Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
200 Reviews

Write A Review

A Great Night's Rest in Amish Country

4.8 on September 17, 2014

This house is beautiful, quiet, comfortable and is right in the middle of Amish farmland. The hosts are friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Lancaster. It's in a good location, within 15 minutes of just about every place we visit out here.


Great night sleep in PA!

5 on September 05, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Walnut Lawn. Tom & Sarah were more than welcoming and we felt like part of the family! We will be back soon, this is a great B&B!


Confortable stay

3.2 on August 30, 2014

Our stay was very confortable. Breakfast was excellent!


Coming home when you are travelling

5 on August 27, 2014

After 2 weeks travelling in the USA, sleeping in good H hotels, the time in the Walnut Lawn B&B was Mike being at home with your family. Nice rooms and a very delicious home made breakfast is more than expected. But the two Innkeepers were like your own parents, doing for you, all that you need. Great stay for the whole family.


wonderful B & B

5 on August 27, 2014

Sarah and Tom make you feel so comfortable....they serve wonderful breakfasts....are wonderful host/hostess and spend time at the breakfast table getting to know their guests...I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.


Breakfast and Bed

4.6 on August 26, 2014

I really liked the location. the house itself and surrounding areas are beautifully maintained - much nicer than staying in Lancaster itself. I thought I had booked small room but it was more than adequate and the furnishings were appropriate to the feel of the property which is nice. Even though we were early we were able to drop bags and were given a friendly welcome and some helpful advice about where to go. Where this place really scores is the friendliness of the hosts, the atmosphere they create and above all the breakfast. This is eaten "family style", is totally delicious and will make it virtually impossible to be able to eat lunch.


Lovely Atmosphere, Friendly Conversation, Great Food

4.6 on August 23, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Garden Room in celebration of our 19th wedding anniversary. It was a little noisy with the traffic, but running the air conditioner helped. We are not fond of soft mattresses and this one was very soft. Breakfast was amazing both days. We at family style with 3 other couples. The table settings were lovely. Tom & Sarah were just wonderful. They each sat at the ends of the table listening to our stories and sharing their own. The day that we were leaving, everyone in the Inn was leaving as well. We were able to get a peek into the other rooms. They are all so different and have their own uniqueness. We would certainly choose to return here again in a heartbeat.


Wonderful in every aspect!

5 on August 16, 2014

A true experience! We learned more about the Amish at the breakfast table then we learned at the buggy ride afterwards. The breakfast was like the breakfasts you get at the Ritz Carlton but this was home made from scratch. Loved it.


fantastic stay

4.0 on August 13, 2014

We spent two night in this b&b. The rooms met absolutely our expectations.


Great Stay

4.6 on August 06, 2014

The traffic was a little noisy but fine once we closed the windows. The food was amazing and the inkeepers went above and beyond to make sure that everything was perfect.


Love Walnut Lawn B&B

4.8 on July 30, 2014

It was the first time for my husband and I to stay at a B&B. We both really enjoyed our stay. The owners were so nice! Breakfast was awesome! The room was very nice! We loved the quiet and it seemed like we were just miles from everything we wanted to do or visit. The only negitive is that the air conditioner in our room was not strong enough for us (we love it really cold).


Stay Again

5 on July 30, 2014

What a wonderful B&B. I just loved the porch swing. Although we only stayed one night we were treated wonderfully. Tom and Sarah are great! The breakfast was outstanding. Would recommend B&B to friends and family. Diana and Ed Morton


Enjoyable stay with lovely hosts!

4.0 on July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Walnut Lawn for a weekend in Lancaster. The B&B is nicely located in the country but is conveniently close (about 20 minutes) to Downtown Lancaster. The room was nice and the breakfasts were delicious; the hosts encouraged a family-style breakfast and we enjoyed pleasant conversation both mornings, staying at the dining table well after the meal was finished. We had a lovely experience!


July 2-5, 2015

5 on July 23, 2014

We had an awesome time at Walnut B&B! Thank you Tom and Sarah for your hospitality, delicious breakfasts, great conversations, and knowledge of the area!!!


awesome B&B

5 on July 16, 2014

My girlfriend and i spent the weekend there to refind each other. It was wonderful


Perfect

5 on July 14, 2014

Very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended!! Innkeepers Tom and Sarah made us feel welcome in their home. The rooms are spotless and well kept. The breakfast served every morning was just outstanding!! Just make sure you save room for dessert. Perfect location,quiet but not far from any of the locations that you may want to visit. Again thank you Tom and Sarah for a most enjoyable stay. Steve and Elaine


wonderful, relaxing getaway!

4.4 on June 20, 2014

We were unfashionably late, but Tom greeted us warmly and showed us around. Sarah prepared a delicious breakfast for us the next morning that left us full until dinnertime. We enjoyed our time visiting with Tom and Sarah. They are interesting, funny, and warm people who truly enjoy their guests. It felt more like a home than a business. The room was very clean and orderly, as well as decorated simply, but beautifully with treasures from their travels in the Peace Corps. Our room faced the road, which had quite a bit of traffic. We had to close the window to turn on the A/C and could still hear the traffic, but it didn't affect our sleep. We're not light sleepers though. The house and the grounds are impecably kept, and the wide front porch and swing are very inviting! Wish we had more time to enjoy this beautiful home! Scott and Julie


Charming B & B

5 on June 19, 2014

Tom & Sarah are always very warm & friendly. Sarah is an excellent cook. This was our 3rd. stay here. Everything is immaculate.


Good location, nice room

3.0 on June 11, 2014

The Siam room had a great bed and nice shower. The hosts were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was served at 8:30 family style, and included dessert.


Walnut Lawn our 40th Anniversary Retreat....loved it

5 on June 10, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Walnut Lawn from the very first day. What a blessing and the food was delicious. Tom and Sarah are wonderful people and great host and hostess...we will return to visit. Thanks for making us feel like family and right at home.


An outstanding B &B

5 on June 03, 2014

We stayed four nights. The room was very comfortable and the owners were very gracious. The breakfasts were excellent. This is the best bed and breakfast experience we have ever had.


Staying in the Siam room

5 on June 02, 2014

First time to a B&B and what a marvelous surprise. Tom and Sarah made us feel like family from the first greeting at the front door. Well maintained 100 year old brick home with modern amenities. Furniture chosen to compliment the house. The maintained yard with flowers and trees caught your eye as one drove down the road. Wraparound porch with a swing and rattan seating groups called out to come and relax. All rooms are as pictured on the web site but in person even more inviting. Breakfast was truly a feast for the senses. Different every day but always delicious. Served family style and the conversation was interesting and we all would linger to keep talking for at least an hour after the meal was complete. Finally, hugs all around on departure day. Can't get that at a hotel.


Lovely home wonderful hosts.

4.2 on May 15, 2014

Only comment I would make is the bed was extremely firm.


Excellent B&B!

