Bethaven Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Bethaven is the Best!

4.8 on June 12, 2014

Take a beautiful home with amazing character and charm, place it on a quiet brick street, surround it with colorful Rhododendrons, add two very welcoming and gracious hosts, set a table with Gary's unique, delicious breakfast creations, and you have Bethaven Inn. We had a great experience at Bethaven and would highly recommend it to any traveler whose grown tired of the same old Holiday Inn. Brett G.


Great family escape for thanksgiving holiday

5 on December 01, 2013

Our family absolutely loved staying at bethaven inn, the food, service, rooming, and location couldn't be more ideal for the family of a student at alleghney college. We will surely be coming back, and the owner is also very nice


A Beautiful Space -- A Must Stay

5 on May 31, 2013

Kathy and Gary were very accommodating and the room was perfect for the stay. The breakfast was perfect and was a great way to start the morning. The house and common areas are inviting, relaxing and very well-stocked. I will be staying here again soon.


a wonderful place

5 on January 26, 2013

Staying here was a wonderful experience -- the house is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, the innkeepers are friendly and the breakfast is delicious.


Perfect Little Get Away

4.4 on January 02, 2013

We received a gift certificate from a friend to stay at the Beth Haven. My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before, so we were a little apprehensive, and when we first arrived we did feel a little nervous and awkward. However, as time went on, we ended up relaxing and we enjoyed our short stay (in the Helen room) at Beth Haven. The bed was very comfortable (loved the heated mattress pad!), the home was beautifully decorated, and breakfast was delightful. Gary even whipped us up seconds! I enjoyed chatting with Kathy about local history and her family history as well. I can not stress the beauty of this home enough. Truly, it is breathtakingly decorated and I love how Kathy and Gary put so many personal touches in the rooms of their personal histories.


Wonderful!

5 on November 18, 2012

Within walking distance of Allegheny College, the Bethaven Inn was outstanding in every way. The room was so comfortable and Kathy and Gary truly thought of our every need! We definitely will be going back.


A Definite Must See!!!

5 on September 26, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's over the past few years, and The Bethaven Inn, in our opinion is on the top of our list!! We informed Gary that we would be arriving late in the evening, and Kathy was waiting for us with a smile on her face :) The room was so warm and welcoming and the bed was great!! Gary cooked a DELICIOUS breakfast and grabbed a cup of coffee and we enjoyed a very pleasant visit with him. We will definitely make a return visit and highly recommend The Bethaven Inn to anyone looking for a wonderful B&B in the Meadville, PA area!!


Best Place to Stay out of home!

5 on August 21, 2012

Besides the rooms and all the site and the condition of this place, is the kindness pf the owners what makes this place so special! Excelent!!! Thank you Gary & Kathy!


First time not the last.

5 on August 17, 2012

It was an amazing place to stay. Nice, clean and great service. Mr. & Mrs. Yaeger were very friendly from beginning to end. I will recommend this place with no hesitation. We are making plans to come back.


Accomodations for a family

5 on August 16, 2012

During the first weekend of August 2012 my Granddaughter, her husband and three small children stayed at this B & B and had many compliments for the accomodations, the food and the friendly atmosphere. They related that they thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would return again if the occasion arose.


Your Home Away From Home

5 on August 10, 2012

Our family frequently comes to Allegheny College to visit our daughter. Never has our visit been a disappointment. Gary and Kathy go above and beyond to insure our stay is a pleasant and memorable stay. The breakfasts are delicious and the service is outstanding. We highly recommend this beautiful, comfortable and welcoming bed and breakfast with outstanding hospitality. Gary and Kathy have accommodated our requests and exceeded in service. Truly our home away from home in PA.


