Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
88 Reviews

Write A Review

Quick Getaway

5 on July 16, 2014

We wish we could have stayed longer! We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Alpenhof. Our room was beautifully furnished, the public areas of the bed and breakfast were clean and cozy, and breakfast was superb! How many bed and breakfasts can you go to that have a long menu of what is offered at breakfast? Roland and Judy were very friendly and welcoming, it was as if you were family. We walked the grounds, and while we didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool, it was very nice. We greatly enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We definitely will be back, hopefully soon!


A Peaceful Visit

5 on May 14, 2014

We stayed in the Grand Master Suite. The view from the room was so serene...so many trees and wonderful flowers to boot. There is even access to a sundeck which adjoins an area with a table and chairs to sit at and enjoy the serenity, overlooking a wonderful swimming pool. The bed was super comfortable and the accommodations were spacious. The décor is a mix of antique and eclectic which blended nicely. The breakfasts were scrumptious, offering fresh fruit salad bowls, fresh baked goods and eggs cooked anyway you want along with great bacon and sausage available to boot. On Sundays, they have a delicious eggs benedict offered up. They even had homemade gravlax with bagels, cream cheese, tomatoes and red onion. For us, the best part of Alpenhof are the people who run it, Judy, Roland and Roland's wife Anh who helps with the breakfasts. I felt as comfortable there, as I do at home. You won't meet kinder, warmer and more helpful people. They truly care about your comfort and your needs. They make it very difficult to leave, because we wanted to stay longer. We feel that it's a great value for the money and we will be coming back again and again to enjoy the B&B as well as Philadelphia.


Alpenhof B&B is a Treat!

4.0 on December 13, 2013

Overall a wonderful stay at a lovely B&B with outstanding inn keepers. Would do it again in a heartbeat!!!


Fantastic and Romantic B&B

4.0 on December 06, 2013

The B&B Innkeeper was very professional, courteous, kind, and helpful. You can have as much or as little interaction with her and the guests as you'd like. Media, PA is beautiful! Great restaurants, town, and state park near by. Highly recommended.


Love this place!

5 on September 30, 2013

During our travels from FL to PA last month, my husband surprised me with one of the most beautiful bed and breakfasts I have ever laid my eyes upon! We had the opportunity to stay in the cottage for 4 nights, and I wish we were still there. The property is gorgeous with beautiful gardens and stone walkways. We enjoyed the cool nights sitting outside on our private patio overlooking PA woods. The cottage itself is clean and marvolus with a home style/romantic feeling; and the bed is so comfortable that we even bought the same mattress when wee returned to FL! The main house where breakfast is served is truley enchanting; from the history of the home to the decor, every detail down to the tableware . Judy is the most wonderful host and AMAZING COOK! Thank you for opening your home to us! Vielen Dank für Ihre wunderbare Gastfreundscaft!


Best Bed and Breakfast!!! Don't miss a stay here!

5 on September 30, 2013

I recently stayed at Alpenhof (Media, PA) for a three night stay while attending a friend's wedding. Roland and Judy are the consumate hosts - as others have mentioned, the gardens are spectacular and and decor amazing. This 1700's barn turned into a charming little private get away is warm and inviting; a peaceful retreat! Judy helped in every possible way from getting me to various wedding places as well as wonderful eateries. She is a delightful hostess and was simply a joy! By the way, she makes a wonderful veggie omlet!! Of course, one of my favorite - Clyde and Abbey, the canine hosts...If you want to spend time for a simple get away or for a special event, let Alpenhof take you away!


Hmmm

4.8 on August 10, 2013

Someone has gone to a lot of trouble to provide a thoughtful, comfortable, charming, and different place to stay. Our room, the master suite, was large, with comfy bed and linens, and well equipped with all sorts of comforts to make our one-night stay pleasant. The grounds of the home is beautifully landscaped, and the pool looks quite inviting. Breakfast was delicious and the home-baked cinnamon buns were a real treat. My only caveat was that our room (and it appeared to be only our room) had a very strong industrial air freshener type of scent throughout, including the bathroom. When I stepped out of our room, the scent disappeared. I could not figure out where the air freshener scent was coming from, but kinda assumed that it must have been masking up a mold/water leak odor, or some other unavoidable situation. The scent gave me a big headache from the moment I stepped into the room. The scent was quite strong and even when I returned home, our bags and clothing still had the scent lingering in them. I'm sorry to say that I would have found Alpenhof to be wonderful, but this put a damper on what would otherwise have been a lovely night.

Innkeeper Response
To Whom it may concern: We want to thank you for your stay at Alpenhof. I wish to apologize for the "Strong Air Freshener Smell" that was in fact the bathroom cleaner known as "FABULOSO". We use this product for its all-purpose cleaning versatility and effectiveness. We especially like this cleaner because once the bathroom is used, the scent usually disappears. We recommend that if individuals are sensitive to industrial cleaners to tell us at the time of their reservation and we will gladly switch to a vinegar and baking soda solution for cleaning with little or no smell. We are sorry for the headache you said you had because of the smell; but want to assure you that it was not a masking scented air freshener to cover mold or mildew. I handle all the cleaning and care of the rooms here and I assure you of that!!! Please....next time...."air" your complaint to us in person first....so we can help before you express yourself in a review with false information.


Nice rooms, but whoa! What a breakfast!