5 on April 28, 2014

Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast is absolutely the best B&B we've ever stayed with! Tom and Sarah are also the best hosts we've met. They are so nice, amiable, humorous and considerate that we felt very comfortable and happy together with them. There are beautiful cherry blossom trees around the house. The historic house looks very wonderful and is kept as good as new. Both decoration and furniture are of high quality and exquisite taste. Spotless everywhere! Breakfast is one of the best parts of everyday! Besides the delicious food Sarah prepared with great care for us, we could always have delightful conversations with Sarah and Tom as well as with other guests during or after breakfast. You definitely can learn something from the conversations. The nice host could also provide everything we need and we're more than satisfied with our stay! The only thing we could regret is that we just stayed for three nights and had to leave. We wish we could have stayed longer! My husband said we should give this B&B full 6 stars but unfortunately there is only 5 star here! My English is not good enough so I can't express myself with exact words, but I still couldn't help writing so much. Maybe I should conclude with only a couple of sentences: Everything is perfect in here! Highly recommended! Thank Tom and Sarah for giving us such good memories!


Excellent service and accommodations

5 on April 16, 2014

Excellent food, great service, nice hosts


Great Place

4.8 on April 06, 2014

Tom and Sarah were absolutely wonderful. The breakfast was beyond what we could have imagined. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.


Cutest bed and breakfast you'll ever stay at!

4.8 on March 30, 2014

We had such an amazing stay! Truly can't wait to go back!


Lancaster in March

5 on March 30, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Walnut Lawn B&B. Very comfortable & superb breakfasts, complete with desserts!


Great stay!

5 on March 29, 2014

We were very pleased with our first B&B experience.


Wonderful stay at the Walnut Lawn B&B

5 on February 26, 2014

Our weekend stay at the Walnut Lawn B&B was absolutely wonderful. The room was immaculate and the perfect size for us. Tom and Sarah welcomed us with open arms and were the perfect hosts. The breakfast was excellent. We weren't hungry until dinner time! And you get dessert :) Tom and Sarah were very informative about the area and the local events that were going on. I will definitely be staying here again.


Great Find!

4.6 on February 24, 2014

My husband picked this location for a weekend getaway. What a great little bed and breakfast!! It's located a tad off the beaten path however, outlets and restaurants were very accessible and a quick drive. We stayed in the Four Seasons room that was absolutely charming, it was clean the bathroom was spacious and seemed newly renovated. Tom & Sarah were wonderful hosts. I recently found out I had a gluten allergy and let Tom know. I was wonderfully surprised at breakfast when Sarah presented gluten free pancakes served with eggs and bacon. Tom and Sarah do a great job at engaging you and anyone else staying there. My husband and I will be back.


Relaxation

5 on February 20, 2014

Another great stay! Tom and Sarah are so welcoming and we loved our room which was the Siam Room. Breakfast was delicious and everyone we ate with all raved about the portions and the quality! We will definitely be going back!


Outstanding!

5 on February 04, 2014

We enjoyed two nights at the Walnut Lawn B&B in January 2014 and it was fantastic! The Innkeepers are very friendly and accommodating. The room was very cute and clean. Breakfast was AMAZING!!


Great first B & B experience!

5 on February 03, 2014

What a wonderful birthday get-away! Our Four Seasons room was clean, the bed comfortable and the sheets heavenly. The breakfasts were delicious and displayed beautifully. We just loved talking with Tom & Sarah. When we got home, we missed being there for those special morning talks. We will definitely go there again!


Great place

4.6 on January 24, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Walnut Lawn with Tom and Sarah. They are warm and welcoming hosts that interact with their guests in a comfortable manner providing a most inviting atmostphere. The house is fabulous and we found the Siam room very nice as well. No doubt we will return. Thanks so much Tom and Sarah for helping us make our 29th W.Anniversary a momorable one. Kathy and Gary H.


Quaint B&B

3.8 on January 24, 2014

The Walnut Lawn was my first B&B. I visited in January 2014 with my boyfriend so we were able to take advantage of their January special - Stay two nights, pay for one! Can't beat that. The house itself was very charming and quaint. Tom and Sarah, the Innkeepers, have taken very good care of the home and are delightful to talk with. We stayed in the Four Seasons room and the only complaint we had was that the mattress was very firm and had no give. The breakfast, prepared by Sarah, was very nice and tasty. Finally, the B&B is in close proximity to all of the Amish country so traveling to and from was very easy!


Special Place

5 on December 21, 2013

We always enjoy returning to Walnut Lawn and visiting with Sarah & Tom. Their place is so much like home and that makes the difference. Look forward to our return visit in the Spring.


More than we could of imagined

5 on December 18, 2013

I was a little leery picking a B&B on line, but I must say, I couldn't of picked a better place in person. I am pleased to say that Walnut Lawn exceeded my expectations in cleanliness, coziness, and hospitality. Tom and Sandy Murphy made us feel right at home. We are already talking about our next trip there.


Wonderful experience.

5 on December 13, 2013

Will definitely be going back.


A B&B that hosts your stay, not just give you a key

5 on November 19, 2013

Very sweet couple, informed on the area, enjoyable stay.


Outstanding

5 on November 18, 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast. The word "Outstanding" really doesn't do justice to this place. The inn keepers Tom and Sarah Murphy are the best. They went out of their way to make our stay the best we have ever had. Bob & Pat Moreau


The host and the cuckoo clock

5 on November 16, 2013

All very great - hostess, host, environment, food. We appreciaate it very much that they do this for veterans


Wonderful Weekend

4.6 on November 06, 2013

A very nice Bed and Breakfast. Convenient to lots of things to see and do in Lancaster. Tom and Sarah are wonderful hosts. We really enjoyed their hospitality and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Definitely recommend this delightful Inn. Phil and Pat


Walnut Lawn

5 on November 03, 2013

Excellent breakfast. Hosts were cordial and helpful.


best value in lancaster area

5 on October 23, 2013

We searched and searched for a great b&b and we found it...with great food, service and value, the walnut lawn was a great choice.


Wonderfull fall vacation

4.6 on October 22, 2013

A very pleasant stay with wonderful breakfast and personal attention by the inn keepers.


Walnut Lawn

5 on October 22, 2013

We had a delightful stay with Tom & Sarah at Walnut Lawn. The Quilt Room was wonderful. Breakfasts were phenomenal. Tom & Sarah were gracious and knowledgeable hosts. Highly recommend. I wish I could have packed that porch swing in my bag when we left. It was the perfect java sipping start to each morning.


Wonderful B&B

5 on October 19, 2013

Loved every minute of our stay. Tom and Sarah are great hosts and the breakfast was outstanding.


very welcoming and accommodating

4.4 on October 18, 2013

Tom and Sarah made us very welcome. Breakfast was family style, with our hosts joining us to chat over coffee. Sarah was excellent at accommodating our dietary requests with delicious food, for which we were very grateful. One word of warning, the restaurants in the area get very busy at holiday times and we faced a long wait for our food to arrive on the Saturday night. This B&B is very conveniently situated for visiting the Civil War areas and the Amish and Mennonite communities which were extremely interesting. For anyone with a quilting interest, there are numerous quilting shops in the area.


Walnut review

4.4 on October 17, 2013

Great place, very positive innkeepers.


Quaint Stay

4.2 on October 17, 2013

We have been to Lancaster 3 times in the last 7 months. I enjoy a quiet atmosphere and I'm always looking for that first. Two things drew me to this property. The price was very reasonable and included breakfast and was out of the way, but centrally located. We arrived, and were greeted by name which was nice having not ever met the couple before. Showed us around their beautiful 100 year old home, and brought us up to our room. It was small, but very cozy and exactly what we needed. Tom and Sarah were beyond friendly and warm. Breakfast was very good and attention to detail was great. For a wife and mother like myself, it was a treat to be waited on! This is a beautiful home, nice location and a great value if you're looking for a little getaway or longer stay. We stayed in the Garden room, which is the smallest room of their rooms, but just perfect!


