Raphael Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
122 Reviews

Write A Review

The Best of Gettysburg

5 on November 19, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here this Remembrance Week End (Nov. 2014) and last year's Remembrance Week End (Nov. 2013). Both stays have been wonderful. The breakfasts are top shelf with good size portions. The owners are friendly and very helpful. This is the only B&B that we stay at in Gettysburg and we have tired many of the B&Bs in and around town. .


Weekend in Gettysburg

3.8 on November 19, 2014

My husband and I recently visited Gettysburg. We were lucky to find a room since it was Remembrance weekend. Alexandra was very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were huge and very good. Our room had both a heater and a fan and two comfortable chairs. Everything was very clean, especially the bathroom. The two dogs were also friendly and the other guests were interesting. The location is very good, quite near the college.


Another lovely stay...

4.0 on November 16, 2014

We, my 17 yo daughter, and I stayed once again at Raphael Inn while visiting my older daughter/her sister at Gettysburg College. Alexandra and George again welcomed us with open arms and a warm and cozy stay. We ate and slept well and thouroughly enjoyed chatting with our charming hosts - we always feel at home there. It was great!


Perfect Place to Stay in Gettysburg

5 on November 02, 2014

I stayed at the Raphael Inn (in the Lincoln Room) for 4 nights (Oct. 6-9, 2014) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room itself was very well appointed, quiet, and comfortable. The inn is within walking distance of the town square and many of the restaurants, etc., so a very convenient location. The innkeepers, George and Alexandria are excellent hosts who clearly care about their guests and go out of their way to ensure that they meet all of their guests needs. They are very knowledgeable about local restaurants and attractions, and they keep an extensive selection of menus and brochures for the use of their guests. The breakfasts are great and will keep anyone satisfied until dinner time. And, if you like dogs, Heidi and Olive are great - very friendly and well behaved. I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Gettysburg.


Welcoming stay at Raphael Inn

5 on October 31, 2014

We were welcomed by Alexandra upon our arrival with a warm, welcoming smile. She had tea and brownies to welcome us and offered suggestions on where to go, what to do and what to eat. She "introduced" to the California Rose Suite which was perfect with many details to enrich the theme of the room. She gave us keys and we were able to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast the first morning was an egg omelet with fresh vegetables. It was very savory and beautifully presented. The second morning we were served pumpkin french toast. YUMMY! During breakfast George entertained us with his own personal ghost story! They have two very calm dogs: Heidi the Wonder Dog and Olive the Small Wonder. They are fun to play with and watch. We had a good time and recommend a visit to the Raphael Inn.


Raphael Inn in October

5 on October 29, 2014

The stay at the Inn was very nice and the owners were super accommodating as I had to leave early on my second day so they provided a "breakfast to go" sack! Job well done across the board! :D


Super kind, quiet, and the best breakfast

4.2 on October 23, 2014

We stayed at the Rafael Inn and cannot recommend it highly enough. The Inn keepers are really nice, and a great to talk to. They also make an amazing breakfast! The house and rooms are nicely decorated and quite comfortable.


A Very Nice Weekend

4.8 on October 21, 2014

I have only stayed at one other B & B n the past. I am always a little concerned about how it will go and to meet new people. However, the couple that run this B & B are the greatest. They made us very comfortable right away, the food was outstanding and the service the same. I strongly recommend staying here you will not be disappointed.


Raphael Inn Gettysburg

5 on October 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Raphael Inn. Alexandra and George were excellent their local knowledge and advice regarding were to visit and eat was outstanding. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional the best I have eaten. The Raphael Inn is conveniently located close to the centre of Gettysburg shops and resturants are within easy walking distance. I will certainly return to the Raphael Inn.


Clean and cozy

4.4 on October 17, 2014

I have stayed at many B&B's - but this place was the cleanest ever. It is an older home, so the rooms were not grandiose, but it was cozy and comfortable. They are located in a residential neighborhood which we found pleasant to leave the hustle and bustle of town behind. However, we could easily walk to and from town - which we enjoyed - especially after eating our way through Gettysburg. Our room overlooked a lovely a garden. The owners are very conversational and helpful to suggest eateries and activities for their guests.


Awesome

5 on October 06, 2014

It was our first time at Raphael Inn. We usually stay at the Gas Light Inn (which we love!) But when I called the Gas Light they did not have our room available and for the wonderful people that they are said to call Raphael Inn. We couldn't have been more happier with Alexandra and George what genuine people. Our stay was wonderful and would do it again in heartbeat..... That weekend my future husband as me to marry him and Alexandra & George Escalera went out of their way to help us celebrate our engagement. Thank you so much Alexandra & George Escalera for the beautiful card and our note... Sincerely, The Future Herfurth's


Felt welcome the minute we walked in!

4.8 on October 03, 2014

The hosts of this bed and breakfast are exceptional. They love this home and desire for their guests to love it too. The house was very clean and comfortable. You can enjoy the outside too on the enclosed porch or at the furniture in the back garden. George and Alexandra are very knowledgeable about the area and provided us with many references for meals and entertainment-and their comments were spot on. We enjoyed the breakfasts every morning and deserts and coffee in the evenings. There were always snacks available and the fridge was always full of beverages. The inn itself is located in a quiet location with plenty of parking available. Our room was cozy with a comfortable bed and great shower. The other two bedrooms were occupied while we were there and all the guests were social and courteous. We enjoyed our stay at the Raphael Inn and plan to return in the future.


Quaint, Comfy Bungalow

4.8 on October 01, 2014

We reserved two rooms at the Raphael. The Lincoln Suite and the California Suite. Both rooms are decorated beautifully and fit the theme names. The Lincoln Suite has a sunroom that is delightful. You can watch the squirrels playing in the backyard and we saw various birds. The California Suite is bright and airy and the bed is phenomenal. It is a very easy walk to Lincoln Square, so you are close to shopping, sightseeing, and restaurants. Alexandra and George are wonderful hosts being sure you stay is most comfortable. They are willing to assist you in your dining experiences and sightseeing adventures. Breakfasts were delicious and served elegantly. Heidi and Olive, the dogs, are wonderful too. We would not hesitate to stay here again.


Great Service

5 on September 29, 2014

Very friendly, clean & welcoming atmosphere. The theme in each room are very creative & well decorated. We highly recommend staying at this Bed & Breakfast. The breakfast is amazing! Thank you George, Alexandra, Heidi & Olive for a wonderful weekend!


Great getaway weekend!

5 on September 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Raphael Inn over Labor Day weekend. Alexandra and George were wonderful hosts who made sure we had all the information we would need to make are Gettysburg trip fun and eventful. My wife is vegan and they went out of their way to make sure she had great breakfasts each morning. The rest of us non-vegans had wonderful meals as well. The location of the inn was perfect - we could walk to pretty much any restaurant or bar in town. The room was plenty big enough with our own private bathroom. Also we loved spending the morning with Heidi and Olive - 2 very well behaved and loving dogs. We definitely will stay again if our travels lead us back to Gettysburg.