5 on April 07, 2013

We stayed for a weekend trip to Philly, and wanted to be a little farther away from the city to have some quiet time. Our room (the Master Suite) was as advertised - very tall ceiling, large bed, and a massive TV at the foot of our bed. But the real star here is the breakfast, where we got choices of many homemade beds, cinnamon buns, and incredibly good omelets with great sausage (the only thing that we would recommend against is the eggs benedict -- great hollandaise, but you're missing out if you eat meat and you don't go for the sausage). This is a great find!


Perfectly Splendid!

5 on December 21, 2012

I felt like I was at home! I stayed in Roland's room and slept perfectly. I needed to leave early both mornings and so Judy made breakfast for me early both mornings. She went out of her way to make my stay comfortable and convenient. The area is so peaceful. Sunday morning I saw a Great Blue Heron in Ridley Creek just around the corner. This is the perfect place to retreat or even stay for business. A gem of Bed and Breakfast options!


My sister and I have traveled extensively as have my husband and I. We always stay at B&B's when possible. If you are staying in the Media, Pa. area, this is the place to stay. It truely is magnificent, from the gardens to the restored barn to the breakfast to the warmth of your host and hostess.

5 on August 14, 2012

I came the first time out of necessity but will come again for pure pleasure. I cannot say enough about this place. BTW, this is the first time I have taken the time to write a review. I hope you find this place to be as wonderful as I did.


Awesome place!

5 on August 04, 2012

It was a very pleasant stay, hassle free and great service. If your going to Philly, I recommend staying here, rather then in the city.


Wedding Awesome-ness!

5 on June 26, 2012

We booked the whole house and the cottage for out-of-town guests coming to our wedding. Judy and Roland were very accomodating, even helping us arrange welcome gifts to be waiting in our guests' rooms. The grounds were spectacular--we even had our wedding pictures taken there! Breakfast was a huge hit with all of our guests both because the food was delicious but also because of the personal touch, like remembering everyone's names and orders from the day before. It was really easy to feel at home. The rooms themselves were great--they combined modern conveniences and amenities without losing the bed & breakfast atmosphere. We definitely will be returning and recommending it to all of our friends and family!


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on May 25, 2012

We stayed at Alpenhof May18 and 19. The house and yards are beautiful - even though a lot of the flowers hadn't bloomed yet. Our stay in the Master Suite was lovely, but a little noisy in the morning as we were above the kitchen. We woke to the smell of coffee and the sound of conversation as the other guests got started on their treks. Breakfast both days was incredible - homemade bread for french toast, pancakes as big as dinner plates. Only about a half hour drive to Philadelphia - our intended destination - and a much better experience! We would gladly visit again!


Outstanding!

5 on May 19, 2012

This was all we could have asked for...and more. Great hosts, great ambience, great food. Bob & Stefanie


Excellent Stay!

5 on May 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alpenhof for one evening in the Master suite and had a wonderful time. The town of Media is charming and breathtaking. We had an amazing breakfast and very much enjoyed the decor of the Bed and Breakfast.


Fantastic Breakfast

5 on February 13, 2012

Alpenhof was great. We had a two night stay, during a large family gathering in town. Judy and Roland are fantastic inn keepers. The room we stayed in was so relaxing and the Breakfasts were the best I've ever had at a B&B. Try the Eggs Benedict and/French Toast. Love the rustic look and fireplace in the main great room. And the house dogs were so friendly. I would go back here, as do many of the guests, as the regulars I met at the breakfast table proved. Thank you Alpenhof, Keith and Melissa.


Selfless hospitality

4.6 on January 15, 2012

Aside from the beautifully appointed rooms, the amazing full home made breakfast, accomodating our late-night arrival, this story may set Alpenhof and its delightful proprietors apart from all in their class. Toward the end of our New Year's holiday, I asked Roland about cab service from the house to the airport early in the morning. He said the cabs would not be reliable and without hesitating, said "No, problem - I'll take you myself!" And the next morning at 4:00, he was up and waiting for us with the car warmed up. He cheerfully drove us the 20 mins to Phila airport. An amazingly touching ending to a lovely stay. Thank you Roland and Judy!


A Special Christmas Present

5 on December 25, 2011

Innkeepers udy and Roland are wonderful, their hospitality beyond all expectations, especially for guests with special needs. Alpenhof is quite unique in style and extremely comfortable from guest room to living and dining room. Breakfast was 4 star , tasty treats from home baked breads to a choice of eggs bebdict, waffles, pancakes, french toast and more. My wife and I will definitely plan to return soon.


the best b&b ever

5 on December 25, 2011

Ditto what everyone else said about delicious made-to-order breakfasts, incredibly friendly reception by Roland & Judy, and excellent value. I was particularly impressed by the gorgeous and uniquely decorated rooms -- an amazing array of mosiac tiles, wall stencils, luxurious textiles, and massive wood beams and stone walls combine to make a very cozy, relaxing atmosphere. The smallest details are carefully tended: for example, all the rooms were a cozy temperature and even though I visited the Alpenhof in winter, the air was not too dry. The nicest part was that when my sister forgot to pick me up from the airport, Roland volunteered to drive my Mom through rush-hour traffic to the airport to get me. I really appreciate his willingness to help, given no notice! Many thanks for your hospitality.


ALPENHOP B&B

4.4 on October 11, 2011

Thanks for a restful night in your beautiful B&B. Curteous staff. Clean Rooms.


lovely place to stay

5 on September 08, 2011

Stayed three nights at alpenhof in Heidi's room. Very friendly innkeepers. Great imenities with very comfy rooms. Breakfasts are large and very tasty. They even attended to our washing. What more could you ask for?


