The Olde Square Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
84 Reviews

Write A Review

Olde Square Inn

4.6 on March 16, 2014

We had a lovely, lovely stay here and would definately recommend The Olde Square Inn!


Amazying Stay!

5 on February 19, 2014

Loved our weekend at The Olde Square Inn this past weekend (2/14/14), the Owners are such wonderful people and I loved that they shared history about the home, area, and local events. The Inn is so warm and inviting and decorated so lovely. I absolutely loved what they have done with the place, stayed there 6 years ago and think they have made the place 100 times better. Georgie outdid herself when it came to breakfast and was so nice sitting around talking to the other guests. My husband and I stayed in the Summerfield room and it was just gorgeous! I have read where someone didn't like that when they open the door in the morning it was to the dining room and the guests. This didn't bother us at all and other than that we pretty much had that side of the Inn to ourselves. If you visit, go to Bube's Brewery (catacomb's)& also book the murder mystery dinner....food isn't that great for the murder mystery dinner but it was "SO" much fun and based on actual events in history. Went to visit the town in Lititz's which is adorable, great shops and the food at Bullhead is wonderful and visited the Wolf Sanctuary which was amazing. We can't wait to go back and stay at The Olde Square Inn in the Spring!


Great place in Mt. Joy!

4.8 on February 18, 2014

The Olde Square Inn was a great place for our weekend getaway! Our room, Nevada Sky, was perfect for us with its corner location and horse & seashore decor. The bed was very comfortable too! As everyone else said in the room journal, Georgie's breakfast was phenomenal! We had strawberry stuffed french toast with light & fluffy scrambled eggs! All 12 of us staying ate breakfast together but Paul & Georgie made everyone feel special! I'd recommend this b&b to any couple!


Amazing!

5 on November 26, 2013

The Olde Square Inn is a great B&B. The pictures don't do it justice. We stayed in the Carriage House and it was roomy and very romantic. Breakfast was great...loved the fresh eggs from their chickens. Highly recommend staying here!


Home away from Home

5 on November 01, 2013

very comfortable atmosphere.. made us feel right at home and breakfast is amazing.


Charming, Cozy, and Comfortable!

4.8 on September 04, 2013

This was such a great stay overall and we will be sure to visit again. The owners were welcoming and friendly and their home was also comfortable, charming and a very good location. The breakfast each day was delicious and fresh! Georgie is very knowledgeable of the area and is a great source for any recommendations. I would recommend this to anyone!


Best 1st Bed and Breakfast Experience!

5 on June 25, 2013

The Olde Square Inn was an absolutely wonderful place to get away from the rush of everyday life and just relax! This was our first experience with B&Bs and we were a little nervous about it based on comments and stories from friends and family. We were pleasantly surprised with the amount of space we had and quality of the room, as well as the warm and friendly staff and well maintained state of the Inn and garden/pool area. We stayed in the Carriage House, so it gave us a little more privacy which made the experience all the more positive. We had a delicious breakfast out on the side lawn both mornings and had a chance to chat with some of the other guests. Georgie and Paul were wonderful hosts who always went out of their way to help us in any way they could. Mt. Joy is a beautiful little town with many lovely stores and yummy places to eat... especially Bube's Brewery! My husband and I highly recommend The Olde Square Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway! We will be going back for sure!


Cute and quaint property

3.0 on May 27, 2013

Relaxed, cozy space conveniently located in downtown Mt. Joy.


Beautifull place to stay

4.6 on May 21, 2013

We came all the way from the Netherlands for our sons graduation from ETown College and stayed in this wonderfull B&B. We loved the personal touch and the amazing breakfast Georgie cooked in the morning. The house, the garden, everything is beautifully decorated. Great place to stay !


A Wondeful 60th Birthday weekend

4.4 on May 02, 2013

I wanted a special weekend for my husband's 60th. Our stay at Old Sq Inn was the perfect choice!! Georgie is a fantastic hostess, the inn is beautiful and centrally located, the breakfast is wonderful!! Georgie has gone to great lengths to ensure guests are comfortable and has given her attention to every detail. Rooms are spotlessly clean and common areas beautifully decorated. The outdoor patios, deck, and pool area are relaxing with colorful plants, umbrellas and furniture. Highly recommend choosing this historic inn!! Lots to see and do.... Suggest a visit to: Bube's Brewery -- amazing !! Dinner in the Catacombs is well worth the expense. Also, a trip to Mason Village in Elizabethtown is beyond belief !! Very European. You just can't miss staying at this Inn if you are planning a trip to the Mt. Joy area... Give our regards to Georgie and tell her we will most definitely be back!!


3 day, 2 night getaway between Christmas and New Years.

5 on December 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the carriage house from Dec 26-28. It was our first time away together so it was important to me that it went well. I'm so glad I chose the Old Square Inn. The carriage house was amazing. Very private and very romantic. The breakfast both mornings we were there were incredible. Georgie, the innkeeper, had an amazing amount of very detailed knowledge about the surrounding area. With her help we had wonderful meals and lots of fun visiting various shops, cafes, etc in the area. I am sure at some point we will be back for another stay.

