave and Doreen from NY


A wonderful experience

5 on September 05, 2008

I cannot imagine a more perfect location for a stay in Philadelphia. The Gables was as delightful and welcoming as its owners, Don and Warren -for whom nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spotless, the breakfasts a treat to be looked forward to every day, and the facilities faultless. Don and Warren are to be congratulated for the balance they achieve between friendliness and respect for privacy. How they also find the time to tend their beautiful garden is a mystery. A B&B to be treasured. Alison and Howard, Manchester,UK


Perfect!!!

5 on May 05, 2007

The Gables is a beautifully restored mansion with beautiful guest rooms, 2 large common areas and fabulous front porch. All areas are furnished with beautiful antiques. Our only regret is that we didn't have enough time to spend just relaxing at 'home.' The area is in a quaint, historic part of The Univ. of Penn. Restaurants are within walking distance, and the neighborhood is wonderful to walk through. The trolley stop is right on the corner, making access to downtown Philly and the sports complex easy. We highly recommend!


Great experience

4.0 on January 07, 2007

Great B&B. Very quaint, yet near downtown.Rooms are quite interesting and comfortable. Innkeepers are very nice.


The Gables

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $185
  • Reviews (145) 4.4
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2156621918
  • Fax 1-2156621918

Visit Website »

View details

Top