And close to Philadelphia besides!

4.0 on September 07, 2011

One memorable place to book for any visit to the Philadelphia Main Line or all the famous universities, formal gardens, and Amish attractions nearby is The Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast. A lavishly appointed historical edifice (and adjoining cottage) are maintained in spotless and well equipped shape by a friendly and helpful owner and partner. The ritual of breakfast was attended by fresh fruit and homemade baked goods and skillet fare. Many world travelers have sat at their heirloom black oak George Nakashima table for the fine food and stimulating conversation. There is even a huge pool and deck here. Could not imagine settling for a cookie cutter hotel or suite after meeting and joining the Alpenhof people and many of their return guests.


Beautiful, Comfortable, and Relatively Affordable

5 on August 08, 2011

The Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast is the most beautifully decorated and appointed B&B that I've ever seen, and not just on the inside; the gardens are lovely as well. Charming, friendly, and helpful hosts provide the most delectable breakfast you could imagine. They are very open to catering to each guest's particular needs and desires, whether dietary or otherwise. The furniture is eclectic but very carefully matched and I slept extremely well on the bed despite having back/joint problems. Location-wise, this is perfect. It's close to delightful dining and shopping areas in Media, PA while maintaining that off-the-beaten-path feel, surrounded by gorgeous old trees on a side road. The pool is great, too, and the prices are very reasonable given the area and the quality of service. Recommended as highly as possible!


3 night stay at Alpenhof

4.4 on July 16, 2011

Very accommodating hosts. Friendly and offered suggestions when requested. House itself and art interesting. Grounds well kept and in an attractive and convenient location.


Fabulous stay

4.8 on July 02, 2011

The grounds are beautiful. Serene surroundings with a variety of plants, birds and butterflies. Breakfast offerings included fresh breads, fruit, and choice of entrée. Highly recommended.


Great B&B

5 on July 01, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay...the Master Suite was large, bathroom clean and the bed very comfortable! We will recommend Alphenhof to friends and stay again during future visits to Philly.


Alpenhof

5 on June 13, 2011

Stayed in 'Monica's Room". Newly re-done bath is lovely. Superb breakfast! Innkeepers Roland and Judy make your stay a pleasure!


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast!

5 on May 03, 2011

Outstanding Bed and Breakfast location and a lot of history of the structure built from a 300 year old bank barn!


wonderful B & B in the Philly area

4.4 on April 11, 2011

Great place to stay while visiting the Philadelphia area. We were met at the door & immediately taken to our room and then a tour of the home. Judy and Roland gave us several choices for breakfast which was absolutly delicious. The last morning, we were leaving early to fly home and would miss breakfast. Judy gave us muffins and fruit to eat before our flight. We will definitely stay here again.


Hidden Gem!

4.0 on March 14, 2011

We recently stayed one night in the Master Suite. My only regret is that it was not a longer visit. Absolutely charming! Roland and Judy are so warm and welcoming. The decor is eclectic and very appealing. When asked about it, Roland was happy to give us the fascinating background on the property. I had read the glowing reviews on the breakfast and I have to concur. The food was wonderful! We will definitely return.


B&B Outside Philly

4.2 on February 19, 2011

This was a lovely place to stay. It is adjacent to a wooded park in a very nice neighborhood. The host was very pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was great. The room we were in was quite small with no place to sit, and the bathroom was shared with another room - though no one was in that room while we were there. I expect we will use this again when we visit family in the area.


A marvellously welcoming inn...

5 on January 02, 2011

A fine place to spend a winter's day or three! Innkeeper Roland clearly loves his work... from his personal attention to your needs, to the hand stenciling on the walls in the bedrooms, to the lavish breakfast, to the roaring fire in the fireplace in the living room, this is an inn that welcomes you as a guest.


Excellent Stay in Media

5 on December 16, 2010

The room is even nicer than it appears online in the pictures.


Wonderful Memories

5 on December 06, 2010

Our trip to Media started on a sad note since we were coming for a young man's memorial service, but the people at Alpenhof changed all that. The hospitality was outstanding and the rooms and beds were glorious! Breakfast was spectacular because when we sat down it was "What would you like?" and they started listing all the wonderful breakfast dishes you could imagine. Everything was cooked perfectly and the company was very pleasant. We have stayed at many B&B's but this one is at the top in our book. We would recommend it to anyone who is nearby to go the extra mile to get there, you will not be disappointed.


Peaceful, Serene, quiet getaway

4.6 on November 22, 2010

Had the pleasure of staying here for the weekend. A planned getaway for the weekend with my gf of 1 year. We stayed in the Cottage, which is more seclusion and a little more privacy. The Alpenhof met, and exceeded our expectations. The view is beautiful, their is nature all around you. View from the deck/balcony looks out of the forest/rock garden area, to really give you that Cottage appeal. Inside the cottage was cozy, inviting, comfortable, clean, with superb lighting in every room. Thermostat control, 1.5 bath, 3 sliding doors leading out to the deck, giving you a great view day or night. Breakfast was great too! A beautiful array of fruit was provided for us, along with a choice of waffles, pancakes, omelets, etc.. Me and my gf opted for the omelet's, and we were satisfied to say the least. Oh yeah, and the coffee was great! Had to throw that in there as I am a avid coffee drinker. Took in some sights around the area, as the area is very nice and scenic. We will be going back again when the weather breaks. Would love to stay there in the Spring/Summer season. Their is a Art Gallery not too far from there we didn't get a chance to see, and a theater house. Will indulge in those next time. We will be returning.