Wonderful Experience

4.6 on September 08, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Raphael Inn B&B and we would love to stay here again if we visit Gettysburg in the future. George and Alexandra are wonderful hosts and the Inn is beautiful as well as very comfortable. The location is convenient to everything Gettysburg has to offer. We feel truly blessed to discover the Raphael Inn and its gracious hosts.


Just Wonderful!

5 on September 06, 2014

Our 3 night stay at the Raphael Inn was just what the doctor ordered. Alexandra & George are two of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. They cater to your every need from the time you make you reservation until the moment you pull away upon checkout. All the rooms are lovely. We stayed in the A. Lincoln Suite which overlooks the garden. After a peaceful nights sleep we were greeted with a perfectly prepared 3 course breakfast , one more delicious than the next. George always at the ready to keep your juice and coffee cups full. During our entire visit we never ate lunch. Breakfast held us over till dinner. The other 2 rooms were occupied by 2 very nice couples with whom we became fast friends. We enjoyed evenings sitting on the screened porch chatting about our days adventures. Alex would come out and light a candle and make sure we all had everthing we needed. When choosing a B&B in Getysburg you could not make a finer choice. Not only is the location great, a short walk to the square on a quiet street. But the service is unsurpassed. I highly recommend it and will be staying there again and again.


Great quiet location!

5 on August 21, 2014

Just spent the weekend at the Raphael. It was a wonderful experience. Alexandra and George go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The location was great for us. We could walk to many of the restaurants. I highly recommend staying there.


Battle Re-enactment Stay

4.8 on July 19, 2014

The hosts are delightful, informative, and very personable. The breakfasts were as yummy to look at as they were to eat! The main part of the house is not air conditioned but the front porch always had a nice breeze so we ate breakfast on the porch every morning. Rooms all had a window air conditioner, so you can control the climate in your own room. The sound from the AC blocked out any street and other house noises so we never felt like we needed to be quiet or were disturbed by anyone else. We would stay here again.


Great hosts who share sweet pets with you if you need a dog fix

5 on July 14, 2014

Everything was lovely and we were even treated to a nice dessert the 2nd night. Great guidance on what to see and some little tours that we never would have found on our own!


A superb B & B

5 on June 29, 2014

We chose Raphael's Inn based on others reviews so we wanted to be sure to help others choose. This is a great place to stay! It is clean, comfy, cordial and delicious! Alexandra and George are wonderful people! They are so helpful by recommending attractions and restaurants. Their breakfasts are simply delicious and they cater to individual tastes and preferences. We stayed in the California Rose Suite which is in the front of the home. If you are a very light sleeper, you may wish to choose the Evangeline or Lincoln Rooms. I am a light sleeper, but I slept just fine in the front suite. The refrigerator is stocked with cold beverages and the downstairs bistro has a wonderful assortment of hot beverages (teas, cocoas etc). You will love it here!


Great stay at the Raphael Inn

4.0 on June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Raphael Inn for two nights, June 7 and 8th, 2014. In a Town like Gettysburg with so much to do and see, the Inn was a welcome and calm respite from "the madding crowd". Alex and George's (and Heidi and Olive's) welcome and hospitality is warm and generous and their breakfast's tasty. All in all a lovely stay. Thank you Alex and George, Heidi and Olive


Wonderful B&B in Gettysburg

4.8 on June 11, 2014

We recently toured Gettysburg and the surrounding area, and stayed for 3 nights at Raphael Inn. The experience could not have been better. Our hosts, Alexandra and George, were very friendly and helpful. They were willing to spend as much time as needed to give us recommendations for restaurants and information about the area. They loaned us the audio tour for the battlefield which was extremely interesting. The Inn is a short walk from the historic town square and Gettysburg College. Our breakfast each morning was delicious and enough food to last until dinner with just a snack during the early afternoon. The two dogs, Heidi and Olive, were very sweet and friendly. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who visits the Gettysburg area.


Absolutely the Best Stay Ever

4.6 on June 08, 2014

The owners are the most gracious and truly caring people I have ever met during a stay. They are able to tailor their suggestions for your sightseeing and dining to your individual tastes and needs. I was amazed at how much effort they put into making sure each guest had the perfect experience. The inn is small, but beautiful, offering an absolutely magical charm. The breakfast each morning was amazing. I would recommend that anyone heading to Gettysburg not miss the opportunity to experience this gem, or the opportunity to add two truly wonderful people, the owners, George and Alexandra, to your circle of friends.


Quiet location in Gettysburg, PA

3.8 on June 02, 2014

Best bed and breakfast ever!


Gettysburg May 2014

4.8 on June 02, 2014

My husband an I had a wonderful stay at The Raphael Inn.Both George and Alex were accommodating and so knowledgeable of Gettysburg and the surrounding areas. The gave us ideas on what to do and must important directions.Their recommendations on where to eat were spot on.The breakfasts they severe include only the finest ingredients and are so yummy and sometimes decadent.Our room was big and the bed was comfortable.Weekday prices are the best value and you get the same great service.I recommend everyone to stay at their Inn.Thanks Alex and George for the memories.


May 2014 visit to Gettysburg - Raphael Inn

4.4 on May 28, 2014

Our stay was great. The innkeepers could not have been more knowledgeable and helpful. Great food. Lovely room. Good location. Weekday special was a big bonus. We will recommend to friends and if we get back to Gettysburg, we are there at the Raphael.


Great location

4.0 on April 22, 2014

Great stay at a very convenient location. Thank you!


Anniversary Celebration

4.8 on March 19, 2014

Outstanding hosts and delicious breakfast!! Will definitely stay at The Raphael Inn again!


Great overnight get away

4.8 on January 05, 2014

We stayed one night on New Years Eve and had a wonderful relaxing night. This was the only B & B we could find that didn't require a two night stay. Since New Years was on a Weds this year, two nights were not possible for us. The owners George and Alexandra were very nice and helpful with telling us area attractions. The bed was very comfortable which hasn't always been our experience with B & B's. Breakfast was delicious! The only thing that we would have enjoyed was a soaking tub and a fireplace. This was a great value and we would go back again.


A great place to stay in Gettysburg

3.8 on December 10, 2013

Great location. The owners Alexandra & George are very warm and charming people who go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The owners don't just check you in and let you go; they will spend as much time with you as you want to help you get the most of your visit to Gettysburg.