Eye of the Storm

4.6 on June 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Gary and Kathy during three of the most hectic days of our lives during our wedding weekend in June. We looked forward to returning to their home to rest during our down time. Breakfasts are a mixed bag at B&Bs. We were mostly pleasantly surprised by the kitchen creations. Ask about the apple pancake, croissant french toast, warm bananas and the pineapple if you happen to stay here. The house itself is stately and elegant, but not stuffy. We felt right at home from the moment we walked in. There are several great spaces for relaxing and socializing, both indoors and outdoors. Gary and Kathy are warm and attentive hosts. They made us feel welcome and took care of any needs quickly. We enjoyed talking with them as well. They are both friendly and good conversationalists. Thanks for providing a calm space for us during the weekend.


Lovely Home; Lovely Hosts!

4.4 on May 29, 2012

Stayed here May 2012. The Bethaven Inn is located in a quiet neighbourhood where the streets are made of bricks and the surrounding homes have similar residential aspects. The inn is within walking distance to Allegheny College but the walk to town or to any sort of commercial establishment might be a bit too far for some. The inn boasts stunning mature gardens, full of rhododendrons, and were in full bloom while we were there. The sight of this was breathtaking. Kathy & Gary are gracious hosts and occupy the lowest level of the home. The main level has a spacious dining room, a sun room with a commanding view of the beautiful gardens and a large inviting living room where guests are encouraged to loiter. Complimentary glasses of wine were served each night by the fireplace. The second floor has 4 bedrooms, each with a king or queen bed and they share one 3-piece bathroom on that level. The third floor has one room with 2 twin beds and one room with a double bed and they each share a very small bathroom with a bath/shower that has a sloped ceiling that may not be well-suited for taller people. Each of these rooms have air conditioning, a small TV and a small sitting area. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and served in the sunroom. The first morning breakfast was a bananas & granola appetizer followed by french toast croissants and turkey sausage. The second morning the breakfast was grilled pineapple, turkey sausage and stuffed french toast. Gary & Kathy are keen to socialize, offer help on local activities and directions and offer a huge selection of brochures on the area.


Clean, quiet and friendly

4.6 on April 14, 2012

I had to visit the local college on business and Gary and Kathy who run the Bethaven Inn made me feel very welcome. Excellent atmosphere and quiet setting!


A wonderfule respite for college parents

5 on April 02, 2012

We are in Meadville for a college visit. The Yeagers are a wonderful, welcoming couple--excellent hosts. They are very approachable, but never intrusive. The food is quite good and the rooms are beautiful. What a treat to come "home" after hiking around campus all day!


Friendly Hospitality

5 on December 19, 2011

My husband and I were in town for an interview. The Yaegers were so friendly and welcoming. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner the first evening. For breakfast the next morning, they had prepared a lovely breakfast of broiled pineapple and french toast. Kathy spent time talking with us and telling us about the town. The room was comfortable and inviting. We appreciated the access to the wireless Internet as well as the cute touches of holiday soaps in the bathroom. We had a wonderful time at the Bethaven Inn and would recommend it to any visitors to town.


An adult-sized dollhouse

5 on October 20, 2011

Each room was thoughtfully and tastefully put together and bound with homespun congeniality of the hosts. I need tips on how to make my own home feel this homey!


Bethaven Stay

4.8 on October 02, 2011

Was such a wonderful time! Clean, beautiful, & romantic. A nice weekend getaway from stressful work, etc.


Meadville, Pa's BEST

4.2 on September 04, 2011

Delightfull innkeepers. Lovely accomodations. Beautiful setting.


Married at this beautiful place

5 on August 30, 2011

During the summer of 2005 My Wife Brenda and I were married at this wonderful place....The rooms were beautiful...food was perfect..they helped us with people for a tent..cake..everything...we traveled from York PA with 40 family members and to this day everyone talks about Bethaven Inn...We are heading back up this labor day with friends with our Harleys like we did last year at Memorial Day...Love you guys...Bill Vervaeke


Very enjoyable stay

4.6 on August 24, 2011

We stayed three nights at Bethaven and enjoyed a wonderful stay. The accommodations were very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. When we return to the area we will be happy to stay there again.