Innkeeper Response
These were great guests! They appreciated their guest room, the breakfast and were so glad to get the "tips" so they could enjoy the very best of the county. We would welcome these two guests back anytime. In fact I hope they return so they can do a couple more days of experiencing what we have to offer here in Lancaster County. So delighted to hear we made their weekend a success!


2 days of happiness

5 on November 14, 2012

We had a great time at The Olde Square Inn Georgie was a great host and made us feel so welcome. She also gave us plenty of places to go and see which kept us busy all day. Breakfeast was great and overall it was a great experence. Would highly recommend staying here.


Absolutely Lovely!!

5 on October 30, 2012

This is our second visit to the Inn-- WE LOVE EVERYTHING about it!! Georgie, the Innkeeper does such a great job making you feel welcome and her personal touch to each room add a home feel even though you are away from home. The location is ideal to local venues weather you are visiting Lancaster area or staying close and exploring Mount Joy, Marietta, and Elizabaethtown. A must- stay in our books!


The Olde Square Inn, what a pleasure

5 on October 23, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Olde Square Inn. We were visiting Hershey and Lancaster and found this chaming inn a perfect center place. The room was spotless and decor was beautiful and tasteful. We found Georgie to be a wealth of information regarding the area for attrations and meals. It was a pleasure to stay in the Summerfield Room and, for folks who find steps difficult, this was a first floor room which was very convenient. The food was fabulous, of course, and we will not hesitate returning to this wonderful inn the next time we are in the area. Joe & Marian B, MD


Anniversary

4.8 on October 14, 2012

Charming,Romantic Bed and Breakfast with an amazing cook who is the hostess. Have to go back for a longer visit. Thanks, Georgie.


Key Largo Suite

5 on October 09, 2012

The room was very spacious and very clean. We had a good night sleep on a comfortable king bed. The owner Georgie is very nice and accommodating. We did not get to use the pool as it was October but the grounds were keep well and there are places to eat within walking distance. The breakfast was great, it was a surprise each morning as to what we would have for breakfast and we were not disappointed either day.


Sq deat at the Sq INN

4.6 on September 28, 2012

My lady friend and I were very pleased with our stay in Old Square Inn. The inn keeper was very welcoming and her entire home was very beautiful. Our room was just a little tight but we did pick the smallest room in the house so we have only ourselves to blame. The other rooms in the house were quite sizeable and all well appointed. She gave us a key that opened the front door and our room too.. We were right on the "main drag" in Mt Joy which is a very clean albeit small town with a small commercial center but walking distance to a couple of bar/restaurants and coffee and antique shops. Parking is free and plentiful right next to the inn. Breakfast was served outside on the lawn and was very good for me but my girlfriend is not a big eater of breakfast meats and pancakes but I was more than full. Coffee was a little weak but we like ours strong. The pool and backyard looked so relaxing. Too bad it was a little too cool to enjoy but next summer will be an added bonus. The upstairs deck was also a great place to relax. Mt Joy is an easy ride to a number of other small and interesting towns in Lancaster county. I would recommend the Old Square Inn to anyone traveling in the Lancaster County area and looking for a great place to relax and unwind.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for all the insightful remarks for our town. Mount Joy is a small town but filled with great gems all within walking distance. It is noted on our confirmation if there is something you would prefer not have or an allergy in foods, please inform us. We are always willing to accommodate our guest within reason of giving them an excellent breakfast. If we don't know we can't accommodate. Here at the inn we are know for our excellent breakfast. Thank you for choosing us and your kind words!


Great Stay!

5 on August 12, 2012

We just got back from a weekend getaway at the Olde Square Inn. We stayed in the Key Largo room. The room was VERY large and the soaking tub was great! The breakfast each morning was AMAZING!!! We debated sleeping in one of our days there, but after breakfast the first morning I couldn't wait to see what we would get the next morning! We got the "Babymoon" package and had a massage at a local spa. The spa was just a few doors down from the Inn and the massages were GREAT!! We can't wait until we will have a chance to visit again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the praises of Key Largo and the massages for the Babymoon package. These are two items added in recent months and those who stay in Key Largo and choose any massage love it. The guests especially love the wine and cheese served afterwards. If expecting it is cookies and milk! We now have massage therapists who will come to the inn. Food is a form of art and love searching daily for new recipes and new presentations! My guest let me know what the grade for the report card is almost immediately! Come back with the baby and tuck into the Carriage House or leave the babies with the grandparents and treat yourselves! Remember they are parents to.


A Gem Inn Mt. Joy

5 on August 07, 2012

Last month's visit to the Inn was wonderful. Georgie was so helpful with places to visit and things to do. The room was so comfortable it was difficult to get up and get moving, but the smell of coffee and breakfast in the air made it a little easier. Georgie's breakfast was right out of a magazine, so creative and delish. The gardens are spectacular and quite a backdrop when taking a swim in the crystal clear pool. Thanks for a lovely stay.


