The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

5 Days in "Clover"

5 on June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Gaslight Inn. Spent five days in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Extremely clean and well furnished. Inn keepers Becky, Elizabeth and Mike maintained high standards by looking after their guests by making you feel at home. The breakfasts were a treat and the yard and beautiful gardens added to the experience as did the talks by local Civil War experts. Loved meeting Toby, Oliver, and Gideon. They were perfect "gentlemen" and canine hosts. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Gaslight for anyone wanting that special treatment as they visit Gettysburg.


The Gaslight is our favorite B and B!

4.8 on October 05, 2012

This B and B is our favorite by far! We have stayed at several across the US and we have stayed at this one twice over the past several years. The innkeepers are more than gracious, very friendly. We love their little dogs. They go the extra mile for the personal touches such as hot tea and bottled water available in the evenings, historical stories and events, cozy ambiance, and advice on where to eat or shop. The breakfasts are balanced, tasty, and a great start to a busy day. We will return here time and time again and always suggest it to friends and family. It is most importantly a great value in the way of prices for Gettysburg B and B's. I hope that never changes. Thanks for running a great inn!


Wonderful place to stay in Gettysburg!

5 on July 22, 2012

My husband, my parents and I stayed here for the weekend of my brother's wedding in July 2012. My husband and I are seasoned B&Bers but this was a first for my parents. I can honestly say that it was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. We loved the detail and warmth of the house and rooms and Becky and Mike made us feel instantly at home. Despite it being "bike week" in Gettysburg, we slept like babies in our rooms. We were glad we were not on the main street. I commended Becky on how helpful the website was when choosing a room. Knowing where the room was before booking was especially nice. My family and I would love an opportunity to stay here again!


wonderful and relaxing new years eve

5 on January 10, 2012

what awonderful new years eve spent this past year at the Gaslight Inn in Gettysburg. Our room was spectacular. Very romantic with the fireplace that is in the bathroom as well as the bed area... Dinner at the Blue Parrot was very nice as well. The inn made the reservation and the recommendation. Dinner was followed by fireworks in the town square. The square is blocked off and the town seems to just empty into it. Everyone was friendly and respectful yet in the partying spirit!! The inn is located so we can walk to everything! (that we wanted to do) Breakfast was delicious and different each day. Our host are wonderful and knowledgable people. They always have great ideas for us to explore.. We have already booked our room for next year.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this review! We loved having you here with us to celebrate the New Year and look forward to NYE 2012. Becky


Great Stay

4.4 on January 04, 2012

Nice, clean, B&B. Comfy beds and nice jacuzzi. Best place we stayed while on our vacation


Best B&B in Gettysburg

5 on November 28, 2011

This was a mother-daughter weekend with a friend, her daughter, my daughter and me. Mike, Becky and Elizabeth were very hospitable as always. Needless to say, this was not a first visit to this Inn for us all. Our dinner reservations were made for us and confirmed. Our room was spotless and cozy. The breakfasts were great and the lunch on the porch on Saturday during the parade was quite yummy. We have already booked our room for next year for the same weekend. It's always a pleasure to visit with Mike, Becky and Elizabeth. I highly recommend this B&B for your next visit to Gettysburg!! Tell them all that Val says hello when you stay with them!!


The Gaslight Inn Rocks

5 on November 27, 2011

The innkeepers are friendly, accommodating and helpful to the newcomer. Excellent breakfasts too.


Top B&B in Gettysburg

4.8 on October 23, 2011

I absolutely love Gettysburg and the Gaslight Inn is a huge part of that experience for my wife and I. We have told soooo many of our friends about the Inn and all of them report having the same experience as we do. The hosts, Mike and Becky and their daughter, make you feel extremely comfortable and go out of their way to accommodate any requests you may have. You can stay a little cheaper elsewhere but for the little bit extra, you get so much more.


always wonderful

4.0 on September 27, 2011

As always it was a great stay at the Gaslight inn. Mike, Becky, and Eli are helpful. They always make my stay comfortable while I am there. The Inn is always clean. The food is always great and fills you up.


Browne stay Sept 11

5 on September 22, 2011

We stayed with another couple, Mike and Becky were very accomidating, the warmth and kindness was beyond our expectations. They helped us with reservations for a fantastic birthday dinner at the Dobbin House Rest and with a fantastic personalized tour of the battle field with Stuart Demsey. We would like to thank them from the bottom of hearts for such a wonerful stay. Thanks Pam & Paul Browne


Charming Atmosphere & Delicious Food!!!

4.6 on September 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Gaslight Inn during the week of Sept 12th. We had never stayed at a B&B before so it was a new experience for us. Innkeepers Mike & Becky were gracious hosts who took the time to give us great pointers about visiting the battlefield, good dining choices in town and where to shop. They scheduled a battlefield tour with a very knowledgable guide (Stuart) so that we and our friends could get a man-on-the-street view of the historic battle of Gettysburg. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks were DELICIOUS!!! Jim and Lisa Dickinson from NC


Delightful!

4.6 on September 21, 2011

We loved the house and grounds and location and especially teasured the hospitality of Becky, Mike, and Elizabeth. We'd definitely return.