Wonderful stay...

5 on October 07, 2013

Our stay at Walnut Lawn was enchanting. Our room was immaculate and breakfast was mouth watering good. Our hosts and the other guests all had breakfast together at 0830. The conversation was engaging. All-in-all exactly what we look for in a B&B. Thanks Sarah and Tom.


A Most Wonderful Two Days!

4.8 on September 30, 2013

Tom and Sarah went out of their way to make our stay the two day "retreat" we wanted it to be. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING, and we so enjoyed the company of the other three couples. Tom helped us with our day-long exploration of the Old Amish farm country, and it truly was so relaxing and educational. The Mennonite and Amish people we met on the "backroads" were just so pleasant, peaceful and informative. We will be back!


Walnut Lawn B&B review

4.4 on September 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Walnut Lawn. Innkeepers are excellent. Food was marvelous. Lots to do in the area.


wonderful stay

4.8 on September 20, 2013

Tom and Sarah are the perfect hosts! Very friendly and welcoming. The four seasons room was excellent with the bathroom in an old cistern closet with huge oak doors. Breakfast was very, very good and the other couple were delightful. Would love to stay here again.


Relaxing in Lancaster

4.0 on September 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and Tom and Sara work hard to please their guests. Oppressive heat made it uncomfortable in 100 year old homes with no central air. Although we had a window a/c in our room, a small fan would have been nice.


Walnut Lawn B & B

4.8 on September 05, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this B & B. We love it. Tom and Sarah are the best host and hostess ever. We plan on going back again. The food is outstanding, the service is outstanding. Their home is beautiful. Highly recommend this to anyone.


Wonderful weekend!

4.8 on August 28, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Walnut Lawn! The home was very comfortable with many places to relax. The hosts were very friendly and informative. Our breakfasts were delicious and the hosts catered to everyone's requests. We plan on visiting again!


Very Nice

4.0 on August 27, 2013

This bed and breakfast was very comfortable. The owners Sarah and Tom were very welcoming and delightful. I would not hesitate to book another stay at their establishment. We truly enjoyed our stay.


Charming...

5 on August 05, 2013

Tom and Sarah are very gracious innkeepers. The Four Seasons room is very charming. Breakfast was delicious and conversation was very enjoyable with other guests and the innkeepers.


Fabulous B & B

5 on August 02, 2013

Relaxing place to stay with a wonderful breakfast! It is truly like staying with family.


Loved Our Stay

4.8 on August 01, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The rooms was cozy, clean and welcoming. Breakfasts were amazing!!! We would definitely go back again!


Walnut Lawn was Everyhting We Hoped it Would Be!

5 on July 29, 2013

I discovered this B &B online and we were SO pleased when we actually arrived!We chose the smallest room because of our budget - we have 2 dogs that are in a kennel while we travel. But it was lovely, comfortable and provided everything we needed. Since we were first to arrive, the other rooms were available to see and we can consider them for a future visit. Sarah & Tom are gracious, warm and friendly hosts and we enjoyed our conversations with them during our stay. The Walnut Lawn was very close to the activities we came to enjoy - the Sight & Sound and shopping in Amish stores. Our breakfast was a culinary feast and it was plentiful! I have already raved about the Walnut Lawn, Sarah & Tom to a few friends and hope they can have the same pleasant experience that we did. Rob & Oksana Robinson from Rochester, NY


Lovely B&B

5 on July 27, 2013

Sarah and Tom are such welcoming and thoughtful hosts. They went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. This included preparing directions for us and starting breakfast a little earlier. The location was perfect for us, as it was out of the main town and looked out on to farm land. This made it very relaxing and peaceful. The breakfast was fantastic! The room was very clean and comfortable. The bedding was lovely and soft. We would love to stay again.


Awesome B&B

5 on July 17, 2013

The rooms were immaculate, the food was awesome and the price is excellent value. You cannot go wrong with staying here. We loved it so much!


Super

4.6 on July 15, 2013

We had a great stay. Breakfast was delicious, every morning different. Tom and sarah were very friendly. Everything was super. The buggy ride with the amish was also very nice. We learned a lot about the amish


Our one year anniversary

5 on July 14, 2013

We had got married at the walnut lawn bed and breakfast one year ago. We were greeted like family from our first stay to the second stay. Love the atmosphere at breakfast time meeting the different people from all over the place. Would recommend this place too all my friends and family. Will continue to go there as long as we can


Feels like home

4.6 on July 08, 2013

My wife and I had only 2 days there, but we will be back. We felt so welcome and the hosts are wonderful people. We will be back next year from Switzerland Klaus & Carol


Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 06, 2013

The house was gorgeous and our room was very cozy called the garden room. We truly enjoyed the hospitality of the inn keepers. It is affordable and very close to many Amish activities in Lancaster County.


I love Walnut Lawn B&B

5 on June 26, 2013

Tom and Sarah are the best hosts I have ever had. My room, the Four Seasons, is very unique and special; if you stay there, you will know what I mean. The breakfast is a real treat, delicious and sumptuous. What a lovely memory!


Wonderfully Relaxing

4.4 on June 14, 2013

Rooms are peaceful, beds are comfy, breakfast is delicious. And the hosts are very friendly and knowledge.


First Time B&B

4.2 on June 10, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and it was wonderful. The owners were very pleasant people and we all shared wonderful stories. We stayed in Siam Room which is decorated through their experience in Thailand. The B&B is situated outside of town which was very nice. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had. I would recommend this B&B.


First time B & B stay

5 on June 10, 2013

food outstanding-different every day-hosts truly enjoy meeting people-Will book here on next trip to Lancaster. We felt at home, and relaxed in a beautiful home.


everything is perfect

5 on June 09, 2013

The perfect place to go for holidays! :)


Beautiful B&B

4.2 on June 08, 2013

Tom and Sarah doing an excellent job in maintaining the beauty of their B&B. They made us feel very welcome and I would definitely stay with them again if I were in the area. The breakfast was more than I could imagine and I certainly appreciated the prayer before the meal. Hugs good-bye made me feel like part of the family.


Siam room

4.4 on June 05, 2013

Excellent overall, very comfortable quarters. Conveniently located, quiet but not remote. Tom and Sarah are gracious hosts, breakfasts were a real treat. Would definitely return.


Overnight stay

3.6 on May 26, 2013

We booked a room at Walnut Lawn and Breakfast to attend a Bar Mitzvah in Lancaster. The house was beautiful and the breakfast was amazing. The only negative thing I can say is the road was a little busy which made it difficult for my husband to go to sleep. I slept great though as the beds are VERY comfortable.


Great Vacation

4.8 on May 09, 2013

We stayed at the Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast in April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect. The house was beautiful, breakfast was really good, and the room was very nice and clean. Most of all, Tom and Sara were gracious hosts! They made us feel like old friends.


Cozy B&B

4.8 on May 07, 2013

I am so happy we chose to stay at the Walnut Lawn B&B. Sarah and Tom were so warm and welcoming, and their breakfasts were amazing. The rooms are very quaint, and the the location of this B&B is ideal. We will definitely plan to stay here again when we return to Lancaster county.


Great Spot off the beaten path.

