Lightner Farmhouse B&B Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely, historic beauty!

4.2 on November 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. The innkeepers are delightful, welcoming, and friendly. We were shown around on arrival, given a little history of the property, and delightfully pleased with our room. Breakfast was nicely prepared, and plated, and we sat at a lovely table for two, which didn't prohibit us from visiting with the other guests. The bed was very comfy and the electric logs in the fireplace were a nice touch that added comfort and warmth to the room. When back in Gettysburg (or even passing through) this will be our first choice for accommodations. Thanks to the Hoover Family for making our stay memorable.


Fabulous place to stay

5 on October 23, 2013

Eileen and Dennis are wonderful down to earth and friendly individuals. We stayed five nights in the oak room which was so comfortable and peaceful. Pride of ownership is present everywhere in this beautiful historic B&B. We loved it here. This is the place to stay while visiting Gettyburg.


Outstanding Visit

5 on December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse B&B on Dec 8, '12 are loved every minute of it. Eileen, Dennis and their housekeeper Bettie were gracious hosts. Breakfast was very good. Having read over 50 books on the Battle of Gettysburg as well as visiting the Battlefield many many times, I never stayed overnight in Gettysburg. I live just less than 3 hours away from Gettysburg and always did day trips. There was a special connection made staying at the Lightner Farmhouse. I would of never made that connection if all I did was day trips to this beautiful and historic area. I highly recommend the Lightner Farmhouse B&B and I hope to use it for my upcoming annual Gettysburg visits- no more day trips for us! Wally & Diane Greensburg Pa


my friend and I spent the weekend at this delightful Band B this past weekend and it was amazing!!

4.8 on October 09, 2012

My friend and I spent this past weekend Oct. 5th and 6th at the Lightner Farmhouse and had a wonderful time. Eileen, Dennis and Betty too were fantastic hosts. It felt like a home. The breakfasts were delicious and our room was very comfortable down to books available to read. We would definitely do this again. The ghost tour with Betty was alot of fun too. Mary Lou Rahde


Wonderful B&B!

5 on October 04, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Eileen, Dennis and Betty are wonderful. They are so informative about the area and spot on with their recommendations of places to experience. The breakfasts were wonderful and the chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful afternoon treat. We stayed in the Cedar room (5 nights) which has its own private entrance which was great for us. We enjoyed our morning brews each day after breakfast on the comfortable porch. Gave us time to plan our activities for the day in a relaxed atmosphere. And if you like the paranormal - the Lightner as that fl. you as well. The Inn is located far enough out of town to not experience the traffic noise and yet close enough to be into town in a jiffy. And the location to the Visitors Center is great. We recommend the Lightner to anyone traveling to Gettysburg.


Peaceful, beautiful place to stay while visiting Gettysburg!

5 on June 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Lightner Farmhouse in early June in the Walnut Cottage. The cottage has sleeping accomodations for up to 4 individuals. The upstairs room was large with a king bed and trundle with a pull-out bed. The downstairs room has seating and a fireplace that was used by civil war soldiers to bake bread. Eileen and Dennis were polite and attentive host. They provided information about what was available to do in and around Gettysburg. The food was well prepared and presented and always delicious. I would highly recommend Lightner Farmhouse if you are looking for a peaceful retreat during your stay in Gettysburg . It is located approx 2 miles from the noise and crowds of downtown Gettysburg.


Loved it and would go here again!!!

5 on April 21, 2012

Went here for a night in March 2012 and would most definitely stay here again. Eileen and Dennis are the best and made you feel like family. The place leaves you with a restfulness and peace, that is highly needed when touring the battle fields. Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the grounds.


January 2012

5 on January 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights and we absolutely loved it. It was our first time at a B&B and it was extraordinary. I was a little nervous about being in someones home, but Eileen and Dennis have created a very pleasant (historic) atmosphere that made us feel welcome. I absolutely loved that it was located about a mile out of town, in the country. We woke up to sun shining through the windows and a nice scenic view right outside. It was a very pleasant thing to wake up in the mornings. The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy, the basics were all provided and it was very warm and cozy. (We peeked into the other rooms and they were also well cared for!) The breakfasts made by Dennis were better than restaurant foods, and everything was very fresh. The paranormal tour given by Betty was so much fun! We had a great experience. We did hear some spooky sounds at night, but was it ghosts or a creaky old house? You'll have to stay and find out for yourself! I guarantee it is well worth your while!!


Always a pleasure to stay at Lightner!

5 on November 12, 2011

This is our all-time favorite place to stay in the Gettysburg area! The relaxing atmosphere, comfortable rooms, and wonderful breakfasts make this a top notch B & B. Dennis & Eileen always make you feel welcome and make you feel right at home. This is such a nice setting, distanced far enough away from the heart of town, but close enough to all that Gettysburg has to offer. Don't miss having a great meal at J's at the Village. Great food, beverages, service and atmosphere. Try not to miss J's next wine dinner--superb in every way!


Lightner Farmhouse -A Comfy Pleasure!

