Lightner Farmhouse B&B Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
84 Reviews

Write A Review

History! History! History!

5 on September 29, 2016

Fascinating house, well maintained on beautiful grounds. Good breakfast with lovely i keepers.


peaceful retreat

5 on September 27, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to the Gettysburg area for over 15 years, our first B&B stay was at the historic Cashtown Inn, which at that time was owned by the Hoovers. We followed them to the Lightner Farmhouse when they sold Cashtown. We would never dream of staying elsewhere, their hospitality is unsurpassable. The atmoshere is relaxing and welcoming, Eilleen and Dennis go out of their way to make your stay just perfect. Once you stay at the Farmhouse you'l know what we have experienced.


Historic and Homey B&B

4.8 on September 26, 2016

Our hosts were very warm and welcoming. Our conversations were terrific; just like friends. We loved the history of the farmhouse and will stay there on our next visit to Gettysburg.


Wonderful stay!

4.2 on September 16, 2016

We had a fantastic experience at Lightner B&B! Never staying at a bed and breakfast before, my husband and I were not sure what to expect. Eileen and Dennis were amazing hosts, very knowledgable about the area, and served amazing breakfast. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone.


Favorite place to stay!

5 on September 16, 2016

As members of the Gettysburg Foundation's 1st Corps, my husband and I travel to Gettysburg, PA often, and our favorite place to stay is the Lightner Farmhouse. The property is beautiful, it's quiet, and the location is super convenient to the Visitor's Center and stores. Most important, though, are the owners, and how welcoming they are. Our last visit inluded a very early departure for a tour of Antietam, and they made the extra effort to make us breakfast before we needed to leave, a full 1-1/2 hours before the usual time . It's these 'little' things that really make our stay there so great!! Can't wait to go back!!!


Repeat customer

4.8 on September 08, 2016

I went up the first time for my 50th birthday as a present to me and I've been back every year but one. The owners have become friends and the atmosphere is peaceful and enjoyable. The owners do a wonderful job at helping you to enjoy your stay, with pointing out good places to eat and if there is something special going on in town or near by. Looking forward to next year.


My favorite get away

4.8 on August 23, 2016

It was my 9th year staying at the Lightner and enjoyable as always. Owners are delightful, area is peace.


Wonderful weekend stay

5 on August 19, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse B&B for the weekend while we attended a family reunion nearby. Eileen and Dennis were very welcoming even when we arrived very late due to our flight delay. Eileen provides a historical discussion of the home's origins and the Gettysberg area on Saturday mornings. The breakfasts are very good, especially the cinamon and nut waffles and the zucchini and pineapple bread. Coffee, chocolate chip cookies, and bottled water are available at all times. The farmhouse is beautifully maintained and guarded by their outside cat, Jezabell. Even though the temperature in Gettysberg was very hot during our stay, the air conditioning in our room was great. We plan to return.


Historic Gem

4.8 on July 25, 2016

The room was comfortable and clean, the food was fantastic and the hosts were welcoming and helpful. It was nice to have a quiet location outside of Gettysburg but close enough to get to all the sites.


Best place to stay in Gettysburg

5 on July 24, 2016

We love Lightner Farmhouse B&B! It is beautiful and quiet. Eileen, Dennis and Jason are the best! They make you feel like family when you stay. It is the only place we stay when we are in Gettysburg and we come every year. Jezabell is an great kitty too!


Gettysburg

5 on July 17, 2016

We stayed at the Lightner Bed & Breakfast. The farmhouse was so full of charm and history. We had a private entrance to our room. The room was very inviting as we're the common areas. The Hoover family was warm and gracious as well as very knowledgeable. The food was delicious and filling. It is a little outside of downtown and back off the road. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a lovely getaway. Thank you for a marvelous time!


Wonderful hosts

4.8 on July 14, 2016

We spent a delightful stay here. The room was clean and comfortable. The owners were very hospitable and friendly. It's a quiet spot away from town but easy to get to the sights.


So charming!

4.0 on July 02, 2016

The Lightner is absolutely beautiful and well kept. The Hoover’s are lovely people, very welcoming. We stayed in the Cedar Room which was very comfortable and clean. They even had 2 plush bathrobes for our use in the bathroom. Jason made us an awesome breakfast of crunchy French toast which was so delicious. Coffee, tea and cookies are available all day. They also have a brief but thorough history of the Lightner family and the house. Wonderful stay!


