Australian Walkabout Inn B & B Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
72 Reviews

Write A Review

Quaint B&B

5 on December 18, 2013

Lyn and Bob are awesome hosts. We felt welcome to this clesn and warm inn. Breakfast and conversations were fantasic. We will share this pieace of tranquilty


Great overnight get away

4.8 on November 24, 2013

We enjoyed the hospitality and the warmth of this bed and breakfast. Look forward to visiting another time.


Perfect Escape!

5 on November 19, 2013

This stay was my husband and my first stay at a B&B. We stayed in the cottage which was so quaint and cozy! From the relaxing hot tub soaks to the glorious breakfast, this B&B will surely see us again. I recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for that escape from the usual grind while keeping the feel of "home." Thank you again, Lynne, for your hospitality!


I loved the Australian Walkabout Inn!

4.2 on November 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted a quiet getaway from our busy work schedules. I found the Australian Walkabout Inn online and it looked great. The hosts were extremely polite and the breakfast was awesome. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice retreat!


wonderful place to spend our anniversary

5 on November 14, 2013

Excellent experience. Both Lynne and Bob were a delight. My wife and I were celebrating our 1 year anniversary and I am planning on returning next year for our anniversary again.


One night getaway after wedding

4.6 on November 05, 2013

Very pleasant experience. Room was spotless, comfortable with a ssitting room and two person whirlpool tub. We would definitely return!


Great Escape

4.4 on October 31, 2013

Lynne and Bob run a top-notch B&B. We really could not have asked for a better experience and we will happily recommend The Australian Walkabout Inn B&B to all our friends and relatives.


Great hospitality

4.8 on October 25, 2013

This was our first stay in a bed and breakfast and Lynne made it a very enjoyable stay. The room was very clean and breakfast was great. Lynne was very knowledgable of the area and always had suggestions of places to eat and see. Would definitely stay there again.


Relaxing B&B

5 on October 25, 2013

We had a relaxing stay. Lynne and Bob made us feel very comfortable during our visit. Breakfast was really good and Lynne went out of her way to prepare a gluten free meal for me which was most appreciated. I would highly recommend this B&B as it is very close to a lot of activities in Lancaster but far enough away where it is a bit more peaceful for relaxation.


Fabulous Place to Stay!

4.4 on October 16, 2013

My husband and I went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The place is so cozy and quaint and we were treated like family. The rooms are nice, the food is great, and the people were wonderful. The innkeepers were very knowledgeable of the area and recommended places to go for site seeing, dining, shopping, etc. Overall it exceeded our expectations. Great service from Lynn and Bob make you feel like you're at home. We will be staying there again!


great place to stay

4.6 on October 09, 2013

Excellent food, great innkeepers


Great weekend away

4.4 on September 24, 2013

Very friendly and knowledgable hosts Would recommend


Wonderful Inn

4.8 on August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed out stay. Linda and Bob were great hosts. They bend over backwards to accomodate you and are very knowledgable about things to do in the area.


Amazing

5 on August 08, 2013

Very private. We came in and were automatically greeted very happily. She gave us a suggestion on where to eat and the food there was amazing. When we came back we went into our room which was very nice and quiet. We even had our own private hot tub. We went downstairs to get some tea and coffee they had a huge selection of coffee and even tea, along with home made delicious chocolate chip cookies. For breakfast they will conform to your dietary need, I am a pescetarian which if you tell them when you make a reservation they can give you the food you want. Very good experience if we ever come to Lancaster again we will stay here.


First Trip

4.6 on July 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Lancaster. It was great. Staying at the inn was so nice. Very comfortable centerly located. Quiet. Breakfast was awesome. Homemade every morning and enjoyed talking with the other guests. Lots of helpful tipsa and service was great. Far exceefs stsying in a hotel


Relaxing and enjoyable B & B to stay at!

4.2 on June 28, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Australian Walkabout Inn. Just as charming and enjoyable as our first stay, which was over 11 years ago! Homemade breakfast was absolutely delicious! I would highly recommend the couples massage and staying in a room with a jacuzzi--nice relaxing getaway weekend! :)


Enjoyable B&B

5 on April 09, 2013

Very nice B&B. Comfortable. Great hosts. Fantastic breakfast.


Awesome place to stay

4.6 on January 10, 2013

The Australian walkabout inn was very relaxing. The fireplace and hot tube was awesome. My stay at the inn was everything I expected and more. Hospitality was an A+ Lynn is a very nice person and works hard to please her guests.


