Sweetwater Farm Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
95 Reviews

Write A Review

Charming & Gracious B&B

3.6 on July 09, 2014

Sweetwater Farm is a lovely B&B. It is set in a gorgeous property. The view from the breakfast room of the beautiful fields with horses is stunning. The room I stayed in was stylish and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious.


Happy time at Sweetwater Farm

4.6 on April 23, 2014

My wife and I received a friendly welcome from all the people we met at Sweetwater. Everybody treated us as most welcome guests and the accommodation and dining exceeded our expectations. We were recommended to stay at the Farm by family and we would certainly recommend Sweetwater to all our friends. We hope that the people at Sweetwater continue to do well as they offer an outstanding service and value.


Spectacular adaptation to modern comfort

4.2 on February 12, 2014

I was blown away by the beauty, quality, and attention to detail of the decor. As a design professional, I marveled at the clever and comfortable uses of unique spaces and the well-chosen antiques. Sweetwater Farm is a tribute to talented and passionate innkeepers.


Memorable comfortable retreat

4.0 on July 25, 2013

Stayed at SWF for a long weekend and enjoyed the comfort, quiet, and atmosphere of this fine B&B. Breakfasts were made to order and excellent. We'd definitely come back.


warm and friendly

4.2 on July 15, 2013

We especially enjoyed meeting the resident animals and having contact with all the friendly canine visitors!!


4th of July get-away

4.6 on July 08, 2013

We had an outstanding stay at the Sweetwater Farm. We arrived late, and the innkeeper was very accomodating in leaving the key and directions to our room. The room was in great condition, very clean and comfortable. The only issue we had was that we didn't know where breakfast was served the first morning! It all worked out fine though - and the food was excellent. The wines were excellent and everyone we talked to were very friendly! All in all, an excellent place to stay!


My husband and I stayed for the first time during Memorial weekend and loved the property, history of the home, decor, lovely plated breakfast, property dogs, horses and livestock and beautiful barn with wine tasting. The green flora was beautifully presented on the grounds!

5 on June 03, 2013

The warmth of the historic home was soothing, the rooms were beautiful, cozy and the gas fireplace warmed the room. I loved seeing the flames and the shadows of the lights from the flames illuminated on the walls. The staff was kind, warm, welcoming and happy. You feel like a part of the family. My husband and I played scrabble in the kitchen at night, we played pool in the parlor and I played the piano. I had a hectic 2 months on long island and this weekend vacation allowed us to decompress, calm down and be happy surrounded by a utopia and many interesting things to do not far from the B&B. We sat on the lovely grand terrace while watching young adults sitting in the adirondack chairs on the property around the fire pit. Laughs and conversation were heard and the cool breeze swept through the property and the flames of the fire pit blew in the breeze and looked like fireflies in flight. I have booked several cottages and rooms in the main house for Labor Day weekend for my family and friends to come. My husband and I truly love Sweatwater Farm and its staff and thank them so much for making our stay a memorable and special one. The vineyards on the property were beautiful and lush, and the wine tasting was fun! The staff explained with knowledge, the types of wines that we tasted and we bought a bottle back to the house with us and drank in the privacy of our warm room. Thank you Thank you!!!


Highlight of our vacation

4.6 on May 10, 2013

Susan and Roger from Boston, MA were delighted with the accommodations at Sweetwater Farms. Would highly recommend this spot if you want a tranquil experience.


Will be returning!

4.6 on April 07, 2013

I stayed here three nights as part of a work conference and long getaway weekend, and the entire grounds are absolutely charming -- definitely off the beaten path but has everything I needed. The bed and linens were amazing, the room was immaculate -- with a working gas fireplace! -- and breakfast each morning was delicious (eggs benedict, pear pancakes, and waffles, made to order!). The only thing I would change is the rain showerhead, but that's a personal preference (I like more water pressure). They graciously accommodated my late arrival, and I will definitely be returning for another long weekend.


Home Away From Home

5 on April 04, 2013

We were so thrilled to find this gem, and it was less than 15 minutes from home! This is the second holiday we've spent at Sweetwater, and what a joy it is to be out on the farm! Farrell and Sean, as well as Alex and Christopher and the entire staff, are exceptional, always happy to see you, and help make your stay memorable. The grounds are so beautiful - we took a walk around the vineyards, fed the horses, enjoyed a tasting in the winery - there's nothing like nature to bring you peace of mind and slow it all down. The daily breakfast is fantastic, with a new scrumptious baked good each morning, and a delightfully new entree each day. For Easter Sunday, we had breakfast delivered to our room, and what a treat that was! Be sure to make time to visit the well-appointed library and cozy up in the window seat to enjoy the terrific selection. Don't hesitate to stay at Sweetwater if you find yourself in the area - you won't be disappointed!