Outstanding experience!

5 on October 26, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Alphehof B&B while attending the wedding of a friend. The setting of this house near the entrance to Ridley Creek State Park, is simply gorgeous. The house itself is a 300 year old stone building which has been well maintained and upgraded where necessary. The rooms are very, very nice and the entire facility is truly clean throughout. WiFi is available thoughtout the house and grounds, a real plus for me. The bed was great, too. Last, but certainly not least, the breakfast was a gourmand's delight. No pre-made stuff, but freshly prepared Eggs Benedict for me and a vegetable omelet for my wife were just right. I'd not hesitate to recommend the Aplhehof to anyone. James F. Glass


Best B & B stay ever !!

5 on September 14, 2010

Thank you to Judy and Roland for allowing us to rejuvenate our souls whilst staying with you. It was an absolute delight to be able to sit in the peace and quiet - after a hectic few days in New York. The room was beautifully presented and was both clean and also very welcoming. We were a little apprehensive about staying in someone else's home but it was exactly the opposite - you both could not have been more welcoming. The food you prepared and served was of restaurant quality - Roland your omelettes are to die for and Judy - the homemade fruit loaf was melt in the mouth. Thanks for your understanding whilst we had to deal with a drama from home - we have no problem highly recommending your B & B again - and will definitely be back again. Thank you once again !!Leith & Allyson Rhodes


Best Breakfast on the Planet

5 on August 31, 2010

Come for the breakfast, stay for the gardens. Oh, and get a good night's sleep. The breakfast, all homemade, is to die for! One dish after another of really delicious food. The gardens are the same way: one stunning plant after another (and I'm a gardener; I appreciate all the exotic species Roland has collected).


Peace and comfort

5 on August 31, 2010

Alpenhof is a special place. The service is great, the food is outstanding, and the grounds are beautiful. I highly recommend Alpenhof if you want a peaceful get-away, clean accomodations, in a beautiful area.


Great value, in a great location

5 on August 31, 2010

I think all the other reviews have covered it but, we loved our stay at Alpenhof. The price was much cheaper than staying in Philadelphia, and we got the bonus of Media, and the Ridley Creek State Park so close to the Inn. Oh and the beds really are comfy.


Exceeded our expectations

5 on August 31, 2010

First off, the grounds surrounding the B&B are amazing! Roland took time to show us some of the rarer plants, and really takes pride in the incredible surroundings. We stayed in the Rock Garden, in the cottage. It was quiet, well appointed, and the bed was most comfortable. Breakfast was a highlight each morning, and we left for the day full! I would recommend this location to friends and family.


It is a great place to go and relax

3.0 on July 13, 2010

We stayed in the cabin which was nice and private. This was the first time taking my child (who is 8) to a B&B. The cabin was large and roomy and perfect for the family. We went to tour downtown Philly but once my kid saw the pool 40 feet from the cabins front door all bets were off. We did do some sight seeing downtown but the pool time is the all my family will take away as a memory of this trip. The family was kind and generous, they welcomed us into there space as if we were one of the family which was great. When arriving for breakfast we were greeted by the family dog along our travels to the dinning area, it was like an extra burst of happiness to our morning. Breakfast was made to order with homemade breads and fruit salad for starters, all well presented. The grounds were lovely and we found the place to be quiet and tranquil. Roland was very helpful in finding a place for us to see the fireworks, though we still managed to get lost with directions and a GPS...oops. Downtown Media was an unexpected treat for the trip, the area is a very nice place to spend the evening and have dinner. The only down side was that they forgot to clean our refrigerator before we checked in and there was no trash pick up during our stay. But as I said before the access to the pool is what sealed the deal for a great visit


wonderful b&b experience

5 on May 23, 2010

we had a wonderful 3 nights at Alpenhof. Roland is a great host and made us feel very welcome. The staff accommodated us in every way. Breakfast was yummy! The grounds were lovely! We would definitely stay here again when in the area and highly recommend to all!


great option for a getaway in philly area

4.8 on March 20, 2010

Most comfortable bed ever. Fantastic breakfast. Beautiful place.


A Great Stay

4.6 on February 13, 2010

Our stay at Alpenhof was exactly as we had hoped. The inn was pleasantly quiet, and our room was very clean. Hot water was available at all hours, along with a nice selection of teas. Judy and Roland make a great breakfast, are friendly and helpful, and respect the privacy of their guests. We could not have asked for more.


Excellent Weekend Getaway!

4.8 on January 25, 2010

Coming from CO, my husband and I felt right at home in the large, dark beamed Alpenhof (ski chalet if you will). We thoroughly enjoyed waking to enticing smells that brought us to the dining room where a fabulous breakfast awaited us. To order even! We walked in Ridley Creek park and had dinner in Media. The city is a short drive away, but we enjoyed leaving it behind and returning to the 'country'. While we could only stay for the weekend, my husband and I would have enjoyed staying longer, as well as coming back to visit in the summer months when the grounds are in bloom.


Nice b & b

4.8 on January 02, 2010

Lovely b&b. The breakfast was made for your requst. Very delicious and hearty. The only thing is that you have to share bathroom with the other room.


