Kennett House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
116 Reviews

Write A Review

Terrific Breakfast, and bed

4.6 on June 27, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, had 2 great breakfasts! Comfortable room and very convenient to downtown and Longwood Gardens, our destination.


I don't believe you could ask for anything better. Everything was superb.

5 on June 18, 2014

Excellent food, very clean, great location. Excellent hostess. Everything was superb.


Good food; happy host.

4.0 on June 07, 2014

Great location for this typical Pennsylvania stone house. Close to town. Easy to find. Rooms are not large. Bed was way too soft. Breakfast was very good. Everything fresh. Our host was cheerful and helpful.


Overnight stay/ visit to longwood gardens

4.6 on June 06, 2014

It was a very enjoyable stay! Very close to the gardens.


Five Stars B&B!

5 on June 06, 2014

In celebration of our 46th anniversary we had the privilege of staying at the Kennett House. We experienced incredible hospitality by Gilja from our arrival through our departure. She prepared a beautiful and most delicious breakfast. Our room was a peaceful retreat which had everything we needed. Did I mention "QUIET"? It was delightful. We took a late afternoon ride through Amish country and returned to enjoy the evening in rocking chairs on the front porch. Now we need to return to explore the town of Kennett Square....just steps away. Thank you, Gilja!


Anniversary Get Away

4.6 on June 02, 2014

Great accommodations and wonderful proprietor. Weather was not good for us, but the host, facility, and location left nothing to be desired.


Lovely weekend in mushroom country

5 on May 29, 2014

Absolutely beautiful inn, lovely grounds, spotless, nice amenities and an excellent. Highly recommended.


Nice place but

3.4 on May 22, 2014

Very nice room and a good location. But the breakfast was nothing special, just eggs, a few pieces of bacon and one slice of toast.


A Lovely Stay in Kennett Square

4.6 on May 11, 2014

The Kennett Square B&B has all of the amenities for a relaxing stay. It is conveniently close to many nice restaurants in town, as well as Longwood Gardens and Winterthur. Gilja, our hostess, was very helpful and provided us with dscount tickets to Longwood Gardens, as well as delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the Brandywine Room-not our first choice but all of the other rooms were booked. It has private bath, but the bath is not connected to the bedroom. I was worried that might be inconvenient, but the bathroom was close enough to the bedreoom that it didn't bother us.


A wonderful place to stay!

4.6 on May 03, 2014

The house is beautifully maintained, and Gilja is very hospitable - and a great cook!


Kennet House

3.4 on April 17, 2014

Great location for walking into town and driving to the gardens. Very clean and quiet.


A lovely stay in a beautiful house

3.8 on March 29, 2014

The owner was friendly and upgraded us to the Longwood suite, a spacious and well-appointed room. Breakfast was very good and she provided helpful recommendations for restaurants in the area.


A Charming B+B

5 on January 02, 2014

It was a very nice B+B with walking distance to town..Gilja was a very nice host who has very good recommendations for what you want to do. Very close to Longwood Gardens.


Lovely serrvice, we will stay again.

4.4 on December 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Kennett House,thank you so much. Pretty room, excellent Inn Keeper and most of all clean. Thank you.


We love Kennett House!

5 on December 25, 2013

We had a lovely time. Breakfast was delicious - made with love. Best value and a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting Longwood Gardens.


Fabulous Stay

5 on December 22, 2013

Everything was wonderful! We will definitely return!


A Gem in the Heart of Kennett Square, PA

4.8 on November 15, 2013

This was my "home" for my wedding day. My mother, aunt & I stayed the night before my wedding. And then we added my hubby for the 1st night of our married life.The day of the wedding Gilja was very accommodating for me and my bridesmaids. We were able to get dressed & take all of our pictures in the house. The house is beautiful and the PERFECT back drop for a wedding party. And breakfast. YUM! Everything was fresh and delicious. I can't wait until our 1 year anniversary to go back.


For all innkeepers

4.8 on November 12, 2013

The atmosphere at Kennett House is so calming and generous and well organized. The linens were high qualit and the pillows fresh. There were no chemical or other fragrances. ( Some comments to innkeepers in general: I have stayed at several bed and breakfasts recently. I think Innkeepers must be very mindful of the quality of bed linens , the freshness and type of pillows and the avoidance of fragrances. )


Outstanding B&B experience

5 on October 31, 2013

Gilja was an absolutely wonderful host. We have stayed in quite a few B&Bs across the U.S., and Kennett House is one of the best. We'll go back and would highly recommend this B&B to friends. Thank you so much Gilja!!!


We had a great experience!

4.4 on October 17, 2013

The setting, house, proprietor, and breakfast were all lovely!