A very nice and welcoming experience

5 on February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay and are planning on returning in the future. We did the wine tasting at Grace Winery on our first night before heading out to dinner. Everyone was very knowledgeable and willing to answer questions about the property and the history of the winery. The B&B was very nicely decorated and maintained. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great. The room was clean and well appointed.


Wonderful setting

3.8 on January 10, 2013

Attententive staff and very friendly.


Could not have been better!

5 on December 13, 2012

What a wedding weekend! We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay along with the other guests and family members.


Wonderful stay at Sweetwater

4.6 on December 03, 2012

We stayed in the Gardener's Cottage - has a gas fireplace. Fantastic stay. Relaxed in record time. The owner and staff are wonderful. Setting is lovely. You will not be disappointed! We loved the animals - dogs, horses, and sheep. Do yourself a favor and visit Sweetwater Farm.


Idyllic B&B

4.4 on July 22, 2012

Sweetwater Farm offers its guests an idyllic setting, complete with winery on site, grazing farm animals, swimming pool. Although you can stay in the inn and have breakfast on the patio, you can also stay in one of the separate cottages. We value our privacy, so we rented a cottage. We wished it had come with a refrig, but we easily walked up to the inn to get ice. We chose to eat our breakfasts in town, but the breakfasts being served looked delicious.


Clean B&B

4.0 on February 25, 2012

Nice & Clean B&B. Very helpful staff. My first wine tasting was awesome and the tour was great. Will likely come back and try to reserve a cottage.


The best place to relax!

4.8 on January 17, 2012

This place was much better than we expected. Friendly innkeepers and service was outstanding. The area is beautiful filled with a lot of history, great parks and museums. The area also has great restaurants. I defitnately recommend this place for anyone! Before we left we were already planning our next trip there.


Wonderful anniversary trip - great spot for a wedding?

4.6 on January 11, 2012

From the welcome note (we had arrived fairly late in the day), to the four kinds of homemade cookies waiting for us, to the pre-warmed bedroom we felt welcomed and pampered throughout our entire stay. Breakfast with fresh juice, coffee, scones, salmon and much more was filling and delicious. Judi, one of the many wonderful staff there, was extremely help and pleasant in discussing sites to see, the facilities at Sweetwater Farm, and people to get to know. The grounds include wonderful facilities for a wedding (Nancy and I are part time photographers). There is ample room in the very updated barn (central air conditioning and an elevator!) for very large celebrations. We enjoyed the various rolling hill views which included ponds, vineyards, and even Bishop, the beautiful horse used for carriage rides, as he breathed clouds of vapor in the beautiful morning sunlight. Quiet and restful, yet invigorating. Chris & Nancy Cameronia.com


Perfect Getaway

4.6 on November 01, 2011

The property is beautiful, quiet and charming. Breakfast was wonderful. A perfect getaway. Brought home a bottle of wine as a souvenier!


Sweetwater is wonderful!

4.8 on October 27, 2011

We've come back to Sweetwater four times during the past few years and will continue to do so. The ambience of the Inn, the beautiful setting, and the companion Grace Winery are simply delightful. The staff is professional, yet always welcoming, gracious and friendly. The family history associated with the Inn just adds to its charm. Breakfast (like the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes) are great! Sweetwater is highly recommended.


Wonderful 2 day stay

4.6 on August 27, 2011

Nicest B&B I have stayed at in the NorthEast. We will be back.


Best Kept Secret

4.6 on August 23, 2011

Sweetwater is beautiful, relaxing and a fantastic place to get away from it all. It has a great location as well, there are wineries nearby, great places to eat among recreational things to do like longwood gardens or the visiting the nearby mansion. I've lost count how many times I've been there and will continue to return! Sean and Farrell also great. Love this place!!


Wonderful stay, even in the rain.

4.0 on August 07, 2011

Very relaxing atmosphere. A helpful and courteous staff, highly recommended.


Charming, quiet farm nestled nearby area attractions

3.8 on August 05, 2011

The room was wonderful and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever had in a hotel. The bathroom was clean and modern and had wonderful toiletries. They were very accommodating to our pet and our room had a large, private deck outside. The breakfast was good and they have other amenities we didn't have time to use - pool, fitness room, disc golf, etc. We were within 15 minutes of West Chester restaurants and had a fabulous dinner. All in all, a relaxing, comfortable, quiet stay. We will definitely keep them in mind for future trips in the Philadelphia area.