Anniversary Get-Away

4.8 on November 30, 2009

The one problem we had with Alpenhof's B&B was that we didn't want to leave. We stayed in the "cottage" which is most like a very comfy apartment, and we just fell in love with it. The decor was so cheerful. Judy and Roland couldn't offer enough assistance, couldn't be more kind and couldn't possibly have any more talent at cooking and decorating than they do!! Breakfast was fantastic. Fresh fruit, homemade muffins, waffles and french toast was what we had. There was much more made to order, but we were only there one night - darn. We can see this as a new getaway to just have some quiet time, away from phones and electronics. We will surely look into this when our daughter gets married down the road. Family members would be very cozy at Alpenhof. So thanks to Roland and Judy and the extremely interesting guests we were lucky enough to meet, we have many happy 30th anniversary memories.


Fabulous Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 23, 2009

My sister & I travel a lot and we must say this was one of the best mini vacations we ever had. Roland & Judy are two wonderful, caring, entertaining people. The breakfast's were as good as if you were in a 5 star restaurant. We had the master suite and it was charming. The whole place was perfect and we cannot wait to go back there. My sister has already given her daughter & son in law a gift certificate for them to go. Judy and Roland our deepest appreciation for making this a wonderful vacation for us. Until we see you again, happy holidays.


What a Gem!

5 on October 28, 2009

Our extended family booked the entire facility for my nephew's wedding, and did we get the royal treatment. Roland and Judy were cheerful, flexible and provided an island of sanity in the midst of last-minute preparations. The breakfasts were hearty enough to get us through a couple of no-lunch days, and they graciously provided coffee and muffins for additional family members the day following the wedding as we all said our goodbyes. It's obvious that both innkeepers are committed to providing a wonderful experience for their guests. If your travels bring you to the Philadelphia area, it's worth the extra miles to stay here! - KL Bay Area, California


Great for Family Gatherings

5 on October 27, 2009

My family booked the entire place for a family wedding. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality we received, the attention to detail, and the wonderful homemade breakfasts. It was perfect!


Rustic Elegance!

5 on October 19, 2009

After a long trip in the cold rain to Alpenhof, we were greated by a warm cozy fire in the fireplace and the friendly smiles of Roland and Judy who were relaxing by the fire, waiting our arrival. The house is a wonderful mix of art and awesome woods, collected over the years by the Mullers. We stayed in Heidi's room with the MOST COMFORTABLE king size bed I have ever slept on!!! Roland even shared his secret so I could duplicate it at home. The breakfast in the morning was like NO OTHER B&B experience we have ever had......started with a wonderful bowl of fresh fruit, HOME MADE tarts that make your tongue sing, choice of yogurt, fresh juice, coffee, tea.........and then they came to take our ORDER!!! Yes, more wonderful homemade food, whatever you wanted. Roland and Judy were great help in getting us to places around the Inn and making suggestions of "FUN" things to do. The gardens are outstanding.......the rock garden is a must see! We will definately go back........this was by far the best B&B we have visited. Thank you Roland and Judy for making Mike's birthday special.......let Clyde know that we miss him!!!!


Super-comfy bed!

4.0 on October 04, 2009

An oriental rug outside the main door was an elegant welcome. Heidi's room had a nice chest to put a suitcase on in addition to the luggage rack and closet for hanging clothes. The shared bath was a concern, but worked out fine. A highlight was hearing Roland tell the history of the property while we had breakfast, and then to have lovely chat with another couple who were also guests. The generous serving of fruit salad was delicious, and we could choose from a variety of breakfast options, too! The bed was exceptionally comfortable!


Wonderful 1st B&B experience

5 on September 21, 2009

To all who may travel to this lovely B&B. The hallmarks of this place is "customer service" and "ambiance" that exceeds our expectations. The Innkeepers take you back in time to a kinder, respectful time with attention to detail and genuine warmth! Between the "Breakfast as you like it", the well kept and appointed rooms, charming and picturesque locale and, finally a terrific price-point you won't find anything nicer. This B&B is like, many a home opened to strangers, but you will feel quite at home and not a stranger. Breakfast with the other guest was something that was both fun and stimulating! We hope to return and that they keep this just as it is! Wonderful place... wonderful people. Warm Regards, IG/RW/


My daughter's first B&B experience

5 on September 05, 2009

My 6 year old daughter and I were spending a few days in the Philadelphia area and decided to stay closer to the city for our last night. I was so happy to search on the web and find Alpenhof and by-pass the chain accommodations. I was immediately given Otto's room with its 2 twin beds-perfect for my daughter and I!! My daughter had never been to a B&B before but found the idea itself exciting. As their young guest, she was greeted with the same respect I was. When she asked how Judy would like to be addressed, Judy did not hesitate in asking the same of my daughter. The room was clean and the sheets crisp and fresh. There were bottled water and glasses at the ready. The shared bath was sparkling. I appreciated the toiletries in the shower - shampoo, conditioner, and bath gel. The towels smelled fresh off the line and were thick and lush. The entire house was clean and neat-even the office type area off the dining room. The gardens were magnificent in variety and well groomed and maintained. Judy greeted us and readily answered our questions including dining recommendations. Breakfast was amazing. We had sweet, perfectly in season melons and berries. The cinnamon raisin bread was...what's the word...to die for. Soft, warm and with just the right amount of cinnamon and butter. As a non-egg-eater, I loved the vast offerings of a 'made to order' breakfast. All of this for a reasonable rate. The bang for the buck rating is off the scale. We loved the well mannered dogs that filled that dog-less void of vacation. My only negative is that the inn's sign is a little hard to see from the road. This only requires a bit more concentration to the mailboxes than I wanted to give lest I miss some of the gorgeous surroundings. We can't wait to return and are all ready looking for the next long weekend. Hopefully this time the electric toothbrush will arrive home in the suitcase and not by US Postal Service via Judy and Roland.