The Olde Square Inn

4.8 on July 30, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed two nights in the Carriage House of the Olde Square Inn. It was the perfect place for us to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The Carriage House has very romantic and spacious accommodations including a gas fireplace, whirlpool tub, microwave and small frig. Georgie was helpful, very personable, and sweet. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the lovely porch of the Inn. Everything was neat, clean, and inviting...the grounds, the rooms, and the pool. This was the perfect place to stay because of its central location to places we wanted to visit during our stay--Hershey, Lancaster, and Gettysburg. We would definitely stay there again, and highly recommend it. --Kathy and Ted

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! A pleasure to have you. Hoping you return to us. The secret is unfolding to the great location and the town of Mount Joy. People come and they truly do have a great getaway.


The best in Mount Joy!

4.8 on July 25, 2012

The Olde Square in is a lovely B&B right in the cozy, quaint town of Mount Joy, PA. We took a weekend away to check out the ghost tours at Bube's Brewery (a 10 minute walk away), and could not have been more pleased with the Old Square Inn. The breakfasts were fresh, hearty, and delicious, so filling that we didn't need lunch - just a snack to tide us over until dinner. The room was nice and the bathroom was clean. I'd gladly stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
Mount Joy is a quaint town that truly is a hidden gem because of its central location to Hershey, Lancaster, Harrisburg and York. The town is growing and adding more unique shops, bakery, restaurants, boutiques and of course the expansion of Amtrak. We like to feed our guests well! Food and the table of fellowship is the center often the center of a getaway!


Great get-away!!

4.4 on July 20, 2012

Beautifully decorated throughout-esp the rooms. Breakfast was delicious, unique and fresh ingredients. The pool and gardens were an extra special touch. We will definitely have a return visit soon! Georgie is a gracious hostess!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you most kindly for your review. This time of year we love doing the breakfast even more because the local orchards, our gardens and the farm markets are bursting with fresh ingredients! Return to us and see what has been an addition to the inn and to the town which is growing by leaps and bounds!


Great B&B

4.4 on June 21, 2012

Beautiful house, loved the room, the location and the small quiet town.

Innkeeper Response
Our pleasure to serve you and to know you enjoyed your getaway at the inn. Return to us. The pond is completed on the upstairs deck filled with pond lilies and fish. The pool is just the right temperature for a dip.


Birthday Weekend 6/09/2012

5 on June 16, 2012

Quaint!!! I have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before, I was surprised how wonderful an experience staying at one turned out to be. Georgie was very welcoming and offered many suggestions. She even gave us directions to Loxley's. Stayed in the Charleston room. Bed was very comfortable, suite was very clean, and very private. It was a home away from home. The breakfast was wonderful and I loved the made from scratch blueberry pancakes. The fine details are what makes such an enjoyable experience & we would stay there again. We celebrated his birthday and I wanted something a little more romantic and memorable. Staying here was exactly what I envisioned it to be. Next time we are in the area, we would stay there without hesitation. It was truly unique!!!


birthday getaway

5 on June 11, 2012

We stayed in the carriage house....very private and relaxing. Walking distance to Bube's Brewery which was a very fun experience.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you most kindly! It is you our guest who keeps our business at the forefront and encourages others to come to us. Innkeepers work hard in trying to give our best to our guest. Gracious, kind words help to keep us going and give our spirits a lift.


Perfect Cozy Wedding Destination

5 on May 22, 2012

Recently stayed at the Olde Square Inn for a close friend's intimate wedding. I personally had the Nevada room upstairs, but was able to see every room as they were all reserved for wedding guests. With a third-floor suite and an adjacent carraige house suite, the bride and groom were able to enjoy a luxorious stay while also treating (should they wish) a set of parents to a suite. The hostess was amazingly friendly, helping with wedding preparations, recommending local photographers and salons, and makes an amazing breakfast, which we enjoyed on the beautiful porch. Everything was easy for the wedding guests from out of town - eliminating the need to travel back and forth from hotels. The entire inn was clean and bright, rooms had private bathrooms, and there are some with whirlpools and an inground pool in the back - perfect way to relax in the evenings.

Innkeeper Response
This wedding couple were so easy to work with and a delight. They appreciated and took all of our suggestions for places to niche into for assistance. Their guests were as easy as the bride and groom to accommodate. We even had last minute needs for special diets and the guests were so gracious to our offerings and appreciative of what we could offer at last minute notice. The wedding was small and intimate without the fuss. All the details were outstanding! Honored we were that we were chosen for the wedding and to accommodate the guests!


Superb!

5 on May 11, 2012

I only stayed one evening, yet I was warmly welcomed by the owner who gave me a tour of this wonderful B&B. Since my visit was business related, I was unable to stay long enough for the breakfast, but I've heard it is superb. The next time I stay overnight in Mount Joy, I intend to spend my time at this delightful inn. Stephen F.

Innkeeper Response
Stephen was a delight. He was unique as he really took an interest in the architect and was so intrigued by it. It came naturally to him because he is an architect. I too was sorry he could not stay for breakfast. He was a fellow I know who would enjoyed a good breakfast and I wanted to share with him our offerings! Return to us.........


Visiting The Area

3.4 on April 30, 2012

Quaint room, comfortable bed, friendly hostess. Enjoyed my stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us.