Good Choice!

4.4 on September 15, 2011

Our stay could not be long enough but the accommodations at the Gaslight were great. Location, food, service and staff were great. We especially liked the fact that we could walk to many places of interest or catch the trolley nearby.


Wonderful

5 on August 15, 2011

Had a great time in Gettysburg and The Gaslight Inn was wonderful. The location is perfect, a short walk to everything. Becky and Mike were very helpful with tours and dinner suggestions. The room were comfortable and the property is so pretty.


The Gaslight Inn

4.0 on August 04, 2011

We had a very nice stay here. Starting before we arrived, the service was excellent. We received referrals to local services via e-mail before our trip, and the host reserved a tour guide for us. I appreciated the thorough "walk-through" when we arrived. It was intensely hot while we were there, and the whole inn was a cool oasis from the heat! If it hadn't been so hot, we would have enjoyed sitting out on the porch in the comfortable chairs. We were allowed to store our rental bikes on the back patio. The rooms were lovely, and the "hospitality" bar (cold drinks, cookies, etc.) was very appreciated. The only drawback for me was that the food was a bit more "high fat/high sugar" than I would have liked. It would have been nice to have other options, such as fruit or granola if one did not care for the French toast, etc. I will say, however, that the food was beautifully presented, and most people would really love it! I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this very thoughtful review. Each morning we prepare a gourmet breakfast consisting of a savory dish or a sweet dish on alternate days. But we always have a continental breakfast available as an alternative. Let us know a little ahead of time (maybe at check-in) and we will have the continental breakfast set up for you.


Deserves a repeat visit

4.8 on July 24, 2011

We've stayed in a lot of bed and breakfasts and this is one of the best: in-town location that's quiet and peaceful yet just steps from great food and historic sites; friendly welcome (thank you, Elizabeth); helpful advice and connections with excellent private guides for the battlefield; immaculate room and bath; very comfortable bed; delicious breakfast, including gracious accommodation of a special diet.


Wonderful B&B

5 on July 22, 2011

We stay at The Gaslight Inn once a year at least. We are always excited to go back. Becky and Mike are very warm and friendly. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast is always delicious. The Gaslight Inn was our first Bed and Breakfast experience. I must tell you, now whenever we go away our first choice is always to look for a nice little B&B. The Gaslight Inn turned us into B&B enthusiants. Stay at The Gaslight Inn and have Becky or Mike make you a reservation for The Dobbin House, you will be delighted. Jay & Michelle McKinnon


The Gaslight Inn

5 on July 19, 2011

Cannot say enough good things about The Gaslight Inn and the Innkeepers Mike and Becky. Let me list a few: Wonderful breakfasts; Friendly staff; Super clean rooms; Amazing sauna showers; Very comfy beds; Affordable prices; Knowledgeable about the Gettysburg area; and a very relaxing atmosphere. Mike and Becky go above and beyond your expectations to make your stay enjoyable. I guarantee that if you stay here once, you won't ever go anywhere else!!!!


Great Time

4.8 on July 12, 2011

We have stayed here numerous times. Everything has been great. Becky makes incredible breakfasts especially her creme brulee french toast. Becky, Mike and Elizabeth are very friendly and extremely helpful. They will make reservations for you as well as giving you a lists of events happening in the area. We highly recommend this B & B.


Outstanding!

4.0 on July 08, 2010

We stayed at the Gaslight, our first time at a Bread and Breakfast! Wonderful experience! It was like a quiet oasis, we never even heard anyone in any other room. We know they were there, we saw them all at the great breakfast that was served, but at night we felt we had the place to ourselves it was so quiet! Yet we could walk out the door and take a few steps and be in the middle of the town! Elizabeth greeted us, recommended wonderful tours, accommodated us and made us feel special....what an assett to a wonderful stay, she makes her parents establishment shine! The private tour of the battlegrounds was the highlight of our trip and the guide they recommended was knowledgable and insightful. The rooms were so clean, the bed so comfortable and we could go out on the back deck from our room. The air conditioning made us forget the 104 temperature that July gave us this year, and our stay in the clover room was the best. We plan on going back again!


Friendly and Beautiful B&B

3.8 on July 08, 2009

We were lucky to find a vacancy in Gettysburg on the weekend of the 4th of July, as we booked the Gaslight only the week before...we found the staff/innkeepers to be friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. Mike was more than happy to make dinner reservations and sit down with us with a map to help us make the most out of our short visit to the Gettysburg area. I would definately stay at the Gaslight again and would recommend it highly to anyone. The room was bright, cheerful and very clean, the food ample and tasty.


We love The Gaslight Inn

5 on October 22, 2008

My husband and I spent a whirlwind two days exploring Gettysburg. We consider our stay at The Gaslight Inn one of the highlights! We stayed in the Lily Room- loved the room and especially the double-sided fireplace. We found Mike to be so friendly and helpful! We received such wonderful service! We loved the Hospitality Bar and the breakfast was delicious! My husband is asthmatic and allergic to many molds, and he did not have one problem staying here. There were no odors and the Inn was spotless! We are looking forward to returning next year.


