James Gettys Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
199 Reviews

Write A Review

Vacation.

5 on October 09, 2014

We came back to Gettysburg on a short vacation, and decided to stay at the James Getty Hotel this time, and were very glad we did. We loved staying in town within walking distances of most everything. We will be back.


James Getty's Hotel

5 on October 06, 2014

Great place to stay. Will always stay here while in Gettysburg.


A great place to stay!

5 on September 27, 2014

The James Gettys Hotel is charming, spacious, and centrally located. We will definitely stay there again! We had a lovely time.


Best place to stay in Gettysburg

5 on September 11, 2014

Very clean, very spacious, and great service. Ideal location in the heart of town, with great shopping and dining within an easy walk. Our morning breakfasts were excellent! We recommend with no reservations.


A Special Hotel

4.8 on August 29, 2014

A really neat place to stay. Quaint. Wonderful amenities. Don't forget to say hi to the fabulous black lab named "Char" who you can find in the adjoining Lord Nelson Gallery -- named, by the way, for a black lab.


Very nice and very close to downtown

3.4 on August 27, 2014

Our stay was very nice and the location is very close to the main square. The room was a little dated and there was no television in the bedroom. Other then that it was very clean and it provided a little kitchen if you were so inclined to make your own meals.


Nice place to stay.

4.0 on July 30, 2014

It was very nice. The people who checked us in and out were very nice and helpful. The room was super clean and we liked it because it provided all the dishes you need. It is an excellent place to stay. The only downfall is the breakfast. It isn't much of a breakfast and the muffins were so dry we couldn't even eat them.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your compliments to our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms! We know that everyone's breakfast requirements are different, so our continental breakfast basket is designed to provide a quick muffin and fruit to the business person running out the door, or a morning snack to tide over vacationers until everyone in their party is ready to head out the door to the diner. Many of our guests also enjoy wrapping up the baked treats to carry out onto the battlefield for later. I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy the muffins provided. We do bake everything in house and hold our quality to the very highest standards. We really enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Catriona


Comfortable Bed in Historic Inn

4.8 on July 24, 2014

The room was clean and neat. The food left for breakfast was very good. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself is historic and interesting. A great stay.


No centro de Gettysburg

3.2 on July 22, 2014

Hotel bem localizado com quartos grandes e cozinha bem equipada (o que facilita muito na alimentação).

Innkeeper Response
Portuguese to English translation via online language service: "Hotel well located with large rooms and well equipped kitchen (which greatly facilitates in the feed)." Thank you very much for your review! Our suites are wonderfully accommodating for families, and our kitchenettes with apartment-sized refrigerators really help our guests with sticking to their vacation budgets! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel! Sincerely, Catriona


The Best Hotel in Gettysburg!

5 on July 14, 2014

The James Getty Hotel is the best Hotel in all of Gettysburg! They are right in the heart of Gettysburg. The staff is fantastic. The rooms are up to date and spotless. Free parking. Homemade breakfasts that were to die for! Kitchenettes in every room. The TV's had over 200 channels in HD! This is the only place that we will stay when in Gettysburg! 5 Stars across the board!


The greatest

5 on July 13, 2014

This was our fourth stay at J Gettys, and it will definitely not be our last. Will and Barb Jahn


Great location

3.4 on July 11, 2014

To much road noise. To small of a bed. Nice breakfast snacks and candy at turn down.


Would stay again

4.6 on June 25, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised with this little hotel. The staff could not be more pleasant and the full kitchen was a real treat. The continental breakfast provided the evening before was really very nice. We would stay here again.


Great Place to stay

4.8 on June 25, 2014

Just for everyone's information all the hotels in town are right next to the main street. So you will have traffic noise unless you get a back room. We liked the noise but others have reported it a bother. The traffic is surprising a lot. Now for the hotel. The staff answered my emails right away. They are like friends you have known awhile. I told them about my wives birthday & they were able to have flowers & cupcakes placed in the room. It was very nice. My wife was one happy lady. The room is setup so you have a separate bedroom & bathroom & have a nice kitchen, table & couch area. It is very nice & very clean. It is like coming home at the end of the day. They give you a key for the front & side door of the hotel so you can get in after hours. I thought that was cool. As for Dining we walked around town & ate at different places. All were nice. The staff drops off a breakfast basket about 4pm. It is placed in the fridge. It was very nice. Gettysburg seems to be one hour away from everything. We went to Lancaster & spent a nice day there. Gettysburg could be used as place to stay as you visit other places. Now would we stay there again...er...OF COURSE!!!! We loved it.


Sunday Night on June 22,2014

4.2 on June 24, 2014

We had spent the night here. The moment we had walked in. We were greeted. This nice lady at the front desk. Had answer all of our questions. The room was perfect! Clean and well kept. We were on the fourth floor. This hotel is located in the perfect place in Gettysburg. All of the restaurant's, and shops within walking distance. One mile from the Gettysburg battle field. I would recommend this hotel and staff. Will visit again!!! Oh no dining rooms. But easy to walk to other restaurants.


Large Comfortable Suite

4.8 on June 23, 2014

Stayed in the Majestic Suite. Free Parking! The room was large and lovely. Very Clean, nice mattress and linens. Breakfast was muffins, coffee and orange juice. Very little juice and coffee. All else was perfect.


Nice Stay

5 on June 14, 2014

Lovely place.....have nothing bad to say...we enjoyed this and would stay there again.


Gettysburg Charm

4.8 on May 31, 2014

This is a perfect place to stay when visiting Gettysburg. The owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful, the location is right in the historic downtown, and the rooms are little apartments with all the conveniences and delightful charm. Highly recommended!


Great lovely place

5 on May 26, 2014

We stayed for a few days and even added a day prompted by the hotel. The baked items, chocolate and cookies were wonderful...everything was wonderful including the staff! Excellent


A Comfortable Stay at James Gettys Hotel

4.8 on May 26, 2014

We were very happy with the quality and cleanliness of the suite, its furnishings and amenities. We were also pleasantly surprised that our room included a kitchenette. Included was a basket with muffins, breads and fruit for breakfast, a plate of cookies for an evening treat, a pitcher of OJ in the refrigerator and a coffee maker with excellent brew. After an exhausting day at the Gettysburg battlefield museum and park, it was wonderful to come to our room and relax. Despite hearing that the hotel was haunted, we did not experience any "visits".. The next time we are in Gettysburg, we will definitely stay at the James Gettys Hotel.


One of The Best

4.2 on May 02, 2014

This is the third time that we have stayed at the James Gettys hotel in their Majestic Suite, It is a wonderful little hotel that exudes charm and the staff are all delightful people.


Outstanding

5 on April 20, 2014

We had a lovely time at the hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful in booking a ghost tour for us.


Very comfortable and charming, but noisy at night.

4.0 on April 16, 2014

Great place to stay. Centrally located. Very comfortable rooms. Restaurant/bar next door that was noisy very late into night. Also road noise very loud. Couldn't sleep with windows open due to noise. I would stay there again and would recommend it to others.


Great location, friendly and very clean!

4.8 on April 13, 2014

Great location very friendly staff and lovely clean and comfortable room what more do you want!!! Yummy homemade baked goods, coffee and juice for breakfast delivered to your room. Within touching distance of town centre shops and cafés. Great happy to recommend.


A wonderful place to stay

4.6 on April 05, 2014

We got engaged here last year and returned this year for our honeymoon. The staff was so wonderful. They even put wine glasses in our room very romantic


Priceless

4.8 on March 15, 2014

Warm hospitality was endless throughout the stay. Elegant decorum, spacious guestrooms coupled with free parking was a welcomed commodity. The complimentary baked goodies and fruit tray are delicious.The locals were totally engaged to make it a pleasant experience and you must meet the merchants. The A & A Village Treasure staff will take you on a true adventure. We plan to return….soon!


Best PLACE TO STAY IN GETTYSBURG

5 on January 04, 2014

I feel this is my home away from home every time I stay.


James Getty--Very nice!

4.0 on December 18, 2013

Very hospitable service. Nice and roomy rooms. Very clean and comfortable. There isn't a restaurant or kitchen associated with the hotel, but they left muffins and fruit for us every morning. And the restaurant next door is great. We were a little bummed we didn't have any hauntings! Oh--great location!


Wonderful Hotel & Staff. Tricia is lovely. Greetings from a Brazilian family.