A great getaway and a greay Inn Keeper

5 on December 18, 2012

Spent a great day at the Australian Walkabout Inn. WE were greeted by Lynn the Innkeeper. She immediately made us feel very welcome in her home. The living room was beautifully decorated for Christmas. There were fresh cookies and a Keurig coffee maker. The room we stayed in started with a B. Itnwas very clean and had a 4 poster bed. There was a 2 person whirlpool bathtub in the adjoining sitting room. Our room also had a refrigerator in it. We had a great very relaxing day and celebrated a birthday there. Lynn even provided us with a candle lighter for the birthday candles. we did not stay for breakfast as we needed to get home to my children.


A B&B That Cares About the Details

4.6 on December 10, 2012

Lynne and Bob clearly run this B&B with love. This is evident in the fact that they pay attention to the smallest details. Some examples of this include: a heated towel rack next to the hot tub, a specially designated makeup (removal) towel, Christmas themed knick-knacks in the dining room alcoves, a beautifully decorated tree, and complimentary beverages that are available at the customer's convenience. They also honored a special request I made in regards to my husband's birthday. In all, we had a memorable and delightful stay.


A Relaxing place to stay

5 on October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Walkabout for a relaxing getaway weekend. What a great B&B!!! Lynne and Bob are wonderful owners and hosts! They took time to sit down at breakfast and talk with their guests. We will definitely come back and will tell our friends and family about The Walkabout!!!!


Australian Walkabout

5 on August 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the inn for three days. We left our husbands behind to go to work. What a great decision! Our room was clean, beautifully decorated, and very private. Lynn prepared wonderful breakfasts for us each day, and gave us directions to all the local sites of interest. My only regret was that the three days went by so quickly. I would like to return to my little slice of heaven in Lancaster County, the Australian Walkabout, in the fall. Just a thought: Have you guys ever thought of a buy one room, get one free offer, during your not-so-busy times? Thanks again for your hospitality. Connie and Bev

Innkeeper Response
Connie & Bev. Thanks for your kind words and we hope to host you and yours again very soon. Yes, we DO offer a BOGO of sorts during January and February. The 2nd night is the same price as the year. So, next year you'll be able to get your 2nd night during those months for $20.13 (clever, yes?)


Wonderful 1st B&B experience

5 on August 13, 2012

My husband and I had not had an actual weekend away from our kids in 8yrs. So for our 10th anniversary I wanted to stay somewhere nice but it had to have a hottub. After a 4hour search (and not willing to spend $200+) we came across this B&B. I checked out the rooms and reviews and booked the next day. Our stay was So lovely. We stayed in the Outback cottage wich was perfect. Quiet and we had our own hottub. My husband loved it and so did I. The innkeeper, Lynn was very helpful when we told her we weren't sure where we wanted to have dinner but knew we didn't want just a chain restaurant. We had a great time and we Will be back.


35th Wedding Anniversary

4.8 on August 10, 2012

This gift card from BB.com was an anniversary gift from our 3 kids. Innkeepers Lynn and Bob were so helpful and friendly. Food was great, and very relaxing stay!


Just OK

2.8 on July 21, 2012

The room it's self was clean and fine but the grounds were not kept nice and clean. We had requested a breakfast more with protein when I originally booked the room and were served a very sweet breakfast with a small protein on the side. The innkeeper was nice and the rooms were clean.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to provide your opinion. We value all of our guests and consider every review as an opportunity. While we do pride ourselves on our exterior gardens, lawn and setting, we were in the middle of having some excavation work done due to a broken water line and this is most likely what the reviewer is referring to. This work has been completed now and we will be re-grading and seeding the yard as soon as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience. As far as breakfast, we do inquire about food allergies and special medically necessary dietary restrictions and make every effort to ensure that our guests leave the table full and happy!


Wonderful!

5 on June 24, 2012

We stayed here for a night on a grandma's fun trip. We were greeted and offered wonderful hospitality. We enjoyed talking with our host and helpful information was shared that made our stay in the area more fun. The room was perfect and the host went beyond our expectations to make sure we were comfortable. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast for a relaxing vacation spot.


Changed our view of B&B's!!!

4.8 on May 31, 2012

My husband & I are now B&B lovers! This place is amazingly "home" feeling! Lynne treats you like family from the moment you walk in the door to the moment you walk out! We stayed in the Outback cottage, the bed was super comfy, more pillows than you know what to do with! The hot tub was just the ticket to a relaxing couple days away!! Breakfast was supurb!... Checkout is supposed to be at 10 but the other couple that was staying there & us all got to talking over breakfast.... we didnt get up from the table until after 1030, Lynne sat occasionally to talk with us, she never once said anything or seemed bothered by the fact that we were running late checking out. If we ever get the chance to stay at a B&B again.... Lynne... we will be back!!!!