4.0 on May 05, 2013

I was traveling through the area with my daughter (8) and wanted her to have her first B&B experience. The locations was great, the hosts were delightful, and the breakfast was super. We lucked out having a mini-golf course down the street which was perfect. All major attractions were very close. We'd absolutely stay there again.


DJH/BAHuber

4.6 on May 02, 2013

Our third visit, I've never been a big fan of B&B's but Tom and Sarah have changed my mind, we only stay at B&B's now. Wonderful hosts, beautiful place. Thanks to all the B&B owners who work so hard to make their clients stays seem like a family affair.


The best Bed and Breakfast in Lancaster!

5 on May 01, 2013

Tom and Sarah run the best Bed and Breakfast in Lancaster. They're both a joy to talk with and always make you feel welcome. Sarah prepares a delicious breakfast every morning. It's really a feast! Both Sarah and Tom engage the guests in interesting conversation. We've stayed at Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast three times and plan on staying again soon!


Wonderful B&B

5 on April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast on April 23-24, 2013, and really enjoyed it. Tom and Sarah were very gracious and welcoming hosts. They made us feel like old friends. Breakfast was really good, and more than we could eat. The beds were comfortable and the linens were super soft. We were interested in seeing the Amish community and their place was in an excellent location. You can actually sit on the front porch and watch the horse drawn buggies go buy. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. Victor and Kim


what a great place.

5 on April 16, 2013

really enjoyed our stay. all was great! great! great!


A room with Great Hosts

5 on March 22, 2013

We are from Lancaster county and came back to visit. The B&B was more than we had even hoped for. Sarah and Tom are very friendly and helpful host that go out of their way to please. Sarah makes breakfast that makes me want to move in and stay there. It was to early to enjoy the grounds but the B&B sits on a lovely lot with fruit trees and very nice corner lot, the flower were just starting in come out. Thank you Gene and Joyce.


Cute Place!

5 on February 20, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Room and it was very cute and cozy. The entire house is well kept and Sarah &Tom are delightful! We will definitely be back!


stayed i quilt room

4.4 on February 02, 2013

Lovely home and room w/balcony which we shall hope to enjoy on next vs.comfy bed delicious brkfst and fun conversation w/ owners plan to return in spring or summer


Garden room

5 on January 17, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better place to have spent my anniversary with my girlfriend. The innkeepers Tom and Sarah were beautiful people and lovely at heart. They made us feel at home and welcomed from the time we walked in. Sarah makes unbelievably delicious breakfast and can't wait until I go back to have some more. I wouldn't stay at another B&B in Lancaster unless its the walnut lawn.


Home away from home

5 on January 11, 2013

What a nice place to stay. The food was outstanding and the inn keepers went above and beyond. I will defiantly stay again and recommend the Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast to others. Book a room, you will not be disappointed!


Walnut Lawn B & B Review

4.8 on January 09, 2013

Excellent breakfast and warm, hospitable hosts. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Great little place!

4.8 on January 03, 2013

We stayed only one night, but in the morning there was a pleasant breakfast for us and we enjoyed getting to mingle with the other guests. Everything was very clean and nice.


Best Birthday Ever

5 on December 26, 2012

What a beautiful place to spend my Birthday. Our hosts, Sarah and Tom are delightful people and we feel that we have made new friends. The breakfasts were first class and served in such a friendly way that we didn't want to leave. Our room was so beautiful and the bed really comfortable, the bathroom so unusual and superbly clean. We will certainly be returning to Walnut Lawn when we next visit the United States. Howard and Robyn Carroll. Australia


Great B&B

4.8 on December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday weekend. We stayed in the Siam room, which was really cozy. The bed was a king size and was really nice and comfortable. Tom and Sarah were very nice and accommodating. We were actually running late getting there so we called to inform them. They were very pleasant! The breakfast was great and each morning was a treat. Amish country is beautiful and the Sight and Sound Theater was really awesome.


Home away from home

5 on December 11, 2012

Mother and I enjoyed visiting the Lancaster area and found Walnut Lawn B&B the ideal place to stay, It was a great centrally located place. Tom & Sara were great hosts and full of knowledge of the area. We will definitely be staying there again. Thanks aap


Happy We Came Back to Lancaster County.

5 on December 04, 2012

My husband and I had such a great stay at Walnut Lawn we are planning to travel back there next year in May and again in November. We enjoyed being in Lancaster County for the holiday season and want to experience it again. Walnut Lawn is such a beautiful place to stay at and the innkeepers are such wonderful people and it feels just like home and that is important to us. Looking forward to our return trip next year and wish all a Happy New Year.


Wonderful B & B!

4.4 on November 14, 2012

The room was neat and cozy. Breakfast was amazing! In addition to providing a delicious meal, Tom & Sarah joined us every morning for breakfast conversation. They gave us tips about great places to visit and places to eat in the area. They made us feel right at home. Overall, great place to stay and I hope to go back someday!


an outstanding place

5 on November 14, 2012

It was a great place just like we were told about it. We recomend it to everyone


amazing inn keepers!

5 on November 05, 2012

We stayed in the smallest room at the house, and it was the perfect amount of space. Nothing about it was cramped. we had a wonderful view of neighboring farms and Lancaster County countryside. 5 minutes from a covered bridge and about 20 minutes from anything Amish.. shopping, eating, and buggy rides. I will definitely be back!!


Our little getaway

5 on October 31, 2012

This is a wonderful b&b. Sarah and Tom are very friendly and very hospitable. We felt like family. We will definitely return for another visit.


Our stay in your B&B.

4.8 on October 21, 2012

We enjoyed talking to other guests. Thank you for telling us about Katie's Kitchen.


Pleasantly Pleasing!

4.2 on October 11, 2012

A great place for a get-away of rest and/or if you want to do some Lancaster area attractions. Hosts are very friendly, rooms are comfortable and food is delicious.


Lovely B & B

4.8 on October 09, 2012

Very pretty property and our hosts were exceptional. Would gladly return.


Great Place!

4.4 on October 08, 2012

Great place to stay and relax. Hospitality is warm and welcoming. Location is right in the middle of all the sights. I will stay here again on my next trip to Lancaster.


Hospitality top notch!!

5 on October 04, 2012

Tom & Sarah definitely have a gift for hospitality. They warmly welcomed us and spent time answering questions we had about places to eat at and places to see along with directions. They are well informed of the history of the area. The room was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding. We would certainly return here and highly recommend it.


Best B&B we've experienced in LAncaster area

5 on October 03, 2012

We visit Lancaster annually and have stayed in many B&Bs, and this was by far the best! Great location away from highways. Rural views. close to attractions. The room was lovely with a private porch, the breakfasts were delicious (Sarah is an excellent cook!). The grounds had several places to sit and relax. We will be returning to Walnut Lawn. Diane and Dave


A great place to stay!

5 on September 27, 2012

This was our first time in Lancaster and Tom and Sarah at the walnut lawn made us feel very welcome. We met Sarah when we arrived and she gave us some insight on what to see and do. Their b & b is beautiful and makes you feel like you are at home. We stayed in the siam room which was decorated with artifacts they collected while traveling abroad, including a painting done by an elephant! The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely great! We met Tom that morning before breakfast. We had some pleasant conversation before breakfast then they left us while we ate. Boy did we eat! The portions were generous and delicious. Afterwards they joined us again for some nice conversation. It felt like we had known them for a long time. All in all, we would highly recommend staying there and it will be our first choice when we return to Lancaster.


perfect place to visit and experience the Amish lifestyle

4.2 on September 19, 2012

Tom and Sarah are excellent innkeepers serving a great breakfast. The quality of the beds is perfect, what makes you sleep well. Good startingpoint for getting a closer look into the Amish world.