Sweetwater Farms

4.6 on August 03, 2011

If you're looking to kick back and relax, this is the place for you. The pace slows down at Sweetwater Farms, even though you're just hours away from New York City, Philadelphia, and Wilmington, Delaware. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts were all outstanding, and the people couldn't be nicer. Liz and Judy, our servers, knew us by our first names by the time our weekend had ended, and Farrell & Sean, the innkeepers, are anxious to see to your every need. An awesome trip. Thank you all!


Great Old Country Estate

5 on August 03, 2011

Sweetwater Farms is a great old country estate. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms very comfortable with exceptional quality linens. The staff (including Brogan the dog) are very friendly and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They are very pet friendly. If you are not into dogs, this might not be the place for you.


lovely setting

3.2 on July 29, 2011

disappointed that coffee maker in room was left with a used filter in it and a 1/2 pot of cold coffee in the pot from previous guest. Bathroom although nicely tiled also had a few ants and a spider. Room smelled smoky from a previous fire in the fireplace from which the ashes and remaining logs were still intact. the fireplace and log grate should have been cleaned out for the next guest whether or not a fire was desired. This would have avoided the smoky smell in the room. The setting is lovely and within easy distance of many area attractions. Pool needed to be skimmed more often to remove insects and debris from overhanging trees. Staff were pleasant and greeted everyone warmly.


Gorgeous property

4.0 on July 25, 2011

Had a wonderful stay in July. The breakfasts were incredible, the staff was very courteous and helpful; though others were staying at the Inn at the same time and a business meeting was being held, we felt as if we were the only 2 people there..it was so peaceful and quiet and we loved the trees that surround the property. The pool was refreshing. We had a lovely stay in the Herb cottage and loved the porch...very private.


Sweetwater Farms- July, 2011

4.0 on July 21, 2011

We stayed in the Sweetwater Fars Bed & Breakfast and enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing retreat. The sumptuous breakfasts add to the delight. This is the place to stay whenever you are in the Chadds Ford/ Glen Mills area. We will return.


Sweetwater Farm cottage

4.4 on July 20, 2011

The property is outstanding. It is perfect for a peaceful, relaxing vacation weekend. The only complaint I have is that the cottage we stayed in was not aired out--windows were shut and the ac was not turned on. It took a few hours for the place to lose its musty and stuffy odor. Once it did, however, the place was absolutely delightful. I suggest that prior to a guest checking in, the windows in the room or cottage should be aired out and the ac be turned on. The breakfast is superb and snacks are available all day in the kitchen. The decor of the cottages is lovely and well maintained.


Serene Escape

5 on July 11, 2011

This was our third annual visit to celebrate our wedding anniversary. First time staying in the Hide-Away Cottage, but, hopefully not our last....we absolutely loved it!!! I felt like we were in our own private villa in Italy or France. All the staff made us feel like family. Delicious gourmet breakfasts served overlooking the beautiful rural landscape.


Wonderful Getaway!

3.6 on July 06, 2011

The inn keepers at Sweetwater Farm are very friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful and the stay was very relaxing. We were able to bring our two dogs with us which made it very enjoyable as well. Hard to find B&B's that will accommodate pets. We stayed in one of the cottages (Herb Cottage) and we were very comfortable. Beautiful grounds, wonderful accommodations. They offer many activities that other B&B's don't. They have also hosted concerts and they have wine tastings with their on site winery.


Wonderful peaceful stay

3.8 on July 06, 2011

Stayed in a charming cottage, enjoyed just lounging on the porch and found a number of photo opportunities right on the property; and, the barn is just lovely.


A sweet, utterly charming spot

3.8 on June 29, 2011

I've started writing this review four times now. Each time I want to say something that "could have improved" the stay. I just can't. The place is a charmer; woods, fields, hills, horses; places where people can congregate, places where you can be completely alone. FOOD: let's talk about food. Maple walnut scones fresh (and i mean FRESH) from the oven; berries and melons garnished with honey yogurt and granola. A sausage and potato bake that was to die for. Omelets that Brillat-Savarin would have been envious of. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer (and, oh yes, the hot tub wasn't working....boo hoo). I'm dying to go back in winter to see the contrast.


This is how to get away!

4.6 on June 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived until we left the staff was available, helpful and at the same time almost invisible. The feeling that we were honored guests and old friends, just remarkable! This was our first experience with B&B and Sweetwater Farm lived up to every expectation and then some! Hope to be able to stay there again soon.


Review

5 on June 22, 2011

All good. Outstanding experience. Friendlty staff, especially the morning wait staff.


One Night Only: Never Enough!