Great Stay!

5 on April 26, 2012

The rooms are clean and beautiful. Plenty of space. Food is phenomenal-Lynne, the owner, is also the chef, and she is creative and very talented in preparing food.


Great Experience/LOVED IT

5 on April 18, 2012

I just want to say how great of a time my girlfriend and I had at the Walkabout. From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed. This was my first B&B experience and I must say I couldn't of been any more pleased then what I was. Lynn and Bob are great and we just loved being there. We LOVED the Outback cottage. We will now be coming to the Walkabout atleast once or twice a year. We loved Lancaster and won't stay any were else when we visit!!!


Home away from home

5 on March 25, 2012

We were taking a vacation for my birthday recently, and decided to stay the night at this B&B. This was our first stay at a B&B and it truly lived up to our expectations. We stayed in the Outback Cottage. The room was lovely, and the hot tub was wonderful. There was plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy the weather. Lynn was very hospitable as soon as we arrived. Breakfast was delicious -- poached pears, muffins, french toast and bacon with juice, milk or coffee. Loved the fact that there was a Keurig so when we wanted a hot cup of coffee we could get one no matter the time. The wood work in the house was gorgeous as well. I'd highly recommend the Inn to anyone and plan to come back in the future with some friends.


Wonderful hospitality, food and accommodations.

5 on February 28, 2012

We had a lovely 4 day get a way at The Austrian Walkabout. We stayed at the bungalow and totally enjoyed our stay. We had never tried a hot tub and got to experience that. We enjoyed wonderfully yummy breakfasts and good conversation with the hosts and other guests around the table. The atmosphere was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the fireplace in our room. They also had lots of movies to chose from. It was a totally relaxing time, which was what we both had hope for. Thanks Bob and Lynne for a wonderful time. We hope to come back again.


Delightful and homey!

4.0 on February 27, 2012

I was so happy in the Barrosa Room. The colors were warm and cozy. The wirlpool tub in the little sitting room was so relaxing. All the little details and amenities made our stay very enjoyable. Lynne and Bob were very sweet hosts. Oh, can't forget to mention the delectable breakfast served. Out of this world delicious! Can't wait to go back and get a massage. Patti Jo and Jack


WONDERFUL GETAWAY

5 on January 31, 2012

Although my wife an I live in Lancaster we have found that we don't have to go far to get away from the kids and the everyday hustle and bustle of life. We have spent several weekends at the Australian Walkabout Inn and each visit is just as relaxing, invigorationg and wonderful as the last. From the moment we check in, the fantastic breakfasts, cozy rooms, great hospitality, and my personal favorite, the chocolate cookies and then the sad moment of check out, Lynne and Bob have a great way of making us feel special. I recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a wonderful weekend there soon not forget. I know that I will be back again and again.


Lovely!

5 on January 12, 2012

Wonderful Inn! Friendly hosts and very attentive! It's a lovely place to stay!


We can't wait to return

4.8 on November 18, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary at the Inn and couldn't have been more pleased. The cottage was lovely and Lynne and Bob couldn't do enough to make us happy. In the 25 years that I have been staying at B&Bs, they were the first Innkeepers to remember and use our names and Lynne asked us immediately upon check-in if we had any food restrictions. I found that to be outstanding service. I will definitely return.


Very nice!

4.8 on August 14, 2011

The Inn was lovely and the proprietor did everything she could to make our stay memorable. I would go back there again without reservation and recommend it highly.


3rd Annual Scrapaplooza at the Inn

5 on March 16, 2011

This was our third scrapbooking weekend at the inn. We always have an enjoyable time. With Lynne you want for nothing, she spoils us all weekend. We totally take over her inn and she loves it. This is a great place to have a scrapbooking weekend with the girls. We can't wait to plan our 4th trip!


Cozy and elegant!

5 on January 01, 2011

The Australian Walkabout Inn is a lovely B&B, very convenient to many of the interesting sites and entertainment in and around Lancaster, PA. The accommodations are comfortable and clean, the hosts are delightful, and the food is delicious! This was our 4th stay, and we'll be back!


Lovely place to stay

4.4 on August 29, 2010

WOnderful night spent at this owner-friendly bed and breakfast. Rooms were lovely, including large two-person tubs. Enjoyed a terrifc breakfast and lovely wines the night of our arrival. Beautiful four-poster bed was truly luxrious. Highly recommend.


Great Anniversary Getaway

4.2 on August 05, 2010

Lovely home, innkeepers who look for ways to accommodate, Super town.