KH B&B

5 on October 16, 2013

Great place to stay, very helpful for the area.


Kennett House B&B

4.2 on September 26, 2013

Clean & Quiet. Awesome French Toast. Thank you!


wonderful spot

4.4 on September 21, 2013

beautiful home- well maintained and landscaped- hostess Gilja welcoming and helpful- she is an excellent cook- breakfast made you wish she also cooked dinner- location several blocks from downtowm


The Place to Stay

5 on September 11, 2013

My wife and I went to Kennett Square for several events this past weekend - Longwood Gardens - Brandwine River Museum (Wyeth fans) and the mushroom festival. Kennet House B and B was eveything we could have asked for. Service was excellant, rooms spotless and comfortable, allthe necessary amenities, breakfast was exceptional. Given the opportunity we will without a doubt stay there again. I give this my strongest recommendation.


A Good B&B for touring in Dupont country

4.0 on August 12, 2013

This B&B is at a great location for touring in the Chadd's Ford, Kennett Square area. Longwood Gardens, Wintherthur, Brandywine Museum, and others are just a short drive away. The innkeeper is very helpful and gives good advice on dining and visiting points of interest. Nearby Kennett Square has a number of nice restaurants.


A restful night in Kennett Square

4.8 on August 07, 2013

We stayed overnight at Kennett House on a wonderful summer day. It is in an extremely convenient location, just on the edge of the Kennett Square downtown historic district. You can walk to everything! Gilja is a delightful and helpful host and her breakfast was outstanding. The room was comfortable and I would have given it an outstanding, but it was the only room in the house that had a detached bathroom. This is the second time we have been to Kennett Square and the second time we have stayed with GIlja. We will return to Kennett Square one day and we will stay at Kennett House. Good value, great service and dining and gracious host.


Comfortable, Interesting House

5 on August 07, 2013

Everything was excellent. This home is so interesting with its thick granite walls. Very quiet. Immaculate throughout. Close to several good restaurants in downtown Kennett Square. We ate at Byrsa Bistro and can highly recommend it. (Make reservations.) Also convenient to Longwood Gardens (which also has an unexpectedly wonderful restaurant, too.). Breakfast at the Kennett House was yummy fresh fruit and French toast. I don't particularly like French toast but, honestly, this was absolutely delicious. If visiting Longwood Gardens, I don't think you can beat this anywhere in the area.


Anniversary Getaway

4.8 on August 05, 2013

I would definitely recommend the Kennett House Bed & Breakfast. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. In addition, there are many restaurants close by to have lunch or dinner. Also, the innkeeper at Kennett House made the best french toast!


An oasis!

3.6 on August 02, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Kennet House B&B. The service was excellent and the Inn Keeper was very friendly: Des & Liz, Sweden


Perfect respite in hometown

5 on July 26, 2013

Lovely stay during brief return to hometown. Breakfasts were simply perfect.


1 night stand

4.2 on July 20, 2013

First time in this area of Pennsylvania. Owner was very very cordial and friendly. There was only one other couple in the house so we had a wonderful breakfast all at one table with our hostess sitting down after breakfast participating in the our conversations. The room was very nice and we had a small sitting room plus a nice bathroom. the house was well appointed and very clean. we would recommend it as it was walking distance to 'downtown' Kennet Square.


We will return!

5 on July 07, 2013

Kennett House is a delightful B&B. The rooms are spacious, clean, light, and very comfortable. And the breakfast is SUPERB!


Brandywine room stay June 2013

4.6 on July 01, 2013

A charming house built in 1910 with the interior woodwork finely refinished. Finely appointed throughout with accent pieces of the innkeeper-owner's Japanese heritage appropriately placed. The well-manicured and beautiful grounds of shrubs, trees and perennials reflect the nearby Longwood Garden


Outstanding weekend getaway!

5 on July 01, 2013

My husband & I book a weekend getaway at Kennett House B&B in early June, and our gracious host made the weekend fabulous! We stayed in the Delaware Room, which was very comfortably appointed and perfect for our needs. Our breakfasts were feasts - lovely fresh seasonal fruit, amazing french toast, and melt-in-your mouth mushroom omelets! Lots of little extras made it feel like a luxurios getaway. Kennett House was in walking distance to downtown, and close to many wonderful sites. I would highly recommend this B&B, and we look forward to staying again there again soon. Many of the restaurants in town are wonderful, but if you have the time, "Catherine's Restaurant" in nearby Unionville is amazing - about 15 minutes away. It is perfect for either a scrumptious dinner or a leisurely brunch. Their Mushroom Soup with Lump Crab Meat is to die for! This was a recommendation from a local and they were spot-on for a special place to have dinner our last evening in town.


A great weekend at Kennett House!