Weekend in Amish Country

5 on September 12, 2012

Lovely B&B in the middle of Lancaster Country. The owners, Sara and Tom, treat you as one of their family.


Outstanding stay

5 on September 09, 2012

Tom and Sarah were very gracious. I will recommend this B and B to anyone interested. We will definitely be going back. The food is especially delicious.


Back after one week

5 on September 06, 2012

We were so pleased by our first visit that we decided to come back again a week later. It was as nice as the first time.


Loved it!

4.6 on August 27, 2012

My sisters and I thoroughly enjoyed Walnut Lawn. The owners, Tom and Sarah, were friendly and helpful and served a wonderful breakfast. The surroundings were bucolic but located near to many local places of interest (including great antique shops in Strasburg). I hope to return to this b and b soon and often.


Outstanding

5 on August 12, 2012

Tom and Sarah made us feel at home in a place where we knew no one. The food was different than what we were used to eating but it was all delicious and I am very picky about what I eat. We would highly recommend this place to anyone. Robert & Dorothy S. - Virginia


The best stay ever!!!

5 on August 08, 2012

We spent our 36th wedding anniversary at Walnut Lawn B&B and it was superb!!!Tom and Sarah made us feel like family. The breakfast she served was so yummy I gained 2 lbs. in 2 days. We will be back to visit with Tom and Sarah!!!


Bed & Breakfast Review

5 on August 02, 2012

Very comfortable, relaxing destination. Close to many attractions. Breakfast was outstanding and conversation with other guests was interesting.


review

3.6 on August 01, 2012

I would prefer a less formal breakfast and one healthier in nature

Innkeeper Response
Thank you (Stayed on 7/2012 and reviewed on 8/1/2012) for your informative review of your stay with us. We do serve a formal breakfast setting and a full breakfast for all our guests. When guests visit our Bed and Breakfast, we plan a breakfast setting that will make their stay memorial. It sets the atmosphere for lively conversation and sharing among the guests at the table. Our menu is in the tradition of Lancaster County. We serve meats, eggs, vegetables and fruits from the local Amish farms and our recipes are from local cookbooks. We do have on our website www.walnutlawn.com that we serve a full breakfast and the pictures of our dining room show the typical table setting for our guests. We appreciate your time in helping us give future guests an insight into our hospitality.


Absolutely the best B&B in the area

5 on July 28, 2012

What can I say...everything was exceptional!! I would recommend it very highly. Tom and Sarah are fabulous kind and caring individuals. I inadvertenly left some items behind at checkout; Tom called me the next morning and was very gracious in volunteering to mail them to me. Sarah's breakfasts are sumptuos, plentiful and succulent. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The Bed was extremely comfortable with luxorious sheets and pillows. The Inn is centrally located, close to all attractions.


A great place to stay

4.8 on July 23, 2012

The charm of the place and the genuine warmth and friendliness of the proprietors provide everything anyone could ask for from a B&B.


Nice place to stay

4.4 on July 22, 2012

The room was very nice. But the only thing was that it only has a window A/C unit in the room (I guess expected in a 100 year old house!) of course we happened to stay on 100 degree days so it was pretty warm at night. Otherwise we enjoyed the room, our little balcony, and breakfasts were delicious. Lots of places to sit (wrap around porch, screen gazebo, swing). Also easy access from the B&B to RT 30, 340, and 896 where a lot of the area attractions are!


Our first Lancaster B&B!

5 on July 19, 2012

We visit the Lancaster area about once a year, but this was the first time we chose a B&B. It was absolutely the right choice! Right from start, the owner greeting us at the door, our one-night stay qas perfect! Sarah and Tom were perfect hosts. The room ws comfortable and clean. The balcony was a great romantic touch. This B&B is close to everything, but away from the bustle of "town" on a quiet street. Breatfast the next mjorning was the best one we ever had! Dessert for this meal? Sure! Why not? We will be returning!


Wonderful place to stay, very friendly innkeepers

4.4 on July 18, 2012

We had a great stay, the house is beautiful. The best breakfast you can imagine!


Lancaster's Best B&B

4.8 on July 15, 2012

Bed was a little too soft for us but everything else was beyond expectations!!


Heart warming

5 on July 11, 2012

Beautiful home, beautiful welcoming hosts, the softest sheets and towels I have ever felt. Great breakfast! This was my first B/B and it mad me want to go to many more! I hope the others can live up to my first experiencing here!


Outstanding

5 on July 07, 2012

Wonderful hosts. We had to leave very early in the morning and they left us yummy muffins and juice to go!!


A Wonderful Respite

4.8 on July 06, 2012

Tom and Sarah Murphy are the quintessential innkeepers. From the moment they greet you at the door until your departure, you step in to an atmosphere of welcoming, kindness, relaxation and wonderful food. The inn is a meticulously maintained early 20th century home with a beautiful wrap around porch where you can sit and enjoy the beauty of the countryside around you, along with the cool breezes on a warm day. Your day starts with a wonderful hearty breakfast served family style. The homemade muffins and Irish soda bread were terrific!! You are then well fortified to tour the beautiful farmlands of Lancaster county. Tom and Sarah have plenty of recommendations for places to have your dinner, from


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on July 05, 2012

The room was clean and the food was excellent! Not to mention the B&B was beautiful!


A very nice inn.

4.2 on July 05, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June of 2012. The inn was very nice. The innkeepers are very friendly and open. We had a great time and will stay here again if we are in the area.


Wonderful stay

5 on June 27, 2012

Awesome place. Tom and Sarah are great, the place is beautiful, spotless. The breakfast was amazing. Would definitely go back.


Very Nice B &B Close to Sight and Sound

5 on June 19, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast. Tom and Sarah were excellent hosts. We did not get a chance to take in all the amenities as we had gone to a Sight and Sound show when we first got there and we only spent one night. The morning breakfast was excellent. I would stay there again. Thanks Tom and Sarah for a very pleasant experience. Barry and LuAnn


Walnut Lawn was our 1st time at a B&B ~ LOVED IT :)

4.0 on June 15, 2012

Tom & Sarah were friendly hosts and provided us with a delightful place to stay while we were in Lancaster. We found sitting on the wrap around porch peaceful and relaxing. We also walked around the property and enjoyed the lovely setting, sat & "swung" in the double swing while enjoying the birdsong all around us. Breakfast was a "full" breakfast served family style. It was pleasant meeting the other guests & the food was DELICIOUS!!! We stayed in the Garden Room (which is stated to be the smaller room on their website) ... it was plenty of space for the two of us and we were very comfortable. Our experience was pleasant enough to make us feel confident we would consider staying at other B&B's in the future, and would stay at Walnut Lawn B&B again when in the Lancaster area. Thanks Tom & Sarah for a delightful, peaceful evening and a delicious breakfast to send us on our way.