Wonderful place to stay

5 on September 03, 2009

I had such a wonderful time here. The building and gardens are beautiful. Some really fantastic art work and pottery inside. The inn keepers really work to make your stay special and memorable. Can't wait to come back again. Also really conveniently located to Media yet in a peaceful rural surrounding.


Fantastic B&B-Best Breakfast!

4.4 on August 21, 2009

Recently stayed at Alpenhof and had an excellent experience. The inkeepers were very pleasent and accomodating. The cottage was private and larger than I expected. The breakfast was the best. Kept me full all morning and afternoon. EAT THE MUFFINS!!


There's no place like home

5 on June 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Alpenhof on both ends of a two-week East coast jaunt. If there are more caring hosts than Roland and Judy, would someone please tell us? When we arrived in the late evening, we felt like we were the only people staying there. We found out otherwise at breakfast. Our room,the Master Suite, was super comfortable, especially the king-size bed, which was about a great night's sleep. The view in the AM when we awoke was through a large window which framed the tops of beautiful trees in the distance, with serenading birds to watch and listen to. The bathroom had wonderful, large absorbent towels with good quality liquid soap and hair care products to luxuriate in. We never needed to use the comforter or blankets, because the house is so well insulated. The breakfasts were made to order, except for Judy's lighter than air blueberry muffins, and cinnamon toast baked fresh daily, not to mention the generous bowl of fresh fruit which greeted us. Roland prepared the hot dishes as they were requested. I threw him a couple of curve balls with what I requested, and each time, he nailed it. If we needed anything, the response was within minutes with a cheerful smile and positive attitude. When we returned from a wedding in Delaware, ten days later, we were greeted like long lost relatives...actually better. Judy and Roland are all about substance, not just form. We're already trying to find an excuse to return before the weather becomes cold at the end of the year. These folks are the kind who belong in the B&B business. We've done the B&B experience in Canada, England and the United States, and our Alpenhof experience is at the top. Finally, from a monetary/value perspective, we got incredible bang for our buck, especially in our current economic state of affairs. David & Katie Soroko - Santa Monica,CA


Great Night

5 on June 15, 2009

Alpenhof is a quaint and delightful establishment that was not easy to find but worth the search! My wife and me stayed only for a night but wished we could have stayed longer. Next time we will. Rowland and Judy are gracious yet unassuming and they make you feel right at home. The room was devine and the serenade of the bull frogs in the distance was a treat. The town of Media is a hopping place and we recommend the sushi restaurant Azie. Great food and service! Breakfast was the best with a wide selection. We had the vegatarian omlette and it was fantastic. Lox and bagels was also a surprising treat. After breakfast we walked the gardens which we found to be delightful. Everything was top of the line from the wonderful thousand count cotton sheets to the heavy towels to the variety of teas, this B & B is a treasure not to be missed. We can't wait to go back!


Enchanting

4.6 on June 13, 2009

Comfortable stay with comfortable family atmosphere -- friendly, open, and private. I hope to return soon, to explore the gardens and have another delicious breakfast.


Great Food and Good Value

4.4 on June 06, 2009

We stayed at Alpenhof a few times during the 4 years our daughter attended Swarthmore College. From our first visit Freshman year to our last visit graduation weekend, we fell in love with the place. Roland and Judy are very friendly and service oriented. The breakfasts are delicious as well. This is an overall wonderful experience. I highly recommend this as a great alternative to the big hotels.


Serenity and respite

5 on May 04, 2009

My 17 year old and I were greeted with a smile by Roland after a 12 hour day of driving, and made to feel at home. The bed and breakfast is a 300 year old stone barn in a country setting, which Roland has beautifully renovated, with wooden ceiling beams, winding stairs, nooks and crannies. The interior design is lovely. Art from around the world abounds. Our bedroom was hand painted and stenciled in blue. Beds are most comfy. My son was fascinated by the high tech offerings and enjoyed playing wii . When we awoke and looked around the grounds, we were delighted by the lovely rock gardens with tulips and daffodils in bloom. We were served a sumptuous breakfast out on a balcony overlooking a pool, surrounded by trees and flowers. We dined on fresh fruits, homemade cinnamon toast, delicious Eggs Benedict, juice and coffee. We had chosen this from a long list of possibilities which Roland offered. He and Judy are meticulous fine cooks. The ambiance at Alpenhof is great - a soothing quiet spot, yet close to colleges we were visiting. Roland shared wonderful stories about the house, and his family's long history there. He gave us all kinds of help finding an authentic Thai restaurant, and a nearby park, where my son could go running. When I called from a distant spot to let him know I had left a backpack behind, Roland graciously offered to box and overnight mail it to a later destination on our college tour. I was so grateful! Judy and Roland take great pride in creating a unique and outstanding bed and breakfast. It is truly one of the finest I have ever visited!


One of the Best!

4.6 on April 20, 2009

The hosts are terrific. The property is comfortable inside and outside. The breakfast will keep you full all day. A great stay from beginning to end. Hope to make it back again.


wonderful experience

5 on April 13, 2009

friendly hosts!