5 on December 17, 2013

Renzo, Flavia, Julia and Rebeca.


Great Place to Stay

5 on November 21, 2013

Had a great time. Beautiful room, wife loved it and that's what matters.


Wonderful time at James Gettys Inn

4.6 on November 17, 2013

The James Gettys Inn is very charming. The rooms all have sitting areas and kitchenettes and are very comfortable. The rooms are also spotlessly clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. The inn is 1/2 of a block from the center square so there are many restaurants, shops, and historical venues within walking distance. I travelled as an adult with my parents, who are in their 70's. All of us will choose James Gettys Inn for our next trip without hesitation.


For love of the James Gettys Hotel !!!!!!!!!!!1

5 on November 11, 2013

We felt like we were at someones home beautiful accomadations and over the top friendly service !!!!!


Wonderful Hotel and great location!

4.2 on November 06, 2013

The hospitality of the James Getty was amazing. Catriona, was so bubbly and helpful. The room was gigantic (The Majestic) and very comfortable. The hotel itself it within walking distance of tours, shops, and restaurants. The only driving we did was to the battlefields. Breakfast was great for me, but my husband is more of a savory breakfast eater. The chocolates at turn down were great as well! We wouldn't hesitate to stay again!


Great stay

4.4 on November 03, 2013

Hotel is very comfortable. Friendly staff. Big clean room. Very clean common areas of hotel. Everything you could need in the room. Location is very convenient. Several food options and shopping within walking distance from hotel. The battlefield and other "must see" places are a few minutes drive. We will definitely stay again at the James Getty. After all there are 11 more rooms to try and so much to see in Gettysburg!


Enjoyable Stay At the James Gettys

4.6 on November 02, 2013

The room and service were excellent. I'm sure they have heard this before, but the restaurant next door, at closing, creates a late night disturbance as the staff leaves. They talk and carry on as they head out for home.


Lovely Weekend Stay

4.6 on October 30, 2013

Room was great. Breakfast was yummy. Location is fantastic. Will definitely be back.


Exceptional in every way!

5 on October 29, 2013

I spent 40 years wanting to go to Gettysburg. The friendly people, the beautiful clean room, all made my stay more than I could have ever dreamt of, PERFECT!!


Perfect in every way

5 on October 28, 2013

We stayed three nights at this B&B and wish that we had planned a longer trip. Beautiful rooms, spotless and very cozy. The continental breakfast is delicious and served in cute baskets. Don't miss the freshly ground coffee - it is wonderful. The staff is extremely friendly, courteous and very helpful. One of the best places we have ever stayed - cannot recommend it enough.


Loved It! We'll be back!

4.6 on October 27, 2013

We stayed at the James Gettys Hotel last week and loved it! We had been in town for the Gettysburg Blue-Gray Half Marathon and wanted to stay "in town" for our last night so we could have dinner and some drinks without worrying about driving. The room was lovely and felt like home. We had dinner and drinks and arrived back to find our breakfast treats for the next day had been delivered. Blueberry peach cake and blackberry muffins and grapes plus orange juice in the fridge. AND fresh bakes oatmeal raisin cookies for a midnight snack! Honestly we felt like we were home, it was so comfortable. We absolutely loved it and will definitely stay there again!


Comfortable suite in downtown Gettysburg

4.8 on October 16, 2013

Cozy 3 room suite was laid out beautifully and offered everything we needed. A delicious continental breakfast was brought to the room the prior late afternoon (a great way to handle breakfast). Our only negative was the street noise. But this is a downtown hotel, after all. Next time we'll ask for accommodations at the rear of the building.


One of our favourites, ever.

4.8 on October 14, 2013

We have travelled a lot over the past 7 years and this was one of our best experiences. Quality of sleep, quality of furnishings, bright and cheery ambience, extraordinary staff, walking distance to restaurants, a lovely breakfast delivered to your room. We had a wonderful 2 night stay and would have stayed longer if able. I would highly recommend the James Gettys Hotel.


Valuable Getaway

5 on October 10, 2013

James Gettys Hotel in Gettsyburg PA is an excellent lodging selection. It is located on a main thoroughfare and all attractions are within walking distance for those who enjoy walking. Just sitting on the square and watching the world pass by is a relaxing experience. We have stayed at James Gettys several times over the past ten years and highly recommend it.


Great place to stay

5 on September 29, 2013

When we arrived a few hours early before check in, they said room was ready and checked us in. The woman even asked us if we needed help with our luggage, we didn't. She gave us a tour of place and room. We were pleasantly surprised, it had a 2 burner stove,microwave, large refrigerator. There was a sitting room with HDTV and dish network. The bedroom was nice size which was great we had 2 large suitcases and 2 duffers, so there was plenty room to store them without tripping over them. There was a tall dresser, a end table with 2 drawers, and a armoire to hang jackets and shirts. Plus iron board and iron. The bathroom consisted of a stand up shower, pedestal sink and toilet. The view was Main Street of Gettysburg. Each night they brought up a basket of fresher cooked bread/muffins, fruit and juice, along with 2 nice size pieces of chocolate,along with fresh ground coffee, for your morning. Only 2 minor things that I can say 1- parking is in rear of building with no back door into hotel, you have 2 walk between hotel and Bistro's sitting area, but they do have a temporary parking spot in front to unload and load your luggage. You will need to place parking paper on dashboard when parking in rear lot, this was a minor issue and should not have any impact on your stay here. The other minor issue was WiFi access was really bad, but we were on 3rd floor so they may have attributed to it, but your on vacation right? Do you really need WiFi internet? Oh yeah place has elevator so do not worry climbing stairs unless you want to. Highly recommend this place to stay, If our travels have us going back through Gettysburg we would definitely stay here again, and encourage anyone to stay here.


Home away from home.

5 on September 26, 2013

Staff was very helpful and ready to answer any questions. Room very clean and relaxing. Your never heard anyone in the next room running water or watching TV. Right downtown if you wanted to take a short walk around the square. We would stay there again.


Great hotel!

4.2 on September 25, 2013

The James Gettys is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are beautiful, and we had a great time there. Our only complaint was the noise from the street. It was hard to fall asleep because of people at the restaurant next door.


Gettysburg Trip

4.0 on September 21, 2013

A lovely place to stay. Convenient to downtown shoppes & restaurants.


Awesome Stay at James Gettys Hotel

5 on September 17, 2013

Had a wonderful time - wish we had not been on 2nd floor due to the noise from the bar next door (right under our bedroom). We'll stay higher up and near the back next time ;^) Otherwise, our stay was perfect.


Fun Weekend!

4.0 on September 17, 2013

The hotel was quaint, the rooms were like a tiny apartment, and very clean. Very enjoyable.


Noisy

3.0 on September 15, 2013

Room located along the street was very noisy due to street traffic. Nothing they can do about that. The bed was also too narrow for two people. There was room for a larger bed in the room. Everything else was great. Parking, location, food, service, friendly staff all good


Overnight In Gettysburg

5 on September 11, 2013

Great location, great staff, wonderful experience! Highly recommend,


Anniversary Celebration

4.6 on September 10, 2013

Tricia and Catriona were outstanding in their attention to our needs. Very helpful. They made our stay quite memorable from our initial welcome where we were offered a place to stow our luggage until check-in and then extra special help and guidance in what to do and see in Gettysburg - Tricia's advice on making use of the Battlefield's personal guide service was perfect - we were very lucky to obtain a guide at the last minute and were equally lucky he, Jerry, was so good, so knowledgeable and so friendly. We learned a lot and we had fun!


central location

4.2 on September 10, 2013

Great location. Large suites with full kitchen. Yummy breakfast.


lovey place

4.4 on September 10, 2013

We have stayed at the James Getty's hotel many times. It is a lovely hotel. We have been to Gettysburg seven times. We stayed at the James Getty's five out of seven times. We will probably stay there again if it is available the next time we go to Gettysburg. They fill up fast so book ahead if you are going.


Gettysburg Getaway

4.4 on September 09, 2013

This Inn was clean, comfortable and conveniently located in the town. No problem with noise from the street. Innkeepers were friendly and attentive.


Wonderful stay

4.2 on September 09, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel located in the center town. We spent our 27th Anniversary there and were very glad we chose this hotel.


Nice boutique hotel with great location

4.6 on September 09, 2013

Because of it's relatively small size, this very pleasant "boutique" hotel offers very personal service. The rooms include a small kitchenette which is helpful for visits of several days. The downtown location is convenient for dining and shopping. Highly recommended!