A Comfortable and Lovely B&B

4.4 on August 22, 2011

The Innkeepers, Gary and Kathy Yaeger, are lovely and hospitable people. Kathy has added many warm and creative touches to the house, making it very homey. It's very clean, the bedrooms well-appointed and very comfortable. I usually don't eat there but the breakfasts I've had have been very enjoyable. I've stayed there three or four times over the past two years and feel as though I've found a home away from home while my son is in college in Meadville.


Fourth visit

4.8 on July 11, 2011

Staying with Gary and Kathy is getting to be an annual affair and we wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere. Sometimes I think Gary doesn't ever sleep! Next time up I'm going to play the piano....and maybe I should try a Christmas visit just for caroling. Love the flowers....love the food.....love the innkeepers.


Wonderful Experience

5 on May 31, 2011

Our experience was perfect! The food was wonderful, and the hospitality was beyond our expectations. We will definitely stay again as it really felt like home. Thank you- Your guests from North Carolina.


Better than home!!!!

4.4 on April 04, 2011

The innkeepers really take fantastic care of you! There when you need them, but never in the way. I often thought staying in someone's home would make me feel in the way....definitely not the case here. Beautiful home and the hospitality is unparalleled!


Quiet, Comfort, and amazing food

4.0 on February 21, 2011

Visit was February 18 through 20, 2011 We spent a long weekend at the Bethaven Inn while visiting my son (who already had a house full of guests). Gary greeted us with his ever-present smile, and gave a quick tour of the inn, ending with the room we would be occupying. My husband and I stayed in the Belden Room, sharing a connecting bath with our daughters in the Spence Room. Both rooms were beautifully and charmingly decorated, with minute attention to detail. As the visit took place in the middle of February, the temperature was quite chilly. No worries, though, as there were fleece sheets on the beds, which were also equipped with electric heated mattress pads. There were abundant towels in the room, water glasses on the bedside tables, and scented bodywash and green tea facial cloths in the bath. Breakfast was served in the solarium, which was surprisingly cozy, considering the strong, cold wind blowing against the floor to ceiling windows. And what a breakfast! Broiled grapefruit one day, fresh, broiled pineapple another; croissant french toast or apple pancakes; turkey sausage or maple bacon. All were carefully prepared and delicious, and accompanied by an endless pot of coffee. A wide variety of tea blends was also readily available. Though we spent most of our time away from the inn, a wide selection of books, CDs and DVDs were available, and the local newspaper was on hand in the solarium. Gary and Kathy were both extremely friendly, out-going, and so very concerned that our stay be perfect. While they regretfully turned down my request that they adopt me, I will certainly be returning for more of the Bethaven Inn welcome.


Great place!

5 on January 15, 2011

This place is awesome! The owners are exceptionally friendly, the food is delicious, the bedroom I stayed in was extremely comfortable (the beds have electric blankets, something i'd never heard of) and the atmosphere is great! There's a pineapple theme in a lot of the houses furnishings that makes the inside feel extra warm and comfy when it's dead cold outside. The owners were even kind enough to offer me a ride in from town when I wasn't able to get a Taxi. If I ever need a place to stay in Meadville again the Bethaven Inn will definitely be my 1st choice. I'd recommend it to anyone!


What a gem!!

4.8 on November 28, 2010

We had never stayed in a B&B before and are very happy this was the first. Aside from sharing a bathroom with three other rooms (and it all worked out somehow!) the stay was superb. The bed was so comfortable, the electric blanket and microfiber sheets were just the icing on the cake. The house is spotless and filled with family memorabilia. Our hosts could not have been better - nice, personable and made the stay very homey. The house is just beautiful. We plan to return to the area this summer and will stay nowhere but here!!!!


Best Inn in Meadville area!

4.6 on November 15, 2010

Gary and Kathy are incredibly warm and hospitable innkeepers. I love staying with them when I am in the Meadville area, and would prefer to stay nowhere else! If you are visiting Allegheny College, the Inn is located within walking distance of the campus on a pretty and quiet street. I would highly recommend this very inviting, beautiful, peaceful and, above all, friendly bed and breakfast.