Perfect Find

5 on March 04, 2012

What a great find! A hidden secret. First off, check in was easy. Georgie the Inn Keeper was an excellent host. Very helpful and so easy to get along with. She showed us the entire place. Awesome. The room was perefct, fireplace was awesome. Breakfast was very good, tasty and coffee was so good I wish I could have purchased the beans. This is a great place to stay if you are planning to antique and be in that area of PA!

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed the coffee and the experience here. Informal we are and we just want people to feel at home, relaxed and return home with memories.


Weekend getaway

5 on February 29, 2012

We cane for a weekend getaway and absolutely loved our stay. The Inn is lovely, the food is delicious, and the owner is delightful. Georgie gives great suggestions for things to do in the area and makes you feel right at home. We hope to go back again for another visit.

Innkeeper Response
We were glad you felt at home here. Casual we are and are not "fussy" folks. The inn is to be enjoyed and a place for laughter and memories. Good to hear you had a wonderful experience here.


Very Nice

4.8 on February 27, 2012

Facility and hostess very nice. Friendly and warm, great breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you most kindly.


A great weekend getaway

4.6 on February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Olde Square Inn in Mount Joy on a spur of the moment getaway from Washington DC. The inn and our room, the Antebellum Room, were beautiful and freshly refinished. Our hostess was friendly and informative, and made our stay very pleasant. Breakfast was excellent and the company of the other guests was diverting. One evening we walked to Bube's Brewery for an excellent dinner and an amusing theater experience.

Innkeeper Response
One of the things we here from your folks in your area is that they can walk to great restaurants, the coffee shop and don't have to do a lot of driving to have a great experience. Plus we are not far from DC. You can even bring the train which is only two blocks away. A delight to have you!


Wonderful Stay!

5 on February 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. Innkeeper Georgie was wonderful. The inn is beautiful. I requested a birthday cake for my boyfriend, and wow, it was amazing! And breakfast was also fabulous. We hope to go back again sometime soon!!

Innkeeper Response
We love making a celebration come together. Our culinary school is a great gem here in this area. Wonderful cakes breads, and other goodies. When people come to a B&B food is one of the things at the top of their list to enjoy.


Lovely Weekend

5 on January 16, 2012

Our two-night stay at Georgie's Olde Square Inn was delightful. The Carriage House was perfect and the sumptuous breakfasts elegantly presented and very creative. The incredible Bube's Brewery theater/restaurant complex is but a short walk away and we took up Georgie on two of her other numerous entertainment recommendations. We found there was no need to stray too far from The Inn to enjoy daytime and evening adventures. S & G Reisterstown, MD  

Innkeeper Response
Your kind comments are always appreciated. This "neck of the woods" is a gem in Lancaster County. I love sharing the exciting things to do here and all over the county. I want my guests to have the best in their experience not only here but in Lancaster County as well. If we do well hopefully you will return to us! Georgie


Key Largo!

5 on November 14, 2011

My husband and I just enjoyed a long weekend in Lancaster County. That stay was centered around a wonderful suite that we had at The Olde Square Inn in Mt Joy, PA. We spent 2 great nights on the top floor called Key Largo - much like in Pretty Woman staying at the top.. "It's the best!" It was so inviting, warm and private - when we were up there, we didn't even know there were other people there! Delicious breakfasts both mornings and Georgie made sure that we had our plans for the day and our dinner plans for the evenings. I think Georgie knows EVERYTHING about Lancaster County. It's all the little things that make the difference and didn't take us long to know that we made the right decision to stay at The Olde Square Inn were it's personal, instead of your run of the mill chain motel/hotel. I'm already thinking about when we can plan another getaway........ maybe my birthday next year, or make our fall trip an annual event!!

Innkeeper Response
You were great! The pictures of Key Largo haven't been placed yet because a new site is being built and they will come out then. These folks trusted the previous guests reviews and took a chance. Who books without seeing pictures these days. Well these guests did and they loved Key Largo. Our goal is to make your stay a memorable and I am so glad we did! We look forward to your return. By the way "Pretty Woman" is one of the movies that I have always loved! Wow what a comparison. You made my day!


wonderful stay

4.0 on November 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Olde Square Inn. Georgie, the inn keeper, was a great hostess and my husband enjoyed his hunting conversation with Paul. They sat on the porch in the evening to converse with their guests which was a great way to meet everyone. We had a wonderful breakfast on the porch the following morning. We definitely plan to return.

Innkeeper Response
We don't share our memories or sit with our guest very often but it seemed "appropriate" with this group. All of you were so a delightful and loved interacting with one another. So delighted you enjoyed your stay! Come back to us and we will tell you some other hidden gems to explore in Lancaster County!


Our Wedding Venue

4.6 on November 01, 2011

We chose the wedding package at The Olde Square Inn for our elopement wedding from doing research on the internet. We booked an overnite stay a month before our wedding date to finalize plans and actually see where we had chosen to get married. We were absolutely blown away by the beauty of the Inn and the hospitality of the Innkeepers. The Carriage House where we will be spending our wedding nite is breathtaking. We just couldn't be more excited. The Innkeepers made our stay and making our wedding arrangements effortless. We can't wait to return for our big day!