The perfect place...

5 on April 11, 2009

We stayed with our extended family for a nearby wedding. Beautiful property, gardens and area. Proprietors are warm and welcoming. Breakfast off the charts good. The decor will have you wandering the house in amazement - - many treasures. We loved this place and plan to go back.!


Perfect!

5 on April 07, 2009

The innkeeper was wonderful! He helped us with directions and made sure we were comfortable. He has done a beautiful job with the design of this home-turned B&B. The breakfast was great: fresh fruit and omelet made to order. My daughter and I were visiting the local college and Alpenhof provide needed rest.


Far from the Maddening Crowd

4.2 on March 27, 2009

An outstanding value outside of Philly. About 25 minutes from downtown Philly and close to Valley Forge. I, for one, prefer to be out in the country a bit, as opposed to urban B&Bs. Quiet and comfortable. Roland is friendly and capable (how many audio engineers are also fine cooks? Not too many is my guess). Great value for the price -- recommended.


Monica's Room

4.4 on March 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the Alpenhof and LOVED IT! Close to nearby attractions without being right in the city. In the morning, just after we had nibbled at the breakfast assortment, Judy came to ask what we wanted for our made to order breakfast! She was very kind and attentive to our needs. Decor is lovely. Large fireplace downstairs was great to sit by! We will be staying again soon!


Wonderful winter escape

5 on February 13, 2009

I've stayed at Alpenhof the past 3 weekends while working away from home. What a treat! The gardens are lovely, even in winter, with varied forms and textures that will help enliven my designs at home. Curling up in front of a roaring fire was relaxing and comforting. . .There is intriguing artwork from around the world. . .and then, as others have mentioned, incredible breakfasts made to order with Judy's luscious baked goods and Roland's eggs or pancakes. I wish I could have stayed longer. Roland and Judy truly extend themselves to make sure that all of their guest's needs are met. I can't wait to return...


Superlative.

4.8 on February 09, 2009

Alpenhof offers the highest-quality B&B service I have yet enjoyed at the lowest price. It also couples the most beautiful surroundings -- lovingly tended gardens outside, warmly-lit hand-stenciled rooms inside, and museum-quality artwork gracing the walls -- with the tastiest breakfasts I have yet enjoyed served each morning around a polished wooden table at which guests share informed and amusing conversation, anecdotes, and travel stories. At every occasion, Innkeepers Roland and Judy have bent over backwards to accommodate my family's requests. Indeed, they have, over the years in which we have come to rest at Alpenhof, become good family friends. I cannot recommend Alpenhof highly enough.


Weekend Respite

5 on February 09, 2009

Our family just spent a weekend at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, in Media, PA, being pampered by hosts Roland and Judy. The accomodations were lovely, from the beautifully hand-decorated rooms to the objets d'art everywhere you turn. Alpenhof's sumptuous breakfasts are memorable. Home-baked cinnamon toast and Roland's home-made blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup or eggs Benedict anyone? Or what about French toast made with Judy's cinnamon bread, all with an appetizer of mixed fresh fruits? Scrumptious!!!


Great place and people, but very VERY thin walls

4.6 on January 18, 2009

a one night stay. beautiful place and fantastic staff. the walls were VERY thin and one of the staff was watching tv until 1 am, in another room. it was so loud that we couldn't sleep. i would go back, but would get a room far away from the office.


A lovely get-away with great food and friendly people

3.6 on December 04, 2008

We had high expectations for the Alpenhof, and they were all met or exceeded. We stayed in the master suite, and it was lovely, with a comfortable bed and a cute bathroom. Judy and Roland were very welcoming, and the breakfast (both mornings) was fantastic - Roland will make just about anything you want. We also enjoyed talking with the other couples over breakfast and exploring the town of Media. A great place to stay outside of Philadelphia! Definitely recommended.


Wonderful Stay!

4.4 on November 18, 2008

The Alpenhof is a lovely, small, intimate B & B just a short drive from Philadelphia and many nearby attractions. It is beautiful, comfortable, and family-like, and the hosts are gracious and pleasant. Highly recommended.


First stay at Alpenhof

4.8 on November 02, 2008

Excellent Bed and Breakfast. Owners were very friendly and graciously welcomed us into their home. Judy's breakfast was wonderful. Wonderful place to celebrate a birthday celebration. Looking forward to returning in the spring to view the blossoms.


Great stay

4.8 on October 24, 2008

The innkeeper was most considerate to meet our needs. his culinary arts were outstanding!


Absolutely fabulous!

4.6 on October 11, 2008

This was our first stay at Aplenhof B&B and it was absolutely fantastic! The home offers so much in the way of history, space, comfiness, accomodations and special little things that make the stay homey. The food was out of this world. We would definitely stay again!


Alpenhof B&B

4.8 on October 10, 2008

We had a wonderful stay. The house is fascinating with lots of interesting detail & homeyness. Roland is a great host, who loves to share the house's history. Judy's breakfast is to die for.


Great ambiance; Fabulous breakfast

5 on October 10, 2008

Charming B&B - Converted barn with rich history. Rooms beautifully appointed - yummy breakfast - great getaway.


