Hill Home Forge Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
18 Reviews

Write A Review

A feast for a hungry soul

5 on July 28, 2014

My sister and I wanted to get away for the weekend we went to Hill Home Forge. Only 2 miles away from town, or a mile the other way to some great hiking trails. Eileen and Nick were wonderful host, the property breathtaking. It was what my sister and I needed to celebrate our lives cancer free. We plan to go back stay longer and bring a friend, we enjoyed it that much! The only regret is we went by motorcycle and had to leave in the middle of tour because of the treat of rain.


Diamond in the rough!

5 on September 24, 2013

We needed a place to stay last minute and we called every hotel and B& B in the area and everything was totally booked. I kept searching and searching and came across this lovely place and i am so glad we did! The room was wonderful and very clean and Nic and Eileen were perfect hosts! We definitely will be going back!

Innkeeper Response
That's a lovely review. Thank you.


Peace and Quiet

4.6 on October 29, 2012

We stayed in the Woodland Loft room to celebrate our 30th anniversary. It was such a relaxing, inviting place! Secluded, but a short drive to town. Nic & Eileen were gracious hosts. We enjoyed our private balcony, as well as sitting on the back porch while waiting for breakfast. Nics stained glass work is amazing! Will definitely go back to this beautiful property again ;o)


Good for the soul

5 on August 05, 2012

Break away from the ordinary and book a visit to this beautiful property! Tucked in the trees,amongst hiking trails and gorgeous scenery, you will discover a peaceful retreat. The rooms are spotless,the breakfasts are tasty and Nic and Eileen are gracious and fascinating. The history behind this property will amaze you. Their hard work and dedication to a dream is yours to enjoy. The artwork and workshop/studio are not to be missed. Bustling downtown Jim Thorpe is only a few minutes away,yet returning "home" will feel like your own private oasis! Been here a few times and always a consistent treat!


More than just a Getaway

4.8 on January 24, 2012

Tucked away in the woods, but not ten minutes from the heart of Jim Thorpe is this amazing art treasure of Hill Home Forge. Cozy, friendly, accommodating, and good food. It had it all, including art lessons!


Just a Great Weekend

4.8 on February 13, 2011

I just wanted to share an excellent experience I had at Hill Home Forge in the cozy town of Jim Thorpe, Pa. I booked this weekend in search for a romantic and quality experience and I was not disappointed in the least. The rooms were immaculate and had everything you thought you forgot. All furniture and appliances were in "like new" condition and finally I found a bed that I could actually sleep in comfortably. The breakfast prepared by Eileen with pride was fresh and delicious. Nic was an excellent host and he shared some very interesting stories about the area if you were interested in knowning about them and if you weren't, he sensed it and just let you relax. Eileen and Nic are gifted with artist's flair and it shows throughout the inn. The inn is tucked into the woods far enough but close enough to town that you could be there in minutes. I have been to quite a few bed and breakfasts and I STRONGLY recommend this inn to anyone looking for a sure thing experience. We had the suite for Valentine's Day weekend and guess where we're going next year. Thank you to the wonderful hosts.


Great weekend

5 on November 14, 2010

The room ,service ,hospitality and food all exceed our hopes. The only promblem was that it was a busy weekend in town and parking in town was terrible.My husband and I are looking forward to going back again in spring to hikeand enjoy the area around the inn


Wonderful!

5 on November 02, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hill Home Forge this past summer and absolutely loved it. Nic and Eileen made us feel welcome from the time we got there, and the place was warm, welcoming and quaint. They have some interesting decorations around, thanks to Nic's artwork. The location is just outside of town, so you would have to drive into downtown Jim Thorpe, but that worked really well for us, and being about a mile outside of town let us feel distanced from the downtown scene and more in a country setting. The food was also phenomenal. I could not say enough good things about Hill Home Forge and we would definitely stay there again.


A Unique Experience!

3.6 on October 27, 2010

This stay was a present to my husband. I thought he would enjoy learning about working with stained glass and he had a good time and learned a lot about the process. Nic and Eileen have done an amazing renovation on their home and Nic was full of information and enthusiasm for his work. The breakfasts were delicious and it is worth the time to get away to such a unique place.


Perfect mixture!

4.4 on October 18, 2010

Hill Home Forge was the perfect place to stay if you wanted to visit Jim Thorpe but not stay in the down town area. The Forge was surrounded by nature and hiking trails but then was only a 5 min drive into town. The artwork was also extremly interesting and beautiful! We loved it and will be going back!


Peaceful forest getaway

4.2 on October 14, 2010

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the immediate comfort we felt at Hill Home Forge. It is minutes from the historic district, yet completely isolated in the woods. We fell asleep to the sounds of crickets and awoke to visions of the sun streaming through the autumn leaves via the multiple windows in our room. Breakfast was also outstanding.