Innkeeper Response
We are honored you chose us as your wedding venue. It is enjoyable to be part of the "makings" of this special day. I love calling the local culinary school and ordering one of their wonderful creations. Ordering the flowers from Floral Designs as Jill is a spectacular design artist. Nothing is the "norm" but absolute artistic, creative talent. So delighted you enjoyed the inn and the breakfast! These guests were delightful and so very gracious...........


Warm and Friendly

5 on October 31, 2011

We just came home from our third visit to the Olde Square Inn. Our son lives in Mt Joy and we were looking for a hotel to stay. We found this inn and although we never stayed at a B&B, we decided to give it a try. What a wonderful experience! Georgie and Paul can't do enough to make you feel comfortable and at home. The Carraige House is wonderful as is Key Largo. You feel like you are staying with old friends. We look forward to many future visits. Thank you again Georgie for all your warm hospitality.

Innkeeper Response
These are special guests as they were some of the first to come to the inn as we were new innkeepers. I believe our inn was also their first experience and they were a bit nervous. My hope was that they would fully enjoy their experience and return to us! They have been returning and it is always an absolute delight to seem them.. They were our first guest in Key Largo and they gave it a thumbs up! Yeah!


Excellent

4.8 on October 30, 2011

The beautiful and quaint Inn itself is icing on the cake with the hostess Georgie being the prize. Her knowledge of the area and previous experiences in the business made her an invaluable resource for finding excellent tour ideas and plans. Loved the food and accommodations.


My evacuation turned into a vacation!

5 on October 09, 2011

I live on a barrier island in New Jersey. When Hurricane Irene was headed our way, the Govenor issued a mandatory evacuation of my town! I needed a place to go with my cats and dog! I picked the Olde Square Inn rather randomly and dialed the phone...I explained my situation to Georgie, the Inn Keeper, and she immediately took care of me! She was so accommodating. I arrived to this wonderfully relaxing and beautiful Inn. I took a swim in the backyard pool, walked to the local shops, ate great food...it was the best evacuation I ever had! :) Georgie, the Inn Keeper is wonderful!!! I look forward to going back as a vacation!!!

Innkeeper Response
An absolute delight to have you and your so very well behaved pets. We didn't even know there were "creatures" here! In times of difficulty we have to help those who are in need. We were so glad you felt at home here and knew that we were concerned for your situation. Come back to us and enjoy when there is less stress for you!


Fantastic Memories

4.8 on October 09, 2011

M fiance and I stayed at the Carriage House at the Olde Square Inn, and let's just say, it will be two days we won't soon forget! Georgie and her staff were great hosts, making us feel so welcome and serving phenominal breakfasts. And the decor was beautiful, making us feel like we were in our own little world. The large whirlpool bathtub by the fireplace was very special and a unique way to rekindle our romance. I would recommend this inn to anyone who wants to have a truly magical experience,an escape from the mundane, and memories that are everlasting.

Innkeeper Response
So very glad you enjoyed the carriage house! I purchased the inn a year ago and we have worked very hard to bring out the beauty of this great piece of architecture. Our goal is to really give our guests a great "getaway" without being intrusive. Serving an excellent breakfast is important and it is why we choose local meats, fresh breads, pastries and eggs from the farmer. It does make a difference in the quality of the dish. We look forward to another visit from you!


Fabulous Weekend Retreat

5 on October 03, 2011

The bed and breakfast was charming. The hostess was knowedgable and delightful. Location was excellent. Great dining nearby! Fabulous Breakfast!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! It is your opinion that we value and helps to get another guest to our inn.


Great Location/Great Value

5 on September 21, 2011

The Carriage House was a wonderful base for 5 nights. The room was clean and had every convenience we needed. Georgie was a wonderful host and we enjoyed the home made pastries and great breakfasts. The grounds are very well tended and the public areas inviting. We had a great time and would recommend to anyone who likes to do day trips in the area. There is much to see and Georgie knows about it all. Her list of things to see and do was great for us. Thanks again for a great B&B experience.

Innkeeper Response
This location is one of Lancaster County's best kept secrets. Minutes from 283/30. Walk to restaurants, boutiques, shops, spa and coffee shop and AMTRAK. Mount Joy is one of the top five fastest growing towns in Lancaster County. As a former travel agent/tour guide I know many of the "hidden gems" in Lancaster County and love to share them with folks after I hear what their interest are. These folks even picked up Amtrak a block from the inn to NY! You were both a delight!


Beautiful!

4.4 on September 19, 2011

A very nice homely place to stay. We felt like we were at home when we stayed here. The owners are very friendly and know the area well. Plus it is in a good spot to see the sights. Especially as Bubes Brewery is within a 5 to 10 minute walk. Their breakfast is very refreshing and filling, its the perfect start to the day! Thanks for having us! We will be back! My wife normally only likes to stay in hotels and was a bit skeptical, but she loved it and felt really comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
We strive very hard to meet the needs of our guests. Southern hospitality and a bit of the western world creates I believe the best in making guests feel at home. They always say the way to a person's heart is feed them well, provide a good bed, clean room and embrace that person from the heart. Many come on a first time experience and leave saying "we loved it".