Heaven at the Raphael Inn

5 on December 02, 2013

We stayed at the Raphael Inn in during the 150th anniversary of the Gettysburg Address. The owners, Alexandra and George, could not do enough to make us feel at home. The rooms were lovely, ours had a bedroom and a TV room. Each room has a theme. Snacks and beverages were available 24/7. The breakfasts were to die for. My husband usually does not like B&Bs. He loved this one!


Return visit

5 on November 02, 2013

I stayed at the Raphael Inn in July, 2013, with three lady friends. George and Alexandra were wonderful hosts and the inn is cozy, comfortable and inviting. I am a vegetarian and they were attentive to accommodating my needs. They offer many suggestions regarding activities and dining in the area. Breakfast is delicious and beautifully presented. In July, we ate breakfast, enjoyed afternoon treats and spent a good amount of time relaxing on the screened in porch. I enjoyed my time there so much that I returned in October with my husband to celebrate his birthday. Everything was just as enjoyable. We met interesting guests(some from other countries), enjoyed delicious breakfasts in the cozy dining room and they even presented my husband with a birthday cake and personalized card. We will definitely be back!


Made us feel welcome right away!

4.2 on October 14, 2013

We recently stayed here for a function at Gettysburg College and were very pleased with the service and the location. Alexandra and George made us feel like like family right away. Breakfasts were delicious! We will very likely stay here again.


Best B&B we have ever stayed at in the USA

5 on September 25, 2013

We had another wonderful time at the Raphael Inn. The food was unbelieveable and the hosts are great! We will definitely be back. I can only say that if you go to Gettysburg and don't stay here you will miss out on their gracious hospitality. We had a memorable time at the USO "IKE" dance and met some really nice people at the Raphael Inn. You must try the La Font restaurant for an outstanding dinner.


Great place to stay for all the right reasons and more

4.6 on September 22, 2013

Everything about this place is excellent. The host are fantastic and it is a great location. I would highly recomend the Raphael to everyone.


a little bit of heaven

4.8 on September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Raphael Inn. Alexandra and George ( and dogs ) were wonderful hosts. The rooms were clean and quiet, the breakfasts outstanding, but more importantly the hosts were warm and friendly. We don't frequent B&B's , so this was a newer experience for us---did not regret it one bit. They took a genuine interest in us and our needs while there. They are a wealth of info on the area and places to see and eat----THANKS AGAIN


A Taste of Home

5 on September 12, 2013

Alexandra and George were the perfect hosts for our trip to Gettysburg. They had referred us to a tour guide who did an outstanding job and was a wealth of knowledge about the battle. As a history teacher I was truly impressed with the wealth of knowledge and his presentation. Thanks to Alex for that referral as well as her accommodating us for a early breakfast so we could take the tour. Meals were looked forward to, as was the welcoming atmosphere our hosts displayed. The neighborhood was very quite and within easy walking distance of the entire town. With their directions we were able to find good restaurants and interesting asides about the town and its sites beyond the park itself. Thanks again, Alex and George.


Gettysburgh Hospitality

5 on September 05, 2013

Fabulous hosts who are warm, helpful, and just nice people. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay at Raphael Inn more.


We have family in Gettysburg!

5 on September 01, 2013

Alexandra and George, the owners of the Rafael Inn are most gracious hosts one would ever meet. Alex's breakfast were divine and five star, while George is the hostess with the most-est. Both are very knowledgeable about the in's and out's of the Gettysburg attractions. Take their advise, they won't steer you wrong! The Inn itself was very pleasant and clean. We missed the desserts in the evening because we were out and about most of the time. We will definitely not miss dessert during our next visit. Heidi and Olive, their dogs, are such joys. If you want a total change of pace, visit with Alexandra and George at their beautiful inn, you won't be disappointed. On a personal note, thank you both for the prayers and concerns about Bill's health issues and our safe return home. We miss you guys!


Very special B&B!

4.4 on August 31, 2013

The owners go out of their way to make your stay personalized and special. We stayed for my husband's 50th birthday and they had a homemade birthday cake waiting when we arrived, served us breakfast early so we could make our tour, and celebrated his birthday again with candles and a song on the big day! We heard another family tell of how they had helped with a surprise for their son's birthday that same weekend. We'll definitely stay here again!


Fantastic Stay

5 on August 26, 2013

We just spent our anniversary at Raphael Inn and Alex and George made our visit very special including an anniversary cake! They work very hard to make all their guests visits outstanding. They also helped us enjoy our visit to the town of Gettysburg with their excellent guidance on what to see.


Warm, gracious, welcoming, delicious - everything you could ask for in a B&B

4.8 on August 25, 2013

Alexandra and George are just the most wonderful hosts I have ever met at a B&B. I prefer accomodations at small, personal lodges rather than large impersonal hotels. It just feels more homey and the food, almost without exception, homemade and delicious. The rooms are usually much more charming and cozy as well. If that's what you are looking for on your journey, the Raphael Inn will far exceed your expectations. One review I read before my stay said "you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend". So true. We also left with a small bag of plums to enjoy as a snack on our way home! Such thoughtfulness is incredibly rare. Book a room at Raphael. You will not regret it.


Best July 4th weekend ever

5 on August 24, 2013

Carlos & Cat


Good Value--Great Hosts!

4.0 on August 22, 2013

We stayed in the California Rose Suite and used the midweek special ($99 per night). This room was spacious and filled with eclectic decor. We did not find street-noise to be a problem whatsoever, however, we DID have the windows shut and the air-conditioning humming. The HIGHLIGHT of the room, for us, was the humongous bed that graces the room. Once in it, we didn't want to get out! The bed was super-comfy and plush: WOW! I wanted to take it home with me! To continue: Alex and George, are very friendly, sociable, and helpful with whatever Gettysburg-knowledge you need. They have a lot of flyers handy and an auto-tour tape they'll lend you to help you enjoy a maximum Gettysburg experience. Moreover, they will volunteer personal tidbits of their favorite places to go. To add to the homey feel, Alex and George stock a little dorm-sized fridge with lots of cold soda and water. Also, on-top of said fridge there's a basket of goodies that mysteriously stays filled no matter WHO takes WHAT out! Finally, Alex and George dish out a lovely, intricate breakfast of multiple courses (fruit laid out gourmet-style; waffles, omelets, bacon, and the like) and as much steamy coffee, tea, and/or juice as you care to drink. Now, if all that's not enough---I cannot end this review without mentioning "Heidi the Wonder Dog" and her little, energetic sidekick "Olive the Small Wonder." Both dogs meet-and-greet you when you arrive at this B&B, when you come down to breakfast, when you finally and regretfully depart, and whenever you're around in-between those times. Make sure you play tug with Olive and her many chew-toys! You'll have a friend-for-life! (Or, for at least as long as you stay at The Raphael). Bottom-line: if you're looking for a great value, friendly hosts, little niceties, and a convenient location---The Raphael Inn is your place!


