The Minnie Victoria Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

More than pleasantly surprised !!!!!!!!!!

5 on January 06, 2011

I was looking for Christmas gift idea for my husband. We have seen B&Bs on many of our travels and always said, "We should try that once" So, I started my seach two days before Christmas. Jim Thorpe has many options, with different options depending on your likes. I left messages with several innkeepers. When Susan from the Minnie Vic (that's what my husband and I call it now :), her voice and tone over the phone immediately put me at ease. Knowing this was a whole new experience for us, she assured me that we would feel right at home. I asked for the room and plans were set. In the meantime, three other innkeepers called me back to offer a room---I had no interest. Susan had me at "hello" lol I am extremely particular about where I stay/sleep, especially when it comes to cleanliness.... and clutter isn't my favorite either. When we showed up at the Minnie Vic (late by the way---my husband was stuck in NY traffic)..... we were greeted by the sweetest person. Shown our room and given a tour of her beautiful home. 8 Christmas trees---all artificial--- which demonstrates the thoughtfulness of our hostess (I have allergies to live trees) We slept the most peaceful sleep since I can remember. Breakfast was amazing! My husband was so pleased. Susan made us dinner reservations and booked a couples massage nearby. The hospitality was outstanding! We met Kayla the next day---wonderful personailty and terrific conversation. We did not want to leave! We cannot wait to go back! We also want to thank Susan for giving us this incredible experience.


"WON THE B&B LOTTERY BY STAYING HERE!!!!"

5 on November 19, 2010

My wife and I had the three most wonderful days at this B&B! Susan and Kayla went out of their way to make us feel exceptionally welcomed and at home in this magnificent and beautiful B&B. Susan's breakfast were out of this world - she used her catering skills to make each breakfast absolutely delicious and so unique. Kayla, with her travel and education experience, was a delight as she shared her life with us. The room we had was very beautifully decorated and definitely had the "victorian charm" we were looking for in a B&B. We will definitely stay here again in the future and will certainly and highly recommend this "Lottery winning" experience to family, friends and others.


Great find!

5 on August 09, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The Minnie Victorian. The accommodations were marvelous. Innkeeper, Susan Van Why, is a great hostess and a super cook. Located across the river from the main street, shops, and restaurants of Jim Thorpe, The Minnie Victorian is VERY convenient for accessing the downtown area....a 5 minute drive! Everything about our stay was pleasant and comfortable. We highly recommend it and will stay there again when in the area!


What a lovely surprise!

5 on July 21, 2010

My husband and I had been to Jim Thorpe, twice before and stayed at an inn located in the center of town. While I don’t recall having a negative experience at the inn, I do recall having a positive memorable experience at The Minnie Victoria. At first I was reluctant to stay outside of the immediate town but with no other availability; we booked The Minnie Victoria. Its website doesn’t do it justice! The place is absolutely charming, clean and the owner, Susan, is very accommodating. I loved our room with its four-posters bed, large windows, fresh flowers and antique looking chairs. We slept well. At breakfast, which was delicious and filling, I looked around the dining area and marveled at our luck at booking this B&B. Actually it’s not that far away from the center of town, less than a 5 minute drive, much quieter and more reasonably priced. Next time when visiting Jim Thorpe, PA or the nearby vicinity, we’ll book The Minnie Victoria by choice, not by default. We have one suggestion to the owner – please update your website!


Minnie Victoria was a wonderful experience

5 on June 01, 2010

I just stayed at the Minnie Victoria over the recent Memorial Day weekend and my girlfriend and I had a wonderful time. B&B's are all about the owner. Susan was awesome. She accommodated a gluten free breakfast for my girlfriend and whipped up an awesome breakfast every day. The B&B was fabulously appointed with antiques and has a great, manicured backyard where we relaxed one afternoon with a bottle of wine after hiking up to the nearby Glen Okono Falls. Very close (4 minute) to "downtown" Jim Thorpe and parking was plentiful and easy - something we found was not always so easy in the downtown Jim Thorpe area. Susan was very helpful when we inquired about hiking and other area attactions. We highly recommend the MV (as we called the Minnie Voctoria) and will definitely go there again.


Minnie Victoria's service to guests is first rate!

5 on July 26, 2009

This B&B is beautiful inside and out. The service is second to none! Innkeeper Susan Van Why pays attention to every detail to make guests feel like they are at home. Fresh flowers in your room, personalized breakfasts, etc, etc. If you go to Jim Thorpe, PA, take my advice and stay at the Minnie Victoria, for you will have a great experience.