Not Your Usual B&B

4.8 on October 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Hill Home Forge for a weekend. It was a beautiful place filled with gorgeous artwork. The breakfasts were delicious, and bed was amazingly comfortable, the peace and quiet was absolute. There were only two problems that might affect some visitors: 1) It is a mile and a half outside of Jim Thorpe. You can drive to the town, but then will need to walk from wherever you park, which will probably be a bit of a hike. 2) Your hosts like to talk! That being said, we would gladly stay here again.


A One-of-a-kind Experience

5 on October 10, 2010

Nic and Eileen have created an oasis for those who appreciate the artist, his/her evolution and the art that he/she creates. I enjoyed how they turned their unique home into a B&B of great quality. Don't miss the opportunity to share for a short time the wonderful life and home of these two special people!


got to love this B+B

3.8 on September 10, 2010

Eileen and Nic were great hostess. both were extremtly generous, kind and very understanding of our needs Both did more than expected to assured our stay was nothing but wonderful. Owners made a great exception to accomodate my family and that was very appreciated.we will definitly return back to Hill Home Log and recommend this B+B to our family and friends. Mirta + Brian

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry that Mirta and Brian did not like their room, the value, or the cleanliness. Unfortunately, Mirta booked the Woodland Suite for one couple, and showed up at check-in with two additional adults. I would never have accepted her reservation had I known they were a group of four. The Woodland Suite holds a maximum of three including a single bed sofa bed, and I advertise up to three with an extra charge of $25/day for the third person. I explained to her that she couldn’t fit four people into the Suite. I pondered canceling their stay and refunding their deposit on the spot, but she begged me, and finally I agreed to let them stay provided she pay the extra person fee of $25 per person per night. This raised her bill by $100 plus tax for the two extra adults for two nights. She became agitated when she saw the new amount and said we are too expensive. I fear this set the stage for the other problems. I am known for having a very clean bed and breakfast. My cleaner is a dental technician who goes over everything. The Woodland Suite was clean when they moved in, but they used it very hard. They tried to save money by eating their meals in their room, and I’m sure the sleeping arrangements were tight. The Woodland Suite always gets five stars from couples, but I doubt four people would feel the room adequate. While Mirta was here, she raved about everything to us, and did not complain about her room. That said, I’m sure she was angry about the charge for the extra adults and that moved her to write this review.


Wonderful Private Getaway in Jim Thorpe

4.8 on August 23, 2010

Hill Home Forge accommodations were lovely. It's a great value, super clean, and the hospitality of the innkeepers is great, along with the delicious breakfast. The inkeepers make you feel incredibly welcome in their home which also holds their amazing art studio. Both are artists and the art thruout the house and property is amazing and to be allowed to tour the home and art studio is such a bonus. The location is less than a mile from town and is surrounded by lovely woods, with a trail right down their road and a lake with trails a short 5 minute drive away. They are also helpful with recommendations of what to do in the area.


Outstanding and unique, not your regular B&B

5 on May 28, 2010

You need not be an artist, but you'll feel like you fell into it big time if you are! What a fantastic place. Inspiring, nicely appointed, and the innkeepers are lovely.


Hill Home Forge--An Artistic Oasis

5 on May 27, 2010

Many pleasant surprises await you at Hill Home Forge. This oddly named bed and breakfast stands out above the rest in many aspects: The suites are very clean, proficiently tended with detail, climate controlled (allergen sufferers and asthmatics will surely appreciate this)--with individual heat/air conditioning controls. Each suite has its own fireplace, kitchenette, and modern bathroom. The peaceful mountain setting will leave you feeling a newfound serenity that the hustle and bustle of everyday life is crudely lacking... Yet it is within minutes of bike and hike trails, quaint little shops, and musical entertainment. The delectible meals are carefully prepared with consideration to food allergies and sensitivities, yet teeming with flavor and nutrition. The "stay and play" feature allows you to learn how to make stained glass pieces, or how glass beads are made. Hill Home Forge is part of the Carbon County Art Tours. Multi-media artwork made by the East Family and other local artisans is on display throughout HHF's huge expanse. You will find yourself inspired beyond control--feeling the need to "make something" asap. Check out the boutique for some one-of-a-kind handmade jewelry, glasswork, mosaics, and more. Mere photographs do not do this place justice. You must experience Hill Home Forge for yourself to truly appreciate the excellence of this unique bed and breakfast. Well worth it!!!


Great Romantic Getaway

5 on May 26, 2010

If you are looking for a wonderful place to take your lover for a surprise getaway, try a weekend at Hill Home Forge. When you arrive, you are welcomed into the house by one of the owners like you are coming home. After signing in, you are given maps, menues and keys and shown to your sumptious room. All the rooms are filled with art from modern paintings and sculptures to colorful stained glass. The beds are the most comfortable that we have ever slept on and the views are serene. They have this wonderful porch furnished with multicolored aderondack styled chairs designed by Architect Gerrit Reitfeld that are oh so comefy. The country breakfast is farm-fresh and delicious. Your loved one will be happy you chose Hill home Forge.


Hill Home Forge

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5703250216
  • Fax 1-5703252732

Visit Website »

View details

Top