Lovely Anniversary Vacation

5 on August 21, 2013

Raphael Inn will be our choice each time we visit Gettysburg. The Escaleras are warm hosts who treat their guests like old friends. As it was our anniversary, and as the other two couples included newlyweds and a pair also celebrating their anniversary, Alexandra prepared three heart-shaped cakes and George created table plaquards for each of us at dinner. Breakfast was not only delicious but different each morning. We stayed in the Evangeline, a Victorian style room repleat with antiques and period wallpaper and a comfortable bed. Tea and coffee are available for the guests in the dining room 24/7, with guests assured that accessing those will not disturb the hosts regardless of the time of day. A small fridge is stocked with water bottles, and bowls of snacks are also always available. Best of all, the Escaleras have two well-behaved dogs, Heidi and Olive, that are 'hosts' in their own right, if the guests like dogs. If not, the dogs are kept out of the guest areas. My husband and I enjoyed petting Heidi's head as she lay at our feet and playing with Olive's toys, which she was eager to share with us. Finally, the Escaleras are knowledgeable about every event and restaurant in Gettysburg. They know the best times to tour buildings (for free), offer a CD tour of the battlefield to use in one's car, and can match their guests' culinary requests with any restaurant from fine dining or historical tavern atmosphere to pizza parlors. A video tour of the Raphael Inn is available on their website at www.raphaelinn.com.


A most pleasant stay with outstanding charm

5 on August 17, 2013

The service was outstanding as were the breakfasts, as well as delicious treats. The proprietors were very gracious and most accomodating. We were well pleased and enjoyed our stay and would recommend The Raphael Inn to our family and friends.


Lovely respite in Gettysburg

4.6 on August 15, 2013

My husband and I spend two lovely nights in Gettysburg. Our hosts were so warm and welcoming. Their breakfasts were magnificient. It was a great mid-week getaway.


Good value, good hosts

3.6 on August 12, 2013

We recently did a 2-night $99.00 per night special. We stayed in the California Rose Suite. The room was decorated mainly in not-quite-Gettysburg (ie, period) decor, rather, in a "California modern quirky" decor---not a complaint, just an observation. Actually, we had fun noticing all of the nuances---the treasure chests, the oceanic theme, the abundant (albeit artificial) flowers strewn everywhere. Cute and quirky! The high-point (literally---at 5'4", I needed a step stool to climb into it--which was fun too!) of the room is the bed. It was soft, it was comfortable, it was luxurious, it was splendorific! AND it was covered in very-period-looking white embroidered/cutwork bed-dressings. Very, very nice! Next, the hosts---Alexandria and George were extremely pleasant, social, friendly, and helpful, giving us WONDERFUL recommendations for dining that suited us just fine (may we second their recs for Hill's Battlefield Fries---WOW!!! try their steak'n'cheese subs as well!!-), and cooking a breakfast that was served with the right combination of finesse and flourish (not to mention aplomb). Finally, re hosts, Heidi the Wonder Dog was the picture of calmness and loyalty, while Olive the Small Wonder was a veritable vigorous bundle of playfulness----quite the combination!---which added a nice touch of home (missed our own pets!) to our stay. To sum it up: if you want a good value, nice hosts, a convenient location, and exuberant pups----stay at The Raphael.


warm and welcoming

5 on August 12, 2013

Alex and George go out of their way to make you feel special and cared for. The dogs are entertaining and welcoming as well. Breakfasts are beautifully prepared with an artistic flair, and the room comfortable. We would definitely stay here if ever in the area again.


Our first visit to Gettysburg and Bed and Breakfast was great

4.0 on August 01, 2013

Nice place to stay, owners were very helpful since this was our first visit to Gettysburg


Lovely Stay

4.2 on July 29, 2013

The Raphael Inn is very conveniently located on a quiet street just a few blocks from Gettysburg Square and very easy to get to any of the battlefield sites. Alex and George were very attentive to our needs and accommodated my gluten-free diet. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and beautifully presented.


Great Place to Stay

4.8 on July 18, 2013

From the moment that we arrived, George and Alexandra did everything in their power to insure that we were well fed, well armed with local knowledge, and as comfortable as would could be. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone that enjoys a peaceful, comfortable environment with exceedingly friendly service.


This is the way a B&B should be! Exceptional!

5 on June 27, 2013

For anyone who seeks a Bed & Breakfast that’s authentic and personal look no further. Gettysburg has many wonderful sights to offer it’s tourists, but the charm from this city is found in this lovely Inn run by the proprietors Alexandra and George. You arrive as strangers and leave as a friends. After traveling throughout Europe we always enjoyed the charming B &B’s, it allows you to live and learn about the local culture, people and location allowing a truly wonderful experience, we did not know that we would find a gem like this at the Raphael Inn. They are tops! We were so fortunate to have our reservation for 5 nights in the California Suite; a big spacious uniquely decorated room where we, a family of three adults were so comfortable. Out hosts created delicious breakfasts everyday that were a feast to the eyes as well as the palate. We had excellent advise on places to tour, eat, and visit during our stay. These recommendations were right on and we enjoyed all our daily outings. The Inn is immaculate and has so much charm. We all slept so well and awoke looking forward to delightful breakfasts and chatting with the fellow guests. The environment give guests a wonderful opportunity to meet and get to know people from all around the world. We looked forward to meeting each new guest as they arrived. Both Alex and George are fantastic hosts and so interesting to spend some time conversing with. They make it so easy to have a pleasant time, we really enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend staying there. Thank you Alexandra, George, Heidi & Olive!! We found a treasure and will keep you in our hearts! Beverly,Al and Kristine


Very Nice

4.4 on June 21, 2013

A great place to stay. The breakfast was wonderful.


Midweek last minute getaway in Gettysburg

5 on June 17, 2013

Welcoming phone call from Alexandra upon booking online asking about dietary restrictions and special needs. We arriving to the Raphael Inn with other guests socializing on the front porch and the hostess opening up her home to us with endless suggestions about where to eat, what to do, and an audio tour CD package for the battlefields. A quirky Inn that you immediately feel at home at, we stayed in the purple Evangeline Room, which was super cozy and a very comfortable bed. It was so quiet! Breakfast cooking in the morning woke us up and we could not get downstairs fast enough to enjoy coffee, bantering with the other guests and filling our bellies with an incredible breakfast!


Loved it!

4.8 on June 06, 2013

Could not ask for better hosts! Alex and George gave great tips of where to eat and what to do and I love Heidi and Olive the wonder dogs! Clean, quiet awesome dessert treats, if we ever come back this is where we will stay!!!


Charming B&B

4.0 on May 25, 2013

Lovely one night stay in celebration for my sisters birthday. There was tea and cake waiting for us when we arrived. The breakfast was wonderful. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.