4.0 on November 04, 2011

My husband and I stayed there 11/1/2011 for one night. The owners, Eileen & Dennis were adorable, their knowledge of the house and area were fantastic. They made us feel at home right away. We had a room upstairs in front of the house called the Maple Room. It was both cheery and comfortable. We wish we could have stayed a few more days. Breakfast was amazing...pumpkin pancakes and bacon, my favorite!!! All in all, a great experience.


Believe in paranormal now.

3.6 on September 04, 2011

We were very happy with our stay, word to wise if you are going there for a ROMANTIC stay you prob should not stay in house. We stayed in the Maple room and the bed makes noise even if you take a breath hahaha, so NO romance unless you want the whole house to hear. Walls are thin. Bed was not comfortable. We had back aches the next day. The room was REALLY clean and for the price worth it. We ate at RJs, and that was wonderful and great service. We went on an investigation with Miss Betty while Hurricaine Irene came through and Miss Betty was a TROOPER and we all got so so wet. But yes I did experience something and she got a picture of the person standing behind me. YIKES! The breakfast area is lovely, we had waffles which in my own opinion was just OK. We stayed at the Brickhouse INN last time and that spoiled us with breakfast that was amazing. She just gave us two waffles and two strips of bacon, oh and frozen blueberries and fruit before. ALl in all, was it the "BEST" B&B ot stay at? NO, but would I go back, yes, unless I want a romantic night with my husband than NO HAHAHA.


Great Place - very hospitable!

5 on August 18, 2011

Just observing the stately house & grounds as you approach down the long drive, takes you back a century in time. Dennis & Eileen were very welcoming and provided us with more information and reading material than we could possibly get through that evening. The cookies, coffee, tea available when we arrived was the perk we needed after a long drive. The spacious room had all the amenities provided and it was wonderful to sit out on the porch and plan our day. Breakfast was wonderful with waffles, bacon, cup of fruit and several juices. Dennis even provided us with weather updates as we were planning to bike Gettysburg. Terrific hosts - thanks Eileen & Dennis!


peaceful and lovely

4.4 on August 14, 2011

I stayed here the night before my wedding, it was peaceful and the grounds were lovely. Eileen and Dennis were friendly and pleasant, sharing entertaining stories with us during breakfast. Our only regret is that we didn't get a chance to walk the trails or the grounds during our stay.


Best Stay Ever

5 on July 15, 2011

My stay at the Lightner Farmhouse was extremely enjoyable. was there for two nights. the rates are reasonalbe for the experience. the meal were excellent. Dennis and Eliene are great host. stay here if you get the chance.


Hospitality that spans the centuries. History with cozy charm.

5 on July 04, 2011

My husband, step-daughter and I stayed for our family vacation and it was wonderful. We loved the history, the charm and the peacefulness. Breakfast was so yummy. Having cookies and tea and hot cocoa available around the clock was a welcoming touch. You feel like your at grandma's house. Dennis, Eileen, and Betty were so friendly and gracious. Betty was wonderful to talk to and go on a ghost hunt with. We all went out one night and photographed orbs and one picture of ectoplasm. That was great. We would definately stay here again. We just wished we had the time to walk the grounds. We didn't meet Thomas, the civil war soldier, but maybe next time. Great place, lovely people and charming civil war time Inn. Clean, cozy, quiet, great food, hospitality and charming. What more could you ask for?!


Breath of fresh air

4.6 on June 28, 2011

Overall wonderful experience. We were greeted warmly by the innkeeper upon check-in, given a history/tour of the farmhouse, recommendations for our visit to Gettysburg and even homemade cookies. The entire bed and breakfast was very clean, our room was spotless. Breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay another night if we are ever in Gettysburg again.


Getaway weekend May 2011

4.8 on May 30, 2011

Eileen and Dennis have a first class B&B. We stayed in the Walnut Cottage--it has a wonderful porch looking out on the field, perfect for a glass of wine in the evening or reading a book in the afternoon after visiting the battlefield. Loved the downstairs with the old bake oven and comfy couch, and the upstairs with the king sized bed that you just sunk into sleep at night. Jake the cat came to visit on the porch one evening, but contrary to other reports, we didn't have any other "visitors". Breakfasts were ample and delicious; we really didn't feel like we needed to eat again until dinner.


The reason we stay at B&B's...

5 on April 25, 2011

the house and grounds had lots of character and our hosts, Eileen and Dennis, were most attentive and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Wish we had had a little more time and clear weather so we could've explored the grounds. Maybe next time!


Lovely Weekend

5 on April 19, 2011

The Innkeepers treated us like family! A very lovely place the only thing missing was our dogs! We will go back again for sure!


Beautiful Setting, Restful Stay

5 on August 17, 2010

What a delightful visit to a home of historical significance. Secluded, yet easy to find. Our hosts were very generous and gave great attention to detail. Can't wait to return!


Great place to stay, near Gettysburg

5 on August 16, 2010

Nice place, just outside the town, so you don't get the noise and crowds, but can easily get to all the sights and shopping if you want.


best vacation ever

5 on June 24, 2010

above & beyond, we will be telling everyone we know how great our stay was, so great we stayed an extra night. great history, comfortable beds, great service & atmosphere & lots of extras. can't wait to go back again. thanks Eileen, Dennis & Betty.