Perfect

4.8 on June 07, 2010

Skeptical about choosing a local B&B online without a personal recommendation, we were delighted with the accomodations. In addition, the restaurant Lynne recommended, Olde Greenfield Inn, was the best we have visited for both food and atmosphere.


Great place to relax and unwind!!

5 on June 03, 2010

Great host, great food, and a relaxing time. Feels like you're in another time.


Authentic & roomy home with charming hosts.

4.6 on May 05, 2010

Very nice original woodwork & house features with warm, cozy & welcoming atmosphere. Good food in a great location in Lancaster.


While at the Walkabout

5 on January 26, 2010

Our recent stay at the Australian Walkabout B&B couldn't have been better. Warmly decorated with many extras: cookies in the afternoon, wine, beer & soda in the fridge. Great coffee or tea all day. Breakfast was the best I've had at a B&B! Friendly hosts - need I say more?


Weekend Getaway in Amish Country

5 on December 21, 2009

The Australian Walkabout Inn is a very beautiful home.The innkeepers Lynn & Bob were very nice,and couldn't do more for us.The breakfasts were very unique,and we never tasted a better breakfast.This B&B is definitely a great place to stay for good hospitality & good food.


Excellent stay

4.0 on December 01, 2009

Lynne and Bob were the perfect hosts. We booked for 3 nights but stayed for 4. Our room was comfortable, everything that we needed was there. Breakfast was different each morning, wholesome, plentiful and very well presented. Would definately stay again.


A winning 2 night get-away

5 on September 18, 2009

A very warm and cozy B&B. Close to anything Amish you may want to see or do. The Innkeepers, Bob and Lynne, are gracious and very friendly. The gourmet breakfasts are just that - fantastic and unbelievable! A great value, we highly recommend this B&B for a romantic get-away.


Sister's Weekend

4.0 on May 04, 2009

My sisters and I try to spend one weekend a year together....some place to catch up on our lives and relax. The Walkabout Inn was the perfect fit. Our hosts were happy to inform us about ongoing events and place to visit in the area. Their breakfast meals were delicious and we enjoyed their company. We will return!


Brilliant!

5 on April 14, 2009

Clean, comfortable, not too 'girly', delicious, helpful....brilliant!


A Wonderful Anniversary Weekend at a Romantic B&B

4.4 on April 13, 2009

We visited the Walkabout for our 10th wedding anniversary. It was our first time at a B&B and the experience was wonderful. The room was beautiful, cozy & romantic. We felt like we were staying at a friend's home. The breakfast was delicious & you could tell that it was made with great care & thoughtfulness. We would definitely stay there again.


Nice B&B in Lancaster

4.0 on February 05, 2009

We celebrated a friends birthday.Lynne and Bob made us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious! All the rooms were nice.


A GREAT BIRTHDAY WEEK-END

4.0 on February 04, 2009

We just went with all our friends for the week-end of a special Birthday.Everything was great , and what a yummie breakfast was served by Lynne & Bob . Very nice , all ways around


Quiet Time

3.4 on October 30, 2008

We spent two nights in the large room in the old carriage house. Lynne and Bob were very freindly and accomodating. The breakfasts were delicious and different. Lynne was quite helpful with directions, etc. We were the only guests, so had undivided attention.


Absolutely Wonderful

4.6 on August 26, 2008

It was our first time in a B&B, and it was exactly what we had hoped for. Lynn and her husband Bob were very warm and welcoming. The room was comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. The hot tub was a treat. Breakfast was superb. In addition, the location was perfect. Local attractions were so conveniently closeby. We had a wonderful picnic in the park just minutes away. We visited Bird in the Hand , The Kitchen Kettle Village, and had a wonderful dinner at Good and Plenty Family Restaurant. Lynn gave us directions, borchures and coupons to all these events. We only stayed 3 days, but I wish we had stayed longer because there was so much to see and do. I can't wait to go back. Also very romantic, my boyfriend was inspired and proposed to me on our trip.


Outstanding experience

4.4 on August 18, 2008

This was our first B&B experience and it was just wonderful. We found the Inn simply charming and we immediately felt at home. Lynne & Bob were outstanding as hosts. Breakfast was elegant and the menu superb. Looking forward to a return trip.


Our new favorite Lancaster B&B.

5 on August 05, 2008

The innkeepers Lynne and Bob are wonderful hosts. the atmosphere is relaxing and the candlelight breakfast with local fruit fare is a great way to start the day. The inn is conveniently located to all of the Lancaster attractions, but situated close to smaller townships for local shopping. The rooms are charming and the sun porch is a bonus that you won't find in other B&Bs. A+. We will definitely stay here again.