1st Bed and Breakfast...

4.8 on September 11, 2011

I enjoyed it! Very friendly innkeeper, delicious breakfast with several homemade items. From a banana bread muffin with a light cherry preserve inside to an excellent omelet with tomato, cheese, potatoes (that they grew) that was topped with basil and parsley and NOT heavy like you would expect. Would definitely stay there again. Very relaxing.

Innkeeper Response
So delighted you enjoyed your first experience! Come back for a second time and see the new additions to the inn! A new website will soon be arriving and meeting more of the guests desires!


Will go back for sure

4.4 on September 10, 2011

We stayed in the cottage house for a long labor day weekend - and Georgie is a wonderful innkeeper - everything about our room was lovely and we had the perfect romantic weekend we craved - we are trying to come up with an excuse to go back ASAP- you will not regret it

Innkeeper Response
I have the perfect excuse for your return! A new suite has opened called Key Largo and it is beautiful. Decorating in creams, Gulf Water blues and a King size Bed Pictures coming soon on the new website. New packages and specials are listed on the existing site including massages!


A wonderful stay

5 on August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the beautiful Summerfield room. The house was beautiful and room was very clean. The breakfast was terrific. Georgie and her husband made us feel like we were staying with family. She helped us to find excellent places to eat, get coffee, and find great tourist attractions. We definitely plan to come back.

Innkeeper Response
I love hearing the responses from our guests and their experiences! It tells me they enjoyed their stay and I get to hear their excitement.


A beautiful Inn, friendly Innkeeper and delcious breakfasts!

5 on August 25, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time celebrating our Anniversary at the Inn. The rooms are homey and very clean and the outdoors beautifully landscaped. Georgie the Innkeeper is very friendly and knowledgable of the local area. The breakfasts were delicious and the pool was delightful! Mosby's one of the local restaurants was fantastic!


Just Amazing

5 on August 21, 2011

Just returned from a week-end stay with our English Bulldog Luigi. Beyond all expectations! The house was beautiful..rooms superb..The meals..well we wish they served more than just breakfast.the best meals we had all week-end! Georgie needs her own restaurant.The best B&B we have ever stayed in..with our dog!! He was made to feel just as welcome as we were! We are so coming back! 5 stars! Dr.Joseph & Terri Piskorowski


A wonderful find!

5 on August 21, 2011

A fabulous gem...the inn is gorgeous, the innkeeper knowledgable and hospitable and the location convenient to many different activites.


Great Inn ! We can't wait to visit again !

5 on August 09, 2011

This was the most relaxing Inn, we loved the Carriage House ! We needed a week-end break away from our busy life. Can tell you it was just what we needed. Not only was it very comfortable....clean and inviting, the breakfasts were great! A great feeling of reception with such a gracious hostess. Lots of Love were extended to Chris & I in all aspects of our stay! We are spreading the info on this B&B! We are planning our return soon!


What a gem!!

4.0 on July 05, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 28th anniversary by going to Mount Joy, PA and staying at The Olde Square Inn. The Inn is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The Innkeepers are just wonderful. Georgie and Paul are just so friendly and have a wealth of information about the area attractions and dining. They really helped to make your anniversary special. We will definately be going back!!


Great Inn for families with young kids!

4.4 on May 01, 2011

We had a wonderful stay -- carriage house was perfect for a my husband and I with our four-year-old son! Since many B&Bs will not accomodate small kids, this inn is a gem! The room was wonderful -- we loved the big bathtub w/ fireplace! And the food was great -- we are "foodies" with high standards, and Georgie's breakfasts were first rate! Highly recommended.


Last minute booking - excellent experience

4.6 on April 23, 2011

My wife and I needed a last minute one night stay in the Lancaster area and found this gem of a B&B just outside of Lancaster in Mount Joy. Exceptionally clean, personal touches in just the right amounts and a very nice breakfast. Occasional Amish wagons clop by on Main St., but otherwise it's quiet. Not a lot to do in Mount Joy, but that may be the point, right? Lancaster's maybe 8 minutes away if you think otherwise. Innkeeper is warm and amiable, but careful to give you your space. Rooms are generous size and tastefully done. Nice blend of real old and very good / functional reproductions. Had a nice casual dinner at Mosby's down the street from the Inn.


Outstanding B&B

5 on February 17, 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful Valentine's Weekend at The Olde Square Inn. Innkeeper, Georgie, is fabulous. She made us feel like welcomed guests immediately, offering fresh baked cookies which she brought to our room (The Antebellum guest room) while we settled in. She provided a wealth of knowledge of the area. All the recommendations she made were excellent. I have a wheat/gluten intolerance and she accommodated my needs at breakfast quite nicely. Georgie made extraordinary breakfasts. The flavor and appearance of all the food was great. We would, with out a doubt, stay with Georgie at The Olde Square Inn again!