4.2 on June 29, 2013

Nice, quiet, lovely stay. A beautiful house & gracious hostess.


Outstanding B&B

5 on June 28, 2013

We had a lovely visit to Kennett Square and surrounding area capped off with the excellent hospitality of Gilja at the Kennett House. Best kept secret in the area!!


Great B&B in downtown Kennett Square

4.6 on June 17, 2013

Great little B&B in downtown Kennett Square. Rooms very nice, inn keeper very thoughtful and accommodating. Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast this time, but will certainly try on our next visit.


Home Away From Home

4.2 on May 26, 2013

This B&B made our visit to the Kennett Square area outstanding


Wonderful experience

4.8 on May 26, 2013

We took two rooms for three nights. Our son and wife joined us to celebrate Mother's Day weekend. The house is charming. We had no issues with noise from other guests, even though it was full. Breakfasts are elaborate. Gilja was kind enough to vary the menu for my wife who is diabetic. Location for sightseeing is perfect. We plan on coming back to see all the things we didn't have time for and will stay here again.


Delightful!

5 on April 22, 2013

We had a delightful visit to Kennett House. We enjoyed the upgrade, the food, the other guests and Gilja. Hope to return sometime in the future.


Pleased

5 on April 07, 2013

Proprietor is friendly and very helpful in providing directions to local sites.


A Very Pleasant Stay

4.8 on February 11, 2013

Our host, Gilja, was welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, and considerate. Breakfasts were delicious. We will recommend Kennett House to family and friends.


Kennett House Is Great

5 on January 22, 2013

The Kennett House B&B has 4 rooms. We stayed in the Delaware Room on the 2nd floor and on the back for two nights There was no noise and the room was immaculate. The cleanest B&B we have visited. The breakfasts were outstanding with fruit, juice, banana loaf, coffee, and eggs and bacon first morning, and pancakes and sausage the next morning. We recommend Gilja Kusano's B&B as an outstanding place to stay.


Exceptional B&B!

5 on January 06, 2013

From the moment we entered this well-maintained, beautiful inn, we felt at home. Host Kusano-san provided thoughtful guidance for touring and dining in the area, and discounted tickets to Longwood Gardens. She cooks a scrumptious breakfast and was a delight to share the day's adventures with. Having lived in Japan, we also shared a common interest, but that's not necessary to thoroughly enjoy this well-appointed, well-located inn.


Everything It Is Described to Be

3.2 on December 26, 2012

I researched the Kennett House online before booking. All the positives I read are true -- very nicely restored historic home; clean, inviting, well-located, reasonably priced. Nice hostess, good breakfast. I would stay there again


Birthday Getaway

5 on December 03, 2012

Kennet House was charming, comfortable and inviting. We stayed there to celebrate a birthday, and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The proprietor asked about our breakfast wishes when we checked in and did not disappoint.


Great place to stay in southern PA

4.6 on November 14, 2012

Room was lovely and cozy, hospitality was superior


Wonderful weekend in Kennett Sqare, PA

4.2 on October 18, 2012

All of the people that we met on our weekend, starting with the warm and gracious innkeeper, made this one of our best experiences at a B&B.


Gilja-the hostess with the mostest

5 on August 27, 2012

This is our second stay at Kennett House and it was most demanding on our hostess. At around 4A.M., I was stricken with severe back spasms so severe tht we had to call the rescue squad to take me to the hospital. She drove my wife to the hospital on at least three occasions and drove me back to the inn when I was discharged. She even checked on is when we got home. You cannot ask for a kinder, gentler soul. Thank you a million times Gilja.


Lovely B&B

4.2 on August 22, 2012

Not a negative thing to say about the Kennett House B&B. Breakfast was delicious, especially the french toast! Gilja was a warm and friendly host. If we ever visit Kennett Square this is where we want to stay!


One of the best B& B's I ever stayed at.

4.8 on August 21, 2012

This is one of the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty. The bathroom amenities were a nice touch and the towels were so soft. My husband and I would love to return. The Innkeeper was lovely. M and T


A great place to stay.

4.4 on August 20, 2012

Charming house with a great front porch with rocking chairs, etc. Gilja was an excellent hostess, taking care of every detail. Breakfast was exceptional. We'd gladly return. Mike & Meg


Home away from home

4.6 on August 16, 2012

Just what you want from a B&B, lovely historic house, very comfortable accommodations, great location and, in Gilja, a charming and welcoming hostess. Since we're visiting family this trip we didn't dine with her this time but her breakfasts are always lovely. Three ensuite rooms and a fourth with convenient and spacious facilities. The rooms are sizable, nicely decorated and have very comfortable mattresses. We will definitely stay again.


beautiful, a little pricey

3.6 on July 21, 2012

This is a gorgeous home, kept meticulously, with every little extra in the bathroom. The hostess is reserved at first, but warms up nicely if you show interest. She does have her ways of making extra dollars.