4.6 on June 12, 2011

What a shame to spend just one night at this bucolic B & B - but one night and two days filled with beautiful Winterthur, Longwood Gardens and Tyler Arboretum swept us away from our chore of packing to move at the end of the month! Thanks to the very capable and personable innkeepers and staff. The Herb Cottage is small but comfortable - perfect for a couple's getaway! Great deck, bed, breakfast, doggie-lead hike, goats, wine, surroundings...just be sure to spend more than one night. You won't want to leave!


Exactly as Advertised, and More

4.6 on June 01, 2011

A very homey, relaxing place to come back to after squeezing in several ares tours over 2 days. Inkeepers and staff were very responsive to our needs. Breakfast was outstanding. Brogan was an outstanding guide of the grounds and breakfast companion. Would not hesitate to recommend to others. Hope we can come again for a longer stay. Stayed 5/22 - 5/24/11 Bob & Connie Iseman, retired Floridians


A lovely getaway spot

4.4 on May 31, 2011

Sweetwater Farms is a farm indeed - and yes it is sweet as well. The setting is idyllic and the welcome as warm as one could desire. Our cottage had a little private porch (tree growing through it giving lovely canopy of shade) and overlooked the old barn, the paddock (horses, some sheep and goats) and marvelously old trees. Food plentiful and fresh, advice as to where to visit, how to get there and when best to go was excellent. Had been recommended to me by a friend and now I am doing the same with others. The perfect spot for visiting the Brandywine and I hope to return.


Lovely,perfect inn

4.4 on May 29, 2011

We have stayed at Sweetwater before and find it is the perfect home away from home . We love the treats left out in the evening and being able to read in the library, not stuck up in our room. The grounds are beautiful, and the breakfast was outstanding, different every time we stay. We look forward to staying again.


My New Favorite Place!

4.8 on May 27, 2011

After we got married, my fiancee and I needed a place to disappear and relax. This was it. We arrived and promptly started to shed stress. I love the area, the upkeep of the property was impeccable, the room was beautiful, and breakfast was wonderful. I'm already planning my return trip.


Extremely Satisfied Guest

4.4 on May 18, 2011

I've stayed in dozens of bed and breakfasts over the last 10 years, and I have to say that Sweetwater Farm is now one of my favorites, would definitely recommend. Planned a day trip to Longwood Gardens and at the last minute decided to stay overnight. Called them and they had one room left, one of the cottages detached from the main house. It was a very nice room with large bath, which had double jacuzzi tub and huge marble walk-in shower. Grounds are amazing with the barn, winery and walking trail(which came with Brogan, the house dog as our tour guide. The hosts Sean and Farrell, as well as the rest of the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Sean gave us a great tour of the main house, which has a billiard room.


Wonderful Experience

3.6 on May 18, 2011

The environment is so lovely and restful. Sean and his wife were very friendly and extremely helpful. Sean gave us great suggestions regarding local restaurants and places to visit. Will visit again but would stay at a cottage and bring our dog. The cottage would also allow us to individually control air conditioning while the rooms are centrally air conditioned.


Delightful B&B

4.0 on May 17, 2011

If you want to spend a couple of peaceful and relaxing days in the Brandywine Valley I can think of no better place to stay. Not only is it ideally situated to all the sites in the area, it is a "sight" itself. It is in an idyllic and pastoral setting but yet close to wonderful restaurants and shopping. As an animal lover I chose Sweetwater Farm in part because of the horses and other animals... all of which were gentle and approachable. The staff was beyond accommodating and helpful and the breakfasts, which were prepared to your individual palate, were sumptuous. I will return!


Great Getaway

4.4 on May 15, 2011

Treated my in-laws to a stay here and to Longwood Gardens. The weekend was a big hit with them. It was a first for them and a 2nd for my husband and me at Sweetwater Farm. Sean and Farrell are terrific. The Window Box and the Hemphill were very well appointed and cozy. The grounds are beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. When we got a flat tire, Sean was quick with an air compressor to help us on our way. Oh, and the winery is a great addition. The chardonnay was very good. This was new for us on this visit.


Beautiful grounds

3.0 on May 07, 2011

Not your average B&B.Stayed in a cottage with a bucolic view and relaxed by a stone pit fire on our patio in the evening.


Spring stay at Sweetwater

3.2 on May 05, 2011

Although we wanted a cottage, none were available, however we liked our room enough to possibly prefer staying in the main house. We were very comfortable. Two things often found lacking in places we've stayed were adequate reading lamps on each side of the bed and quality, comfy bed pillows. Not so for the Sweetwater. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would not hesitate booking rooms there again. Was a perfect place for relaxation, peace and quiet in a lovely setting.