It doesn't get any better

5 on May 24, 2013

We stayed in the Lincoln room. It was well decorated and we liked the sitting room. The food was absolutely excellent. Alexandra and George are great hosts. Very friendly and down to earth. Location is within walking distance from the center town square. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend to anyone.


graduation weekend B&B

5 on May 23, 2013

Felt like we were visiting family. Very comfortable, good food, nice hosts!


Thank You George and Alex, Great place to stay!

5 on May 06, 2013

Fantastic Hosts, Excellent Breakfast, Close to Everything!


An absolute treat

5 on April 28, 2013

I could not say nicer things about our stay....Alexandra and George were two if the nicest and most genuine people who went above and beyond to see we had a delightful time, birthday cake singing....They were very helpful with trip planning...Rooms were lovely and thoughtfully decorated, so many interesting things to look at in the house, it felt very comfortable and homey....Olive and Heidi were added bonuses in making us feel at home...We would highly recommend their inn and we want to return again


Wonderful Week in Gettysburg

5 on April 23, 2013

What a trip, my family rented the whole house for 3 days while visiting Gettysburg. Alexandria was a wondeful host and went above and beyond to make sure that we were all happy. She is a wonderful b and b owner and I would definately recommend the Raphael Inn to anyone looking for a wonderful b and b experience while staying in Gettysburg.


Great B&B in Gettysburg

4.8 on March 24, 2013

The Raphael Inn was one of the best B&Bs my wife and I have ever stayed in. What set the Raphael Inn apart from other B&Bs was not the accommodations - although the accommodations were very comfortable - what set the Raphael Inn apart from other B&Bs was the friendly and caring attitude of the owners, Alexandra and George. Also, the breakfasts prepared by Alex each morning were exceptional. In addition, Alex and George was extremely helpful in helping us plan our sightseeing in Gettysburg, as well as providing helpful suggestions on restaurants in Gettysburg. My wife and I would highly reccmmend the Raphael Inn.


Outstanding stay in Gettysburg

5 on November 24, 2012

From our warm and friendly greeting by both Alex and George at check- in; to the delicious, homemade cookies and fudge for our afternoon snacks; to the generously supplied beverages, both hot and cold, whenever we wanted; to the delicious breakfasts served graciously each morning, we could not have been more pleased with our stay at The Raphael! We are already checking our calendar for a return visit!


Excellent stay

5 on November 21, 2012

Had a wonderful stay there recently. Alexandra & George are friendly, welcoming & accommodating in every way. The Lincoln Room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and their dogs are adorable. The location is in a quiet residential section but still within walking distance of the Square in Gettysburg. Very enjoyable visit.


Lovely Gettysburg B&B

4.8 on October 26, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of spending a weekend at the charming Rafael Bed and Breakfast in historic Gettysburg, PA. Innkeepers Alexandra and George are warm and helpful, making all of their guests feel special. Breakfasts are delightful and the added touches of daily homemade sweets in the afternoon and compementary snacks and drinks available any time make your stay all the more memorable. The location is great for strolling into town for shopping or dining. Beds are comfy and inviting. You're sure to enjoy your stay at the Rafael any time of year.


wonderful!!

5 on October 24, 2012

I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but the Raphael Inn was fabulous. The room was beautiful and there was so much attention to detail, and our breakfasts were some of the best that I've ever had. But nothing compares to how friendly and helpful Alex and George were. I wanted to stay at the inn and talk to them instead of exploring the battlefield! They are two lovely people and I would recommend the Raphael Inn to anybody!


Our first stay at a B&B

4.2 on October 09, 2012

Wonderful innkeepers and yummy breakfasts and snacks! Excellent location near many tourist sites.


ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!

5 on October 07, 2012

This was our first ever experience at a Bed & Breakfast, but we cannot imagine that any could possibly get better than this! The rooms are all very creatively decorated, with every needed detail considered. The breakfasts (and bonus desserts!) were all absolutely delicious...some of the best food we've ever had!! (and beautifully presented) And none of these outstanding qualities begin to compare with Alexandra's and George's hospitality. While you are there you are literally treated like a combination of family and royalty! We'd love to return to Gettysburg just to stay there again!! Jon & Lisa


Gettysburg in Fall

5 on October 04, 2012

I found the Raphael Inn through tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. The Inn was centrally located, the room very comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding, suited to your individual tastes, each days was different you knew a lot of thought went into it. The owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming, their dogs heide and olive added to the atmosphere giving it a homely feel. I arrived as a guest and left as a friend. I would highly recommend the Raphael Inn.


It doesn't get any better than this

5 on October 02, 2012

This place is quaint and beautiful. George and Alexandra are superb hosts. Upon arrival, they arranged a last minute private tour of the Gettysburg battlefield. STAY HERE. You won't be sorry.


A lovely weekend! Beautiful suites, lovely sheeting and scrumptious breakfast and desserts. The service is beyond exceptional as George makes you feel like royalty. George and Alexandra are very helpful with suggestions on where to go and they have info on everything going on in Gettsyburg.

5 on September 17, 2012

I would never stay anywhere else while in Gettsyburg, you truely will feel at home and pampered but yet you will not be bothered. The suites are all beautifully done and each has something to offer. Tons of reading material and coffee, tea, sodas, water and snacks are always available. Alexander always has sweet treat waiting for you in the afternoon, and I have never stayed at another place that took so much care in making food you like and accommodating one's diet. They make you feel so darn special. You can't go wrong staying there it is worth every penny.


A Great Get-A-Way

5 on September 01, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. The other guests were delightful. The owner could not have done anything more to make our stay enjoyable. They knew the good restaurants from fine dining to popcorn and ice cream. They also have the complete guide to the battlefield which their guests can use - very helpful. The dogs make you feel right at home!


A perfect place to stay

5 on August 23, 2012

A beautifully decorated old home that is close to all the sites in Gettysburg. Your hosts Alexandra and George are the finest you will find anywhere. Our three night stay was wonderful and we looking forward to staying at the Raphael again!!!!!


Cozy and welcoming

5 on August 07, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Raphael Inn while visiting Gettysburg. The inn is a wonderful bed and breakfast, within easy walking distance of the heart of the town of Gettysburg. George and Alexandra serve up gourmet, freshly-prepared breakfasts every morning. They are full of tips for local restaurants and points of interests. Any request is immediately fulfilled with a smile. I would be happy to go back any time.


Alive & Gone to Heaven!

5 on June 19, 2012

This B&B has moved to the top of our favorite list. George and Alexandra are second to none, as far as Inn Keepers go... and also, as far as people in general go! They go above and beyond to assure a comfortable stay, including changing your pillow to another of your liking! The breakfast's and mid-day desserts are the best of any B&B and presented with style and perfection. There is nothing commercial or "big box" about this Inn... just basic down to earth cordial humanity 101. We will plan a trip to Gettysburg again...just to stay here! Very Sincerely, Pete & Sally.


wonderful!!