Enjoyable Experience

5 on August 04, 2008

The room was very comfortable. Our hosts were very personable and friendly. Convenient location to places of interest.


Wonderful Walkabout

4.4 on July 31, 2008

Everything from the website/resevation phone call through our two day stay was a restful, romantic rewarding repite. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and spared noeffort to make us feel welcome and at ease. The food and snacks were excellent. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing, quiet get-away.


Great visit

4.2 on July 25, 2008

Nice atmosphere, great food. Wonderful conversation. Would recommend.


Wonderful

4.4 on July 09, 2008

This was our first stay at a B&B.Lynne's warm and bubbly personality made our stay wonderful. She also has great recommendations for attractions and food in the area. The breakfast is beyond outstanding!!!


Our personal favorite B&B!

5 on June 16, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Walkabout two times under theprevious owners. It is definitely our favorite B&B! The rooms are all wonderful. Our 1st time, for our 26th anniversary, we stayed in the Outback Cottage. It was truly a romantic getaway. The 2nd time, July '07, we stayed in the room with the porch and hot tub. Also a wonderful room! It's a very quiet and peaceful location and convenient to all the local attractions, our favorite being the Sight and Sound Theater nearby.


Great

4.2 on May 30, 2008

Great stay

Innkeeper Response
Thanks, mate!


A VERY good day, Mate!

3.6 on May 22, 2008

The Austrailian Walkabout Inn is a charming, well-kept lodging, but it is the hospitality of the innkeepers, Bob and Lynn, that make it outstanding.


Great Hospitality

4.0 on May 21, 2008

Hosts Lynne & Bob went out of their way to make us feel at home. Lynne truly went the extra mile to help with last minute details for the graduation and wedding we were attending. Room was beautiful (bed was a little too firm for me, but fine for my spouse). The road in front of the Inn is a busy one, so there was some traffic noise most of the night. The breakfast was amazing. A wonderful, comfortable Inn. We will return!

Innkeeper Response
We were honored to help with your special events and can't wait to host you again in the near future.


Wonderful Romantic Getaway

5 on February 20, 2008

The Australian Walkabout Inn was a warm, inviting, and romantic B&B. My husband and I both loved our stay and will be sure to visit again. Our favorite part was relaxing in our jacuzzi with some wine and a good movie. The innkeepers were very thoughtful and attentive to our every need. I will be sure to recommend this inn to all my friends and family.


Great place!

5 on January 02, 2008

The Australian Walkabout Inn is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the comfort of a quaint yet classy inn. The service is outstanding and the accommodations are very comfortable. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling to the Lancaster area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. We do our best to make sure each and every guest feels special. It will be our pleasure to host you again in the future!


Hospitality Abounds!

5 on January 01, 2008

The Australian Walkabout Inn B&B has lovely charm. The owners are wonderful hosts, going above and beyond to make sure all guests are comfortable and satisfied. And there are many interesting places and attactions near by to tour and visit and experience.


Wonderful!

5 on January 01, 2008

Warm reception, comfortable beds, very clean and tastefully-decorated rooms, delicious breakfast. Innkeepers Lynne and Bob Griffin are terrific!


A home away from home

4.0 on December 28, 2007

Innkeepers are friendly and thorough. Dexter amenities are wonderful. It is a great place to stay while visiting one of our favorite areas of the state


Great place to stay

5 on December 14, 2007

My husband and I went there for our anniversary. Our room was great, the hosts were friendly and caring, the inn is warm and inviting. There are many things to do in the area or just stay in and enjoy a hot tub or jacuzzi bath.


Great place to stay

5 on December 14, 2007

What a lovely Inn to stay at. Location is great! Warm and relaxing environment. Food was spectacular! Will definitely stay there again. Innkeepers were wonderful and accomodating.


Return visit

4.0 on December 09, 2007

We revisited the Walkabout on Nov 29&30 and found the visit eclipsed our first visit in September. We are awaiting the next opportunity to vist the Lancaster area so we can once again experience royal treatment by the host and hostess! Again, we found the accomodations to be exquisite and the breakfasts were delicious and served in an elegant manner. Less than 15 minutes from Sight and Sound and Living Waters, it is an ideal place to call "home" while you visit. We rate our stay a 10 out of 10!! Irene and Ron Reibie, Pittsburgh, PA

Innkeeper Response
You all are such wonderful guests! We look forward to your return soon in the spring. Thank you for your gracious thoughts and compliments.


Australian Walkabout Inn B & B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $139 - $269
  • Reviews (72) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7174640707
  • Toll free 1-8889255228

Visit Website »

View details

Top