Good things in small packages !

4.8 on September 08, 2013

Stayed one night in the City Hotel suite. Compact sitting room with nicely equipped kitchenette, flat screen TV, small table with 2 chairs. Good sized bedroom with great bed, high quality furnishings. Entire hotel with beautifully finished wood, all paint and paper in perfect condition. Continental breakfast basket is delivered to room the evening before, with scrumptious blackberry muffins, lemon bread, grapes, strawberries, orange juice, and cream for the coffee. Adequate free parking behind the hotel, with unloading zone in front. The hotel is in the heart of the town center, within walking distance of shops and restaurants. It is not cheap but you get top quality and friendly competent service. We would definitely stay here again.


worth the splurge

4.0 on September 08, 2013

we wanted to add an historic lodging to our travel in philadelphia and gettysburg, and the james getty was perfect. the downtown location is perfect, having a parking space behind is perfect, having a kitchenette is perfect. getting the theme? the only downside was the bed - it's been a while since we had two people in a double! however, the living area included a sofa bed - problem resolved. we would definitely return.


Weekend getaway

3.0 on September 04, 2013

Nice hotel, but pricey for what is offered.


A Pleasant Stay

4.8 on August 30, 2013

Had a wonderful time in Gettysburg and in big part due to our stay at the James Gettys Hotel. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff friendly. The location was extremely convenient in the middle of town. We walked to many locations we visited. Driving to other locations was painless. The breakfast basket was a welcomed sight each night...enough for a late night snack and morning breakfast. It was scrumptious. We will definely stay there again nex time time in town.


Wonderful place to stay

5 on August 27, 2013

Clean and spacious room; with fresh fruit, muffins, cookies and juice each evening for the next day's breakfast. Helpful and pleasant staff. Nice to be able to walk around the town-no need to get in the car. Only minor drawback would be some street noise, not really an issue. It was a good value with a kitchenette, table, couch ,TV and separate bedroom area, too.


A wonderful, comfortable stay

4.8 on August 26, 2013

Our two-night stay in the Union Hotel Suite was wonderful. We had a scheduled late arrival which turned out to be very late because of flight delays--a hotel staff member waited until well after midnight for us and was very accommodating when we arrived. Our room was much more than we had expected: clean, comfortable and inviting; more like a small apartment than a hotel room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very quiet, and the daily breakfast basket was delicious. We would definitely stay here again.


Great place to stay

4.4 on August 19, 2013

This is a centrally located and excellent place to stay in Gettysburg. the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We stayed in the union suite which was comfortable and quiet. It had a small kitchenette and a queen-sized bed. Tthe price was very reasonable. A fresh-baked Continental breakfast was brought to the room at 4 PM the night before and was delicious. We highly recommend it.


Great stay

5 on August 18, 2013

Stayed three nights, excellent location, excellent service, and rooms very nice.


James Gettys Hotel review

4.4 on August 17, 2013

A great hotel with the feel of a b&b. The pix don't do the justice that is deserved. Comfortable, welcoming, and a great place to relax after a long day of touring Gettysburg.


Review on August 1,2013

3.8 on August 17, 2013

Lovely hotel. Continental breakfast was exceptional. Owner was very helpful.


Historic Harmony

4.0 on August 16, 2013

The James Gettys Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the downtown area of historic Gettysburg. The hotel itself is one of the historic buildings in the area. We have a family of four and found our room to be perfectly charming and adequate. The fresh baked goods for breakfast and special treats brought to us by the staff were excellent. We parked our car for the entire length of our stay as the restaurants, and many historical sites located in the downtown area, are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The actual battlefield itself (one mile away) is easily accessed by Gettysburg's free transportation system. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. We had a truly enjoyable experience.


Perfect

3.6 on August 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay! Plenty of dining up and down the boulevard.


Home away from home

5 on August 11, 2013

Warm, friendly, homey, with extra-special home-baked treats for breakfast and evening snack. Great location. Historic building. Makes your visit to Gettysburg even more memorable.


Wonderful and charming!

4.8 on August 09, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the James Gettys Hotel this week! The hotel was a wonderful blend of old world charm and modern amenities. Our room overlooked the Chambersburg Street, which was a spectacular view. The room was clean and full of nice touches, including home baked treats and orange juice for breakfast. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but the treats were a lovely surprise and the Blue Parrot Cafe is right next door. We can't wait to return to Gettysburg and we will definitely be staying here. Thank you for your contribution to a memorable vacation!


Delightful place to stay

4.8 on August 08, 2013

We spent two nights inm the City Rooms and the suite was wonderful. The staff made the visit even better and the furnished breakfast was more than we anticipated. We have already recommended this place to friends and would stay there on another visit.


Fri/Sat night stay in July

3.2 on August 05, 2013

The room was larger than I expected and the beds were very comfortable. The additional mini kitchen was great as we have two small children under 5yr in age.


Our stay, July 22-23, 2013

4.0 on July 30, 2013

The James Getty Hotel was wonderful. Extremely clean, very nice suite. We requested a rollaway bed for our daughter upon arrival and it was brought to the room immediately . Super friendly staff. The continental breakfast left in the room each day was quite nice! My suggestion though, would be that more than one small container of cream be left. Also, perhaps some bottled water as well. Other than this minor issue , we would definately stay again!


Gettysburg stay July 2013

3.6 on July 30, 2013

Nice small hotel, right in the center of town. Enjoyed our stay very much. All staff was very pleasant and accommodated any of our requests. Hotel was clean and comfortable.


I love this B&B!

5 on July 29, 2013

This is my second stay at the James Gettys Hotel. I love the cleanliness, the beautiful rooms, the friendly staff, and the convenience and location, just to name a few. I recommended friends this year and they also loved it. I will stay here for every visit to Gettysburg!


July 2013 Visit for Conference

5 on July 28, 2013

The James Gettys Hotel was as advertised and better. I stayed in the Sign of the Golden Cross Keys Suite which provided a view of Chambersburg Street from the sitting room and Gettysburg College and the surrounding area from the bedroom. The rooms were clean and neat and furnished with very comfortable furniture. The turn-down service provided a tasty afternoon snack and fresh baked goods and fruit for the next morning's breakfast. Everything was fresh and delicious. The suite was very spacious and a good value for the price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hope to stay here again in the future.


Best Hotel

4.4 on July 23, 2013

We stayed the week of July 13th. What a fantastic B&B. We stayed in the majestic suite. It was comfortable, beautiful and relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful when it came to the area. NO ISSUES!!!


cool July stay in warm Gettysburg

4.0 on July 16, 2013

Great location; room was spacious, comfortably cool and very quiet.


Outstanding

4.6 on July 16, 2013

The Inn is well located near the Square with a historic atmosphere, excellent and friendly service and spacious suites. I recommend the Inn to all those interested in history and exploring Gettysburg. The yogurt and homemade granola waiting in your room are a very nice touch.


A perfect stay in Gettysburg

4.2 on July 15, 2013

Comfortable, charming and a very helpful and serviceminded staff. The location is convienent. Would definitely recommend this hotel.


A step back in time

5 on July 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. If you like history, the James Gettys Hotel is rich with history. It is a very old building with modern safety and comfort while maintaining the original historical sights, sounds, decor and feel of days gone by.The James Gettys Hotel is very clean, smells good, and is very organized, the staff are attentive, professional, courteous and treat you like royalty. The goodies delivered to your room, like fresh milk in a glass pitcher, orange juice same way, prepared granola, sliced fruits, fresh baked breads, delightful chocolates, wonderful coffee & teas are tastefully done. The toiletries like soap,shampoo,lotions etc. are exceptional. The price you pay for all of this is actually more economical than a conventional hotel because of the location and the rest and relaxation you get knowing how clean everything is and the quiet peaceful undisturbed time you will get. Go ahead and step into an era where service really meant something. The James Gettys Hotel is very nice. It is old, feels old, looks old but has modern amenities yet so much charm. Once there, you may even forget about cell phones, computers, TV's and all of that stuff. You will instead feel like shopping or even window shopping, taking an evening walk, talking, listening or just reflecting.