Visit amish country and stay here

4.6 on June 15, 2012

Tom and Sarah are the key highlights to this enjoyable stay at their BB. Both are warm and friendly. Tom gave us a wonderful map to tour the amish coutry side and it was just what we wanted. Breakfast is wonderful . Sarah is a great cook and Tom is the perfect host( so is Sarah!) If you want a comfortable,warm and welcoming stay....then stay at the Walnut Lawn BB


Memorial Day Memories

4.6 on June 02, 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and we chose this particular inn because of it's affordable rates, proximity to Lancaster, and the photos we saw online. Little did we know how fantastic this place was going to be. When we checked in after 4pm, we received individual attention from Sarah. She not only knew our names but also knew the reason we were staying, how long we would be there, and got to ask us about our plans in the area. She gave us a quick tour of the house and our room and explained some history behind it. Then, she left us to our devices. The bathroom in the four seasons room was a nice added bit of privacy. My wife and I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast so we didn't want to get a room without a bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the room had perfect lighting and quaint decorations, exactly what we were looking for in a place. We woke up the next morning and got ready for our day, and we walked downstairs to fresh brewed coffee from Tom, and got ready to eat our family style meal. My wife and I enjoyed conversations from all of the guests and the best breakfast I've ever had in my life. Sarah really knew how to prepare fresh, delicious foods. She made a quiche, tomato pie, fresh bacon, biscuits, sliced fruit, and pastries. To top it off, there was rice pudding as the "breakfast dessert." Tom and Sarah took the time to get to know my wife and I, all their guests, and really add that extra service that I never expected; that service will definitely bring me back to Lancaster and the Walnut Lawn, and it will probably bring me to more bed and breakfasts in the future. If you plan to stay in the Lancaster Area, this is the place you should stay at.


Vacation Getaway

5 on June 01, 2012

Our stay here is like coming home away from home. We just love the quaint humblness of Tom & Sarah's home & enjoy so much visiting w/Tom & Sarah & we just enjoy the fresh conversation each time we visit. Oh & we absolutely love the breakfasts! Believe me I am not a morning person but I do get up for the breakfasts..chuckle. My husband laughs because I am always excited about the breakfasts. The place is also really lovely as well as the grounds. Its location is very convenient to places you want to go within Lancaster, PA. We're looking forward to our next visit next year! :)


Relaxing B & B stay

4.8 on May 30, 2012

We had a very nice 2 night stay at Walnut Lawn B & B. Our hosts, Tom and Sarah Murphy were very warm and accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious and filling and we enjoyed the conversation with other guests and our hosts around the breakfast table. We hope to have a return stay sometime.


A homely holiday

4.8 on May 21, 2012

During our time at Walnut Inn Sarah and Tom were more than helpful. They seemed generally intestested in us and took time to get to know us. Breakfast was amazing and we enjoyed having proper home cooked food. We were in the Green room which is the smallest room - however this was bigger than our room in New York and had everything that we required! Sarah and Tom gave us advice on the local area including great places to eat and advice about hiring a car. This is definetely a lovely lace to stay.


We keep going back to Walnut Lawn.

5 on May 19, 2012

The place is immaculate. The food is amazing. The hosts are precious. Family style is our favorite.


Russ + Sally

5 on May 19, 2012

Our big problem is that we had to go home. Sara and Tom made us feel like we were family. Breakfest was over the top!!!!!!! Sara out did herself every day! A very quite and wonderful home!


Our short stay was perfect.

4.4 on May 16, 2012

Excellent breakfast, all nice. Room had minimum "surfaces" for personal items.


Fantastic Stay at Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on May 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Tom and Sarah! Their home is very warm and inviting. Our room was spotless and very cozy! The sheets on the bed were so soft....we slept like babies! We enjoyed a cool drink on the swing on the front porch....could have stayed there for hours if we didn't have dinner plans! The breakfast the next morning was fantastic! Sarah is wonderful cook! We didn't need to eat again until supper! We really enjoyed our stay!


The Wonderful Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast

5 on May 03, 2012

I have no hesitancy in highly recommending Tom & Sarah Murphy and their Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast. You will not be disappointed in their friendliness, nor in the spotless condition of your room, nor in the high quality breakfast you will be served. I certainly will make this my first choice if I stay in their area again. Rev. Keith G. Koch, and Mrs. Linda Koch


Old World Charm

5 on March 07, 2012

The owners went above and beyond to guarantee our comfort. This was the best stay we've had in Lancaster County. We will definitely return to Walnut Lawn.


Relaxing environment and Excellent Breakfast!

5 on March 05, 2012

A very pleasant bed and breakfast, with perhaps the best, most delicious, most fulfilling breakfast I've ever had at a B&B.


Pampered for 4 days and nights

4.0 on March 04, 2012

Our experience at Walnut Lawn was outstanding! The comfort of the rooms, the fellowship of our hosts and the delicious food certainly exceeded our expectations. Walnut Lawn is definitely on our list to return soon!


Wonderfully relaxing!

4.6 on March 04, 2012

The neat-as-a-pin exterior and interior give a great first impression. Tom & Sarah have the gift of hospitality and add special touches to make your stay worthwhile! We would definitely go again!


Gotta go!

5 on February 26, 2012

We spent a weekend away without the kids and it was a great experience! Sarah and Tom are very generous hosts and excellent cooks. Sarah shared her recipes with us at the end of our stay. The house is immaculate and the facilities are in great condition. We are already planning our next stay there!


Anniversary getaway

5 on February 23, 2012

My husband and I have visited the Walnut Lawn B&B for our Anniversary getaway for the past 5 years and we've loved it every single time. Tom and Sarah are wonderful hosts. They make you feel at home and make a wonderful breakfast. Plus you can't beat the price for what you get. We will definitely be returning to WL B&B if not before than again for our Ann. getaway next year.


Felt like I was home away from home

5 on January 18, 2012

Tom and Sarah felt like old friends. Everything was perfect, very relaxing get away, just what we were looking for. Larry and Roseann, New Jersey


What a Gem

5 on January 18, 2012

Wow! What a wonderful and charming place. This was our first venture into a Band B and we were amazed. Tom and Sarah are two of the nicest individuals on this planet and it felt as if we visited family but without the drama. The rooms were super clean and we had wifi. We thoroughly enjoyed the decadent breakfast that Sarah and Tom put together. We highly recommend Walnut Lawn when visiting Lancaster. You will not be disappointed.


Like Home....

4.8 on January 04, 2012

We've been to a few B&B's in the past and this by far has been the most comfortable yet. You will absolutely love the breakfast (s).. Sarah and Tom made us feel like we were home and I even felt a little sad to go.... We had a blast and I would recommend Walnut Lawn to anyone...


Amazing!!!!

5 on November 30, 2011

I cannot express how wonderful this B&B was. The innkeepers were wonderful, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the Lancaster area. Their breakfast is to die for and the innkeepers do not hesitate to give you the recipe. But most importantly, the inn was very clean....i should say immaculate. I will be certain to choose Walnut Lawn B&B in the future and I will be sure to inform others.


GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!

4.4 on November 30, 2011

Everything from the moment we walked in the door was exceptional. Tom & Sarah were excellant host/hostess. Really LOVED the sheets on the beds, so soft...............breakfas was family style and a rel treat. Can't waitto visit again, thank you Tom & Sarah for a great weekend!!!


Excellent choice of a B & B

3.6 on November 23, 2011

First time at this B & B and it was a memorable one. The room including the bed were very comfortable, generally quiet area. Although I would have preferred a bathroom right in my room, it was a simple turn around the corner to our private bath. Decor was nice. Inn Keepers were excellent. Food was outstanding. Company great. Thanks.