History at the Lightner Farmhouse B&B

5 on June 23, 2016

We were prepared to stay at a hotel in the area until we came across glowing reviews of the Lightner Farmhouse B&B. This property has so much history associated with it and we decided that staying here would enhance our first trip to Gettysburg. The stay surpassed our expectations. The hosts -- Eileen, Dennis and Jason -- are very gracious and freely shared their knowledge of the town's history and sights to see in the area. Breakfasts were delicious and the cookies a nice treat to come home to after a day of touring. Our trip just would not have been as memorable if we stayed elsewhere. What a great way to experience a part of Gettysburg history!


Peaceful Historic Retreat Within 5 Minutes of Downtown Gettsyburg

5 on June 22, 2016

My husband and I visited the Lightner Farmhouse for an anniversary trip hoping to have a relaxing & cozy place to call home between sightseeing in Gettysburg. From the moment we entered the farmhouse until we checked out, we were treated with incredible graciousness and superb hosting. We stayed in the Cedar Room and loved the personal touches and amenities, private entryway, and fantastic porch with rocking chairs. The farmhouse, even with multiple guests, was exceptionally quiet, truly a place that beckons you to come rest and relax. The breakfasts were outstanding-pecan waffles, egg & cheese strata, and many other delicious touches.We loved the super convenient proximity to the Gettysburg Visitor Center and downtown Gettysburg and so appreciated the hosts' recommendations for activities. We will definitely be returning!


wondeful

4.4 on June 11, 2016

Beautiful surrounding, great food and friendly. All things that make a wonderful experience. Thanks,


Great place to stay

4.8 on June 05, 2016

Enjoyed our stay Very welcoming and helpful Food was fantastic


Lighter Farmhouse

5 on June 01, 2016

What a wonderful find! Breakfast was delicious and so much history in the house itself! Dennis and Eileen were very gracious and accommodating hosts! Loved the porches too! Gettysburg was simply fascinating and humbling. Even did a great ghost tour!


An awesome visit!

5 on May 31, 2016

Total submerged in the Civil War history, this Inn is a great find! The breakfast, prepared by Jason, was superb as was the hospitality. Gracious porches for just sitting back and relaxing or the use of the "cellar" tv room - part of the original house before the Civil War. Close to everything - Our innkeepers Eileen and Dennis were the most gracious and we so enjoyed their stories and help in making our visit the best! Don't miss this jewel!!!


Surprise for hubby!!

5 on May 25, 2016

Just a wonderful bed and breakfast we will be back next year for the car show. They were so amazing keeping it a secret from my husband that my in laws were there. He was so surpised!!! Breakfast was amazing as well and loved the history!! A must stay for any person. Thanks The Snowdens


Wow

5 on May 25, 2016

So comfortable Eileen and Dennis were so helpful The Saturday morning talk was very informative


Great Experience

5 on May 09, 2016

Spent 6 nights here. Dennis, Eileen, and Jason could not have been more accommodating. From handling our special dietary needs to providing helpful tips on the area, they really made our vacation something special. If you're coming to Gettysburg, this is the place to stay!


Great getaway

5 on May 07, 2016

We had a wonderful stay in the Walnut Cottage. The room was as described and the Hosts were very nice. Will mostly likely visit this place again.


Best B&B stay ever

4.0 on April 04, 2016

Had the best time here at Lightner Farmhouse. Very friendly innkeepers, clean rooms and wonderful hospitality and food. Will definitely come back again.


Great Place to Stay!!

4.0 on March 23, 2016

We had a wonderful weekend. Everyone is so very friendly and totally awesome! Want to go again soon.


Quiet historical getaway

5 on March 15, 2016

We were warmly welcomed by the innkeepers to this very historic civil war house and had a comfortable stay with great food. The special Battlefield Tour given by author J.D. Petruzzi was exceptional and kept us captivated!


Anniversary Stay at the Lightner

5 on December 14, 2015

My wife and I celebrated 15 years of marriage at the Lightner this past November. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Eileen, Dennis and Jason are extremely knowledgeable of the area and were great conversationalists during the amazing breakfast meals. Eileen even invited us to church on Sunday morning making us feel so welcomed. We felt like family the entire time. We highly recommend people take some time to visit this wonderful place. Mike and Cyndi McClintock (Medina, OH)


Pleasant and comfortable stay

4.6 on October 18, 2015

We enjoyed the Lightner Farmhouse, conveniently near the Gettysburg batttlefield we had come to visit. Our room Cedar has its owni entrance and is convenient on the first floor. Very comfortable. Conversations were quite audible; however, it quieted later in the evening. Eileen is very informative with the interesting history, dining spots and local points of interest.