Sweet B-n-B

4.4 on September 28, 2010

My experience at Bethaven Inn was excellent. It exceeded my expectations. Kathy and Gary were so accommodating and friendly. The upper level rooms with the sitting room in between were perfect for our group. Breakfast was delicious everyday! This bead and breakfast made my special weekend even better!


Bethaven Inn was Wonderful!!

4.8 on August 18, 2010

I was in town for business and the folks working with us booked rooms for us here. As soon as I entered I immediately felt like I was on vacation. The house is beautiful and the rooms are comforting - it was so much better than staying in a hotel. Since we didn't pay for our room and I don't know the cost I'm assuming it is within the range of a hotel at the most, which in that case is an outstanding value. Coffee and tea were ready bright and early. Kathy and Gary were welcoming and made it the nicest work trip I've ever taken. I would highly recommend staying at Bethaven Inn for work or as a great vacation stop!! Katy


Working Vacation

4.8 on July 28, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Bethaven Inn for 2 weeks. Now I have 2 new friends in Kathy and Gary! They couldn't have made my stay more pleasant and personal. And that Kathy is becoming quite the barista. ;). All kinds of thumbs up for this B&B.


Loved our stay!

4.6 on September 08, 2009

The Bethaven Inn is a wonderful B&B hidden away in a quiet neighborhood just 2 blocks from Allegheny College. Gary and Kathy are wonderful hosts that treat us like old friends. The breakfast is fabulous- I guarantee you will like it! We plan on staying with Kathy and Gary every time we visit our daughter at Allegheny - GO GATORS!


Enjoyed our stay

4.6 on August 22, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Gary and Kathy's B&B. Their hospitality made us feel at home.


Bethaven

5 on March 11, 2009

We came to Meadville on business originally, but by the end of our stay, we were calling it a vacation. Bethaven is a truly exceptional B&B!


cute B&B

4.6 on March 05, 2009

I stayed here on my interview for Allegheny College, and the experience got me hooked on B&Bs! The attention to detail was amazing: they even had a heated mattress pad, which was great for the cold night after my interview.


enchanting

4.0 on March 01, 2009

we loved the stay at Bethaven Inn. Beautiful decor, friendly owners, comfortable and cozy. The food was delicious; I stayed for several days and ate mostly hearty breakfasts, e.g., french toast, or crepes. We could have done with a simple egg and toast for a day or two. nonetheless the stay was wonderful and I highly recommend this B&B.


Excellent

4.6 on November 01, 2008

Gary and Kathy run a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. I had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed the breakfasts every morning. I felt like we had been cooked a meal worthy of Martha Stewart. Gary and Kathy were very pleasant and great to talk to. My room was clean and cozy. Definitely recommended!


Bethaven

5 on October 29, 2008

great stay


we would go back again

3.6 on October 29, 2008

The home is beautiful, clean, and in a lovely part of town. It is an ideal place to stay while visiting Allegheny college students. I felt as if I barely saw the owners - they both work- but the meals were delicious!


A pleasant and relaxing visit at Bethaven Inn B & B Home

4.2 on June 08, 2008

Kathy and Gary Yaeger the hosts of Bethaven Inn Bed and Breakfast made us feel at home from the moment we booked our stay right through until we left their lovely home. Any questions we had or assistance we needed were met above and beyond our expectations. I am recommending the B & B to anyone who would enjoy a relaxing stay in their home. Meadville is a college town with friendly people, outdoor amenities, and interesting places to eat. Come and enjoy yourself! The cost of staying here is the same as staying at a Days Inn. There is no comparison. Bethaven Inn will always be my choice rather than a motel or hotel in this area near Meadville, PA.


Bethaven Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $100
  • Reviews (41) 4.7
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8143364223

Visit Website »

View details

Top