Enjoyable Stay

5 on November 19, 2011

Our stay (3 nights) at the Walnut Lawn B'n'B was the best that we have experienced in many years of travel. The friendly hosts, the ultra clean facilities and the "taste" of home (including breakfasts) made our visit to Lancaster particularly enjoyable!


Exquisite Adventure

5 on November 16, 2011

Starting with the warmth and hospitality of the innkeepers; to the spendor of the rooms; the excellent location (convenient to many amenities, yet quiet and serence) our stay created a warm memory that will last a lifetime. This was my first B&B experience, I'm hooked and will try to find this type of accommodation for all my future travels. Tom & Sarah make you feel at home from the moment they first open the door. The worth of the rooms, country setting, camaraderie around the breakfast table, overall charm and lasting memory of this B&B far exceeds the price. My wife & I are already making plans to go back; when I asked her if we should try another B&B she said "Why"?; I doubt we can top this one.


quiet anniversary celebration

3.4 on November 14, 2011

We just wanted a short time away to celebrate our anniversary. The Walnut lLawn was very nice and laid back- the food was good but the bed was a bit saggy in the middle and we did not sleep well. We spent the next day shoppng in the area then wnet to the spectacular Longwood Gardens.


Greatest B&B

5 on October 30, 2011

The place was beautiful.. Tom ans Sara made you feel like part of their family.. Will definatly go for another visit....


The Walnut Lawn B&B is amazing!

5 on October 26, 2011

I absolutely loved the Walnut Lawn B&B. Sarah and Tom were so nice and put out an amazing breakfast!!!!!!!!!!! I have stayed at a number of B&Bs through the years and this was by far the absolute best!!!!!!!!!!!


Excellent stay

4.0 on October 15, 2011

Room was as expected and seen on website. Barhroom very spacious. Specialy enjoyed the front porch well furnished with comfortable chairs and rocking chairs.


Nice place to stay in Dutch Country...

3.4 on October 13, 2011

We stayed Oct. 9th in the Quilt Room...very nice, clean room. Very quiet there and great breakfast. Sarah and Tom were very nice and the other guests staying were as well. Highly recommend this B&B.


Short Stay

4.8 on October 02, 2011

Only stayed one night, but had a wonderful experience. Tom & Sarah are so warm & friendly, made us feel like family! Breakfast was so good, it was a great way to start our vacation. No hesitation in going back one day!


Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on September 25, 2011

Tom and Sarah are the perfect hosts in their charming home. Their delicious breakfasts were amazing and the conversation around the table in the morning was enlightning and engaging. Tom and Sarah answered our many questions and gave directions, helpful hints, and wonderful suggestions to visit Amish Country and the covered bridges. We were so happy we chose to stay in their lovely bed and breakfast instead of a hotel. We would gladly return!! Candy and Larry Fickel


Friendly owners & great food

4.8 on September 22, 2011

The owners were very flexible with our arrival time. They were very pleasant to be with and the food was great!


Don't skip this one

5 on September 08, 2011

We have come to expect nothing but excellence from Tom and Sarah and was not disappointed this trip. Great breakfast, wonderful hospitality, and helpful sightseeing advise. We will be back for our fourth stay next year.


piccolo paradiso nel cuore della Pennsylvania

5 on August 08, 2011

splendido posto con camere pulite ed accoglienti, proprietari molto gentili, colazione eccezionale


Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 03, 2011

Tom and Sarah were wonderful. We were met with openness from Sarah. Sarah gave us a tour, explained the home / origin and spent time telling us about the area. Tom came out later and spent time with my wife and I on the porch. We had a wonderful time and would stay again. The price was very reasonable. The breakfast was great - Tom and Sarah were both involved, they talked to each and every guest and tried to get everyone involved. After breakfast they spent time talking - very clean rooms, the place was immaculate and well kept grounds - this is a must to visit and return - they get an outstanding in all five categories.


Lancasters Finest B+B

5 on August 02, 2011

My wife and I stayed with Tom and Sarah in their beautiful B+B in July 2011, I can only say it was a wonderful experience, the hosts were great, as were the breakfasts. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again.


Lancaster stay

3.4 on July 27, 2011

Tom and Sarah were wonderful hosts and made sure that our room was cool and ready for our 3 weary travelers. Breakfast was delicious and the sunset from our balcony was beautiful. Thank you for making us feel so at ease in your home.


Great First Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 12, 2011

The breakfast was great! It was enough to fill us up until dinner plus all the coffee was awesome. The owners were very helpful with things to do in the area. The house was in a nice area and not on a busy street. You could sit and enjoy the outdoors in the gazebo or the porches. It was the first b&b that I had stayed in and after this experience I would definitely go this route again.


Wonderful experience

5 on July 11, 2011

Beautiful home, delicious food and gracious hosts - what more could you want!


great place to spend the weekend

3.6 on July 10, 2011

We spend a weekend in Amish country and had the pleasure to stay at the Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast. The place is very clean and nicely organized and definitely not on the cheap side. As such it tends to attract a more mature crowd and people with lots of stories to share. The hosts were also very amenable to our early check-in (noon) and late departure (noon again). As everyone mentioned the breakfast did not disappoint (it's more of a feast really).


Our Recent Stay

5 on July 07, 2011

We have now stayed 2x at Walnut Lawn B&B We absolutely LOVE IT!!! Tom and Sarah are the most pleasant people. Sarah makes the most delicious breakfasts, you walk away full. Tom has lots of interesting stories. We have stayed only in the Siam room which is great. Bed is so comfortable. We suggest anyone considering staying at a B&B check out Walnut Lawn.


A weekend in Lancaster, PA

4.6 on June 29, 2011

Relaxing, peaceful, lovely old home, friendly innkeepers. (Sarah and Tom did everything to make us all feel so welcome!) Breakfast was superb! Thank you thank you thank you


Our Stay at Walnut Lawn

4.2 on June 23, 2011

Friendly and personable hosts. Comfortable room with adequate privacy. Excellent WiFi.


Friendly, spotless

4.2 on May 31, 2011

This is a lovely home which the owners keep in perfect shape and absolutely spotless. The hosts were very gracious and super helpful; thier full and hot breakfast sumptuous and very tasty. Very conveniently located. We stayed in the front room - a little noisy due to traffic - so ask for one of the back rooms if you want total quiet.


A wonderful stay

4.6 on May 30, 2011

We recently stayed with Tom and Sarah at their wonderful home, and had a fabulous time. Tom is a wealth of information on the area and Sarah delivers a wonderful and varied breakfast, all preceded with an early morning coffee on the porch as the day begins...just perfect. The family breakfast and opportunity to start the day with a chat around the table with other guests and Tom and Sarah is such a brilliant start to the day. We can fully recommend the Walnut Lawn!


Very nice facility and a delightful host couple.

4.2 on May 03, 2011

The room itself was very nice; however a little stuffy and warm in spite of opening the window. Host couple made us feel welcome and comfortable, and the food was very good. Price was very reasonable. Room very clean and comfortable -- overall a great getaway.