Great choice!

5 on October 12, 2015

We would choose this B and B again and again! Fabulous from beginning to end!


B & B Review

5 on October 12, 2015

We always enjoy our stay at the Lightner Farnhouse B&B. Will not stay anywhere else when we are in Gettysburg.


Lightner Farmhouse

3.6 on September 23, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The bed was so comfortable and I slept better than at home. Eileen once taught history and she was delightfully knowledgeable about the historic property and Gettysburg.


Loved it. Will come back a 3rd time.

5 on September 12, 2015

This is a great laid back place to visit. Close to everything, but secluded enough to be very relaxing. Eileen is a wonderful hostess. Jason cooks a great breakfast. Check it out for yourself.


A wonderful place to stay!!

4.6 on September 04, 2015

We've been fortunate to spend many nights at the Lightner Farmhouse B & B. Eileen & Dennis are wonderful hosts, along with their amazing chef, son, Jason. Our accommodations have always been top-notch, comfortable and inviting. Breakfasts are superb, and the variety always pleasing. They make every effort to meet our needs (sometimes we need to leave earlier than the usual mealtime for tours/special events), and we are always taken care of. Can't wait to go back!! My highest possible rating!!!


Gettysburg - where history truly comes alive.

5 on September 02, 2015

The converted farmhouse has charming rooms with antique furnishings. The innkeepers are welcoming and helpful as well as extremely knowledgeable about the battle and its participants. First class breakfasts were delightful served in a charming dining room by an experienced and friendly chef. We hope to return for another stay when we're in the area.


A Place to Reflect on the Past

4.8 on September 02, 2015

A beautiful setting in an historic place away from the bustle of downtown Gettysburg where history truly comes alive. The converted farmhouse has charming rooms with antique furnishings and the innkeepers are welcoming and helpful as well as extremely knowledgeable about the battle and its participants. Breakfasts were delightful served in a charming dining room. We hope to return for another stay when we're in the area.


Jay's birthday weekend

5 on August 02, 2015

Hospitality was great. The owners ensured my husband's birthday cake was received and ready for us when we returned from our day in the town. The breakfasts were tasty and served with a smile. Love this B&B!


Fantastic romantic B&B for my girlfriend and I

4.6 on June 19, 2015

Great place to spend a weekend to take in the wonderful history of Gettysburg. Would recommend to anyone.


Great place to stay - good value

5 on June 17, 2015

We stayed in the Cedar Room. 1st floor. Access to side porch with own entrance. On main road but set back from road with beautiful grounds and walking trails. Breakfast was very good and innkeepers were social and attentive. Definitely a place to stay in Gettysburg.


Great place to stay in Gettysburg.

4.2 on June 10, 2015

Stayed in early June 2015. Grounds were beautiful, nice garden and walking paths. Room was comfortable and reasonable in size for a B&B. Breakfast each morning was very good, but everyone is served the same dishes, no options. On Saturday morning a local historian talks about the battle's impact on the community. The house itself served as a field hospital. The owners and staff were great. Enjoyable stay.


A wonderful relaxing weekend with friends

5 on June 10, 2015

It's ways a wonderful weekend with friends. Eileen and Dennis and Jason make you feel right at home. Always enjoy my weekend in Gettysburg with them and will continue coming back. It's my 8th year.


Everything we hoped it would be!

5 on June 04, 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse over Memorial Day weekend. We booked 4 nights in the Walnut Cottage which served as a summer kitchen during the time of the civil war. After the battle of Gettysburg, Union Soldiers used the farmhouse as a hospital. The walnut cottage still has the same oven built into it that was used by the Union Soldiers. The farmhouse grounds are beautiful. They are well maintained with flower gardens and trees that add to its historic appearance. The owners do a great job to make you feel welcome. They also provide history on the house during the battle of Gettysburg and take you on a tour of the house to go along with the discussion. The Breakfast portion of this B&B is outstanding. The food is excellent and they put those small touches on the plate that creates a great presentation. It was unfortunate that we missed out of the cinnamon Belgian waffles due to our schedule. We were speaking with the family one evening and mentioned it would have been interesting to watch some documentaries on Gettysburg, but they had recently upgraded their cable service and there was no DVD player in the cottage. The next day my wife and I came back to the cottage after lunch and there was a DVD player hooked up, instructions and DVD’s on Gettysburg. (SERVICE !) The best part of the location of the farmhouse was its proximity to town and the battlefield. It was 5 minutes away from a busy downtown and the national parks. As close as it was, it seemed far away when you returned. The drive was short, but the location has little traffic, rolling fields and tall trees. It was great to sit on the porch watching the sun go down while we relaxed after a busy day.