Fantastic Weekend

3.8 on May 04, 2011

As underwhelming as we found the Brandywine valley itself - the Sweetwater made our weekend in and of itself. Beautiful grounds, atmosphere, rooms, personalities, everything spot-on. And the wine is not bad either!


Sharps - Another Sweetwater Memory

4.2 on May 01, 2011

We love this place - close by but makes you feel a thousand miles away.


Sweetwater Farm - April 22, 2011

4.0 on April 27, 2011

Stayed in Herb Cottage which was very nice and very clean but very small and bathroom was even smaller. We picked that room because of the large deck but it rained most of the weekend so we didn't get much use out of it. But, I would rent that room again and hope our next visit has better weather! Breakfast cooked by Farrell was absolutely delicious. I never liked pancakes but ate her lemon ricotta pancakes because I was hungry and there were amazing!!! Thanks to both Farrell, Sean, Finn & Brogan for a wonderful stay!


Peace and Quiet

5 on April 27, 2011

The hosts Farrell & Sean were quick to smile and were very pleasant and very helpful. Our stay was peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast was fabulous. Grand compliments to the chef. The jewel of the place, that made us smile, is a certain little one with all the energy!


Waited Too Long to Go Back

5 on April 24, 2011

We first visited Sweetwater in 2003 or 2004. We came back based on the fact they now welcome dogs in the cottages! It was fantastic! Jake, the dog, played with the Innkeepers dog, Brogan, and was able to run around the property and meet the other farm animals, as well as other visiting dogs. Just walking around the property was wonderful. It was probably the best vacation Jake has ever taken with us! We plan on visiting once a season. Oh, we also went to Longwood Gardens!!! Jake's Mom and Dad


Sweetwater Farms review

5 on April 14, 2011

The house itself is stunning, but like everywhere else it is the people within the house who make it special. Our innkeepers Sean and Farrell were so welcoming, and although we ate at many a fine restaurant during our trip to the Brandywine Valley, NO ONE could cook as wonderfully as Farrell. Her breakfasts outdid any other meal we had anywhere. Everyone at Sweetwater Farm, from innkeepers to servers to housekeepers to groundskeepers were so kind. Our stay could not have been nicer!


Sweetwater Inn/Window Box Cottage

5 on April 13, 2011

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children - 13 and 9) recently spent a weekend at Sweetwater Inn in the Window Box Cottage. Our visit was 'outstanding'. The staff are amazing, the property is beautiful and well situated for any type of visiting you may want to do in the area. The kids were happy visiting with the farm animals, playing ping pong and hitting golf balls. Mom and Dad were happy with the same and space to sit and visit. Farrell and Sean run a beautiful establishment.


Sweetwater Farm

3.6 on April 12, 2011

Beautiful location. Very attractive buildings internally and externally and lovely extensive grounds. Service lacked warmth and welcome.


Sweetwater Review

4.2 on April 07, 2011

The accomodations were great. Staff was friendly and attentive to inquiries; they Googled directions for us. Breafast is the best.


Wonderful experience

4.4 on April 07, 2011

My partner and I recently celebrated our anniversary and to mark the occasion spent a weekend at Sweetwater Farm. What a wonderful experience! The innkeepers were so personable. We love the new winery and look forward to future visits to taste each new vintage. We will definitely retur!


Sweetwater Farm is simply outstanding!

5 on March 31, 2011

Sweetwater Farm is my all-time favorite B&B. It's tucked back in the countryside. Deer stroll through the grounds early in the morning. Owls and other birds can be heard. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are well appointed, and the breakfasts are wonderful. It is also easy to find no matter which direction I drive from.


Better than Perfect

5 on March 16, 2011

It's not easy making a decision on a B & B from the internet without a personnal reference. I choose Sweetwater Farm because the website was detailed and it offered everything I was looking for. I wanted historic, yet contempory living accomadations with the charm of the old country. I wanted privacy, and the cottages offered exactly that! Of course the bonus was all the other ammenities Sweetwater offers, a hiking trail, a gym, huge grounds to explore, a recent vineyard addition! By the way, one weekend is not long enough to get to do everything you want to accomplish with all the attractions in the area as well as get to enjoy all the benefits of Sweetwater. I want to come back, and I have my eye on different cottage this time, they are all so cute! I can honestly say that my trip was better than I ever expected, and I can't tell enough people about my awesome experience!


Look No Further For A Perfect Inn Getaway!