An Exceptional Stay for an Exceptional Event

4.6 on July 08, 2013

I had been looking forward to the 150th anniversary of the battle and its associated events for several years. I selected the James Gettys based on a previous stay and made my reservation early. I was extremely pleased that I chose this hotel to facilitate a better experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. When I needed a recommendation or a reservation they (typically Trisha) were on it without hesitation. The accommodations are very good and the breakfast and treats outstanding. The James Gettys is the real deal. If you want a Gettysburg innkeeper that focuses on how haunted their establishment is (they exist, and they're creepy to me) don't stay at the James Gettys. If you want to be well taken care of while you visit an exceptionally historic destination, the James Gettys is excellent.


Great location, clean comfortable rooms

3.8 on July 04, 2013

We stayed one night as we were traveling through Gettysburg. Check in was efficient and pleasant, and our room was quite spacious and comfortable. We caused a minor problem for ourselves when we left our teenage son in the room to watch the Stanley Cup playoffs with the only key and returned after the front door had been locked. We spent 20 minutes on the street trying to get his attention via text and email. Multiple keys for guests or even a way to call our room directly after hours would have solved this problem. Breakfast was left in the room the night before and was nice, but sparse. We went out for breakfast after eating our breakfast. We would definitely stay again - thanks for the pleasant stay!


our stay in Gettysburg

5 on June 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the James Gettys hotel. The rooms were comfortable; the hospitality was outstanding. We especially appreciated the room decor. Look forward to returning in the future.


Comfortable within the heart of Downtown Gettysburg

3.0 on June 23, 2013

I reserved two rooms for two nights, and arrived with my parents and fiancé. The Hotel staff is friendly, and the hotel itself has a nice "old world" feel. The rooms were comfortable with a separate living area, bedroom, bathroom, and small kitchen area connected to the living area. Breakfast breads, cream for your morning coffee, and a very small container of orange juice arrive in your room the evening before the next morning. Coffee is left up to you to either make in your room, or you can do what we did and leave the hotel to go and find your own. There are several restaurants within walking distance (One Lincoln for dinner, and Cafe Saint-Amand for breakfast) that I recommend. I enjoyed my stay, but was only a little disappointed because I was hoping for a more traditional bed and breakfast. I should have done my homework on that one, and can not fault the hotel or the staff for something that I should have researched on my own. The location is in the heart of the action in downtown Gettysburg (within reasonable walking distance or a short car ride away), and the hotel is comfortable and clean. I would visit again, and stay here if I were looking for an intimate, old world feel, with the history of a hotel originally constructed in 1804.


Stop Your Search, Stay at Jame Getty's

5 on June 18, 2013

Charming and comfortable B&B in the heart of Gettysburg. Excellent value. All staff were genuinely helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again. My 10-year old daughter loved it!


Great Weekend Getaway

5 on June 16, 2013

Quite enjoyed our room and the basket of goodies that were brought to us each day. Nice feel to the place and an excellent placement as far as other sights and businesses in the town.


Absolutely Perfect

5 on June 06, 2013

Our room was on the top floor, facing the street and it was so cozy and quiet. The woman who checked us in was friendly and knowledgeable. Our pastries and fruit delivered to our room were enough to get us well on our way in the mornings with some leftover for later. We also enjoyed the Lord Nelson Gallery and Blue Parrot Bistro right next door. What a fantastic location. With Gettysburg's free trolley service, you really don't need to use your car at all! This is a fantastic place!


James Gettys Hotel, a jewell in Gettysburg, PA

4.0 on June 06, 2013

This is a charming all suite small hotel in the heart of Gettysburg. The location is perfect; close to many dining options, Gettysburg College and a short ride to the battlefield. Fresh pastries and juice are delivered to your room in the evening so you can start the day when you want. Also, excellent coffee is available for the coffee maker in your room. No restaurant in the hotel but there is a nice option right next door, the Blue Parrot.


Great hotel right off the square

4.6 on June 04, 2013

We had a one-bedroom suite on the 4th floor. Very comfortable living room, kitchenette, bedroom. A great place to stay. Park your car and walk all over town and college. Staff went out of the way to get me non-dairy creamer. Breakfast is locally-made muffins/breads with a little fruit -- not a lot of food, but great for just waking up.


James Gettys Hotel Review

4.0 on May 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Gettysburg for 2 nights and stayed at the James Gettys Hotel. How wonderful! Everything was perfect and after a long day of traveling, including a trip to the ER, the accommodations were just what we needed, quiet, relaxing. comfortable and clean! Thank you. Lisa & Robert Dietrich


John Gettys Hotel - A Class Act

5 on May 15, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at the John Gettys. We opted for the Majestic Suite, which is more than fabulous. This suite includes a large living room, beautiful kitchette, large bedroom with king-sized bed, and huge bathroom with separate water closet, jetted spa tub, and separate shower. The suite is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Since the hotel has an elevator getting suitcases upstairs is a breeze. Parking can be a big problem in Gettysburg, so we were thankful the hotel has several private parking spaces in the back. The location is great, with several shops and restaurants just a stones-throw away. Our suite was quiet, relaxing, and completely comfortable. We will definitely be back. Five-stars in every category!


Fun and Quaint

5 on May 10, 2013

Enjoyed the visit enormously. Wonderful people working here. Just a slight "issue" with street noise. Otherwise, charming and delightful.


Our home away from home in Gettysburg

5 on May 03, 2013

We have made many visits to the James Gettys Hotel and look forward to each visit. The staff is so friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is beautiful. The location is so convienent. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.


Perfect Weekend

4.4 on May 02, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an affordable getaway weekend. The James Gettys Hotel was perfect. The staff is so nice, including having a bandaid for me just when I needed it! Rooms were great, simple bedroom, and sweet sitting room. Continental breakfast including home-baked treats one morning and homemade granola another, was the perfect start to our day. Finally, the location couldn't be better. Right in the center of town, with easy parking. Worth the cost of staying just for that, as even the locals complain about the lack of in-town parking! Loved it!


great historical b&b

5 on April 11, 2013

Everything was great a must stay in Gettysburg!!!!!


A Great Visit

4.2 on April 09, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the hotel we were delighted. We chose the hotel based on TripAdvisor so we really had no idea of the layout of Gettysburg. The location is perfect. We walked to dinner and shopping each day. It was a few minute drive to the Battlefield..and there is parking at the hotel. We arrived late and after parking and unloading the car we pleased to find a warm room with a lovely sitting area. More than that it was a living room with a kitchenette area. The kitchen area had 2 burners, a microwave and a good size refrigerator. The bathroom was up to date and complete with high quality soaps and lotions. The bedroom we selected had a queen size bed. The hotel was spotless! Late each afternoon, cookies or chocolate were left in your room along with breakfast muffins, breads and fruit for the next morning. Orange juice was placed in the refrigerator. The James Gettysburg French Roast coffee in the rooms was very good. We were very pleased with the Hotel, the staff was very accommodating and offered suggestions on area dining establishments when asked. I have to say their suggestions were awesome. We will definitely return!


Getaway

4.6 on April 03, 2013

My college roommate and I met up in Gettysburg for a couple of nights away (it's half-way between our homes). We stayed for two nights at James Gettys hotel and found it to be delightful. The room was nicely decorated, the afternoon snacks and breakfast baskets were terrific! FYI, I marked "Dining" as "Outstanding" but there is no dining at the James Gettys. This system won't allow any category to be unmarked and I didn't want the overall rating to go down because the system is flawed.


Great place!

4.8 on April 01, 2013

Beautiful place right in the middle of town, so there are lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance.


Beautiful Small Hotel in Great Location

4.6 on March 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Lord Nelson Suite at the James Gettys Hotel. The suite was very large, the breakfast pastries were delicious and the location was perfect for exploring Gettysburg.


Excellent

4.4 on March 20, 2013

This place is centrally located. The hotel is beautiful, immaculately clean. The staff very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend it.


A relaxing haven for a much-needed getaway!

5 on March 04, 2013

My husband and I needed a long weekend getaway, and even though we live about an hour away from G-Burg, we love to go there! Got a really great deal on a 2-night stay, but had no idea what to expect. I must say we were blown away! The room (Sign of the Buck Suite) was fantastic, the service great (even from the puppy-Char!), and the location ideal. I felt like the rooms were very high quality (loved the ceiling heater in the bathroom!) We especially loved that they brought your breakfast to your room the night before. After too many experiences of having to fight for your breakfast against tribes of people, this was a welcome change. We didn't mind finishing our sight-seeing early so we could get back to the room and just enjoy it and relax! I would go back for the room alone. Stay here, and see what I'm talking about!! P.S. loved that you could walk down to the Pub on the square. Very convenient & great food.