5 on June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed there over memorial weekend and had a wonderful time. we loved the atmosphere and the food was delicious!!


Absolutely fantastic!!

4.8 on May 14, 2012

My mom and I shared a room at the Raphael Inn for a couple of days while I visited my friend in town. Alex and George are the nicest, knowledgable innkeepers I have ever had the pleasure of meeting! Both were extremely welcoming. Alex gave us excellent recommendations for sight-seeing and dining in the area. Our room was more than comfortable and much larger than I expected! The pricing of the room was in direct proportion to the excellent service we received. Alex and George are an excellent team when it comes to the kitchen, too. Breakfast both mornings was served in the highest standard...like a 5 star restaurant. I think what made the Raphael Inn such a nice place to stay were all the little details that the owners took the time to perfect. The next time I come to Gettysburg, I will definitely book a room at the Raphael Inn again. For a truly great B&B experience, I recommend anyone else to do the same.


Warm and Welcoming

4.2 on May 07, 2012

The Raphael is a cozy and nurturing B&B in which the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is delicious, and the proprietors treat you like family. Highly recommend!


Great Place To Stay!

4.4 on May 06, 2012

Alex and George made our Gettysburg stay very nice indeed! We had a nice and quiet room with a suburb breakfast. I liked the location being on the north end of town which made for a quiet stay. George even showed me his red Epiphone 335; maybe, next time I will get a tune or two. And let's not forget Heidi - The Wonder Dog...


Wonderful Hosts

4.6 on April 18, 2012

Our 2-night stay at Raphael Inn was great. The hosts are friendly & extremely helpful. The breakfasts were fabulous. Snacks (brownies, cookies) were provided in the afternoon & evening. Drinks (tea, coffee, soda, bottled water) are available at any time. The rooms were clean. The Inn is located 4 blocks from the town center - a very walkable distance. We recommend this B&B.


If you're nervous about doing your first B&B stay...start at the Raphael!!!

5 on April 12, 2012

My husband and I are die hard Marriott Honors members - for both work and pleasure travel - and the thought of doing a B&B was way outside our comfort zone. We wanted to do a weekend in Gettysburg and all the big name hotels were full or outrageously priced so I did some research and found the Raphael. Now for the first time B&B'ers, you need to let go of all your ideas of chain hotels and realize, this is something totally different in terms of experience. My husband, who is not a 'talker' and often uncomfortable around strangers learned quickly that this wasn't going to be a 'cold, detatched get a key off the front desk and go to your room' kind of thing. I don't know how it's possible to feel in three days that you've known people for a life time, but inn keepers George, Alexandra and their pup Heidi accomplished it. Our biggest concern was feeling weird about staying in someone elses home, but Alex and George perfectly balanced giving us the right amount of space and being there to accomodate our needs when we needed them. Even Heidi the dog seemed to know right when to come out and greet us and then slip quietly back into their private quarters. The room we stayed in was spotless and it's quirkyness and warmth of decor was a welcome respite from the sterile, cookie cutter sameness of chain hotels. Late night snacks and warm brownies were bountiful and the breakfasts in the parisian themed living room/cafe area were spectacular. All we thought was "How on earth will we ever go back to Hampton Inn breakfasts after this". There are lots of B&B offerings in the historic Gettysburg area, and I'm sure after reading so many reviews, many are spectacular, but myself and my somewhat cynical husband agreed - as we raved about the Raphael to friends and family all the way home - will find reasons to go to Gettysburg again just to stay at the Raphael. Hilton and Marriott be damned!


Above and beyond what we expected

4.4 on March 12, 2012

Alex and George are exceptionally good hosts. The rooms were very pleasant, the breakfasts were wonderful, they made sure everything went well for us, and to our surprise they even had desert in the evening. Of the many B & B's we have stayed at this is at the top of out list. We will be back.


A wonderful stay

5 on February 02, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Raphael Inn for a weekend. It was our first time at a B&B and honestly, I worried that it would be intrusive. After meeting George and Alex, my worries disappeared. They were both wonderful hosts that knew much about Gettysburg, including the history and good places to dine around town. They were a lot of fun to talk to and on top of that, the breakfast each day was excellent. They even exceeded my expectations when they brought us out brownies after being out all day! Everything was delicious and the rooms were clean and cozy! Each with a different theme. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone!


New Year's Eve in Gettysburg

4.2 on January 17, 2012

We decided at the last minute to go to Gettysburg for New Year's Eve weekend. I found Raphael Inn through Trip Advisor and decided I really wanted to meet "Heidi The Wonder Dog." The Inn is in a great location, a quick walk into town; even on a very cold day it wasn't bad at all. The innkeepers are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They chatted with us each morning while we had breakfast. They lent us an auto tour CD to take through the battlefield. They gave us great recommendations for food and things to do. And Heidi The Wonder Dog is a sweetheart. She loves a good belly rub while she lays by the space heater! We really enjoyed our stay and, if we travel back through Gettysburg, we will definitely go to Raphael Inn.


Rapheal Great B & B

4.4 on December 05, 2011

The location of the B & B was good. The hosts were very helpful in giving us ideas about how to see the various sights and places to eat. The breakfasts were nutritious and delicious. George & Alexandra were very enjoyable to visit with and share experiences. We have already made reservations to return next year in June for further sightseeing in the area. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to visiting them again. Dick & Clara Hanna


Just like home!

5 on November 26, 2011

Alexandra, George and Heidi were perfect hosts! We felt so welcomed here. It made our stay in Gettysburg amazingly comfortable. If you want an outstanding battlefield tour ask about Howard!


first time at a b&b but we loved it!

5 on November 23, 2011

we normally stay at a major hotel up closer to baltimore pike but decided to go with a b&b because we wanted a more personalized and "homey" feel. We decided on the Raphael Inn and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the owners were and how well the place was set up. all of the rooms seemed to flow right into the other and smelled AMAZING. i would definitely recommend the Raphael Inn to anyone looking for a b&b in gettysburg.


A very welcoming and friendly environment

4.6 on November 04, 2011

This was our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast! We felt extremely comfortable and at home at the Raphael Inn. Alex and George were splendid hosts, they had coffee available 24hours (which is very important to us), they also had snacks there, which we could have at anytime! Which was another plus!! A family member of ours was visiting the area, Alex and George said he was more than welcome to come see the house and have coffee and just relax there for awhile. It was very nice that they allowed us to have a visitor. And last but not least......Heidi the wonder dog!!! We both own dogs and it was nice having her around! She was most well behaved dog we've ever met!! We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast!!