4.8 on March 16, 2011

I just stayed a second time at the Sweetwater Farm with my daughter, who has stayed here three times. What a perfect place! Please note, the photos on their website do not do justice to the beautiful rooms and pleasant ambiance you will find here! It is unlike any inn I have ever experienced, with a main inn, plus small outbuildings dotting the property, almost like a little village, providing other lodging locations. We stayed in the Herb Cottage our first trip, which was in the summer. A small, cozy room, but had all that we needed. The bathroom had a wonderful stone element to it...very different. The latest stay, we took the Brandywine Cottage, which was very large and bright, done in white beadboard walls and blue/white fabric, and had a huge (really huge) shower, and jacuzzi tub. We used the gas fireplace each evening, because it was a bit chilly. I like the fact that even though this is a bed and breakfast, there are flatscreen tvs in the rooms. Even better, the cottages have their own outside sitting areas. If you take a room in the main inn, know that you will not miss this element-there is a huge porch at the rear of the house that overlooks the fields and pool. Sean gave us a tour of the newly renovated barn. I can definitely see this being a destination for family reunions! There is so much to do during the day in the area, I would love to set aside a day just to relax and enjoy the pool and walking trails. Sean and Farrell are extremly kind and layed back, and their delicious breakfasts will not leave you wanting! We had coffee and fresh fruit/granola/yogurt to start, and scrambled egg/fruit pancake/bacon as typical fare one morning.


Lovely Time At Sweetwater Farm

4.8 on March 16, 2011

I've stayed at this B & B when visiting family in the Philadelphia area for many years. The property is beautiful, the rooms are quaint, and the service is very very good. I would hapily recommend it to friends -- it is truly a beautiful place to stay.


simply wonderful

5 on March 03, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages right outside of the house. It was private, with a fireplace, comfortable bed, very clean, nice flat screen tv (not that that matters, but my boyfriend enjoyed it), and a superb bathroom...so luxurious. Even some of the nicest hotel rooms I've stayed in did not have a bathroom as nice as this one. We especially enjoyed the large rainhead shower adjacent to the jacuzzi tub. The service was excellent. Leslie checked us in and gave us a tour of the property accompanied by Brogan, a totally adorable resident dog. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left she was incredibly accommodating, even giving us tips of where to eat locally. The package we purchased allowed us to have our breakfast brought to our cottage. The food was phenomenal, definitely didn't disappoint. Overall, our stay made our Valentine's Day very special and memorable. We can't wait to return!


An overnight at a delightful country B&B

4.6 on February 25, 2011

We spent an overnight in late winter. Great staff. Fun place to explore.


nice relaxing night to get away for Valentine's day

3.6 on February 24, 2011

very clean, very friendly owners/managers. breakfast was delicious! room had a little bit of a funny odor.


Amazing time

3.6 on February 22, 2011

Valentine's weekend 2011, also celebrating my boyfriends birthday. Our one night stay was lovely.


A beautiful place - a lovely breakfast

4.8 on February 22, 2011

We stayed in a cottage. It was beautifully decorated and very comforable. The wireless internet was great (a nice surprise). Breakfast was delicious and our little ones enjoyed visiting with the goats, sheep and horses. We will stay there again.


V-Day weekend night

4.0 on February 22, 2011

I loved staying in the Dormer again- it's such a unique spacious room! Would've loved to stay longer... the grounds and the buildings are just beautiful! Maybe when the economy picks up ;-)


a close getaway that felt far away!

4.4 on February 20, 2011

lovely room, great fireplace that i kept running (and sat in front of!) almost the entire time. needed a place to think, reflect, work and this met that need beautifully. breakfasts were absolutely delicious, employees bend over backward to accommodate your needs.


We will be back again!

5 on February 17, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Sweetwater Farms...this was our second time staying at the inn. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. The property is beautiful and the food is delicious! Thank you for a wonderful memory!!!


One day is just not enough!

5 on January 20, 2011

My sisters, cousin & I had a girls getaway. We enjoyed the whirlpool even with the snow on the ground!!!! Everyone there is so pleasant. They supplied plenty of wood for a cozy fire. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. This was my cousins 3rd time there & my second. We will be back again, but next time we will extend our visit.


The best of the best

4.6 on January 03, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages which had a bedroom with a queen bed and bath on the 2nd floor, as well as a living room and smalL kitchen on the first floor. There was also a working wood-burning fireplace, and we were able to bring our well-behaved dog. We have stayed a Sweetwater many times, and each time it has been a wonderful experience. The breakfasts are marvelous,and the decor is fantastic. We enjoyed the fitness room and ping pong table, and played pool in the main building. The bed was incredibly comfortable, although the pull-out couch wasa bit saggy.


