Dockside Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

a few days in the PA countryside

3.8 on November 08, 2013

what a lovely place. my husband and i stayed in the garden room. it was very roomy, large bathroom and easy accessability. we hope to return to this part of pa again and will surely stay at this lovely lovely home. bob and donna were very accommodating and provided us with whatever we needed.


The Elk Room!!!

3.8 on July 26, 2010

Me and my husband have three children and he works third and I work first when I booked this I though wow what a beautiful picture but when we got there it was wowwww what a beautiful everything it was quiet of course kind of disapointing you had to drive so far to eat!!! And the breakfast resturant was not to my taste they kept staring at us kind of weird I think because we were the only hispanic there and the food was not all that great but the Italiano Restaurante there ugh it was to die for it tasted wonderful!!! I recommend this place to couple who need a break and need some serious talking you hear noone see noone and love every waking minute of it !!!


Thank you Dockside

4.8 on February 01, 2010

"The three days we spent at Dockside were wonderful. We arrived early our first day and drove around to take took in the land and the scenic views. When we pulled into Dockside to check in, the view from our room and all the rooms was equally wonderful. The sunset casts beautiful colors on the ice on the water, we cannot wait to see it again in the warmer weather. We explored and used many of the pamphlets left in our room. Close by is the oldest drive in theater in the country and the oldest continuously open bookstore in the world (Moravian Book Shop, Bethlehem, PA). After our busy days out, the room was truly a special haven to come home to. The bed was super comfortable and the decor was very relaxing. We also really enjoyed the place where breakfast was provided; it was a delicious country meal to start the day with. We will recommend this place to friends as the owners are very nice and friendly and the town was exactly what we were looking for."


Good, but not great

3.6 on January 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Elk Suite a while back. I didn't feel compelled to write a review at first but after reading these reviews I think there are a few things that potential guests should know. First of all, it's in the middle of nowhere. There are attractions, but not nearby, so do your research when planning to come stay here. Second, the whole breakfast set-up was kind off annoying. Sure you get to sleep in, but rather than walk down some stairs to a hot meal, you have to get up, make yourself completely presentable, and travel down the road to a seedy looking diner with a voucher for $15 total. How much did I pay for my room again?? Next, when filling up the jacuzzi, the hot water lasted about 5 minutes. So we had to keep waiting and waiting for more hot water. Finally, we settled for a lukewarm, half-filled tub. Not too relaxing. Not to mention our bed wasn't made for us the next morning and you only get one day of non-brand-name snacks/soda and an apple. Again, when we forked out hundreds of dollars for the suite I don't think it's too much to ask for a 2 days of Pepsi. On the positive side, the place is beautiful. The suite was elegant and the views are spectacular. We went to the Allentown and Bethlehem breweries and did some shopping in Bethlehem which was nice. Basically, if you're looking for a pampered, meet-your-every-need-and-spoil-you getaway, you should stay at another B&B. If privacy and quiet are your thing, you won't be dissappointed.


A Perfect Get Away

5 on October 05, 2009

What a beautiful night away! We stayed in the Safari room 10/3/09 for my husband's 45th birthday, although it was a surprise to me! The room was FANTASTIC! So much better than I could have ever imagined. It reminded me of something I'd see at Walt Disney World! CLEAN & Beautiful! Thank you!


Beautiful B&B

4.6 on August 23, 2009

We stayed in the safari room at Dockside for our 10th wedding anniversary. It was even nicer in person than in the pictures! It was very elegantly decorated (not at all tacky, like some themed rooms can be). The property is beautiful and it was so relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and hope to be able to go back someday.


We give the room 5 stars

5 on August 05, 2009

We stayed there in September of 2007 in the Safari room for 2 nights. It was very easy to get to and is very quiet. The room was wonderful and the bathroom was like something out of a magazine. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. It also came with a mini frig and a TV in the bathroom. We give the room 5 stars. We went to the Blue Mountain winery around the corner and had dinner at a local Italian restaurant. They were both very nice. Remember this is a small town and there is not much around. The local people were very nice. This is not your usual B and B. For one we never saw the inn keepers and the huge house is not open to the guests. Guests are only allowed in their luxury guest suites. You are free to walk around the property. The inn keepers don’t come by to freshen your room if you stay less than 3 nights unless you ask them too and they charge you an extra $25 to do so. So if you are staying more than 1 night I recommend bringing an extra role of toilet paper. For breakfast there is a local charming restaurant that you can have breakfast in. They serve breakfast until 11:30 am which is perfect for any late sleepers. Their food was very good and you can get whatever you want. Bob will stop by and pay your tab. We did leave a tip for our server. I highly recommend this B and B. We are going back in August of 2009 and are staying in the Asian room.