Excellent stay

5 on June 03, 2015

We spent four nights here and enjoyed it very much. The breakfasts were excellent and our room was very nice. The owners shared a lot of the history of the house with us and helped us with the better things to see and do in the area. We chose this one since it was outside of town but not too far away from all of the activities. It was nice to come back each night and relax on the porch. Thanks for a great stay!


Comfortable and charming inn

4.8 on May 07, 2015

Our room with own door out to the back porch was quiet and comfortable.


Home away from home. Thank you!

5 on April 04, 2015

The Lightner B&B was one of the best parts of our stay in Gettysburg. The house was betaine, comfortable and we felt very at home. The home-cooked breakfast was delicious, and the cookies and home-baked desserts that were left out each day were great. The location was perfect. It was far enough from town to be relaxing, but close enough to get to all the tourist attractions within minutes. The extra little touches, like the use of the auto tour CD, the bathroom amenities, and the Keurig in the room were wonderful. The family was so welcoming and hospitable. We would definitely stay at the Lightner again.


Valentine's Night at The Lightner Farmhouse

4.8 on March 01, 2015

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house was historic and comfortable. The family running it were very helpful and informative. And breakfast was very good, esp the egg strata.


Rented room, got the whole house!

5 on February 23, 2015

Rented the Cedar Room the night before Valentine's Day. We were alone for a little while, so we explored all the rooms. They are all really nice, but we liked ours best. The fireplace and side entrance were major pluses!. Eileen and Dennis couldn't be nicer. The place had no signs of wear or uncleanliness anywhere. Breakfast was awesome. Will definitely be back in warmer weather. Had fun reading about the history of the house.


Natchez Travelers

5 on August 14, 2014

Accomadations and food were very good. We especially enjoyed meeting Eileen's friend Barbara.


Lovely, historic beauty!

4.2 on November 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. The innkeepers are delightful, welcoming, and friendly. We were shown around on arrival, given a little history of the property, and delightfully pleased with our room. Breakfast was nicely prepared, and plated, and we sat at a lovely table for two, which didn't prohibit us from visiting with the other guests. The bed was very comfy and the electric logs in the fireplace were a nice touch that added comfort and warmth to the room. When back in Gettysburg (or even passing through) this will be our first choice for accommodations. Thanks to the Hoover Family for making our stay memorable.


Fabulous place to stay

5 on October 23, 2013

Eileen and Dennis are wonderful down to earth and friendly individuals. We stayed five nights in the oak room which was so comfortable and peaceful. Pride of ownership is present everywhere in this beautiful historic B&B. We loved it here. This is the place to stay while visiting Gettyburg.


Outstanding Visit

5 on December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse B&B on Dec 8, '12 are loved every minute of it. Eileen, Dennis and their housekeeper Bettie were gracious hosts. Breakfast was very good. Having read over 50 books on the Battle of Gettysburg as well as visiting the Battlefield many many times, I never stayed overnight in Gettysburg. I live just less than 3 hours away from Gettysburg and always did day trips. There was a special connection made staying at the Lightner Farmhouse. I would of never made that connection if all I did was day trips to this beautiful and historic area. I highly recommend the Lightner Farmhouse B&B and I hope to use it for my upcoming annual Gettysburg visits- no more day trips for us! Wally & Diane Greensburg Pa


my friend and I spent the weekend at this delightful Band B this past weekend and it was amazing!!

4.8 on October 09, 2012

My friend and I spent this past weekend Oct. 5th and 6th at the Lightner Farmhouse and had a wonderful time. Eileen, Dennis and Betty too were fantastic hosts. It felt like a home. The breakfasts were delicious and our room was very comfortable down to books available to read. We would definitely do this again. The ghost tour with Betty was alot of fun too. Mary Lou Rahde


Wonderful B&B!