Outstanding hospitality

4.4 on October 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights and felt at home right away. The warm welcome and genuine hospitality of George and Alex were the highlight of our stay. We were visiting with our son at college down the street and were so grateful when he was also welcomed and given breakfast both mornings, even though it was past the scheduled breakfast time. The afternoon tea and fresh brownies were a treat! Our room was small but comfortable. We really enjoyed the extra room on the attached porch with a game table and sofa. The bathroom was very clean but the shower was a little small. We would definitely stay there again.


Great value, clean and charming!

5 on October 23, 2011

George and Alexanderia were exceptional host. They were warm and welcoming and made my wife and I feel right at home. Our room was quant and clean. Both were attentive to our every need and served an awesome breakfast. We enjoyed their company and will certainly stay at their B&B the next time we are in Gettysburg.


Atmosphere and service

5 on October 22, 2011

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Many extra touches and superb cooked breakfasts. Fun decor.


An excellent experience

5 on October 17, 2011

The stay at the Raphael was excellent. The rooms and ammendities were outstanding and we had a great time. We will definitely return.


Our First B&B Experience

5 on October 12, 2011

This was our first B&B experience and we must say, it far exceeded our expectations. The owners were friendly and helpful in gettting us acclimated to Gettysburg, i.e. suggestions on where to eat, shops to visit and how to get around the battlefield and get the most out of our two day visit. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversation lively and fun. The location is within walking distance of the downtown shops and restaurants.


An outstanding value

4.8 on September 30, 2011

Alex and George were wonderful and gracious hosts. During the planning stages of my trip, they put me in touch with a battlefield guide. In addition, I had a very late plane arrival, and Alex was there to greet me at 1:00 AM in the morning. The breakfasts were bountiful, delicious, and accommodated my dietary needs. Every morning, George greeted me with a pot of coffee, and Heidi, the wonder dog, greeted me with warm affection. Tea and a refrigerator stocked with diet sodas and water are available all hours,They've done a great job decorating each of the rooms. The Inn is located a short walk from the center of town, in a residential area near the Gettysburg College campus.


Saved!

4.0 on September 25, 2011

My daughter and I were supposed to go on a longer trip elsewhere, but our plans fell through at the last minute. To salvage something, we decided to go to Gettysburg. With very little time to find a room and wanting to stay at a Bed and Breakfast, I searched through every listing in the area without success. Finally I saw the Raphael Inn had a night open! I called right away and caught Alexandra in the grocery store! She said she would check when she arrived home and call me back. Right then I knew we would have an enjoyable stay. Before we even met I felt welcomed and knew that everything would be well done. We stayed in the California Rose Suite and even though the bathroom layout was a bit strange, we loved it. You could not have asked for more attentive helpful people if you created your own. Alex made sure we had maps of the area and gave us great suggestions for restaurants. The day we left she even gave us a ride to the antique festival that was going on in town. Breakfast was amazing! I heartily reccommend it and my only complaint is that I could not stay longer!


Quiet, Charming, wonderful hospitality

5 on September 20, 2011

Staying at the Raphael Inn is memorable. The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcomed. Our room was comfortable and extremely clean. It was such a treat to be served a delicious breakfast each morning. The location was very handy.


Quaint and peaceful

5 on September 20, 2011

My husband and I needed to get away and I chose to stay at Raphael Inn. It was very nice and enjoyable, close walk to everything. As we walked around we noticed that several B&B's were on busy, noisy street areas. On foot we did have to walk the frat and sorority houses but no bothers. Great service and easy to find. Wonderful place to stay at! Oh, and the actual privately owned restaurants were so much better than the usual "pub". Try Dobbins!


Charming Inn where you will be taken care of

4.4 on September 19, 2011

The Raphael Inn is a charming little house, just north of downtown Gettysburg. It was close enough to visit/sightsee the town but far enough away from the noise (of late dining, nightly ghost tours, traffic etc). Perfect anniversary weekend getaway for us! George and Alex are sweethearts who attend to your every need. From the thoughtful “extras” (favorite drinks and treats, dining out and sightseeing plans all made for us, etc) to the catering of our needs AND wants (what a treat!) to the special touches in décor with stories and meaning behind it all, you can tell that Alex and George really care about their guests. They even made an extra special anniversary breakfast and treat for us! And since it is a small house (with only 3 rental rooms), they could provide these personal, attentive services to each guest. Although our stay was just one short weekend (not months or years), we really connected with the owners (and the other guests as well!) and feel that we’ve made lifelong friends. Thank you for a wonderful, beautiful weekend! May love and friendship always fill your home!


Raphael Inn

4.0 on September 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our room, the food, and the hospitality. The free use of the History Channel audio guide was a nice touch as well.


Raphael Inn - A Great Place to Stay

5 on September 05, 2011

We stayed in the Lincoln Room. It was nice and quiet and we slept very well. Air conditioned and excellent Internet connectivity. Parking was right outside the front door. Delicious breakfast hand-cooked by the proprietors.


Very friendly & helpful hosts.

4.8 on August 15, 2011

Appreciated all the good advice on what to see & where to eat, loved the tasty breakfasts, and especially enjoyed the comfy beds. We also liked the location - close enough to walk places, but far enough away to be quiet.


Great Inn, Great Hosts

4.8 on August 13, 2011

The moment we walked in we felt right at home! George and Alex are as warm and welcoming as their Inn. The rooms are cozy and neat, each decorated with a different theme. You can tell that a lot of heart went into every detail. They set you up with maps and ideas for places to visit as well as restaurants to try. The breakfasts served are absolutely wonderful!! They ask you ahead of time your dietary preferences / needs and they create your meals with every consideration and it's presented beautifully on the plate. You can tell they are preparing your meals with love. Alex is also excited to share her recipes with you. Overall, I have to say the experience was great and we feel that we made some new friends, including and not to forget....Heidi their Wonder Dog. She is a sweet girl! We have recommended the Inn to family / friends.


Our amazing adventure at Gettysburg

4.2 on August 03, 2011

Our stay at the Raphael Inn B&B exceeded our expectations of hospitality and completed our stay at Gettysburg Penn.


Simply The BEST

5 on July 27, 2011

If you are looking to get away from it all in this amazing place called Gettysburg, the Raphael Inn is a must. Alex and George are certainly called to this ministry of hospitality! We booked for two nights, but just couldn't leave, so we stayed a third! (We were so blessed there was an opening.) Incredible breakfast each morning, spotless rooms, ideal location, and Alex and George are so helpful with information about not only Gettysburg, but the surrounding area. Not enough space or words to say how extremley wonderful our stay was. We have stayed in many B&Bs in England, and none compare! We felt like royalty!


Great Hospitality!

4.2 on July 26, 2011

The accommodations were great and met our every need. Wonderful hospitality


wonderful experience!