Great Stay

3.8 on August 15, 2008

The Inn is pretty, well maintained and wonderfully located. Innkeepers are fun and friendly. The tour packages they offer are great. I recommend the Gaslight highly.


wow

4.8 on July 09, 2008

what a wonderful place to stay! close to everything, rooms are beautiful, breakfast beyond expectations, the other guests were very warm and friendly. mike and becky do everything to make your stay pleasant. we will definately be returning...home away from home


Nice getaway

5 on June 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I just spent 4 nights at the Gaslight Inn and thought the Inn was wonderful. It is located right in the heart of Gettysburg, close to Restaurants and Historic locations. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast they made every morning was delicious. I stay in hotels 2 to 4 days a week for work, so this was a wonderful little getaway! We will definitely be back!


Like a family reunion

4.6 on June 18, 2008

I have been staying at the Gas Light Inn for years for special events in gettysburg during april and november. The past and current owners (becky and Mike) have become "almost family" and have always provided excellent service and exceptional consierge duties. Thanks!!


Not what was represented to us!

1.0 on June 10, 2008

The hosts were anything but friendly. They thought more of their dogs than their guests. The food was frugel and the hosts ate away from us in their kitchen. The building turned out to be a 'sick'building' my husband had an intense mold reaction as we returned home. The hosts never saw the battlefields.


Great time in Gettysburg

4.4 on June 10, 2008

We had a great time in Gettysburg thanks to Mike and Becky. They were wonderful hosts and helped us in any way possible while we were there.


Fun Experience!

3.4 on June 04, 2008

The inn was beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. Right in the middle of town, it was close to everything. Only down part, my husband and I do not eat pork; during breakfast there were no alternatives for us.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for writing this review. In the future, when a guest says to us they do not eat pork, we will make sure to ask if they eat turkey-based breakfast meat. It would have been so easy to have provided this. I just took "no pork" to mean "no meat", as in vegetarian. Because of this review we have inquired of subsequent guests who don't eat pork, whether they don't eat meat or just don't eat pork products. Again, thanks for pointing this out. It was very helpful. Becky and Mike Hanson


A week of complete relaxation

5 on May 23, 2008

The room was immaculate, a good location, food was very good. The hosts all of them were outstanding. Would recommend to everybody. We plan to return every year.


This One Rates a Return Visit!

4.8 on May 15, 2008

The room was beautiful. The breakfasts were fabulous. The cookies delicious! And our host and hostess couldn't have been more welcoming! Mike and Becky were extremely helpful with directions and suggestions on places to visit. They made reservations for us at some great restaurants. The battlefield guide they found for us was outstanding. This bed and breakfast is definitely on our list of places that rate a return visit.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on May 08, 2008

My husband and I were so happy with our accommodations at the Gaslight Inn. Our room was bright and cheerful, the breakfasts were great, and Mike and Becky were very helpful. The Inn is in a wonderful location for walking to various places in town, and the backyard garden is beautiful for just relaxing. We stayed in the "Heather" room, which has a big bathroom and gas fireplace too!


a visit to gettysburg

4.6 on April 27, 2008

stayed in the lily room really enjoyed our stay


The friedndliest B&B in Gettysburg

4.6 on April 22, 2008

There are not enough superlatives to describe our weekend stay at The Gaslight Inn. Mike and Becky make you feel like you are the most important guest they have, and bend over backwards to meet your needs. We stayed in the Aster room with our 15 year old daughter and were very comfortable. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Snacks available throughout the day. Location is great and off street parking available. We have stayed in other B&Bs in Gettysburg, and they were fine, but we will always return to THE GASLIGHT INN.


Dissapointing

2.4 on May 13, 2007

We were disspointed with our stay at the Gaslight Inn. It started with the Innkeeper wanting to add a service charge onto our bill for credit cards. We have stayed at hundreds of B & B's and this has never happened. The room, although clean, was furnished with 60's and 70's pieces and hardly had anything quaint or remotely antique in it. The breakfast was good, but the Innkeepers semed to continue their frugal ways. We are thin people who do eat great portions, but this was certainly not ample. The Innkeeper also told us that there were complementary sodas, water and beer in the fridge. For two days there was only Sprite and Beer and we drink neither. A diet soda or a water was not to be found. It seemed like the proprietors of this establishment should rename it the "Thrifty Inn". The prices to the customer were certainly not thrifty, but they sure wanted to save a buck. I think they are stepping over a quarter to make a dime.


Gaslight Inn, a "bright" spot in Gettysburg

4.6 on April 17, 2007

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at the Gaslight, we were pleasantly surprised at how close we were to all of the things to do in the Gettysburg area ! Our room was on the 3rd floor and we had a nice porch to relax on right outside our door and just a short walk to the parking area. The breakfasts were excellent and the Innkeepers were always ready to accomodate our questions and requests. We will certainly stay here again.


Lovely Bed & Breakfeast

5 on January 06, 2007

We stayed here on our honeymoon night. Inn was wonderful. Inn keepers accomadating and breakfeast delicious!


The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $156 - $198
  • Reviews (37) 4.5
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7173379100

Visit Website »

View details

Top