Another terrific stay at Sweetwater

4.0 on January 03, 2011

When my wife and I stayed at Sweetwater Farm previously, we were thrilled with the place. And when we decided to return for another visit to help celebrate our 26th anniversary, we enjoyed an equally wonderful experience. We stayed in the Brandywine Cottage (again), and we were very comfortable (I really loved the radiant heat in the bathroom - warm marble tile in the morning is completely decadent!). The property is lovely, even under a blanket of snow. The location is very convenient to good shopping, wining and dining, and whatever you have in mind, and the staff (and owners!) make staying here a joy. You can bet that we'll be back!


Pleasant

4.2 on January 02, 2011

The walking trail is beautiful in the snow. The resident dogs are were hospitable, even accompanying folks on hikes. I will definitely add this to the list of 'stay here again!'.


Outstanding, again!!

4.8 on December 26, 2010

This is our third stay in as many months and we couldn't be more pleased. We are beginning to feel like it is our home away from home!! Lovely, cant say enough good things. Will be back for New Year's Eve!


Love this place!

4.8 on December 13, 2010

This was our 2nd visit and it won't be the last! Lovely home and great staff!


Great time with friends

4.4 on December 08, 2010

Wonderful place, heartily recommended. The owners and staff are polite, accommodating, and warm. The rooms were great, we had the Greenhouse Cottage, perfect for 4 and two dogs. Love the grounds, safe to let the dogs roam and plenty of space for them to play. No criticisms at all, it's not cheap, but then you get what you pay for and the peace and quiet, and good service are well worth the money. Cheers, Nigel


Relaxing Experience for a Quick Getaway

4.4 on December 08, 2010

It was our second stay at Sweetwater Farm, and we were just as happy as the first time. The rooms are lovely, the whole home is inviting, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Our favorite part was being able to sit in front of a beautiful fire, with a delicious cup of coffee and read the paper - before sitting down for a great breakfast. Wonderful!


Thank you!

4.6 on November 29, 2010

We had an amazing stay over Thanksgiving! The grounds were beautiful, the rooms wonderful and warm, and the staff just fantastic! Couldn't recommend it more highly! Thanks to all! Best, Jake Robards


Next time, we will end up at a hotel

2.2 on November 29, 2010

For the money, I did not really feel like it was worth it. Bed was uncomfortable, to say the least. By the last night we almost packed up to go home early to avoid sleeping on it again. The breakfast the first day was terrible, 3 day old re-heated potatoes. After that the breakfast was good. The horses there were great, although we love animals, we did not appreciate having a dog begging at our breakfast table every morning. We can now say we have stayed at a bed and breakfast, but for what its worth I am fine with a free continental breakfast and a more comfortable bed at a hotel.


Beautiful, quiet getaway, with an amazing staff.

4.4 on November 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Sweetwater for a weekend and enjoyed every minute. The grounds are lovely and the main house is welcoming and decorated beautifully. We especially enjoyed the staff, who greeted us brightly each morning and were always helpful. Breakfast was delicious and we liked being able to sit in the dining room with other guests. We will definitely stay at Sweetwater again!


Fantastic

4.8 on November 27, 2010

We absolutely love Sweetwater Farm. Beautiful rooms, very cozy and quaint. Excellent breakfast and a beautiful property with lovely horses and a sweet dog that will take you for a walk through the woods!! We are repeat customers and plan to continue coming back to take breaks from our hectic lives. Highly recommended


couples visit

5 on November 27, 2010

great stay! lovely people- beautiful spot. altogether, ideal weekend getaway!


Excellent this time too!

4.2 on November 18, 2010

On this return visit, we were just as happy as our first stay. A wonderful, well-run property- highly recommended!


Another great stay

5 on November 06, 2010

Our third stay traveling with dogs. Sweetwater Farm is by far the best place we have found for their comfort and ours. The breakfast is a feast and it is hard to break away from the comfy fireplace setting to get back in the car and resume the trip! We will be back again in the spring.


Sweetwater Farm October 2010

4.6 on November 01, 2010

Lovely rooms, breathtaking fall scenery, delicious breakfasts and bonus points for my new best friend, Brogan. I only wish I'd had more time so I could have hiked the trail with him.


Sweetwater Farm a great stay

4.8 on November 01, 2010

Stayed two nights mid-week. A beautiful property with a great choice of accomodations. Stayed in the 1815 wing and loved it. Staff very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious. Left something in the room and they contacted me to mail it back. Brogan the house dog was an added treat! Would definitely like to return.