The Perfect B & B

4.8 on June 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Lightner Farmhouse. Rooms were cozy and well appointed and the innkeepers were so attentive and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful and included fresh fruit and cranberry or banana bread in addition to the main course. Coffee and tea were always available along with fresh baked cookies. After a long day sightseeing, it was so nice to come back to a comfortable home. Thank you so much to Dennis, Eileen and Betty.


My Special Weekend

5 on April 21, 2010

My 1st year at the Farmhouse was for my 50th birthday, and I got more than I expected. The Innkeeper were warm and friendly. The breakfast fair was well prepared and delicious. I met 2 ladies who are civil war nurses and are very nice. Gettysburg was always a favorite place for me, the Farmhouse just made it all the more special. This year will be by 4th year in a row to stay at the Lightner and I can't wait. It's alway nice to go on vacation and vist with friends, and I consider the people at the Farmhouse as just that, Friends.


Historic Getaway

4.0 on April 17, 2010

A step back to life in 1863. Eileen is a former history teacher and willing to share. Dennis cooks the most awesome breakfasts. The grounds are well manicured and the inn is clean, and inviting.


Wonderful

4.4 on March 09, 2010

My sister, friend, and I stayed in the Pine Tree Suite and it was one of the best weekends of my life! The owners are such sweet and friendly people. My only regret is that we didn't get a chance to walk their trails. I can't wait to go back there.


Wonderful Retreat

4.4 on October 27, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. Even the outside cat Jake was as friendly as can be. Eileen and Dennis have done a wonderful job with the Inn and we look forward to future stays.


A great, historical stay!

4.8 on October 20, 2009

My fiance and I stayed in the Pine Tree Suite, Oct of 2009. We had a very enjoyable stay despite the cold and rainy weather. Dennis greeted us when we arrived and gave us and another couple that had just arrived, a historic tour of the house. Our room was very comfortable, including the nice and firm bed. Our braekfasts in the morning were very delicious and I enjoyed that I could walk into the dining area at anytime and get a homemade cookie. Eileen was there each morning, with a smile and a pleasant greeting :) This was a field hospital, for 3 weeks, following the Battle of Gettysburg. My fiance and I are very avid Civil War buffs and we plan on trying to move there after we get married. We love the history of the area and, in a word.....AWESOME! But until then, we will stay with our newest friends, Eileen and Dennis! We highly recommend this B&B to everyone and can't wait until our next visit!


Wonderful Time

4.8 on October 18, 2009

My husband and I had our first experience with the Lightner House and couldn't have had better hosts and place to stay. The Hoovers are very friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. Gettysburg is beautiful. Thanks.


GREAT PLACE TO STAY

4.8 on August 19, 2009

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lightner Farmhouse B&B. My husband, son and I had the upstairs bedroom and it was great. plenty of space, we even had our own bedroom. The highlight of our stay was ghost hunting with Betty. We can't wait to do it again. Thank you to the Hoovers for havng such a nice B&B.


Charming and comfortable place to stay

4.0 on August 11, 2009

Lovely setting out of the downtown tourist fray. Friendly, hospitable inn keepers; well appointed rooms, beautiful grounds. Really felt like stepping back in time but with modern conveniences like good plumbing. Breakfast options could have been a little broader, but there were home made cookies out for afternoon snacks and tea service all day, which was nice.


I didn't want to leave!

5 on June 13, 2008

I stayed for 5 days will on a business trip. What a wonderful place to come back to at the end of a tiring day! Peaceful and cozy, the porch right outside my room was the best place to unwind. The best innkeepers I have encountered in my years of staying at b&bs, accomodating, warm and gracious human beings.


Excellent stay

4.4 on January 25, 2008

What a great place to stay for civil war buffs. Very well versed about the area. Very friendly, nice Inn good value. Going back again in July 2008.


More Than Once

5 on January 03, 2008

I have stayed here for the last 3 years every August when I come over to do our Civil War Living History for the National Parks Service. Will be doing it again this year.


A wonderful time

4.0 on October 01, 2007

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Farmhouse and it was everything a great B&B should be. Clean, friendly, good food and wonderful innkeepers who did their best to give us tips on how to experience the battlefield. We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more at home.


Wonderful way to enjoy the country

4.0 on September 21, 2007

We have stayed at this B&b two times - both times in the top floor suite. It is just charming! Very private, with a living area with a tv so you have more room to relax if you want to just be alone together. Only complaint - the suite we always book has wood floors which are lovely - but with 4 guest rooms right below you, you fear waking up the other guests with creaky feet. Fabulous property and very homey!


Warm and Welcome

5 on August 07, 2007

A warm and welcome stay with thoughtful, friendly innkeepers,and awesome breakfasts. The rooms cozy, bright, airy. The beds were comfy the rooms were clean, and the grounds are beautiful.Take a step back to 1863 at the Lightner Farmhouse with Dennis and Eileen. You will return again and again.


Lightner Farmhouse B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $189
  • Reviews (37) 4.7
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (717) 337-9508

Visit Website »

View details

Top