I Would Return To James Gettys Hotel

4.4 on February 22, 2013

I stayed in the Union Room on the second floor. It was very quaint. A serviceable kitchen was combined with a small living room complete with DISH cable. The queen size bed was adorned with a quilted comforter. The hotel was located in the heart of Gettysburg. Easy access to Points of interest, shops, and food. My wife and I would definitely return to the James Gettys Hotel in the future and we will recommend it to our friends.


What a great find!

4.4 on February 17, 2013

Had a wonderful stay over Valentine's. So nice to be close enough to walk to shops, restaurants and spa. And having a suite with kitchenette to spread out in was great. The cheese and fruit platter topped off with dark chocolate pieces in hotel shape was an awesome surprise. Coffee in room was great, as well as the homemade baked goods in the morning. Great customer service too. Can't wait to return!


website does not do it justice

4.4 on February 15, 2013

Great place. The website does not do it justice. The rooms are slightly more modern than they appear, super clean and well appointed. The breakfasts are wonderful, fresh fruit and homemade pastries, excellent coffee and tea, and oj in a glass container in the fridge, the perfect way to start your battlefield stomping. Did I mention the shag carpet? (new and clean of course) Location is obvious. The parking is free and easy. Bar restaurant right beside it is great. Staff are wonderful. If you pass on this Hotel you will regret it.


Outstanding place to stay

4.8 on January 04, 2013

We have stayed here many times, starting shortly after it opened in 1997. Beautiful facility, very clean and spacious rooms, terrific location a block off the main square of Gettysburg and nicely removed from the honky-tonk closer to the battlefield. It's a small hotel in a historic building. The owners completely renovated it in the 90s and have done a great job of keeping it up. The rooms and furniture seem new. I believe all of the rooms are two room suites. The room we usually stay in (James Troxell suite) has a complete kitchen with fridge, microwave, etc. It's a nice location for touring the battlefield or seeing the other sights in this very nice little town. Or it's a great location if you just want to put on a bathrobe and hunker down to watch videos. They don't have a restaurant but provide a very nice breakfast. Dining is very convenient, including a restaurant next door and several bars, diners, etc., within easy walking distance.


Thanksgiving at the Gettys

5 on December 10, 2012

My husband and I decided to get away for Thanksgiving and of course we wanted to go back to “our” getaway place. We had not been there on a holiday before and wasn’t sure what was going to be open, what we could fix in our room. Well the staff went out of their way to let us know what restaurants were going to be open and they went down to their storage room to get us additional pots and pans. The staff was great and the stay was wonderful. We can’t wait to do it again next year.


Lovely Family Weekend

4.4 on December 05, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated so you can walk to restaurants and shops and is only a 5 minute drive to the battlefield. The rooms are large and comfortable. It was perfect for traveling with the family because the two rooms allow you to put the little ones to sleep early while the adults stay awake in the living room. Also, the kitchen is nice to put away milk and snacks for the kids.


Great vacation

4.4 on November 06, 2012

Very warm and inviting place to stay righht in the heart of downtown Gettysburg.


One night stay in Gettysburg highlight was this hotel.

4.6 on November 03, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting an authentic heritage feel combined with modern comfort. Our stay was wonderful and the personalized concierage service during out stay like no other!


Quick visit

3.8 on October 27, 2012

We needed to find a convenient spot to spend one night while driving to Washington. The James Gettys Hotel was ideal. Clean, well-kept boutique style facility with super convenient location right in the center of town. You can walk to many restaurants and shops and jsut a 5 minute drive from the visitor center.


Noise in the middle of the night

4.8 on October 04, 2012

Nice hotel except for the late night drunken brawls Friday and saturday nights next door at the Blue Parrot. Make sure you book a room on the other side of the hotel.


Nice place!

4.4 on October 03, 2012

The room was big with a kitchen and TV sitting area, which I did not expect. Very clean, but a little dated. They left juice, fruit, muffins & cookies in our room, which was awesome. The hotel is within walking distance to the circle/shops and to all of the ghost tours and museums. There is a great Irish pub down the street called Garyowens Pub and a good coffee shop as well. Parking in the back of the hotel was nice. My only complaint was the walls are thin!


Trip to Gettysburg

4.2 on September 25, 2012

Lovely , well located B and B with delightful and upbeat people. SPotless and delicious breakfast- Just right . Very flexible on all matters including request for a price adjustment- AAA accepted - Rooms on the main street can be a touch noisy w traffic but we loved our stay !


Overnight in Gettysburg

4.8 on September 24, 2012

This hotel provided lovely tw-room accomodations, convenient off-street parking in back of the hotel, and a delicious conintental breakfast right in our room, but a recommendation for dinner at a terrific pub right down the street and a manager who told us exactly how to maximizre our visit to the park in the very short time that we had. We did exactly as she recommended and had a fabullous, instrucyve and very moving visit.


Our trip to Gettysburg

5 on September 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Gettysburg even though is was just overnight. We had been to Gettysburg before but did not stay "in town". Our experience this time was also good, we walked to the shops, restaurant, and ghost tour. The staff at the James Gettys Hotel were absolutely wonderful especially Katrina, the desk clerk on duty when we checked in. We weren't sure if we would experience any hauntings since this is such an old building in Gettysburg and we didn't. But that was ok. Got a good night's sleep in a nice room :)


Our "home away from home"!

5 on September 15, 2012

As always, our stay at the James Gettys Hotel was a most enjoyable one. The owner, Stephanie, and her wonderful staff (especially Katrina!) went above and beyond; we had our bicycles with us, this time, and they gave us some space in the cellar to store them in at night; we never had to worry about weather, or possible theft (as remote as it may be)~they couldn't have been more helpful, and flexible, about our getting them early morning and then putting them back, even later in the evening. We love staying at the James Gettys, and are sure to be back again next year. Couldn't recommend this Hotel/B&B more highly....they are simply the best there is!


Spirit Quest Weekend

5 on September 14, 2012

We participated in a psychic investigation during our stay. All of the James Gettys staff were friendly and prompt. Our room was comfortable and beautiful. We will most likely stay at the James Gettys on all of our return trips to Gettysburg. You can't go wrong and it will be like visiting old friend.


James Gettys Hotel is the only place I'll stay in Gettysburg

5 on September 07, 2012

Clean rooms, great location, and the daily muffins/breads/cookies/chocolate/fruit and OJ brought to our room were all the best. The air conditioning was kind of great, too (I realize that that's kind of an odd thing to enjoy, but I've stayed in enough places with crappy AC to enjoy it when it works).


Nice Place!

4.0 on September 05, 2012

Our suite was spacious and very comfortable. We were a little concerned about noise since our bedroom faced the street, but that turned out not to be an issue at all. The food baskets were delicious! The location is great for seeing the historic town and for dining out. We enjoyed our stay very much and wished we could have stayed more than two nights.


Lovely Inn

4.4 on September 04, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to go back. Lovely inn right in the heart of Gettysburg.


Exceeded our expectation

4.4 on September 02, 2012

This was our first visit to Town of Gettysburg. My children loved the charming hotel. There is no dining at the hotel but we are rating the breakfast muffins and cakes which were delicious. We will stay there again.


Gettysburg stay was very nice

3.8 on August 26, 2012

We wanted 2 full days in Gettysburg with the objective of walking to dinner, this hotel was just what we hoped for. Lots of room allowed one of us to sleep in while the other got up and around. Is on the main street and there can be car noise but it did not bother us, we slept great.


First stay but will be back

4.8 on August 20, 2012

Decided to stay here after seeing reviews and felt it was a great choice. Room was large, really a huge suite. We booked the Majestic Suite and easy to spread out and relax. So convenient staying in the heart of town. Could walk to dinner/drinks at all the nearby restaurants and not have to move the car. Stay here at the JG Hotel if you can!


Great Place to Stay in the Heart of Gettysburg

4.0 on August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the City Hotel Suite on the third floor for our last minute weekend trip to Gettysburg. The entire staff was very friendly, and the room was very cozy. The wireless internet wasn't working while we were there, but not the end of the world. There is so much to do and see within walking distance that staying at this hotel made it very convenient!


Gettysburg Stay

3.0 on August 13, 2012

We liked the "homey" atmosphere and friendly staff, and loved stepping back in time with the decor of our suite.