Excellent b&b in Kennett Sq PA

4.8 on July 19, 2012

This was a nice arts and crafts home just a short walk from downtown Kennett SQ. Clean cozy well-appointed rooms; large common living room, wrap around porch, dining room and breakfast nook. Not much open at 6pm on a sunday night in town; we had to drive to chadds ford to get dinner and drinks. Hostess Gilja had discounted tickets to longwood gardens and other tourist info in one room of the house. Would definitely stay there again.


A wonderful getaway. Would go again.

4.2 on July 19, 2012

We went to celebrate our 44th anniversary and wanted a place where we could relax when not visiting local attractions. This was it. Lovely, quiet, very clean and with a wonderful breakfast served all three days. Could not ask for a better hostess. Gilja even brought umbrellas to a local restaurant when it started to rain. We left feeling she was a member of our family. Although the temperature outside was 100 degrees inside was very comfortable. The room was spotless, nicely decorated with ample light for reading and a fan above the bed. Next time we will get a room with a bigger bed since we seemed to roll towards the middle on the fluffy mattress. Dining suggestions on the web site were great. If planning to eat at any of them make sure you reserve well in advance. The two places we tried in town were just o.k. We will be going back in the fall.


Birthday Getaway

5 on July 13, 2012

Gilja goes out of her way in paying attention to details. Her gift of flowers for my wifes birthday was above and beyond. Her breakfasts are alway a joy. We have been there 4 times and never been dissapointed.


Sunday night Kennett House stay

3.8 on July 12, 2012

Charming building with beautiful gardens very convenient to Longwood Gardens. The hostess was very pleasant but we were a bit nonplussed that she never offered us her name. The food was good, though again we were surprised when offered the choice of French toast or eggs Benedict...we were informed we both had to choose the same option, which was neither our expectation nor our preference.


A perfect 4th of July getaway

4.8 on July 09, 2012

We came to Longwood Gardens for their Fireworks and Fountains show, and the Light exhibit. Since we live a few hours away, we wanted a B&B so we wouldn't have to drive home that night. We found Kennett House through the Longwood Gardens website, along with about a dozen other B&Bs in the area. After checking reviews and prices, I decided on Kennet House. Gilja is a warm and hospitable innkeeper. The rooms were IMMACULATE and well stocked. Nice thick towels in the bathroom, robes, and all the "ammenities" you'd expect to find in a hotel... shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryer, plus some extras like q-tips and flossers! My ONLY complaint (and I'm sure it's due to ease of maintenance) is that the rooms were carpeted with industrial carpet and it was uncomfortable to walk barefoot. But, a very minor issue. Breakfast was lovely! My husband and I have special dietary needs (I'm gluten intolerant) and Gilja went out of her way to accommodate us and ensure that we had a delicious breakfast that met our needs. I'd highly recommend Kennett House, and will certainly consider staying there again if we come for the Fireworks and Fountains show!


Comfy, friendly stay

4.0 on July 09, 2012

We stayed in the Delaware room and thoroughly enjoyed its charm and comfort. Every need is anticipated. Great shower, comfy bed and the sitting area is charming and roomy. Our hostess was very friendly and accomodating without intruding on our time and space. The house is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this lovely bed & breakfast.


Kennet House

4.4 on July 09, 2012

It is a lovely 1910 home with beautiful woodwork. Bed and linens were so comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. We enjoyed reading in the living room downstairs. Lots of nice areas to sit and visit. It is very close to Longwood Gardens and the innkeeper was helpful and friendly. We hope to stay there again.


Quality B &B

4.2 on July 05, 2012

We stayed at the Kennett House B&B for our fifteenth anniversary. What a wonderful property! It's a great location for visiting Longwood Gardens and nearby wineries. The owner is very gracious and welcoming and attended to everything we needed. Would definitely stay again.


Best B & B we have visited

5 on June 26, 2012

This is by far the best bed and breakfast we have visited. The rooms were clean and comfrotable; the bathroom was clean and was stocked with little things that you normally would see in a 3 or four star hotel (dental floss, qtips, facial pads, etc.). Breakfast was wonderful (one was 3 courses), the public rooms quiet and inviting. Gilja was very welcoming and provided many helpful tips for our stay, including Longwood Gardens tickets. We will defintitely stay here again when in the area. Just a lovely, lovely experience.


One of the best

4.8 on June 20, 2012

Beautiful house, well maintained, with a lot of attention to detail. And the breakfasts (we stayed three days) were the best ever. Gilja, who runs the place and prepares the food, should open a restaurant tomorrow and serve every meal! Easy walking distance to the small town, easy access to all the area sights: I can't recommend it highly enough.