Delightful Stays

5 on October 10, 2008

My family and I have been frequent guests at Alpenhof B&B. The historic building is very comfortably appointed, and Alpenhof features lovingly-tended gardens as well as an extensive collection of international "objects d'arts". Hosts Roland and Judy leave no stone unturned in providing for the comfort of their guests, and their sumptuous, cooked-to-order breakfasts, including home-made cinnamon bread and muffins served warm from the oven, are truly memorable. All this, and a very guest-friendly price-point, too. Highly recommended!!!


Old World charm aplenty

5 on September 19, 2008

We stayed at the Alpenhoff a total of six nights in two different rooms, since a weekend in NY broke up our stay. We were delighted with Roland's unique, spacious inn, the lovely breakfasts of homemade bread/muffins along with fresh fruit eggs/bacon, and the charmed setting. We especially enjoyed the nearness to Ridley Creek Park and the lovely hiking opportunities. We had a wonderful time. Thank you for your warm hospitality, Roland! We hope to return.


Excellent value in a beautiful setting

4.0 on August 27, 2008

Roland and Judy made our stay wonderful! It was like staying with friends. The food was great and so was the atmosphere.


A most enjoyable stay at the Alpenhof

5 on July 27, 2008

My wife and I have enjoyed our two night stay at the Alpenhof. The room and bed were very comfortable and the breakfasts were top notch. Judy and Roland are very gracious hosts. July 2008


A perfect b&b stay

5 on July 20, 2008

My biggest concern about a b&b is privacy and atmosphere. Alpenhof delivers both. It is a gorgeous house in a gorgeous setting with every comfort provided. Our hosts Judy and Roland make you feel like they are at your service with warmth, ease and professionalism. We enjoyed our stay here in Roland’s room with the sense of luxury and total privacy. The room was small but handsomely outfitted and the bed was five star quality. Another exceptional pleasure was our breakfast experience here. We ate warm homemade blueberry muffins, freshly baked cinnamon bread, perfectly ripe cut fruit, home fries and the best eggs benedict I’ve ever tasted, all served with such perfect hospitality that we were hardly able to believe how much we had eaten afterward. It was a truly perfect stay and amazing experience. I would recommend Alpenhof as an outstanding b&b!


Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 10, 2008

Driving up the drive of Alpenhof, Rich and I were greeted with a huge grin and a wave from innkeeper Roland Muller who welcomed us and brought us on an energetic tour of the centuries-old home in which he grew up. One can't help but be impressed by the colossal doors as you enter the property, with enormous iron handles. The handpainted details on several walls, the white stucco and heavily-beamed ceilings lend an air of Moroccan flair or Spanish architecture. The dining room boasts an exquisite handmade split beam table connected with Japanese joinery and opens to a balcony overlooking the grounds offering sun and warmth to your breakfast. The master suite offers a balcony as well. The rooms range from cozy to luxurious in stature. The beds are heavenly and bathrooms modest but comfortable. If you are anything like me, you long for the food at B&B's as it is unlike anything at any bakery or royal hotel. There is nothing like a caring inntaker who takes pride in making her small gathering of guests happy. Well, Judy is just such a goddess. Every bite of her blueberry muffins, cinnamon raison bread, oatmeal and Belgian waffles which are topped with fresh fruit and bacon on the side, made me giddy and couldn't be happier. Just five minutes in the other direction is the SEPTA train stop that leads into downtown Philadelphia. Alpenhof is off the beaten track and only a 20-minute train ride away from downtown Philly. While it has become a bit of a traffic area during the rush hour, the rest of the time it was nice and quiet. Most notable is that an offbeat couple like my companion and I, rock n rollers that we are, tattooed, blue hair dye, but appreciative of the finer things, could be just as at home at Alpenhof as the 70-year old couple in the next room. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves and it was the perfect getaway from the Jersey Shore for us and away from the rat race, a chance to be quiet, to be pampered...and when we wanted, to be left alone.


A Great Experience

5 on June 25, 2008

We have stayed at the very hospitable Alpenhof several times. Each stay has been a pleasure. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast is first rate with numerous choices prepared with great care. Roland Muller has turned this must see historic home into a top of the line bed and breakfast. Try it, you will love it!


A Safe and Beautiful Haven in Delaware County

5 on June 24, 2008

My husband and I discovered Alpenhof through the Swarthmore College Website in September 2006. We have had the pleasure of staying with Roland and Judy five times since then, with a sixth visit planned for July 2008. Alpenhof is a welcome oasis in this area that is underserved by hotels and bed and breakfasts. It has been a true home away from home for us. This a beautiful, historic building in a lovely, peaceful location that is surprisingly convenient to major freeways and attractions. Judy and Roland are extremely accommodating hosts, providing fabulous breakfasts, tea and sympathy and even the occasional challenge of Wii! The grounds of Alpenhof are exceptional and a balm to busy minds. The gardens are truly a horticultural delight and Roland is an exceptionally well informed and generous guide to the plants and design. Judy's homemade breakfast breads are irresistable --a sweet surrender to comfort food at its best. This is a superb B & B that welcomes us back time and again. Jo and Steve Pomeroy


Incredible setting, great B&B!

4.8 on June 23, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at Alpenhof and had a lovely time, and great food! It is just down the road from Ridley Creek Park, which is perfect for walking/ hiking/ biking. (Next time I am bringing my bike!) Do yourself a favor and walk around the property, if your lucky you can get a guided tour, and see all the incredible plants they have.....We will definately return when we are in the area.


Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $235
  • Reviews (88) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6108918222
  • Fax 1-6105668877

Visit Website »

View details

Top