Summer in Gettysburg

4.4 on August 13, 2012

No dining at the hotel, but the breakfasts that were provided were wonderful! A nice place to stay - a little home away from home. Several restaurants and shops close by.


great place to stay!

5 on August 12, 2012

Nicely renovated and spacious rooms! We will definitely stay there again!


Enjoyed my stay

4.2 on August 11, 2012

This was my second visit to the Gettys Hotel. I love the location and it is such a great alternative to a typical hotel. I had to be in Gettysburg for work and this was a lovely way to stay. I didn't eat there but unfortunately I had to put in a score for dining - ignore it.


Best hotel ever!!!

5 on August 06, 2012

I made reservations at the James Gettys Hotel and I did not really know what to expect. We booked the Majestic Suite and it was outstanding. We are considering going back to Gettysburg just so that we can stay in the hotel again. The hotel staff was very nice and brought us fresh cut fruit and pulled our blankets back for us. The next day, we went to New York City and stayed at the Waldorf-Astoria; me and my wife both agreed that we preferred the James Getty Hotel over the Waldorf and that we would recommend it to anyone else who happens to be visiting.


Wonderful stay

4.4 on August 04, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The overall property was beautiful, historical, exceedingly well-maintained and in an excellent location. The room was exceptionally clean and well-appointed. Amenities, outlets, furnishings, etc. were all excellent. Breakfast was continental but very nice. The room and access was excellent, comfortable and homey.


Historic Hotel

4.8 on August 03, 2012

Great location in downtown; room and service was excellent!


Excellent Location, Nice Rooms

3.4 on August 01, 2012

Loved the location in the heart of downtown Gettysburg. Free parking in the back. Stayed on the fourth floor. The bedroom faced the main street but we were not bothered by noise at all unlike some previous reviewers. Room was attractively furnished ans the living room had lovely comfortable chairs and a couch, nice to unwind in after a long day. Kitchen area was very nice. Bathroom a bit small but great water pressure in the shower. Everything was very clean. Nice old time atmosphere. Breakfast is left in the room daily and is somewhat boring but adequate. Overall good value for money and I would stay here in the future.


The James Gettys-Gettysburg

4.2 on July 26, 2012

First time visiting Gettysburg and after doing my research I selected the James Gettys Hotel- which turned out to be a big winner. I had no complaints at all, everything was wonderful. The only negative for me is that I like to watch TV in the bedroom at night and the only TV was in the living room area. Would not stop me from returning. Highly recommended.


Outstanding Experience!

5 on July 16, 2012

The James Gettys Hotel was so fantastic, we were begging to stay an extra night before we had stayed the first one. Everyone was extremely friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast brought to our room. The hotel was in the middle of town and it was within walking distance of restaurants, shops, ice cream, etc. This was definitely one of the biggest highlights of our ten day trip up north from Georgia. Thank you for a great stay and we would love to do it again someday!


Fantastic

5 on July 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the James Gettys Hotel. Both stays have exceeded my expectations. This trip, I lost my diamond earring. My husband gave them to me as an anniversary gift and he passed away 4 years ago. They can't be replaced because of the sentimental value. Not only did the staff help me look for it while we were still there, but I was assured that after the room was vacuumed they would search the bag to it. The day after I got home I received a call telling me they found my earring and would mail it to me. We will never stay anywhere else when visiting Gettysburg. I have traveled to a lot of places and no hotel compares. Thank you to the staff of the JGH, I truly appreciate your kindness.


Wonderful

5 on July 08, 2012

I met up with my sons for a family reunion vacation, I reside in Florida and they currently reside in the northeast. Right from the start the woman answering the phone worked hard to find a room that would fit our needs. The hotel was clean, beautiful and centrally located. The staff was helpful and courteous. The homemade muffins, cookies and chocolate added that extra homey and personal touch that was greatly appreciated. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the vicinity.


Convenient location, comfortable rooms

3.0 on July 06, 2012

My son and I spent a night while visiting Gettysburg and found the James Gettys satisfactory. We had a one bedroom suite, which had plenty of room for the two of us, and some privacy with a trundle bed in the living room. Convenient location right in downtown. The room renovations were OK, comfortable but no real effort to maintain the historical nature of the house. Not really a B&B, as breakfast consisted of some muffins and fruit left in the room the night before. Had a refrigerator and small kitchenette, so this would be a great option for a multi day stay.


Pleasant surprise

4.8 on June 27, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we drove right by it because it blended in with all the stores. I was a little worried when I saw it was located above store fronts (very nice stores BTW). By the description online we were also concerned that the room may not be big enough for my wife and two teenage kids. The woman (sorry I can not remember her name) who greeted us was very pleasant and even offered to let me see the room first to make sure it was big enough. My worries were very quickly erased when we saw the room. We rented a room with a trundle bed and a separate queen. My kids were very comfortable on the trundle including my 6ft son. The room was very sound proof for such an old building (old as in antique not as in run down). The desk woman even took the time to show us around to the other rooms for future visits. The room was extremely clean and the refrigerator even "stocked" with a complimentary bottle of orange juice along with freshly baked Muffins and cinnamon breads. The only "issue" we had was with the toilet late at night. There is no one at the courtesy desk after 10pm and the room had no plunger. I had to go out and find one, which was not easy at 11pm at night. Other than that little issue the stay was fantastic and I would recommend it 100%. We will definitely stay at this hotel again !


So pleased with my stay at the James Getty Hotel

4.4 on June 27, 2012

I stayed here for one night while driving south and I was so pleased with the room and service. I was expecting a bedroom but surprised to find that my rate included a sitting room and complete kitchen. The bath was modern and very clean. While I was out exploring Gettysburg, elves delivered freshly baked bread and muffins, OJ and cream for breakfast - perfect for an early departure in the morning. There are restaurants within an easy walk from the hotel as well as an interesting walking tour. Would defnitely return if in the area.


First Gettysburg Visit

4.2 on June 18, 2012

We were very pleased with the various room offerings and the cleanliness of the hotel. Turn down service and continental breakfast in the room each morning was an added bonus. We appreciated the quaintness of the hotel and it being in the center of town, nearby all major attaractions. We would stay here again should we be in Gettysburg.


Wonderful Place to Stay!

4.4 on June 14, 2012

I only gave it a '3' for 'Dining' because they only serve breakfast and a snack. However, they have delicious breakfast pastries and wonderful cookies and chocolates in the afternoon! One of my favorite places to visit!


Another Wonderful Stay at the James Gettys Hotel

5 on June 13, 2012

This was the third stay for us at the James Gettys Hotel. If you have never stayed at the hotel expect a warm, nicely decorated suite. Muffins, fruit, bread and juice are delivered to your room each evening for your morning's breakffast. The James Gettys Hotel is located just steps from the "diamond" and delightful restaurants that pride themselves on using fresh, locally produced ingredients in their recipes. Before or after dining, stop and shop in stores offering products produced in Adams and surrounding counties. You can even sample wines from Adams County vineyards. The wines' outstanding qualtiy may suprise you. After a day of touring the battlefield by car or on foot, you can anticipate returning to your suite to freshly baked cookies or lovely chocolate treats made in the shape of the hotel by a local chocolatier. Indulge yourself even more by visiting the chocolatier's store, Kilwin's, established in 1947.


Will be back again

5 on June 01, 2012

Wow!! Thank you to the staff at James Getty. We had a wonderful visit and will definitly be back again and will refer your hosptality to others. See you in September. Pam and Rick


Long Weekend Getaway

4.8 on May 29, 2012

My family and I love the Gettysburg area, and we enjoy trying new places. We loved the James Gettys Hotel. On the surface the price seems a little high, but they have awsome customer service, the rooms are very clean and with each room having a kitchenette, you can save some of the money that you you spend on going out to eat and just prepare something there. It really was great. OH and the fresh muffins and fruit delivered to your room each day; was great!


May Stay at the Gettys Hotel

4.8 on May 24, 2012

Room was very clean and spacious. Service was very helpful and friendly. Dining at nearby establishments gave a variety of atmospheres and food selections. I would recommend the Gettys Hotel wholeheartedly!


Warm & Friendly

4.2 on May 19, 2012

Two beautiful days spent in a warm environment and with friendly people ready to help. Want to come back soon


Large comfortable suite & great location!