Memorable trip

5 on November 01, 2010

We stayed at Sweetwater Farm in beautiful Brandywine County, which is especially pretty in the Fall. Our stay at the farm was really special. We were made to feel more at home that we have felt at many other B&B's. The food was good and the service so very friendly. The family dog, Brogan, was absolutely amazing. He took us on a hike through the woods and even waited for us if we lagged behind. Brandywine County has so many wonderful museums and we especially enjoyed the Brandywine River Museum those houses much of the Wyeth family art.


Our 4th time visiting Sweetwater Farm (that's how good it is)

5 on October 27, 2010

How much do I love Sweetwater Farm B&B? Enough to go every year for the last four years. Enough to tell virtually everyone I know about it (especially if they have a dog) even if it means risking it's status as a true hidden gem. I live in NYC, and it's about 2.5 hour drive from Manhattan, not too shabby. I'm always ecstatic to arrive, the property is absolutely gorgeous, especially during peak foliage season. There are stables with horses, goats (including a fainting goat!) and sheep, a working vineyard, a fully restored barn from the 1800s (for weddings and corporate events), hiking grounds, a pool, jacuzzi and a small gym. The breakfast is outstanding - we visited last week and had fresh fruit with homemade granola, mini raspberry muffins with maple butter, perfectly poached eggs and sausage (which I didn't try because I'm vegetarian), bottomless coffee... so delicious. Also, if you get the munchies later on in the day, there's always a fresh batch of homemade treats on the kitchen counter. We always stay in one of the cottages, many of which have fireplaces, fully-stocked kitchens, luxuriously comfy beds, and the kind of rustic, old-world charm you can't duplicate easily. iPod docks too! Overall: very romantic place for couples, reunions, groups/corporate getaways, etc. Also great for dog-lovers!


perfect getaway

5 on September 19, 2010

Wonderful cottage, friendly and helpful innkeepers, beautiful surroundings!


A Valentine's Treat

4.8 on January 12, 2009

Sweetwater Farm is so close to everything but you feel like you're a world away! It's hard to believe that I grew up only a few miles away from Sweetwater Farm. I never knew it was there. For Valentine's Day 2008, I took my girlfriend to Sweetwater and we were instantly transported to a whole different world. This was our first B&B experience. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. From the lovely rooms to the decadent breakfasts to the friendliness of Innkeepers Sean and Farrell (and Brogan, the delightful dog who led us in a hike through the woods), everything was wonderful. Sean even recommended what has now become our favorite area restaurant - Pace One. You're close to so many things to do and we took full advantage. We enjoyed a weekend that we will never forget - thanks in large part to our wonderful experience at Sweetwater Farm. Whether for your first, fortieth, or five hundreth B&B visit, I highly recommend Sweetwater and can't wait to go back.


Sweetwater Farms

5 on January 12, 2009

Beautiful B&B


Splendid

4.0 on July 17, 2008

We were treated to such beautiful surroundings during our 4 day stay it made the perfect getaway.There will definitely be a return visit. Phil & Theresa , N.E.Philly


Pure Romance

4.4 on July 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed here while exploring the area wineries and enjoying the Christmas displays at Longwood Gardens. We found Sweetwater Farm to be an idea base from which to venture. We stayed in the Georgian Room. The bed was perfect place to snuggle on a cold winter’s night. It was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, piled high with pillows, blankets, and a comforter while a fire blazed in the wood burning fireplace. The common rooms include several inviting sitting areas and a billiard room with pool table that is available to guests. Breakfast is not at a set time, but rather at your pleasure in the large dining room. One may eat at a smaller table for two, or at the large common table. Our breakfast was good, but not really memorable. Overall I enjoyed our stay, and if our travels took us back to the Brandywine Valley I would definitely return.


very enjoyable 5 star service

5 on June 27, 2008

My mother and I went their for a 75th birthday party. We stayed their two nights. The food was fabulous. They really have their act together for events. After talking with the staff it was obvious why. They ran a five star resort in the Caribbean. The rooms were amazing. It was as if you were stepping back in time. I forgot my razor and they had one to me right away. Wireless was also conveniently available.It was very peaceful and relaxing. I highly recommend it to anyone.


A Gem of A B&B

4.8 on June 12, 2008

We only had one night to enjoy Sweetwater Farm yet our stay was so wonderful we left feeling like we had been away for days. The property is goreous and has so many amenities it was tough to tear ourselves away for sightseeing. We loved the comfort and elegance of our room. And we were amazed when the house dog Brogan guided us on a mile and half walk through the woods. Magical...


Sweetwater Farm

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $395
  • Reviews (95) 4.4
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6104594711
  • Toll free 1-8007933892

Visit Website »

View details

Top