Charmingly Elegant

5 on May 03, 2009

Charmingly elegant describes the wonderful accommodations of this beautiful place and its gracious innkeeper, Susan. Susan's attention to detail,combined with her sincere desire that her "houseguests" feel at home, ensures a Romantic Escape. My husband insists that I mention that the breakfasts were exceptional and quite filling. As for us, this will be the first place we mention when friends ask us for a recommendation! We know we'll go back!!!!


Top Notch Service at Minnie Victoria

4.8 on November 02, 2008

We enjoyed this B&B on a fall weekend. The innkeeper had a bottle of wine waiting for us, was very helpful finding us dining and did great breakfasts. It was only a short drive into the town. Highly recommended!


Very friendly

5 on October 13, 2008

It was like being at home, breakfast was delicious along with her homemade afternoon snack! Susan the Innkeeper is terrific!


Weekend getaway

5 on August 31, 2008

Once we arrived and opened the door, it felt so comfortable and stress free. Susan is such a wonderful happy Lady, she makes feel right at ease. She is a wonderful lady that makes you feel like her family. The bedroom was so bright and confortable. Wonderul place to get away too! We will be back again. Breakfast was awsume!!!!!!!!!! If you are looking for a place to stay, don't hesitate to call, you will love it!!!


The perfect getaway!

5 on August 11, 2008

From the moment we arrived at the Minnie Victoria, my fiance and I felt welcomed and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious, the room was beautiful and clean, and the house... warm and inviting. Susan, the innkeeper and her assistant Kayla were not only helpful but wonderfuly kind and a pleasure to be around. I will continue to bring my business to The Minnie Vicotoria for it was a flawless and amazing stay.


What a wonderful first B&B experience!

4.4 on July 29, 2008

Susan was warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived. She has done an amazing job making the house feel like a true home away from home, including the freshly baked brownies we enjoyed on our arrival. We hope we find another reason to escape to the Minnie Victoria again and would recommend it to our families and friends!


So Perfect!

5 on July 18, 2008

I was deeply moved by Susan'swelcome, arriving a bit too early on a hot day, she cheerfully said, "COME ON OVER! We have been waiting for you all morning!” Right then and there I knew this place was what I had been looking for. I travel a great deal and other places usually say, “check in time 12:00 noon”- very efficiently and business-like. When I heard Susan Van Why’s voice on the phone it was as welcoming as a second cousin who had not seen me in years. When I arrived I was starving and she brought me fresh bakery goods and a cold drink. Plus wine was waiting in the room already. The rooms were so cozy, charming with detail that showed love and care. Each room had a breakfast tray with candy and real fresh spring flowers. I tell all my friends to go to The Minnie Victoria for that special touch that warms your heart and lasts long after you leave. Breakfast was served by a bay window as the sunlight poured in from over the mountain. Susan's tender loving attentiveness equaled the beauty and charm of this turn of the century story book place. It felt as if I were on the set of "MEET ME IN ST. LOUIS". I am a stage actress and I felt as if I were on set. Grateful for a real feeling of visiting Grandma's house. Everything at the Minnie Victoria is wonderful: breakfast, cleanliness, service, information on the area/attractions.


Jim Thrope Secret

3.6 on July 14, 2008

The rooms are nicely furnished but I had the smaller of the three bedrooms with the queen size bed taking up much of the room. The rest of the home was spacious and warmly furnished and the hospitality was great. Susan is sweet and caring. I would definitly go back.


Serenity

4.6 on June 16, 2008

You feel relaxed the minute you walk into this bright, and spotless parlor. With the 12 foot ceilings and the victorian charm - your tension disappears. Susan the innkeeper, is so charming and accomodating, you are instantly at ease. The rooms are so charming, clean and well decorated that you definitely will enjoy your stay. It is slightly off the beaten path of the stores and restaurants, but for those who want to relax after a hard day of hiking, white water rafting or shopping - this is the Inn for you!


Perfect Place to Stay

5 on May 16, 2008

This bed and breakfast is wonderful. Susan is so hospitable and welcoming! The rooms and living areas are clean and decorated with elegant taste. The aroma from the breakfast bacon wisps up the stairs in the morning! The full hot breakfast was more than I could eat and the tasty brownies in the afternoon are delicious. You can relax out on the front porch or take a seat in a lawn chair out back and listen to the neighborhood birds! Staying at the Minnie Victoria was a lovely treat. I will stay here next time I'm in the area!


wonderful place with wonderful service

4.4 on April 28, 2008

a great place to get away - Susan is an wonderful inn keeper who takes great pride in her facility and service. highly recommend to all.


The Minnie Victoria

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $145
  • Reviews (17) 4.8
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5703259992
  • Toll free 1-8662883229
Top