Kanaga House Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.3
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness3.9
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Bed and Breakfast, absolutely love it.

5 on October 13, 2011

My wife and myself stayed there 12 years ago on our wedding night and on our 1 year anniversary. Just stayed this past weekend and still love the bed and breakfast. The owner is great and makes the best breakfast / French toast. I would highly recommend!


Enjoyed our stay

4.8 on August 03, 2011

Kanaga House is a nicely kept up home with beautiful large rooms. We were only there for one night, but would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was delicious and very filling, and included a fresh fruit salad, english muffins, egg bake, juice and coffee.


Weekend at Kanaga House

4.4 on June 22, 2011

We stayed at the Kanaga House this past weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Dave and his mom were very hospitable and the home is beautiful. The breakfast each morning was amazing!


Pleasant B&B

2.8 on May 18, 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Kanaga B&B. The room was spacious and pleasant. Breakfast was not inspired.


Excellent option for access to Mechanicsburg

3.6 on April 17, 2011

We found Kanaga House as an alternative to hotels when attending a conference in Mechanicsburg. It met our expectations. Dave, our host, was very friendly and produced a wonderful breakfast to set us on our way. We would highly recommend Kanaga House.


Kanaga House

3.8 on February 02, 2011

Fabulous for our local get-away! Lovely building; any event held here would benefit from the atmosphere of the house and grounds. Dave is a pleasant and knowledgeable host, and a fine chef as well! Would recommend Kanaga House to anyone looking for a lovely retreat or a change of pace from your typical hotel stay! Li


Kanaga House

5 on January 26, 2011

The Kanaga House is an absolutely gorgeous property. Upon our arrival we were greeted by David, it's wonderful host. He was very pleasing. An absolute pleasure to be in the company of. Very willing to cater to any and all needs. Easy to talk with, informative of the area and the house, down to earth, non-reserved, knowledgeable, and very accommodating in many many aspects. One could easily see that David loves and enjoys what he does. David is surely an asset to the lodging industry. The Kanaga House is a well planned masterpiece. One would find true contentment in its well kept antique furnishings, thick carpets, true to time period decorations, and spacious and immaculate tailoring. The Kanaga House has a truly handsome atmosphere. There are several private, beautifully decorated, welcoming, luxurious and very well appointed sleeping suites. All suites are joined by a common room which easily meets the needs of all travelers. It offers a small bar area housing a sink and refrigerator, a writing desk, TV viewing area, shelves full of books, and comfortable chairs great for reading and resting. Great gathering place for families or a quiet place for a couple or single person. As it was cold and forecasting snow we reserved the suite with the wood burning fireplace. The suite was fantastic and far more than we had ever expected. The bedding and furnishings were luxurious, well thought of and perfect. With the private bath and separate dressing room complete with writing desk and antique dresser, this room had all the offerings of home. Each morning we found David to be very accommodating to our needs and wishes at breakfast time. We had the fortune of being the only guests that particular week which allowed us the opportunity to enjoy and experience the entire house. This was truly a joy. One can not fully appreciate the house and its many amenities and extras unless one takes the time to do so.


Outstanding Wedding Facility

4.0 on January 05, 2011

My daughter's wedding on the gazebo and then the reception on the patio directly outside the front door of Kanaga House, on a large patio covered with a 30' x 70' tent, was everything my daughter and I imagined. In addition to the tent with tables and chairs for 140 guests we had the use of the first floor of the house. Friends are still raving about the beauty of it all, the outsanding service, excellent food, and the patio lending itself to a good dance floor. It started to rain later in the reception and windowed sides were quickly put on the tent. The guest rooms were rented by family and friends and a good country breakfast the next morning was the icing on the cake.


Delightfully spacious building and wonderful staff

4.0 on November 17, 2010

The Kanaga House was perfectly situated for our needs between Hershey and Shippensburg minutes from the I-81 corridor. We arranged just a week in advance to stay from Friday through Sunday (2 nights). When we arrived, we met with Mary Jane who was very friendly and had everything ready. We spoke with her about the history of the house and found it very interesting and she made sure to tell us to explore the facility. We found it warm and inviting and enjoyed our stay. The first breakfast for us was prepared by Laura (Dave’s daughter) and was wonderful. We started with coffee, orange juice, and mixed fresh fruit. Then the main course was stuffed French toast, eggs, link sausage, bacon, and toast. Snacks, soda’s, bottled water were in good supply and were available from the mail main kitchen as well as in a smaller refrigerator located in cubby on the second floor which was a nice treat. Water pressure was adequate and the water stayed hot. Wifi service is good in most of the facility, but was spotty in our room where I was able to find a spot to use my laptop when needed. Second morning breakfast was similar, but with a frittata and made by Dave himself. Both Dave and Mary Jane have a wealth of knowledge about the house and the area. We would stay here again.


Kanaga House

3.0 on October 21, 2010

The rooms were well maintained, clean and comfortable, the bathrooms up to date, the innkeeper chatty and interesting, the food was good and our food issues were accommodated. We will stay there again and have already recommended it. The only thing we had an issue with is that the sign was small and not well lighted at night.


A Lovely Hidden Gem

3.8 on October 10, 2010

This 250-year-old B&B is just off I-81 Exit 52. The house sits well back from the road to be quiet. Bedding in our room was new, and sheets luxuriously soft and silky . . . like climbing into a cloud. Water pressure and shower head were good . . . unlike one review I had read before arriving. Dave was gracious and very informative. WiFi reception was good. DH was surprised with the just-right breakfast . . . dish of fresh fruit, an individual egg and sausage casserole, extra sausages, and TRUVIA! We use Truvia, a true-sugar alternative to sugar substitutes; no other hotel or restaurant we have gone to offers this. Dave has thought of everything. The upstairs rooms are set up with a central sitting room that would be ideal for several guests staying for a reunion or wedding. A mini-kitchen . . . microwave & mini-fridge plus coffee/tea bags and cracker/cookie snacks . . . is also upstairs. Bottled water was available in the downstairs main kitchen. It was relaxing and a very comfortable overnight stay.


visit to Kanga house

3.0 on October 07, 2010

We had to enter/exit the home through a big white tent that was a little smelly. It smelled mildew and was dirty. The bathroom in our room has peeling wallpaper and the tub was old and grungy looking. There should have been bigger bottles of shampoo/conditnor avialable. There were only one tiny bottle of shampoo/conditnor for the 4 of us who were in the room. Thankfully I had my own back up supply. Breakfast was OK, but we discussed a menu for the morning and didnt get what was discussed. The food provided was good though


Two night stay at Kanaga House

4.8 on September 29, 2010

The room was outstanding and dripping in colonial charm, perfect for us. Kanaga House is convenient to Harrisburg, Carlisle and Boiling Springs and related points of interest. Finally, the breakfasts were also outstanding. Our stay was outstanding.


Historical trip

5 on August 15, 2010

Dave was very informative about the area and history. Food and accomodations were excellent.


Beautiful place near a neat town

4.8 on September 16, 2007

Kanaga house is kind of out of the way, but it is worth finding. Dave was fantastic - fun to talk to and a great cook. The decorations are not as Victorian as other B&Bs, which I liked. The property is really pretty, even though it is close to a highway (don't worry, we couldn't hear any traffic from our room). We had a fun time in the nearby town of Carlisle, which I never would have known were there if Dave hadn't mentioned it.


Kanaga House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $165
  • Reviews (15) 4.1
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7177668654
  • Fax 1-7176973908
  • Toll free 1-8779526242
Top