3.6 on May 16, 2012

We have stayed with the James Gettys Hotel twice now. The Hotel is nestled into the central downtown hub of Gettysburg surrounded by it's many charming shops and restaurants and includes a complimentary resrved parking lot behind the hotel. Upon arrival we found a nice snack of fresh backed cookies on our table. When arriving back in the room in the evening, our continental breakfast basket had arrived, ready for the next morning. The rooms are large, immaculate and comfortable to come "home" to after a long sunny day exploring the battlefields. The staff has always been very pleasant and helpful. It was a pleasure visiting once again and we look forward to future visits!


Gettysburg Getaway

4.4 on May 14, 2012

We decided on a two day stay in Gettysburg and did not want to do the standard chain hotel overnight. We were delighted in our fabulous accommodations at the historic James Getty Hotel. The room had all the modern conveniences but in a richly authentic atmosphere. The staff was kind and very helpful in making our visit memorable. The breakfast muffins were yummy. This was a truly charming hotel.


Spacious and clean

4.4 on May 13, 2012

We loved our weekend at the James Gettys. The location was great!! We had a suite with a lovely sitting room, roomy bathroom, and large bedroom. The bed was very comfy and there were plenty of extra blankets and pillows (that's very important to be cozy). The only problem we had was that our room was in the front of the hotel and we could here the street noise late at night when the bars let out. We will stay at the hotel again but in a room in the back.


A perfect place to stay

5 on May 10, 2012

The convenient location of the James Gettys put it on our list for our weekend visit for RosFest. The self contained suites (or mini apartments) and the historic factor sold us, and we are so pleased we chose this hotel! From the yummy baked goodies left in your suite kitchen each evening, ready for breakfast, to the comfy bed, spotless rooms, and exceptionally helpful staff, the James Gettys Hotel has a real home away from home feel. And with our travelling companions just up the stairs and around the corner in another suite, it was a unique and fun experience. "Will that be tea at yours, or tea at ours?" Gettysburg is a really interesting place to visit, and if you're heading there, we cannot recommend the James Gettys Hotel enough! Thank you for a fantastic stay! Annette Roche - Ajax, Ontario & Ken Baird - Dundas Ontario


James Gettys Hotel

5 on May 10, 2012

Our first stay at the James Gettys, and it exceeded our expectations in every way. We have already booked another stay.


Loved staying here!

4.4 on May 10, 2012

A great spot right downtown. This is such a nice alternative to the more standard hotels in the area. The breakfasts were a nice touch, too. We'll be back!


Home Away From Home

4.8 on April 22, 2012

After a long day of travel, we were greeted by a very friendly & pleasant receptionist. Our accommodation felt like home -- the room was inviting and welcoming. The continental breakfast items healthy & oh, so tasty.


04/13/12-04/15/2012

5 on April 19, 2012

the breakfast basket was very good- everyone very nice-we loved our room--had a wonderful stay


Could not have been better!

5 on April 16, 2012

We were part of the Spirits of Gettysburg weekend event held at the hotel. The event was excellent and the hotel was spectacular in making us feel as comfortable as at home. The employees went out of their way to make our stay pleasant Our thanks to them all..


Like Staying with a Friend

4.4 on April 14, 2012

This was our fourth stay at this little hotel. The warmth of the staff and the comfortable rooms keep drawing us back. Located in the heart of town, the hotel is within walking distance of several good eateries and specialty shops. Ask Stephanie for recommendations and scratch her black lab's ears.


special treat

4.0 on March 13, 2012

just got back from a wonderful two night stay at the James Gettys Hotel. Customer service is what they are all about. Love the room, livingroom and kitchen fully stocked with all you need to prepare food you bring in or just enjoy the nightly treat and delicious homemade breakfast brought to your room each day. We will reccomend this lovely spot to all and plan to return soon.


Nicer than expected

4.8 on March 05, 2012

I wanted to stay somewhere that had historic background but didn't "feel" creepy. This was just the thing. It was modern on the inside but historic on the outside. It was also extrermely clean and comfortable. Much nicer than I expected. Loved the muffins and fruit bread left in our room in the evening. Only complaint was the noise from the street (but I guess that's the price of the convenience of being downtown) and we could hear our neighbors' normal volume conversations and interactions pretty clearly.


Quaint

3.8 on February 23, 2012

The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. "Breakfast" is a muffin, a couple pieces of cake/bread and some fruit. Coffee maker is in the room and the coffee selection is very good. Tea is available but I always bring my own because most places don't have the tea that I prefer. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we like it very much because it is within walking distance of many of the historic sites. Very convenient.


Will Definitely Come Back!

3.8 on February 22, 2012

Very nice historic B&B in the center of town, within walking distance to quaint shops and wonderful restaurants. Room was actually a suite and much larger than expected; kitchenette was equipped with absolutely everything, and both the kitchenette and bathroom were modern and well maintained. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The breakfast muffins, breads, and fruit were great, and orange juice, butter, and cream for the coffee were already in the refrigerator. The only negative is that our room was facing the street (which is the room I had booked); the street noise is fairly loud, but the hotel itself is extremely quiet. Adequate parking, convenient entrances, both front and back. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.


Wonderful location!

4.0 on February 09, 2012

Could walk to several wonderful pubs and restaurants and wine tastings. The room was very comfortable, and immaculate. Coffee and cookies were delicious!


One of the Best!

4.8 on January 30, 2012

The James Getty's Hotel is a gem. This was our second stay in two years. It is steeped in history and adorned in elegance. The suites are well appointed. The breakfast was on our kitchenette counter when returned from visiting favorite places in Gettysburg. We plan to stay in every suite in the Jarmes Gettys Hotel over the next few years!


Fantastic weekend

4.0 on January 17, 2012

Just spent the weekend at The James Gettys Hotel, it was fabulous. The room was really nice, and SPOTLESS, as was the entire hotel. Add to that a warm, inviting, and friendly atmosphere, it makes for a perfect getaway! The turndown service with fresh baked local muffins,breads, and gourmet coffee and teas are a special touch. I will definately stay here again, and would highly recommend to all!


Best New Yaer's Eve Ever

5 on January 03, 2012

Had always wanted to stay at the James Getty's Hotel and decided this was the year. Stayed for the weekend over New Year's Eve. The hotel was more than I could have imagined. The suite was spotless. At night they come in to turn your bed down and leave a plate of local cakes and breads. In the refrigerator was a small cup of cream for tea and coffee along with a carafe of orange juice. Now I have to say this was just not any orange juice but the best orange juice I have ever tasted. I would recommend The James Getty's Hotel in Gettysburg, PA to everyone. It was the the best place I believe I have ever stayed. I have already booked for the weekend of next New Year's Eve I liked it so much.


Great weekend!

4.6 on December 19, 2011

Friendly and informative front desk. Room felt nice and private, though sort of spartan. Breakfast was great for continental. No complaints whatsoever!


Such a relaxing weekend

4.0 on December 05, 2011

This was such an amazing place to stay. Great location. Great service. Large, clean room.


Great place to stay!

4.2 on November 29, 2011

My spouse and I usually stay at another Gettysburg B&B but they were booked for the weekend. So we tried the James Gettys Hotel. It was fabulous! For one, I expected a smaller room. We had a whole suite; had we planned, we could have eaten in the room, and even watched a movie or two which we'd brought with us. It's right near the center of town, so there's lots of restaurants to chose from. (We're both partial to Irish ambience so went to an Irish restaurant barely a block away. As we left, we said, simply, "We'll be back."


Weekend Getaway

4.4 on November 22, 2011

From the time we checked in until the time we left, everything was top notch ! Turn down service was great, as well as the goodies they for us each night. The pictures on their website do not do justice to the place ! We would recommend to stay here to anyone we know, and we will definitely be back.


Family trip

3.6 on November 19, 2011

Nice place to take the kids. We would stay again as a family, as the suite was quite roomy and clean. Staff was great and breakfast was wonderful. My only suggestion to the owner is to ask your neighbor to get rid of the rotting furniture on thei roof. Made for an awful view.


Excellent everything -- as always.

5 on October 24, 2011

This was my 10th stay at the James Gettys Hotel & keeps getting better each time. From the warm personal greeting at check in, the fabulous chocolate chip cookies as a nighttime snack to the awesome fresh-baked goodies for breakfast -- this is the place to stay in Gettysburg. Nowhere else could even come close.


We love the James Gettys!