Another perfect stay in Lampeter

5 on April 19, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Walnut Lawn B&B and we're just as impressed as ever. This time we stayed four nights in the Garden Room which was nice and cozy. It featured it's own closet and bathroom with shower, all nice and neat. Our breakfast was different each day, delicious and creative each time. This is by far the best value in B&B's in all of Amish country, and light years ahead of any "cookie cutter" hotels you might find in the area. Tom and Sarah really give you great value for your money and they are always concerned for your well being. Check out their fresh baked cookies too ... we will be back for sure!


Outstanding in every way.

5 on March 23, 2011

Beautiful house, very well kept and carefully and nicely decorated, and the innkeepers couldn't be nicer and more welcoming. Breakfast is amazing and always freshly prepared, often with local produce. We stayed here for the second time and will be sure to come back!


B&B please!

5 on March 12, 2011

We stayed here for our daughter's birthday. Our daughter and son in law stayed across the hall from our Quilt Room. Everything was superb; from our restful night's sleep to the excellent breakfast provided by Tom. By the way, Tom did a great job since Sarah was away visiting the kids for a grand child's birthday. Will definitely stay again.


An exceptional stay...

5 on March 03, 2011

Words do not do justice for what wonderful host Tom and Sarah are. They allowed us to take over the space for an entire weekend for a Mom's crafting getaway. They were exceptionally polite and flexible with all of our odd requests. The rooms were lovely and an exceptional value for your money. The breakfast was more like a feast and we enjoyed their company. Thanks again for an WONDERFUL stay!!!


Walnut Lawn is an excellent B&B

5 on February 16, 2011

Awesome place, beautiful house, good hearty breakfast! The hosts actually sit down after breakfast and talk to everyone, how great is that!


Exceptional Stay

5 on January 20, 2011

The siam room was as described. We had our own private bathroom and shower. Plenty of towels and amenities. The hosts were very hospitable with all our needs. The food was unbelievable. We stayed for 3 nights and each day was a surprise. This was also in the winter and even though some attractions were closed we found more than enough things to do in the area. I would definitely visit Th Walnut Lawn again in warmer temperatures to really see all of Lancaster and the amish.


Excellent B & B

5 on January 19, 2011

I would highly recommend this B & B. Convenient location, Tom & Sarah very hospitable, would definitely stay here again when in the area.


Weekend getaway

4.6 on December 08, 2010

We plan on going back to Lancaster to see at show at the Sight and Sound theater and we plan to stay at Walnut Lawn again!


Wonderful Stay

5 on December 04, 2010

My husband and i stayed for 3 nights .. It was wonderful we stayed in the quilt room which had a balcony off of it to see the wonderful views of the amish buggys rideing . The breakfast is surely a 4 star !!! never had we had such a feast for breakfast at a B&B


Walnut Lawn

4.4 on November 29, 2010

My 3rd time at this B&B. Sarah and Tom are wonderful innkeepers.


Great place to stay

4.0 on November 28, 2010

We have stayed there several times over the last few years. The hosts are wonderful. Rooms are clean and inviting and the food is top notch!


Our anniversary stay

5 on November 24, 2010

We had never stayed in a B&B before. What a wonderful experience. Everything about our stay would encourage us to come back again. Tom and Sarah were delightful. They made us feel very much at home. Sarah did a superb job with our delicious breakfast. We were sad to leave, but will return again.


A Wonderful Experience at a Reasonable Price

4.6 on November 16, 2010

The Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast was a lovely place to say. The owners are gracious, interesting and just wonderful hosts. They offered great counsel about where to shop for furniture and provided a map of "must see" places in Amish country. When we return to Lancaster, there is no doubt we will first try to book at Walnut Lawn. The breakfast was served in multi-course fashion, lasted for over an hour, and became itself a memory of great conversation.


Fantastic!

5 on November 16, 2010

I stayed just one night at this fantastic B&B with my mom during our two-day shopping trip. We stayed in the Siam Room and it was fantastic. All accomodations in the room were top notch and I don't think I moved an inch on that king bed the entire night. It was heavenly. Tom and Sarah were wonderful hosts and prepared a great breakfast. We then had great conversation with Tom, Sarah and the three other couples after breakfast. If you need any information about the area or maps etc., Tom and Sarah are ready to help in any way they can.


Honeymoon on 15th Anniversary

4.6 on November 14, 2010

The house is lovely. The service was all one would expect. But the host and hostess made the stay. We enjoyed Tom and Sarah greatly and felt privileged to visit their home.


Wonderful B&B for a weekend get-away

5 on November 09, 2010

My wife and I spent 1 night there for a quick get-away and we will definately be going back. Room was great, breakfast was wonderful and Tom & Sarah were extremely nice. Superb place to stay.


Wonderful B&B, wonderful people!

5 on October 29, 2010

We spent just one night at the Walnut Lawn, on our way from Philadelphia to Washington DC, but wished we could stay a couple of days at this relaxing place. Sarah and Tom made our 1 night worth a whole weekend, and the breakfast was a true new experience! We strongly recommend the Walnut Lawn and thank Sarah and Tom for their hospitality, for we felt like we were at old friends' home.


Delightful two night stay

4.8 on October 20, 2010

Recently returned from a two-night stay at the Walnut Lawn. The inn is a well taken care of home with wonderful innkeepers. Sarah and Tom were great hosts and we were served a bountiful, delicious breakfast. The Garden Room, in which we stayed, is the smallest room but it was just fine. The bathroom is small however, but for two nights that presented no problems. This was a very enjoyable and delightful mini-escape to the beautiful Lancaster area.


Wonderful time!

4.4 on October 15, 2010

We spent 3 nights in this B&B, and appreciated our stay very much. Tom and Sarah look after their guests as if they are family, and we really liked the conversations with the other guests at the 5-star breakfast. Hope to visit Walnut Lawn again!


great stay!

4.4 on October 11, 2010

We had a very nice stay here--the B&B is very relaxing (even spent time on porch, reading & enjoying sunshine!) and the hosts are very personable. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.


to try at least once in a lifetime!

5 on October 05, 2010

My family and I spent just 1 night at Walnut Lawn and it was really a pity becouse this is one of the best bb where I stayed. Lancaster area is really beautiful and offers too many things to do and to see but most of all I would have liked to have more time to spend in the bb; the atmoshere is warm and relaxing and Tom&Sarah are 2 wonderful Innkeepers! Breakfast is something delicious and we really felt like home. I would like to come back soon!!!


A Jewel

4.8 on October 05, 2010

Our hosts were the most accomodating people. Unlike chain hotel/motels, they made sure that we had everything we needed. Our stay included breakfast which was prepared and served with true elegance.


October 2008 Stay

5 on December 03, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The Four Seasons room was very comfortable and just as lovely as the picture. Tom and Sarah are great hosts. The breakfasts were wonderful and the conversation lively. If we are in the area again we will certainly stay there!


Like a warm welcome home!

4.6 on July 22, 2008

Tom and Sarah are exceptional hosts who have a genuine interest in the guests they receive. The comfortable rooms, the delicious home-cooked breakfasts, the enlivening conversation and the extensive information regarding places of interest to visit - all combined to make our stay truly enjoyable and memorable. We strongly recommend Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast for anyone planning to visit Lancaster PA.


Great place to stay

4.6 on May 12, 2008

We loved staying here! Tom and Sara are fabulous hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversation was great. If we ever find ourselves in Pennsylvania again we will definitely be staying here.


Walnut Lawn Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $125
  • Reviews (200) 4.7
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7174641382
  • Toll free 1-8009149522

Visit Website »

View details

Top