Made our 10th wedding anniversary special

4.6 on May 22, 2012

The innkeeper, Gilja, was very sweet and accommodating. The house is lovely, peaceful and quiet and close to Longwood Gardens and our favorite little Mexican restaurant, La Pena. The house is within walking distance of Kennett Square so no car needed for strolling through town.


Worked for us!

4.8 on May 14, 2012

excellent place to stay, Innkeeper cheerful, helpful, excellent cook


It was very pleasant stay

5 on April 29, 2012

we vere take care of and very welcomed. Anytime once more!


Two winter nights at Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

4.0 on January 23, 2012

Recently my wife and I spent a couple of nights at Kennett House Bed & Braekfast in kennett Square, PA. Nearby Longwood Gardens had their evening Christmas decoartive lights on for the last t ime this season. It was a short drive from the B&B and spectacular braithtakingly beautiful. Our stay tthe B&B was very enjouable our hostess Gilja took personal care of the gustes; breakfasts at her place were superb. Her careful attention to detailsmade the trip more enjoyable. On her recommendation we took a trip to the winder VALA which is also nearby teh tasting is free if you bring Kenneett House B&B note with you. Overall we like it very much and planning to spend a three day weekned innear future.


Kennett House B and B

4.6 on January 05, 2012

This was such a nice place -- easy to walk to all the shops and restaurants. Would stay there again!


Lovely place to rest

5 on January 03, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the week after Christmas. Arrived tired from the hectic pace of holiday preparations and family visits, all great but exhausting while working full-time. Gilja welcomed us graciously and was helpful throughout our stay. Our room was soothing and we slept well on excellent mattress. Our private bathroom was immaculately clean, and had a modern shower and a quiet fan. Breakfasts included lots of fresh fruit. We enjoyed the common area on the second floor in a shallow alcove by large windows, sitting at a big, round wooden table where we shared our eggnog, their snacks, and great conversation with another 2-career couple. Not only is the Kennett House a great place to stay, but also it is only 2 miles or so from Longwood Gardens which is beautiful any time of year.


Longwood Getaway

4.6 on December 16, 2011

This gem is situated right on main street, near all the shops, some great restaurants, and only a few minute drive from Longwood Gardens. Gilja is a real sweetie, and her french toast tastes like heaven. I cannot believe how HUGE the bed was in our room, I was swimming in feathery soft goodness. Loved it! Check out the Half Moon Saloon. It was just a short walk away, and was fantastic, too!


Perfection!

5 on December 12, 2011

My husband and I came to Kennett Sqaure for a little romantic getaway . We couldnt be more pleased with this Bed and Breakfast. Kennett house was a warm home away from home! The breakfast was some of the best cooking around! Our room was just perfect , everything and then some! I love the eye for detail as well ! I cant not wait to go back around May! Kennett house has become our new favorite getaway !


Our babymoon getaway at Kennett House B&B

4.2 on November 12, 2011

We stayed at the Kennett House B&B for a relaxing weekend away to have one last trip together before our baby arrives in February. The house was spacious and very clean, cozy and inviting! Gilja, the innkeeper, was friendly and warm and made a great breakfast each morning (each of the 3 mornings was either french toast, omelettes, or pancakes + a first course with each). The location of the house was perfect - right at the corner of State Street, a 5 minute walk to shops and restaurants. We chose to stay in the Longwood Suite and loved it - the bedroom and sitting room were very well sized and the bathroom was great too, right off the sitting room. The suite was at the top of the stairs and right near a sitting area for all B&B guests to enjoy (but no one ever made noise) - there were always water bottles for us as well as space to store our things in the fridge. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend Kennett House B&B!


Great Experience!

5 on October 13, 2011

Gracious hostess, superb breakfasts, above-average room! Clean, large and very comfortable - was like being at home. Would return in a heart-beat!


Pleasant Stay

4.4 on September 30, 2011

The people were very pleasant, the house clean and well maintained. It all made for a very nice stay.


mushroom festival

5 on September 14, 2011

Perfect location to festival, 1 block away, can park your car on N.Garfield St, Gilja the host is a sweet woman, great time and stay!!! You will not be disappointed!


Incredible experience!

4.8 on September 01, 2011

We could not ask for anything more - our innkeeper Gilja took such great care of us, and everything from the room (we stayed in the Longwood Suite) to the amazing breakfasts were outstanding. If you plan to stay anywhere near the Kennett Square area, I highly recommend this B&B!


A++++

5 on August 25, 2011

Was a great experience! Would recommend it and will try to get back there again. Nice little resturants and pubs within walking distance


Lovely place!