A Piece of Heaven

5 on September 01, 2008

My husband turned 40 on Memorial Day Weekend, and instead of the usual poolside party, we decided to get away for the weekend without the children. I searched the internet looking for a quaint experience that offered privacy, romance and serenity. A hot tub/jacuzzi was the only stipulation. After researching several places on the web, the Dockside BandB became our only choice. From the moment we called until we left on Sunday, the place was perfect. The room we stayed in was adjacent to the house, and was a private cottage, equipped with a fireplace, Jacuzzi and King bed. It was decorated like a log cabin, and was correctly called the sportsman suite. It was immaculate. The grounds were breathtaking. The owners take pride in their beautiful home and made our weekend getaway very special. We enjoyed the outside fire pit and beautiful lights at night, and fishing and paddle boating during the day. The breakfast voucher was an added bonus as the options were endless. I can't wait to return in fall for the autumn foliage!


Peace and quiet time.

5 on May 04, 2008

I wanted to give my boyfriend a surprise present for his birthday and this seemed like the best choice. We spent a couple of days at Dockside B&B and it was the most peaceful and relaxing time we could get. We are both from New York and being away from the noise, cars and people was something that we needed and enjoyed very much. Dockside has a very special atmosphere. Very quiet, fresh and it has amazing views around. It has its own lake and the room that we stayed in, the Safari Room, was the best. It was located by the lake and the breeze in the morning and throughout the day is just amazing.. Walking around the lake and in the neighborhood is something everyone who stay at Dockside should look forward to. Our room was very clean and fresh all the time. The bathroom is spacious and has a very nice jacuzzi we enjoyed much. Places around Dockside are different from the ones in New York and definitely worth a visit. The Flea and Farmers Markets in the small towns and villages around Dockside are very entertaining and nice to go to. We found good bargains and fresh fruit and vegetables. We had breakfast at a very nice family owned restaurant which is recommended and complimentary with your stay. The food was very fresh! We highly recommend staying at Dockside Bed & Breakfast. Thank u so much Bob and Donna Herring.


Peaceful Beauty

4.4 on December 31, 2007

Just returned home from our trip to Pennsylvania. I missed it from the moment we drove away. The Dockside was a beautiful place. From the grounds to the accommodations, it was perfect. There was snow on the ground and Christmas lights on the trees. I could not have asked for a more romantic place to stay. We stayed in the Elk Suite and it was perfect. Though not many attractions are nearby; it was worth the drive to come home there at night. Having some drinks and snacks in the room upon arrival makes you feel right at home. I would highly reccommend for anyone wishing to get away.


Fantastic Asian Room

5 on December 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Dockside Bed and Breakfast recently and had a fabulous time. The room was immaculated and very creatively decorated...the theme and colors were great! We also loved that it was stocked with snacks and soda/water. We also liked that we didn't need to bring towels and bathroom toiletries because that was all provided. The best part was the huge jacuzzi in which my tall husband could actually stretch out in...it was great! We will definitely be back!


Lovely Inn

4.6 on November 12, 2007

The Dockside Bed and Breakfast was very quiet, romanitc, clean, and relaxing. We had a great stay and would def. recommend it to afriend! the safari room was excellent!


"Romantic Paradice"

4.2 on November 06, 2007

It was a perfect place to connect with my mate. We stayed in the Asian Room. It was quiet, relaxing, and as romantic as you want it too be. Thank you.


09/2007

5 on October 15, 2007

This property was outstanding!


Peaceful luxury

4.6 on October 12, 2007

We spent a lovely fall weekend at this lakeside B & B. The room was beautifully decorated and included all the comforts of a first class hotel in a private and peaceful rural setting.


Great stay.

5 on October 08, 2007

We stayed for three nights at the Dockside in their Elk Suite. The Suite was very clean and well furnished. We appreciated the snacks, drinks and fresh flowers. The view of the two lakes and the free use of the paddleboat was relaxing. Thank you for a great stay and we will definitely recommend Dockside to our friends.


Elk Suite: Home away from home !

4.6 on September 25, 2007

We felt welcome and right at home. It was a perfect getaway for my wife and I. I assure you, if you are looking for Rest & Relaxation away from the city, this is the place.the Herring are Perfect Hosts. We are already looking forward to our next visit. We are making the Dockside our Home away from home. It's only about 2 1/2 hours from Baltimore -DC Area.Treat yourself to the Self contained, mini cottage Elk Suite. Mr & Mrs Herring, we shall see you soon, leave the light on for us...


Dockside Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $195
  • Reviews (17) 4.6
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-6106982448

Visit Website »

View details

Top