5 on October 04, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Eileen, Dennis and Betty are wonderful. They are so informative about the area and spot on with their recommendations of places to experience. The breakfasts were wonderful and the chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful afternoon treat. We stayed in the Cedar room (5 nights) which has its own private entrance which was great for us. We enjoyed our morning brews each day after breakfast on the comfortable porch. Gave us time to plan our activities for the day in a relaxed atmosphere. And if you like the paranormal - the Lightner as that fl. you as well. The Inn is located far enough out of town to not experience the traffic noise and yet close enough to be into town in a jiffy. And the location to the Visitors Center is great. We recommend the Lightner to anyone traveling to Gettysburg.


Peaceful, beautiful place to stay while visiting Gettysburg!

5 on June 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Lightner Farmhouse in early June in the Walnut Cottage. The cottage has sleeping accomodations for up to 4 individuals. The upstairs room was large with a king bed and trundle with a pull-out bed. The downstairs room has seating and a fireplace that was used by civil war soldiers to bake bread. Eileen and Dennis were polite and attentive host. They provided information about what was available to do in and around Gettysburg. The food was well prepared and presented and always delicious. I would highly recommend Lightner Farmhouse if you are looking for a peaceful retreat during your stay in Gettysburg . It is located approx 2 miles from the noise and crowds of downtown Gettysburg.


Loved it and would go here again!!!

5 on April 21, 2012

Went here for a night in March 2012 and would most definitely stay here again. Eileen and Dennis are the best and made you feel like family. The place leaves you with a restfulness and peace, that is highly needed when touring the battle fields. Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the grounds.


January 2012

5 on January 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights and we absolutely loved it. It was our first time at a B&B and it was extraordinary. I was a little nervous about being in someones home, but Eileen and Dennis have created a very pleasant (historic) atmosphere that made us feel welcome. I absolutely loved that it was located about a mile out of town, in the country. We woke up to sun shining through the windows and a nice scenic view right outside. It was a very pleasant thing to wake up in the mornings. The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy, the basics were all provided and it was very warm and cozy. (We peeked into the other rooms and they were also well cared for!) The breakfasts made by Dennis were better than restaurant foods, and everything was very fresh. The paranormal tour given by Betty was so much fun! We had a great experience. We did hear some spooky sounds at night, but was it ghosts or a creaky old house? You'll have to stay and find out for yourself! I guarantee it is well worth your while!!


Always a pleasure to stay at Lightner!

5 on November 12, 2011

This is our all-time favorite place to stay in the Gettysburg area! The relaxing atmosphere, comfortable rooms, and wonderful breakfasts make this a top notch B & B. Dennis & Eileen always make you feel welcome and make you feel right at home. This is such a nice setting, distanced far enough away from the heart of town, but close enough to all that Gettysburg has to offer. Don't miss having a great meal at J's at the Village. Great food, beverages, service and atmosphere. Try not to miss J's next wine dinner--superb in every way!


Lightner Farmhouse -A Comfy Pleasure!

4.0 on November 04, 2011

My husband and I stayed there 11/1/2011 for one night. The owners, Eileen & Dennis were adorable, their knowledge of the house and area were fantastic. They made us feel at home right away. We had a room upstairs in front of the house called the Maple Room. It was both cheery and comfortable. We wish we could have stayed a few more days. Breakfast was amazing...pumpkin pancakes and bacon, my favorite!!! All in all, a great experience.


Believe in paranormal now.

3.6 on September 04, 2011

We were very happy with our stay, word to wise if you are going there for a ROMANTIC stay you prob should not stay in house. We stayed in the Maple room and the bed makes noise even if you take a breath hahaha, so NO romance unless you want the whole house to hear. Walls are thin. Bed was not comfortable. We had back aches the next day. The room was REALLY clean and for the price worth it. We ate at RJs, and that was wonderful and great service. We went on an investigation with Miss Betty while Hurricaine Irene came through and Miss Betty was a TROOPER and we all got so so wet. But yes I did experience something and she got a picture of the person standing behind me. YIKES! The breakfast area is lovely, we had waffles which in my own opinion was just OK. We stayed at the Brickhouse INN last time and that spoiled us with breakfast that was amazing. She just gave us two waffles and two strips of bacon, oh and frozen blueberries and fruit before. ALl in all, was it the "BEST" B&B ot stay at? NO, but would I go back, yes, unless I want a romantic night with my husband than NO HAHAHA.


Great Place - very hospitable!