3.4 on August 23, 2011

I would definitely stay there again. Very easy to find, close to downtown Kennett Square and Longwood Gardens, lovely place, delicious food.


Wonderful time

3.4 on August 10, 2011

Gilja was a wonderful hostess. Our room was large, decorated nicely, bathroom was a little odd. The towel rack was not near the sink, but just a little something to get use too. But the breakfast was amazing. Both meals were wonderful, and Gilja stuffed us both with wonderful, local, fresh food. Thank you for making our 5th Wedding Anniversary so special.


Best B&B ever!

5 on August 08, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Kennett House B & B in Kennett Square, Pa. A great weekend getaway with friends. The old house is immaculate, very well kept, and we felt so comfortable and cared for by Gilja, the owner/innkeeper. Air-conditioned room, comfortable bed, well stocked bathroom. Would definitely return here and highly recommend for a getaway or for visiting sites nearby like Longwood Gardens or Winterthur. Thanks, Gilja.


Great Getaway

4.6 on August 06, 2011

The Inn was beautiful and quiet. It was like we had the whole place to ourselves. Everything was clean and up to date. The bathrooms were magnificent. Would definitely stay there again.


Great trip.

4.4 on August 01, 2011

Gilja was a great host. The house was immaculately clean and decorated in a way that made us feel very comfortable and at home. The location is in walking distance of downtown Kennett Square and about 10 min away from Longwood Gardens. Breakfast had a great display and was delicious. I would not hesitate to stay here again.


NIght Away

5 on July 22, 2011

We just wanted a one night getaway, and couldn't have been more pleased. Everything from our warm welcome to the minute we left was enjoyable. The inn and the room were both lovely (and spotless!). The breakfast was delicious and the tiny room where we were seated was very cozy. It is close enough to walk into town so that was nice to not have to drive anywhere. Gilja was personable and helpful, but certainly not overbearing. We hope to return and to also tell our friends about Kennett House if they are looking for a night or several away.


Graciously Accommodating Host and Facilities

4.8 on July 07, 2011

We enjoyed being able to have coffee before breakfast and relaxing with tropical drinks on the spacious porch in mid-afternoon.


Great Spot for Quick Local Getaway

5 on June 28, 2011

My wife and I took a quick parental R&R trip (we only live 10 minutes away). Everything about this B&B was great. The house is spotless, the rooms are perfectly appointed and Kim outdoes herself in the kitchen with amazing breakfasts. We would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quick getaway or vacationing in the area. Its walking distance to the shops/restaurants in Kennet and very close to many of the local attractions.


wonderful place to stay!

4.0 on June 18, 2011

With a quick one-night stay, we couldn't have asked for a nicer, more affordable place. The house is gorgeous and super clean, and our room was well appointed, even down to the detail of beautiful robes for a very short trip to the bathroom (which was just down the hall a step, and not a problem at all). If we get back to Kennett Square, this is where we'd stay again!


Creme de la Creme of Bed & Breakfasts

5 on June 02, 2011

Our visit to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast was a wonderful, memorable one. Gilja's hospitality is unsurpassed. Gilja provided fabulous comfort and pampering (the beds are so comfortable, we all had a terrific night's sleep; the linens cozy; the towels & robes luxurious) the rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfasts were eagerly awaited with excitement and anticipation of what was to come with the use of many local produce & foods - fresh & delicious - the presentation and attention to detail with the table setting is impeccable. The design and decor is just beautiful. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels in Europe and the US and I can attest that Kennett House should be awarded 10 stars. Truly an outstanding job. Gilja was very helpful and knowledgeable about local sights - Longwood Gardens, museums, wineries, restaurants, events, nature trails and there is a treasure trove of brochures and booklets for her guests to take. She had made arrangements for us to visit at terrific local winery for tastings (paired with local cheeses, bread and chocolates) while listening to some great live jazz performed outdoors at the vineyard. She gave us invaluable advice about Longwood Gardens nd it really made a huge difference. It was my father's 79th birthday and Gilja had arranged for a delicious selection of cheese, crackers, nuts & dried fruit & a lovely local wine setup for our arrival to start the celebration of my father's birthday. I know he felt very special and enjoyed it very much, as did we. We plan to visit again soon and will certainly recommend Kennett House to friends and family. Highly, highly recommend Kennett House Bed & Breakfast


My East Coast Home

5 on May 31, 2011

I travel to the east coast once a year and always stay at the Kennett House B&B. Gilja (innkeeper) has always made me feel welcome and comfortable. She remembers what is important to you and makes that available each stay. For me it is coffee first thing in the morning. At 7am there is always a pot of fresh coffee for me in the sitting area outside my room. She makes you feel like a long awaited friend who has come to visit.