A wonderful place to stay

3.8 on February 15, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Inn. We enjoyed our stay very much. The Inn is beautiful and the Innkeeper made us real right at home. She was very helpful with suggestions as to where to eat and places to see. We will definitely return and highly recommend the Inn.


Great stay in Carriage House

5 on January 29, 2011

First rate experience. The Inn's Carriage House is a beautiful, spacious, private cottage with a wonderful whirlpool and gas fireplace. The innkeeper Georgie is friendly and helpful without being intrusive, and the breakfast was creative and delicious. Obvious commitment to running a top-tier Inn.


Olde Square Inn

4.0 on January 02, 2011

our first stay at a B&B and it exceeded our expectations.. very friendly comfortable, atmosphere. Looking forward to our next visit.. thanks !


winter get away

3.2 on December 20, 2010

Gracious hostess with many suggestions to enhance our stay.


Anniversary stay

4.0 on December 13, 2010

We spent our 33rd wedding anniversary weekend at the Inn and were very pleased with the service, cleanliness, friendliness and knowlege of Georgie. She recommended Mosby's Pub for dinner and the meal was outstanding. We had dinner there Friday and Saturday nights. Saturday, we decided to go antiquing. Georgie recommended a shop in nearby Coumbia called the Burning Bridge Antiques. We spent more than 3 hours in there exploring all 3 floors. Every recommendation she made was outstanding and we look forward to our next visit. Georgie is the best. Michael and Ellen, Frederica, DE


Great B&B

4.4 on November 30, 2010

This was a great place and a great location for traveling around the greater Lancaster area. The innkeepers were a wealth of knowledge about the area. Definitely recommended.


The best

4.8 on November 15, 2010

We had a short stay at theCarriage house. Outstanding. Georgie was accomodating and very nice. Would go back a thousand times. Private and well appointed. Could not ask for more.


Olde Square Inn

3.6 on November 11, 2010

The owners are what made the stay great. Georgie is a great cook as well. I enjoyed my time there and wish we could have stayed longer!


Wonderful October weekend in Mt. Joy

4.6 on October 11, 2010

The Olde Square Inn is wonderful. Georgie was a great hostess, and she is very friendly and quite knowledgeable about the area. We stayed in the Magnolia room, which was spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We would love to stay there again, if we are back in the area.


Can't wait to come back again!

5 on September 26, 2010

We stayed here for our mini vaca to PA and it was wonderful! I highly recommend The Carriage House which is where we stayed. It's spacious, private, quiet, and has everything you would want for a private weekend away or a family trip with the kids. We had such a great time!


Wonderful weekend in Mount Joy

4.2 on September 25, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Mount Joy, attending my high school reunion and seeing relatives and friends. The new owners are working to make major improvements (several rooms are finished) and serve interesting and delicious breakfasts. If you need to stay in the Mount Joy area, this is the place.


A pleasant stay

4.0 on September 09, 2010

We stayed in the Garden Room in this lovely old home. The bed and linens were exceedingly comfortable. We remarked that we would stay here again just to sleep in that bed. We had breakfast on the nice side porch. We would stay here again if we were in the area.


Relaxation to the Max!

5 on September 03, 2010

This was my first visit to this B&B. I plan to make it my home away from home when visiting the Hershey area. I liked it so much I gifted my daughter & her husband with a stay! The town is quaint, friendly, & a relaxing place to get away!


Charming and restful

4.0 on September 01, 2010

This stay was very pleasant. The days started with a lovely breakfast that was so fresh you would think it was pulled from the fields that very morning. The new owner, Georgie, is quite knowledgeable about the area and was a wonderful resource for getting around Lancaster. We were in the middle of it all, and every possible town was within a 15 minute drive. If you're wondering where the best B&B is in Lancaster -- look no further. AND they allow for dogs! Just wonderful. L. Suarez, Washington, D.C.


First time at a B & B

4.0 on May 31, 2010

We didn't really know what to expect for our first time. However, we were very pleased with the accomendations. The owners were in a transition toward retirement and they had their daughter and another lady to serve us. The owners returned our last day and all the people were very nice and informative. If there was a disappointment it was because there were no other guests there. Of course, we were there on Monday and Tuesday. They were booked up for the following week-end.


Can't Wait to Return!

5 on August 06, 2009

Comfort from the moment we entered until we said goodbye to Fran and Dave. By the end of two days they both felt like family. The beds, pillows, bath towels equal those of the finest hotels. Breakfast was more than one could ever eat. Luckily we had one of the few sunny days the east offered us and we had a quick dip in the pool. A perfect place to stay in the Lancaster County Area.


Our Pennsylvania Home Away from Home

5 on July 15, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Olde Square Inn almost every time we have visited the Pennsylvania area for at least the past 10 years. Each and every time we have stayed, including our first time, we felt as though we were visiting our friends home. Fran & Dave always remember us and make us feel welcome and I won't even mention the food which is always delicious!!!! I've taken home many a recipe home & shared them with my family and get rave reviews. They are also very helpful and informative about all of the attractions and restaurants in the area - all you need to do is ask.


TOO Good for Words!