5 on August 18, 2011

Just observing the stately house & grounds as you approach down the long drive, takes you back a century in time. Dennis & Eileen were very welcoming and provided us with more information and reading material than we could possibly get through that evening. The cookies, coffee, tea available when we arrived was the perk we needed after a long drive. The spacious room had all the amenities provided and it was wonderful to sit out on the porch and plan our day. Breakfast was wonderful with waffles, bacon, cup of fruit and several juices. Dennis even provided us with weather updates as we were planning to bike Gettysburg. Terrific hosts - thanks Eileen & Dennis!


peaceful and lovely

4.4 on August 14, 2011

I stayed here the night before my wedding, it was peaceful and the grounds were lovely. Eileen and Dennis were friendly and pleasant, sharing entertaining stories with us during breakfast. Our only regret is that we didn't get a chance to walk the trails or the grounds during our stay.


Best Stay Ever

5 on July 15, 2011

My stay at the Lightner Farmhouse was extremely enjoyable. was there for two nights. the rates are reasonalbe for the experience. the meal were excellent. Dennis and Eliene are great host. stay here if you get the chance.


Hospitality that spans the centuries. History with cozy charm.

5 on July 04, 2011

My husband, step-daughter and I stayed for our family vacation and it was wonderful. We loved the history, the charm and the peacefulness. Breakfast was so yummy. Having cookies and tea and hot cocoa available around the clock was a welcoming touch. You feel like your at grandma's house. Dennis, Eileen, and Betty were so friendly and gracious. Betty was wonderful to talk to and go on a ghost hunt with. We all went out one night and photographed orbs and one picture of ectoplasm. That was great. We would definately stay here again. We just wished we had the time to walk the grounds. We didn't meet Thomas, the civil war soldier, but maybe next time. Great place, lovely people and charming civil war time Inn. Clean, cozy, quiet, great food, hospitality and charming. What more could you ask for?!


Breath of fresh air

4.6 on June 28, 2011

Overall wonderful experience. We were greeted warmly by the innkeeper upon check-in, given a history/tour of the farmhouse, recommendations for our visit to Gettysburg and even homemade cookies. The entire bed and breakfast was very clean, our room was spotless. Breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay another night if we are ever in Gettysburg again.


Getaway weekend May 2011

4.8 on May 30, 2011

Eileen and Dennis have a first class B&B. We stayed in the Walnut Cottage--it has a wonderful porch looking out on the field, perfect for a glass of wine in the evening or reading a book in the afternoon after visiting the battlefield. Loved the downstairs with the old bake oven and comfy couch, and the upstairs with the king sized bed that you just sunk into sleep at night. Jake the cat came to visit on the porch one evening, but contrary to other reports, we didn't have any other "visitors". Breakfasts were ample and delicious; we really didn't feel like we needed to eat again until dinner.


The reason we stay at B&B's...

5 on April 25, 2011

the house and grounds had lots of character and our hosts, Eileen and Dennis, were most attentive and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Wish we had had a little more time and clear weather so we could've explored the grounds. Maybe next time!


Lovely Weekend

5 on April 19, 2011

The Innkeepers treated us like family! A very lovely place the only thing missing was our dogs! We will go back again for sure!


Beautiful Setting, Restful Stay

5 on August 17, 2010

What a delightful visit to a home of historical significance. Secluded, yet easy to find. Our hosts were very generous and gave great attention to detail. Can't wait to return!


Great place to stay, near Gettysburg

5 on August 16, 2010

Nice place, just outside the town, so you don't get the noise and crowds, but can easily get to all the sights and shopping if you want.


best vacation ever

5 on June 24, 2010

above & beyond, we will be telling everyone we know how great our stay was, so great we stayed an extra night. great history, comfortable beds, great service & atmosphere & lots of extras. can't wait to go back again. thanks Eileen, Dennis & Betty.


The Perfect B & B

4.8 on June 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Lightner Farmhouse. Rooms were cozy and well appointed and the innkeepers were so attentive and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful and included fresh fruit and cranberry or banana bread in addition to the main course. Coffee and tea were always available along with fresh baked cookies. After a long day sightseeing, it was so nice to come back to a comfortable home. Thank you so much to Dennis, Eileen and Betty.


My Special Weekend

5 on April 21, 2010

My 1st year at the Farmhouse was for my 50th birthday, and I got more than I expected. The Innkeeper were warm and friendly. The breakfast fair was well prepared and delicious. I met 2 ladies who are civil war nurses and are very nice. Gettysburg was always a favorite place for me, the Farmhouse just made it all the more special. This year will be by 4th year in a row to stay at the Lightner and I can't wait. It's alway nice to go on vacation and vist with friends, and I consider the people at the Farmhouse as just that, Friends.