Lovely B & B in charming small town

5 on May 28, 2011

The room and the rest of the property were delightful. The innkeeper was charming and very knowledgeable regardind the area. The breakfast was delicious. We would definately stay there again.


Arrival time issue

2.8 on May 27, 2011

I had two problems with the B&B. The main one was that no one was there when we arrived at 4:30, although the house is supposed to be open at 4:00. When the innkeeper returned, she said she had gone out because we had listed 5:00 as our estimated time of arrival--a piece of information the B&B requests and which is hard to provide with certainty. We showed up before five because had gotten to Longwood Gardens earlier than expected and were tired from walking and ready to call it a day, and it seems to me that if the open hours are listed as 4:00 to 7:00, someone really ought to be there. The most irritating element of this was that the owner insisted several times that we, not she, was responsible for the problem, which seemed foolish customer relations. We also didn't particularly like our room, which was two little alcoves, not very attractively decorated, but that was a poor choice on our part; another room that I saw later was more attractive. The old house itself is a lovely building, but some of the furnishings--especially the pictures--don't measure up to the quality of the property. All-in-all I wouldn't stay there again, which is too bad. It's a fabulous location for Longwood Gardens, and the town of Kennett Square is charming, with lots of eating options. Other clients might be perfectly happy.


Tim and Elaine at Kennett House B & B

4.4 on May 20, 2011

Gilga was a great host. Elaine and I were running late (FIVE HOURS) and Gilga called us to make sure everything was o.k. The rooms were quaint, quiet, private and comfortable - though I wish the bed didn't creak so much - and the private bathroom was a nice touch. The breakfasts were wonderful, simplistic, good portions and great tasting. When we come back to Kennett Square we will make our reservations here at Kennett House B&B!! Thanks Gilga.


My first bed and breakfast

5 on May 05, 2011

I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and I enjoyed the experiece. The house was lovely and the service was great. We had breakfast in a lovely room with a fireplace looking out on the blooming trees. I would certainly try this again.


Kennett House in Kennett Square

4.0 on April 26, 2011

Gilja is a charming hostess. The house itself is lovely, and our room, a small suite, was perfect for us.


Blessedly Free of Victoriana Kitch

3.8 on March 30, 2011

Blessedly free of Victoriana kitch, this B&B grants every wish. Beautiful house, hostess with a delightful Japanese grace, and the best damn French toast ever.


Kennett House--a Rock Solid Deal

5 on March 12, 2011

Gilja Kusano is an exceptional owner/hostess and goes out of her way to make you feel right at home. The inn was immaculate and the food was superb. In our conversations Gilja told us that her goal had been to provide excellent accomodations and a superb breakfast. She has succeeded with both. We plan to return to the are in a month and will pick her place again.


Valentine's Weekend in Kennett Square

4.6 on February 17, 2011

When my Valentine asked me to arrange a special weekend without her input the pressure was on! I chose Kennett Square for it's proximity to Longwood Gardens, the Brandywine River Museum and what looked (via the internet) like a charming downtown. I chose Kennett House because it looked convenient to these attractions and I am so glad I did. This was our first visit. The website does not do this inn justice. We stayed in the Longwood Suite, which is larger than it looks in the on-line photos. It was clean and comfortable, with Many homey touches. The bed was very comfortable; we are still talking about the great sheets! Gildja, our hostess was friendly and warm. She was very concerned that we knew all the local spots. Breakfast was amazing. True to the website, the inn is a short walk to the center of town. There are plenty of nice places there to shop and eat. Despite this, the neighborhood around the inn was very quiet. We would stay there again. I gave a "met my expectations" rating for value because it cost as much as I would have expected. PS - my valentine was very happy.


Great stay!

5 on February 09, 2011

What a wonderful weekend. The location is excellent, the house is beautiful and the hostess, Gilja was very warm and friendly. Breakfast was just the icing on the cake. We look forward to staying there again in the spring.


Wonderful stay!

4.6 on January 13, 2011

The innkeeper was delightful. It was our 25th Anniversary and her little attentions and lovely personality really helped to make it special. The breakfasts are so artfully served in a very comfortable atmosphere. Kennett House is close to walking downtown and of course within short drives of all the nearby sights of the Brandywine Valley. Our innkeeper offered suggestions for dining. We went to Longwood Gardens for the day and despite the cold, enjoyed the grounds and conservatories. This was our second trip to Kennett House and it is definitely in our plans for future trips.


Lovely House

3.6 on December 08, 2010

Spent an excellent three nights at this lovely home during the fall season. Kennett Square is situated in a pleasant region, convenient to museums and a host of other tourist attractions, but the B&B itself was a few blocks away from the main part of town; not a major deal, but the house was a bit detached from the "action." Owner/host Gilja was pleasant and helpful and served up a great breakfast each morning.