5 on September 14, 2011

My wife, daughter and I are frequent guests at the James Gettys Hotel. We love trying out the different rooms (they are all spacious, but each has its own look and feel), and the staff is always gracious and accommodating. We've stayed in other hotels, and other B&Bs, in and around Gettysburg, but the James Gettys is our number 1 choice! I particularly like the "breakfast" that is left for each guest in our rooms... It allows us to have breakfast when we want (which is nice because I don't like to spend a lot of time on breakfast--- I prefer to get up and get started fairly early).


Gemütlich

4.4 on September 06, 2011

A person's room can make or break a trip. Our short tour of the Gettysburg area was one of our best little trips. Again, this was in large part due to the James Getty. The service was all one could ask for, but didn't get in the way. Parking was no problem. Location is superb.The room was small, very clean and comfortable. The entire hotel smiled from the pride the staff took in upkeep from the glistening stairways to beautiful wallpaper. When we return to Gettysburg we plan to stay there again.


Very nice hotel

4.6 on August 29, 2011

Our three night stay at the James Gettys Hotel was just what we hoped on our first family trip to Gettysburg. Great location within walking distance to many things we wanted to do/see. Stephanie and the staff were friendly, professional and available when you needed them - which isn't often because everything was as a visitor should expect. My 12 year old daughter loved the hotel, especially the treats for breakfast and snacks. The hotel is very quiet and tranquil within - because it's on a busy street you can expect traffic noise. We would definitely stay again.


We loved the place.

4.4 on August 17, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed there for one night. Wish it could have been two or three. The staff were very friendly. We stayed in the Keystone Suite which was like a small apartment with kitchen and separate bedroom. That was great. Very convenient to downtown Gettysburg. If we ever visit Gettysburg again in the future we will definitely stay there. Loved it.


All Good!

4.6 on August 15, 2011

We had two adults and two children. It worked out very well with a day bed and a queen. It is obvious that they put quite a bit into this renovation. It is immaculate and perfectly clean. We were on the third floor - it's a bit of a chore to carry luggage up the stairs from parking in the back, but you can always unpoack out front and use the elevator. The morning snacks were great and the cookies on check out day were awesome. What a great location in downtown Gettysburg near all shopping and restaurants. All good! I recommend highly.


Wonderful Stay

4.0 on August 06, 2011

We stayed in Gettysburg at the James Gettys Hotel for two nights in late July in the Indian Suite. The room was beautiful and large and the breakfast and snacks that they provided were delicious. The only complaint that we had was that the bed was kind of squeaky and you could hear noises during the night. Other than that, we loved it there!


Satisfaction Guaranteed!!!

4.0 on July 15, 2011

Gettysburg has so many high points you can't pick just one, but to complement the Big Picture a stay at the James Getty Hotel is the perfect enhancement. Perfectly located in the heart of old town it is a splendid reminder that your home base is something special. We splurged on the Majestic Suite and felt it was more, not less, than we expected. Stephanie is a perfect owner/hostess and her pride in the James Getty is obvious at every nook and cranny... Max & Jan Fraley from Costa Mesa, CA.


Felt Like Home

5 on June 16, 2011

We spent two of the hottest days of the year in Gettysburg. Luckily we found the James Gettys Hotel. It was very convenient for walking to many of the local sites and eateries, and it was easy to get back to when we needed a break from the heat. Private parking was a must for us! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The staff was warm and welcoming. The breakfast of OJ and freshly baked muffins and breads were a nice touch as were the nightly snack surprises. We were very pleased and plan to stay here again sometime in the future.


"We could have moved in!"

5 on June 11, 2011

Stayed in the Majestic suite, loved it. Big comfy bed, huge 2 room bathroom, and large livingroom with kitchenette w/breakfast bar. It is located right in the center of Gettysburg which was great. Also, we had our own parking spot in back. Loved the cont. breakfast each morning. Would definitely stay again.


Could not have asked for better!

4.8 on May 31, 2011

From the moment we checked in we loved it. The desk help was friendly and kind. The parking for check in right out front and ample parking around the back for after you have unloaded. The room was so sweet. Love the high ceilings and welcoming feeling. I cannot stress how clean everything is. Even the baseboards in the stairwell. Yes, I checked. The nightly turn down service also brought our fresh baked goodies for the morning to our room each night on the cutest little painted plates. Oh, did I mention th chocolate chips cookies? OMG The rooms were very large, like our own apartment really, and the air was cranking (it was in the 90's) and we hardly heard any noises. The location was great too. Neat little shops on both sides and a VERY short walk to the center of town. Truley one of the best places I have ever stayed.


Quiet and comfortable

4.6 on May 24, 2011

Nice continental breakfast delievered late evening for the following morning. Freshly decorated in rooms and halls.


A real find that completes the Gettysburg experience

4.4 on May 24, 2011

Unique personality; historic location; spacious suite; great value. The real plus is the staff, especially Stephanie, the manager. They will go out of their way to assist you in planning your trip, dining, etc.


Perfect Getaway . . . .

4.6 on April 25, 2011

My wife and I loved our visit to the James Gettys. Stephanie is an excellent innkeeper and took such good care of us. It was my wife's birthday and she made sure that it was a special arrival to the hotel/suite. We would definitely do again. The Majestic Suite was fantastic.


Parking Included

4.4 on April 20, 2011

When we first pulled up to JG Hotel, we were worried that we would have to pay extra for parking, but the parking is secure & right behind the hotel. My husband, son, & I were met promptly at the door when checking in. We liked that we could walk to several places to dinner & enjoyed the wine tasting next door. We didn't realize that the galleries & most other shops flanking the hotel closed at 6pm, so we missed doing any shopping at these little shops. JG Hotel was clean, offered everything we needed (microwave, range, & medium fridge). We'd stay there again!


Charm and Elegance in Gettysburg

4.6 on March 30, 2011

Wonderful rooms and delicious breakfasts and late night snacks.


Better than a lame cookie cutter hotel

4.0 on June 13, 2010

I stayed here over a busy holiday weekend. It was a great place to return to after a night of ghost walks or a day of history tours. A holiday inn would have been a total let down in a town so rich in history! Our room was lovely and more spacious than a normal hotel room. The breakfast was sweetbreads and fruit-- not bad but not the most exciting B+B breakfast I've ever had. Also off street parking available. Overall, I would stay here again.


Great location

5 on November 03, 2009

We loved our room the Spread Eagle Suite. Each evening they leave your breakfast for the next day! Everything is homemade -- the cookies were especially good. Could walk everywhere. Would stay there again.


Celebrating our 50 years of marriage

4.8 on October 15, 2009

Our stay at the B&B was very nice. Nice location in town -- close to shops & restaurants. Very nice accommodations with bedroom, living room & kitchenette -- also private bath. Continental breakfast served to your room. Great bed (very comfortable). Nice hosts.


Home away from home

5 on October 08, 2009

The james gettys Hotel was so marvelous. The suite was truly "majestic" as per the name. We felt so at home and quite pampered! Loved our visit!


James Gettys Hotel

4.2 on August 13, 2009

Very helpful pre-booking phone call! Clean, efficient, helpful. Well kept inside and out. Convenient to central Gettysburg.


A Wisconsinite review

4.8 on May 28, 2009

Wonderfull location and the rooms were just right. Adjacent parking also a plus.


fabulous

4.4 on March 27, 2009

Sweet people, clean rooms, great heat in the winter, lots of pillows, sweet and filling breakfast, pots and pans to cook with, Gettysburg wine for sale right next door. Very, very cozy.


PA trip

5 on August 20, 2008

Stay was great. Morning breakfast with their breads and fruits delicious. 2nd time here.


History to Sleep Inn

4.6 on August 04, 2008

The rooms at the James Getty are all historically decked out, beautifully decorated, and the breakfast are in keeping with that area.


Historical Hotel

5 on June 10, 2008

Outstanding! Centrally located in historic Gettysburg. Convenient to Gettysburg College.


Wizard!

4.2 on May 05, 2008

This place was so lagit, it had perfect food for the mornings and great employment haha im going again this thursday. 5-8-08


Extraordinary

5 on February 26, 2008

The absolute best place to stay in Gettysburg...and I've tried them all! Spacious & elegant suites, luxurious linens & amenities, gracious hospitality and spectacular attention to detail, right down to the homebaked goodies delivered each evening.


James Gettys Hotel

5 on January 24, 2008

Loved it! Elegantly historical


James Gettys Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $148 - $265
  • Reviews (199) 4.5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (717) 337-1334

Visit Website »

View details

Top