5 on June 08, 2009

From the moment you walk into this friendly B&B, it is a wonderful experience. Each room has its own charm - it's not like an impersonal hotel or motel where every room looks the same. The beds are so comfortable, the breakfasts are fabulous and the innkeepers make you feel right at home. Mount Joy is a great spot because it's close to Hershey as well as the tourist sites of Lancaster without be crowded or noisy. The Inn is about a mile from the highway so you can get somewhere quickly or meander through backroads. For years we've been staying at The Olde Square Inn for 6 nights because we found 2 or 3 nights just isn't long enough! And every time we leave, we can't wait to go back!


Thank you

5 on March 24, 2009

My husband and I were celebrating out 7th anniversary and were dining at Bube's on a Sunday night. The Olde Square Inn was perfect for our needs. The Inn is within walking distance to Bube's.Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We also got to meet the owners wonderful dog Koko who was a very pleasant surprise.


awesome

5 on October 15, 2008

Was a great place. I would stay again


Enchanted Cottage

4.0 on February 17, 2008

This was the 2nd time at the Olde Square Inn for us. First was our 20th wedding Annv. and now for valentines day. This is the best place ever for a romantic getaway. and Fran and Dave are so helpful, the best thing about the Enchanted cottage is that it is so private, and best of all, we was able to take our two pets with us, Breakfast, that is the best, and most of all delivered in a picnic basket, I can not say enough good things about this Bed & Breakfast it is just wonderful, the best. I'm sure we will go back a third time.


First Time B&B'ers sends a Review

5 on September 04, 2007

Fran and Dave have a great spot there in Mt Joy! This was our first time staying at a B& B and we feel that they have set the bar high. The inn was clean, and very compy. We enjoyed our afternoons sitting by the pool side, even being on a busy street you didn't hear anything but the birds chirpping. The staff were eager to please at all times. We had the best home made breakfast that anyone could ask for every morning. We can't say enough about our stay, we certianly hope our next B&B is a equally accomadting. Keep up the great work!


Just like home - but better

5 on July 16, 2007

Our stay was fantastic. The location in the center of town afforded us endless potential for activities. Fran was wonderful- she is the best cook and hotess anyone could ask for- her advice and taste is impeccable. We couldn't have felt more comfortable anywhere else. We had arrived on a friday evening and met up with some friends we all took a dip in the pool and unwound from our drive before heading out for dinner. Our goal was Hershey- the location was perfect. I can't wait to visit again.


Comfy room and great breakfast

4.2 on May 06, 2007

friendly B&B. Fran was very helpful when we needed anything - directions, places to go. The Inn was very comfy and our room was beautiful. The breakfasts were yummy!


Lancaster Delight

5 on April 22, 2007

Arriving at The Olde Square Inn in Mt.Joy was a delight. From the moment we were greeted by Jim and Fran, I felt pampered and spoiled. The rooms were clean, engaging and every consideration was made to ensure that we were comfortable and our needs were met. Fran's fantastic breakfast menu is the perfect start to a relaxing day of enjoying all that is Lancaster, County.


Cottage was beautiful

5 on March 16, 2007

We stayed at the Olde Square Inn for a romantic getaway (second honeymoon). We were in the Enchanted Cottage and it was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again!!


I'd definately go back!

4.8 on February 19, 2007

Our weekend at The Olde Square Inn was very nice. We've been to a few B&Bs, but this one has been the best so far...and we were able to bring our dog along too! The Innkeepers we very hospitable, making sure everything was right. Overall a big hit!


The Olde Square Inn, The Cottage Room

5 on February 19, 2007

What a delight after fighting Jersy traffic to arrive on a Friday evening at a calm, quaint and beautiful room at The Cottage. This is a separate place from the main room at the Olde Square Inn (it looks out on a lovely garden and a pool). In the morning our breakfast was delivered in a picnic basket complete with both hot and cold items. I must say that our room does have a minikitchen and pull out bed--great for familiies but we just had our little dog with us, so we used the fridge for our wine and cheese. Our room had a built in jacuzzi and a walk in shower--both great for my aging bones. Fran and Dave were able to steer us to great places to shop and eat. I recommend The Olds Square Inn for anyone wishing to spend time in Central Pennsylvania.


The BEST place I have ever stayed!

5 on January 30, 2007

We first visited The Olde Square Inn about 16 years ago and it was our first trip to a Bed & Breakfast-now we're HOOKED! Fran and Dave are warm and friendly, with sparkling personalities. The rooms are all gorgeous -we've stayed in EVERY one of them during our 15+ trips to The Olde Square Inn. (Sometimes one trip a year is just not enough!) The rooms are always "clean as a whistle" and the staff are gracious and accommodating. The food is always FABULOUS - something to suit the tastebuds of everyone who comes to breakfast. It's always interesting to share breakfast with folks from all over the country. If you haven't tried a B&B, definitely stay at THE OLDE SQUARE INN! You'll never stay in a hotel or motel ever again! It's a home of quiet elegance filled with wonderful smells and friendly people.


The Olde Square Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $225
  • Reviews (84) 4.7
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7176534525
  • Toll free 1-8007423533

Visit Website »

View details

Top