A wonderful "find" in Kennett

5 on November 22, 2010

The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast exceeded my expectations in every way and the location couldn't be beat. There are wonderful restaurants and shopping within walking distance. I even walked to the local YMCA (that recently won the distinction as the Y with the best service) and was treated like a local!


Friendly and helpful owner, good location, good accommodations

3.8 on October 20, 2010

Friendly and helpful owner, good location, good accommodations


The first of many stays.

4.2 on October 12, 2010

The Kennett House was a terrific B&B. The owner was wonderful as was her breakfast offering. We also enjoyed visiting with two great guys from Britain at breakfast. We would most definitely stay there again.


Great value, a gem

4.4 on October 11, 2010

This B&B was a great surprise. Gilja was an exceptional innkeeper/hostess. Meals were wonderful and the place is historic, charming and very clean. Terrific location to Longwood Gardens, a must see.


Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on September 17, 2010

This is a beautiful Inn that has wonderful rooms and beds, Lovely host with delicious breakfast, Loved it.


You can go home again

4.2 on September 13, 2010

Highly recommend--beats any hotel (if you can live without room service). Stayed in Longwood Suite and loved it, very spacious and quiet. Very private, almost like having house to yourself. Everyone will love Gila who is a perfect host and an incredible cook. Photos on web don't do house justice and don't give the peaceful feel you can only experience there. Must admit somewhat of a subjective bias -- I grew up in Kennett Square in the sixties and early seventies and have been gone for over thirty years. The original owner of the home was a friend of mine so being in Kennett and staying in his home had added meaning to me. My emotinal connection aside, the home and the service speak for themselves and they say you can't help but love this place.


Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

4.0 on September 07, 2010

Everything was lovely; the food, the view, all the small touches was just right. The owner was cheerful and pleasant and went out of her way to be accommodating.


Nice People

3.4 on January 12, 2010

Nice to have a choice of breakfast time. Room very comfortable - roomy little touches like space for luggage and room in bathroom as well. Sweet innkeeper!


Christmas Vacation

4.6 on January 08, 2010

We planned our stay around a coupon for a free night. We stayed in the Longwood Suite. Our stay was pleasant, just what we needed. The breakfasts were delicious.


This is a jewel. Without reservations.

5 on October 11, 2009

I meant to write this review a year ago, but now, after a second five day visit, I can write it with even more enthusiasm and authority. Five stars. There are just four rooms here, each quite different but all completely appointed and clean and fresh as a daisy. They are invitingly comfortable. We didn’t check the labels, but my guess is that the thread count on the linens runs to four digits. The house itself is an architectural jewel. It’s a fine stone house finished inside with rubbed oak, in a style that is close to Craftsman. The attention to fit and finish is meticulous. Like the rooms, everything is always clean and freshly dusted. The woodwork fairly glows in the downstairs sitting room and dining rooms. In Pennsylvania’s warm, humid summer, the air conditioned house is a cool oasis. Owner, innkeeper and chef Gilja Kusan produces simply wonderful breakfasts. Each morning holds a new surprise as well as endless coffee. She herself could not be nicer or more helpful. This recommendation from an experienced road warrior is unqualified. This is where we’ll return whenever in the area. John H. – San Francisco


a nice stay

3.2 on August 07, 2009

It was a beautiful home with lovely grounds. Perfectly suited our needs. Would have preferred a bathroom inside our room or less charge for room


Sheer Bliss

5 on July 30, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at Kennet House(July 25 & 26 2009). What a fabulous experience! The house is so lovely. Gilja is an amazing hostess with great design sense, superb aesthetic, & culinary wizardry! Great attention to detail. We can't wait to return.


Wonderful stay.

4.6 on July 29, 2009

This was my first B&B experience and it couldn't have been better. Gilja was an outstanding hostess. The house was so restful, the beds comfortable, the food excellent. I'm hoping to return in the spring and would like to stay again. I am also recommending Kennett House to family and friends.


An Excellent Escape

5 on November 26, 2008

The Kennett House B and B was fabulous. Gilja was an excellent hostess, giving us great dining suggestions, and preparing delicious breakfasts.


Very Nice!

4.0 on November 06, 2008

Gilja is an outstanding innkeeper. We had a most enjoyable stay at her B&B, and hope to return in the Spring.


a wonderful retreat

5 on August 19, 2008

Rosemary is a wonderful host. Her home is so comfortable and welcoming. It was a pleasure


Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $195
  • Reviews (116) 4.5
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6104449592
  • Fax 1-6104447633
  • Toll free 1-8008209592

Visit Website »

View details

Top