Historic Getaway

4.0 on April 17, 2010

A step back to life in 1863. Eileen is a former history teacher and willing to share. Dennis cooks the most awesome breakfasts. The grounds are well manicured and the inn is clean, and inviting.


Wonderful

4.4 on March 09, 2010

My sister, friend, and I stayed in the Pine Tree Suite and it was one of the best weekends of my life! The owners are such sweet and friendly people. My only regret is that we didn't get a chance to walk their trails. I can't wait to go back there.


Wonderful Retreat

4.4 on October 27, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. Even the outside cat Jake was as friendly as can be. Eileen and Dennis have done a wonderful job with the Inn and we look forward to future stays.


A great, historical stay!

4.8 on October 20, 2009

My fiance and I stayed in the Pine Tree Suite, Oct of 2009. We had a very enjoyable stay despite the cold and rainy weather. Dennis greeted us when we arrived and gave us and another couple that had just arrived, a historic tour of the house. Our room was very comfortable, including the nice and firm bed. Our braekfasts in the morning were very delicious and I enjoyed that I could walk into the dining area at anytime and get a homemade cookie. Eileen was there each morning, with a smile and a pleasant greeting :) This was a field hospital, for 3 weeks, following the Battle of Gettysburg. My fiance and I are very avid Civil War buffs and we plan on trying to move there after we get married. We love the history of the area and, in a word.....AWESOME! But until then, we will stay with our newest friends, Eileen and Dennis! We highly recommend this B&B to everyone and can't wait until our next visit!


Wonderful Time

4.8 on October 18, 2009

My husband and I had our first experience with the Lightner House and couldn't have had better hosts and place to stay. The Hoovers are very friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. Gettysburg is beautiful. Thanks.


GREAT PLACE TO STAY

4.8 on August 19, 2009

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lightner Farmhouse B&B. My husband, son and I had the upstairs bedroom and it was great. plenty of space, we even had our own bedroom. The highlight of our stay was ghost hunting with Betty. We can't wait to do it again. Thank you to the Hoovers for havng such a nice B&B.


Charming and comfortable place to stay

4.0 on August 11, 2009

Lovely setting out of the downtown tourist fray. Friendly, hospitable inn keepers; well appointed rooms, beautiful grounds. Really felt like stepping back in time but with modern conveniences like good plumbing. Breakfast options could have been a little broader, but there were home made cookies out for afternoon snacks and tea service all day, which was nice.


I didn't want to leave!

5 on June 13, 2008

I stayed for 5 days will on a business trip. What a wonderful place to come back to at the end of a tiring day! Peaceful and cozy, the porch right outside my room was the best place to unwind. The best innkeepers I have encountered in my years of staying at b&bs, accomodating, warm and gracious human beings.


Excellent stay

4.4 on January 25, 2008

What a great place to stay for civil war buffs. Very well versed about the area. Very friendly, nice Inn good value. Going back again in July 2008.


More Than Once

5 on January 03, 2008

I have stayed here for the last 3 years every August when I come over to do our Civil War Living History for the National Parks Service. Will be doing it again this year.


A wonderful time

4.0 on October 01, 2007

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Farmhouse and it was everything a great B&B should be. Clean, friendly, good food and wonderful innkeepers who did their best to give us tips on how to experience the battlefield. We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more at home.


Wonderful way to enjoy the country

4.0 on September 21, 2007

We have stayed at this B&b two times - both times in the top floor suite. It is just charming! Very private, with a living area with a tv so you have more room to relax if you want to just be alone together. Only complaint - the suite we always book has wood floors which are lovely - but with 4 guest rooms right below you, you fear waking up the other guests with creaky feet. Fabulous property and very homey!


Warm and Welcome

5 on August 07, 2007

A warm and welcome stay with thoughtful, friendly innkeepers,and awesome breakfasts. The rooms cozy, bright, airy. The beds were comfy the rooms were clean, and the grounds are beautiful.Take a step back to 1863 at the Lightner Farmhouse with Dennis and Eileen. You will return again and again.


Lightner Farmhouse B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $209
  • Reviews (84) 4.8
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (717) 337-9508

Visit Website »

View details

Top