4.2 on July 21, 2011

Comfortable, is the best way to describe our experience at the Raphael Inn. George and Alex along with thier wonder dog made us feel totally relaxed and welcomed in thier home. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast as part of your stay in Gettysbug, it made ours complete!


Romantic Getaway

5 on July 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Raphael Inn as a romantic getaway from the hussle and bussle of our everyday lives. We had a wonderfully relaxing and romantic stay at the Raphael Inn. The owners, George and Alex, were so very kind and gracious. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious! Heidi the Wonder Dog was a sweetheart. The Raphael Inn is right in the heart of Gettysburg, withing walking distance of the college and downtown. George and Alex know all the great places to visit and to dine. Fabulous stay! We will definitely be returning to Raphael Inn to visit with George, Alex, and Heidi again.


A Most Welcoming B & B

3.8 on July 10, 2011

The hospitality shown at Raphael Inn was absolutely the BEST and by the time we left, it felt like Alexandra and George were more like good friends or family. The breakfasts they prepared for us were scrumptious and plentiful! There seemed to be no end to their wonderful hosting! Most helpful with information about where to eat, or places/things to see and do.


Gettysburg Fourth of July stay

4.8 on July 08, 2011

We had a fantastic stay in the Gettysburg area over the July 4th holiday period. Our stay at the Raphael Inn was perfect--Alexandar and George were great hosts and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. They were well informed about where to eat and what sights to see. Every breakfast was very good and snacks/soft drinks were always available. It is a great place to stay--you cannot beat the hospitality!


SUPER GREAT PLACE TO STAY

5 on July 05, 2011

WE VISITED GETTYSBURG AND STAYED AT THE RAPHAEL INN FOR 2 NIGHTS. IT WAS AMAZING, GEORGE, ALEX AND HEIDI WERE GREAT, LIKE VISITING RELATIVES THAT YOU ACTUALLY LIKED. THE FOOD WAS GREAT AND THE ROOMS WERE OUTSTANDING. WE HATED TO LEAVE, IF WE RETURN WE WILL STAY HERE FOR SURE. GARY AND MARY


28-29 June Lincoln Room

4.6 on July 03, 2011

Super friendly hosts, felt like a member of the family. Breakfasts were varied and fresh. Likely to return.


Close to Perfection

4.8 on June 29, 2011

George and Alex were the perfect hosts. Their knowledge of Gettysburg is second to none and their kindness and thoughtfulness made us feel right at home. The quiet location is within walking distance of downtown and after eating their delicious breakfast you will need the walk. We stayed in the beautifully decorated Lincoln room which also has it's own sitting room. And then their is Heidi the wonder dog, the quietest and most laid back dog you will ever meet. All of this added up to one of the finest B&B experiences we have ever had.


Our Stay at Rapheal Inn in Gettysburg, June 2011

5 on June 21, 2011

Far surpassed our expectations. The hosts were super friendly and helpful, the rooms were immaculate, the breakfasts were outstanding. We felt really special and well-cared for. The inn is close to town, but has a very relaxing environment. I highly recommend staying at Raphael Inn when you are traveling to Gettysburg.


A great place to stay!

4.4 on June 08, 2011

This was our second stay at the Raphael Inn. Alexandra and George are wonderful hosts (and VERY good cooks)! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and decorated with all kinds of interesting items to go with the theme of each. This our favorite place to stay in Gettysburg. We'll be back!


Raphael Inn

5 on May 20, 2011

Alexandra and George are wonderful, warm hosts who prepared one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a bed-and-breakfast. We had a great time getting to know them, the entire place is spotless, the bed was comfortable and our room had a sun porch where we enjoyed reading and watching TV. It is not far (walking distance) from the center of town, where there are several very good restaurants. We had a great time and highly recommend staying at the Raphael Inn! We will definitely visit again.


Beyond my expectations!

5 on May 19, 2011

My husband and I had never been to Gettysburg, and I wanted a fun trip to get us away for our anniversary. I was looking for an affordable b&b to stay at and came across the Raphael Inn. What a treasure I found! The owners were so helpful and kind, the breakfasts were OUTSTANDING, and the room was absolutley beautiful. Not to mention the welcomed company of Heidi the Wonder Dog! Our stay at the Raphael Inn only enhanced our Gettysburg experience. Highly recommend!


Pleasant surprises abound

4.0 on April 06, 2011

From the amazingly decorative presentation of the food, to the packed-but-not-cramped rooms, we received everything we expected plus a little extra. The duvet was beautiful, soft, warm, AND breathed well. The pull-through driveway is such a plus, the decor is engaging & entertaining, and the host & hostess are well worth getting to know.


First visit to Gettysburg

4.8 on October 14, 2010

Our stay at Raphael was a wonderful experience. The food was outstanding and the company and helpfulness was more than we expected. The Innkeepers did everything they could for us - even extra candy treats and water. And Heidi, th Wonder Dog, was a delight. Woudl definitely return is we're ever in the4 area again.


Father/Daughter Weekend

4.8 on October 07, 2010

I spent last weekend with my daughter horsback riding and touring the battlefield at Gettysburg. The weekend was exceptional, in large part due to the warmth and hospitality of Innkeepers George and Alexandra Escalera. From picking us up at the local airport to helping make reservations at a very popular dining establishment, they could not have been more gracious. Our room was perfect and the breakfast was as good as I have had at a B&B. They treated my 10 year old daughter as if she were their own grandaughter. In fact, when my daughter called home to speak to her sister, she advised her to never stay in a hotel again because a Bed and Breakfast is "a hundred times better!" I could not have said it better myself.


Innkeepers exude warmth and friendship

5 on December 15, 2008

My husband, my sister and I shared the California Rose Suite. It was gorgeous! Lots of tall windows, with white shutters, all along the main wall. Snuggly flannel sheets. Soothing Caribbean colors... FREE WATER, SODAS, SNACKS in "MOMMA'S KITCHEN" alcove on stairway... SO GREAT to keep you hydrated in the dry winter cold. FREE GOURMET COFFEE AND TEAS all day long in breakfast area at the foot of the stairs. Breakfast individually made to order... no request to great, even for fussy vegetarians!! Fruit cup looked like something out of Marth Stewart magazine; oatmeal with fruit cooked in... so mouthwateringly delicious and HEALTHY! It kept us going all day!! Best part of the stay was the kindness of inkeepers. Alexandra stayed up talking to my sister and me until 12:30 a.m. in the morning! How time flies among friends!! (On the other hand, please be assured that persons seeking privacy will have their space.) The innkeepers even ordered the paper my husband wanted especially for him. I NEVER have experienced this level of personalized service. Please go and see for yourselves; you'll be so happy you did!!


Raphael Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $175
  • Reviews (122) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7173988580

Visit Website »

View details

Top